Freundel Stuart was the prime minister of Barbados in the period 2010 to 2018 after assuming the caretaker role from David Thompson who became sick on the job soon after the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was voted to office in 2008. The legacy of Stuart’s stewardship is still being written although some pundits at this early stage are happy to label it worse than the Sandiford administration. The tactic engineered by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – the other member of the duopoly – has enjoyed success with branding of the Glorious Years as The Lost Decade.

The failure of a third party movement to gain traction in Barbados means the health of our democracy is nexus to well managed DLP and BLP political parties. A strident dissenting voice is a feature of the Westminster system we try to model – the lacuna created by the recent general election and ensuing legal challenge regarding how the Senate is constituted is a case in point. A good argument can therefore be made that the business of political parties is the public’s business although classified private entities. In fact the unwillingness of quality citizens to offer themselves to join political parties who aspire to selflessly serve the public is at the heart of the type of governments we are saddled.

Some of us who comment on political matters are not surprised at the dysfunctional state of the DLP. It was not difficult to forecast. Barbadians except for the rabidly partisan are turned off by the quality of politics and governments we have been getting since the Tom Adams era which ended in the mid 80s. The blogmaster opines both DLP and BLP political parties have been rotated to govern the country based on the level of voter apathy and lack of credible alternatives and little to do with substance. The unprecedented 30-0 victories at the polls by the BLP in 2018 and 2022 should give Barbadians reason to pause. The BLP despite making several mistakes in a brief tenure of just over three years the political opposition was unable to gain the public’s trust.   The quality of our system of government whether we like it or not is tied to the quality of individuals attracted to serve in political parties. There is that symbiotic relationship only a fool would deny.

Today makes 32 days since the last general election and except for a public position in response to a contentious offer from Prime Minister Mottley to participate in a discussion about accepting two Senate seats, the DLP has been silent and irrelevant in the public space. Sensible observers appreciate it will take the DLP time to assess, reorganize and mobilize BUT there is a reality to be considered by the DLP and onlookers. The silence coming out of George Street is consistent with the ‘glorious years’ of the Stuart administration and the longer it persists, the more difficult it will be for that party to be perceived as a credible alternative. The blogmaster is aware the DLP has skin in the game based on the matter that is before the court brought by AG Brathwaite – who we know is acting de facto for the DLP. Some of us are not so stupid to believe otherwise.

This is a cry for a different type of citizen with a passion and body of work for serving the public to join the two main political parties. An organization assumes the character of its members. If we want our governments to change how business is done, it must begin with the quality of personnel attracted to political parties. Today it is the DLP in crisis, it is not inconceivable the BLP may find itself in a similar position when Mia Mottley demits office whether for a forced or unforced reason. If that happens all of us will be adversely impacted.

The type of government we get starts with YOU!

366 responses to “Sound of Silence”

