A short three years ago in 2018 then Prime Minister Freundel Stuart remained in office for 90 days beyond the five year anniversary of the first sitting of parliament permitted under the Barbados Constitution. Three years later incumbent Prime Minister Mia Mottley has called a snap general election eighteen months before it is constitutionally due. 

The early ring of the bell has caused tongues to wag with rumours and rumours of rumours rolling off the social media conveyor belt. The blogmaster reconciled a long time ago that political parties are in business to win general elections and this is the single consideration to reflect on when evaluating and commenting on political issues.

Every election cycle we hear talk about the need for the enactment of fixed term, campaign financing legislation etc. When the winner is announced on the night of the 19th January there will be further calls campaign financing laws and amendment to the electoral laws etc. To be expected, nothing will be done to address the issues raised by the politicians who raised them.

This week there were howls of protests from members of the public when it was discovered the voters list was posted online with personal information. The majority of Barbadians were oblivious to the fact the Representation of the People Act was amended in 2020 to make legal what occurred. What it has exposed is the lack of interest the majority of Barbadians have in what is debated in parliament. It should make the debate promised about the Barbados Constitution very interesting.

The blogmaster will resist the usual political punditry at predicting who will win which ‘seat’ on the 19th. Given the current hopeless economic state of affairs in the country, it seems a pointless exercise to expect B or D will make a difference. Both political parties have to bear responsibility for where we are today. Do not expect manna to fall after nearly fifteen years of famine.

The blogmaster and others have blogged many times on governance issues, however, BU dashboard shows these blogs record lower hits than the others. What does it say about our ‘intelligence’ as a people? 

The government you elect is the government you deserve.

Thomas Jefferson

Will average Barbadians be encouraged to seriously debate the merits of imposing fixed term laws to eliminate the opportunity for a prime minister to attempt to manipulate the result of an election? The blogmaster is not optimistic. Stuart tried in 2018 and supporters of the Democratic Labour Party defended the decision. Mottley three years into a five year term has done similarly and Barbados Labour Party are stridently defending the decision. Around and around we go, when it will stop nobody knows.

What will be the issues this time around?

Same old, same old – NTSH

467 responses to “Silly Season Time Again”

1. “All they got to do is put their name in black and white, no obligations.”

you will have to pay people to do the dirty deed

and they should not know what you are like

or have any sense of morality and conscience

2. @TheOGazerts January 1, 2022 11:01 AM “When cuhdear has more IT knowledge and internet sense”

Trained in the field [that is the information creation, handling, storage and dissemination] beginning in September 1977, and worked in the field until December 2014.

And by the field I don’t mean in the ground. LOL. Although that too. Ask my “friend” GP.

Worked in the ground, that is tilling the soil, from 1957 to the present. Going outside now to do some ground work, that is till the soil for an hour or two. Gardening is my personal “free” gym.Glad to greet 2022 fit and healthy.

Best wishes to you and to all of the BU ladies and gentlemen and to your families too.

3. Same to you and yours Cuddear..

4. If anyone want to find the lawyers…just go into the bar association directory, pick a name and run it through the elec oral list, ya got everything ya need to know about them, can’t hide from clients anymore…

5. and run it through the ELECTORAL list, and ironically, that INCLUDES Haynes….

6. Oh…and they can thank Mia and all those who colluded to do this…cause all their personal information etc ARE ALSO ON THE LIST too…can’t do anything without it returning TO BITE THEM..they are JUST AS VULNERABLE as the population they SETUP..

7. If not she, who?
    Anybody that could hire a bariffle of advisers, consultants, public relations specialists, political strategists and social media influencers.
    The gift of gab would be an asset.

8. @WURA-War-on-U January 1, 2022 11:36 AM “they know where to find all those dead people they got on the list.”

It is NOT true that the Barbados voters list is “fullup wid dead people”, although I have heard paid political operatives say similar.

