DLP on Political Warning

It is 148 days since the last general election in Barbados. The result returned the Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party (BLP) the office in unprecedented manner and forced the DLP to jettison Verla De Peiza as President- replaced by Dr. Ronnie Yearwood who has been in seat for 49 days. Is it too soon some are asking for a coherent policy position to be emanating from George Street?

The saying goes that extraordinary times require extraordinary people, there is no denying we are living in extraordinary times. That said, it is a reasonable expectation by Barbadians to expect those presenting themselves for public office to hit the ground running. The system of democracy- even if a parody of the Westminster system practised by Barbados- requires a strident dissenting voice. In Yearwood’s defence he is president of a private entity and his first obligation is try to infuse a DLP suffering near political coma.

President Dr. Ronnie Yearwood recently made a statement challenging government’s ‘proposed plan’ to tackle cost of living. The blogmaster’s position has always been it is a difficult undertaking for a party in opposition without full grasp of the public purse to offer constructive alternatives. Yearwood is understandably trying to piggyback on issues resonating with the public. On the other side of the issue, Mottley has the task of managing an economy still spluttering from the shock of 2008 global meltdown and the so-called ‘lost decade’ which followed. 

ASTOR B.WATTS LUNCHTIME LECTURE SERIES

BU’s Artax analyzed Yearwood’s recent cost of living recommendations. It was not complimentary.

Yearwood isn’t proposing anything NEW.

From economists, political scientists, members of special interest groups, contributors to social media platforms, former DLP president DePeiza, Lynette Eastmond, Joseph Atherley, Grenville Phillips II, aspiring politicians…… to the ‘average man and woman on the streets,’ criticised the size of Mottley’s Cabinet and the number of consultants, almost immediately after she announced them, following the May 24, 2018 and January 19, 2022 general elections…….and have been calling on her to reduce the number since then.

The 1% levy on persons earning $6,250 per month was also heavily criticised. But, I can’t understand how its removal would help poor people.
Perhaps Yearwood could offer further explanations.

From the inception of VAT in 1998, the DLP and BLP while in Opposition, have asked and promised to expand the ‘basket of goods,’ only to reneged on their promises after ‘taking up the reins of government.’

“Remove the excise tax on fuel by 40 cents per litre and to offer relief to pensioners,” has also been previously suggested.

“Calling on Government to bring forward the reverse tax credit of $1300 for people earning below $25,000 per annum,” also requires further explanation, especially when one takes into consideration that the DEMS reduced the reverse tax credit to $650 during the recession.
How does he plan to finance $1,300 to be paid to an increase in the number of persons who would become eligible?

Artax

Who are the members of DLP’s economic team? Under former president De peiza it was not clear. In the current challenging economic times, compounded by the perilous state of the economy, quality people, quality decisions must form part of a DLP looking to be perceived as competent by an apathetic and cynical electorate, especially in the area of finance.

75 thoughts on “DLP on Political Warning

1. Nervous January 2022 – DJ Mix (Continuous Mix)
    When you are not in power, you can make hypothetical suggestions which Government may choose to implement or not.
    There is no ownership of ideas put on the table, which will need to be analysed with costs and benefits considerations.

Back to Africa / African Trade Partnerships
    An African link up school of thought is also promoted, but the same people are critical of Mia’s and Government’s statements and plans towards these ends.

Be Unstoppable (Mixed)

Makukhanye (Mixed)

2. President Dr. Ronnie Yearwood recently made a statement challenging government’s ‘proposed plan’ to tackle cost of living.
    Xxxcc
    Rightfully so in as much his challenge opened up a construct upon which govt started another round of dialogue within the public sphere
    Whether Dr. Yearwood statement was said within economic circles is all but a mute point
    The point of his statement was necessary at this time to infused more concern to the plight of suffering barbadians under the many burdensome policies of present govt

3. With govt need to cut spending what is the point of Mia always wanting to have a committee
    All can see hear and know the realities of the hardships barbadians households are feeling
    Then why is it necessary to have a committe on such a problem
    How come when big business cry there is no committe to investigate or pry into their cause or concerns
    Xxxc
    On another point of concern what happened to my first comment posted here