1. Lack of effective communication

Before I get into what I want to get into, there is something I want to get off of my chest.
    On hearing that fellow columnist Michelle Russell has received threatening messages from some person claiming to speak in defense of Barbados, I feel that it is important that the Government of Barbados and all of us as Barbadians come out and make a strong statement that this is not who we are.
    And at the same time, we need to face up to the ugly truth that too often our discourse is marked by a lack of commitment to reason and commitment to patient communication.
    On hearing a caller on the callin programme complain this week about the inability of many young Barbadian men to communicate and reason, I felt like saying, “Well, the berry doan fall far from the tree.”
    Though it is easy to say that we Bajans should be more reasonable and communicative, making that shift in culture is not necessarily easy. But leadership must lead the way.
    One of these fine days we will stop talking like everything is so simple.
    Hopefully it is sometime soon. It will not be an easy shift to make, though.
    Because so many Bajan statements start with “All yuh gotta do is” or “How come you doan juss”. And this was the case before the fast-food era and before instant media. So we are probably worse now in downplaying the effort needed to do things properly. Despite the traditional Bajan confidence in the ease of addressing situations which we don’t personally have to deal with, the reality is often far different. It’s taken humans thousands of years to ransack the Earth and build civilisations so large and complex that no one is in control.
    Many, if not most, serious situations will take years of addressing. They will not be fixed quickly – unless the quick fix is collapse.
    It’s not that actions necessary to address issues will necessarily take long to accomplish. The delay often comes from the fact that people take a long time to figure out exactly what the correct thing to do is, and then more time to decide if we really want to do it. The delay comes sometimes in changing the mindset or changing how we think.
    Traditional Bajan confidence
    And so the reality that things don’t really change as fast as that traditional Bajan confidence may suggest leads to the flip side, which is a traditional Bajan pessimism. We also have a tendency to negativity in response to expressions of confidence. Therefore, another popular Bajan phrase is, “Dah cyan work”. “Dah cyan work” is often accompanied by other complementary phrases such as “It doan mek nuh sense.”
    So, you can imagine what
    a conversation is like between an “All yuh gotta do” person and a “Dah cyan work” person is like. In fact, it might be generous calling this a conversation. It would be more like two competing monologues. When Bajans on opposite ends of the confidence/negativity continuum collide, there will be no real communication going on. This is why when people say that Bajans “is bare talk” and “Bajan’s like too much talking” I only half-agree. Yes, we do like to talk a lot. But that talk does not necessarily equate to communication.
    So, while we talk a lot, we communicate very little. The problem is not the quantity of talk, but the quality.
    This lack of quality talk, effective communication, is killing us. This pseudo-confidence that is really bravado along with this negativity that masquerades as “keeping it real” keeps us stagnant. The problems we face are too complex for the quick and easy fixes suggested by the “All-yuhgotta- do-is” camp. And nothing is ever accomplished by the “Dah cyan work” camp. And so, the solution is found in collaboration and communication, that is, in working together, in building a true culture of confidence, reason and real communication.
    But this is easier said than done.
    The actual direct solution may be easy once initiated, but the communication, shift and alignment in mindsets that must occur through intensive and extensive communication takes work, and patience and maturity. This is not who we are yet. But if we approach the situations we face with confidence and realistic assessments, it could be, one day coming soon.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: Adriangreen14 @gmail.com

2. A privilege to sit

Call me a purist, but details matter. This distinction may well matter. If a physician diagnoses his patient’s complaint as a bad headache when the hapless patient is having an acute attack of asthma, the patient may lose his life but keep his head.
    So that in the arena where unfiltered ideas proliferate, a call for The House of Assembly to stop its sittings, is not worth a pitcher of warm spit . . . as one former Vice President once remarked about the Vice Presidency of the United States.
    The House must discharge its duty. It is a House of election grounded in the Representation of the People Act and supported by the Writs for the holding of election issued pursuant to the Proclamation of the Dissolution of the House.
    And the Writs have ALL been duly returned.
    We really do need a Society for the Protection of the Constitution, and to teach civics.
    Anyway, a letter of prime relevance and importance was recently published and, as usual, it was ignored by the theoretical experts. For me, Cora Cumberbatch has long been one of the unsung heroines of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). She is a party loyalist and was its general secretary in 1985. She knows her onions. What Cumberbatch says matters. In her letter to the press on February 9, she says that the DLP started to slip on the night in1985 when Barrow announced to the Executive Council that Lloyd Erskine Sandiford would be deputy leader of the DLP.
    She writes: “I was sitting at his right and whispered , why?” She says that he whispered In 1843, the world famous Economist Magazine was first published: Its motto said that its goal was to “take part in a severe contest between intelligence, which presses forward, and an unworthy, timid ignorance obstructing our progress.”
    That motto has a present day relevance, because in any genuine democracy a constant threat to the enquiring mind must be the constant assaults by empty opinions which are conceived with the speed of light, and brewed as speedily as instant coffee.
    A case has been filed challenging the legality of the Senate. Some bright sparks describe it as a Constitutional case. It is nothing of the kind. It is a case brought for the judicial review of administrative action in relation to the Senate and whether it can be constituted without its full slate of 21 senators having been sworn.
    By Ezra Alleyne back his reason which “was burnt with his ashes”.
    I applaud her loyalty in respecting that confidence, but there is no denying its historical value.
    Equally, one has to admire her perspicacity in turning to Mr Barrow there and then, and asking “why?” This exchange alone illustrates
    Miss Cumberbatch’s credentials and wisdom. It marks her down as one whose views should be sought on the DLP revival.
    She further remarks that the downward slide started after Mr Sandiford took over as Prime Minister and that by 1989 Richie Haynes left the DLP and formed the NDP. By then, she writes: “I had already taken my exit from George Street.”
    Badly needed
    Cumberbatch’s experience is badly needed in George Street at this time. She thinks that the DLP needs a political leader as a matter of urgency. She calls for as she puts it: A fresh face”. The party needs purging and it should take the two Senate seats.
    According to her, the DLP can pick any two from – Dr Ronnie Yearwood, Ryan Walters, Oldwin Skeete, Rasheed Belgrave and Dawn Marie Armstrong.
    Cumberbatch has produced a first roadmap for resolving the DLP’s problems. She pulls no punches when she writes that the DLP “needs purging”.
    But I have digressed. The House of Assembly must continue to sit. It has serious business to do. The current financial year ends on March 31.
    Section 109 of the Constitution commands the Minister of Finance in respect of each financial year, at the earliest convenient moment before the commencement of that financial year, to introduce in the House of Assembly an Appropriation Bill containing the estimated aggregate sums (the estimates) proposed to be expended during that financial year.
    The Annual Estimates debate usually starts in March. It must be passed into law before All Fools Day, April 1, 2022. The case comes up again on February 25. I rest my case.
    The House of Assembly has serious work to do. The Estimates were on laid on Friday and debate starts tomorrow.