For decades, just because it is my formal training, I have checked the voters list against all of the dead people that I used to know, including parents, siblings, other family, friends, neighbors, church members, people who went to primary, secondary and tertiary school with me, eminent people etc. and INVARIABLY EVERY single dead person is always quickly deleted from the voters list. I checked and Owen Arthur is no longer of the list. I checked and his sister who died shortly after he did is on the dead people’s list. I checked for a woman who went to elementary school with me and whom I have not seen for more than 60 years and she is no longer on the list. I checked for everyone from my natal village, my current village, all of my work places etc. etc. and these dead people are NOT on the list. A few nights ago I spent about 4 hours checking, Little Johnny who was here wondered what i found so interesting about the list that I could without pay spend 4 or more hours going through it.

I would not say that there is not a single dead person on the list, but the list is in generall amazingly clean of dead people.

Little Johnny who migrated is still on the list, but I ordered Little Johnny NOT to vote because it is amoral to vote when you do not have to live with the result of your vote. Little Johnny has for years now voted in the great white north, and like many people in my non-political family works as a poll clerk or some such in the place where he now lives, works, pays taxes, and lives with the result good or bad of his vote. But no vote fah he ’bout hay.

9. “It is NOT true that the Barbados voters list is “fullup wid dead people”, although I have heard paid political operatives say similar.”

and how would YOU know this, did you check through over 5,500 PAGES..i don’teven have the time to check that long list…and am looking at it right now……….did you check through over 5,500 pages every time you went to the electoral office, i don’t think they will allow you to go to the office EVERY DAY FOR A WHOLE YEAR to check for names of 100,000 people…THERE ARE DEAD PEOPLE ON THE LIST……there are PEOPLE WHO SHOULD NOT BE ON THE LIST THERE…and they are very much alive…

10. Our Honourable David (BU)
    Spent from May 2018 insisting that we address our PM as
    Mia Amor Mottley
    Indeed, most of us tried….

After the national announcement on December 27, 2021…..

and I reflect on the PM mouthings and actions – before May 2018 and since May 2018 to December 27, 2021

I can only conclude that we should really refer to our PM as

Mia A – mockery
    Mottley

Here are my key reflections and findings as to why I emphasise on the word – mockery

Before 2018 Ms Mottley said…..
    The Dens Cabinet of 17 members was too large…..after becoming PM in 2018 – she installed a 28 member Cabinet ! – – A mockery !

Before 2018 she said the NSRL was too burdensomeon Bajan taxpayers…after May 2018 as PM she abolished the NSRL and applied the garbage & sewage tax ( even the rich bawling fuh murdah, now ) !
    A mockery !

Before 2018 Ms Mottley said that PM Freundel Stuart was too quiet on important national issues…..after May 2018 PM Mottley appointed Lucille Moe to the Senate & Cabinet….PM Mottley fired Ms Moe from her Cabinet in 2020 & Ms Moe stayed away from the Senate for over 10 months…..and PM Mottley remained ‘ quiet’ on this important national issue – till this day !

A mockery !

Those are my 3 key observations……

I can expect David ( BU) to – block me – as he hates the truth being told about his beloved PM Mottley !

11. #scratchgrain

12. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/01/ecb-meets-to-discuss-decision-not-to-allow-covid-positive-people-to-vote/
    ECB meets to discuss decision not to allow COVID-positive people to vote
    Source:: Barbados Today

13. 555dubstreetJanuary 1, 2022 12:08 PM

“All they got to do is put their name in black and white, no obligations.”

you will have to pay people to do the dirty deed

and they should not know what you are like

or have any sense of morality and conscience

That’s the function of the Party Apparatus and why I am offering myself as an independent.

I am going to find out on Monday at High Noon whether there are any persons willing to assent to my candidacy.

I’m cool with that.

