Freundel Stuart was the prime minister of Barbados in the period 2010 to 2018 after assuming the caretaker role from David Thompson who became sick on the job soon after the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was voted to office in 2008. The legacy of Stuart’s stewardship is still being written although some pundits at this early stage are happy to label it worse than the Sandiford administration. The tactic engineered by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – the other member of the duopoly – has enjoyed success with branding of the Glorious Years as The Lost Decade.

The failure of a third party movement to gain traction in Barbados means the health of our democracy is nexus to well managed DLP and BLP political parties. A strident dissenting voice is a feature of the Westminster system we try to model – the lacuna created by the recent general election and ensuing legal challenge regarding how the Senate is constituted is a case in point. A good argument can therefore be made that the business of political parties is the public’s business although classified private entities. In fact the unwillingness of quality citizens to offer themselves to join political parties who aspire to selflessly serve the public is at the heart of the type of governments we are saddled.

Some of us who comment on political matters are not surprised at the dysfunctional state of the DLP. It was not difficult to forecast. Barbadians except for the rabidly partisan are turned off by the quality of politics and governments we have been getting since the Tom Adams era which ended in the mid 80s. The blogmaster opines both DLP and BLP political parties have been rotated to govern the country based on the level of voter apathy and lack of credible alternatives and little to do with substance. The unprecedented 30-0 victories at the polls by the BLP in 2018 and 2022 should give Barbadians reason to pause. The BLP despite making several mistakes in a brief tenure of just over three years the political opposition was unable to gain the public’s trust.   The quality of our system of government whether we like it or not is tied to the quality of individuals attracted to serve in political parties. There is that symbiotic relationship only a fool would deny.

Today makes 32 days since the last general election and except for a public position in response to a contentious offer from Prime Minister Mottley to participate in a discussion about accepting two Senate seats, the DLP has been silent and irrelevant in the public space. Sensible observers appreciate it will take the DLP time to assess, reorganize and mobilize BUT there is a reality to be considered by the DLP and onlookers. The silence coming out of George Street is consistent with the ‘glorious years’ of the Stuart administration and the longer it persists, the more difficult it will be for that party to be perceived as a credible alternative. The blogmaster is aware the DLP has skin in the game based on the matter that is before the court brought by AG Brathwaite – who we know is acting de facto for the DLP. Some of us are not so stupid to believe otherwise.

This is a cry for a different type of citizen with a passion and body of work for serving the public to join the two main political parties. An organization assumes the character of its members. If we want our governments to change how business is done, it must begin with the quality of personnel attracted to political parties. Today it is the DLP in crisis, it is not inconceivable the BLP may find itself in a similar position when Mia Mottley demits office whether for a forced or unforced reason. If that happens all of us will be adversely impacted.

The type of government we get starts with YOU!

366 responses to “Sound of Silence”

1. Nice work if u can get it
    However a question to be asked
    Where would govt get the funding to pay this wage bill

Xxxxxx

Government has no intention to downsize or discontinue a national clean-up programme criticised for “sending the wrong message” to the country’s youth and being used as a tool for “political exploitation”.

The programme which emerged from last year’s ashfall cleanup after the eruption of the La Soufriere volcano, has become a fixture on the government’s wage bill, employing up to 720 people, mostly young men at approximately $100 per day.

Click the website link in bio to read more.

#BarbadosNewsYouCanTrust
    #LeadingOnlineMedium
    #StaySafe #BarbadosTodayNews #BTEpaper #BarbadosTODAY #Barbados
    #BarbadosTodayOnlineNewspaper #Warrens #StMichael

2. Why not employ the young people keeping agricultural lands free of weeds and available for food crop production?

Atleast there is a contribution to the constant drain on the treasury.

For the life of me I could never figure out how there were at one time so many NCC workers and they were not used contractually in Agriculture and not propping up on hoes beside the road.

