Submitted by Andrew Nehaul

The application for a work permit by the Sandy Lane Hotel for a Restaurant Manager – Beach & Pool should be rejected.

Sandy Lane stands as one of the pioneering hotels on the island, upholding an esteemed reputation for unparalleled service and excellence as a five-star establishment. Under current ownership, it has been completely reconstructed, enduring the passage of time while fostering prosperity for its proprietors, its dedicated staff, and, significantly, the people of Barbados.

For decades, this splendid hotel has been an integral part of  Barbados’s tourism landscape. Many of my acquaintances have commenced their professional journeys within the embrace of this architectural masterpiece. The hotel’s workforce has undergone commendable training over the years, with employment there often regarded as a mark of distinction.

Therefore, it is disheartening to learn of Sandy Lane’s purported consideration of a work permit for a position that could be filled by a local candidate. Such a move reflects poorly on the management and owners, suggesting a willingness to exploit Barbadian talent. The Immigration Minister must assertively reject such requests and insist on the recruitment of qualified locals. In 2024, there is no shortage of capable Barbadians for such roles.

I refrain from delving into the historical lack of representation of black individuals in the role of General Manager. Despite numerous qualified Barbadians, such as Richard Williams and Randy Wilkie, who have effectively overseen operations, the owners have seemingly overlooked suitable black candidates, even if they are non-Barbadian. This speaks volumes about the owners’ mind set rather than the hotel itself.

While the hotel’s owners have generously supported various charitable endeavours, it cannot overshadow the imperative for the leading hotel in Barbados to prioritize the employment and training of qualified locals for positions of responsibility. 

45 responses to “Time to block work permit applications from Sandy Lane”

1. These Work Permit applications in the paper invariably mean they’ve already found the person they want for the position in the recruitment process. But, there is also an underlying complaint that locals are cheaper and hired for the lower paying positions to be subordinated.

2. One must also wonder how with a thriving tourist industry for such a long period Barbados is still unable to fill these types of positions.

If after decades, a nation of 270,000 is unable to produce one ‘restaurant manager’ then either something is wrong with our tourism product or with us. We seem only capable ble of performing the lower level tasks.

Something is definitely wrong with our ‘Immigration Office’. I would suggest that the Office (1) put a time limit of 1-year on the work permit and make renewal of the permit a difficult task and (2) insist that a local shadow the restaurant manager and be trained to perform the duty by year 2.

Until there is some push back, this nonsense will continue.

3. Human Race is not a Race Avatar
    Human Race is not a Race

Before Anglo American Slavery there was no concept of race.

Their justification for their inhumane crimes to humanity, was they were the master race to be masters to an inferior race who’s place is to be slaves to serve them. Sandy Lane strictly caters for stuck up rich guests from that master race.

4. The first opportunity to introduce race talk into every topic.

The issue of issuing work permits to expats is a thorny one, one that has been discussed for years in Barbados. Many businesses that have applied for work permits do so because they want to import real world experience to their operations based on their customers or have actors present who their trust.

Before some of you runoff the blogmaster is not saying we should not have guarded against the current practice becoming embedded in our culture by neglecting to train locals. Barbados has made its bed and have to lie in it. We overly rely on tourism and FDI and part of the deal is that we have been prepared to be accommodating to foreign influences and investors.

To change it will require a little leadership.

5. Catering for Rich Bastards Avatar
    Catering for Rich Bastards

“Many businesses that have applied for work permits do so because they want to import real world experience to their operations based on their customers”

Barbados is a part of the real world with some of the finest top quality luxury hotels

6. Barbados does not have luxury hotels to compare to world standard. People who travel know this.

7. point counter point sparring Avatar
    point counter point sparring

Are you saying Barbados is a sleepy old town and it’s people have underdeveloped brains lacking the level of sophistication and better brains from big cities.

Truth is only below average mediocre candidate staff from some of the better Top Notch Hotels would apply to Barbados for management positions.

Skin colour is not a qualification
    but what colour are these 👊 Oncoming Incoming Managers 👊🏻👊🏼👊🏽👊🏾👊🏿

8. You may have the last word.

9. I am hooked on the phrase ‘real world experience’.
    How long must we play this tourism game before we develop ‘real world experience’?
    Didn’t we bring a guy from half way across the world for ‘real world experience’? How did that work out?
    I have stayed in hotels (with a range of prices) in a number of countries (not Barbados)and I am struggling to remember what was so special about their service.