14. The FB group said the names were online for an extended period, did Haynes not say say January…not sure if it’s 2021…so no one died in Barbados in 2021..when i have been seeing 5 and 6 pages of deceased in the newspapers…not to mention the over 260 Covid victims…you really believe they removed those names or the ones from before, those incompetents, please, people been finding those they know who passed…

it’s unfortnate that those who live in the diaspora names are on there and they ARE NOT PLEASED escpecially since they are also aware like me that Covid dessimated the population in Brooklyn and across NY, at least 20,000 from the island reported lost that battle…….people who are not even born on the island but are dual through ancestry, can see their names scattered across the world and they did not REGISTER TO VOTE….they were only on the island as children, before leaving..

…..so much for the COPYCAT…”come back home”

15. @WURA-War-on-U January 1, 2022 3:18 PM ” every time you went to the electoral office, i don’t think they will allow you to go to the office EVERY DAY FOR A WHOLE YEAR to check for names of 100,000 people”

Who is they?

And what is allow?

I did not go to the electoral office to check the list.

Nobody needs “permission” to go to the public libraries which are open 6 days a week, 52 weeks per year, for the more than 50 years that I have lived here.

I am retired so I have plenty of time on my hands.

I have been checking the list for more than 3 decades. I collect funeral programs for a hobby. Who else do you know who collects funeral programs for a hobby? Each time a dead people’s list is published I match it against my collection of funeral programs. INVARIABLY my dead people have been deleted. Before Covid our funerals tended to be large and especially for church going people even very, very large. 1,200 people came to my father’s funeral held at a large parish church which was filled upstairs and down, extra chairs placed where ever there was space, the church parking lot full, the streets outside of the church full, the public spaces full of people standing. So yes indeedy. I know lots of formerly living people, and I have checked off every single one of them on the voters list, and I don’t do it only at election time in order to score positive or negative political points. I do it because I find it interesting.

Now I HONESTLY can’t say if the lists are clean as for as migration is concerned, because death is public and FINAL, but migration can be temporary or final, can last for any period of time from a part of one day to 70 or more years, and migration information for individuals is not publicly available so it is harder to verify whether migrants are here or there. But we know for CERTAIN where the dead people are.

And they are NOT on our voters list. LOL!

16. Now we know how many minorities are citizens and who are NOT….noticed the document was generated on 12/28/2021…so me thinks somebody is LYING…about when those names were THROWN OUT THERE TO THE WORLD, but it does not matter, it’s out there, that is what counts..

Life is magnificent….Karma ROCKS…noticed some people don’t even have last names, but all their other info is there…

17. Very good piece. All the information in one place.

Other BU bloggers may have covered them, but in a haphazard manner.

@cuhdear
    👍

18. Cuddear…it’s nice to have fun, but this is real serious…you should have a look at that list…am not sharing it, but you can kindly ask a relative on the island or in North America to send it to you…….a lot of people have access…am sure it’s hit the Canadian border too…

i can never understand people’s fascination with funerals…i find it disturbing…

19. @Fractured BLP January 1, 2022 3:20 PM “… applied the garbage & sewage tax ( even the rich bawling fuh murdah, now ) !”

And why are rich people bawling for murder.

Are you telling me that there are rich people in Barbados who cannot afford to pay the small amounts charged for garbage and sewage servises? I pay an average of $7.50 for sewage and $37.50 for sewage services. Are you telling us that these amounts are onerous and burdensome for rich people?

Do rich people bathe more often than poor people? If so why? Since rich people tend not to do sweaty outdoor work like I do they should cut their baths to one per day or better still one bath every other day (ask our “friend” Tron)

Do they wash their hands more often? If so why?

Do they pee more often? Impossible I say.

Do they defecate more than once a day?

It is a sad world when rich people have the time and feel entitled to complain about $45 BDS per month.

20. @WURA-War-on-U January 1, 2022 4:17 PM “i can never understand people’s fascination with funerals…i find it disturbing.”

Nothing at all disturbing about the funerals of very elderly people who have died a natural death. I must admit though that the deaths of the young, and violent deaths do disturb me.

