The Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Amor Mottley has called on Ghanaians to mark 7th September as Africa-Caricom Day.

Joyonline.com

Prime Minister of Barbados Mia Mottley was invited to participate in Ghana’s 65th Independence anniversary. To be expected she delivered a speech that has provoked discussion.

Prime Minister Mottley at Ghana’s 65th anniversary of Independence celebrations

Related Links:

244 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley Delivers in Ghana”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Should the discretion of the Office of President and the integrity of the Office of President be a subject for discussion? I think we like to push the envelope a bit too far in these blogs. Commenters ought to know better and show more respect.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dpd
    I can only render an opinion based on actions.
    Exactly why the President would delegate HER picks, to be made in lieu of a LoO, to the majority party is baffling.
    And now the taxpayers are faced with paying to defend a legal action, which ‘may’ have been avoided by simply doing her job, and selecting two persons to serve. “If” it went ahead, now having 20 vs 21, any cause lay on the PM, for handling KK differently to RA and KMcC.
    There was seemingly no need to be at the point reached. It was reckless and unnecessary. A clear waste of money.

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ NO

Did I miss a news flash? Is your statement re delegation of choice of Senators verifiable?

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, respectfully must forcibly disagree with you at 10:57 AM.

The framers in Westminster indeed adopted your stance that “the discretion of the Office of President and the integrity of the Office of President” should NOT be a subject for discussion, because I would assume she was to be held to some esteemed level of integrity and her actions would be beyond reproach!!

In 1966 when that judgement was originally made it was a snobbish put down of the intellectual capacities of every citizen; it was principally needed for constitutional legal realities.

President Sandra Mason absolutely has every right to make a reasoned and just decision but when her actions can be considered as being NOT in the best interest of our nation by a large segment of citizens then surely her discretionary acts can and should be fully explored in the court of PUBLIC opinion.

She is NOT above reproach in this court. This is 2022 snobbery is an egregious, elitist bad-word!.

Anyhow. Gone, gone.

5. Re : Divine Powers

When technologies and new researches meet and agree with the older spiritual vibrational practices humankind can throw it’s bibles and all other holy books away in preparation for the eternal life with a smile and sunshine in their eyes

Don Cherry’s New Researches
    Relativity Suite, Part 1

Butterfly Friend

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    I guess that depends on what is deemed ‘verification’.
    Based on the Constitution, it is the President’s role to appoint 2 senators where there is no LoO? That the PM appears, and offers those two seats, must mean the President delegated these two picks to the PM? It is clearly not the PMs choice, she already had the majority of the appointments.
    And if the President did not delegate, they were taken (interference I think is your preferred term), then the checks and balances are not working.
    The people should not be paying (legal action before the court) for this cock up.
    So silence from the President is validation, IMO.
    We cannot have it all ways? On one hand we want accountability, and on the other whenever an opportunity to seek accountability arises, we want to brush it aside with ‘doan mind’?

7. @Dee Word

The challenge is how do we pull citizens of integrity into public life to make that difference. It is the only way the system will improve.

8. Opposition in our democracy is about carving a strident dissenting voice. Former Senator Caswell was able to accomplish this task with little support from his party. He has shown what is possible and it does not mean some of us agreed with his every utterance.

9. Vincent CodringtonMarch 8, 2022 10:57 AM

Should the discretion of the Office of President and the integrity of the Office of President be a subject for discussion? I think we like to push the envelope a bit too far in these blogs. Commenters ought to know better and show more respect.

Xxxxc

Why not ?
    She is not above the law
    Also being a servant of the people she is duty bound to be answerable to them when notions of her breaching of her contractual agreements within the Constitution is brought under scrutiny

10. “Opposition in our democracy is about carving a strident dissenting voice. Former Senator Caswell was able to accomplish this task with little support from his party. He has shown what is possible and it does not mean some of us agreed with his every utterance.”

Opposition should mean equal and opposite forces against each other which does not happen with 2 main parties in the same political position of centre / left of centre. DLP did not support the nurses strike, which seems to have gone away now.