We have to develop confidence in ourselves and in our product or we will be here in 2075 seeing advertisements for a hotel manager assistant.

10. best servants Avatar
    best servants

The richest bastards in this world say Sri Lankans make the best servants for their luxury yachts, I remember reading that a very very long time ago ..

11. @ David,
    Where did it all go wrong for our people?

https://nationnews.com/2017/02/28/black-history-month-emergence-of-black-merchants/

12. I Have been commenting on this Sandy lane/work permit issue for several years.

A few years ago, Sandy Lane employed a Puerto Rican as an engineer. After being on the job for almost a year, the hotel advertised the job.

The vacancy ad indicated the applicant must be able to speak Spanish fluently.

I also know of a situation where a particular hotel advertised for an ‘Executive Chef/Trainer who, in addition to chef qualifications, must have a teacher’s certificate and at least a diploma in computer science.
    A guy, who was a qualified chef and gained the requisite experience working in overseas luxury hotels applied for the job.
    It is interesting to note that, before leaving Barbados and changing profession, the guy was an Erdiston trained teacher with a degree in computer science.

Although he met all the requirements for the job, the hotel applied for a work permit to employ a non-national.
    He subsequently went to the Advocate newspaper, which published his story.

13. 👍🏿
    Indeed, this is one of the matters that you have commented on.

I think that we cannot just look at the hotels alone but must start looking at our Immigration Office.

I will ask the questions.
    Does it have an institutional memory or does it forget the last application?
    Has it been compromised?
    Does it have a policy centered around development of nationals?

When the fox routinely enters the hens’ house then we must look at who is guarding the gate.

14. What we need to find out is if Barbadians are all talk. Here is the question – have Barbadians been filing objections when applications for work permits for expats are published? Do we need Freedom of Information (FOI) to be able to know?

15. The phrase ‘real world experience’ is perhaps used by hotel owners to justify employing non-nationals.

The problem is that many of those expatriate chefs, managers etc, do not remain on the job for an extended period of time, preferring to ‘hotel hop,’ before returning to their homelands…… or being employed by other Caribbean luxury resorts.

Working in the Caribbean is often used by them to enhance their résumé.

An executive chef, for example, is not usually a ‘hands on’ person, meaning they do not cook the food. They prepare the menus, while foods are prepared by the cooks.

Interestingly, one of the stipulations for a work permit is that a Barbadian has to be an ‘understudy’ of the expatriate.

16. THE (RE)GENTRIFICATION OF BARBADOS

It was around 800 AD, that the “ORIGINAL” settlers, known as the #Arawaks, arrived on the island. Another wave of settlers, the #Kalinago, also known as the #CARIBS, visited the island in their canoes but did not establish a permanent settlement – rowing from Dominica & other islands…

According to historical records, these #IndigenousPeople (ABORIGINAL) to inhabit Barbados were the #Amerindians, who arrived “EN MASSE” on the island @ around 1200 AD…

They were known as the “TROUMASSOID” people and were a group of #Saladoid_Barrancoid from the mainland of South America whose skills as “MARINERS” were second to none…

After the “DOCTRINE OF DISCOVERY” in the 1400s, Barbados was then settled in 1627 by a group of 80 “PIRATE” settlers & [10] English indentured laborers who arrived on the island, led by Captain Henry Powell; followed by the Prescott’s; Draxes et al…

2027 will mark exactly the 400th year!!!

A time where the “GLOVES WILL BE OFF” (make of that what you will)!!!

What we are seeing now is the etymology of #Regentrification – rooted in the Latin words “REGERE,” meaning “TO RULE,” & “GENTRIFICATION,” referring to the process that entails pandering to the upper middle-classes & those “ABOVE”…

This term is often used to describe the phenomenon of “AFFLUENZA” – often where #AlbinoCentricPaleskinCaucasoid individuals move into previously low-income, predominantly “BLACK” & people of color-minority neighbourhoods, leading to changes in the local culture, economy, & demographics…

HAS ANYONE NOTICED THAT OVER THE LAST 70 YEARS THAT THE WEST COAST FROM THE BOTTOM OF UNIVERSITY HILL ALL ALONG THE WEST COAST HAS BEEN COMPLETELY CHANGED – OWNED IF NOT IN WHOLE, BY PROPERTY-CRAZED, FOREIGN SPECULATORS ET AL???

