The decision by Prime Minister Mia Mottley to reverse the controversial appointment of 18 year old Khaleel Kothdiwala is unfortunate. It was evident from exchanges in the last session of the Upper House the amendment to the Constitution to allow Khaleel’s sitting would not have garnered support from independent senators.

Immediately after the January 19, 2022 general election Prime Minister Mottley announced Kothdiwala’s as a BLP nominee for the Senate with the justification she was fulfilling an election promise to bring the youth into “the centre of governance and national determination…if you are old enough to vote then you must be old enough to serve”. All who have followed politics in Barbados are patently aware Khaleel’s politics is heavily influenced from Roebuck Street – and it is right to practice the politics of his choice.

The prime minister became swell headed by a second 30 to zero victory in the last general election and took for granted Khaleel’s appointment would have been rubber stamped by the Senate. Lest we forget, the Senate is currently involved indirectly in a fight for its legitimacy. Although the constitutional motion brought by former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite was tossed out by Justice Cicely Chase, legal counsel Garth Patterson signaled appeal documents will be filed this week to challenge the Upper Chamber doing business with 18 appointed Senators instead of 21.

From comments posted to BU and aired in other fora, those opposed to the appointment of Khaleel took umbrage to the lack of national consultation about the unprecedented decision to add an 18 year old BLP supporter to the Senate to represent youth matters. Bear in mind Mottley- also in controversial and contentious circumstances- transitioned Barbados to a Republic in November 2021. The dissenting cry then was – why not complete an exercise of national consensus to determine a new constitution to make the process to a republic comprehensive.

At the root of the uncertainty muddying the governance process is an election result that rejected opposition candidates AND the unwillingness of elected members of parliament to cross the floor to manufacture an opposition. This is interesting against the rumour Mottley called a snap general election to quell a political mutiny.  

There is also the contention that President Sandra Mason is partly responsible by her refusal to appoint two apposition Senators given the outcome of the general election. Had she appointed two Opposition Senators and Mottley a standin for Kothdiwala there would possibly have been no legal challenge brought and Mottley would have avoided the political embarrassment of having to withdraw Khaleel’s appointment.

It is what it is as the popular saying goes. We wait to endure the Court Appeal process and possible request for leave to appeal to the CCJ. In the meantime there is the potential lawmaking in parliament will be disrupted if Justice Chase decision is overturned.

At a time the country is battling to manage economic challenges acerbated by the pandemic we have become mired in process because of off flippant decision making. It is ironic the Upper House that is currently under challenge in the Barbados courts is responsible for Mottley’s decision to remove Kothdiwala. 

We are living in interesting times.

485 responses to “Mottley’s Decision Rejected”

1. … and having fun watching who is who from their mutterances!!

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Don’t get carried away. There were no founding fathers. Constitution was probably based of a boilerplate text on a shelf in London.”

more like a basement shelf in Whitehall…back in 1920…they too love to romanticize enslavement of their foreparents structured in documents/templates not created by them……

3. Boiler plate or in a Rumshop playing dominoes
    The Constitution still stand as the Supreme law of the land
    Barbados became a Republic on 3oth Nov. 2021
    Yet cannot find the words or any form of logic to write its own Constitution
    Deal with that

4. TheOGazerts March 23, 2022 10:55 AM #: “I see you have mounted Lazarus and are taking a warm-up lap.”

🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣

Good one.👍

5. @ TheOGazerts,

I hope you have been listening to Brasstacks. Interesting calls from people having problems with LAWYERS and MONEY

6. Still listening to Brasstacks. as the whatsapp messages continue re LAWYERS and CLIENT ACCOUNTS

7. The constitution allows the government to function in administrative mode.

8. This what former Justice Chris Blackman refers to as an absurdity.

9. @Dee Word

This is what happens when professional talking heads are the ones traditional media will turn to influence narratives in the country. It is why BU will be forever a thorn in their backsides.

10. Supporters of politicians should also accept good moral grounding for positions taken. A good place to start is tell no lies.

11. @Hants
    Was listening. Was disappointed.

This is an old problem and solutions are already known.

A new listener would think this was something we just heard about. That tells me we will be discussing this issue 2 months after the election in 2027.

