The following was extracted from Senator Tricia Watson’s Facebook Page. Senator Watson before being elevated to the Upper Chamber had cemented a reputation in a public advocacy role specifically as it pertains to appearing as an intervenor at public utility hearings before the Fair Trading Commission (FTC).

Dear Bajans

This is not too long for you to read!

I encourage you to view this sitting of the Joint Select Committee of Parliament that is reviewing the Cybercrime Bill 2024 👆🏾.

Do not ignore this Bill. As presently drafted it will have a profound impact on public commentary, digital communication, and dissemination of information in Barbados. You should participate in this public consultation which came about because of criticisms of the Bill by ordinary citizens and by experts like Niel Harper!

At the sitting, the Chairman of the Law Reform Commission spoke for 2.5 hours in defense of the Bill drafted by the Law Reform Commission. He did say that the LRC can only recommend.

The Bill was passed by the House of Assembly on 6th February 2024 and was sent to the Joint Select Committee on 14th February 2024 and the Committee was given 3 months to submit its report. The public notice inviting submissions was first published on 12 April 2024. I have attached the corrected version.

The deadline for written submissions is Friday, 26 April 2024. At my request the Committee is receiving submissions by Zoom – you should write and indicate if you wish to make an oral submission in person or by Zoom. The Committee (at my request) will also publish notice of its meeting dates more widely (not just on Parliament’s website). The next meeting of the Committee is 6th May 2024.

[Edit] From the public notice: Written communication also includes email. Mailed responses should be addressed to the Clerk of Parliament, Parliament of Barbados, Parliament Buildings, Trafalgar Street, Bridgetown.

E-mails should be sent to parliamentbarbados@caribsurf.com.

See link to BGIS website to discover more information on – Joint Select Committee On Two 2024 Bills Formed

88 responses to “Bajans, ignore Cybercrime Bill 2024 at your peril”

1. Some politician/lawyers should really keep tief mouth shut, with all their crimes now distilled everywhere and they are still trying to remain legally relevant when…the evidence is already compiled ON ALL OF THEM and only awaiting arrests, handcuffs…

2. “Most of us do not have the resources to manage should an annoyed person seek to take us to court. ”

This bill may have been a (s)we(e)t dream to politicians but it is a nightmare to the man in the streets. So far no one has adequately dealt with it impacts on the powers of the police and therefore the possible erosion of our rights.

Here is a mention of the courts, but it does not address the long delays in reaching a final decision, the distribution of junk justice and the frequent loss of police files. Even in simple matters where it is just an exchange of money the court is a joke. Plaintiffs can die before a decision is reached or as mentioned earlier, police files can disappear.

It would be highly amusing if in the first such case brought by a high official, the system was able to turn on a dime and deliver a 7-year sentence. Then most would understand that this bill is inherently evil.

For those drunk on Kool aid, if an administration changes then you could be on the other side of the fence. Self before party should be your choice

3. Adrian Green today
    Mandatory and recommended reading 11/10

4. There appear to be some gaping holes which appears within this cyber crime bill as represented by David Simmons.

For this proposed law seems to suggest that the internet is like the Nation Newspaper as as a legal entity, that contributors are the late Harold Hoyte.

It seems to believe that the mechanisms of an Internet presence are all within the ambit of Barbados or its authorities, Trinidad or its, that like the USA universal jurisdiction is now the province of Barbados.

And this predelection spawns another curiosity.

Should law not be equally applied? Then, how can equality before the law be administered in cases where some alledged offenders are beyond the reach of the local constabulary?

And even if he, she or it is, is it not now easily possible to enter any site from unknown locations?

Certainly, Simmons’s intent could not be to criminalize a site for a link which its administrators would not and could not have reviewed?

What of people and websites with no direct connection to Barbados?

And if those so located are within other jurisdictions with ‘enabling and more progressive legislative frameworks’ does Simmons then intends to establish an international police forces and courts to extradite such alledged offenders to his preferred jurisdiction?

