Submitted by Observing

Every five years we are treated to pretty magazines called manifestos.
Even the most naïve among us must by now realise that these are the oldest marketing gimmicks on the block.. Reviews of previous years show that a manifesto is simply a comfort to a fool, aimed at giving “general” ideas but never being binding and always able to be ignored at whim and fancy.

BLP 2022 Manifesto
BLP Promises Kept 2018 to 2021

https://dlpbds.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/DLP-Manifesto2022Online.pdf

The DLP has yet to launch its manifesto but, if 2018 is anything to go by it should be a hodge podge of popular promises with little to no specifics on how to get them done.

The BLP launched its manifesto yesterday and as expected it’s lots of pages of pretty charts and pictures, repeated and unfulfilled promises from 2018 and a list of items that any GOOD GOVERNMENT should have already implemented or started to implement without the need for an election.

As for their “core values of transformation” do we really believe after the experiences of the last 3 1/2 years that this government will

1. believe in people centered leadership rather than “top down supreme leader leadership”?
  2. deliver for all instead of a select few?
  3. encourage active citizenship rather than stifling voices and condemning opposing ones?
  4. encourage Bajan ownership rather than a continuation of the capital class?
  5. truly drive innovation rather than constantly tossing out buzz words and consultancies for party faithful with minimal results?

Give me a break. We’ve been here before.

So where does that leave us? Between the devil and the deep blue sea.

Platforms will be set up, spot meetings will be held, the usual diatribe will be tossed at us but then what? It is already almost certain that turnout will be low due to Covid patients and concerns. Voter apathy and frustration was already at an all time high. Now we have to endure pages on pages of promises that make no immediate difference to us, probably won’t be implemented and definitely given at too short a notice (1 1/2 weeks) for us to properly distill them and their impact. Furthermore, looking back at a 2018 manifesto shows me that MANY promises were NOT kept.
Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me……..

So, the choice of us “independent voters” on polling day will have to be made otherwise, based on other conditions, focused on our own circumstances and constituency realities.

To put faith in scorecards, promises kept and catch phrases is a waste of time. Just like how these manifestos are a waste of paper and computer storage space.

January 19, 2022 should be interesting .

109 responses to “A Waste of Paper”

1. @Observing

This is the start of a blogpost the blogmaster had in draft and it felt like deja vu to continue with it.

Manifestos

Barbadians can expect the two main political parties (DLP and BLP) to publicize respective manifestos this weekend. Some of us are hopeful promises contained in the documents will be the start of reconstructing the social and economic landscapes of Barbados to ensure residents will be able to carve out a satisfactory standard of living.

The mention of manifesto reminds us of a robust debate that occurred during the previous administration regarding the usefulness of a manifesto. The question – is a manifesto a social contract citizens should legitimately hold political parties accountable?

The volatile nature of governing a small island developing state should not excuse the need to formulate a relevant strategic plan to sensibly anchor decision making in civil society. The adage if you do not plan, you plan to fail come to mind. Having determine the best strategy and plans, it comes down to efficient execution…

2. @David
    When good people and good minds with good intentions come together only good can result.

Let’s see where the online village debate on this thread will go.

Keep trodding on my brother. I suspect January 19 will lead to a tipping point long in coming one way or the other.

Just observing

3. I wonder how many others on this blog and beyond are of the same opinion as the two examples above? I know I am. There is absolutely no intention on my part to waste time reading any of the manifestos, attending any spot meeting or wasting time and electricity tuning in to online meetings. What’s the point? Listening to any of the beggers today, who will morph into The Right Most Honorable tomorrow, one wonders if they (government) isn’t ashamed to make promises of things to come when nothing has been delivered after three and a half years. And those seeking to be reelected after nearly fifteen years in office and having done diddly squat besides ruining this country, promising how they will rebuild Barbados? You destroyed it, you fools! Barbados is between two hard rocks and two hard places when it comes to choices.

At this point, all we can do is hope that a shock of gigantic proportions is delivered to the ruling party and its leader, and that it will reverberate through the halls of power making them realize that we have had enough of their lying promises.

Let me be straight, I do not and will not want the DLP to manage this countries economy for a long time. They have proven incapable of doing so on repeated occasions but I am damned annoyed that I have no choice that to vote for the other. Apparently, being made a minister make you a jackass that believes it is all powerful and knows everything.

If I vote, and that’s a big IF, I will do so with great reluctance.

4. Ditto.

5. I stopped reading at this sentence and died with laughter…
    “The DLP has yet to launch its manifesto but, if 2018 is anything to go by it should be a hodge-podge of popular promises with little to no specifics on how to get them done.”

Here the author provided a link to the BLP 2022 manifesto and instead of comparing it to that of 2018 and telling us of the BLP’s old promises, new promises and promises that were not kept he fired off a shot at a yet non-existent target the DLP Manifesto.

