Submitted by Observing

Barbados has always had a trend for celebrating a “maximum leader.”

We loved Errol Barrow and his accolades. We revered Grantley Adams and then his son Tom. Now we adore Mia Amor. Over and away we have other examples such as Dominica, Grenada and St. Vincent. But, is this trend healthy for a small island democracy?

A look at how events play out under such leaders show that support is consolidated, popularity is increased and machinations are employed to retain power. Decision making goes unopposed or unfettered. Allegations of infelicities disappear into the night. Opposition voices are stifled, or stifle themselves for lack of a persona equal in stature to he/she who leads from on high.

In Barbados, we have seen this leadership reap benefits in some instances. But we have also seen it bring a sense of arrogance, entitlement and a “I can do what I want” mentality. Tinkering with the constitution is now a norm. Double standards are now more open and blatant. Ignoring the “silent majority” is now also a trend, especially when tourist dollars or the macro economic picture is at play.

Similarly and negatively, the Freundel administration also practiced this, albeit, with foolish and arrogant abandon, disregarding the public it served. They ignored advice, plodded along with errant decisions and took the approach that “I am in charge.” 2018 speaks for itself.

But what really does this “maximum leader” bring?
After Tom died Bree took over and the rest is history.
After Barrow died Sandiford took over and the rest is history
After Thompson died Freundel took over and the rest is still an ongoing history

The maximum leader philosophy, rooted in a personality rather than collective progress can be dangerous. Without organs for continuity it gives a temporary illusion of success followed by a period of decline. Without sufficient controls and dissenting voices it gives rise to the Animal Farm mindset. Without an efficient fourth estate, it leads to a false perception of democracy and inclusion, which is really driven by public relations, marketing, psychological manipulation and popularity mining.

Think about it…
Is it truly a functional democracy when a leader can call an election whenever he or she feels like no matter the circumstances?
Is it truly a functional democracy when information is not free, integrity is not legislated and our elected leaders cannot be held to account other than at the ballot box?
Is it truly a democracy when those who control government, also fully control every aspect that regulates oversight and control of that government?
Is it truly a democracy when two-thirds of an electorate stay home leading to a 30-0?

A good democracy demands that government, civil society, labour and capital work together for the good of the people. Recent events have shown that at least three of these organs work together for the good of politics. The partisan divide, the whispers on the street and the frustration and despondency of many are the inevitable result.

We have always asked in this space, will the real leaders please stand up?
If ever there was a time for them, it is now.

318 responses to “Maximum Leaders, Absolute Power and Democracy”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    “our Supreme Leader has left behind all DLP magnates except her mentor Barrow”
    You are changing gears on the fly?
    After wishing his statue to be removed, it seems you have been ‘swayed’ to view him in a different light.
    You have finally seen ‘the light’ and how using a group of individual forces, but seemingly BLP allied today, it will be shown that all Barbadians support the Supreme Leader.

2. @ Tron

Perhaps you could write a Bajan version of the British comedy, ‘Yes,Prime Minister, name it, ‘Yes, Supreme Leader’ and give it to the ‘Laff it off’ cast.

3. @ Artax
    In pure political terms a snap election and an election brought on by a successful no confidence motion are, to put it mildly : never spoken of in the same breath.
    What Sandiford called was really a premature election. He had no choice. A snap election is driven purely prime ministerial decision.
    What Sandiford did was standard procedure under or system of government. It was not a snap election
    Under the West Minister style of government they are not considered the same.
    Peace

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    smiling to see you in perpetual firing mode, you make an AK look slow.
    A lil note from elsewhere….confirming residency is not as easy as it sounds?
    You have the issue of ensuring a voter only casts ONE ballot. Then you have the issue of whether a name on the voter’s list actually qualifies, to cast even a single ballot.
    It is nuff nuff wuk. Especially when all the “paperwork” appears in order.

5. William Skinner February 1, 2022 12:24 PM

Point taken.

6. Crystal Drakes and Andrew Mallalieu new independent senators of 7 appointment by President.

7. Critical Analyzer Avatar

John February 1, 2022 10:54 AM

Critical AnalyzerFebruary 1, 2022 10:30 AM

There is nothing stopping an election from being called if a government collapses due to a no confidence motions or other similar situation but this PM being the one to call elections must stop.

What happens if there is no Parliament to prorogue and no Government to call elections because the current ones have produced the same farcical result, 30 – 0, as last time?

Who calls new elections??

That duty falls to the president if the government collapses or otherwise cannot continue.

8. Redguard,

We are not expecting ALL black girls to rise to the top of industry.

We are aiming for MORE black girls and even black boys to so rise. And to never give up on their dreams. Having no hope or belief leads to block culture.

