Submitted by Heather Cole

Back to the Budget of a few weeks ago. Many may have missed it, many would have wondered why they were included in a Budget Speech and many are still wondering what is the real story behind black belly sheep making up a budget speech delivery when truth be told they had nothing to do with government revenue or expenditure.

Fenty is Rihanna’s brand and black belly sheep is one of the components of the Barbados brand. Rihanna would never consider devaluing the Fenty brand so everyone should be quite concerned and question why the Government of Barbados wants to devalue the black belly sheep brand.

In a part of her speech, the Prime Minister mentioned quite a few things in relation to black belly sheep that leads to the devaluation of the brand.

1. She stated that the sheep were to be raised in Guyana and then shipped to Barbados for slaughter. This may not be a good idea as there is no evidence provided that black belly sheep can thrive under the conditions that exist in Guyana.
  2. She mentioned that the black belly sheep will be cross bred with another type of sheep in Guyana. This means that there is some knowledge that the black belly sheep cannot thrive in Guyana. If they could indeed thrive, there would be no need to cross breed to create a hybrid.
  3. One can only presume that this cross breed would be more suited to the environment in Guyana. A cross between a horse and a donkey creates a mule. What will the cross bred be? The soil and vegetation are not the same so therefore, the meat and fat content will not be the same and the quality of the hide will not be the same.
  4. She also mentioned the sale of two types of meat. One of the pure black belly sheep and the other of the cross breed. The pure black belly will be for export and the diluted cross breed for local consumption. Will they be packaged accordingly? How will a consumer know that they are consuming the diluted version and not the authentic brand? Will the taste and texture of the meat be the same?
  5. Have 400 years of slavery damaged us so psychologically that it is still acceptable to be offered food that is less than the best or can we still be forced to eat what the ruling class would never eat?
  6. She mentioned that there would be a price differential. How will Barbadians feel knowing that they may not be able to afford an authentic brand that was created right in their own backyard centuries ago? How will they feel knowing that they are forced to settle for a substitute? Is the meat of the authentic black belly sheep which will be exported for a premium price be too good for Barbadians to consume?
  7. It was not stated that government of itself would be farming the black belly sheep so why was it so quick to come up with the price differentials between the meat of the authentic brand and the diluted product, given that the production cost will be the same?

Two burning questions that remain, are which of the local farmers can afford to start a sheep farm in Guyana and if this venture is only for the select few. One will only know both literally and figuratively if the project gets off the ground and the meat comes to market.

A brand is a unique identity. The government of Barbados should get some help from Rihanna on how to market this authentic brand. Rihanna would never collaborate with anyone to dilute her brand and sell her merchandise at a cheaper price. If that were the case, she would not be a billionaire today. So why is the Government of Barbados destroying the identity of the black belly sheep to promote a cross bred hybrid? Who will be enriched through this venture?

I am all for the creation of an enhanced product but not for a dilution and devaluation of the black belly sheep brand of Barbados. Governments action to alter the breed of the sheep does not offer increased value since it has stated that the cross breed will be sold at a cheaper price.

Livestock rearing is not new to Barbados. Some of the land that will no longer be used to produce sugar cane can be used to rear sheep. Incentives can be offered to small farmers and all of Barbados to raise and produce this product for local consumption and for export while maintaining the authenticity of the brand. Government can also ensure that the real black belly sheep meat is available to all Barbadians by fixing its price per pound on the domestic market.

311 responses to “Would Rihanna Devalue the Fenty Brand?”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Just saw Rihanna buying baby clothes at Target, they sell nice stuff…along with other stores within price range, where i loved to shop, don’t need to go to 5th or Madison Aves to get nice things…although Lord and Taylor is in a class all by itself and within price range….as well as Eddie Bauer, had another favorite, upmarket as well, the name escapes me.

..but when it comes to food, am more particular, prefer grow my own or shop with local people who grow whatever is needed.

2. (Quote):
    The same with 5 year old lamb from New Zealand…flavoured tissue paper. Local lamb has flavour and aroma.
    (Unquote).

Quite true ‘dat’ V C! The tropical Sunlight makes a big difference.

The NZ meat from old sheep is good for making dog and cat food.

The so-called lamb exported to places like Barbados is mostly the meat of old ewes taken out of wool production and which were once sent to the zoos to feed the carnivores when they were popular attractions.

If Barbadians refuse to capitalize on their own home-grown lean organic BBS why not let Guyanese entrepreneurs make a go at earning some of that estimated annual US$ 80 million business to be branded the ‘B G Lamb chops & Fillets’.