12. DavidMarch 23, 2022 1:14 PM

Supporters of politicians should also accept good moral grounding for positions taken. A good place to start is tell no lies

Xxxxxxxx
    Is this the new speech attempt to.close the mouth of those who criticizes govt policies
    Well I’ll be dam
    Next it would be asking those who are critical of govt policies to take a test of verification their very existence
    Thank God I am a robot

13. Bajans getting brave or very frustrated.
    One caller even gave her full name.

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Angela…i don’t know what else to tell ya….ya mean the MOST EDUCATED in all the Caribbean, cahn draf deh own constitution…NAH…ya meen to tell muh dey still need Europe to do dah fuh dem….NAH….

how is that even possible…after all the big talk and recent whirl wind world stage tours advising big countries what they should and should not be doing…

up to and .including all the BILLIONS OF DOLLARS that the Black taxpayers have been paying for THEIR talking-heads politician’s education….from before 1966….starting in the backbreaking cane fields…..until today…

they should be ASHAMED but won’t hold my breath…first you have to be intelligent to feel shame..

15. how is that even possible…after all the big talk and recent whirl wind world stage tours advising big countries what they should and should not be doing

Xxxxxxx
    Reason why I take any thing govt does or say with a grain of salt
    Nothing seems to make sense
    A simple math problem embedded in the Constitution causing problems for the country
    Also PM actions ask for the question if she owns Barbados
    Then we have people accepting that a person character must not be scrutinized only under circumstances even if a serious characteristic flaw is evident
    Their seems to be no form of cohesiveness in agreement as to right and wrong

16. TheOGazertsMarch 23, 2022 1:45 PM

Bajans getting brave or very frustrated.
    One caller even gave her full name.

That’s why elections will occur sooner than you think!!!

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The conversation is taking a new direction…the pretenders can continue pretending it does not concern them..

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/jamaica-pm-tells-british-royals-island-nation-wants-to-be-independent/ar-AAVpWna?ocid=msedgntp

18. This is not the Barbados i once knew
    The country has become a nation of crass minded people
    What a dam shame
    Half a.sss would do

19. @ Hants
    Boss they could talk till the cows come home and milk themselves…

It is clear that not a FELLA dare to audit those lawyers Clients Accounts.
    That is the Holy Grail….
    And don’t talk bout the FSC.
    Every morning they wake up with some new torment for poor people who could barely buy rice.
    Yuh gotta…
    . walk with 5 forms of photo Id
    – bring your mudda ID card
    – get a bill from a store or bring long yuh house as proof of address
    – Bring pictures showing where yuh got the $$20 bill yuh got..
    ….all because a fella putting $25,76 in a damn credit union til next week.

Meanwhile…
    Lawyers got people house money and land money tied up for YEARS…using as their personal mortgage, or helping out their friends and fambullies… and the FSC has NO interest… (pun intended. The Police have no interest. The Bar Association DARE NOT have any interest… (Living in glass houses perhaps…?)

You could get it understand Hants…?!!!

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“This is not the Barbados i once knew
    What a dam shame
    Half a.sss would do”

LOLROF 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Only a truly robotic, dyed-in-wool, biased, partisan mortar gourd echo chamber could issue such profound words!

21. Side note
    Have you been following the ‘royals’ in Jamaica? It appears that the ‘royals’ are not as welcome as when Elizabeth made her royal visit to Barbados.

Times changed and people changed. It looks as if the ‘royals’ with their old script are out of step.

22. @ Bush Tea,

It is difficult to understand especially for those of us who have bought and sold properties in Ontario, Canada.

The last property I sold had a closing date on a Thursday and the cheque was deposited in my bank account a few days later.

I hope the other CanBajans on BU can tell us if their real estate transactions were similar.

23. @Bush Tea

Is auditing all attorney clients accounts practical or should a risk based approach be used to include SLAs supported in law when complaints are raised by customers.

24. @ John March 23, 2022 2:17 PM
    “That’s why elections will occur sooner than you think!!!”

Is that what you see in your Quaker-designed crystal ball?

Why are you inviting Karma to produce another David T ‘final’ outcome?

For you might ‘justly’ get your real elected Opposition sooner than you think.

What you should be more concerned about, in the interim, is what is going to become of that Big Red Bag containing ‘Enuff’ evidence to bury the DLP; for good!

Will those matters which were before the PAC in the last Parliament just disappear in the political ether when and where all will be forgiven by the newly-anointed Imam Koochie the Red Koolaid kid?