I could name you quite a few young black ladies who have started businesses in recent times. They no longer care to work for Massa and they don’t.

Your negativity will have absolutely no effect on them. Rihanna’s example will.

And again, back to the topic.

9. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Glad to see Crystal Drakes back there. Wish Caswell was there too but he too danger and will likely bite the hand feeding him.

On the matter of the opposition seats, I say leave the two seats vacant.There is no opposition leader to recommend two persons so the two senate seats should be left vacant until some MP decides to break with the BLP and go sit on the opposition. It is likely to happen in another 2 or 3 years.

10. @Donna
    That citizens counteraction seems long in coming!

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Thought the taxpayers were the ones paying Caswell….to take care of their best interests…AND HE DID….

…shite politicians gotta beg people for votes to even make it into the parliament…or BUY VOTES….but those who enable and condone them in their dangerous corrupt behaviors, act like they are the ones put themselves there…that’s why they will ALWAYS BE CORRUPT…

no one wants to hold them accountable but continue attributing powers to them that in reality they SHOULD NOT have…slimy, backwater, banana republic politics…

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And he is still looking after the nurse’s best interest…and he is right to say less…am sure he has enemies he don’t even know he has..and should act accordingly..

“General secretary of Unity Workers’ Union (UWU), Caswell Franklyn, says a major development is on the horizon in the ongoing nurses’ strike.”

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    I was wondering exactly who, or what, is Massa?
    The central GoB or one its numerous agencies, SOE or other appointees. Is it Sagicor or Massy or similar? Is it the citizenship of the majority owner? Does an employer need X employees to be considered a ‘Massa’?

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

numbers….approaching 11,000…there is a question…who is going to pay them sick leave…10,570 in home isolation…

that is the big brain snap election scam…BACK FIRING……

15. @CA

You need the two ‘opposition’ seats to address PAC issues in the absence of a Loo?

16. Steuspe

17. Northern,

Massa is anyone who uses and abuses for his ends only.

Observing,

Hopefully we don’t have to wait much longer. I am ready when you are. Ready to follow the leader.

18. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David February 1, 2022 1:44 PM

PAC is a joke. Name one thing the PAC raised that went anywhere. Bare tokenism. No need for opposition senators if there is no opposition leader and we can do without the theatrics. Add more staff to the auditor general office and that will be better than the PAC.

Multiple outlets for airing opposing viewpoints capable reach more people than parliament are available. We the public needs to be the opposition and make our voices heard.

19. Critical,

But does the Auditor General’s office report not go to the PAC for action?

20. @Redguard February 1, 2022 12:04 PM “I am stating what the numbers say, don’t get emotional and bring a disingenuous argument and try to make this personal.”

Why do you feel that I am being emotional, personal or disingenuous. I had a boss once who told me “you are the coldest person that I have ever met.” I don’t do emotional. I ALWAYS do reasonable.

All of my children are hard backed, well educated, hard working professionals, as were my siblings, and our parents before we all happily retired. So “no” this is not personal.

I say again that ALL children need and deserve the loving support of both their parents. If every black man gave his children the physical, emotional, spiritual and financial care which EVERY HUMAN child deserves ALL societies would be significantly better places. I don’t excuse those who fail their children, I don’t excuse women, men, black people, white people, Bajans foreigners, believers nor unbelievers. Every human child deserves the support of both of its parents.

As for Rihanna, you can point out to teenagers black and white, female and male, Bajan and foreign that Rihanna has been in full time paid work for the past 18 years, I myself was in full time paid work for 11 years before I let anybody procreate with me.

21. @Redguard February 1, 2022 12:04 PM

As for my mother who became a mother when barely out of her teens. It was the 1930’s and she was actually 21 and had been in full time work for 8 years by then and our father had been in full time work for 12 years. The sugar industry in Barbados paid very, very poorly then, but note that in spite of that they had still managed to put their earnings together in order to purchase their own little house. That same house, much improved upon by my father’s own hands has recently contributed significantly to the professional education of their youngest grandchild.

This is the good advice that we can give to all of our sons and daughters. Work for a few years first, put your dollars and put pennies together before you take the step into parenthood as parenthood is a long, long journey.

22. @CA

It maybe a joke to results oriented and civic minded citizens BUT it is regarded as an important working committee of parliament. The objective should be to make sure it works. It is one of the checks and balances mentioned in a democracy.

23. BU rabbit hole. I prefer reality.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

According to Dr. Marshall of SALISES, there is an even bigger problem…

he gives good food for thought.

25. @NorthernObserver February 1, 2022 12:26 PM “@SS smiling to see you in perpetual firing mode, you make an AK look slow.”