The flying fish gone and soon will the BBBS (but not the Bushman’s Brass-bowl Bajan variety).

3. “@ Enuff as Vincent said, it is the environment and lineage that determines we black belly sheep.”

Greenland Livestock Research Station conducts research on rabbits and small ruminants and maintains Barbados BlackBelly Sheep germplasm. Research before you write. https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/uwi-receives-equipment-for-black-belly-sheep-project/

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Food security for the Caribbean has never been more important…

btw…haven’t heard ya PM jumping to the front to voluntarily advise and take side anymore…

“China is expediting efforts to expand its nuclear arsenal as Beijing is seriously concerned about the threat posed by the US, the Wall Street Journal reported on Saturday.

According to the newspaper, the Chinese leadership made a strategic decision to beef up the country’s nuclear deterrence long before the current conflict in Ukraine. However, the latest events in Europe, as well as the increasingly confrontational rhetoric between Beijing and Washington over Taiwan, have prompted an acceleration of the program. The Journal arrived at these conclusions based on information obtained from the customary anonymous sources who “work with various agencies involved in security issues” in China, but none of whom are “directly involved in the setting of nuclear policy.”

As further proof of its claims, the report also cites satellite imagery of more than 100 suspected missile silos in one of China’s western regions, where increased activity has been detected. The newspaper surmises that these facilities could hold China’s new long-range DF-41 missile, which was put into service in 2020. This type of missile can carry a nuclear warhead and is capable of reaching the US mainland, the report noted.”

5. Heather.

Would u prefer we don’t cross breed with guyana but continue to import from Aus/ Nz?

6. “Increasing suppliers is not devaluing a brand.”

Not always true. Even though it would be increasing suppliers, you don’t find LV bags in Walmart. That’s why Fenty started at upscale stores, it is called differentiation. Having already been differentiated, the BBS can be expanded geographically to increase supply/iers while still maintaining its value. Same for cross-breeding, as this has been done for years now overseas yet the BBS maintains its prestige Sticking to the fashion analogy, H&M by Balmain didn’t devalue the latter.

7. @ John April 10, 2022 10:27 AM
    You have to consider that Barbadians have become largely infertile and whatever is causing it may be infecting the sheep.
    Many lambs were raised in our household using a baby’s feeding bottle.
    They became pets after a time, each with a name.
    (Unquote).

We can confidently guess that you did much of that bottle-feeding of those lambs.
    What, then, was your pet name on the plantation? Mary?

But Sir John, we are most surprised you have not (yet) regaled the BU audience about the ‘aetiology ‘of the Bajan black-belly sheep with the same enthusiasm you did about the Bajan brand of the Green Monkey.

Now where did this ‘variety’ of sheep originate?

Wales and was brought to little England as ‘companions’ to the Limey sailors?

Or did the black-belly ruminants come on the same ships as the black c(h)attel and green monkey which should be exported to help boost Guyana’s eco-tourism business?

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

stay in ya lane

mind ya business and “drink water”……make sure it’s clean and available…

don’t try to skim from the treasury and pension fund

make sure the Black/Afrikan population get what they are entitled to…what is rightfully THEIRS…

food security and all the above are now priority….

cahn tek sides heah doah…an nuhbody int wahn no advice, keep it tuh yuhself…

9. Imported meat has to be blast frozen and therefore the quality of the taste will degrade over time.

————-

Does freezing meat change the taste | taste vs freezing miths – Pro Family Chef

https://www.profamilychef.com/does-freezing-meat-change-the-taste/

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The saber rattling has begun in earnest.

11. “Increasing suppliers is not devaluing a brand.”

Not always true. Even though it would be increasing suppliers, you don’t find LV bags in Walmart. That’s why Fenty started at upscale stores, it is called differentiation. Having already been differentiated, the BBS can be expanded geographically to increase supply/iers while still maintaining its value. Same for cross-breeding, as this has been done for years now overseas yet the BBS maintains its prestige Sticking to the fashion analogy, H&M by Balmain didn’t devalue the latter.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NOW THE BLP STOOL PIGEON IS COMPARING PHYSICAL ITEMS WITH LIVESTOCK & BREEDING..

NO WONDER THE 2×3 ISLAND IS IN THE HANDS OF THE IMF

12. @David
    How is Barbados able to prevent it at this moment?
    ++++++
    The road to hell is paved with good intentions, perhaps Barbados could have received assurances from the host country that it wouldn’t compete in that endeavour for a specific number of years.