4. Inquiring minds also asked of Mia Mottley
    Why was the IMF chief debt collector entertained at tax payers expense
    On what level and area of priority does it serve the public and country interest to have a lavish party for the IMF chief debt collector ?
    If memory serves correct when arrangements were being made for the Barbados 50th year of independence Mia Mottley hollered and bellowed and scoff at the money being spent for the once in a lifetime celebration a celebration having interest to a historical event and patriotic interest set as a priority for celebration within the laws of goverance
    Once again asking minds wants to know if the IMF chief has a patriotic or historical interest or attachment to Barbados i and deserving of any form of celebration when and where taxpayers monies are applied

5. Happy Father’s Day to all the fathers and father figures. Being a dad is one of the most important jobs I have taken on in my life. Every day is not a celebration and dads out there know this. You push through when you are ill, when you are down, when days are cloudy because it is not about you anymore the moment that baby is put in your arms. Your fights become their fights. The future you fight for is not something far off but the future of your son or daughter. The moment I held my son this was triggered in me. I am not always sure how to explain it but something in you changes.
    I want to say to all those dads out there, I see you. The cooking, the laundry, the school drop offs, the birthday parties, the swimming classes, the bedtime stories, the hugs, and love. Keep at it. It is for the Future – Their future, your future, our future.
    Blessings to you all and Happy Father’s Day.

6. For the argument to have ‘substance,’ one would have to know how much money was actually spent on what is being described as “a lavish party for the IMF chief debt collector.”

How does anyone who was not in attendance, determine the party was “lavished?”

Comparing the millions of dollars spent on Barbados’ 50th anniversary of independence with money spent on a party for IMF personnel is delving into the ‘realm of political absurdity.’

Successive BLP and DLP administrations have hosted parties at Illaro Court and elsewhere, for various reasons, many of which could be reasonably described as a waste of taxpayers’ money.

Taxpayers also have a right to ask “on what level and area of priority does it serve the public and country’s interest to have” BLP or DLP Prime Ministers travel to the UK to speak members of the BLP or DLP Barbados UK Branch?
    Or, the DLP as a political organization, being ALLOWED to use the RESOURCES of CBC, which is a SOE funded by Barbadian taxpayers, to broadcast DLP hosted events, such as annual conferences and Friday lunchtime lectures?

7. AC

You can write tell yuh fingers drop off. This is another dead~ender.

There is no there there!

Trying to impose this empty suit on the country by stealth should be a crime punishable by death.

Even that would not stop you from being irrationally motivated because Yearwood purports to have a Dr.

The time has long past for such irrationalities.

Yearwood cannot and will never meet this historical moment. The man is fiberless. Mere froth, no beer!

• Unfortunately the political landscape of Barbados is not generating exciting as in the halcyon days of Barrow, Adams for example. The difference is Mottley who who say what you will satisfies the definition that in the land of the blind, a one eye wo(man) is eye.

8. Artax
    Taxpayers also have a right to ask “on what level and area of priority does it serve the public and country’s interest to have” BLP or DLP Prime Ministers travel to the UK to speak members of the BLP or DLP Barbados UK Branch?
    Or, the DLP as a political organization, being ALLOWED to use the RESOURCES of CBC, which is a SOE funded by Barbadian taxpayers, to broadcast DLP hosted events, such as annual conferences and Friday lunchtime lectures?
    Xxxxc
    Above comment beyond absurdity

• A recommendation to Dr. YEARWOOD. You need to take a page from the late David Thompson’s playbook and deploy sensible agents to post sensible comments to social media. A word to an intelligent man should be enough.

9. David
    June 19, 2022 8:53 AM
    The Resilience and Sustainability Trust.
    Barbados can now access 20 year money, with a 10.5 year grace period.
    It’s all about how to borrow more for less.
    Any limitations on what funds can be used for were not detailed.

• @NO

We are so far behind in the financial intelligence space that it is not funny. It will be refreshing when the traditional media catches up if they ever do. They are suppose to have resources, contacts to seek information in the interest of the public.