No firing, No AK’s. I love the boys of BU. I wish them good health, happiness, long life, and healthy happy and beautiful grandchildren.

P.S. And if they can still manage a few “percolations” that too.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

I don’t know the body. I saw the name appear on a Covid related “team”, and know he is the CEO of the authors of the original Red Book (real estate).

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Massa is anyone who uses and abuses for his ends only”
    I have taken that to mean “their ends only”.
    Still very broad, and open to multiple interpretations.
    Like Bushie’s BBE, I’ll leave it there. Thanks.

28. “I could name you quite a few young black ladies who have started businesses in recent times. They no longer care to work for Massa and they don’t.

Your negativity will have absolutely no effect on them. Rihanna’s example will.”

C’mon Cher (Do you believe)
    Once again an example of using anecdotes and trying to apply it generally. Pointing out facts is not negativity. This is why this country is where it is, ignoring the facts and believing in personalities.

This goes back to the topic. We refuse to accept the facts and chose to believe leaders.

What major developmental projects have been completed in Barbados in the past 20 years. ABC expansion? Infrastructural projects are the best indicator of where a country is going NOT who its leader is or its celebrities. This is a fact !!!!! Rihanna spending what equates to pennies to her on an outdated oncology department will not change the fact that the QEH has been underfunded and has not been prioritised by successive governments. Mia Mottley bullying everyone and illegally using the power of the government to disenfranchise Ms. Ram to get a Hyatt built will not bring billionaires to invest in Barbados but it will provide more waitress and maid jobs for those little black girls who want to be Rihanna.

But who knows what is possible if we simply ignore facts, stop being negative and believe

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“BU rabbit hole. I prefer reality.”

you upgraded to reality? stop pulling people’s legs…i gotta see it to believe it..

30. DavidFebruary 1, 2022 12:36 PM

Crystal Drakes and Andrew Mallalieu new independent senators of 7 appointment by President.

Still can’t get the 21 needed to constitute the senate.!!

31. ArtaxFebruary 1, 2022 11:47 AM

John February 1, 2022 11:18 AM

The DLP should be electing a leader by then!!

They said April, right?

The BLP may very well have been out thought!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, are you trying to convince the forum that the DLP decided to ‘put plans in place’ to elect the party’s new president in April, because they had prior knowledge of the ‘snap elections,’ anticipated the BLP would’ve won all 30 seats, resulting in Verla resigning as a result, and all the other scenarios you’ve been repeating on BU, ad nauseam, ad infinitum?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Nope.

When presented with a lemon the DLP appears to be making lemonade!!

With no seats, they are not obliged to do one thing, just sit down and squeeze Ms. Mockley’s lemons.

The President could as well come to me or you to anoint the two opposition senators.

The President has to constitute the senate by appointing all 21 senators ASAP after the elections.

Two weeks on and no sign that she is going to be able to fulfil her constitutional duties.

Thirty nine days (about) since Parliament was prorogued and the clock is ticking.

I suspect the 90 days will come close to elapsing before she has no choice but to issue the second writ for elections.

She better not wait till the last moment.

A third 30 – 0 would be disastrous for the BLP.

All the DLP needs to do to screw things up for the BLP is to bring out Froon to pontificate on his glorious 10 years.

Froon may be the secret weapon the BLP never saw coming.

Proportional representation has to be on the table for the DLP to hold back Froon!!

The problem for the BLP and Ms. Mockley is if new elections are called, then the unconstitutionality of the last mock GOB will be exposed.

The best thing for her and her erstwhile cabinet colleagues to do is resign in shame and let the GG/President call new elections.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

it’s clear they only want bobble head people to nod in agreement at everything, no opposition…

.empty shells forbidden from thinking freely for themselves..

.imagine that in the 21st century…i would be ashamed…….that is not a government…..

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John…she is part of it, suits her purpose..they will find a way to make it work…

34. @John “With no seats, they are not obliged to do one thing, just sit down and squeeze Ms. Mockley’s lemons.”

It is so very easy to squeeze testicles. They just hang out there, so sweet, so vulnerable.

Not so easy to squeeze ovaries.

35. @Redguard

Agreeing with you here. There is a saying the value system of a person or in this case a government can be measured by how/what the money is spent. Similar to the saying- yee will know them by their fruits.

36. They will probably constitute the parliament and amend the Constitution to allow for provisioning of the other senators. The president moved from being a judge to president. She is not an ignorant person.

37. DavidFebruary 1, 2022 3:34 PM

They will probably constitute the parliament and amend the Constitution to allow for provisioning of the other senators. The president moved from being a judge to president. She is not an ignorant person.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Can’t do dat with no opposition and a leader of the opposition.