Synonyms of (RE)gentrification include urban renewal, & urban revitalization, which all refer to the process of transforming urban areas through redevelopment & revitalization efforts – pushing out working-classes & others who do not possess the necessary “FINANCIAL CAPITAL” & in this case, “THE WEST COAST” is “PRIME BEACH-FRONT REAL ESTATE” – a playground for the “DRUG-LORDS”; “ARMS-DEALERS”; “PEADOPHILES” & other forms of “LOW-LIFES” to hide-OUT* in their “VILLAS” & stately homes!!!

Antonyms of regentrification include urban decay, urban blight, & urban neglect, which describe the opposite phenomenon of urban areas falling into disrepair and disinvestment (NAMELY, CERTAIN PART OF BRIDGETOWN) – however, in the case of this once #OleSlaveHoldingHELLSCAPE* now called “SANDY LANE” are forces at work to perpetuate the level of Caucasian influence & “PRESENCE” on an island that has “NEVER” really changed hands at a deeper level, in almost 400 years of “TYRANNICAL” history!!!

As “DAY MEETS NIGHT” – the #DayzAreComing when “BARBADOS” will once again have a “PRIME MONSTER” (PM) who will be a direct descendent of the “ANGLO-SAXON” #EuropeanPowerStructureClass – “FORCED” on them in broad-daylight because the “SENTINELS” on the wall were asleep at the wheel – allowing the land to be “OVER-RUN” & “OVERTAKEN” by a “NEO-BARBARIAN HORDE”!!!

HERE’S SPIKE LEE [9] YEARS AGO ON THE ISSUE…

17. @TB

Who is to blame for the west coast as you opined being owned by foreigners?

18. Some here have never recognized race as one of the dominate variables within all equations around us.

Indeed, no thinking about anything can make sense unless these dominant variables are considered, weighted.

However, there is a particular Bajan animals considered local or baccra or titularly Black which have no commitment to either localism, as broadly defied, or Blackness.

These kinds of social class renderings only seem to emerge when what the Americans call affirmative action is sought for this breed.

About the tourism industry, if one is still so minded, that it should be so categorized, it was always about Whiteness, especially at its helm.

And that ‘affirmative action’, 80 years on, is still seen as a means whereby locals, or baccras, or ‘coconuts’ must continue to seek such a dispensation is pregnant with meanings.

Certainly, if any of these people was impressive enough there should not be a requirement for the affirmative action of government.

19. bgoldariella Avatar

I just love y’all. Biting de hand dat feeds yuh, I worked in the hotel industry years ago as a Personnel Manager and I am a Bajan and I know ALL ABOUT it, The demands that the union boss insisted that BLACK BAJANS carry out on the tourists who were PAYING and without whom there would be NO WORK blew my mind.

It is time for all of you all to put down the ax.

You either want to work the fields, shut the ports down and say we are closed for tourism business because if the truth be told behind our phony grins we HATE WHITE PEOPLE or wake up and realize the motto that was en vogue years ago – Tourism is We Business and live it out. Understand what that means. Teach it to our children so that when they grow up and are in the work force there would be a different attitude.

Some other Caribbean islands (and I have visited many) do not have this egregious chip on their shoulder. I cannot understand who did “Black” bajans what that y’all should continue this vendetta in 2024 when the world is teetering on extinction all y’all can carry on about is black and white, black and white.

And you know what? This extends into the so called “churches” as well. I am not even going to go there.

The fact of the matter is what ever sect you may come from I KNOW they do not teach you to hate your fellow man because of the colour of their skin.

PONDER THESE WORDS MY FRIENDS. Whatsoever you sow – that you will reap.