Will the law enforcement authorities pursue those matters of documented financial corruption at the TB and BWA as recommended by the Auditor G.?

Or would they be focusing their ‘limited resources’ on stymieing any chances of social upheaval in those depressed communities living in conditions comparable to those which gave rise to the 1937 disturbances?

25. de pedantic DribblerMarch 23, 2022 3:49 PM

“This is not the Barbados i once knew
    What a dam shame
    Half a.sss would do”

LOLROF 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Only a truly robotic, dyed-in-wool, biased, partisan mortar gourd echo chamber could issue such profound words!

Xxxxxxxx

I guess I was talking about you
    Half crass
    Dumb down
    Dimwitted
    Xxxx
    Simply laughing my a.ss off
    😂 😆 😂

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Times changed and people changed. It looks as if the ‘royals’ with their old script are out of step.”

they should have known, the new age Afrikan descents are not about seeing their grandchildren as victims of a 400 year old slave system, to make others feel special,

it’s only the most backward misleaders in the Caribbean trying to keep that system of oppression, discrimination, racism, apartheid and evil in place….while pretending to be a republic…and independent…

27. @ Bush Tea,

From a different angle. No audit. No Tax

A great place to hide money could be in a Barbados lawyer’s client account.

28. (Quote):
    it’s only the most backward misleaders in the Caribbean trying to keep that system of oppression, discrimination, racism, apartheid and evil in place….while pretending to be a republic…and independent…
    (Unquote).

How can the Bajan PM get up on the World stage and beg for debt forgiveness when the money borrowed was primarily used to finance a lifestyle of imported conspicuous consumption?

Where are the local infrastructural assets to match the foreign money borrowed?

Whose ‘borrowed foreign money’ was spent in the acquisition of the thousands of luxury vehicles to be driven like snails on the Bajan makeover cart roads so full of potholes and craters as to make the Moon’s surface appear as smooth a baby bottom?

Now that Barbados is a republic, without a ‘fitting’ Constitution, why not ask the former mother country called Britain to take over responsibility for the foreign liabilities as a final settlement in the long outstanding Reparations deal?

Britain has bequeathed to Barbados its religion. Why not spin and seal the deal with the other side of the manmade coin called Money?

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Now that Barbados is a republic, without a ‘fitting’ Constitution, why not ask the former mother country called Britain to take over responsibility for the foreign liabilities as a final settlement in the long outstanding Reparations deal?”

another brilliant idea…debt cancelation….they can call it cancel culture if they want, but it would erase the billions that are slated to be borrowed going into the future…..and easily arranged, instead of trying to EXTORT money to TIEF…

30. Why should current and future young enterprising Bajans be saddled with debts their past political leaders incurred when there is nothing they can point to in order to justify that millstone of debt around their necks other than an overburdened graveyard of motor cars not fit for purpose in the 21st century and the fossilized remains of other gadgets of past conspicuous consumption while the real “fields and hills” are still beyond their recall?

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    I only use ‘vacant’ for sport,cause I know the response which will be coming.

32. David
    “Is auditing all attorney clients accounts practical or should a risk based approach be used to include SLAs supported in law when complaints are raised by customers.”
    ~~~~~~~~
    Surely you jest!
    Every little ten-cent business and social club is required to undergo annual audits and you are suggesting that lawyers be allowed to hold secret stashes of millions without ANY such scrutiny?… When did they become like unto Caesar’s wife bozie?

Why do you think Bushie asked Hants for his instinct? Hants is a man of the world…

So If you got some underhand ‘kickbacks’ in a little two-by-three place like Buhbadus – where every body malicious as brass….
    Part YOU would hide de loot? …In a Miami bank? …LOL not any more…
    In a Barbados bank? (…sorry those don’t exists- in a Trini /Canadian bank in Buhbadus?)
    You smarter than that David… You would give a lawyer , plus you could put them on ‘retainer’, so then with client confidentiality – he mouth clamp shut.

Talking bout foreign banks though … Bushie see that yet another ‘foreign bank’ is coming to lick some more rust of the lotta brass bowls bout in Buhbadus…. – by the name off ‘Sagicor Bank’.
    …sounds familiar to Bushie…
    Is this the SAME Sagicor that robbed Mutual policyholders of their centuries of investments ..and sell off the loot to foreigners?
    The same one that can’t get a basic farm to be productive and beg government for subsidies…, but could ‘lick cork’ when it comes to playing games with poor people’s money…?
    Perhaps banking is their REAL strength after all…

33. @Bush Tea

Which social clubs and ten cent businesses do you refer? The blogmaster’s suggestion is about looking for a practical approach to managing the thousands of incoming and outgoing transactions by lawyers.