• PM, IMF head talk growth
      With the threat of global recession looming following the recent push by European and United States financial regulatory systems to raise interest rates as a means of curtailing inflation, tourism-dependent nations such as Barbados are being told to brace for the possibility of the sector suffering fallout.
      This caution came from managing director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), Kristalina Georgieva, who explained that while it was necessary for central banks to go this route, the risk of it sparking a recession was real. Georgieva, who was speaking at a joint press conference with Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley on Friday, said Government needed to keep a close eye on the situation.
      “Central banks in this environment must act decisively because if they don’t and inflation continues to go up, then investors cannot project what to do; they don’t know where the prices are going to end. Consumers are likely to spend more while faced with shrinking incomes and that is really bad for growth,” the IMF head said.
      She added: “I am confident we will see inflation brought under control, but the more of this is being done, the tougher it is to service debt and that means that there is a risk of contraction. At this point, the IMF is projecting downward revisions for growth prospects. They would come in a month. We are not yet projecting global recession for this year. There is a higher risk for next year should inflation be more persistent.”
      Georgieva explained that it is not cast in stone that this would translate into major problems for tourism-dependent countries, noting that while in the contextual scenario of a global recession, disposable
      income for travel might dwindle and it might be negated by the pent-up demand caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.
      “Tourism dependent economies are likely to see this impacting people’s disposable income. You might benefit from another trend, which is finally people can travel. What we are seeing around us is that people are so desperate to travel that you may see in the next month this going up. However, it is wise to carefully monitor the global situation as it evolves and of course we will be providing regular updates. If I am to use one word to describe the situation we face today, it is uncertainty.”
      Think outside the box
      This point of view was endorsed by Mottley, who said that out of the box thinking would be required to deal with the possibility of dampened appetite for travel.
      “Kristalina is absolutely correct but having said that, there might be persons who are desperate for travel and it comes down to how best we can communicate our message and how best we can facilitate them while at the same time thinking outside of the box. Barbados’ Welcome Stamp programme with a 12-month visa was thinking outside of the box,” the Prime Minister said.
      Georgieva contended that countries like Barbados that have undergone critical economic reforms, such as was done under the IMF-approved Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme, were in a better position to withstand the fallout.
      “We know that as Barbados and Jamaica have done, countries that have improved their fundamentals are going to get through it easier than those that have been shying away from undertaking critical reforms,” she said. (CLM)

10. The Resilience and Sustainability Trust….this to aid in the costs inflicted ‘by the ravages of climate change’. MAM correctly saw this as a ‘soft spot’ in the financing underbelly and exploited it.
    Don’t mind the ‘climate change’ gurus like to ignore the contribution of air travel to the equation. We even have a Formula 1 driver touting climate on his helmet, car decals et al. Between all the test car phases, practice rounds, and the travel of people and machinery weekly as they jet from racetrack to racetrack, any guess as to their emissions?
    We can ‘green’, talk about non fossil fuels, recycle etc, and one 5hr plane ride negates all of that.

• @NO

Mia stands head and shoulders among the others in understanding her craft as a politician.

11. DavidJune 19, 2022 8:58 AM

A recommendation to Dr. YEARWOOD. You need to take a page from the late David Thompson’s playbook and deploy sensible agents to post sensible comments to social media. A word to an intelligent man should be enough
    Xxcxxx
    Have u noticed that the whole world is in deathly turmoil because of the so-called intelligent people at the helm of world affairs
    Just maybe it is time for the unintelligent take a turn at the wheel of world management affairs
    The so-called intelligent has left a reflection in the mirror of life that leaves many to ask the question why
    Think about that before throwing uh stinky shade

12. Mia stands head and shoulders among the others in understanding her craft as a politician.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    How about her craft at achieving effective results?

effective politician:
    convincing liar; false promises; self interests; party first; increasing numbers of poor mendicants seeking assistance.

effective results:
    Promises kept; country first; clear improvements in productivity & social development; reduced poverty.

• @Bush Tea

Talk dog they are politicians first. You have forgotten that famous quote attributed to the late Ritchie Haynes?

13. @ac
    If, the so-called intelligent are actually not intelligent, then I would offer the not intelligent (unintelligent) have been at the helm for some time?

14. David 0856

Yes, Mottley is the exception to the rule, but barely.. However, that is not enough even as she has much greater problems than Barrow, the Adamses, Arthur etc. Who some consider the litmus test.

This writer is still unconvinced that the West are committed to this climate change mantra. We cite their easy retraction from commitments in the case of Ukraine, and more.

David, do you know that heavy industry needs the kind of power derived from focal fuels?

• @Pacha

The world (West) is about exploiting resources to feed our greed aka conspicuous consumption.

15. Pacha
    “This writer is still unconvinced that the West are committed to this climate change mantra”…are you convinced that any of the North, South, East or West really have any commitment?