20. If the current Government (BLP) (or the opposition (DLP-ish)) deem that these complaints have merit about current practice being gamed by Hoteliers and Lawyers in breach of law that higher paid positions should be filled by suitable locals with necessary skills and experience when possible and needs to be tightened up, an inquiry could be initiated with discovery of facts to determine what proportion of these jobs are actually filled by local talent as opposed to foreign with claims of widespread prejudice and bias in the industry. There are not many areas for career opportunities with a path to progress beyond the glass ceiling for locals in the nation.

21. A pox on govts that have allowed these big hoteliers to undermine the people interest
    But then again the PM never shy away from looking outside to hire people from over and far away

22. @ac

This practice of issuing auto renewal work permits didn’t start with Mottley.

23. @David

“Who is to blame for the west coast as you opined being owned by foreigners?”

If I knew the answer to that question – I could give you the “NUMBERS” for the weekend lottery (although, I don’t participate in games of chance or gamble)…

Look BRUH, the vagaries are “MANY” & most too complex for a mediocre, simplistic answer given the “HIGHWAY ROBBERY” that has gone on in broad-daylight when it comes to Black ownership of land in Barbados (especially in “HIGH-RES” areas like the West Coast)!!!

My wife’s work colleague John own a piece of property virtually next door to Sandy Lane (bequeathed to him by his late Dad) and he is also married to an English girl up here…

He is at home for 3 – 6 months during the year & comes back late Spring & works until late Summer – early Fall – then goes home to BIM… While in the UK, he rents out the house on AirBnB for a nice wad of cash given its proximity to Sandy Lane…

He has been saying for years that he has had all kinds of offers for the property including 7-FIGURE* sums but always refuses because he knows the real value of having that kinds of real estate where it is!!!

Indirectly, I hope I have given you a slanted answer to your question given that sometimes “SHORT-SIGHTEDNESS” robs us of our ability to see “LONG-TERM” & that is why “OWNERSHIP” of our most prized asset: “LAND” – can fall into the hands of “OTHERS”!!!

24. @TB

Understand what you have hinted, money will always do what it does in this world. You should ask why a majority of tourists and FDI dependent countries resist enacting Alien Land Holding laws.

25. The People United Will Never Be Defeated! Avatar
    The People United Will Never Be Defeated!

May Day May Day*

Workers Rights are ignored worldwide

Capitalist Cu nts play down their greed and exploitation with more spin than John Knox

Kemi Badenoch
    Secretary of State for Business and Trade
    has insisted that colonialism played a “minor role” in Britain’s wealth and endorsed a book which says that slavery was no more important to the economy than sheep farming

(*) the phonetic equivalent of the French m’aidez (“help me”) or m’aider (a short form of venez m’aider, “come [and] help me”).

26. @David

“Why a majority of tourists and FDI dependent countries resist enacting Alien Land Holding laws…”

Please elaborate…

27. @TB

Doing so maybe negatively interpreted by investors and foreigners (tourists). FDI and tourists dollars pay the bills. We can discuss the need to diversify BUT as it stands right now, there is nothing on the horizon to replace our one leg economy.

28. “We can discuss the need to diversify BUT as it stands right now, there is nothing on the horizon to replace our one leg economy.”

If we follow your trajectory over the next ten years. Your typical black bajan would be jobless, homeless, and landless. Without a pot to piss in.

We already have sky high prices for accommodation, food and the locals are overlooked for certain levels of jobs.

Trinidad has just experienced an attack on a lily white tourist who was fortunate not to have lost his life; whilst in Tobago a ship broke up and deposited tons of oil on her pristine beaches. Praise the lord our God is a Bajan.

29. As usual comprehension was not your best class. Some of you are so coupled to your opinion that simple facts will continue to elude you.

30. David
    May 1, 2024 at 10:45 am

This practice of issuing auto renewal work permits didn’t start with Mottley.