This writer is uncertain about the level of legal guidance the country has taken on this matter.

Something more profane or profound could have been said. For surety, at times there are no differences between these. However, maybe it’s time for the kinds of brassbowl legalisms de Bajans love.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TheO
    Your concerns regarding the implementation of the Act are valid. And yet, they similarly apply to most legislation, where the enforcement mechanism is via the courts and police service. The challenge per se is not the legislation but a malfunctioning enforcement system.
    That some offenders will get a free pass, while others will not, is simply a function of society everywhere.

6. One more contradiction.

How is it so possible for this regime in Barbados, including Ralph Thorne as he maybe, could find it so easy to reach for a cyber bill.

But integrity legislation, with teeth, has been impossible.

Legislation to stop Bajan politicians from being accused for certain matters which might be considered as less than lawful.

Or the outright law breaking connected with elections.

Or to imprison the money men who game the political system they feed and which feeds them?

7. As i proffered…the politicians/lawyers now under a giant microscope for land theft and all manner of decades long crimes against Black humanity and others, with a lengthy track record of identified crimes should keep their TIEF MOUT SHUT…

8. My brother Adrian is calling for balance in the bill, a balance that is not there at present. I do not approve of this bill in its current form.

But hey, “Dictator Mia” has back backed before and certainly Bajans are revving up their engines these days to challenge her. Perhaps having a female in charge has its benefits. People are more inclined to challenge us!

This whole system may be rotten to the core, but throwing our hands in the air is far more frustrating than doing something, whether we succeed or not.

In the meantime, those qualified to engage the citizenry on alternative systems should do so in preparation for the collapse of this one.

And a blind man on a trotting horse can see that this system of things is collapsing.

Not by January 1st, 2023, 2024, or 2025 though. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

9. @DAVID

“Under the cyber bullying section someone must intentionally use a computer system to publish offensive, pornographic, indecent, vulgar, profane, obscene data intending to cause annoyance, inconvenience, danger, obstruction, embarrassment, insult, humiliation, injury, hatred, anxiety, or emotional distress. The defence include bona fide scientific or medical research or law enforcement…”

ARE THESE PEOPLE FA’ REAL???

THEY CAN ALL #KissTheBacksides OF MY ANCESTORS!!!

GO AFTER REAL WHITE COLLAR CRIMINALS IN & OUT OF GOVs AROUND THE WORLD AS WELL AS THOSE IN THE FLIPPIN’ CHURCHES!!!

We will NOT* succumb to “ENGINEERED SOCIOPOlieTICAL CONTROL DISGUISED AS TYRANNICAL LAWS – for #WeWillNotCOMPLY & #WeWillNotOBEY*!!!

#ThisIsNotTheDarkAges

10. @TB

It is good to see this debate being had publicly. BU is littered with many blogs dealing with this matter for a decade ago.

11. All of the overseas Bajans on the blog railing against the bill reside in places where similar laws exist. Someone needs to tell Caswell that truth is often the weapon used to cyber bully young people and cause them to committ suicide. A read of similar laws across the world contain the same language: distress, alarm, fear, intimidation etc. I look forward to the committee hearings.

12. I need something that could last 6+ years Avatar
    I need something that could last 6+ years

It is a fact that as one ages, the level of performance begins to fall in a number of areas.

As it is, I cannot remember what I had for breakfast. I would be very grateful if someone could hook me up with some porn that I could remember for 6+ years.

13. A brain fart should not be government policy Avatar
    A brain fart should not be government policy

First things first.

Having given it some thought, this bill to create fear and silence people should have been expected.

Why?

Given a 61-0 mandate, this administration has done nothing to show they deserve such resounding victories. Their inability to capitalize on the ‘bounty’ that the electorate gave them has forced them to move towards silencing the people and instilling fear in them. The 61-0 need a top-up and the top-up is your fear and your silence.