16. NorthernObserverJune 19, 2022 10:32 AM

If, the so-called intelligent are actually not intelligent, then I would offer the not intelligent (unintelligent) have been at the helm for some time
    Xxxxxx
    You got it wrong with you twisted mentality
    The so-called intelligent have been given a right of passage by people of your ilk to govern
    The link missing might not be that of not being book and scholarly learnt
    But one of a moral persuasion
    Hence there so called intelligence is limited to self interest and greed
    Reason why the whole world is being split apart at the seams awaiting the final big bang
    The meek and lowly of humility are not found or cast amongst the so-called intelligent but have and will be the ones given the task of creating an environment where morals take precedent and not learned and scholarly dances that not only suffice a few

17. The country is slipping into or has slipped into an economic morass. The cost of living is now among the highest in the world .
    But, we are asking a man who does not have a seat in parliament; whose political party is on life support to come with a clear economic policy.
    In the meantime, we have no clear economic policy from the Prime Minister and minister of finance, as to where the country is being taken.
    What are we drinking here peoples?

• @William

The man who does not have a seat in parliament won the leadership of a party that the only formal residual political dissent that is statistically significant whether we want to believe it or not.

18. David BU In my view Dr Yearwood although an intelligent man is a piltical lightweight and nightwatchman.Imagine him leading the dems in an election against Ms Mottley led BLP.What do you believe the likely outcome will be?Where will Dr Yearwood run? Perhaps he should take the bull by the horn and run against Ms Mottley in St Michael North East.This would show AC and the rest of us what mettle Obama Yearwood is made of.I gone.

• @Lorenzo

If we study trends in Barbados Barbadians get tired of the incumbent after two terms and the window is open for the opposition to win by ‘default’. This is why we are where we are today. We need to break the cycle, unfortunately a vast number of citizens have disengaged from the democratic process.

19. NO

That is a whole different question. Undoubtably the Germans made concerted efforts preUkraine. The Chinese and the Russians too continue to open coal plants.

Countries elsewhere, in the global South particularly, which suffer the largest costs, seem serious in pockets. But time is nearly up before these affects can be reversed. Some scientists are saying we’re already past 3.5 parts per million. Or whatever.

There’ve been other global crises before and responses have been abysmal we suggest similar outcomes this time around.

But overall Pachamama is running out of time and She will eventually do what She has always done for five billions years – bring back right order of things.

We surmise that yuh would like to cuss us about China and Russia pollution of earth but they historically have not been the worse and this writer is also unconvinced that this issue in the first priority for them. Yuh got muh.

Northern Observer, unlike you, we give not a fuck about ideology above objective truth.

20. In any case, ( Madame )Mottley has announced that Barbados will be accessing its eligible share of about US$210 million (BDS$420 million) from the IMF’s Resilience and Sustainability Trust (RST), saying it was “the right instrument at the right time, for the people most in need

21. PachamamaJune 19, 2022 8:50 AM

AC

You can write tell yuh fingers drop off. This is another dead~ender.

There is no there there!

Trying to impose this empty suit on the country by stealth should be a crime punishable by

Yearwood cannot and will never meet this historical moment. The man is fiberless. Mere froth, no beer!
    Xxxxx
    Patchy pants
    Why the anger
    Why don’t you place yourself as a forefront for the betterment of barbadians society
    Talk is cheap
    Across social.media platforms Dr. Yearwood is being welcomed his words has begun to make a difference in as much it got govt to take another look at their policies
    What have u said and done that can or will bring any change to the country
    So far your words have rung hallow
    No one listens
    Furthermore no one even knows who u are on this social platform
    You could just be a robot

22. LorenzoJune 19, 2022 11:35 AM

David BU In my view Dr Yearwood although an intelligent man is a piltical lightweight and nightwatchman.Imagine him leading the dems in an election against Ms Mottley led BLP.What do you believe the likely outcome will be?Where will Dr Yearwood run? Perhaps he should take the bull by the horn and run against Ms Mottley in St Michael North East.This would show AC and the rest of us what mettle Obama Yearwood is made of.I gone

Xxxxx
    Seriously Lorenzo why u making so much noise
    I suspect you are watching and reading the many negative narratives launched against your Supreme Leader

23. @ David

Hasn’t Yearwood attempted to contest a general election on a ‘BLP ticket?’
    Didn’t he ‘ran’ in the January 19, 2022 general elections as the DLP’s candidate for St. James South?
    Are we to believe Yearwood did not articulate any plans he had for that constituency during the election canvassing?
    Are we also to believe had the DEMS won the general elections, they couldn’t have presented Barbadians “with a clear economic policy?”

So, Yearwood decided to ‘run’ for the DLP presidency, thinking if he won, then, ‘any number could play’ after?