…..
    Understood
    But now in power she has the power to review and revised
    But the many examples of her looking outside is a tell she isn’t going to touch the status quo

31. William Skinner Avatar

“Barbados does not have luxury hotels to compare to world standard. People who travel know this.” (David)
    Believe it or not after 60 years plus in tourism industry, we only have one world class recognised hotel and it’s Sandy Lane.
    Quite frankly we don’t have any segment of the product that leads globally and this includes beaches etc etc. Contrary to foolish talk we are not a “leading” destination , in the world class ratings. We are not even number one in the Caribbean.
    The only Caribbean country that is a global leader in the industry is Guyana that is number one in eco-tourism.
    We can get an honorable mention via the much maligned Sandals , which is the world’s largest privately owned inclusive chain.
    @ Pacha
    There are some of the most unbelievable views race and slavery in our country. We will give you two examples :
    1. Guyston Mayers writing in the Advocate many years ago described slavery as a mere ” Intermission ”
    2. Dr, Dan Carter writing in the Nation a few days ago, wrote that 12.4 million(slaves) were “relocated”. This gentleman is a prominent educator.
    When we have two ” highly educated” Black men publicly referring to slavery as an “intermission” and ” relocation” we are cooked.

32. Yolande Grant Avatar

Stay VERY FAR AWAY FROM SLAVE MINDS….

They will play a pivotal role in MISLEADING the people. Started already in the palestine affair…

These days i accept no invitations. It’s that time.

33. William Skinner

Absolutely right.

Sometimes the only way to understand Black people is to envisaged a people whose every waken moment is spent trying to deny self.

Even as neoliberalism collapses, as Afrikan countries are expelling European invaders, as tectonic forces are shifting global power equations, as Europeans powers have lost their way and must now expect that wickedness given for at least 500 years, as the so-called Jewish state risks a nuclear war to maintain its preferred colonial privileges, as a wider nuclear war could be in the South Asian Sea or eastern Europe and as we currently have a most accurate understanding about the centrality of Afrikan peoples to all which has been, and on and on.

Maybe weee are both wrong to consider these people like Carter and Mayers anything but slaves, still!

Maybe?

34. Sad to say it is not only black men who seize the microphone and talk nonsense.

Yesterday, I saw a video of a young (intelligent) black woman telling a mostly white audience about a ‘common’ Caribbean practice of sweating the rice.

Of course, I was disgusted. But any such knowledge must have come from her mother/aunt/grandmother.

Why must you talk such nonsense. Do you think this make people think better of you. Besides having a number of ‘nasty’ people amongst us, we are our worse enemy. We rush to degrade our own believing that others will see us in a different light.

35. Yolande Grant Avatar
    Yolande Grant

“Maybe weee are both wrong to consider these people like Carter and Mayers anything but slaves, still!”

Nothing but Slaves, still. Or they would FIND our history and DISTILL it across the region instead of talking SHITE…did they not say one is an educator…well, he cannot teach not one of my grandchildren anything, as he has NOTHING to offer in the way of ancestral knowledge…

That’s how we will successfully separate the wheat from the chaffe.

That is what got the pretend pan africanists catspraddled, they have no clue what that knowledge is, or how to access it…..therefore they will NEVER infiltrate to destroy the REAL Pan Afrikan world….

36. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha; @ Yolande Grant
    We have too many amongst us pretending that we came here by some floating hotel. When a news paper editor could allow such undiluted bull shit to be printed, we have to question, on which ground we stand.
    We talk about reforming education. We have not heard one word about Black History being taught at primary schools.
    We should have taught Mayers and Dr. Carter who Marcus Garvey was before they had reached eleven years old.
    We have to reach our children before they reach the Eleven Minus !

37. BREAKING NEWS:

SIMON HAROLD BROCKLEY PEARCE & HIS WIFE OF SEMLEY AUCTIONEERS LIMITED (COMPANY #05136578) WERE TRYING TO SELL ANCIENT AFRICAN SKULLS

The passage of “ANTIQUITIES” 4 SALE OF ANCIENT ART & HUMAN REMAINS” is a very divisive topic to say the least – however, procurement of a whole collection of artefacts, can be ascertained from a reputable antiquities dealer with mountains of paperwork including GOV* authentication, provenance & licenses!!!