It seems everyone is singing the same tune together
    Intro: Dha Dhin Na, Dha Tin Na

11. “She is NOT above reproach in this court. This is 2022 snobbery is an egregious, elitist bad-word!.”

One concept to get your head around is,
    if the Queen of England was ever taken to Court for a Crime in England the case would be
    the Queen Vs the Queen
    as she is the Head of the Courts

12. NO
    It does matter in the case of picking two senators in the absence of a LOO, not her 7 “Independents”.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

As always…only the few understand anything about anything.

“What MAM should be pushing for is funding from the culpable British government for a large-scale exercise of testing and comparison of DNA between Bajans and their Gold Coast counterparts.

That should go a long way towards the necessary cultural washing and mental deprogramming of most Bajans saddled with the curse that they are NOT African but a racial and cultural composite of English, Irish, Welsh and Scottish descent.”

14. Sargeant
    My comment about bitter etc was aimed at the BU cabal–ac, tlsn etc–not the former senator. The 61-0, though, applies to all.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…keep telling them that most would only have very small percentages of the above-mentioned lineages from European countries….some would have more, most would have less…

, the criminals who put it in their heads that their Black skins are not of dominant Afrikan lineage derivative should be drawn and quartered, even if they are long gone, someone should do an Oliver Cromwell on them, it’s the epitome of evil that scam they carried out on damaged and fearful minds….

…it was embarrassing recently to hear people talking about the mindsets they encountered…

16. Hogwash as usual. Anybodybon BU read the lady’s mych bragged about book yet?

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Keep worrying about my book….wuh dah is only one…i gine gee yuh at least 9 more to worry about….keep ya busy..,,,dah one int nutten…

you live in the US and apparently know NOTHING about DNA testing….but what would one expect from the limited in intellect..

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It’s years now i know my direct lineages……even Heather came on here and shared hers, though i would not…but i can’t believe boastful fools who froth the most….know nothing about theirs….wuhloss…

19. 555dubstreetMarch 8, 2022 12:52 PM

“She is NOT above reproach in this court. This is 2022 snobbery is an egregious, elitist bad-word!.”

One concept to get your head around is,
    if the Queen of England was ever taken to Court for a Crime in England the case would be
    the Queen Vs the Queen
    as she is the Head of the Courts
    Xxxxx
    Missing oranges with apples
    The President is subjected to the law of the land
    Nowhere in the Constitution does it state she can do as she pleases without accountability

20. On a somewhat forward note
    With the escalating gas prices and its impact on all and everything
    More than ever govt needs to.implement strident and stringent price control having harsh measures such as high fines for those business owners who have or attempts any forms of price gouging
    These measures would at least revibrate in a slowing down of high cost for the customer saving them money

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

re __”NO…It does matter in the case of picking two senators in the absence of a LOO, not her 7 “Independents”._” Then that has to be the pure type of hogwash 🤣

DISCRETION does NOT change its meaning based on a definition of ‘opposition’ … particularly when it’s NOT defined directly other than understood to be a person NOT affiliated with the governing group.

The president had full discretion to pick ANY person she so deemed not affiliated … the only criteria to define such an ‘opposition’ person would have been any person not previously a BLP candidate (who had not officially crossed-over) , one currently not affiliated with the BLP governing group as an executive member or local board member etc.

And that simply required a very short series of questions or one question from Madame President to her prospective Senator: Are you now or at any time in the recent past been associated as a non-opposition (registered supporter) of the policies and ideologies of this government and the BLP?

Caswell or many other people would have fit such a spot! What the hell did the DLP have to do with that????

DISCREETION here refers to… objective, honest, non-contrived action in the interest of BARBADOS!!!

22. @Dee Word

Some opine PM Mottley feels cheated not having a ‘legit’ opposition voted into the lower house. It is not her fault the people voted BLP all the seats mind you.

23. The right thing is for the Dems to get the two seats. I felt so in 2018 and I feel so now. It’s more than just 2 senate seats. I dun.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD
    Your definition of discretion is quite unusual and disappointing.

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Happy International Women’s Day to the women who carry our world on their shoulders..