Grenville Phillips II nor any other member of Solutions Barbados “do not have a seat in Parliament.”
    And, after contesting two general elections, during which all the candidates lost their deposits….. that political party could also be reasonably deemed to “being on life support” as well.
    Yet, Phillips II has continued to articulate several ‘clear policies’ from Solutions Barbados……, which, by the way, have been endorsed by critics of the ‘BDLP duopoly.’

I have mentioned on several occasions in this forum, that, as Minister of Finance, Mottley has so far, not present the island with any economic policies.
    All the more reason why Yearwood or the president of any other political party in Barbados, should demonstrate a level of leadership that is both positive and inspiring.

In MY opinion, for someone to suggest that it would unreasonable for people to expect the president of the DLP to present the island with clear, innovative ALTERNATIVE socioeconomic policies, or, under the current economic circumstances, articulate ‘clear policies’ on the direction in which he intends to take Barbados, should the DLP win the next general election and he becomes Prime Minister…… simply because Mottley has not done so……
    …… is either being facetious or perhaps drank too many ‘shots’ of ‘Rum and Coke.’

24. The question that no one is asking is will Ms Mottley run again in 4 years? Then if not her, who will lead that party?

25. @ David
    “For the sake of clarity are you on Yearwood’s economic team? Walter wants to know.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You can tell Walter that Bushie is on the ‘economic team’ that will be cleaning up the lotta shiite shortly.
    He could be on that team too… if he can come to grasp the futility of the brassbowlic economics that currently prevails and come over to REALITY.

…..for bare spite, Bushie will drop the BU 10-Point Plan in wunna bosom as soon as the ‘Bushmen Party’ is installed. 🙂
    Wunna gwine see how to convert guns into plowshares….

BTW, Bushie predicts that…
    If an election was held after yearend, the DLP would win an overwhelming victory – for the IDENTICAL reason that the BLP won theirs…..
    …because the incumbents have NO IDEA what the hell they are doing, and the RESULTS will clearly demonstrate this.

By yearend, even if Dompey ran for the DLP as president, they would win….far less Yearwood.
    Unfortunately however, things will be so bad by then, that NOBODY will want the job…. and the incumbents will be in hiding….

But not stinking Bushie….

26. BU comedyfest! I have often asked–any ah wunna ever conceptualised and implemented one piece ah public policy? All RH talk like Ronnie. No wonder Ronnie’s disciple asking bout non-existent committee fees.🤣🤣

27. Actually Enuff you do make some good points on occasion. (once in a blue moon 🙂 )
    But do you realize how many fingers point back at you when you target the DLP?

For example, can YOU tell us of ANY well “conceptualized and executed piece of public policy” from YOUR party?
    …Bushie is here trying….. !!

28. EnuffJune 19, 2022 2:51 PM

BU comedyfest! I have often asked–any ah wunna ever conceptualised and implemented one piece ah public policy? All RH talk like Ronnie. No wonder Ronnie’s disciple asking bout non-9existent committee fees.🤣🤣
    Xxcccc
    30-0

And Dr. Ronnie Yearwood got wunna spinning out of control.
    😆 🤣 😂
    All.knows how this govt operate under a cloudy glass of smoke and mirrors no accountability or transparency inquiring minds got to look close and hard behind the clouds of smoke and dust looking for answers

29. IMF chief heaps praise on Barbados

” Barbados is being held aloft as proof that the International Monetary Fund (IMF) is no longer the institution that pushes countries into economic reforms at the expense of pain and social dislocation.

This was made clear by managing director of the IMF, Kristalina Georgieva, who noted that unlike the tough structural adjustments of years gone by that gave little consideration to the social cost, Barbados had emerged from its four-year programme a stronger economy without sacrificing the most vulnerable.

“The Barbados programme here is very successful, and it is an example of agility and adaptability because of changing conditions. We not only made sure that we protect the most vulnerable people in society but also key objectives of the Government to bring forward development in the country,” said Georgieva, who was speaking at a press conference at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre at the conclusion of her four-day visit to Barbados.”

30. (Quote):
    BU comedyfest! I have often asked–any ah wunna ever conceptualised and implemented one piece ah public policy? All RH talk like Ronnie. No wonder Ronnie’s disciple asking bout non-existent committee fees.🤣🤣
    (Unquote).

Have you, yourself, “ever conceptualised and implemented one piece ah public policy”?

We all know you have an excellent track record of conceptualizing and implementing US$ billion multi-‘storey’ projects using your well-honed skills in town and country planning and design with distinction in the art of lying and falsehood fabrication.