Whither audits of SOEs?

34. NorthernObserverMarch 23, 2022 8:15 PM

@Artax
    I only use ‘vacant’ for sport,cause I know the response which will be coming.

So how many vacant lots do you think exist in Barbados?

35. Instead of blp foot soldiers barking and harping in unison against the independent senators who in their uttermost wisdom helped saved govt from their own precedent setting self interest
    These foot soldiers like Belle and Wickman ought to be chastising govt for not having the knowledge brought about my wisdom
    Wisdom brought about by commonsense guided by rationale thinking which would have told the powers that be going ahead with becoming a Republic without first having a Constitution is downright ignorance one lacking of good goverance and a backward way of thinking that would present problems in the future
    The independent Senators whose views were spelled out clearly in Parliament should be a lesson learned and one which should have pointed govt in the right direction with a quickness to make several wrongs right
    Hence after the Khaeel embarrassment govt should have rolled up its sleeves and start the ball rolling closer to having an engagement on Barbados having its first Republic Constitution
    However in my simple mind I belive govt does not have a clue where to start
    Hence one can predict that this country instead of becoming a Republic for better the worse is yet to come in the form of more division and confusion and minds as if stucked in clay

36. In a bind
    KOTHDIWALA SUGGESTS PRESIDENT NOW IN ‘AWKWARD’ POSITION OF HAVING TO CHOOSE DLP SENATORS
    By Kareem Smith
    The 18-year-old who had been preparing to become the country’s youngest member of the Upper House of Parliament, is struggling to make sense of the arguments of Independent senators who took issue with the proposed constitutional amendment intended to facilitate teenage representation in both the House of Assembly and the Senate.
    Youth activist and law student Khaleel Kothdiwala, who had been named by Prime Minister Mia Mottley for appointment as a Government Senator once the amendments had passed, insisted that it is logical that persons allowed to vote in an election should be able to serve in the country’s highest decision-making bodies.
    He also believes that by not supporting the other constitutional amendment aimed at ensuring the opposition is represented in the Upper House, Independent senators have placed President Dame Sandra Mason in an “awkward” position where she must “enter the political fray” to choose two senators from the ranks of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP).
    Last Friday, Independent senators failed to support the Constitution (Amendment) Bill 2022 which sought to reduce the age for eligibility to sit in Parliament from 21 to 18, and give the political party with the secondhighest number of votes in a general election – in this case, the DLP – the opportunity to appoint two senators in a case where there is no Leader of the Opposition.
    Although he made a case for both changes, more personal to the teenager was the rejection of voters ages 18-21 from the possibility of representing the people in either house of Parliament.
    “If you believe the age for the Parliament should be 21, then the necessary implication of that must be that the age to vote in Barbados must be 21 also. That is a controversial conversation, that is a significant change and that would have to be the subject of a yearlong constitutional process,” Kothdiwala told Barbados TODAY.
    “The thing that must be done to maintain the internal coherence of the law is to lower the age to 18 to ensure that we are in a position to have those two ages converge. In my view, it offends and it affronts the law to have this glaring anomaly and, therefore, I know of nothing that could be more urgent than the view that says that we must seek at all times to maintain that coherence in the law.”
    The first-year law student at the University of the West Indies (UWI) Cave Hill campus also rejected the suggestion that an 18-year-old be allowed to sit in the Senate but not as an elected Member of Parliament.
    “Again, that strikes me as a little antidemocratic because, at the end of the day, Members of Parliament get there not by appointment but by election, where seven or eight or 9,000 people in a constituency go and evaluate choices,” said Kothdiwala.
    “And I cannot accept an argument that says ‘I know better than these 7,000 people and so, to protect these 7,000 people from being represented by an 18- or 19-year-old, that we should not even give them the option’. That is not how democracy works.”
    Despite Prime Minister Mottley’s expressed intention shortly after the general elections in January to appoint him to the Upper House, Kothdiwala said he understood that could only occur if the amendments were passed.
    Leader of Government Business in the Senate, Senator Lisa Cummins adjourned debate on the Constitution (Amendment) Bill 2022 last Friday when it became clear that the required two-thirds majority vote to pass the amendments would not have been achieved.