Is Agriculture viewed in such a dim light that picking weeds side of the road is more acceptable than making the fields bloom?

Eventually they all got sent home because the Government could not afford to keep paying them and the NCC was radically downsized..

3. Not at all.against hiring of people
    However against a backdrop which govt stated that the finance of govt was slow
    Against a backdrop of statement made to whom govt owes money
    Against a backdrop whereby govt stated that monies owed to govt entities past due would be paid in bonds
    It is hard to figure where govt can find $2000 monthly wages to pay low end workers
    Somethings just doesn’t add up
    Somebody met it make sense

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Codrington re your apt “The Senate has no power to veto financial matters coming from the House of Assembly. Please review the law ,practice and conventions of our system of Governance. Commenters tend to pontificate before reviewing the basis of their interventions.”

One of the possible good things resulting from this constitutional problem is that more Bajans will be reviewing the Constitution and thus become more aware and as you say be better able to pontificate!

I never paid attention to the fact that ‘money matters’ could not be ‘held up’ in Senate or more precisely as u noted had no veto power whatever until more repeatedly reviewing our Constitution these last few months.

Ideally, Bajans will become more aware of other things like that as we navigate more of these constitutional issues.

5. Although the senate cannot vote on the Estimates
    The upside gives them a role of much importance on bringing the flaws or mishaps in the debates during Senate sessions when such issues are tabled
    So the interjection one which tries to downgrade the role of the Senate files in the face of a democratic process .whereby on the table rides good goverance

6. AC

Please take your mouth off of those that work for $100 a day according to you.

These are the one in society that need a hand up. If government don’t employ them then u will be talking about the problems they are causing on society. Remember yourcries when Barbados was like the Wild West ? You made many statements about the effect of unemployment especially on the youth

Those jobs are not normally taken by former students of Harrison, combermere, queens etc. or even the brighter ones of st Lucy , st George or parkinson

My advice to you would be to stick to the consultants and ministers the poor need to eat also

7. John2
    Where in my comment posted as a Barbados today article did I down cry the youth getting jobs
    However one of my concerns hinges on a fact
    A fact which govt one stated as to not having financial resources to.pay debt owed locally to business
    Also govt at one time presenting a bond solution as that of paying debt to govt employees
    Also my concern goes further to one of asking where and how would govt find or provide the monthly funding to pay these employess
    Given on what govt said in previous statements in reference to bond payments on debt owed to local businesses and govt employees

8. Anything yet from Judge Chase and fitting the senators on a pinhead?

The delay speaks volumes.

How long will we be kept in suspense?

Has the GG/President appointed a Leader of the Opposition yet?

It’s really all in her hands.

I don’t think I have ever In all my life seen such a monumental screw up as this.

Unbelievable, and the rules are so straightforward.

The GG/President needs to do the right thing and resign and set the example. for Ms. Mockley and the 29 others who would seek to pretend all is well and that they can actually make a go of this nullity.

This is not a matter that can be negotiated as there are tens of thousands of citizens from whom only one needs to step forward and call them all to account.

The longer it goes on the harder will be the fall.

9. Resign, go along and leave the way for others who can approach this with a clean slate.

10. @ac
    your newly found interest in the financial matters of the country is noted, and welcomed.
    It was sadly lacking some years back.
    It would seem the estimates/budget/whatever is a good opportunity for somebody ‘opposing’ the government, to put forth an analysis, and comment on the shortfalls and/or policies they support.
    The Barbadian public has not yet forgiven the financial mismanagement of a former DLP administration. Hence an excellent opportunity to begin showing the people, the D’s of today, are not the D’s of 2011-2018.

11. Been thinking about the position of Madam Justice Chase a great deal.

She was one of the 9 judges appointed after the first 30 – 0 nullity.

Logically, her appointment is also a nullity and now she is being asked to rule on a second nullity.

What would I do were I in her position?

The most sensible thing to do is resign, go back to private practice and let any judge who was appointed prior to the first 30 – 0 nullity deal with the matter of placing senators on a pinhead.

