Three months after the second defeat in a general election Democratic Labour Party (DLP) members voted for Dr. Ronnie Yearwood to replace Verla Depeiza who resigned in the aftermath of what transpired. He won by a reported vote of 273 to 205.

It is surprising more of the 800+ DLP members eligible to vote were not motivated to participate yesterday. It would have sent a strong signal to the public that there is a burning desire by the party to get back on track given the herculean rebuild effort. The last contest between Guy Hewitt and Verla Depeiza attracted a 507 to 295 vote, President Yearwood has a gargantuan task ahead. David Estwick who could not command significant support from the parliamentary group after David Thompson died in office and was a bane to the party during Stuart’s tenure attracted 205 votes from DLP party members. There is a lot political pundits can unpack from the result.

The next three years will be a critical in the rebuild period of the party. The next 18 months will be crucial for Dr. Yearwood to measure his success as a politician. By taking on the DLP presidency at this juncture in its history one suspects if he is perceived to be unable to breath life into a political party currently in a comatose state -it may doom him to be a stillborn DLP politician like his predecessor. Similar to when Owen Arthur became leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in 1993, Yearwood does not command a significant power-base in the party. Neither is he a member of parliament. Arthur was able to successfully navigate that early period because he received strong support from elders of the party. Hopefully the DLP will be able to learn from the BLP experience and avoid making unforced mistakes.

It is understandable a significant number of DLP members continue to be disillusioned, who would not be after losing at last count 61 times at the polling booth. The Freundel Stuart era is one the party will have to work hard to overcome. It will be crucial for Yearwood to display the leadership required to co-opt early support from losing candidates David Estwick and Guy Hewitt in order to present a united front to current membership and the wider public. The adage united we stand, divided we fall seems an apt reminder to all concerned. This will be crucial for the party to be perceived as making progress to members of the public.

An emerging Barbadian voter is ready for a new kind of politics. The naked partisan behaviour and empty rhetoric seen and heard from today’s politicians and old guard is on the way out. It will be hard- in many cases impossible- for dye in the wool DEMs to shift positions. Hopefully under Yearwood’s leadership enough are persuaded to shift perspectives and he is also able to attract enough NEW members to make a difference.

Until the DLP is able to make a ‘course correction’ and elusive alternative third party political options emerge the saying that in the land of the blind one eye man is king will continue to ring true. In the system of government practiced by Barbados the best results occur with a strident opposition voice IN parliament.

On behalf of the BU household the blogmaster congratulates Dr. Ronnie Yearwood for showing the courage to undertake a job that must rank high on the unwanted job scale at this time.

299 responses to “DLP Going with Yearwood”

1. First Congratulations are in order to Mr. Ronnie Yearwood
    However
    I maintain the view that country is bigger than party and whoever becomes leader must put the interest of the country first
    Titles and legacies along with friendships and associations last or if ever
    Mr .Yearwood earn the support of a divided party
    Hopefully he can put measures in place which can further help to heal and unite the party
    His words and actions would be measured along political lines
    But his faith and guidance through God would help him to overcome those obstacles
    A lot of learning to do he has on his hands
    Only quitters quit
    Obstacles don’t last
    Last but not first is not an obstacle but a learning tool by which he can be guided
    Wish him all the best

2. 555dubstreet Avatar

Don’t Let It Go to Your Head (Paul Simpson ReWork)
    Jean Carn

3. 555dubstreet Avatar

Me never see a camel walk through one needle eye
    Them say them Bonafide but them Bone Fi Fry
    Dis Selassie you will get mortified
    Perfect Giddimani – Fry Bone

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXgel3Ub1rg

4. Hello hello
    Where are the blp mouthpieces
    They had plenty to say about Verla
    I know this quietness coming from them speaks to the coming months of having plenty of political sound bites and rubbish that would be piled on Dr. Ronnie Yearwood shoulders

5. These mock men can’t meet this historical moment on May Day.
    https://youtu.be/Krk3lgpuC7w

6. 420 Movie

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, a fair summation above particularly your “There is a lot political pundits can unpack from the result” regarding the less than 50% un-enthusiastic membership turn out. At least it correlates with national apathetic polling numbers!