You cannot make this stuff-up. I have little time for fantasies. Let me know if it get better in later sections

6. If I succeed to win in power I will eliminate the letters, A,C,G,P from the English Alphabet

7. The blogmaster inserted the link in the submission by Observing.

8. @Observing
    For the record, I enjoy your many fine contributions.
    Think you hit a raw nerve because the link did not work for me.

9. The link is working fine for the blogmaster. What about others?

10. The liberal manifesto is a clear improvement on the old wish lists, which personally reminded me of the petitions of slaves to their white masters.

Our honourable government leaves everything vague and makes no substantial promises. This is good because the IMF is the de facto Minister of Finance. After native men have proven many times since 1966 that they are incapable of managing such simple things as finance due to their lacking intellect, it is now left to a financially experienced smart woman to set the record straight.

To do this, we must finally free the naïve, financially inexperienced, childish masses from their mental dependence on the welfare state, just as we did from personal slavery in 1834. This can only be done with honesty, decency and hard work, as our Supreme Leader exemplifies to us all every day.

11. Has the link been checked for Viruses

12. @Observing
    Apologies
    —-x—
    Page 28 of the document seem to be a snapshot. I tried to copy the text there on “justice”, but could not.

13. There is nothing wrong with the parties promising or outlining their visions/strategies. The issue is the heavy apathy which has developed between citizens and politicians because of mediocre performance – over promising and underdelivering.

14. @Theo
    Thanks!
    When the DLP releases theirs I will be in their skin too!!! But for now just going based on history. lol.

The manifestos make for good “entertainment” but as was stated, by now we should know better.

The questions is, when will we “regular people” will hold ANY government to account for any of it’s lies, hypocrisy, propaganda, BS or failed promises. That is the bigger issue at stake here regarding governance and elevating the will of the people to the proper governing of the people.

Just observing

15. The link is OK, people experiencing issues may be due to older versions of browsers etc.

The manifesto seems to be a 10 year plan

although there is some talk of infrastructure projects there should be more development emphasised in long term plans

16. @555 – A ten year plan? How about a 3 1/2 year plan?

17. “A ten year plan? How about a 3 1/2 year plan?”

3.5 years is the springboard for 10 more years

I can see nothing about the dark side, like you will have to sacrifice your first born child to Satan

18. I don’t see any point in DLP publishing a manifesto and they would be better of winging it, sometimes it is wiser not to say anything

19. According to the Manifesto (Shamifesto) for the non -believers, the reasons that the Election was called in 2022 is as follows
    1) Climate crisis sargassum seaweed; increase in violent storms etc.
    2) Climate induced degradation of nutrients in the soil?
    3) Economic crisis
    4) Ageing population crisis
    5) Global supply crisis
    6) Threat to public safety- Guns /Digital crime
    7) Health crisis- high incidence of NCD’s etc.

Just tried to give the bullet points, missing is any mention of the “divided” country but it seems like whoever wrote this piece was in a “mek um up as he/she went along” mood, I can’t get over “Climate induced degradation of nutrients in the soil”. Make of it what you will but as the people say “it is what it is”

20. What about integrity legislation which failed last session and was promised it would be placed high on the next session agenda?

21. What about integrity legislation

This is should be a permanent ongoing objective and way of life integral in the underwritten foundation of any new constitution and not a political fashion soundbite

22. “missing is any mention of the “divided” country”

should that be in a party manifesto

23. Showing innovation in developing the Barbados Welcome Stamp to make up for the 90% loss of tourism arrivals.

24. It would have been a constructive use of the national awards program to recognize Peter Lawrence Thompson. It could have been used as an opportunity to message the public good ideas would be recognized by the government. Instead of the usual political duppies.

25. The environment as one being lauded for the voice of small islands dealing with climate change
    There is nothing at home which can be a testimony as an example corresponding with her words stated at the UN

26. @ David January 9, 2022 1:33 PM
    It would have been a constructive use of the national awards program to recognize Peter Lawrence Thompson. (Unquote).

Well said!

If that ‘P of S’ in the MoH could be so handsomely recognized as a national treasure through her pivotal role in Mal(m)oney-gate vaccine scam why not our own PLT whose ‘Welcome Stamp’ proposal was plagiarized by the same base-medal awarding Muttley?

PLT’s imaginatively attractive proposal was geared towards the promotion of Barbados as a preferred destination (especially in Covid-19 times) with the objective of earning of forex, the lifeblood of the anaemic economy.

On the other hand the vaccine job of a heist of taxpayers’ money was destined not only to the squandering of already scarce (and borrowed) forex but, possibly, to the endangerment of the health of the general population.

27. Former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is back!

https://twitter.com/anmargboyce/status/1480227750279467011

28. @David
    It would have been a constructive use of the national awards program to recognize Peter Lawrence Thompson.
    ++++++++++++
    The Gov’t didn’t even acknowledge him as being the brains behind the innovative idea, yuh can’t expect them to recognize him by giving him a national award.

