Submitted by Heather Cole

Back to the Budget of a few weeks ago. Many may have missed it, many would have wondered why they were included in a Budget Speech and many are still wondering what is the real story behind black belly sheep making up a budget speech delivery when truth be told they had nothing to do with government revenue or expenditure.

Fenty is Rihanna’s brand and black belly sheep is one of the components of the Barbados brand. Rihanna would never consider devaluing the Fenty brand so everyone should be quite concerned and question why the Government of Barbados wants to devalue the black belly sheep brand.

In a part of her speech, the Prime Minister mentioned quite a few things in relation to black belly sheep that leads to the devaluation of the brand.

1. She stated that the sheep were to be raised in Guyana and then shipped to Barbados for slaughter. This may not be a good idea as there is no evidence provided that black belly sheep can thrive under the conditions that exist in Guyana.
  2. She mentioned that the black belly sheep will be cross bred with another type of sheep in Guyana. This means that there is some knowledge that the black belly sheep cannot thrive in Guyana. If they could indeed thrive, there would be no need to cross breed to create a hybrid.
  3. One can only presume that this cross breed would be more suited to the environment in Guyana. A cross between a horse and a donkey creates a mule. What will the cross bred be? The soil and vegetation are not the same so therefore, the meat and fat content will not be the same and the quality of the hide will not be the same.
  4. She also mentioned the sale of two types of meat. One of the pure black belly sheep and the other of the cross breed. The pure black belly will be for export and the diluted cross breed for local consumption. Will they be packaged accordingly? How will a consumer know that they are consuming the diluted version and not the authentic brand? Will the taste and texture of the meat be the same?
  5. Have 400 years of slavery damaged us so psychologically that it is still acceptable to be offered food that is less than the best or can we still be forced to eat what the ruling class would never eat?
  6. She mentioned that there would be a price differential. How will Barbadians feel knowing that they may not be able to afford an authentic brand that was created right in their own backyard centuries ago? How will they feel knowing that they are forced to settle for a substitute? Is the meat of the authentic black belly sheep which will be exported for a premium price be too good for Barbadians to consume?
  7. It was not stated that government of itself would be farming the black belly sheep so why was it so quick to come up with the price differentials between the meat of the authentic brand and the diluted product, given that the production cost will be the same?

Two burning questions that remain, are which of the local farmers can afford to start a sheep farm in Guyana and if this venture is only for the select few. One will only know both literally and figuratively if the project gets off the ground and the meat comes to market.

A brand is a unique identity. The government of Barbados should get some help from Rihanna on how to market this authentic brand. Rihanna would never collaborate with anyone to dilute her brand and sell her merchandise at a cheaper price. If that were the case, she would not be a billionaire today. So why is the Government of Barbados destroying the identity of the black belly sheep to promote a cross bred hybrid? Who will be enriched through this venture?

I am all for the creation of an enhanced product but not for a dilution and devaluation of the black belly sheep brand of Barbados. Governments action to alter the breed of the sheep does not offer increased value since it has stated that the cross breed will be sold at a cheaper price.

Livestock rearing is not new to Barbados. Some of the land that will no longer be used to produce sugar cane can be used to rear sheep. Incentives can be offered to small farmers and all of Barbados to raise and produce this product for local consumption and for export while maintaining the authenticity of the brand. Government can also ensure that the real black belly sheep meat is available to all Barbadians by fixing its price per pound on the domestic market.

313 responses to “Would Rihanna Devalue the Fenty Brand?”

1. William Skinner Avatar

It’s a known fact that the average Bajan cannot afford to buy black belly lamb.
    An alert private sector, would have long ago, invested in the black belly sheep and the lamb by now would be creatively marketed as a unique Barbadian product and would have been selling all over the world and the average Barbadian would have been able to buy it.
    Just look at reggae and jerk. Then look at spouge and the black belly sheep.
    It’s nice to shout how much we love Barbados.
    Yes. Barbados has done a lot for us. But, pray tell , what have we done for Barbados recently.
    BTW, We are looking toward Guyana now. Is this the same Guyana, whose people were caring seen as impostors and reducing the earning power of Bajans , a few years ago ?
    There I go with my crap throwing shade as usual. It’s not even 6:00 AM yet!

2. William Skinner Avatar

Being seen not caring.