You are also perfectly on track when you say that his ability to generate a resurgence in the DLP is a direct link to national prominence. That he is badly hampered as a non-member of parliament is a massive truism in a Bajan environment where social media or talk radio does not yet lend itself as a populist launch pad to political stardom.

Any successful DLP leader must essentially charm the new and youthful voices as you mentioned with his intellect, wit and wise interventions on the public stage and thus effectively coerce the support from those “elders of the party” . He must make them need him moreso than he needs them!

And what third party what! We have been there, done that aplenty and moved on, one must accept.

It now requires a political tsunami to change that…. a massive 30-0 hurricane force did NOT push Bajans to change their behavior even after those heavy winds blew us asunder the second time … so I can only see some more comprehensive system wash-out creating behavioral change.

Lata.

8. Hello hello
    Where are the blp mouthpieces
    They had plenty to say about Verla
    I know this quietness coming from them speaks to the coming months of having plenty of political sound bites and rubbish that would be piled on Dr. Ronnie Yearwood shoulders

Xxxxxx

YOU AIN’T NO DAMN DIFFERENT TO ENUFF, LORENZO OR SEVERAL OTHERS WHO SHOW THEIR ASSES REGULARLY FOR THE BLP NO MATTER WHAT CAN DO NO WRONG

TIME FOR THE 2 X3 ISLAND HAVE A THIRD PARTY

ONE DOESN’T BREAK ABUSE AND CORRUPTION BY CONTINUING THE CYCLE

9. BAJEMay 2, 2022 12:21 PM

TIME FOR THE 2 X3 ISLAND HAVE A THIRD PARTY

ONE DOESN’T BREAK ABUSE AND CORRUPTION BY CONTINUING THE CYCLE

Xcccccc
    WHY DONT YOU START A THIRD PARTY IF YOUR CONCERN IS ALL ABOUT BEST INTEREST OF COUNTRY
    DONT MEK ME LAUGH OUT LOUD
    YUH SOUND JUST LIKE WHEN THE PM GETS ON INTERNATIONAL STAGE AND CONDEMN AND CRITICISE AND AT HOME TURF EVERYTHING REMAINS THE SAME
    YUH NEED TO GET OFF YUH SELF RIGHTEOUS HORSE AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE IF YOUR CONCERN IS FOR THE BEST OF THE COUNTRY
    UH NUDDER BULL SHITER IF YUH ASK ME
    STEUPSE

10. What the new leader focused should be one of taken a philosophical stance on injustices and predijuices and unfair practices and treatment from the powers incharge of the economic wheels of Barbados that have hampered and pull back and denied the mostly black population from gaining access to a fair share of the economic pie

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Congratulations to Dr Ronnie Yearwood. I wish him the best as he takes on the mantle of leadership. He is a millennial and has to reflect this fact in his leadership style. Obviously the Electorate is expecting a paradigm shift. The issues are different and the international Political and Economic contexts are in transition. He is young enough and educated enough to step up to the plate and make his contribution to political life in this country. Four years is a longtime. There is no need to make knee jerk decisions.
    For the record I have not changed my support for my party.

12. Crystal ball shows more defeats / 30-0

Another night watchman at the crease. Before 2027 there will be a new leader.

13. I don’t get your point. At this time, everyone is a night watchman.

Are you one of those guys who believe in pedigree? If he had what you consider as pedigree would you view him differently,?

14. Good luck to Ronnie Yearwood PhD. He has 3 years to prove he made a good decision

15. Congratulation to Dr. Yearwood, the country is best served when there is a functioning Opposition and the fact that your Party doesn’t have a seat in the H of A shouldn’t deter you from speaking out on issues that you deem you be inimical to the best interests of the people and the country.

16. Congrats to Ronnie.

Must hit the road running in St Thomas.