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Today would have been Douglas Trotman’s birthday.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Ah notice when Black people achieving and ascending it worries the BU clan so much that they believe they can STOP IT.., but when it’s minorities they bend themselves in half to LICK ASS…

ah know yall don’t think that people are noticing these things…..don’t want a soul licking mine, find another Black person who looks like yall to suck up to…like you do to others…

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

wuh ya believe dah doah…dem int even care bout dey own people…an always de first pon here complainin…bout how dem people get treated…..dem int got no shame..

good thing i am so far out of their reach, am surprised they can still see what i type…lol

29. “Missing oranges with apples
    The President is subjected to the law of the land
    Nowhere in the Constitution does it state she can do as she pleases without accountability”

Do you remember Trump and his Executive Privilege
    Trump asserted executive privilege regarding the full Mueller report at the request of the attorney general.
    The Mueller report, officially titled Report On The Investigation Into Russian Interference In The 2016 Presidential Election, is the official report documenting the findings and conclusions of former Special Counsel Robert Mueller’s investigation into Russian efforts to interfere in the 2016 United States presidential election, allegations of conspiracy or coordination between Donald Trump’s presidential campaign and Russia, and allegations of obstruction of justice.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They need someone else to tell them, they can’t figure it out on their own……it’s a bridge too far..

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/03/08/accelerate-growth-empower-caribbean-women-entrepreneurs/

wuh he talking bout doah, he mussee mad….wuh i doan agree wid none a dat..

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/03/08/too-few-women-on-boards/

wunnah tink i wuld leh a woman get ahead ah me doah, wuh i wuld lick she down.

32. 555
    Since u want to go a step further and introduce American law
    Have you ever heard of the word Impeachment whereby the Presidents are subjected to answer to the people names like Bill Clinton and Nixon should ring a Bell

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

It was “DISCREETION” actually! But lame jokes aside what’s so “unusual and disappointing”.

To be discreet is to act according to one’s own volition and in a head of state role such actions are expected to done in a responsible way that is acceptable across the society. In what reasonable perspective should that not be “objective, honest, non-contrived action in the interest of BARBADOS”.

We are all too old now to just sit back and accept these self-serving behaviors by leaders. Why should her discretion cause us to be enduring this ridiculous court case when it need NOT be so!

I am sure she is the same decent woman full of integrity etc etc as she always has been but that does NOT mean this isn’t an egregious faux pas and abuse of her discretionary power to seemingly accede to a PM’s wishes (well intentioned or not) !

Yes, abuse …because in short she appeared to replace the LoO with the PM for advice in her ‘discretion’. That, I would suggest, is what’s unusual and disappointing!!

34. “Since u want to go a step further and introduce American law
    Have you ever heard of the word Impeachment whereby the Presidents are subjected to answer to the people”

Kings / Queens / Presidents
    Barbados was bound to shackles and chains of the Queen/Crown as Head of State which was replaced with a President.
    US Impeachment means people lose office of Presidency if found guilty,
    it does not mean they will be liable to criminal charges as they have protection.

I am putting simple and basic concepts out there for others to masticate on..

Larry Marshall – “Throw Mi Corn”

Me throw me corn a door, me no call no fowl
    Suppose you wanna pick it up, is your business
    Oh yeah.. yeah, yeah, yeah!

Whether you are black or you are white
    It is you.. it is you

Why won’t you stop your fussin’ and your fighting?
    Why won’t you stop your stealing and your killing?
    It’s you.. I’m talking to

If the cap fit you, wear it
    If I saw, I saw, oh yeah, yeah, hmm
    (..)

It is you.. it is you
    It is you.. it is you</>

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    I disagree with the source of senators for the 2, the President has discretion on.
    Capable and willing to oppose.
    Unsure why you think ‘party’ is relevant, and why beyond maintaining the duopoly, they should be D’s versus any other person.

36. Excerpts taken from 10/ 20 / 21
    Article

Xxc
    However, political scientist Dr Gorge Belle is adamant that Senator Franklyn should resign from the Upper Chamber of Parliament.