Who prioritizes what this government focuses on? The constitutional committee seems to have disappeared and this cybercrime bill to take center stage.

Good sense may have failed us, but the Good Lord has not completely abandoned us. He has given us a collection of bunglers who needs to do things twice or thrice. They can rush and create new pits for the people but their incompetence means even with their first greedy bite of the apple a second bite is required. Thank you Jesus.

Again, the haste at which they are moving with this bill is not unexpected.

Why?

We are being ruled by a series of brain farts that are seen as new initiatives. The problem with a brain fart is that it is not sustained for an extended period of time; therefore extreme haste is needed before the next fart displaces the current one? Do you remember the Savvy brain fart? It was supposed to last two weeks but the smell has disappeared without the promised action.

14. When digging a grave for other people…always DIG TWO..

15. This 30-0, 60-0 talk is crap. They are majority governments with the same power to enact that a previous 16-14 had, without an opposition.
    It causes more grief for a leader than joy, for they have to find something for all 30 elected MPs to do. And with the continued plethora of senator Ministers, creates a big deck. Like an iceberg, this means more buried hands below deck than one can count.

16. Here comes a spinner with little or no spin.

Under two successive elections we have seen that -0 give rise to constitutional problems. We saw the steps taken to create an ‘artificial ‘ opposition in 2018
    and the disarray caused in both parties by Thorne’s move. This has nothing to do with the effectiveness of leadership.

To suggest that 30-0 is the on par 16-14 is outright nonsense. To suggest that with 30-0 it is more difficult to govern (pass legislation) than with 16-14 is nonsense. The bungling and missteps of the administration is due to sheer incompetence and not difficulty in governing.

Come again, but not with full tosses. Spin or try to.

17. Oh rasclot! On a day when the Supreme Court of the United States of America runs interference for the most corrupt president the country has ever seen, we are told about court systems working better than ours!

From a country where black people cry out for justice daily, marching the soles off their shoes almost monthly in the face of unrestrained murder by officers of the State, we hear about courts that work better than ours!

In a time and from a place where students young, and professors old, and seventy-three year old presidential candidates are thrown violently to the ground and arrested for calling a genocide a genocide, and bills are being contemplated equating criticism of the Israeli government with antisemitism, we are warned about the dangers of drinking Kool-Aid.

That phrase was coined in America, via Guyana!

I try so hard to not to respond to the nonsense but jeeze on bread, America’s justice system still functions almost like they did when To Kill a Mockingbird was written.

18. Are folks in the diaspora allowed to comment on issues facing Barbados?
    Does it matter if our statement are correct?
    Will we have too worry about our statements caus ing emotional distress, stress, intimidation ….

19. Ya pussy OG, who said it was more difficult to pass legislation. A majority government is a majority government. 16-14 20-10 25-5 all majorities under Westminster. All guaranteed results unless a bunch vote against, and that usually means they get the boot.
    Is it harder to lead 29 budding egos or 15?
    You obviously never led shit.
    They can bungle and bungle and who are the people to vote for? A bunch whose infighting conveys possible competency? The same umbrella group that bankrupted the island but never took responsibility beyond a zero. They were fecking glorious years.
    Go crawl back down yuh rabbit hole.

20. The cybercrime bill forces me to go gently on you. I don’t want to be accused of abuse or intimidation. Therefore, rather than pressed you hard, I will ask you a few questions that may lead you towards enlightenment.

Do you realize that the examples you cited all had an elected opposition?
    Do you think that if Mia had a choice of “16-14 20-10 25-5 all majorities” that she would say “give me 16-14”?
    Do you think Mia would prefer having 29 BLP egos or 16 BLP egos? Why do you advance that nonsensical argument.
    Do you now see that ‘a majority is a majority’ is utter nonsense
    Do you realize that 30-0 means there is no elected opposition?
    Was it you who mentioned that the DLP had no criticism (of itself) during the glorious years but the opposition did.
    Do you think Mia would prefer 29 BLP egos or 14 BLP egos? Why do you advance that nonsensical argument.