17. 555dubstreet Avatar

This Ronnie Yearwood guy seems to be a bit of a Bu contributor .. but we shouldn’t hold it against him. He seems to satisfy the cult of personality to challenge Mia the incumbent, and may be able to turn around DLP Party’s (bad) reputation, like a seed in the mud a beautiful lotus flower can grow, perhaps.

18. @angela cox

PLEASE STOP SHOWING YOUR DLP ASS.

I AM NEITHER A POLITICIAN OR VOTER.

HOWEVER I HAVE BEEN IN CONTACT WITH BOTH SIDES WHILST IN BUSINESS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND INCLUDING CAMPAIGN FINANCING SUPPORT VIA SPONORSHIP TO KNOW FACT FROM FRICTION.

I FIND IT AMAZING THAT PEOPLE ARE QUICK TO ATTACK THOSE WHO SPEAK OUT BUT NOT THOSE WHO ROB OR PLOT TO ROB TREASURY WHILST GIVING A FREE PASS DEPENDENT ON WHICH SIDE OF THE POLITICAL FENCE SIT ON.

NOT SELF RIGHTEOUS BUT CALLING A SPADE A SPADE WITH NOTHING TO GAIN FROM THE 2 X3 ISLAND.

19. This latest event is nothing to get excited about.Dr Yearwood is in my view a political neophyte now finding his way.He is a bright fellow but like Ms Depeiza winning an internal election is one thing but coming up sgsinst Ms Mottley and the bees is another as Ms Depeiza cruelly found out.I heard someone on Brasstscks clsim the nees are scared of Dr Yearwood.Really? That has to be the joke of the century.There is no one currently on the dems side in my view could scare anybody.However congrstulations to Dr Yearwood and i wish him well.I gone.

20. For the record I have not changed my support for my party.
    The Alliance still alive?

21. That has to be the joke of the century.There is no one currently on the dems side in my view could scare anybody.However congrstulations to Dr Yearwood and i wish him well.I gone.

@ angela cole

HERE COMES YOUR BROTHER AND IDENTICAL MIRROR IMAGE ON THE OTHER POLITICAL SIDE ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

UNFORTUNATELY THE ONLY PEOPLE WHO SUFFERS IS THE SAME BLACK MASSES WHOSE BRAINS SEEM TO HAVE DESERTED THEM WHETHER DLP OR BLP.

22. BAJEMay 2, 2022 3:41 PM

@angela cox

PLEASE STOP SHOWING YOUR DLP ASS.
    Xcxccccc
    BETTER YET STOP LOOKING AT MY ASS FOOL
    WHAT WHERE AND HOW I CHOOSE TO SHOW MY ASS IS NONE OF YOUR FRIGGIN BUSINESS
    YOU HAVE PLENTY TO SAY
    SAVE YOUR ENERGY AND ATTACKS AND DO SOMETHING FOR BARBADOS RATHER THAN FLAP YUH GUMS ABOUT WHAT I DO
    TALK YUH CRAP TO SUMBODY ELSE NOT INTERESTED IN NUTTIN YUH SAY
    BUG OFF FOOL

23. @Dee Word

The fact Yearwood was not able to energize a significant % of 800+ membership is an indication of the apathy and disenchantment with the party. He will have his work cutout to bring the party back.

24. TALK YUH CRAP TO SUMBODY ELSE NOT INTERESTED IN NUTTIN YUH SAY
    BUG OFF FOOL

Xxxxxxxx

GLAD TO SEE THAT YOU ARE TAKING A GOOD LOOK IN THE MIRROR.

YOU SUPPORT A PARTY THAT HAS HELPED WRECKED THE 2 X 3 ISLAND NOW IN THE HANDS OF THE IMF.

YOU ARE A LIVING TESTIMONIAL THAT EDUCATION IN SOME HIGH SCHOOLS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND HAS WRECKED MANY BLACK PEOPLE.

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

Some of the DLP elders need to go home and rock their grand babies.

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

@TheOGazerts May 2, 2022 1:36 PM “Are you one of those guys who believe in pedigree? ”

Everyone has pedigree. Some have theirs written down on a piece of paper and some not, but all have pedigree.