    Nevertheless, the Barbados scholar said the call to serve was “remarkably humbling” and the recent turn of events represented a missed opportunity for Barbados to distinguish itself from many of its neighbours in the region and across the world.
    “We have 21, 22, 23, 24 and 25-year-olds in Barbados today who are told that they are too young. So imagine what it would have been like for that eligible age group to hear that people as young as 18 or 19 or 20 can serve in the highest court of the land, in the Parliament of this country. That would have been an important symbolic victory for youth representation but it would also have been an important substantive victory,” he said.
    “I think that it was clearly a departure from tokenism because there is no tokenism in terms of a legislative chamber. It is a weighty responsibility.
    “I regretted deeply what happened in the Senate and I regretted the fact that we were not able to go there at this time. That regret, to me, is very personal and I think that at times there was a conflation of the issues and the fact that sometimes commentators allowed the personality and the person to cloud the policy and the issue and I deeply regret that that had to take place,” he added.
    Kothdiwala, however, endorsed the appointment of attorney-at-law Gregory Nicholls for his keen grasp of the law, prior experience in the senate and his debating skills. He said this was no deviation from the PM’s stated desire to include young people at the high levels in the country.
    “Let us be clear, we have in the Senate, Senator Andwele Boyce who, to the best of my knowledge, is young unless he had aged overnight; we have Dr Crystal Haynes; we have Senator Lorenzo Harewood; and we have Senator Shanika Roberts-Odle,” Kothdiwala pointed out.
    “That is not to say that the other eight senators are not young and young-spirited, but that those four, in particular, are young people. That is four out of 12 Government senators – which represents one-third of the Government’s side – are young people and I cannot recall a Senate in recent memory, certainly not very, very recently, that has had 33 and a third per cent of the Government bench being as young as this one,” he added.
    Kothdiwala also commented on the failure of the other constitutional change to make it through the Senate.
    The loudest of the senators’ arguments against the proposed amendments on both eligibility for Parliament and the appointment of opposition senators, hinged on the view that such changes could be determined during the national period of constitutional reform promised by the Prime Minister.
    “I support entirely the view that the Constitution is a sacred and sacrosanct document and that we need to have a period of constitutional reform that lasts the year as has been proposed, and that reform of the constitution must be done in a sober way,”
    Kothdiwala said.
    “But equally, I believe that we must rise to the moment and recognise that Barbadians only two months ago went to the polls, and certainly the people who wanted to be counted determined in overwhelming numbers, more than 70 per cent of Barbadians, that they wanted the Barbados Labour Party government to govern and governing means that you have to meet the moment.”
    In Kothdiwala’s estimation, the absence of an Opposition Leader places upon the President the burden of choosing senators in circumstances where an opposing political party, having failed to win a seat in Parliament, is likely to be “deeply divided”.
    “It was a less desirable proposition that a Head of State would have to enter a political fray and have to be able to decide what are fundamentally political issues,” he said.
    “An ancient English jurist would say that a Head of State is the dignified part of our Constitution and long may that continue.
    The amendments sought to alleviate the Head of State from having to approach an opposition party to require them . . . to decide . . . two people to send and then to nominate and propose those persons,” he added. kareemsmith@barbadosstoday.bb Readers can view Khaleel Kothdiwala’s full interview on BT’s Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosToday/

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

KK got a LOOOONGGGG way to go to absolute critically analyzed independent thought, sans coercion and prompting…

38. It is time for KK, the National Youth Leader of the Mottley Youth, and his Red Guard to storm the Senate, that stronghold of racists, colonialists and criminal opposition.

The Senate was and is a national disgrace. Almost as bad as slavery and other crimes against humanity.

39. Quote)
    But equally, I believe that we must rise to the moment and recognise that Barbadians only two months ago went to the polls, and certainly the people who wanted to be counted determined in overwhelming numbers, more than 70 per cent of Barbadians, that they wanted the Barbados Labour Party government to govern and governing means that you have to meet the moment.
    (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This ‘young man’ is morphing into the Supreme Spin doctor for the BLP; but clearly not the Voice of or for the youth of Barbados.