“I feel Caswell Franklyn should resign from the Senate because he is there on the request of the Leader of the Opposition who sits in the Lower House. And the Leader of the Opposition in the Lower House supported the consultation with the Prime Minister in relation to the election of the presidency,” Dr Belle said.

“For him to, almost on his own, decide that in the Senate he could vote then against what the recommendation of his leader was, I think demonstrates that he has no base, and in terms of a right, in the Senate anymore,” contended the retired Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the Cave Hill Campus of the

Xxxxxxx
    But taking all.things into consideration and the Constitution being the Supreme law of the land
    It would be of interest to know if George Belle would apply the same standards or principle to the PM action of a stated offer when the Constitution states in law and principle such must be done by the Gov. General / President

37. @ Enuff March 8, 2022 6:49 PM

The dishonourable senator does not know what a conscience is. How else can it be explained that he voted against the Republic on the most important day after the abolition of slavery and after the Declaration of Independence? Did he want to maintain white supremacy?

If the senator has any decency left, he should immediately donate his lavish allowance from his time as senator to the widows and orphans in Ukraine.

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Unsure what Sen CF actions have to do with the appointment of 2 Senators by the President?
    I thought you were going to tell us about the abstentions in the Integrity in Public Life Bill. And how they were immediately dealt with.

39. Bumper bookings
    South Coast hotels say they’ll be packed with English cricket fans
    by CHERYL HAREWOOD

THERE HAVE BEEN bumper bookings at some South Coast hotels by English cricket fans for next week’s Test match at Kensington Oval.
    Many of the Christ Church properties are also reporting that March is proving to be a good month for business.
    A representative of Courtyard By Marriott told the MIDWEEK NATION the Hastings hotel was not only fully booked for the March 16-20 Test between West Indies and England but for the entire month.
    “Fully booked for cricket,” reported management at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, adding that the rest of the month was “looking good”.
    As for The Sun Group, which includes Time Out Hotel, Savannah Beach Hotel and Sugar Cane Club Hotel and Spa, a spokesperson said bookings were “bumper to bumper” up to March 21.
    Morgan Seale, general manager at Sugar Bay Barbados, said “so far, so good” for March.
    “I cannot complain. All the [COVID-19] measures which have been improved upon have made a difference. We are very happy to have guests and our occupancy is about 81 per cent for March. There is still some room for improvement. People are booking late, so it is very likely that we will see more bookings for the hotel.”
    Seale added that bookings for sister hotel, Bougainvillea Beach Resort, on Maxwell Coast Road, Christ Church, were around 83 per cent.
    At Dover Beach Hotel, managing director Adua Kinch said she was pleased with March bookings and they would likely end the month with occupancy rates in the 90s.
    ‘Thank God for cricket’
    “Things are very good. Thank God for cricket. We started February with a 57 per cent occupancy and ended with an 85 per cent occupancy. We started March with an occupancy rate in the 70s and hope to end the month in the 90s. However, April and May look a bit depressing right now,” she said.
    A representative of a South Coast all-inclusive property said the hotel was sold out for the cricket period.
    “After cricket the occupancy rate will drop, and while forward bookings are not as good as we would like, there is still time to see how things pick up in the following months,” she noted.
    Interim manager at Hilton Barbados, Dermott Collins, said Barbados appears to be in a good place tourism-wise.
    “The positive thing is that tourism on the island is on the rebound. It is encouraging to see international tourists coming back and the airlines returning. Cricket will no doubt give the island a boost,” he said.
    Collins added he was “cautiously optimistic” about the entire year and that while booking patterns have changed, Barbados has been able to sell itself because of the warmth of its people.
    Christopher Forbes, general manager of The Crane Resort, also expressed satisfaction with the St Philip hotel’s bookings and the winter season as a whole.
    “We have a very high occupancy, which is good. The first half of March was excellent and the second half is good. We will end the month with occupancy in the 80s, which is also good,” he said.
    Forbes also pointed out that the hotel was full during the Twenty20 series in January.
    However, he projected a drop in occupancy next month, and average occupancies of 50 per cent throughout the summer months.