13. @ Enuff, Give it up! Rihanna’s price range has not changed even though she increased her suppliers.

14. @ Enuff, ” In economics and marketing, product differentiation (or simply differentiation) is the process of distinguishing a product or service from others, to make it more attractive to a particular target market.”

How does diluting the brand make it attractive? What is happening here is not differentiation. 50% of the brand has been subtracted and nothing has been added.

15. John2@Heather.

Would u prefer we don’t cross breed with guyana but continue to import from Aus/ Nz?
    My preference is to expand the BBBS I Barbados. Using as much available land as possible. It will increase production, more mutton will be on the local market and reduce imports. Supply will meet demand both for local consumption and exports and the artificial price that now props up local farmers will disappear as what is not consumed locally will be exported. John2, I am advocating for an increase in production, maintenance of local sheep farmers and reducing exports. Local farmers who will not be able to expand in Guyana will not benefit from hybridization. Most likely they will be driven out of the market unless they can be guaranteed an export market.

16. So why are you totally ignoring the bajan initiative of increasing the BBS total in Barbados?

Cross breeding of BBS is already being done in other countries Why not guyana and why not with our support?

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Ms Cole, I was trying to understand this entire debate of mutton production and get an idea of market penetration and thus grasp the thrust of the concerns of cross breeding etc…. which I perceive does lead to “the real reason behind creating a hybrid”.

The process and project seems interesting and as you noted “is a good idea” as any meaningful increase in food production would be. Your contention that ‘cross breeding’ (hybrid does sound so car like) is a problem and competes with the original BBS makes sense BUT in the absence of facts we are twisting ourselves into all types pretzels creating scenarios.

Mutton is mutton I would perceive but I am sure the food scientists can speak in detail to what is more succulent and tender and all that … and provide rationale why the hybridization is being done. Do you have ANY details on that?

Clearly as you noted the BBS brand would be devalued because of any hybridization (in theory) but that’s not to say that such an action MUST necessarily be a bad thing. That’s just marketing theory and business realities are absolutely different to theory!

What is the VALUE and market penetration of the BBS mutton currently … do Bajans (and others) prefer that to other varieties, for example? The mere fact that you used Ms. Fenty name and association to branding suggests that you are considering this like a PREMIUM priced mutton targeting a higher end market (I would presume)… IS THAT THE CASE??? Is BBS mutton of that type or at least a better mutton that normal … is it being marketed as such or being targeted to that segment??

You wrote the essay on the subject … so what ARE the deeper issues re the hybridization’ and BBS mutton purchases is what I am trying to understand.

18. @Dee Word

If you watch the YouTube posted president Ali at launch details import spend for four leading buyers of lamb and to your question Barbados numbers. How many have listened?

19. @Dee Word

Agree with you it is about how the meat will be marketed. Barbados does not have proprietary access to the BBS brand.

Rihanna markets her products based on her mega brand equity. She established the product with high end retailers to create a foothold to say to the mass market ‘look me’. Now it is about using Walmart and other mass suppliers to facilitate distribution to mass market who wants to get close to Rihanna through her products. A different dynamic to what is happening with BBS.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ok @David, no I did not listen. So if you are saying that his speech literally puts the meat into the matter then thanks!

And @Ms Cole, I saw your 8:18PM after posting and you have me further puzzled. Are you realistically suggesting that we can produce mutton for local and export consumption in Bim! Sustainably so, REALLY!

And when you say “the artificial price that now props up local farmers will disappear” to what exactly are you referring?

I am not familiar with NZ farming practices but if there are anything like other major farming countries I expect that there is a certain amount of subsidization (legally via tax and favorable regulations, of course) offered to them…. so that’s why I am wondering what your ‘artificial pricing’ remark meant on our local market!

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Verrrry DIFFERENT @David.. Very, very different!

22. Crossbreeding

Crossbreeding is the mating of rams and ewes of different breed compositions or types. It does not denote indiscriminate mixing of breeds, but rather is a systematic utilization of different breed resources to produce crossbred progeny of a specific type. Crossbreeding is used extensively in the commercial sheep industry and the majority of slaughter lambs are crossbred.

Crossbreeding offers two distinct advantages over pure breeding: 1) heterosis; and 2) breed complementarity. Heterosis or hybrid vigor is the superiority of the crossbred offspring as compared to the parents. Mathematically, it is the difference in performance between the crossbred and the average performance of its purebred parents.