29. 1st World Vs. 3rd World
    Developing countries should be on track for faster development and bigger growth,
    but global pandemics and recessions hit developing countries economies much worse.

30. Peter does not want or expect recognition and is just grateful his idea was picked up to benefit the nation

31. Y’all are too funny!

32. @enuff

You are following what young people commenting on social media platforms?

33. @ Dub street January 9, 2022 2:11 PM
    Peter does not want or expect recognition and is just grateful his idea was picked up to benefit the nation (Unquote).

Neither should the P of S in the MoH for doing the job (of undermining her own boss) for which she is handsomely rewarded with a fair-weather promise of receiving a large gratuity at the end of her working life even if it will be settled in Mickey mouse encashable for J for Junk series bonds.

34. David
    The government has put out 2 documents, BU intelligentsia chooses to rubbish one while ignoring the other. Then you talk about voter apathy? This is why so many clowns have just contributed $250 to the treasury. This is why many on BU gang actually thought GPII was leadership material. This is why the former senator was “Personality of the Year 2021”, You get up good.

35. @enuff

For the blogmaster the issue is not about the BLO winning or what is contained in the second document. It is the underlying concerns fueling apathy with the electorate.

36. That said the blogmaster updated the promises kept document to the blog for fairness.

37. @ Enuff January 9, 2022 5:22 PM

“Enuff”, ma boi, what is contained in those two docs is worth the same thing contained in that Big Red Bag of May 2018 and which not even the brown-stained Paddy is prepared to take a shot at in order to reveal its contents.

Why not let Bajans know what are those hard and serious decisions which must be made post January 2022?

Why not let the Verla crowd do the things which should have been undertaken since January 2014?

Why not put those ‘black or white’ plans in the same red manifesto (even if as ‘oral’ addenda) for the voters to weigh in balance before committing themselves to a political life sentence of hard, hard labour?

38. @David
    I am getting a 404 error on the promises kept document

39. @Sargeant

You clicked on the folder icon or the hyperlinked text?

40. @ David the link is not working for me either.

41. Thanks Hants

42. @Hants

Could be you guys are using old browsers. Updated text links for those running old software LOL

43. Two American Scientists did a study on the Sargassum seaweed in the Atlantic ocean and found that the nitrates levels in the ocean were very high. They determined that the high nitrate levels came from the dumping of raw sewage into the ocean from South American and Caribbean countries. We happen to be one of those countries as our south coast sewage is now dumped off Worthing beach. So when we are making glorious speeches about climate change on the world stage.Sargassum sea weed is going to be our nightmare for years to come as we are contributing to its rapid growth with the adding of nitrates to the water.

44. The manifesto is a huge disconnect between what the BLP states as the problems and what they are offering as solutions in the Drivers of National Transformation. It is not making sense. Of note I did not see anything about the people’s participation in determining the Constitution in the new Republic. Perhaps I missed it.

45. There is this strange sentence a bout facilitating new ownership in the section that speaks about government removing its support for the sugar industry. I wonder if the intent is to force the sugar farmers to sell their lands to the foreign medical marijuana investors. If this is the case, government has just killed the sugar industry and any potential for the development of food agriculture.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

But @David, why u need to provide links for these savvy netziens ???

The BLP has a website with all that and more fah sure, not so!

If I didn’t know better I would think that you encouraging them in “apathy with the electorate.”🤣

So with that broadside I can segue to my key point of electorate apathy!

I know you lament that often and we all cry that ‘Bajans like it so’ but for all practical purposes a resounding 0-30 result can’t be considered apathy of the voting public!

Nor can the result that only returned Owen, David and Henry as BLP MPs.

Just saying that Bajans generally play the cards in hand ; some hands are winners and some just aren’t

We are not apathetic … we simply don’t have the hand required to beat this masterful dealer … So we have to fold and try again next game!

BTW, I came across this statement recently: “I now agree with a comment that was made by a member of the CBC staff to me recently. He said: “I prefer to err on the side of the BLP, since I have always found that the Dems are less vindictive.”

Is that true under MAM (if it ever was)!

47. @ David,

links working. thanks. Will read after the election lol

48. I have finished reading the Manifesto. It is riddled with half truths. It is not so much what it says but what it leaves out in critical areas like marijuana

49. @Dee Word

The apathy has more to do with people participation in the democracy. Placing an x on a ballot by less than 70% of eligible vote is one measure.

50. Electoral apathy is ingrained and encouraged, by the general practice of payment for votes that has occurred for years.

That demeaned the process and put the worth of a vote, to a large sector, being monetary only.

Certain candidates court voters with influence who are less than “pillars of the community” in the traditional sense, although have influence in their local area through other activities.

And now people expect people to vote based on ethical grounds?

Cognitive dissonance much?