A short three years ago in 2018 then Prime Minister Freundel Stuart remained in office for 90 days beyond the five year anniversary of the first sitting of parliament permitted under the Barbados Constitution. Three years later incumbent Prime Minister Mia Mottley has called a snap general election eighteen months before it is constitutionally due. 

The early ring of the bell has caused tongues to wag with rumours and rumours of rumours rolling off the social media conveyor belt. The blogmaster reconciled a long time ago that political parties are in business to win general elections and this is the single consideration to reflect on when evaluating and commenting on political issues.

Every election cycle we hear talk about the need for the enactment of fixed term, campaign financing legislation etc. When the winner is announced on the night of the 19th January there will be further calls campaign financing laws and amendment to the electoral laws etc. To be expected, nothing will be done to address the issues raised by the politicians who raised them.

This week there were howls of protests from members of the public when it was discovered the voters list was posted online with personal information. The majority of Barbadians were oblivious to the fact the Representation of the People Act was amended in 2020 to make legal what occurred. What it has exposed is the lack of interest the majority of Barbadians have in what is debated in parliament. It should make the debate promised about the Barbados Constitution very interesting.

The blogmaster will resist the usual political punditry at predicting who will win which ‘seat’ on the 19th. Given the current hopeless economic state of affairs in the country, it seems a pointless exercise to expect B or D will make a difference. Both political parties have to bear responsibility for where we are today. Do not expect manna to fall after nearly fifteen years of famine.

The blogmaster and others have blogged many times on governance issues, however, BU dashboard shows these blogs record lower hits than the others. What does it say about our ‘intelligence’ as a people? 

The government you elect is the government you deserve.

Thomas Jefferson

Will average Barbadians be encouraged to seriously debate the merits of imposing fixed term laws to eliminate the opportunity for a prime minister to attempt to manipulate the result of an election? The blogmaster is not optimistic. Stuart tried in 2018 and supporters of the Democratic Labour Party defended the decision. Mottley three years into a five year term has done similarly and Barbados Labour Party are stridently defending the decision. Around and around we go, when it will stop nobody knows.

What will be the issues this time around?

Same old, same old – NTSH

467 responses to “Silly Season Time Again”

1. DavidDecember 31, 2021 10:15 PM

@Sargeant

The school has always been referred to as Water Street by all of Barbados/even now it has been renamed to Milton Lynch and that hasn’t change

… and it is called Water Street because there was a small plantation there called Waterland.

… and it was called Waterland because it floods.

2. Watergrove … sorry, but sure I’ve seen or heard Waterland used as well.

WATER GROVE or Lodge Road, Christ Church (From Plum Grove?)
    1854–80 Thomas Drayton (30 in ’54, 29 in ’79, ’80) 23
    To Maynards?

3. @ David December 31, 2021 8:02 PM

Also my congrats to KK, the National Youth Leader of the Mottley Youth!

However, I strongly advise him after his China-critical essay not to travel to the People’s Republic anymore.

4. The process of assenting means atleast 2 people have to come out of the shadows and people in Barbados fear this more than anything else.

Add the proposer and seconder and It is five people who are needed before an individual to run as an independent.

… and their names, like the candidate’s are on the record for all to see.

Which is as it should be.

Everything should be in the open.

5. @David
    The school has always been referred to as Water Street by all of Barbados/even now it has been renamed to Milton Lynch and that hasn’t change
    +++++++
    I don’t know what you mean by “all of Barbados”, it was only referred to as “Water Street” by the locals but maybe times have changed.

BTW I just looked at Cecil Foster’s “No man in the House” and on page 12 there is a reference to “Christ Church Boys” and Foster is a local and one more thing there is a penchant for renaming everything in Barbados someone should let me know why the school was named for Milton Lynch; I know he was a Headmaster but so were many others.

6. @Sargeant

Don’t split hairs, all of Barbados simply means generally referred to as Water Street, it does not mean the assigned name is not recognized. Like you said the school was renamed to recognize an educator when Ronald Jones went on his renaming binge.

https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/feature-renaming-and-naming-of-schools-is-nothing-new

7. Happy New Year to our Supreme Leader of Barbados and Paramount Leader of the Caribbean!

Let’s also in 2022 have our enemies thrown into the slave camp (Pornville Inniss) or suffer a heart attack (like OSA). You have managed to unite the incompatible, namely democracy and autocracy. Even the most powerful world leader Xi is courting you.

You can also be sure of my unbreakable neutrality in 2022. Neutrality means honour! I’d better stop now, because all the Chamagner in the swimming pool is going to my head ….