There are effects of heterosis in the crossbred offspring, crossbred dam, and crossbred ram. In general, crossbred individuals tend to be more vigorous, more fertile and grow faster than purebreds.

Texas got the jump on us.

23. Cuhdear BajanApril 10, 2022 4:43 PM

When next I am marrying [after my little surgery of course] I’ll demand one of those from my intended.

No doubt your intended will sing this song after the wedding when you all get home after the ball.

He will have to add another line to the song about your other fake parts!!

Love this song Grasshopper!!

24. John April 10, 2022 9:05 PM “No doubt your intended will sing this song after the wedding when you all get home after the ball.”

Good one John.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@EnuffApril 10, 2022 4:29 PM
    Didn’t LVMH and Fenty agree to ‘go their separate ways’ some months ago?
    And likely why we see new/added distribution.

26. The Barbados Black Belly is a breed of domestic sheep from the Caribbean island of Barbados. Although it is likely the Barbados Blackbelly has African ancestry, there seems to be clear evidence that the breed, as seen today, was developed by the people on the island from sheep brought by ships fairly early in the period after Europeans first arrived.[2] This breed is raised primarily for meat.[3] It is widely distributed, with populations in twenty-five countries in the Americas, Asia and Europe. It is most abundant in the Caribbean region, in Mexico and in Peru.[1] In 2015 the total world population was estimated at about 158,000.[1] In 2014, the US reported 1,971 registered sheep.

As per wiki

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbados_Black_Belly

27. The black sheep represent quite excellently our naive, idle masses. LOL. Like any flock of sheep, they need a tough shepherd who will turn the sheepdogs on them from time to time and beat them with a stick to steer them in the right direction.

We don’t need a new shepherd because we already have a Supreme Leader who rules our island with an iron fist.

28. TronApril 11, 2022 12:49 AM

The black sheep represent quite excellently our naive, idle masses. LOL.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

“The Barbados government figures estimate that there are about 30,000 sheep on the island; about one-third are purebred, another third are high grade crossbreds while the final third are a variable mix of BBS and several other breeds. BBS are now widely distributed around the world with populations in twenty-five countries in the Americas, Asia and Europe. It is most abundant in the Caribbean region, Mexico and Peru. In 2015 the total world population was estimated at about 158,000 including 1,900 registered purebreds in the USA. Several hundred thousand descendants of BBS can be found in Texas where they have been bred with both domestic sheep including Rambouillet and wild Mouflon sheep from Europe.”

TRON

You know what, you could be right about the parallels between between the BBS and the Island’s population.

about one-third are purebred,
    another third are high grade crossbreds
    while the final third are a variable mix of BBS and several other breeds

BBS are now widely distributed around the world with populations in twenty-five countries in the Americas,
    These would be equivalent to the Diasporeans.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It was bound to happen, parallels being drawn between sheep and sheeple. John is giving ya the message loud and clear..

Thanks Sarge….i realized no one knew the origins of the Black Belly Sheep or who created the industry so did not bother to pursue it.

the upmarket store i referred to in Manhattan was Syms….best place for buying well-designed, professional business attire, within price range, dependent on your desire……every one i mentioned are uptown and upmarket but with a view to suiting every pocket..

30. BAJEApril 10, 2022 7:38 PM

NOW THE BLP STOOL PIGEON IS COMPARING PHYSICAL ITEMS WITH LIVESTOCK & BREEDING..

NO WONDER THE 2×3 ISLAND IS IN THE HANDS OF THE IMF

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The name of this blog is Would Rihanna Devalue the Fenty Brand.

Heather Cole said that the “Fenty is Rihanna’s brand and black belly sheep is one of the components of the Barbados brand.”

Everybody here talking bout black belly sheep, which is livestock and Rihanna brand, which is physical items.

Wuh Enuff do that different?

Wuh is your point?

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

I don’t follow the space closely. You are correct.
    “WWD reports that LVMH now plans to concentrate on Fenty Beauty and Fenty Skin, which it also owns.”

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The Black Belly Sheep is already a hybrid with part Afrikan roots, they even tief the sheep out of Afrika and turned Afrikan people into sheeple…

these on BU only know how it cooks and how it tastes, but nothing else about it…i remember they used to have woolly extensions like the mammoth, but that disappeared over time..