She is in an invidious position and about to go over a cliff.

There is no movement by Ms. Mockley and her crew or the GG to do the right thing.

Rather they cling to “power” at all costs as they take the pretense further and carry us all down the slope.

Parliament has been “opened”, the “Throne speech” has been given and now we await another nullity, the “debate” of the Estimates.

For God’s sakes go.

You have contaminated every institution in Barbados and are in the process of totally destroying the judiciary.

12. Here are the 7 (oops not 9) judges appointed after the first 30 – 0 nullity.

https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/seven-new-judges-sworn-in-by-governor-general/

Here they are standing with the GG and the totally disgraced former Chief Justice who we no longer talk about..

The caption of the photo says it all, “Governor General Dame Sandra Mason (fourth from left) and Chief Justice Sir Marston Gibson (third from left) pose with the seven new judges. From left to right: Barry Carrington; Cecil McCarthy; Cicely Chase; Laurie-Ann Smith-Bovell; Christopher Birch; Rejendra Narine and Carlisle Greaves. (B.Hinds/BGIS)”

They may individually be very capable persons but as you can see their method of appointment taints them.

What else will the evil touch and destroy?

13. Here is the face of evil, the serpent that led the GG astray and created the fiasco.

14. AC

Where in my comment did I say or indicate that you down cry the youth getting jobs?

B. Provide prove / article where any government employee was paid in bonds without their concent.

15. AC

And can I ask how many contractors did ur Dlp government owed money to ?
    And how many employees did it owe money to ( tax returns for multiple year)?
    And how many new employees did it take on ( especially in the few months before 2018 elections)?

Again. Stick to the consultants an ministers. No one will argue / question you

16. John2February 24, 2022 8:03 AM

AC

Where in my comment did I say or indicate that you down cry the youth getting jobs?

B. Provide prove / article where any government employee was paid in bonds without their concent.
    Xxxx
    I see u are a twistorian
    Reel.and come again
    BTW Minister Starghan had plenty to say about monies owed to be paid in bonds
    Don’t get it twisted

17. Read ePaper
    Home / Column / #BTColumn – Debt Act: a major concern

#BTColumn – Debt Act: a major concern – by Barbados Today Traffic December 12, 2021
    The views and opinions expressed by the author(s) do not represent the official position of Barbados TODAY.

by Dr Ronnie Yearwood

I have just reviewed what I think is one of the most worrisome economic policies that this Government is about to make into law, the Debt Settlement (Arrears) Act 2021 to issue Series J bonds.

Let us start by simply understanding what a bond is. A bond is an IOU. Governments issue bonds as a way to borrow money.

Therefore, a bond is a loan to the Government and people usually decide if they want to lend the Government money.

However, in these Series J bonds, the Government is not asking people to lend it money but can compulsorily issue bonds for cash it owes to creditors.

The Debt Settlement (Arrears) Act states that the Government can issue bonds to persons it has acquired land from, persons with legal claims against the Government, arrears the Government has with people (including Public Servants), and in respect of “any outstanding liabilities of any kind of the Government”.

Normally, if we lend money, we expect to get paid back with interest. However, the Series J bonds pay no interest.

The amount of money you lend, or rather the amount the Government compulsorily takes from you, is what you will be paid back when the bond matures or comes to an end.

You will receive your money at the end of 42 months or three and a half years. But unlike a normal bond where you get all your money back, in Series J, you will get your money in drips over another three and a half years. That is a total of seven years before full repayment of your money.

It could be longer if there was a natural disaster as the Government can defer payments for two years, meaning that it could be nine years before you get your full money back.

Even when the money is due, nothing is stopping the Government at that time from giving you more bonds as payment.

This bond issuance amounts to a default on current Government debt for payments that are imminent and a deferment of payment of up to seven years.