Remember: one leader, one party, one people …

8. John

You are not really ready for politics with your warped perspectives rightwing prejudices deluded fantasies talking bollocks etc

9. Ending the Vicious Circle of Negative Habits | Dharma Talk by Thich Nhat Hanh, 2004.03.25

10. “However, I strongly advise him after his China-critical essay not to travel to the People’s Republic anymore.
    You have managed to unite the incompatible, namely democracy and autocracy. Even the most powerful world leader Xi is courting you.”

Chinese haters can suck white dicks and swallow it all down

And the tap drips on a Saturday night

Drip Drip Drip Drip Drip Drip

11. If you read Woodville Marshall’s book on place names you will find Water Grove, Water Land and Water Street mentioned in Christ Church as appearing from the 1840’s, 1879 and 1915 respectively.

Water Land is the house at the bottom of Oistins Hill which once was the Rates and Taxes office. Reckoned I had heard the name before.

All are related to the flooding which occurs routinely in what is now known as the Wotton Housing Area. Its outlet is down through what is known as Ashby Land to the sea.

The old Horse Pond by Montrose by the playing field and minimart floods too in heavy rain, blocking the road to Water Street and Foundation School from the times of my Grandfather more than 100 years ago.

Montrose is from the times of the English Civil War after James Graham, 1st Marquess of Montrose which is probably how Graeme Hall got its name.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Graham,_1st_Marquess_of_Montrose

12. John-David BU

John has a right to run and the self serving big head ego of a bjan scholar
    but robust honest truthful discussion proves he is a bum

you cannot censor truth boy

13. Politix is a dirty business
    Trevor Phillips has been awarded a knighthood in new years honours
    but issue is he has become a total sellout Uncle Tom to Murdoch Rightwing and Racist Whites
    so now he is their boy

14. Mia is ruthless
    The poor people of Barbados has been insulted by Mia many times
    The periods between 2018 and 2021 bajans were handed long PR speeches and empty promises
    Not going to get better in 2022 and onward if bajans sallow the kool-aid in big gulps
    Mia already laid out a plan for a one state govt
    More fire in bajans behind

15. Still back there pondering John’s attempt to run. Perhaps, the fear lies in his circle ‘of friends’. If true, duopoly politics is here to stay (unless we become a one-party state in the next five years)

However,I refuse to believe that the yellow in the flag is symbolic of the yellow streak running down our backs.

16. Of course, you were done a favor. Most likely you would lose your deposit, but you should still get a chance to run.

Have a great day all. E

17. Happy New Year to the entire BU family regardless of stripes or season.

18. The poets are out and about.

“YUH TELL WI TO FUHGET

Yuh tell wi tuh fuhget
    The 2018 promises and manifesto
    That’s why wi say you should go

Yuh want wi tuh fuhget
    how yuh plead and beg wi for wi vote
    But after 3 1/2 long years we have nuttin to show
    That’s why we say you should go

And I hope yuh understand how we feel ’bout the 22 ash million, IMF millions, and China millions
    An uh hope yuh know it’s true
    dat we will nevuh fuhgive you
    Because looka looka wha yuh gone and do
    to wi BIM LAND

Yuh want wi to fuhget
    Dat yuh tell wi stan home but bring Haywire an’ mek Corona flow
    And we still couldn’t find Senator Moe
    Thats why we insist that you go

Yuh want wi tuh fuhget
    How yuh use yuh big government pen
    And wipe way di million dollar debt from Four season Hotel…clean so
    So now yuh damn well must go!

Yuh want wi tuh fuhget
    dat yuh uproot di bones of wi people
    an’ desecrate wi flag in yuh media fiasco
    For sure, now yuh damn well must go

Yuh want wi tuh fuhget
    dat yuh did dem wrong tings
    right under wi nose and
    throw wey di Anti-Corruption Bill thru di window
    For sure, now yuh damn well must go
    Tek all 29 and walk thru that RED door
    We aint want to see you no more
    Tek yuh Georgie bundle and run thru that door!!
    Oh yes yuh damn well must go!!!
    Revised & Adapted Anonymously”

19. John just went to make a little donation to the treasury like some of the others

A small donation towards reducing the deficit

20. I’m not into cricket as it seems boring and low energy to me
    but I know the sport is loved here as analogies and metaphors are in abundance
    slow medium fast paced and all that

but the point I would like to make is to point out a TV program coming out which may be of interest as the subject was mentioned on BU about 10 years ago with corruption links on the little island with big somethings

Allen Stanford – The Man Who Bought Cricket. Money laundering, the FBI, drug cartels, Ponzi schemes, extramarital affairs, offshore banks, and of course some cricket.