But we are born, we copulate, we die.

The next generation MUST have some resources and some space to do the same.

THE END,

21. @WURA-War-on-U January 1, 2022 4:17 PM “i can never understand people’s fascination with funerals…i find it disturbing…”

I think that it was Sarge who posted something on BU a couple of weeks ago about archeological evidence of a funeral which took place about 78,000 years ago. So get used to funerals. Humans have practiced funeral rituals for tens of thousands of years, maybe even hundreds of thousands of years. Funerals int going nowhere any time soon. Get used to the rituals.

22. Congratulations! You spent more than 24 hrs without hitting at me.

But no matter how many times you call me a copy cat not even the people who belong to your clique believe you. And you have not as yet posted your evidence.

No matter how I beg!

Sigh!

I see you are outdoing yourself lying again.

In true Trumpian style too!

Don’t you ever get tired??????

SMH.

P.S. My last name is no secret. Many people already guessed it.

23. I do not check voters lists either but I have noticed that dead relatives whose surname would have been the same as mine are always deleted.

My aunts and uncle and cousins who migrated were not to be found on the list either.

But…looking forward for all BUers overseas to catch a plane and come in to vote. No provision is being made for you to do so out there.

By the way… wunnuh gun vote in constituencies where you do not reside? I hear that we here are told to register where we live.

What is your local address? Wunnuh gon commit fraud?

24. “But no matter how many times you call me a copy cat not even the people who belong to your clique believe you.”

you could not be meaning me without SOUNDING CRAZY…the “copycat” REFERS to Mia who was copycatting Afrikan leaders and Dr. Arikana Quao when they were imploring those interested in returning to Afrika from the diaspora to see if it’s something they want to do to “come home”

how the hell did you manage to make this about you….christ…i have been saying it on here for 3 GODDAMN YEARS..and everyone knows that…WHERE WERE YOU?

why do you believe everything is about, YOU, YOU , YOU…you are always last as far as am concerned…

and i HAVE NO CLIQUE…what are you 8 years old…am in my mid 60s…grow the hell up…what is wrong with you

25. Cuhdear,

I do not collect funeral leaflets as a hobby but I do find it hard to throw them out with the deceased person’s picture on them. I even find it hard to throw out the death announcements in the newspapers.

Best wishes to you and yours as well!

26. your problem is you are TOO OBSESSED WITH ME….and ya memory ain’t worth shit as it pertains to what goes on here ON THE BLOG…, except for what am posting…

not even i can say i have gone through 5, 500 pages to say that there are no dead people on the list, people have been going through the list piece by piece and those WHO KNOW DECEASED PEOPLE HAVE SEEN THEM…you did not have access to the list up to yesterday, may not even have access now, but here you are jumping out….give yaself a rest where am concerned and you won’t MAKE YASELF LOOK SO STUPID AND DESPERATE…

27. Since when did you become PM…the issue is the tens of thousands of names in cyberspace, DID YOU PUT THEM THERE…how did any of this get to be about you…

28. Just to refresh some minds on how this ” come home” came about…Mia got elected, and shortly after information came out that they knew the Afrikan leaders were coaxing Afrikan descents in the diaspora to take a trip to Afrika….both dangerous sellout governments knew and SAID NOTHING to the people, hid a lot of critical information but gave it to minorities…..then Mia started the copycat “come home” with the people from the island living in the diaspora….to try to lure them their money and properties to the island…

Dr. Arikana ALWAYS says “Afrika’s children need to come home”

.i know many people will remember how it came about, except those who are CONSUMED with shit in their heads and obsessed with me..

29. Your post though funny prompted two questions..
    Does the diaspora favor one of the duopoly?
    Given the suspicious nature of my countryman, does the diaspora vote D when the D is power and vote B when the B is in power?

I am wondering if the EBC goof was to move any push for online voting off of the table.