Ezra Alleyne is an attorney and a former Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly.

3. Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure laid in Parliament

Article by Barbados Today
    Published on
    February 19, 2022

Government’s Budget, setting out the Estimates of Expenditure and Revenue for the financial year 2021-2022, was yesterday (Friday, February 18) laid in Parliament, together with a projected forecast for the current financial year 2021-2022. These will form the basis of the Parliamentary Debate to ensue from February 21, on the Appropriation Bill.

Revised Fiscal Balance 2021-2022

On the cash basis current revenue of $2,625.2 million is expected, of which $2,477.3 million is tax revenue and $142.2 million is non-tax revenue and grant income. Total expenditure is projected to be $3,494.5 million, of which $2,827.7 million is current expenditure, exclusive of amortization, and $290.7 million is capital expenditure. The revised deficit of $493.2 million, on the IFI basis, represents 4.9% of GDP at market prices. The primary deficit for the financial year 2021-2022 is estimated to be $93.4 million or 1.0 % of GDP on the cash basis.

Overview 2022-2023

It is estimated that Government’s total expenditure for the financial year 2022-2023, on the accrual basis, will be $3,735.6 million. When converted to the cash basis, total expenditure is $3,680.6 million, an increase of $186.1 million or 5.3% over the revised figure for 2021-2022. Of the amount approved for the 2022-2023 financial year, $2,996.9 million represents current expenditure and $738.7 million represents capital expenditure and amortisation.

Expenditure on goods and services is expected to increase by $76.0 million over the revised figure for 2021-2022 to $522.0 million. Current transfers are projected to decrease by $63.0 million or 5.6% to $1,059.6 million.

The repayment of principal and interest on Government’s debt is expected to account for $981.5 million compared to the revised projection of $775.9 million.

On the accrual basis, current revenue for the next fiscal year is projected at $3,206.6 million. On the cash basis current revenue is projected at $2,813.3 million, an increase of 7.2% over the revised revenue of $2,625.2 million for the financial year ending March 2022.

When amortization of $480.5 million is taken into account, a deficit of $386.6 million on the cash basis is expected, representing 3.3% of GDP.

The primary balance is projected to be a surplus of $114.3 million or 1.0% on the cash basis and $426.0 million on the accrual basis.