3. Agree William.

We cannot have a product that is unique to the island (region) and allow others to capitalize on what is a competitive advantage. If memory is good the black belly brand has been copyrighted by a company in the US. The blogmaster will have to research to confirm.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Heather….it means you will have to share ownership with Guyana…until your stake is sold, as usual.

Mentioned you only yesterday and wondered how you were coming along with your website…keep your information and plans very, very private…hope it’s going well. .

“Then look at spouge”

ain’t that a shame, they even allowed Jackie Opel’s family to lose the right to his intellectual property and copyright..,,nothing is sacred when it comes to the majority population’s ownership and rights..

5. Further William.

The land that was gifted to Cave Hill, UWI the principal at the time had advised the acreage was earmarked to produce high class leather and chocolate products. This position was made known since 2017.

——

UWI looking forward to agro-business project at Dukes | Loop Barbados

http://barbados.loopnews.com/content/uwi-looking-forward-agro-business-project-dukes
    https://barbados.loopnews.com/content/uwi-looking-forward-agro-business-project-dukes

6. Black Belly Sheep, A United Kingdom Trademark of Thomas Lucas. Application Number: UK00003572462 :: Trademark Elite Trademarks

https://www.trademarkelite.com/uk/trademark/trademark-detail/UK00003572462/Black-Belly-Sheep

7. @Heather “Have 400 years of slavery damaged us so psychologically that it is still acceptable to be offered food that is less than the best or can we still be forced to eat what the ruling class would never eat?”

I’ve raised black belly sheep myself [and I expect that many others on this blog have also done so, perhaps even Heather has done so] but I won’t pretend to be an expert. I leave the sheep debate to the experts. I believe that the governments of Barbados and Guyana are being advised by black belly sheep experts. Will these governments take expert advice? Who knows. But we well surely see. There is a saying in Barbados. You can hide and buy ground, but you can’t hide and work it. We will therefore see the RESULTS whatever those results are.

I don’ want to eat and drink what the ruling class eats. The ruling class eat too much, drinks too much sweet drinks and alcohol. The ruling class exercises far, far too little. The ruling class is too fat. The ruling class is whopsi. I don’t want to drink what they drink. I don’t want to eat what they eat. I don’t want to be like them. I don’t want to look like them. I don’t envy them.

Anybody who envies the food habits of the ruling class is seriously deluded.

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I do believe someone else holds the patent. If you do not move quickly someone else will,

to rush and patent a product created during the pandemic before some fool decided it’s theirs….good thing it’s very difficult to duplicate…

…Barbados had the Black belly brand for decades, why did they not, with all these lawyers littering the place…..can’t very well do it now when someone else already…..did they even dispute it..

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The name is the trademark, but did they patent the production process?

10. Don’t even bother worrying about these paper projects
    Just look at Liat all the big talk and collaboration didn’t stop it from going belly up
    Which reminds me blessed is the child that got its own
    Also don’t forget Surinam input

11. It is fair to Williams’s point we cannot look to government to drive commercial activity. This is the job of the private sector.

12. IN THE NEARBY SANFORD ZOO HERE IN CENTRAL FLORIDA YOU CAN SEE BIG HEAD SHEEP WID A BLACK BELLY SHEEP BODY CALLED SOME SILLY NAME WHICH I CANT REMEMBER

I HAVE SEEN REAL BLACK BELLY SHEEP IN CURACAO AND RUNNING IN A LARGE FLOCK THROUGH ST JOHNS ANTIGUA
    I WAS TOLD BY AN AGRICULTURAL OFFICIAL THAT THE SHEEP ARE “”LET OUT”IN THE MORNINGS FROM THEIR HOMES. THEY ROAM FREELY ABOUT THE CITY AND EACH RETURN TO THEIR OWN YARDS ON EVENINGS TO SLEEP

SOUNDS LIKE SOME THAT POST HERE ON BU DAILY EXCEPT THAT THE ANTIGUAN BLACK BELLY SHEEP ARE OBVIOUSLY SMARTER

13. @William Skinner April 10, 2022 5:52 AM “It’s a known fact that the average Bajan cannot afford to buy black belly lamb.”

