A short three years ago in 2018 then Prime Minister Freundel Stuart remained in office for 90 days beyond the five year anniversary of the first sitting of parliament permitted under the Barbados Constitution. Three years later incumbent Prime Minister Mia Mottley has called a snap general election eighteen months before it is constitutionally due. 

The early ring of the bell has caused tongues to wag with rumours and rumours of rumours rolling off the social media conveyor belt. The blogmaster reconciled a long time ago that political parties are in business to win general elections and this is the single consideration to reflect on when evaluating and commenting on political issues.

Every election cycle we hear talk about the need for the enactment of fixed term, campaign financing legislation etc. When the winner is announced on the night of the 19th January there will be further calls campaign financing laws and amendment to the electoral laws etc. To be expected, nothing will be done to address the issues raised by the politicians who raised them.

This week there were howls of protests from members of the public when it was discovered the voters list was posted online with personal information. The majority of Barbadians were oblivious to the fact the Representation of the People Act was amended in 2020 to make legal what occurred. What it has exposed is the lack of interest the majority of Barbadians have in what is debated in parliament. It should make the debate promised about the Barbados Constitution very interesting.

The blogmaster will resist the usual political punditry at predicting who will win which ‘seat’ on the 19th. Given the current hopeless economic state of affairs in the country, it seems a pointless exercise to expect B or D will make a difference. Both political parties have to bear responsibility for where we are today. Do not expect manna to fall after nearly fifteen years of famine.

The blogmaster and others have blogged many times on governance issues, however, BU dashboard shows these blogs record lower hits than the others. What does it say about our ‘intelligence’ as a people? 

The government you elect is the government you deserve.

Thomas Jefferson

Will average Barbadians be encouraged to seriously debate the merits of imposing fixed term laws to eliminate the opportunity for a prime minister to attempt to manipulate the result of an election? The blogmaster is not optimistic. Stuart tried in 2018 and supporters of the Democratic Labour Party defended the decision. Mottley three years into a five year term has done similarly and Barbados Labour Party are stridently defending the decision. Around and around we go, when it will stop nobody knows.

What will be the issues this time around?

Same old, same old – NTSH

467 responses to “Silly Season Time Again”

1. The naïve masses can vote for whoever they want and as often as they want. Their masters, first and foremost Mister Maloney, never stand for election.

The fact is that the majority society is in decline. While school scholarships almost invariably go to Asians and Europeans and they dominate the local business world, the masses voluntarily allow themselves to be enslaved as civil “servants” (just remember that servant is just another word for slave) and fobbed off with worthless badges of honour on their nipples.

How stupid do you have to be to realise that Barbados is still a plantation where the masses are kept as dumb as possible so that they do not revolt and do not become rich businessmen?

At the end of the year, I just have to take off my fool’s cap and call a spade a spade.

Happy New Year!

2. Nothing to see here is correct!!

Until we wake up and keep noise we will always be taken for a ride.

Will the real leaders please stand up.

3. I will watch some of the meetings just to get a look at the yardfowls. I want to see how many turn up and what gets them excited. Will it be the usual stupid rumour mongering and mudslinging or the promising of things that appeared in the manifesto since Adam was a lad? I want to know where the people’s heads are at.

4. The Pointed Cap with the D stands for Dunce
    As Ds are considered Toxic since 2018 they should rebrand in 2022 as Cs for Coalition of Opposition and relaunch the Ds next time

5. BY MARCH 1ST 2022

INTEGRITY LEGISLATION

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT

6. And you are going to quote a slave master whose statues are being TAKEN DOWN…..not the best example even you want change..

definitely nothing to see here.

7. Tron, Forrest Gump said “Stupid is as stupid does”, meaning that a person should be judged by his actions, not his appearance

8. btw…with all the long backward talk about making publishing people’s information legal, they are not only SCRAMBLING to get the chat box in the cock up they made at electoral and boundaries right but they are also advertising for a systems manager etc, etc…..they fcuked up and everyone knows it…ESPECIALLY ON THE WORLD STAGE…where they love to prance around..

9. not the best example IF you want change..

10. 19
    Days to Go

19 Days of Strategy is not the be all and end all of Politics in Barbados
    But, it will define the Government and Opposition roles for next 5 years

One main area for all stakeholders (including public) will be the due process for the new Constitution or changes required

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David when you say “What it has exposed is the lack of interest the majority of Barbadians have in what is debated in parliament” I can accept that but the fact that our well developed society of active NGOs like BARP, academics who speak on social issues, trade unions and even the talk shows who debate governance missteps all let this legislation slip by is quite disastrous.