The Estimates for the 2022-2023 fiscal year include provision for the following activities:

(i) A current subvention of $125.0 million is being provided to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital for its operations in addition to the $7.99 million for management of Covid-19;

(ii) Invest Barbados has been allocated the sum of $7.5 million to carry out its operations;

(iii) $6.0 million has been provided for the IDB Road Rehabilitation Programme;

(iv) $2 million has been provided for the Scotland District Road and Rehabilitation Project to be funded by the Chinese;

(v) $7.6 million has been provided for the CAF Road Rehabilitation Project;

(vi) An amount of $10.0 million has been provided for Programme Management – Covid-19;

(vii) $11.7 million has been provided to carry out capital works at Secondary Schools;

(viii) $7.5 million has been provided to the Primary Education Domestic programme;

(ix) An amount of $30 million has been allocated to the Barbados Water Authority to upgrade its reservoirs and the water distribution network.

Source: Barbados Today

4. Silence ! Silence! Yes the silence has become deafening on this BU platform
    Why ?
    Govt approach to direct the youth mind away from those things which reflects morals and Godliness should be met with condemnation
    What all observing minds can see is govt use of the New World order having a mandate to infiltrate the minds of the youth away from morals and bring their attention to coded language with words such as mindfulness
    A word which can mean any thing to any individual interpretation
    A word which can produce empty thought process or meaningless interpretation of right from wrong

5. First a govt without an opposition is not properly constituted as stated by the the Constitution
    Therfore govt setting in motion a Parliament a sitting of Parliament and then presenting its conclusion to the people is a pretense of the highest order and should be punishable with laughter and seen as that of making a mockery of the Constitution
    Be that as it may the shortage govt stated must be followed by a statement to the people as to.the plan or policy to fund the shortage in the amount of 529 million

6. Also does the govt have an intention of presenting a Budget which gives an overall and full review of monies allocated to govt entities and how and where there are shortfalls
    Last govt tenure in office failure to present.a Budget was undemocratic in that the voice of the opposition (then) was silence in a democratic process which should have given the opposition a clear path of presenting any untruths or misteps by govt in the Budget
    But here govt goes again even under a cloud of suspicious actions and motives of presenting Estimates which cannot be questioned or be asked of govt to present clear and defining answers in the absence of not having an opposition
    A govt by all indications have decided that they can be a govt unto itself without an opposition

7. My 2p two pennies worth regarding the playground of Bajan politics

Votes do not change in see-saw fashion up and down for each side
    but are more like the swings that sway forwards and backwards

2018 2022
    I postulate that DLP votes to change Government have maxed out
    and non-voters were relatively happy with BLP in power DLP with 0
    and would have voted for them anyway increasing popularity
    even though narrative was some hardships will be coming
    people feel this tough love is still the correct journey ahead

The long path for DLP to swing votes around will depend on Barbados position in next 5-10 years
    DLP will need to become more professional instead of low level sniping + griping which is a turn off

8. “What all observing minds can see is govt use of the New World order having a mandate to infiltrate the minds of the youth away from morals and bring their attention to coded language with words such as mindfulness
    A word which can mean any thing to any individual interpretation
    A word which can produce empty thought process or meaningless interpretation of right from wrong”

It is a shame you do not understand mindfulness
    as your mind is full of accumulative nonsense
    the same drivel is repeated over and over
    with no growth progression or positivity

you are of an older generation that nags
    and have lost the childish spirit of young

9. US politics is a different matter
    right wing extremism vs left of centre
    where socialism is a dirty word
    although trump lost in 2020
    there are still 75m right wing racist populist fuck wits

10. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 5:09 AM

Lack of effective communication

Before I get into what I want to get into, there is something I want to get off of my chest.
    On hearing that fellow columnist Michelle Russell has received threatening messages from some person claiming to speak in defense of Barbados, I feel that it is important that the Government of Barbados and all of us as Barbadians come out and make a strong statement that this is not who we are.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

That is exactly who we are.

Nobody isn’t going to do or say a thing.

Here is what the lady needs to do, been there done that too.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Norwich_Pharmacal_order

11. … and she is a lawyer too so should have no problem doing it.