“Black Belly Sheep are a notoriously nomadic species indigenous to Barbados. Derived from the cross between African hair sheep and European wooly stock, they wander for miles grazing at their favorite spots for a few minutes at a time.”

“FYI:
    -Origin story: In the 1600s, the Barbados black-belly was created via a
    hybridization of a short-haired African sheep species that came with the slave
    trade and a prolific Northern European wooly sheep species. The African
    species fell into disfavor because of its low reproductive rates. The European
    sheep died out because the thick wool was disadvantageous in Barbados’s
    tropical climate and prime grounds for parasites (Combs 1983).
    – Bred mostly for its high prolific rates and meat (Oklahoma State University)”

all you need to know about its origins..

https://www.idahofallsidaho.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5041/Barbados-Blackbelly-Sheep

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

More info about the Black Belly sheep that everyone should know…

how do you not know origins of what you eat, it’s amazing..

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/entrepreneurship-101-black-belly-sheep-e-mark-simmons

34. Couldn’t get past the first few paragraphs.

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…..that hybrid talk is pure shite….any more hybridization to the bloodline/lineage of the black belly sheep and it will become completely DILUTED….it will be so in name only…

the only reason it did not/cannot succeed with our Afrikan bloodlines/lineage is because many of us are so DOMINANT and POWERFUL through ancestral heritage…….or our fate would be that of the black belly sheep….which of course happened to some Afrikan descents, but not all…and of course, can be taken even further, John is on the right track..

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo…the text i posted is as far as i can read, can’t get past that, it’s more than enuff for me, won’t dare try reading the entire links….don’t know what else might jump out…….lol

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

This BBS issue, seems to draw a semblance to Barbados Rum?

38. It is worth mentioning the BBS project is led by Dr. Leroy McClean who is qualified in the area having done his post grad work on the subject.

To the armchair specialists.

39. FLYING FISH an Coucou can’t done. Life will be good in Babadus fuh now.

Flying fish will be in abundance for Easter with a sharp rise in the catch that was scarce for months.

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/04/11/nuff-flying-fish/

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The injection of any NEW DNA, any new species into what now exists….will DILUTE any Afrikan short haired/english wooly sheep lineage left…ya don’t have to specialize in anything to know that….IT’S COMMONSENSE…

and since no one ENLIGHTENED the population who EAT the damn thing, and have for CENTURIES, ABOUT ITS ORIGINS…presuming they knew anything themselves………i will hardly believe anything any of them say anyway…bunch of blasted IDIOTS…

this information did not come from UWI….it came from….”(Oklahoma State University)” via Idahofallsidaho.gov.

and the information will be in Northern Europe/UK…but was NOT IN BARBADOS until now…unless ya read the local dudes linkedin page and i did not see that posted to BU…until now.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The sensible amongst us would be asking, since we don’t know the origins of what we eat….WHAT ELSE DON’T WE KNOW…

trying to promote people who don’t know shit, will not upgrade or increase the knowledge base…

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And since Europe did the initial cross-breeding, they have all rights am sure well patented, trademarked as we see and all other intellectual rights….Barbados and Guyana have no such rights…

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Barbados and Guyana have no such rights…..and with everything else that’s NOT YOURS…will need permission to add a lineage for whatever reason….

44. GPApril 10, 2022 7:12 AM

IN THE NEARBY SANFORD ZOO ……..

That name brings back old time memories of watching Redd Foxx on TV in the 70’s, SANFORD & SON.

Remembering the characters I realise alot of us on here are a bit like Fred and his buddies, same type of age, same type of demeanour..

Then of course there was Lamont”s Aunty, “Aunt Esther”

I got to wondering if many of us are like Fred, perhaps there are some like “Aunt Esther”.

45. The hybrid is for food security/ cut down on import for the Guyana Barbados and other caricom countries. Geeze

The pure Breds will still be raised in Barbados

The bbs dna is already being diluted outside of Barbados without any profit to Barbados

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John…the hybrid is a European creation, it’s there’s to do whatever they want, including economic benefits and diluting to the nth degree…they do not have to answer to Barbados…

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

iz we sheep, iz we sheep, no, you iz de sheep…

couldn’t resist that one…lol

48. Y it belong to Europe and not to Africa ?

49. Our population is suddenly enthusiastic about agriculture. Wonderful. After neglecting agriculture for about 210 years. LOL.

With our permanent economic crisis, I wouldn’t be surprised if our masses soon wish for the 18th century back when our island was the gem of the Caribbean. At least in those days there was free clothing and food.