The sale of ancient artifacts is a complex and multifaceted topic and while “ENDANGERED AFRICAN SPECIES” of animals have protected status because of their “BODY PARTS” – the sale of ancient artifacts like “HUMAN SKULLS” raises many ethical concerns, as many of these items are considered “CULTURAL HERITAGE” and are often removed from their original context. Some dealers & collectors prioritize profit over “CULTURAL & ANCESTRAL SENSITIVITY”, leading to the looting and destruction of historical sites as was seen with the “ISIS DESTRUCTION” of Black “ASSYRIAN” monolithic statues originated from the Arslan Tash archaeological site from the 8th century BC, during 2015 – 2017…

THE DEN OF ANTIQUITIES REMAIN A DEN OF INIQUITY WHEN AFRICAN HUMAN SKULLS ARE PUT UP FOR AUCTION AS IN THE CASE OF SEMLEY AUCTIONEERS!!!

In 2024, not even the bones of our ancestors can “REST IN PEACE” without some “PALESKIN TERRORIST” thinking that they can make a few quid off the “REMAINS” of our people!!!

What is worst is to think that “BRITAIN” allows this “TRADE IN HUMAN REMAINS” and it is only when “SUNLIGHT SUDDENLY SANITIZES” that these “DIRTY BASTERDS” try to pull up the draw-bridge!!!

WHAT DESPICABLE HUMANOIDS!!!

38. 1619 – 2019: 400 YEARS OF GLOBAL THEFT; MASS HUMAN MURDER* & BLACK GENOCIDE*; FORCED FREE SLAVE LABOR; NO PAY-CHECK; RAPE* & HUMAN DISPLACEMENT; CULTURAL & ETHNIC* CLEANSING & WHITEWASHING*; “INTERGENERATIONAL TRAUMA” & THE LIST GOES ON & ON & ON

They say good things come in small packages – well, I should know, as I have “ONE” of my own!!!

On a celebratory note, “LOOTED TREASURES* FROM THE ANCIENT HOMELAND OF GHANA” has now been “RETURNED” by the “BRITSIH GOV” after much “heeing & hawing”!!!

Britain has “NEVER” had any “PRECIOUS MINERALS” of its own yet they possess the “CROWN JEWELS” of AFRIKA* & lay claim to them as their own!!!

How this “DESPICABLE” nation has not sunk into the North Sea, I don’t know – “BUT THEN”, my family & I are on it, along with some very “GOOD & HONORABLE SOULS”!!!

39. The repatriation of these artefacts creates a lot of problems for European governments. Those of us who were raised in little England or the mother country were taught that Africans were uncivilised and that there was nothing of importance on this continent created by these tribal people. Well they there was plenty there. Items that could be taken were looted; whilst objects that were immovable were razed to the ground. A large number of loot removed from Africa has remained hidden in vaults in private houses and museums that have never seen the light of day.

For the mother country to comply with the demands of African nations and to repatriate these artefacts is complicated. The UK would have to revisit its past and rewrite their history books.

40. Yolande Grant Avatar
    Yolande Grant

Much of those stolen Afrikan artefacts are in the Vatican basement…making money for those who seek to reenslave Afrikans…, including at least one body of our ancient ancestor, a Queen.

41. B-time or D-time is the sane time Avatar
    B-time or D-time is the sane time

Do you see how these work permits pop-up, then we have the chatter, then there is silence and then the next pop-up. Groundhog day?

Base on discussions, a time traveller to Barbados would not know if he was in the past, present or future. The same old topics and actions keep recurring. There is no Barbados saving time, B-time or D-time is the same time.

42. Yolande Grant Avatar
    Yolande Grant

“We have to reach our children before they reach the Eleven Minus !”

Much effort is going into making sure current new and incoming generations don’t end up like that shameful lot ..with no education of self…only nonsensical regurgitations of other people’s quotes, fantasies and delusions.

43. Yolande Grant Avatar
    Yolande Grant

“Base on discussions, a time traveller to Barbados would not know if he was in the past, present or future. The same old topics and actions keep recurring.”

Funny you should post that, was speaking to a relative last month and we both agreed, if we return to this realm in 500 years, with the same mindsets in place, with no education of SELF still…….it will be the same old complaints, same circular issues taking center stage with NO CHANGES whatsoever…..same go nowhere mouthings…a badge of pride they wear.

44. if the colonial masters come up out of their graves today, they will say to their children you did well, doesn’t matter who is in power you still control the island, I am 82 this year Lord Jesus we need you right now, come and turn this around,