You have even been the chief planning and design advisor to the Hyatt Hotel mirage rising to the skyline in the now ghost city called Bridgetown.

So why can’t you be patriotic ‘enuff’ to help your country of birth in its greatest hour of need by bringing into being that much publicized Bridgetown gentrification and Pierhead Redevelopment Project?

Or are you looking for your ‘cut’ from its third planning and re-design incarnation?

You can always do like Darcy or that Malmoney fella and set up a St. Lucia-based IBC aka money-laundering machine in order to channel your ‘well-earned consultancy’ fees.

31. PM Browne wants Caribbean leaders to approach Venezuela to deal with high energy prices –

😃Talk about doing in church and chapel too. Last week in the US – cap in hand. Next week in VenezuelA – oil can in hand.

I hope VenezuelA fills the cans with p#ss

32. Pacha
    Not my intent to pick on anyone. Rather I think collectively most don’t give a damn. But ‘want’ to look like they care, and why MAM found a seam.

33. Cost of Living Matter (2) – A Time to Remain Unborn for DLP

I have seen something else under the sun: The race is not to the swift or the battle to the strong, nor does food come to the wise or wealth to the brilliant or favor to the learned; but time and chance happen to them all.
    For those born guilty for the crime of being black with nappy hair here is a Soundtrack from the back for the black
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W8ivvB9ivMc
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Lrlmlh2XvI

34. Lift every voice and sing
    In smoking sensimillia you gotta give thanks and praise to the almighty God jahovia

They ship me from the wonderful land of Africa
    Fi slave fi dih plantation owner
    They tek wey wi name, jah man, they call we nigga
    the only word we know is “isa coming massa”

Them tell we say we ignorant and inferior
    and how them intelligent and superior
    through the complexion of them skin colour
    but I as a yout born as a super
    me badda than deh bite from a tarantula

You hear fi mi a voice a come through the speaker
    but it sound sweeter with the echo chamber
    R fi di roots
    C fi di culture
    S fi Selassie earth rightful ruler

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Dtk9h1gZOI

35. A fake govt
    A fake republic
    Cart before horse policies
    A stream of brekneck.legislation
    No transparency no accountability
    No opposition
    A fake democracy
    A rock star leader
    Crime and poverty order of the day
    No frigging light at the end of the problem
    Wunna got problems
    Nufff long talk
    No solutions

36. Post Mortem Analysis

DLP did not step up in the 2022 election, they stepped down and flopped again

They were dead on arrival

Rest in Peace DLP

Political Revolutions need a Soundtrack like this
    Somethings Happening Here / Buffalo Springfield
    There’s something happening here

What it is ain’t exactly clear

There’s a man with a gun over there

Telling me I got to beware

I think it’s time we stop, children, what’s that sound

Everybody look what’s going down

There’s battle lines being drawn

Nobody’s right if everybody’s wrong

Young people speaking their minds

Getting so much resistance from behind

I think it’s time we stop, hey, what’s that sound

What a field-day for the heat

A thousand people in the street

Singing songs and carrying signs

Mostly say, hooray for our side

It’s time we stop, hey, what’s that sound

Paranoia strikes deep

Into your life it will creep

It starts when you’re always afraid

You step out of line, the man come and take you away

We better stop, hey, what’s that sound

Stop, hey, what’s that sound

Stop, now, what’s that sound

Stop, children, what’s that sound

Buffalo Springfield – For What It’s Worth

37. Public Enemy – He Got Game ft. Stephen Stills

He Got Game / Public Enemy
    Yeah that’s right, this cut goes out to all y’all
    That’s been missin’ us for mad years
    One love, yo, yeah that’s right
    He’s got game, PE 1998

If man is the father, the son is the center of the earth
    In the middle of the universe
    Then why is this verse comin’ six times rehearsed?
    Don’t freestyle much but I write ’em like such (Word)
    Amongst the fiends, controlled by the screens
    What does it all mean all this shit I’m seein’?
    Human beings screamin’ vocal javelins
    Signs of a local nigga unravelin’ (Uh-huh)

My wandering, got my ass wondering
    Where Christ is in all this crisis
    Hatin’ Satan never knew what nice is
    Check the papers while I bet on Isis
    More than your eye can see and ears can hear
    Year by year, all the sense disappears
    Nonsense perseveres prayers laced with fear
    Beware 2 triple O is near