40. Good news for hotels but how much of that money is landing in the hands of small.businesses it would be of interest to know
    Black businesses always settle for less in silence
    Yet to read the same good news response from the small predominantly owned black small business community

41. After a two year hiatus avoiding the public right to know govt says they would be a presentation of a Budget reporting on Monday
    Enquiring minds are asking who or which actors would be put in place to question the Budget
    This country has slipped into.a place of no return
    Two years ago when Parliament was fully constituted there was no budget
    Now at a time and present govt sets out to present a Budget answerable unto itself
    Lawd have mercy
    Jesus take the wheel

42. C₂₁H₃₀O₂ Avatar
    C₂₁H₃₀O₂

Dance Haffi Cork C₂₁H₃₀O₂ Haffi Bun
    World A Music Vs Welcome To Jamrock

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1Kn8-PJYdA

43. NO / enuff

Isn’t the government lawyers not paid a monthly salary?

NO

The exercise in the courts is democracy at work
    When it is all over all concerned parties and the whole island will Be in a better position to deal with a future occurrence.

44. @ NorthernObserver March 9, 2022 12:50 AM

Transparency legislation will come at the latest after the next victory 30:0.

Our belief in the Supreme Leader and the higher power that guides her supersedes facts.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

@John2
    Nice try lol.
    But some are not GoB employees.
    There need be no future occurence?
    The Pres appts 2, a temp is installed til the Cons is altered to accommodate KK, matter done.
    All a costly lot of foolishness.

46. Jah Lyrics
    I concur with Mighty Zulu Warrior Jah Shaka, Johnny Clarke, Ranking Dillinger and King Tubby
    who sing a song for Jah Children in the reggae dance
    and say there is no such thing as Bajans
    there are no Barbadians
    they are Africans living in Barbados

Roots, Natty Roots, Natty Congo Version / Johnny Clarke
    Roots natty roots, natty congo,
    Roots natty roots natty dread.
    Roots natty roots, natty congo.

Our foreparents were born, in Africa,
    And we are born in Jamaica.
    But every day, some people a talk,
    Like they are born, in Africa.

But we are Africans, born in Jamaica,
    Africans, born in Jamaica, Africans, born in Jamaica.

And all my brothers, who were born ina America,
    Your foreparents were born in Africa.
    And all my sisters, who were born in America,
    So you are Africans, born in America,
    Africans, born ina America, Africans, born ina America.

And all my brothers, who were born ina England,
    And all my sisters, who were born ina England,
    So you are Africans, born ina England.
    Africans, born ina England, Africans, born ina England.

Roots natty roots, natty congo,
    Roots natty roots natty dread.

And all my brothers, who were born ina Canada,
    And all my sisters, who were born in America,
    So you are Africans, born ina Canada,
    Africans, born ina Canada, Africans, born ina Canada.

Our foreparents were born, in Africa,
    And we are born in Jamaica.
    But every day, some people a talk,
    Like they are born, in Africa.

But we are Africans, born in Jamaica,
    Africans, born ina American, Africans, born ina Engaland.
    Africans, born ina Canada, Africans, born in Jamaica.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x-sxkUHpr4

47. It would be best to suspend the written constitution. Since the leader’s will is ultimately the source of all law, there is no longer any need for statutes. It is perfectly sufficient for our Supreme Leader to issue orders to the formal President, to the judges and to the ministers as needed, thus creating law.

Tron, year 1 NR, 4 SL

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

Suspend?
    Abolish? Wasting time establishing a newer one seems pointless 😉

49. NO

How many are not government employed
    And what is the fee ?

If sometime in the future ( let say 100yrs) and there is a similar occurrence where one party win all the seats. The president may not be a person of a legal mind like the current president.. however this court case turns out will be the road map for any future president. Even if the CCJ makes the final judgment then so it will be
    But for now everyone has his own/right interpretation so it needs to be settled once and for all

By the way
    I agree with you that temporary senators could be away of getting the law amended to accommodate the awaiting three seats . It may open another kettle of fish with the president doing the government a FAVOR
    Then we will her the cries that she is not neutral Bs should resign.

I prefer to let the courts settle the different arguments so we can move forward with a legal ruling as against legal opinions
    Even if we CCJ