This issuance also signals that the Government may not have the cash to make multiple payments for things that are due even though it borrowed over one billion dollars in the past financial year. No wonder the Minister of Finance would not bring a budget!

Obviously, the issue affects everyone who is owed money by the Government but what does this mean for Government employees? It means that, after all your hard work, the Government could pay your gratuities partly or all in bonds.

Many people schedule their affairs so that the gratuity pays off the mortgage and car payments, with some leftover for home improvements or to pay for overseas education for grandchildren, to help their children pay mortgages, or to pay for important surgeries, cover medical bills or take that trip of a lifetime. You cannot take bonds to the supermarket in effect!

The Government gets to arbitrarily decide who will get cash and who will get bonds, as the Debt Settlement (Arrears) Act does not set out any criteria for making the determination, nor any limits of the liabilities that Government owes you that will be turned into bonds.

The Prime Minister, as Minister of Finance, can then pick who will survive and who will not, whether intended or otherwise. That is the effect of these bonds.

Many businesses have cash flow problems, and often the Government will be a major buyer, so how does offering bonds help small and medium-sized businesses that the Government owes money to?

Those businesses cannot pay their workers in bonds. And given that the Government defaulted before, no one wants to invest in Government bonds voluntarily, hence this compulsory, cash grab approach.

If the people you owe need cash, you cannot give them bonds and tell them that you are waiting on the Government. So you are still in debt for the next seven years while you wait for the full return of your money. Also, what if you have to pay income or corporation tax on the bonds received as payment? Where are you supposed to find that cash? BRA will not accept a bond from you!

So let us take the whole picture.

The Government recently printed 125 million dollars, posing as a bond issue, after walking the hills and valleys of this country, criticising the last government for printing money during the last great depression following the 2008 financial crash.

As the IMF will not let the Government print money, the issuing of bonds is just a workaround. Is this what we taxpayers are paying all the Prime Minister’s financial advisors to do – find ways to take advantage of us!

In my last column, I said “ . . . the Prime Minister does not seem to understand the basics of banking, and loan and financial risk as carefully and clearly explained in another section of the regional press…

“This BLP Government, interestingly, has transformed before our eyes to the party of borrow and spend as the economic competence of the Arthur years is frittered away, looking like a very distant memory.”

For those of you who think that comment is harsh, consider the alternative.

The Prime Minister has embarked on a policy of populism by spending to try to ensure victory in the next election. However, history has shown that it’s a short-term approach used by leaders to stay in power, but it then has a devastating effect in the long term that can possibly end in a failed state.

The Debt Settlement Act essentially wiped out all monies owed by the Government to Barbadians, with the Government arbitrarily deciding who can receive cash or bonds.

These J bonds are the equivalent of the paper used in making paper mâché. We can only assume the government would like us to use the J bond paper to sculpt the things we would normally buy with money.

Dr Ronnie Yearwood

18. AC

BRILLIANT as usual. I bow to you

19. John2
    Instead of being a smart ar.se
    Find out from the Minister of Finance how payments to these low end workers would be finance
    Also u can had out a copy of the article to the head duffus Minister Straughn and ask him for an explanation
    I ain’t too bright
    I want to know also

20. What would the judge say tomorrow
    Lol
    But most interesting would the President be allow to give her interpretation of the Constitution

21. AC

I have no concern about how they will get paid. They were paid under the DLP and I expect they will be paid under the BLP

If you cannot figure it out then ask Ronnie

22. Putting up more resistance than the Ukraine defense force is AC. An unprovoked attack by J2 was neutralized and snuffed out in a matter of seconds. He surrendered shortly afterwards.

Here is his official surrender
    “AC
    BRILLIANT as usual. I bow to you”

It is a pleasure to see AC make light work of these men.
    You go, girl.