The Constitution envisages a Parliamentary Democracy which must have an opposition.

They either have to fabricate an opposition or go back to the polls.

Didn’t you learn anything form the Reverent Joe debacle?

You don’t remember Reverent Joe appointed himself as the Leader of the Opposition and then informed the GG that his choices for the two opposition senators were Caswell and Crystal Drakes?

If even Reverent Joe knew there had to be a leader of the opposition there is no way President don’t know that either.

She cannot appoint the 2 opposition senators and constitute a senate until the leader of the opposition tells her who they are!!

38. So you cannot get a Parliament without a Senate!!

All you can get is a House of Assembly with all of its members elected and no opposition!!

This thing is as simple now as it was in 2018.

39. 51 days and counting to the next polls!!

40. The president can do as her discretion allows.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“She cannot appoint the 2 opposition senators and constitute a senate until the leader of the opposition tells her who they are!!”

lol…lawd..

well the constitution does not recognize political parties, and neither do i, but it does recognize a leader of the opposition..

42. @ John February 1, 2022 3:01 PM
    (Unquote).

How come then your Ms Mockley can announce, so early, a president and his deputy for that same Senate?

Isn’t that in total defiance of the same Constitution which is being turned into a ‘dry’ bone of contention between the Tweedle Bees and the Twiddling Dems?

Under the existing copycat system of Westminster governance how can there be any official Opposition in Parliament without a Leader in the HoA unless the President fills the existing breach in whichever format so decided in accordance with the no-existent rules of the fast ripening (new) banana republic?

But what can we expect from the monkey-made pappy-show when a recently deceased former PM tried to sell the present PM, like a common slave, under the same imaginary table of division in Parliament to a man now held in contempt and totally responsible for the current comatose DLP.

Why not return to Parliament both Lord Fumble and his undermining sidekick Sir Sinkliar to the Upper House to serve as the Excellency’s Royal Loyal Opposition?

If the country is serious about having a real voice of the people to function as a genuine Opposition in Parliament why not re-appoint Caswell Frankly; as his track record can verify?

43. @Miller

If greedy wait hot will cool?

44. MillerFebruary 1, 2022 4:40 PM

@ John February 1, 2022 3:01 PM
    (Unquote).

How come then your Ms Mockley can announce, so early, a president and his deputy for that same Senate?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Theatricks!!

If you can read read what the constitution says.

45. If the country is serious about having a real voice of the people to function as a genuine Opposition in Parliament why not re-appoint Caswell Frankly; as his track record can verify?

Why don’t you speak with the Leader of the opposition and make the suggestion?

46. Redguard,

All I can say is – poor you!

I have numerous local products I did not have a few years ago.

Call it anecdotal if you want and continue to be miserable. But you could try reading the Easy Magazine on Sunday and see what’s happening.

I am not looking to government to save us. I have seen the change in mindset in the young. They will save themselves.

A few years back it was all about finding a job. Not so anymore!

Poor you!

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    A pappy show indeed. The result of a PM, who made it clear that all “ big works” must go through “me”, completely forgetting that the country has a constitution.
    There is a vast difference between a politician and a statesman. This is what a statesman or stateswoman would have done:
    After Atherley had solved the problem, realised that it could happen again. Use the then two third majority, to amend the Constitution. Within that amendment, it would have been clearly stated that in the event of any government winning all the seats, the party with the second highest number of seats, will be allowed to appoint an opposition leader in the Lower House and two senators on the Upper house.
    But, when you have followers , who are convinced that the country should be always put second to narrow political/ party interest, this is the type of BS that happens.
    Mottley had three years to address this kind of thing , but she wanted Centre stage to pretend that she can further embarrass her opponents by offering them a little something , in order to silence those , who think she is a despot. The falsely constructed power play , designed as magnanimity back fired in her face.
    #2 A statesman or stateswoman, knowing that COVID could be around for a long time, should have had quiet meetings with the ECB and instruct them that it was necessary to look at the needed election procedures in the event that an election is called during the pandemic.
    She did not have to tell them that she was even planning to have a snap election but at least they would have started some planning.
    However, politics again took Centre stage. It should be obvious to anybody that the CADRES poll indicated that the emerging swing against the government would have increased if tough measures had to be taken. Mottley perhaps had access to this information and realised that it was important, to have the elections without going the risk of a full term.
    This is why the victory appears to be pyrrhic. Imagine even the ECB workers did not know when or where to vote, as publicly stated by the chairman of the ECB.
    What a shame that one of the few state agencies ,with an impeccable record , was forced into this situation , just because a poll indicated , that a government had lost a little popularity.
    Strange things happen when they are hatched in iniquity.

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

constitutional CRISIS..