As far as I know the nat regis # has always consisted of your birthdate plus more (unless it has since changed) … that was cool back in the 50s and 60s but is absolutely not in this era of identity theft …

In sum, the entire framework of this Act (Acts really) need to be redressed … as literally it is a nonsense that can fuel grave illegal activity.

That an entire Electoral dept with the Chief, the legal officers etc and the cadre of civil servants across various ministries all the way to the PSs have not addressed this and then that our intelligent elected MPs passed the amendments with no consideration to the dangers of the breadth of data exposed to the public is amazing.

The debate on whether a lawyer or IT professional knows best what should or should not be allowed on a voters list makes no sense to me …. the simple fact is that we can protect citizen’s data and yet provide a valid voters list to ensure legitimacy on voting day .. we should NOT be having such a debate in 2022 in the wake of so many painful stories of identify theft.

So let’s place blame where it should be and it surely can’t be on John M Bajan… not this one!

12. The blogmaster will post this only once- if some of you have a problem with the blogmaster’s opinion then there is NTSH. Move on.

Some of us have our opinions to which we are rh entitled. The bligmaster getting tired about how some of you believe there is only your view.

13. “The majority of Barbadians were oblivious to the fact the Representation of the People Act was amended in 2020 to make legal what occurred. What it has exposed is the lack of interest the majority of Barbadians has in what is debated in parliament. It should make the debate promised about the Barbados Constitution very interesting.”

It also exposed that lawmakers are not considering all of the implications of their actions. Hasty laws that needs patching are a feature of this government.

14. @Dee Word

Agreed, Barbadians is meant to be collective.

15. Vacancy Notice

The Electoral Department, Cabinet Office

Manager, Information Systems

Network Administrator

Database Administrator

Application Support Specialist

Everyone is now PLUGGED IN, propoganda DOES NOT WORK ANYMORE…

16. The system we live rely on all actors in civil society advocate on the issues to ensure we create a just society. The people cannot relinquish their role. By being vigilant we are not saying the government is excused from doing the correct thing.

17. Theo…they were too busy from around 2014…ALL OF THEM…trying to take down the blogs, using HACKERS, putting laws in place to arrest people for posting about them, making SHITE LAWS. all backward….for which they had NO CLUE about the consequences…..all round FCUK UPS….,

18. We can actually call this the coup de grace pour les traitres….and all of their own doing, not a fella made them do anything…it’s a very LONG TIME IN COMING….

19. It does not matter which party wins the election as long as they have FREEDOM TO THIEF.

This is what I want.

BY MARCH 1ST 2022

INTEGRITY LEGISLATION

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Another thing @Mr Blogmaster, we differ on this matter that a PM has an opportunity “to attempt to manipulate the result of an election” by prorouging parliament well before the five year term ends.

Why it is ‘manipulation’?

It’s part of the parliamentary process in our style of governance and EVERYONE knows that on day one…. it’s a tactical maneuver. You are suggesting that a PM can use the action to harm or otherwise gain an unfair advantage over rivals… how so!

The opposition in this case were incompetent … the START For EVERY election is the END of the one just past…. NONE of them seemed to grasp that simple fact….

The episode to choose Floyd Reifer in St.George clearly showed their level of incompetence in getting and being prepared… why is it a manipulation to expose that incompetence.

A fixed term parlimentary session has strong merits undoubtedly but there is no ‘manipulation’ in calling a snap election … it can be disruptive surely and generally favors the incumbent but there are many instances when it definitely was ‘forced’ upon the government and they didn’t benefit!

As long as we are operating within proper legal boundaries I don’t see a fixed term as being supremely better than the current setup.

21. Here is the Bill as it passed readings in the Senate. The blogmaster does not have the time to search the debates in the House to understand what was said about the bill, what we know is that it had to pass in both lower and upper chambers.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/bill_resolution/00f6010ab2c42c465277803ca9f6d193.pdf

22. Obviously in our system the PM is the only person to know the date of an election and will call it to benefit their party’s chances at the poll. This should not be the case in a democracy. All combatants should be on equal turf about when to prepare for the election. Why must the incumbent hold the advantage?

23. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
    African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved

Must congratulate Koochie Koo…Khaleel Kothdiwala….for his scholarship win, could not have been easy in such a mixed up, mixed up toxic environment, i saw the toll it took on one of my grands who also survived it…

also hope he is seeing and learning more about the nasty side of fossilized politics, hopefully the younger generation will make the necessary changes, the older people are useless and going nowhere, don’t let them take another generation with them…

24. “This week there were howls of protests from members of the public when it was discovered the voters list was posted online with personal information”

Howls of protests are from those who do not understand basic concepts of data
    and what information is available in public domain
    electoral roll
    names and addresses
    credit ratings
    company directorships addresses
    criminal records
    bank account numbers (when making payments etc)

25. @Kiki The issue here is that the personal info was formatted in a single downloadable file. One did not have to use search filters or some other tedious activity to collect the info.

26. GP EX SCHOLAR REPORTING FROM MY GROUND Avatar
    GP EX SCHOLAR REPORTING FROM MY GROUND

RE Must congratulate Koochie Koo…Khaleel Kothdiwala….for his scholarship win
    I THOUGHT THAT WINNING A SCHOLARSHIP WAS ANATHEMA ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUND

27. and that is how market information is exchanged
    and built into apps etc

people are just becoming woke to how the world works

28. On Behalf of the blogmaster and BU household we congratulate *Khaleel Kothdiwala*. Well done.

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Again @David, you set the theory but seemingly dismisses the reality.

The PM is the one indeed eho knows the exact date but politics is about representing your constituens CONTINUALLY … there is NO set date for that … it’s day in, day out… that’s reality.

Of course there can be some specific issues that a snap election can create … as simple as a prospective MP scheduling a needed surgery well in line with the considered date only to be whiplashed by a snap call…

I get that as a major concern but again as a political representative you need to be ready ALL the time; you need to be meeting and greeting your constituents continually; fundraising always. You must have ur framework in place and be able to turn in one when needed!

So yes a PM may have the exact day/time frame but that’s a super advantage only if u are.the political type that visits your peeps every five years!

30. “I THOUGHT THAT WINNING A SCHOLARSHIP WAS ANATHEMA ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUND”

you also thought winning elections is from supernal rule above

why hasn’t Khaleel Kothdiwala announced his running

31. @Dee Word

The government has the advantage (in reality) by having access to financial and other resources to promote policies. You must admit it is not a level playing field. Opposition actors cannot mobilize resources or command support to match incumbents.

32. @DpD 7:02
    Excellent response .

The image of a Bajan that I get from various posts is a mixed one. One moment brilliant, the next moment unable to understand anything including budgets, and then having the ability to ‘fix laws’.

It may be true that the public needs to participate and show more interest, but that is no excuse for shoddy law making.

33. Who is making an excuse? The simple point is that the bill was debated and escaped civil society actors without the howls of protest we are seeing today. If the people (collective) cannot be the last resort for being vigilant of our democracy who will it be?

Sometimes the blogmaster has to wonder at the level of comprehension.

34. Congratulations to Koochie Koo! I hope he stays humble. I enjoyed interacting with him.

I guess now everybody would that his CXC results were most likely wrong and should have been protested.

35. So what I’m hearing from this discussion is that in addition to having the unfair advantage of setting the date and conditions of engagement, government has enacted itself the right to harvest all kinds of personal information about its citizens (including soon to be medical and tax information), collate it, put it on a so-called National ID chip card, and at its own discretion release it without fear of prosecution should an individual prove to be disruptive to government’s agenda. Not a bad job if you can get it.

36. Correctio – everyone would understand that

37. Even my corrections need correction.

Oh dear!

38. DLP Data Loss Prevention
    DLP (“Dems”), is an alleged political party in Barbados.
    It was the ruling party from 15 January 2008 to 24 May 2018 but faced an electoral wipeout in the 2018 general election
    They were preparing for a slow build up to 2023 but but have debunked they were not ready when the snap-election was announced.

39. I decided to run in my constituency so I made sure I found a proposer and seconder and went and paid my deposit at the Treasury yesterday in preparation for Monday, nomination day.

I made an appointment for my nomination with the Returning Officer for Midday on Monday, High Noon.

I am running as an independent, no links to any party, first principles.

Here’s what I have to do on Monday at High Noon.

(1) The nomination paper shall be subscribed by two electors as proposer and seconder, and by two other electors as assenting to the nomination. – Representation of the People Act Cap 12

I made a short list of people I know in my constituency to approach to assent to the nomination. I figured I would be putting people on the spot as the fear of victimization in Barbados is very real.