30. As i was saying before the attention seeker so RUDELY AND WITHOUT ANY SHAME interrupted..

.the list has A LOT OF PECULIARITIES….they are the ones who said that they enacted a law to make it legal to EXPOSE the isalnd’s voting population personal information…so they cannot very well tell me if something smells like ROTTEN FISH with this list that am not smelling it…….and am only at page 63, still over 5,400 pages to go…

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Best wishes to all for 2022.

Watching football Bowl games as is my habit on New Year’s day. While pro leagues are cancelling games or limiting attendees, the college football stadiums, with some of the largest attendances of the year, have fans packed in like sardines.

32. You are a liar.

“Come back home” if you want to vote?

Overseas persons names still on the voters’ list enabling them to vote?

Persons with no last name (which you have been on at me about) whose information is now out there?

Karma is a bitch?

Why can’t you stop lying?????

Sad.

33. And yes, you do have a clique. Grown up people do have cliques. Everybody knows that.

But… enough of you for the day! I am too fed up to dwell on you.

34. National insurance numbers would not have been on the list.

35. Theo…you raised 2 very good questions…given what am seeing, will have to think on it though…packing it in for the night….have cut my BU hours weeks now…..recently started .writing again…

Pacha is intellectually worth more than 50,000 Damaged Goods Donna with her sick obsession, who needs to be medicated……..and we can’t get to discourse with him anymore because of this CLOWN IDIOCY by a limited in intellect OLD ASS WOMAN…

36. I bet there was no conspiracy. I bet it was lack of thought.

37. Instead of saying that a worrying number of dead people are on the list
    (there will always be a few) why don’t the people simply publish the names of the dead ones on social media!

38. Poor you! Still a liar, though.

39. By the way, your ass is older than mine.

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ah @Skinner, a rousing 2022 to you and all the other awesome bloggers here…. and @David – I mentioned it previously- but again to you and your BU team, I wish u continued great things in this new year.

Now @Skinner, actually I see the premiss of the essayist … and your thrust through a much different lens.

1.“the past leaders of the pre [and immediate post] -independence era” were indeed very successful with major policy directives and in that regard can be heralded to “stand way above these … we now have”.

However, note carefully that the essayist does not casually use the term “strong men” and also offers that their methods (strong man, my way or the highway) are not suited to this era.

In sum, those maguffies were badass BUT as we have learned over the years operated in a manner that shows them as frauds in much the same way you or anyone else would criticize today’s leaders.

I make no excuse for today’s leadership malaise but I find it completely counter intuitive to assert that modern leaders many of whom sat at the feet of these ‘great men and women’; were mentored by some of these gorilliphants; and studied them and their processes extensively would yet be seen as MORE flawed, inept or lacking skills than them.

Undoubtedly the past leaders did focus on “national nurturing and development for these respective post-colonial societies” but they also had “shenanigans [that were] political plays purely undergirded by individual self-interest.” MANY!

[To be a bit blog crass] … were there not scandals of botsie boys bull*** on yachts and big dippers being aware dead bottoms were dumped out to sea.

Can we not ‘harp’ on the weapons of massive destruction developed for secret stashes of money to further personal political agendas!

Were there not gangs of mangoose men roaming islands kidnapping and killing on the whims of one of these nurturers ; and other men terrozing in Westmoreland or St. Elizabeth under the direction of another of these focused developers.

The phrase ‘money is not the problem, the problem is money’ was coined in the country of another nurturer who famously developed the devastating new Caribbean maths of 1 from 10 = 0…. was that not a shenanigan of a “political play purely undergirded by individual [country] self-interest”!

This list can be endless … so I hope the point is made.

Our leaders today are no more inherently bad, fraudalent or lacking skills than Barrow, Williams, Burnham, Manley, Charles et al … absolutely not. They are not necessarily inferior to their predecessors … as in the main are just as quick intellectually….