21. William Skinner Avatar

“After flirtations, and indeed full-on relationships with both of the political parties in Barbados, it is my view that the party political model used by strong men like Errol Barrow and Eric Williams to take us into our nationalist period no longer suit us. Whereas the intentions of Barrow and Williams and that era of politicians were focussed on national nurturing and development for these respective post-colonial societies, I am clear that the current shenanigans are political plays purely undergirded by individual self-interest.”
    Marsha Hinds
    Barbados Today, Friday, 31st., December 2021

PS: Only pure bred political clowns would disagree with the above. With all their flaws, the past leaders of the pre -independence era, stand way above these frauds we now have. The question : Why is our University of the West Indies producing such inferior leaders throughout the region. The other question: What inspires jokers and political quacks to come on BU every day trying to apologise and give comfort to these political racketeers.
    Imagine, while we cannot make an effort to at least get our children back into school safely, we can find time for a general election . As stated above; ” I am clear that the current shenanigans are political plays purely undergirded by individual self-interest.”

PS #2 Please don’t tell me about other countries holding elections. I read/view the same news.

22. Ruthless and wreck less a result which would be seen on Jan 19th 2021 as the Covid numbers continue to increased in record numbers
    The portocols outlined would not to fight Delta Covid 19 and the latest virus
    Three viruses on the loose
    Good luck

23. Happy New Year WS
    ” Please don’t tell me about other countries holding elections. I read/view the same news”

Made me think of a person flinching before the blow is delivered.😃

24. Just listened to the EBC press conference and Chairman Haynes supported the view that the list was published to comply with law and in fact it was posted online since January.

25. re William SkinnerJanuary 1, 2022 10:13 AM
    SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

26. Read this morning’s Nation that Rodney Grant who ran as a D in 2018 against Santia is not running this time, but that he will me campaigning for/with his 2018 “opponent”

This is why I am non-partisan, because Barbados is a funny place. Even the politicians are non-partisan.

Which is why this time I am voting “C”.

27. @Simple Simon

Note also Patrick Tannis who ran against Santia is now running against form APP.

28. @David January 1, 2022 10:36 AM “Just listened to the EBC press conference and Chairman Haynes supported the view that the list was published to comply with law and in fact it was posted online since January.”

Regardless of what the Chairman or the Parliament says or does, it was an idiotic thing to do. I know that the list has always been in the public domain and could be looked at at public libraries and at the offices of the Electoral and Boundaries Commission, but to put the same information online for the WHOLE WORLD to see is a whole different thing. It is just plain STUPID. Because the truth is when it was in a 20 pound bound physical volume in physical locations it was unlikely that someone would sneak it out of the libraries in their pocket. Online, on a thumb drive, and every scamster in the world now has our information, including exactly where I live and such fraudsters now know that we are a bunch of ig’rant beeches.

I wonder if officialdom believes that we all went to school at the standpipe?

29. @Simple Simon

Was surprised by the aggressive position taken. One would have thought the Commission should have received a quiet word from the AG’s office that it is something under review based on public outcry.

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Theo
    Thanks my Comrade. All the best in 2022 to you and family.

31. Well I am done for the day.

When cuhdear has more IT knowledge and internet sense than ministries, minister and commissions..
    Destination – Hell
    Mode – hand basket.
    I dun for the day.

Some are just throwing it on the wall and hoping something stick.

32. Of more interest is the fact that based on the presser this morning persons who are positive for Covid will not be able to vote.

Given the presence of Omicron, the increasing positivity rate, the activity of last night and the anticipated activity over the next 2 weeks, can anyone hazard a guess what will happen if we have 3000+ persons in isolation unable to vote? Or persons who are ill and “choose” not to report it in order to vote?

Just observing

33. @Observing

The blogmaster picked up on that and it gave reason to pause.

It seems the Commision guided by the Covid Unit are treating Covid centres as extensions of the QEH. Therefore since accommodation is not made for patients of the hospital to vote the same thinking has been extended to the coming election.

This is a pandemic, we are operating in an unprecedented time, a different and creative type of thinking is required to allow covid patients to exercise their franchise to vote. Especially those who are mobile, in home isolation etc.

34. @ William Skinner January 1, 2022 10:13 AM

“What inspires jokers and political quacks to come on BU every day trying to apologise and give comfort to these political racketeers.” ???

Cause we like to see that parties, unions and journalists take up our thoughts and terms and use them.

Tron, the First Court Jester of Her Majesty

35. “The other question: What inspires jokers and political quacks to come on BU every day trying to apologise and give comfort to these political racketeers.”

bullies, gangsters and low level Slaves.

“Online, on a thumb drive, and every scamster in the world now has our information, including exactly where I live and such fraudsters now know that we are a bunch of ig’rant beeches.