In my freezer right now 4 pounds of black belly lamb, bough from a farmer in my natal village at $8 BDS per pound. I don’t eat a lot, maybe 6 ounces per serving [I am not a lickerish member of any ruling class] I was duncy so was made to study domestic science while at school, so yes if I say so myself I am an excellent cook. I think that $8 BDS per pound is very good value for money for protein that has an amazing taste. I think that $3.00 BDS per serving is reasonable. Much cheaper that anything I can buy from any fast food place. Maybe much cheaper that a hamburger in the great white north. Lol! The first time I cooked some my children asked “mummy what is this, it is so delicious.”

I remain, an average Bajan pensioner, committed to growing local, eating local, doing business with the farmers in my local community, as they are committed to doing business with me.

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ Heather Cole
    My apologies. I thought the piece was written by @ David
    You are correct. There was some copyright issue with folks in Texas.

15. Reform root causes
    By Peter Webster
    How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world. – Anne Frank All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.
    – Walt Disney
    There are two types of people who will tell you that you cannot make a difference in the world: those who are afraid to try and those who are afraid to succeed – Motivational proverb You don’t know where you’re going
    until you know where you’ve been.
    – Old English proverb
    If you do not know where you are going, any road will get you there.
    – Old English proverb
    Former Barbados Ambassador John Beale published an excellent article in the last Midweek Nation of April 6 titled Constitutional Reform For Greater Democracy. Unfortunately, the term “greater democracy” is not specific enough to guide the drafters of the reforms, far less the average citizen of this country, in determining the real goal(s) of the proposed reforms which should be fixing the causes rather than the symptoms of the need.
    Many of the reasons or needs that Mr Beale identified, such as poor public sector performance, poor governance and lack of accountability, are little more than effects or symptoms of the underlying causes, which include a lack of performance incentives for the public servants.
    Targeting these symptoms would be like taking an aspirin for a headache.
    It is crucial that the proposed reforms tackle those underlying causes rather than the symptoms, not just for Barbados, but also for the rest of CARICOM, who are all watching as Barbados sets an important example for all of them. If our reforms fail to tackle these causes, we will not just be “spinning top in mud” but the reforms would be a “scam”.
    ‘Yardfowls’
    There is far too big a gulf between the average citizen in Barbados and the public sector, including those elected, who “lord” over us with no accountability as the average citizen lacks the means of any input or control other than a vote, too frequently for the lesser of two evils, every five years. Governance and accountability are needed on an ongoing, daily basis. To have current input, the average citizen must get involved in politics and/or become “yardfowls” – all of which are distasteful and unattractive to the majority.
    Yet, as Mr Beale points out, there are thousands of Barbadians from all walks of life who are involved in the more than 400 community-based organisations (CBOs) across our beloved country which are making significant contributions to our governance and development. In most cases, these CBOs achieve far more with far less than our unproductive and unaccountable public sector despite the red tape and negativity imposed by that public sector which treats the CBOs as threats to its legitimacy.
    A simple example is our
    Salvation Army, whose charities cost less than 12 cents in administration for each dollar it receives, compared with our public sector organisations which are, in most cases, costing well above 50 cents out of every dollar of taxpayers’ money they receive.
    The overarching goal of our constitutional reform must therefore be to enable/empower our citizenry in not only achieving public sector accountability and demanding better governance, but to encourage and enable our citizenry to be involved, contribute, and help in our governance and development. Such empowerment must not be seen as limiting Government and governance, but actually helping to promote and improve it.
    The power of “recall” will be one such enabling mechanism, but one which must be limited from being used “willy-nilly” to frustrate the Government. Note, the goal of enabling an average citizen is not the same as enabling the political opposition which does not need enabling.
    More formal structure
    Barbados has already led the world in establishing a Social Partnership, but this establishment has not been truly formalised. This Partnership needs a more formal structure to function, which could be achieved by restructuring the current politicalduplicating Senate. A restructured Senate would have some political representation, from the governing party and the official political Opposition.
    It could be chaired by the President and its constituents would represent the wider Social Partnership, including the community-based organisations that effectively represent all the interests of each and every one of us, from labour to commerce, to professionals, religion and charity. All of which would elect their own representatives to that restructured Senate. As such, the new senators would represent different constituencies of “interests”.
    ‘Good, the Bad and the Ugly’
    We need also to recognise the negatives of proportional representation which create an even sharper divide than is currently the case. Proportional representation tends to package the “Good, the Bad and the Ugly” unless the electors get to vote on each individual. It also promotes national recognition over local and in doing so, limits the participation of “grass-roots” politicians in favour of the more nationally visible ones.
    A possible alternative could be to introduce not more than five nationally elected representatives along with the local constituency representatives. The total number of parliamentarians need not be increased.
    Finally, the proposed reforms must ultimately be approved by a national referendum or they would be seen as a scam. Such a referendum must require approval of every constitutional change proposed and not just a package of “the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”. Any packaging of the proposed changes for the referendum would also indicate a scam.
    This article was submitted as a guest column.

16. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan
    I was reliably informed by a Barbadian woman that she can’t afford to buy black belly lamb in the supermarket. She told me that it is far more expensive than the imported lamb from New Zealand.
    She is a highly paid civil servant., who. Feeds her family of four everyday.
    By our standards she is solid middle class. If she says she can’t afford to buy it , how will the average Bajan afford it.
    I would take her word. If she is lying or has misinformed me so be it.
    Somebody will now come here and tell me that a man in their gap sell them some at $6:00 per pound and they are the average Bajan.
    I said she told me about the price in the supermarket.
    I did not know that lamb was better off people food. I grew up relatively poor and ate fresh lamb like every poor person in my village.
    And it may shock you to know what white people eat. Try talking to some servants. Ask them how much bread fruit and sweet potato they cook.
    Go and talk to the same old domestic workers.. They would tell you that the mistress used to send them to shop at N. E. Wilson rather than buy their clothes from White owned stores on Broad Street.
    If by the so-called upper class eating habits to which you refer, I opine that you don’t mean white rich Barbadians.
    Ask any Batman at a hotel when a rich white Bajan comes to the bar what he drinks. Bajan rum.
    Ask him what we drink.

17. Mutton is not a meat many ordinary bajans but on a regular basis not just because of price. It is usually bought when soup is scheduled on the menu.

18. You all fellas kill me with laughter with the ignorance and self importance you display.

“The Barbados government figures estimate that there are about 30,000 sheep on the island; about one-third are purebred, another third are high grade crossbreds while the final third are a variable mix of BBS and several other breeds. BBS are now widely distributed around the world with populations in twenty-five countries in the Americas, Asia and Europe. It is most abundant in the Caribbean region, Mexico and Peru. In 2015 the total world population was estimated at about 158,000 including 1,900 registered purebreds in the USA. Several hundred thousand descendants of BBS can be found in Texas where they have been bred with both domestic sheep including Rambouillet and wild Mouflon sheep from Europe.”

There are more BBS outside of Barbados than inside.

https://seabeefreport.com/2022/01/31/barbados-blackbelly-sheep/

19. … I mean like 5 times more if the claims in the article are true!!

20. A reminder the concern raised by Heather:

“Two burning questions that remain, are which of the local farmers can afford to start a sheep farm in Guyana and if this venture is only for the select few. One will only know both literally and figuratively if the project gets off the ground and the meat comes to market.”

21. William Skinner Avatar

We have a habit of injecting the exceptional as the general and thereby diluting the broader point.
    I know what you mean quite well. I used to believe that every Wednesday was mutton soup and then every Saturday was cou cou and…Then in the evenings or later it was pudding and souse.
    Here we are talking or trying to talk about our failure to capitalize on a product that could have generated hundreds of jobs and could have been developed to earn millions in foreign exchange.
    Now, if we talk about the exorbitant price of vegetables, we are told to get back kitchen gardens.
    Fine talk. Working for low wages; 60% of your small earnings in bus fare; renting from some unscrupulous landlord and the every day pressures but somehow, you going to come home and spend three hours in a kitchen garden when half the blasted time you can’t get water.
    We keep cussing the black political managerial class and they deserve it. However I now ask the following questions:
    Who really destroyed agriculture?
    Who really refused to give black manufacturers a fair break?
    Who found sponsorship for certain sports but would not support cricket , basketball, road tennis etc?
    Who found money to invest in high end real estate ventures and marinas but won’t develop agriculture , fisheries and so on?
    Who developed Warrens overnight but allowed Bridgetown to become dilapidated?
    Who sold Barbados Shipping and Trading?
    Who were the major players in chasing beach vendors off the beach and why ?
    Who owned the land but refused to invest in any real fruit processing plant?
    Who pressures the government every day for concessions and relief?
    Yes Sir, we can blame and cuss the black managerial class all day. But the truth is that the white traditional corporate elite has raped the country.
    We cuss the black political managerial class because they sat by and did not have the balls to stop them and it continues to this day.
    Apparently , they have never made a profit in their lives but the same Sagicor applying for permission now to destroy more agricultural lands because they know the concessions coming . All they have to do is tell the black political managerial class: we creating jobs.
    Imagine running a clothing store for donkey years; mansions all over the place but they getting concessions for buying school uniforms because COVID shut down school. We get some food stuff and they get millions in relief.
    Time for the truth.
    Less we forget Thompson wrote off millions for the turf club. Along comes Mottley , writing off millions in unpaid taxes.