To repeat: A government will not criticize itself. An opposition should and the opposition did. Unlike you, the parties knew their role.

You don’t have to say thanks. You are welcome

21. Do you think the DLP could provide an opposition if we gave them 5 seats. They would probably cuss each others points. And call out whomever was chosen.
    Mia could handle any of those majorities.
    Do you think having an opposition stopped the D’s from teefing the employees social security contributions. Or the bond buying spree using the money of ordinary Bajans.
    It is easier to handle opposition from without than opposition within. Ask the D’s?

22. incredible

23. @Crap talk
    Your name suggest a person with low self-esteem. This is my last response to you as I do not feel it is my responsibility to build you up.

Paragraph 1 – nonsense
    Paragraph 2 – what’s the point
    Paragraph 3 – we see the same level of thieving and corruption without an opposition
    Paragraph 4 – what’s the point
    Summary – a stream of ‘Crap talk’ that is not worthy of serious consideration.

Google will provide you with resources to build your self-esteem. I wish you well but you are now on your own.

24. Why can’t we respect different opinions? The problems our countries are experiencing are made more complex because of the infallibility of man. Who can speak with authority on anything? All of us view life’s circumstances through personal experiences and training.

What we can do is to accept that although we have different perspectives the educated and enlightened will search for common points of interest to be able to move matters forward.

25. This cybercrime bill is really messing with my head.

I am a man (cis) who believe in hard and full contact. Now, every time I decide to engage, I worry about the impact of my words on fellow bloggers.

In a sense, I have been neutered. I must now greet 000 with a friendly ‘Hi’ and should no longer mention the word ‘high’. I must compliment him with a ‘good post’ and never ask where he got his ‘good stuff’.

This is too much. 000, I cannot go on like this, I may have to ask you for some ‘medicinal herbs’.

For those thinking:’Can you imagine an old grown adult taking the time to write such nonsense’. I am who I am. No apologies.

Love you 000

26. talk too much Avatar
    talk too much

Theo a creep will talk about weed incessantly..

I was only visiting this thread to mention that if you check the loons spamming conspiracy on Bu then the best defense against any charges made for blogging would be to plead insanity.

27. Enuff,

Cyberbullying provisions can tackle the posting of personal details, whether true or not, in the case of minors. All others, including myself, should learn to handle the truth about ourselves being published.

28. Yolande Grant Avatar
    Yolande Grant

“For those thinking:’Can you imagine an old grown adult taking the time to write such nonsense’. I am who I am. No apologies.

Love you 000”

Theo…distraction…a DIVISIVE tactic….they are still convinced they can use the divide and conquer scam on everyone and it will work…..when it’s only their fowl/slaves will feel it the most cause dem iz de dummies always attacking evabody…

29. Take note Barbadians, submit your objections and leave your froth at the door.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/Joint-Select-Committee-366×480.png

30. In the New World Order Network of One World Governments there are “Hip Hop Police” studying ghetto youths rap lyrics

… I conversate with many men (what?) It’s time to begin again
    Forgot what I already knew, ayo, you hear me friend?
    Illuminati want my mind, soul, and my body
    Secret society, trying to keep they eye on me (nah, nah)

But I’ma stay incogni’ in places they can’t find me
    Make my moves strategically, the G.O.D
    It’s sorta similar but iller than a chess player
    I use my thinker, it coincides with my blinker

31. a good neighbour.

32. Expert’s cyber concerns

CYBERSECURITY EXPERT Niel Harper told the Joint Select Committee (Standing) of Parliament yesterday that there were areas of the Cybercrime Bill, 2024, that were unnecessary, some of the language used was outdated and judicial officers ran the risk of criminalising innocent action because of a lack of specialised training.