It might feel good, it might sound a lil’ somethin’
    But damn the game if it don’t mean nuttin’
    What is game, who got game, where’s the game in life?
    Behind the game, behind the game
    I got game, she’s got game
    We got game, they got game, he got game
    But fuck the game if it ain’t sayin nuttin’

Damn was it somethin’ I said?
    Pretend you don’t see so you turn your head
    Race scared of it’s shadow, does it matter?
    Thought of reperations got ’em playin’ wit the population
    Nothing to lose, everything’s approved
    People used even murders excused
    White men in suits don’t have to jump
    Still a thousand and one ways to lose with the shoes

God takes care of ol’ folks and fools (Uh)
    While the Devil takes care of makin’ all the rules
    Folks don’t even own themselves
    Payin’ mental rent to corporate presidents
    One out of one million residents
    Being dissident, who ain’t kissin’ it?
    The politics of chains and whips
    Got the sick missin’ chips and all the championships

What’s love got to do with what you got?
    Don’t let a win get to your head or a loss to your heart
    Nonsense perseveres prayers laced with fear
    Beware 2 triple O is near

But damn the game if it don’t mean nuttin’
    What is game, who got game, where’s the game in life?
    Behind the game, behind the game
    I got game, she’s got game
    We got game, they got game, he got game
    But fuck the game if it ain’t sayin’ nuttin’

Yeah, that’s right everybody got game
    We just here to let you all know
    That PE is in full effect from right now
    ‘Til the year 2000
    Ah yo my man sing it

There’s something happenin’ here
    What it is ain’t exactly clear
    There’s a man with a gun over there
    (Yeah that’s right, haha)
    Telling me that I got to beware
    It’s time we stopped children
    What’s that sound everybody look
    What’s going down

Hey yo, I don’t think they heard ya Stephen
    Kick it to them again, one more time

It’s time we stopped children
    What’s that sound? Everybody look
    What’s going down

That’s right boy PE in full effect boy
    ‘Til the year 2000, yo

Stop, look what’s that sound? (C’mon, sing)
    Everybody knows what’s going down (Sing it again y’all, c’mon)
    Stop, look what’s that sound (Hey, ha-hey!)
    Everybody knows what’s going down

Hey yo
    These are some serious times that we livin’ in G
    And our new world order is about to begin
    You know what I’m sayin’, now the question is
    Are you ready for the real revolution
    Which is the evolution of the mind?

If you seek then you shall find that we all come from the Divine
    You dig what I’m sayin? Now if you take heed to the words of wisdom
    That are written on the walls of life then universally we will stand
    And divided we will fall ’cause love conquers all
    You understand what I’m sayin’?

This is a call to all you sleepin’ souls
    Wake up and take control of your own cycle
    And be on the lookout for those spirits tonight trying to steal your light
    You know what I’m sayin’, look what’s inside yourself for
    Peace, give thanks, live life and release, you dig me, you got me?

Stop, look what’s that sound?

38. Milluh
    The usual response–attack me and call me a liar. One week I am a lying marketer performing fellatio on white men in NYC, next week I am a lying project manager, another week a lying lawyer, now a lying town planner and advisor to Hyatt. There is something wrong with an individual who repeatedly says different things about another with not a single shred of evidence to support their accusations. Why don’t you just give up, can’t you see your attacks achieve nothing? More rent free status for me. My point stands tho–all RH talk. Some ah wunna can’t even set up a meeting turn but convinced unna have the solution to everything. The best contributors to this space tend to keep quiet.

39. Oh my heavens!!

Another Doctor who can’t figure out 30-0 is a nullity.

What’s it with these Doctors?

40. Why so many committees
    Soon as a problem ignites fire and damnation on this govt Mia response is committee
    Still don’t understand the necessity could it be that Mia doesn’t trust the opinions of the ministers and try to shield them from public humiliation as with the GIS issue
    These committees taking on a mirror image of a scammittees have yet to hear any one of these committes forward reliable information with purpose to achieve formidable results

Another concern
    Missing in action is Caswell Franklin hope Mia didn’t buy him a double locked muzzle

41. Bushie
    If you can’t find a single good policy decision of the government given where we were in 2018 v now, I can’t help you.

I seldom mention the DLP or comment on AC’s ramblings. I mostly question the misinformed, emotive-based (often disingenuous) contributions of others. You should also realise that there are some anti-Enuff characters on BU and once I sneeze dem duz be ready. They call me a yardfowl and I call them egofowls. Mi nuh fraid dem weaklings.