12. The New World Order
    is same New World shit
    of Anglo American prejudice

A global culture that Barbados aspires to
    should embrace East and West
    accommodating people of colour
    ignoring propaganda by those of no colour

13. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 5:11 AM

Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure laid in Parliament

Article by Barbados Today
    Published on
    February 19, 2022

What a waste of time by an unconstitutional farce of a Government … even worser than the last time.

14. When any one tries to explain the word ” mindfulness ” one can expect out of one word many interpretations
    Factored and pushed by many other generational think tanks made up by those before the word and after the word was used as coded language

15. “When any one tries to explain the word ” mindfulness ” one can expect out of one word many interpretations
    Factored and pushed by many other generational think tanks made up by those before the word and after the word was used as coded language”

There is no reasoning with the stupid and stubborn fuck ’em blank ’em as they cannot teach you anything

R.I.P. Thích Nhất Hạnh
    Born: 11 October 1926, Hue, Vietnam
    Died: 22 January 2022, Từ Hiếu Pagoda, Hue, Vietnam
    Thích Nhất Hạnh was a Vietnamese Thiền Buddhist monk, peace activist, prolific author, poet, teacher, and founder of the Plum Village Tradition
    https://socialwork.buffalo.edu/content/dam/socialwork/home/self-care-kit/exercises/meditation-poem.pdf

Buddhism preceded Christianity and came 400 years before Christ
    Jesus learned it’s principles of meditation yoga ahimsa (non violence) and becoming one with God and God’s messenger

#ThichNhatHanh #PlumVillageApp #mindfulness
    The First 8 Exercises of Mindful Breathing | Thich Nhat Hanh (short teaching video)

“Breathing in, I feel calm. … The last practice is, “Breathing in, I dwell deeply in the present moment. Breathing out, I know this is a wonderful moment. Present moment/wonderful moment.” Nothing is more precious than being in the present moment fully alive and aware.

16. All government critics on BU should apologise once again. Our government acts with complete transparency by presenting the budget to the people. Thank you, Supreme Leader!

The treacherous opposition, on the other hand, as usual, is keeping quiet because they only want bad things for our island.

I hope that our Supreme Leader will soon alter the constitution in such a way that the prominent role of her movement will be codified there once and for all. The people want it that way.

17. I am mindful of a reality that this world has reached a dark place
    The bottom has already feel out and the people minds have become too weakened to fight back any thought of purpose or be concerned on those things of right or wrong
    Would not be surprised if in coming years poligamy would be accepted as the new and engaging norm
    Children being targeted as the conduit to present such mindful thinking in the future
    All suspect with good reason who the powers at top are in control with the agendas of mindfulness

18. Attn: For those who wish to learn about mindful movements only
    ignore this if you wish to wallow in ignorance like a grunting pig
    you may like to smile to relax your face
    Ten Mindful Movements – Plum Village and Thich Nhat Hahn

19. why did slave masters teach organised religion to their property the brainwashed slaves

the answer is so obvious and will free your mind to reverse the curse

20. Ephesians 6:5-8 Paul states, “Slaves, be obedient to your human masters with fear and trembling, in sincerity of heart, as to Christ” which is Paul instructing slaves to obey their master.

Similar statements regarding obedient slaves can be found in Colossians 3:22-24, 1 Timothy 6:1-2, and Titus 2:9-10.

21. “Michelle Russell has received threatening messages from some person claiming to speak in defense of Barbados, I feel that it is important that the Government of Barbados and all of us as Barbadians come out and make a strong statement that this is not who we are.”

This type of disgusting behavior should be vociferously condemned by all Barbadians. They say ‘the pen is mightier than the sword’ but an ignorant person armed with a sword is frightening.

May the Good Lord protect the young lady.

22. @ KiKi
    You are no doubt aware that the lifetime goal of practically every ambitious Bajan is to become a faithful and true SLAVE.
    It is what we are EDUCATED to aspire to. it is what we admire,

Wuh Shiite KiKi!! Our leaders INVITE KNOWN tyrants and SLAVE OWNERS to come here to find ’talented servants’…and to sample our mendicant fare..