For clarity, it was slight more than 69 percent” of the approx. 43% of those Barbadians- 18 years and over- whose names appear on the ‘suspect’ Voters’ List.

In addition to the pushing for the removal of the 21 year bar to enter Parliament, what this young politician also should be pushing for is the fast decriminalization of marijuana, the widespread use of which largely stigmatizes the same young people.

Since alcohol can be consumed legally at the age of 16 why not marijuana at 18??

We are confident that at least 70% of the same young people of the age of 18 and over will vote ‘Yes’ to putting both substances on an equal ‘18-years and-over’ footing should the same BLP keep its promise of not blighting the life chances of the youth of Barbados.

40. “I support entirely the view that the Constitution is a sacred and sacrosanct document and that we need to have a period of constitutional reform that lasts the year as has been proposed, and that reform of the constitution must be done in a sober way,
    If one is going to use Biblical language in reference to the Constitution let me add that failing to reform the Constitution prior to becoming a Republic is the Gov’t’s original sin.

41. @ Sargeant March 24, 2022 9:28 AM
    If one is going to use Biblical language in reference to the Constitution let me add that failing to reform the Constitution prior to becoming a Republic is the Gov’t’s original sin.
    (Unquote).

Nice one there, Sarge!

Yes indeed, the red “original sin” in politics called ‘Hypocrisy.’

A massively classic case of putting the republic cart before the vital horse called the New Constitution.

A perfect case of putting new wine in old wineskins.

No wonder the current governance model is lacking in integrity and poor participation in it by honest men and capable women, as David BU often opines.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

“So how many vacant lots do you think exist in Barbados?”
    I haven’t a clue. Did they have to be occupied before they can be deemed vacant?😉

43. I continue to laugh at the nonsense posted just to oppose KK. For instance, I struggle to see the logic behind denying he represents a youth voice because it is from a BLP perspective. Haven’t young people voted overwhelming for the BLP in the last 3 elections? Is Senator Andwele not representative of the disabled community because he’s a BLP senator? There’s no one youth voice; hence, why with the amendment the President could have appointed a youngster as well as the Opposition. The way KK so sensibly dismantled Senator Drakes’ reasoning i.e. 18 is fine for the Senate but not for being elected by the people, demonstrates that he’s more suitable for the Senate than Drakes herself. The youngster is pure class and not a one-trick pony.

44. @Enuff

Continuing with your reasoning the question to be answered is why withdraw Khaleel and replace with Nicholls if the thrust of the appointment is to represent youth segment. Do not move the goal posts.

45. (Quote)
    I continue to laugh at the nonsense posted just to oppose KK. For instance, I struggle to see the logic behind denying he represents a youth voice because it is from a BLP perspective. Haven’t young people voted overwhelming for the BLP in the last 3 elections?
    (Unquote)

How do you know that?
    That means that the same young people are overwhelmingly represented in both houses of Parliament with Nicholls being the newly anointed torchbearer for young people’s interests

What about those 30 thousand odd voters (27%) who voted otherwise but don’t have a single voice to represent them in either chamber?

Are they not citizens and taxpayers too?

46. The disenfranchisement of young voters in the Senate reminds one of the Jim Crow laws in the USA. Then, as now, dark oppositional forces disenfranchise people. We must finally fight the despotism of the opposition. No three more years of opposition tyranny as from 2018 to 2021!

It is simply unbelievable how some outspoken commentators here applaud the disenfranchisement of young people. For them, democracy means the tyrannical rule of a small, insignificant opposition at the expense of the majority.

March 2022 will forever be remembered by all of us as a day of injustice, tyranny and betrayal by the opposition.

47. NorthernObserverMarch 24, 2022 10:07 AM

“So how many vacant lots do you think exist in Barbados?”
    I haven’t a clue. Did they have to be occupied before they can be deemed vacant?😉

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

First, they have to be created from a larger whole so they can be occupied!!

A lot has no legal title until it is created so obviously it can’t be occupied … or become vacant until then.

48. Same principle with the post of Leader of the Opposition.

It does not exist after dissolution so it can’t be occupied or become vacant!!

Am I good or am I good??

49. PM was after another first
    This one backfired if her interest was one if representation for youth she would have prepared herself for what occurred and already had another person on hand in line with the Constitution
    She used the young man unfortunately his mind only sees a good and his youthful eyes can’t see the political
    hypocrisy
    Actually the Senators saved him from himself