22. David.
    Why would the local farmers need to go to Guyana? Isn’t there also a push to have one million black belly sheep on island by a certain year ?

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“to have current input, the average citizen must get involved in politics and/or become “yardfowls” – all of which are distasteful and unattractive to the majority.”

that’s why the sensible/intelligent want no involvement…and they should’nt. anything outside of referendum, people representation and VOICE…..is a scam…

“Which reminds me blessed is the child that got its own”

problem is “your own” is not respected by other people unless trademarked, copyrighted, patented etc….and a lawsuit involved….David (not BU) lamented that disrespect for years and years and how everyone even in other Caribbean islands and he mentioned the continent one time too, believe they had some right to what he created without payment or recognition…., have not seen him lately, but he was always ridiculed by the resident clowns……

.different to me, they would be afraid to even dream of it when am done….

in this case, was the Black Belly concept originally created on the island or was it imported in the 60s or before or after, i never heard about the original origins….either way, the way the economic environment is going, the island may have no choice but to share….collaboration may be the only way out of the approaching mess…so in this case, they may have to take one in the name of integration to survive.

24. @William Skinner April 10, 2022 7:40 AM @ Cuhdear Bajan, I was reliably informed by a Barbadian woman that she can’t afford to buy black belly lamb in the supermarket. She told me that it is far more expensive than the imported lamb from New Zealand. She is a highly paid civil servant.”

She has told you her truth. I have told you mine.

I have not eaten Australian or New Zealand lamb for decades. Alas I have never been a highly paid civil servant. I tried for decades to “get a pick” in the civil service. B or D in office, I did not succeed. I guess that I’ve NEVER had the right political connections.

The lady’s error is that she buys her lamb from a supermarket. Since she is a senior civil servant she must be well educated and must know that some “fat” is added to the lamb so that the share holders of the supermarket [many foreign] can sit on their fat lazy bottoms and boast about how much their shares have increased in value. Whenever possible we should support local farmers directly. She is paying for the cost of shipping that lamb 10,000 miles. Ships run on petroleum. She is paying for that. She is paying the southern farmers, the southern truck drivers, the asian deck hands, the share holders of the shipping company etc. Buy local. Buy directly from local farmers whenever possible. We can’t complain that local agriculture is dying or dead when we refuse to support our own.

Some people, not me. prefer to be seen shopping at brand name supermarkets.

Fat=dollars

25. Good Topic – Sheep.
    It must SURELY be obvious by now that we have NO IDEA what the hell we are doing.
    This applies NOT just to our leaders, but ALSO to the BB sheep being led.
    EVERYTHING is getting us worse and worse results, and yet we persist with the SAME shiite thinking…like true sheep being led to market.

Anyone can recall something called the ‘CARICOM Multilateral Clearing Facility”????
    ..probably not. Sheep are not known for long memories – that is more for elephants.
    Well the PM seems to think that this government can make it work this time around.. LOL ha ha ha. Murda!!

Steupsss – Guyana has the most unstable and unpredictable politics in the region. What a partner for such an intricate business agreement…..

Finally, Bushie repeats that, if our farmers CANNOT succeed HERE IN BARBADOS because of a few shiite monkeys and petty thieves, how the hell will they succeed in Guyana with REAL wild animals, REAL gangs, REAL border disputes and REAL racial issues.
    The government is obviously catching at straws. Unfortunately it is a case of not succeeding at basic arithmetic, so we decide to give advanced calculus a try….
    Bushie GUARANTEES failure…..but will be taking NO bets since the odds are 100%.