We long to become lifelong servants (now called ‘employees’) to a ‘Master’ (now euphemistically called an ‘employer’) and PRIDE ourselves in our obedience, sincerity and dedication to our bond (now called a ‘career’)…in exchange for minimal living stipends (euphemistically called ‘salary/wages’)
    All Paul was saying – was that, since wunna so damn mendicant to CHOOSE to be slaves, wunna could as well be good and honest at it… cause..
    in any case, it MATTERS LITTLE in the really GRAND scheme of life…(as applicable to those who are called the adopted sons of BBE….) or even to those who are just existing for the contemporary pleasures of life…. little as they are.

23. BUSH TEA
    I WANT YOU TO KNOW THAT I POSTED AN ELLEGANT AND ERUDITE EXPOSITION IN RESPONSE TO YOUR QUESTION ABOUT THE IMPORTANT TIMELINE OF HISTORY YESTERDAY AND IT WAS DELETED
    VB

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“This lack of quality talk, effective communication, is killing us. This pseudo-confidence that is really bravado along with this negativity that masquerades as “keeping it real” keeps us stagnant.”

too late, too late shall be the cry…

Bushman…they were warned, i wore myself out until i realized that they were NOT killing me with exhaustion, they had no clue what i went throug, and am sure did not care, even while personally fighting a DEMON SYSTEM….i warned…..not anymore, they are now FULLY on their own….my turn to watch them exhaust themselves..

bonne chance je dis..

25. 555dubstreetFebruary 20, 2022 9:02 AM

Ephesians 6:5-8 Paul states, “Slaves, be obedient to your human masters with fear and trembling, in sincerity of heart, as to Christ” which is Paul instructing slaves to obey their master.
    Xxx
    If u cannot understand its meaning and context as to being a reflection to the times and building of the church and at a time when persecution of the church was rampant
    You should stay far away from pulling such passages
    Rather u should take that passage and do research to understand why Paul made those comments to the church

26. “You are no doubt aware that the lifetime goal of practically every ambitious Bajan is to become a faithful and true SLAVE.
    It is what we are EDUCATED to aspire to. it is what we admire,”

Mr. Bushman
    Roll up a fat head doob spark it up while listening to king tubby meets upsetter the at grassroots of dub or some shaka dubs and revert back when you ready

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TPtlEkefX8

27. “If u cannot understand its meaning and context as to being a reflection to the times and building of the church and at a time when persecution of the church was rampant
    You should stay far away from pulling such passages”

Negro please
    that verse was taught to all slaves as well as to know their place never look in the eye of white master and never speak in their company unless spoken to and you had better watch what you say or you would get licks and lashes on your back and scars like trees

Don’t worry yourself you fail on most global topics anyway as a brainwashed subservient fool and tool

I suspect you are really just a time wasting Bu contentious construct to solicit comments as you seem to post same crap without original thought

12 Year A Slave Bible Scene

28. Also another sound of silence here on BU
    A statement made by the Minister of housing that negates the building of ten thousand houses in five years
    Needles to say a moment of noise which should wrapped in political ignorance and punishable by laughter
    As this clown of a minister draped in red proposed a plan which many variables of nature along with global mishaps can derail the plan
    What a mindless thought
    Is this how the tax payers monies are being dolled out to Ministers whose brains are missing when they open their mouths
    😆 🤣 😂

29. Dubb street

Negro please
    that verse was taught to all slaves as well as to know their place never look in the eye of white master and never speak in their company unless spoken to and you had better watch what you say or you would get licks and lashes on your back and scars like trees
    Xxxx
    Phew I hate noise

30. “Phew I hate noise”

Babylon well partial
    you got to be a marshal
    you got to be a righteous
    you got to be a general
    or end up in a funeral
    achieve only a burial
    you got be conscious
    you got be a good man
    don’t be no bad man
    there is no communication
    between you and I and I
    you’ll never see daylight again
    and your bredrin will never hear of you again
    there is no communication
    if you want some justification
    in babylon

31. @ GP
    Your response is appreciated.
    Perhaps it got lost in spam…. Bushie has had occasions like that.

It is just that the whole place is so INSANE and SO stupidly ridiculous at a GLOBAL level, that it is INCONCEIVABLE that we could possibly survive – even a few more years of such folly.