And lest we forget some percentage of those who have fathers, grandfathers etc, written down on their piece of paper are not even any relation to the man.

I thought that the woman who brought up the pedigree talk is an idiot.

27. GLAD TO SEE THAT YOU ARE TAKING A GOOD LOOK IN THE MIRROR.

YOU SUPPORT A PARTY THAT HAS HELPED WRECKED THE 2 X 3 ISLAND NOW IN THE HANDS OF THE IMF.

YOU ARE A LIVING TESTIMONIAL THAT EDUCATION IN SOME HIGH SCHOOLS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND HAS WRECKED MANY BLACK PEOPLE.
    Xxxccccc

BlAH BlAH BLAH

TEK.UH NEGATIVE ENERGY AND DUMP.IT ON SOME ON ELSE FOOL

28. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

@Lorenzo May 2, 2022 4:16 PM “Dr Yearwood is in my view a political neophyte ”

So wasn’t Grantley Adams a political neophyte?
    Wasn’t Errol Barrow?
    Wasn’t Tom Adams?
    Wasn’t Bree St. John?
    Wasn’t Erskine Sandiford?
    Wasn’t Owen Arthur?
    Wasn’t David Thompson?
    Wasn’t Freundel Stuart?
    Wasn’t Mia Mottley?

Don’t all political careers have a beginning? Aren’t all politicians neophytes at the beginning of their political careers?

29. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

Besides Ronnie is as well educated, and better looking than all of the above. And a man who received his secondary education in the north. This voter from the north wishes him well.

30. Not G G but

31. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

@Lorenzo May 2, 2022 4:16 PM “I heard someone on Brasstscks clsim the nees are scared of Dr Yearwood.Really? ”

If they are not scared why did a big shot political consultant like Hartley Henry immediately come out swinging on Brass Tacks?

32. DavidMay 2, 2022 5:55 PM

@Dee Word

The fact Yearwood was not able to energize a significant % of 800+ membership is an indication of the apathy and disenchantment with the party. He will have his work cutout to bring the party back.
    Xxccc
    The fact that Mia could only attract 20 percent of the blp membership during the election is an indication that the PM has plenty work to do within her Party
    No
    Yes the dlp needs a hands on leader who can draw the members attention away from past hurts and division
    Yes the low turn out could be having to do with many things one the financial resources unlike the blp is limited
    Hence transportation especially amongst the elderly could have been a factor
    Along with the ongoing pandemic
    Notice I rely on this year’s election which had a very small turn out however the blp took the small number by which they have won and erase it out of the minds of their followers and rather used a narrative that can provide an image of a PM doing an excellent job
    Ronnie in wise can use this small turn out to rebrand and re-image himself as a leader for the people

33. TEK.UH NEGATIVE ENERGY AND DUMP.IT ON SOME ON ELSE FOOL

Xxxxxxxxxx

NEGATIVE ENERGY THAT BELONGS TO YOUR DEVOTED PARTY.

I WOULD NEVER FORGET THAT I GREW UP IN POVERTY AND IN ONE OF THE WORST NEIGHBORHOODS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND HOWEVER MY DYSFUNCTIONAL HOUSEHOLD WAS A DLP VOTING ONE.

GROWING UP I BELIEVED IN THE DLP BECAUSE OF WHAT I HEARD IN MY HOUSEHOLD. EVEN THOUGH NEVER VOTED BEFORE I LEFT JUST BEFORE TURNING 19.

HOWEVER I COULD SEE LOOKING BACK THAT OTHERS IN MY HOUSEHOLD WERE FOLLOW THE CROWD AND STICK TO ONE PARTY FOR THE REST OF THEIR LIVES EVEN THOUGH THEY CONTINUE TO LIVE IN POVERTY FROM YEAR TO YEAR WITH NO IMPROVEMENS AND IN THE GHETTO.

UNLIKE OTHERS I CHOOSE TO BREAK THAT CYCLE.