23. “If you cannot figure it out then ask Ronnie”
    Ronnie wrote column after column and Sandra still beat him by near 1250 votes and the party lost 30-0. He still writing every week in BT?🤣

24. Milluh
    “After all, you do, indeed, pay rent seeing that you have been in receipt of millions of greenbacks from your astute management of those billion dollar contract projects executed from the precincts of Roebuck Street but with your white servants taking home peanuts to their families in St. John.”

Failed once again. More lies. #queensgate

25. @Enuff

The consecutive win is all Mia.

26. John2February 24, 2022 4:56 PM

AC

I have no concern about how they will get paid. They were paid under the DLP and I expect they will be paid under the BLP

If you cannot figure it out then ask Ronnie
    Cccc
    I already figured it out
    Either Ryan Straughan told a big lie
    Or govt have a money tree planted that drops one hundred dollar bills daily into the laps of these labourers
    Wouldn’t be surprised when drought dries up that tree and govt tells them they can’t pay them any longer
    😂😂 😂

27. David
    Whatta ting the woman so hated by some on BU caused another 30-0.

28. EnuffFebruary 24, 2022 6:15 PM

Whatta ting the woman so hated by some on BU caused another 30-0.
    Xxcccc
    What a ting doah that this hated woman on BU calls out govt lies and pretense puppet shows
    Still waiting for a blp supporter to give a full explanation on the two mouths of govt
    How all.of a sudden govt can pay two thousand monthly to low end workers but have no money to pay govt workers and debt owed to local businesses but by bonds

29. AC

Precisely! It the same money tree that bloomed before elections in 2o13 then dried up immediately after the lectionary but bloomed again before may 2018 elections

30. John2February 24, 2022 7:22 PM

AC

Precisely! It the same money tree that bloomed before elections in 2o13 then dried up immediately after the lectionary but bloomed again before may 2018 elections
    Xccccc
    So then u say that Straughn is a Liar

31. I called two names. AC and Ronnie

32. (1) The Chief Justice and other Judges of the Supreme Court
    shall be appointed by the Governor-General, by instrument under the
    Public Seal, on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after
    consultation with the Leader of the Opposition

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tomorrow is the big day!!

Judge Chase to continue to hear the Senate case.

She is in an invidious position.

Her appointment based on Reverent Joe as fake leader of the opposition consulting with a mock pm who advised the GG to appoint her is open to question and she is now asked to make a decision on a matter that is directly related.

The pretense continues.

The reality is that 30 – 0 is a nullity.

Any links to Zoom published yet?

Would like to be a fly on the wall but Zoom will do!!

33. … oops, not tomorrow, later on today!!

34. Would be interesting to see how this judge bobs and weave her way this Constitutional issue
    Sending it on the way to the CCJ
    Govt has already lowered the senate flag as an indicator they might have pursue the wrong road

35. Almost two hours and the sound of silence coming out ofthe media is deafening on this most controversial issue dealing with the Constitution
    All roads now leading to Russia
    Hmmmm

36. Well alas something was said according to media sources
    The case has resumed
    That’s all folks from the illustrious going ” Forth” estate

37. Nobody ent saying peep ’bout court today.

38. JohnFebruary 25, 2022 5:25 PM

Nobody ent saying peep ’bout court today.

Xxxxx
    Yuh know things wrapped tight
    tight

39. Where is the media voice when democracy is being challenged in the high court
    Did some one placed an injunction order on the press
    Very suspicious that nothing has been said or heard coming out of the motion that occured in the court yesterday

40. Understood the case was to held via zoom
    Yet not one story of what occured has been placed via media

41. This is a false statement.

42. Case story on the back page of Barbados today
    Kind of hum hum

43. If you read with understanding you should clean the case really got underway. Radio stations have commented through the day on the matter. You must know reporting is done via multiple media channels. So far the case has not thrown up anything new.