Can you imaging the CHAOS to be added when the truth of the vaccine episode becomes clear to EVERYONE….
    not IF….but WHEN!

32. DONT WORRY BT
    THAT INFO IS ALL READY AVAILABLE BUSH TEA…….EVEN THOUGH SURPRESSED BY THE MAIN STREAM MEDIA — WHO ARE PAID WELL SO TO DO
    DONALD TRUMP MADE TWO BIG ERRORS IN THIS COVID FIASCO
    1- HE ENDORSED THE USE OF HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE. He ought to have known that this would be opposed vehemently as it indeed was.
    2- HE ADVOCATED THE WARP SPEED DEVELOPMENT OF A VACCINE QUITE CONTRARY TO THE PROTOCOLS FOLLOWED SINCE 1961 FOLLOWING THE THALIDOMIDE FIASCO

IN BOTH CASES HE FELL INTO THE LAP OF THE PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRY
    IF HE WAS IN POWER NOW, HE WOULD BE GETTING MORE LICKS THAN YOUR ADORING DOG GIVES YOU ON YOUR RETURN FROM A LONG VACATION

33. Donald Trump was a troll and retarded regressive racist

black people who are no sell outs hate the cu nt

#blacklivesmatter

34. Poor you. One thing is for sure- we will not see change if political parties in this case listen to partisans like you.

35. Didn’t former MOF Sinckler complain of threats as well?

36. The blogmaster deleted nothing.

37. Comment released from Spam.

38. HE WAS CORRECT TO ENDORSE THE USE OF HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE BECAUSE IT WAS ALREADY BEING EFFICACIOSLY USED BY DOCTORS ALL OVER THE GLOBE INCLUDING DRS IN THE USA, BECAUSE THIS WAS THE TREATMENT ADVOCATED BY HARRISON’S TEXTBOOK OF INTERNAL MEDICINE, WHICH IS A STANDARD TEXT USED UNIVERSALLY FOR TEACHING THE SUBJECT

HE WAS WRONG TO LISTEN TO ADVICE TO GO AGAINST THE ACCEPTED AND REVERRED PROTOCOLS FOR THE BRINGING OF A PHARMACEUTICAL TO MARKET

THIS INFORMATION INCLUDING THE LAW ABOUT THIS IS CLEARLY ENUNCIATED IN KATZUNG’S TEXT OF PHARMACOLOGY
    IT WAS CHAPTER THREE IN THE COPY THAT I USED WHEN I FIRST TAUGHT PHARMACOLOGY TO PHARMACY STUDENTS AT BBC IN 1997 AND TO MEDICAL STUDENTS IN 2004.

IT IS STILL IN THE NEWED EDITION AND ALSO IN HIS REVIEW BOOK ON PHARMACOLOGY

THERE IS NOTHING PARTISAN IN MY PRONOUNCEMENTS
    I AM INTERESTED IN TRUTH AND CORRECT PRACTICES IN MEDICINE AND WHAT THE BIBLE TEACHES ABOUT FAITH AND PRACTICE, EVEN THOUGH AS EVERYONE ALIVE AFFLICTED BY FOUR NONES DISEASE AS CLEARLY SET OUT IN THE BIBLE IN ROMANS CHAPTER THREE.

I DONT PARICULARLY CARE ABOUT DLP BLP REPUBLICANS OR DEMOCRATS .

39. I have gone on record as being in favour of the DLP accepting the offer to recommend two persons to form an “Opposition” presence in the Senate; however, there is a constitutional challenge to the make up of the legislature in Barbados particularly as it applies to the Senate and who is responsible for delivering the offer to the DLP. Since the issue is before the Court isn’t it the responsibility of the DLP to wait until the Court has delivered a ruling before it accepts or rejects the offer?

For the DLP to act on the offer at this stage is akin to diving head first off a pier into murky and shallow waters.