NOT PERFECT AS AS A PERSON BUT WITH ENOUGH COMMONSENSE THAT I KNOW FROM EXPERIENCE LEADERS AND INDEPENDENT THINKERS ACHIEVE MORE THAN FOLLOWERS AND INDIVIDUALS WHO DON’T THINKS FOR THEMSELVES AS WE LIVED IN THE GHETTO.

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

Also heard Hartley saying on Brass Tacks today that after David Thompson became mortally ill he was considering the following to lead the DLP?

Chris Sinkler
    Mia Mottley
    Hilary Beckles

Strangest thing I ever heard. I don’t think that any of the three would have accepted a death bed “gift” from David Thompson. Honorable people prefer to EARN their way.

35. @Simple Simon

The DLP is facing an unprecedented situation it must overcome having zero elected MPs. Citing preceding events are therefore irrelevant.

36. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

@BAJE May 2, 2022 6:35 PM “…MY DYSFUNCTIONAL HOUSEHOLD WAS A DLP VOTING ONE. GROWING UP I BELIEVED IN THE DLP”

Oh dear.

You should have grown up in a household like mine. My father always voted one way and my mother another. They never agreed politically, but they lived happily together for more than 70 years.

37. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

@David May 2, 2022 6:40 PM

Please take it easy Mr. Blogmaster. You ask us to express our views? I am expressing mine.

I am so old I remember parties with only 2 or 3 seats in the Big House.

Of course Ronnie will have to work hard.

The hottest fire produces the finest steel.

38. @Simple

It doesn’t matter your recall, there is no political party in the history of elected politics in Barbados having failed to win a seat in the Lower House, none!

We are navigating uncharted waters.

39. AC

What is the total membership of the blp and how did u arrive at ur 20%?

Didn’t the last vote for dlp president take place during covid and had a larger turn out ?

Excuse excuses

40. Cuhdear

The consultants working for his pay

All the PMs u mentioned had a lot more political experience and won seats etc before the became leaders of their parties

41. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

David you understand that unprecedented is ordinary right?

When Grantley Adams became Premier, it was unprecedented for a black man to be the Premier of Barbados

When Mia Mottley became Prime Minister it was unprecedented for a woman to be Prime Minister of Barbados.

Unprecedented happens every day [somewhere in the world]

Otherwise you are suggesting to me that Barbados will remain a “one party democracy” for ever? Is that what you are suggesting?

It won’t happen David.

42. Ronnie Yearwood PhD has a political party structure to work with.

Will be interesting how he deals with being in ” opposition ” from the outside,

The average person in Barbados is in for a couple more years of belt tightening.

43. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

@John2 May 2, 2022 7:04 PM “The consultants working for his pay.”

Noted.

Lol!

44. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

And the consultant came out to work on a big-able bank holiday.

45. Looka how the BLP is led by a B, Alliance by a B, Solutions by a B and now the Dems by a B too.🐝 🐝 🐝 🐝 🐝🤣🤣

46. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

@Enuff May 2, 2022 8:04 PM “Looka how the BLP is led by a B, Alliance by a B, Solutions by a B and now the Dems by a B too.”

CORRECTION: Looka how the BLP is led by a B, Alliance by an ex-B, Solutions by an ex-B and now the Dems by an ex-B too.

Dear Enuff: Please note that an ex-wife is NOT the same as a wife. I hope that you int one ‘o dem fellas who does go ’bout peeping ’round the house of your ex-wife looking’ to see who man she got now? She is your EX.

The people mentioned are EX BLP associates.

EX.

47. @Simple Simon

You could possibly see a splinter from the BLP to supersede a decimated DLP.

48. @Hants

He has a fractured brand to work with, the structure is shaky.

49. John2May 2, 2022 6:59 PM

AC

What is the total membership of the blp and how did u arrive at ur 20%?

Didn’t the last vote for dlp president take place during covid and had a larger turn out ?

Excuse excuses

Xxxxx
    If you want to go the route of numbers during last election
    Firstly putting things in perspective membership rivalry along with a determination brought on by opposite likes or dislike which was a catalyst for membership making effort to go to the polls
    I also venture to say there were more issues on the list other than two candidates which would be a given to having more people go out to vote