The fact is they simply are adept (like those before them) on hiding corruption, and pay to play opportunities. They too want to implement a visionary project to help their fellow citizens (and develop their legacy) ! But as we all are … they are imperfect and succumb to gratuitous or sometimes illegal pursuits.

They learned these antics from those the essayist calls nurthurers … So don’t blame UE in the least … blame the society from which we have been developed…

That’s my lens, bro…. it’s not quacked (or cracked) 😇!

41. The not-so-smart DLP president is ranting again about isolating our island and not letting any more tourists in.

Imagine Barbados without tourists for a year. Without money for food imports, oOur natives would have to tear each other apart and eat each other.

When it came to the shit on the south coast, our DLP president didn’t care about hygiene either.Since then, I always wash my hands at home after encountering a DLP supporter. You never know if these savages clean their butts with sand or eat with their hands.

42. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
    African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved

Finally remembered the term Mia was using before she started copycatting the Afrikan leaders and Dr. Arikana with “come home”, she was saying “we gathering” cause we always said she was gathering victims from the diaspora…….glad to put it out there so i don’t forget it again, can now add it to my book…

limited intellect asholes are DEAD WEIGHT..

43. The more the Pr officials open mouth on solving problems that have become an issue because of Mia hot and sweaty idea of calling elections during a pandemic
    The more one is left flabbergasted at witnessing her boldness in making such a decision without first engaging members of Parliament on how these Constitutional issues should be handled in event early elections should be called
    Here is a PM who once stated that many hands make light work however when push comes to shove all hands are push overboard and she takes full control
    One would think that at such a critical time in the nation health system that the PM would hold onto the reigns of good governance for safety and security of the Constitution

44. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
  45. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD
    Thanks. The very best to you and yours in 2022. I can’t imagine how we can even begin to give the current fraudsters a pass. Name anyone of them that has used their intellect to the level of a Eric Williams. Indeed of the “ younger” set the only one that stands out was P. J. Patterson in terms of vision. I have never opined that the other guys did not have flaws but these flaws never stopped them from understanding the fundamentals of good governance. You will pick out Eric Gairy but he was the terrible exception and not the rule!
    Apparently those who learnt at the feet of the elders chose only to emulate their worst attributes.
    Furthermore, your position cannot be that we are not supposed to go forward but must wallow in all things inferior. There is not one single Caribbean economy above water . I always thought that we were expected to evolve into an improvement on what went before. Unfortunately, we are slipping into measuring inferiority not progress. The Jamaican economy has been under the paws of the IMF for four decades. We were told recently , that the Barbados economy will remain uncorrected until 2035/36 under the same IMF. We have pussyfoot with CARICOM.
    With great respect , I posit that if we are accepting the inferiority measurement, it is a bold admission almost a frightening capitulation of poor governance and a glaring lack of vision.
    And these days we need not look too far such evidence.

46. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Yes…PJ Patterson is head and shoulders above these smaller island wannabes who could never reach that height of intelligence.

“Unfortunately, we are slipping into measuring inferiority not progress.”

exactly, they are all just an ACCURATE ESTIMATES for the level of inferiority that is pervasive in parliaments and stymies people progress…….except for the very few found on other islands who are exceptional..

My New Years wish is for the best internet hackers…..and the world got some real geniuses in that field, find that 5-6 billion dollars that the thieves in Barbados robbed from the island’s people, pensioners, treasury…… and TIEF IT from them now that all their personal information is all over cyberspace as well….

i hope they know that they are now targets FOR REMOVAL…everyone is sick and tired of being sick and tired of them..hope they have packed up their georgie bundles and don’t provoke the people anymore…

47. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

“I posit that if we are accepting the inferiority measurement, it is a bold admission almost a frightening capitulation of poor governance and a glaring lack of vision.
    And these days we need not look too far such evidence.”

William…if you don’t mind, i like this quote, was just writing about the intellectual secondary status that is pervasive in parliaments and stymies people’s advancement…don’t be surprised that the quote is in the final draft.