40. “The blogmaster deleted nothing.
    Comment released from Spam.”

the wordpress algorithm is doing it’s job

the web has been making sure Covid conspiracies are killed dead before they spread

but some big people are like the incel alt-right troll boys talking trash
    who are also worried about their erections and sperm counts and ED

41. “For the DLP to act on the offer at this stage is akin to diving head first off a pier into murky and shallow waters.”

not necessarily, accepting an offer from existing 2 main heads of state PM and President, would circumvent the drama and waste in court resources and could be implemented immeadiately

42. I supported accepting the seats as well. GP3 broaden the discussion so that the how and when of the acceptance is now of importance. The DLP is under no time obligation to make life easier for MIa.

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Are you a programmer? /computer scientist? Just asking for my edification.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ TheoGazerts
    For Mia? The whole legislative process is being held up by this power play.. This is not a personal matter.

45. @555K
    the web has been making sure Covid conspiracies are killed dead before they spread
    +++++++++
    You are joking right?
    Ever heard of Parler or Rumble?

46. Tron’s wish list for the constitution of the New Republic:

Since 2018, the people, the leader, the party and the state are one. Therefore, it would be desirable to combine state and party offices. This remedy would also reduce costs and increase efficiency in running our island.

Here is my proposal:

Supreme Leader and Prime Minister = Supreme Leader and President of the Party for life.

Minister of Finance = Treasurer of the Party

Minister of Culture, Education and Sport = National Leader of Mottley Youth (K2)

President of Parliament = Secretary of the Party

Senate = Party Council

p.s. As I interpret it, our Supreme Leader’s promise not to run in the next election was only to say that she will only run again if the people call her. People stand up and call our Supreme Leader!

47. TALKING ABOUT THE BRAIN DREAM IT IS CLEAR TO ME THAT THEO SHOULD HAVE NOT BEEN RELEASED OUTSIDE OF BIM OR EVEN FROM THE LOVELY ENVIRONS OF MAYCOCKS BAY, WHICH IN MY DAYS AT HC IN CAPTAIN HUTT’S HISTORY CLASS WAS MADE, LIKE PIE CORNER, TO BE EXTREMELY FAR AWAY

HAD TO PUT A LICKKLE LASH ON YOU THEO AS AN EX SANDBOX TREE PARTICIPANT
    ENJOY YOUR SUNDAY MEAL WITH FOND MEMORIES OF ALL THOSE DAYS IN THE NORTH AND ALSO FAR AWAY FROM HOME IN BRIDGETOWN……LOL CONTINUE TO BE BLESSED

48. @VC
    *The whole legislative process is being held up by this power play.. This is not a personal matter.”

Great point but
    (1) “For Mia?”
    Mia and BLP in that sentence were used interchangeably
    (2) How far back do you wish to go? This drama (is a result of) when in December Mia had a dream to call the elections.
    (3) I am doubtful if her actions were intended to benefit the DLP. The DLP can act likewise.

We cannot allow people to act in their own interest and then run out with the flag, nationhood and patriotism when the going get tough.

49. Our Barbados Republican Police (BaRePo) has once again found heavy firearms. This time 19 firearms with 262 rounds.

Our National Security Council should be alarmed! It cannot be ruled out that the treacherous opposition is preparing a violent coup after failing to successfully rig the elections.

50. (Quote):
    The Annual Estimates debate usually starts in March. It must be passed into law before All Fools Day, April 1, 2022. The case comes up again on February 25. I rest my case.
    The House of Assembly has serious work to do. The Estimates were on laid on Friday and debate starts tomorrow.
    (Unquote).

What “debate” is that going to be?

How can there be a ‘real’ debate when there is NO Opposition in the HoA to air any alternative view(s) to the unilateral backslapping event?

Who or what would the actors, all dressed in red minus the bishop, be shouting at this time around?

Those held responsible for the lost decade of ‘glorious financial (un)certainties or the new bogeyman called Covid? Or would it be the upcoming IMF (It’s Mia Fault) imposed strictures?

To consider the upcoming verbal fashion parade to be worthy of any politically-competitive value is like attaching pragmatic value to our own Sir John Knox’s lonely call for new elections until some one from another side of the political divide is elected to the House of Assembly to function in the position of the LoO.