26. What is a fact is that when the Guyanese flocked to Barbados when the Guyanese economy was strapped there was a boon in agricultural output. It can be done, there is opportunity with proper management to get it done.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“We cuss the black political managerial class because they sat by and did not have the balls to stop them and it continues to this day.”

that’s why they get cussed, they REFUSE to stop it, they encourage, collude and enable it.

..while the majority are excluded and can only watch their and their children’s birthrights, even that of the unborn, given away to crooks, liars and frauds……

28. John 2 it is a strategic partnership with Guyana.

——-

President launches major black belly sheep project – Stabroek News

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2022/03/28/news/guyana/president-launches-major-black-belly-sheep-project/

29. I feel that contributions such as this one should be grounded in evidence. The writer’s contributions are seldom well thought out. If food and nutritional security and agricultural export are the objectives, cross-breeding clearly must be about QUANTITY while maintaining QUALITY with pure bred for primarily export. Pure bred Black Belly sheep can be reared in Texas but not in Guyana? This is another initiative of the government that sensibly recognises the role of “space” in economic integration. Doubt me? Ask the EU or ASEAN members. BU, the place where misinformation is gospel. Where someone who can’t get a Ponzi scheme off the ground is an expert in everything.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/01/get-involved-in-black-belly-sheep-project/

30. FOOLED AGAIN BAJANS
    WUNNAH FOOLED AGAIN
    I WILL BUY 1000 BBS FROM WUNNAH ONCE
    WUH I ONLY NEED ONE SET OF EWES AND A A FEW GOOD RAMS UH LIE
    CAUSE DEM SHEEP DOES BREED A FEW TIMES PER YEAR GIVING 2 – 3 LAMBS PER YEAR

NOW TINK IF YUH COULD I ONLY NEED TO BUY 1000 BBS FROM WUNNAH ONCE UH LIE
    AND WHY SHOULD BAJANS BUY BBS MEAT FROM GUYANA WHEN THEY CAN GET CHEAPER LAMB FROM NEW ZEALAND?

TEK DUNG DIS POST TOO
    LOL CALL IT THROWING SHADE CAUSE HEAD AINT BRAIN

31. @enuff

Some of us are encouraged to see the partnership with Guyana to address food security AND foreign exchange earnings gaps. Anything we do will be fraught with risks@bushtea.

32. GIVING 2 – 3 LAMBS PER LITTER 2-3 TIMES PER YEAR AS FAR AS I KNOW

33. @ David
    “It can be done, there is opportunity with proper management to get it done.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    See why you are a man of vision? Unlike Enuff, when you see the OBVIOUS, you acknowledge the reality. You do NOT then subjugate your intellect to politically partisan jobby.

OF COURSE it can be done.
    It HAS been done right here in Barbados by a variety of EXPERTS who actually KNOW what the Hell they are about.

HERE ISTHE PROBLEM…
    Unless such experts are prepared to think and sound like Tron and Enuff (shiite though…no one REALLY has to be as bad as Lorenzo LOL) they then get undermined, disrespected, up-ended, and BROKEN by the political brass bowls.
    ..and then some idiotic, but ‘politically correct’ JA is sent forth to ‘accomplish the impossible’ … WITH OUR MONEY.

Do you understand now why we are BROKE…? and will ALWAYS be borrowing?

Shiite man!!! if a fellow was CONSTANTLY broke and borrowing from Tom, Dick, Harry and IAM(F) – would you not think it time for him to CHANGE his ways and ask someone who HAS money for advice…?

What a damned place!!!

34. We have been hoping for years that the vision of the men who started Caricom and the desired outcome of Carifta to position Guyana as the breadbasket of the Caribbean come to pass in our life time. The opportunity is now@bushtea.

35. Anything we do will be fraught with risks@bushtea.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Anything that a BB idiot does …is brought with risks.
    It is called TRIAL and ERROR.
    But…
    Intelligent people contract with KNOWLEDGEABLE and experienced EXPERTS to practically GUARANTEE positive outcomes.

So you are right, cause we are very short of “Intelligent people”…

36. We have a two for one special today: BBS (black belly sheep or bare BS).

Whenever 🐇/ 🐰 has a moment of sanity his contributions are often stellar ( borrowing one of GP words). With their export to several countries, it is doubtful if Barbados has a monopoly or remains a powerhouse in the BBS(heep) world. Reminds of a Christian girl claiming secondary virginity in her new no sex before marriage relationship.