I wonder if officialdom believes that we all went to school at the standpipe?”

now they got their pretend 1st class AND maliciously reduced second class citizens….EXPOSED EVERYWHERE….cockup artists….people who i have been searching for years, i now know where to find them…wonder what the bar association cabal is saying, now that EVERYONE KNOWS WHERE TO FIND THEM TO0..

36. @David

Absolutely correct. Other territories made provision for persons in quarantine and isolation.

In marginal elections (which they may very well not be, lol) 20 votes here and there can make an entire difference.

Also interesting was Gollop’s position on the matter that it should not be a “done deal.”

Interesting times, pandemic times, silly season times.

37. @Observing

We learned the commission met with political parties yesterday and it seems no deal breaker issues were flagged.

Will the real leaders raise your hands!

38. Yes, everyone knows where to find everyone else, except for the people who never updated their addresses, NEVER registered to vote with electoral and boundaries and they got addresses for them for when they WERE MINORS, ya know, they ones where they went and picked up their information at the registrars office or the licensing authority, or the people who never reregistered to vote again and changed addresses, of course they know where to find all those dead people they got on the list…

39. Well at least Haynes is consistent, he is DIGGING THE HOLE DEEPER for all of them…..let’s see if he gets it to 8 or more FEET DEEP….

40. TheOGazertsJanuary 1, 2022 8:54 AM

Still back there pondering John’s attempt to run. Perhaps, the fear lies in his circle ‘of friends’. If true, duopoly politics is here to stay (unless we become a one-party state in the next five years)

However,I refuse to believe that the yellow in the flag is symbolic of the yellow streak running down our backs.

You call some of your friends in any constituency and see if they would be willing to put their names down on the Nomination Paper to allow you to run.

Tell us what happens.

I’ll be at Water Street at High Noon, God spare life.

Funny the coincidence of the name with my ideas!!

By now you would realise I am able to predict WHEN and WHERE the COVID surges will come and can explain the WHY!!

So it is almost certain I must know the HOW to eradicate the virus.

That makes me a good prospect for Parliament, better than any other.

41. Grasshopper

The all the hue and cry about the election list is symptomatic of the fact that Bajans prefer to live in the shadows.

Soon they will be asking for the Telephone Directory to be discontinued!!

The yellow in the flag is there for a purpose!!

42. Dr. J. Walcott and Liz insist that we can and should call an election in a pandemic because “other people around the world have done it” but then choose not to adopt the key election pandemic policy initiative that empowers ALL persons to vote despite the pandemic. Mind boggling.

43. What seems obvious to me is that this administration has spiralled out of control. Hot and hasty without thought is the order of the day.

But what really concerns me is how slim the pickings are in the leadership department.

If not she, WHO?

LORD, I CRY!

44. There is a face book group that said they were warning for an extended time that everyone’s information was online, but no one was paying attention, too caught up with Covid and vaccines, totally distracted. I never saw the warnings because, took a break from some sites, but kept warning about being TOO DISTRACTED, wicked governments wait until you are not watching to put systems in place to benefit them only….even if they DON’T KNOW WHAT THE HELL THEY ARE DOING……..

45. Some places (which may be more advanced or backward) have edited versions and full versions of electoral rolls for display

but this palaver has been going on for 2+ days already and is a distraction to the election runnings and commentaries

whoever wins can pick this matter up again

46. Somebody gi muh uh name, nuh!

47. I don’t care that my name and address were published online. I care about all the other stuff.

48. JohnJanuary 1, 2022 11:40 AM

TheOGazertsJanuary 1, 2022 8:54 AM

Still back there pondering John’s attempt to run. Perhaps, the fear lies in his circle ‘of friends’. If true, duopoly politics is here to stay (unless we become a one-party state in the next five years)

Tell you what, if you know anyone in my electoral district, tell them I will be at the Water Street School at High Noon waiting for 2 assenting persons who can satisfy the Returning Officer that they are eligible!!

All they got to do is put their name in black and white, no obligations.

49. ““After flirtations, and indeed full-on relationships with both of the political parties in Barbados, it is my view that the party political model used by strong men like Errol Barrow and Eric Williams to take us into our nationalist period no longer suit us. Whereas the intentions of Barrow and Williams and that era of politicians were focussed on national nurturing and development for these respective post-colonial societies, I am clear that the current shenanigans are political plays purely undergirded by individual self-interest.””

50 years ago – 70 years ago was a different era
    blacks had just won rights to vote and then to self govern
    so it was more about taking control of existing systems of power

there was good and bad from the past era
    which explains why there are improvements and faults in the present time