Harper, who has been one of the very vocal critics of the bill even before it was debated in the House of Assembly, made his oral presentation before the committee via Zoom yesterday as the deliberations continued in the Senate Chamber. He was one of five people making presentations and before the committee, chaired by Member of Parliament Edmund Hinkson, and including Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne.

It is continuing an examination of the Cybercrime Bill, 2024, and the Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters (Amendment) Bill, 2024.

Harper presented newspaper clippings from around the world, including Jordan, Thailand, Pakistan, Egypt and Senegal, where similar legislation had been used to target individuals and attack opponents of public officials.

Testing

He said in his line of work there was authorised testing to protect computer systems to ensure they were robust, resilient and to also complete research, and therefore the laws should not be used to criminalise such practitioners.

He was particularly concerned that there was a lack of trained court officials and no specialised court similar to what obtained in the United Kingdom (UK), which has a division on technology to ensure the innocent or well-meaning are not imprisoned.

Harper also touched on the area of modification of programme data, interfering with computer systems and illegal interception of data, among others.

With regard to the illegal intercepting of data, he told the committee the foundation of data management was the classification of information as public, sensitive, confidential and strictly confidential, and questioned why if information is public, should someone be charged in relation to it.

Protection

He suggested creating a critical infrastructure protection legislation that would focus on obliging critical infrastructure providers to implement strong cybersecurity measures to make sure there was monitoring of systems.

He said he believed the malicious communication section was seeking to criminalise defamation and that was problematic as several international human rights organisations maintained such laws were unjustified and an affront to human rights.

Harper, who is based in the UK, said that in relation to cyberbullying, adults were supposed to be above hurt feelings and that area usually focused on children. When it involved adults, it usually related to violence and sex abuse, he added.

In response to Hinkson, Harper said that if an offence was not properly defined or judicial officers not trained in what the offences were, there was the risk of making someone a criminal for something that was not an offence. Meanwhile, Anthony Greene, Station Manager of Starcom Network, in his presentation was particularly concerned about how journalists and journalism would be affected when it came to using leaked documents and information from whistle-blowers.

He agreed with the position that journalists should be allowed to receive and use information without fear of retaliation as long they acted in the public’s interest.

“As we implement the bill, I think it important that we are careful to avoid the perception of stifling freedom of the Press and freedom of expression. There is a need to strike a delicate balance between protecting individuals from cyber threats, and upholding the principles of transparency and accountability in governance.” (AC)

33. Yolande Grant Avatar
    Yolande Grant

“Harper presented newspaper clippings from around the world, including Jordan, Thailand, Pakistan, Egypt and Senegal, where similar legislation had been used to target individuals and attack opponents of public officials”

What the Barbados government should take into consideration is that there are people with justification and cause to sue the government, as a continuum for DECADES OF alleged MISDEEDS against the Afrikan population …..so let them get all swollen headed and see the fallout..

There is no shortage of evidence..

34. Yolande Grant Avatar
    Yolande Grant

Pacha….the elite girls can now join the elite boys…ah wonder who is interested.

https://www.reuters.com/world/uk/londons-200-year-old-garrick-club-finally-allow-women-members-2024-05-08/

35. Yolande Grant Avatar
    Yolande Grant

Given the information now available, we can say with conviction that political independence is NOT and never will be TRUE independence for the masses..

I can claim I AM TRULY INDEPENDENT…why….i dont need a politician’s existence to justify or give MY independence credibility…..i would feel insulted and disrespectful.

….it seems political independence is only a vehicle devised for criminality without accountability and has NOTHING to do with the majority population/or other people on the island…once that is clear…it’s easy to see where it will all lead..

36. Yolande Grant Avatar
    Yolande Grant

What the majority population need is SOCIAL and, …. FINANCIAL independence….something they HAVE NEVER HAD…..ever.

The only people who benefit from politicial independence are politicians who are NEVER held accountable for CORRUPTION…