The result was as I predicted, after the first few it was apparent no one was going to come forward to assent. So I stopped trying to find people willing to assent as the last thing I want to do is to put people I know on the spot.

Being the logical being I am, I am now saying to any Registered Voter in my Constituency, Christ Church East Central, that if you are prepared to have me as your representative, meet me, my proposer and seconder at the Milton Lynch School, formerly Water Street Boys School at High Noon on Monday, the more the merrier.

The Representation of the People Act Cap 12 goes on to say:

(2) Where a nomination paper bears the signature of more than the required number of persons as proposing, seconding or assenting to the nomination of a candidate, the signature or signatures (up to the required number) appearing first on the paper in each category shall be taken into account to the exclusion of any other in that category.

If you would like to add your names as proposer or seconder, it seem as though the Act permits you so to do. Plenty of room on the back of the nomination paper.

More and more, I am reminded of an old Western from my youth starring Gary Cooper as Marshall Kane who had a choice of walking away or staying and facing his nemesis, Frank Miller who was due back at High Noon.

This is the 2000 remake but I prefer the old time black and white one with Gary Cooper.

One of the persons I spoke with told me it is better to wait and watch what happens and if voters support alternative candidates then try next time.

But I feel there is no time like the present and maybe if we all wait and watch, there won’t be a next time.

40. DavidDecember 31, 2021 8:28 PM

Who is making an excuse? The simple point is that the bill was debated and escaped civil society actors without the howls of protest we are seeing today. If the people (collective) cannot be the last resort for being vigilant of our democracy who will it be?

Sometimes the blogmaster has to wonder at the level of comprehension.

Gets worser!!!

Download the act and see if you can find the actual changes.

Seems like the old version is still up.

41. Last change on the download I have is 2007!!

42. @John
    Being the logical being I am, I am now saying to any Registered Voter in my Constituency, Christ Church East Central, that if you are prepared to have me as your representative, meet me, my proposer and seconder at the Milton Lynch School, formerly Water Street Boys School
    ++++++++
    Yuh gotta get de name right, it was never “Water Street Boys School”, it was Christ Church Boys School, it just happened to be located in Water Street and some people called the school “Water Street” for obvious reasons.

43. @John

See this link to the final reading of the Bill.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/bills/details/364

44. @John
    Were you being serious at 9:17.
    Why should people fear victimization?

45. Well done Bajan brainiacs.

“Of the scholarship winners, two were from Harrison College – Nathan Chee-A-Tow and Vinati Melwani – while four were from Queen’s College – Megan Best, Meladee Carter, Ella-Jean Evelyn and Khaleel Kothdiwala.

Both Chee-A-Tow and Melwani pursued Pure Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Communication Studies and Caribbean Studies. He was unable to attend the meeting, but she is attending the University of Toronto, studying engineering, with the hope of getting into civil engineering.

Best completed Physics, Pure Mathematics, Chemistry, Caribbean Studies and Communication Studies. She said she was undecided as to which university she would attend and was taking some time off. Carter completed Accounting, Economics, Management of Business, Caribbean Studies and Communication Studies. She is attending Oakwood University in Alabama and is pursuing a Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing.

Evelyn excelled in Pure Mathematics, Economics, Accounting, Caribbean Studies and Communication Studies and is attending the University of Waterloo in Canada. She is enrolled in a Mathematics Honours programme, majoring in Actuarial Science.

Kothdiwala completed Sociology, Law, Economics, Caribbean Studies and Communication Studies. He is enrolled at the Cave Hill campus of the University of the West Indies where he is pursuing a Bachelor’s degree in Law.

Out of the Exhibition winners, 25 attended Harrison College, four went to Queen’s College, one each came from The Lodge School and Christ Church Foundation, and five from the Barbados Community College (BCC).

The single Award of Excellence went to BCC’s Kelly-Ann Skeete, who studied office administration and management.”

46. @Sargeant

The school has always been referred to as Water Street by all of Barbados/even now it has been renamed to Milton Lynch and that hasn’t change.

47. Dead In A Year

48. Congrats to Mr. Khaleel Kothdiwala. It’s always refreshing to have young people excel academically and also engaged in their country’s development.

49. TheOGazertsDecember 31, 2021 9:39 PM

Were you being serious at 9:17.
    Why should people fear victimization?

You call a few people and ask them to assent to your running in their constituency.

Tell us what you find.

So the offer is if you want me, see you at High Noon.

The fearless ones will show, or not!!