42. @ Enuff June 20, 2022 6:34 AM

Now you know how it feels to ingest some of your own nasty medicine.

Isn’t that the same thing you do incessantly to people like your Salemite?

Aren’t you the ‘know-it-all’ lawyer who argued that there was absolutely nothing illegal about having two DCoPs without an amendment to the then existing Police Act?

You really don’t anyone to ‘reference’ the town-planning expertise you demonstrated in your informative contributions regarding the Hyatt erection or even your ‘unique’ knowledge on the UNESCO’s criteria on Bridgetown’s World Heritage Site designation, do you now, Mr. Name-Dropper?

So why don’t you set the record straight and tell us ‘what’ you are really good at other than being a red-eye yard-bird ensconced in a pen on Roebuck Street?

Now when are we going to see something out of you regarding the ‘conceptualising and implementing’ one piece ah public policy?

At least we know the Salemite is a writer on all things African and who goes by the pen name Yolande Grant.

For the record, here is what you said to the Salemite way back in December 2020.

“Salemite
    You can’t because you don’t have a [fcuking] clue. Tell the blog what is the current framework and what it ought to be and why. BU gangstas good at talking eh…talk pretty as RH. I have often asked who here has had any involvement in the formulation, implementation and or management of one single public policy?”
    (Unquote).

43. @ angela cox June 20, 2022 9:44 AM

That’s rather magnanimous of you, ac!

As a show of gratitude, maybe, (y)our new-man Ronnie Y will find himself a senatorial seat in Parliament to be the Voice of Opposition.

44. Milluh

Maybe you should focus more on comprehension rather than words when you’re reading, then you’ll be able to do more than spout pretty words. Don’t blame me. I feel for you. Rent free in your head. I looooove it. Imagine, my oneself stir up so much bile in you and others. I sleep comfortably daily knowing I am causing indigestion in you and your ilk.

45. @ Enuff June 20, 2022 10:41 AM

So do you pay rent to the Salemite or even to BAJE?

Any person who dares to be opposed to your red ‘can-do-no-wrong’ administration immediately comes into your crosshairs of vileness.

Poor Willie Skinner and Walter Blackman both all the way in Atlanta!

Why don’t you be man ‘Enuff’ by standing for Truth and Justice especially when you have been bitch-slapped down by your own MAM?

Now where is your long-promised version of that much needed and costly tourism slogan for Barbados?

That would be a convincing case of you being knowledgeable about how to design and implement good public policy in order to get the Milluh evicted from your empty house.

Now here is the deal, Brother Enuff the king of Bluffers!

Stop attacking WARU the Salemite and the Milluh will be ‘generous’ with you!

Let her tell her own ‘stories’ the same way you want others to let you promote your own fabrications.

46. Milluh

Unlike you, who once I say blah you jump out, I only respond to 3degree/Salemite/WS etc when they come after me. The fact that you have to conjure fantasy and reference a government to attempt to challenge the veracity of comments, show you’re clearly struggling and will continue to get indigestion from my posts. Do I ever call your name? No! But you always bong out to get catspraddle. You carry on. Waste of time. LMBAO.

47. Pearls before swines seems quite apt as a response.
    +++++++++

@Enuff
    So in other words, there is not one single policy that you can point out. Just say so and keep it moving.

PS: Pumping shiiite in the Atlantic or over paying for buses/ garbage trucks is not a “policy”.

48. The Miller is in such fine form that I must pronounce him as fully recovered.

He did not inform us of any malady,but a sudden decline in his volume of contributions was an indication that the Miller was ‘under the weather’. Now, his line and length are those of a bowler in peak condition.

It is doubtful that they are enuff batsmen who can master his delightful deliveries. Delicacies to one who enjoys the game of cricket.

Oops.. I just figured out why I make some lists.

49. “So in other words, there is not one single policy that you can point out. Just say so and keep it moving.”

MURDAHHHH!!!

“But overall Pachamama is running out of time and She will eventually do what She has always done for five billions years – bring back right order of things.”

Long overdue…..when the lady drops the REAL NEW WORLD ORDER on all these frauds…watch them SCATTER..

“Talk about doing in church and chapel too. Last week in the US – cap in hand. Next week in VenezuelA – oil can in hand.

I hope VenezuelA fills the cans with p#ss”

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

50. @ David,

I have been following the Coroners inquest into the death of Warren Mottley.

Looking forward to the conclusion.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.