GP is on point with the reproductive ability of these sheep. The reason for a large number is probably to reduce the likelihood of inbreeding and having to return to BDos again.

BT is also on point.

The dark side wins😀. NTSH

37. William Skinnet Avatar
    William Skinnet

@ Enuff
    Yes Sir! Just like we exported the best sugar and then imported the nasty sugar from somewhere else.
    Like @ David asked : Is high quality black belly lamb too good fuh we.

38. Have we not been ‘hoping’ for Peace on Earth too… for centuries?
    Do you think that THAT will be achieved too – just because a bunch of BBs would like it to happen? steupsss…

These things require WISDOM, competence and high level management skills….
    If you CANNOT even keep drivers licenses up to date…
    If you CANNOT run a simple court system, then you CANNOT deal with these complex matters. SIMPLE!!

Anyway…. what the Hell is Bushie talking about…?
    Imagine trying to explain to a flock of BBs (Black Belly sheep) that their asses are destined for stew…?

39. There is a need to retire the phrase “punching above its weight”.
    Grandiosity.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/01/minister-abrahams-says-new-barbadians-will-help-island-to-punch-above-its-weight/

79,900 more to go.

40. @ TheO
    Steupsss…
    If Bushie was a journalist the bushman would be digging to find out EXACTLY why he was moved from energy and water to deal with prisoners and immigrants…

41. So I go to a next post and I see the following comment about punching above our weight.

“Yet I offer the suggestion that care needs to be taken to balance domestic and external priorities so that we are not just “punching above our weight”, but doing so strategically and in ways that deliver tangible outcomes, not just name recognition.

42. William Skinner Avatar

You are absolutely correct. The Guyanese ignited the stupid : We better off than you and worked the land
    Small and large farmers will tell you that although they had to find lodgings for the Guyanese workers, their level of productivity was incredible.
    2. More and more the jokers are learning that we have to evolve into one Caribbean nation.
    There are two Mottley policies that I support: the moves with Guyana and Africa.

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The stupid phrase coined by Kofi Annan and regurgitated to the point of the ridiculous by those who don’t have a creative bone in their bodies or an original thought in their heads…has gotten sickening…meaningless…

44. William my mother used to cook for rich white Bajans in her early years, and rich white foreigners in her later years, sometimes one or more of us tagged along. The rich white foreigners were Canadian, and they were pretty cool. I too ate home or village grown lamb, pork and chicken, eggs, milk and ground food. I still do. I too grew up poor. Not relativelyy poor. But actually poor. I did not get a pair of school shoes until I was in class 3 and went form the village junior school, to a bigger senior school in a bigger village. So yes I know poor. My parents had 6 children between May 1945 and February 1955, and they had had 2 before the second european war, and then another one after 1955 so poor has been my lived experience.

45. Supporting Caribbean unity requires leadership with long term objectives
    Not vision of self interest
    Mottley idea of unity is grab whatever she can hold on to
    My mind still focus on the poaching of Ross University from a poor sister nation
    How is that for unity.
    On one hand sends out messages of love and compassion
    That is who were are and on the other hand resort to actions that speaks of deception
    How is that for Unity
    This black belly project in my opinion would not help to bring all sister nations together
    If that was the intent all other sister nations would have been brought to the table during negotiations .not necessarily agreements
    Instead having to read the details in other newspaper
    Nations walking under the same umbrella demands respect in order for unity to thrive and develop

46. @Bush Tea

To use the techical link there is inherent risk attached to everything we do. Smart people will I’m plement controls to mitigate.

47. @William “If by the so-called upper class eating habits to which you refer, I opine that you don’t mean white rich Barbadians.”

I refer to anybody or any color, gender, or nationality or class who are cutting their throats with their forks, and drinking glasses.

48. Is there a project conceived by a BLP government you have supported?

The journey from the bottom read junk status will be long and arduous.

49. Parsing these thorny issues based on personal stories is not practical. The blogmaster hopes with proposed increase lamb production we see a concerted effort to educate Barbadians at the individual and corporate level. Personal behaviours have to change regarding how we eat – also vertical and horizontal factors to consider, fast food using lamb instead of xxxx, the Hanchell Inniss’ etc.