44. DavidFebruary 26, 2022 6:57 AM

If you read with understanding you should clean the case really got underway. Radio stations have commented through the day on the matter. You must know reporting is done via multiple media channels. So far the case has not thrown up anything new.
    Xcccc
    So if u had info since yesterday why didn’t u place what was said
    Not everybody listen to local news
    Only today one media outlet has laid out some of the in depth proceedings
    That too was placed on the back page
    This case is of importance in that the democratic process is being weighed in the balance of truth fact and self-interest
    Too much at stake for the media to go into hiding and only come our when noise and banter is pointed in their direction which includes BU

45. CASE VITAL
    JUDGE SAYS LAWSUIT OVER PARLIAMENT MAKEUP TIME- SENSITIVE AND IMPORTANT
    By Fernella Wedderburn
    A High Court judge hearing the lawsuit challenging the makeup of Parliament on the basis that not all 21 members of the Senate had been appointed, says it is a “time-sensitive matter”.
    Madam Justice Cicely Chase Q.C. made the position clear on Friday when the civil case, brought by former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite Q.C. through his attorneys Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson, Michelle Russell and Rico Yearwood, resumed in the High Court today for case management.
    “To this court and to the public of Barbados at large, this is an extremely important matter. I want the issues of law addressed as preliminary points . . . and issues of fact . .
    . and then any other applications which are before the court will be heard,” she said as she set next Tuesday and Wednesday for attorneys on both sides to make their submissions on issues canvassed through Friday’s sitting.
    Brathwaite is before the court asking for the decision of President Dame Sandra Mason to reconvene Parliament to be quashed. He is contending that the Upper House is not fully constituted, with only 18 of the 21 members appointed so far, and therefore the Parliament is not fully constituted.
    Brathwaite’s lead attorney, Patterson, said his client filed the claim in his capacity “as a public minded citizen and in the public interest”.
    “We accept the business of the country, the business of this country’s Parliament must be conducted and that these proceedings touch and concern the central question of whether or not the Parliament, as constituted, comports with the Constitution . . . and it goes to the question of the validity of the Parliament and its ability to pass law,” the Queen’s Counsel said as he maintained that his side saw the case as an “an urgent matter” which should be dealt with “expeditiously”.
    During the virtual sitting which attracted around 225 members of the public, Brathwaite’s team and the attorneys representing Government’s case put forward several issues that they believe the court should deal with.
    Patterson explained that since the January 19 general election where no opposition party won a seat in the country’s Parliament, a national debate had arisen as to whether or not President Dame Sandra Mason “ought to be appointing to the Senate the two persons who, in the normal course of things, [fill] the so-called opposition seats.”
    So far, the President has appointed 18 persons to sit in the Upper House with three appointments still to be made.
    Parliament has since convened.
    “We say she did so, notwithstanding that the Senate has not been properly constituted.
    So issue one, I think the most central issue, is the Senate properly constituted?”
    The Government’s legal team – consisting of Queen’s Counsels Leslie Haynes, Roger Forde and Alrick Scott, along with Gregory Nicholls and Simone Scott from the Attorney General’s Chambers – agreed.
    Haynes stated: “That is an issue with which we can all agree – that is, whether the Senate is properly constituted in accordance with the Constitution of Barbados.”
    Among the issues for the Government’s legal team was whether the court is permitted to enquire into “the alleged failure by the President to appoint two senators to the Senate; if the court finds that she had powers to do so but acted unreasonably; [and] the President appointing February 4 the date of commencement of the current session of Parliament.” fernellawedderburn@barbadostoday.bb

46. When mention was made as to how govt would pay the clean up workers a 100 dollars a day
    A total.of 2000dollars a month
    The blp yard birds fly off the fence in haste
    Now article after article is telling the sad truth on Barbados financial state so much so that it makes wonder where the truth lies
    Govt tells opposing stories one side says it can pay top dollar to the clean up workers on the other side welfare receiptients and others like pensioners govt can’t deliver checks on time
    Timely enough for them to pay rent or bills
    The trouble with govt messages they truth is missing
    Time for a temperature check on the messaging that is coming out of govt mouth