The blogmaster has been a long time admirer of what is perceived as a higher level of expression of love of country expressed by Jamaicans, Bahamians, Trinidadians and a few others compared to Barbadians. A visit to the USA, UK and Canada to name three destinations Caribbean people have emigrated in numbers, you are sure to find ‘spots’ where food and other activities nurture the culture of the countries mentioned. Barbadians on the other hand are known to be more laid back and less visible to compare. 

November is the month we celebrate the lowering of the Union Jack in 1966 – in 2021 there will be the added celebration of the seminal moment we shift to a Republic. We will jettison the Queen of England and install a local, current Governor General Dame Sandra Mason. In theory this SHOULD be a moment that infuses Barbadians everywhere with pride. 

Barbadians have recently been subjected to several critiques of Prime Minister Mia Mottley from the Trinidad space. These so called social commentators have the same MO, first they register admiration of her oratory and other skills, the quick growth of her personal brand on the global stage, then proceed to attack the government of Barbados for its weak economy often citing our debt to GDP which has reverted to north of 140. True to form, Barbadians are quick to share these messages on social media platforms to bolster personal and political agendas.

There should be no argument that on the 24th of May 2018, key economic indicators confirmed the poor state of our economy. In a short three years the condition was made acute because of the ongoing pandemic, ashfall from La Soufrière volcano and hurricane Elsa did not help the cause. The blogmaster will accept the counter-argument that policies of successive governments which Mottley was a member significantly contributed to our current state. We get the political argumentation. 

In the opinion of the blogmaster, these messages being crafted by so called social commentators from neighbouring countries are designed with the purpose to make Barbadians “know their place”. How dare a person from a 2×3 island with an economy in the dumps be perceived as the leader of the Caribbean. In this space Mottley and her government will continue to feel political blows as warranted, however, Barbadians must know when to defend our good name and bare teeth by separating the wheat from the chaff.

Earlier this month Dr. Terrence Farrell a former Governor of the Central Bank of Trinidad and current director of Republic Bank sought to publicly school Prime Minister Mottley on the rudiments of asset liability management in banking after her “off-the-cuff and quip laden” remarks at the Barbados Chamber of Commerce luncheon. It seems Mr. Terrence’s palaver was to deliver a message to Prime Minister Mottley [quoted below]. It is not hidden from some the head of the local banker’s association is headed by the managing director of Republic Bank, Trinidadian.

It certainly doesn’t help when regional governments get economic policy wrong, and then have to restructure their domestic debt, including taking the unprecedented step of restructuring Treasury Bills which banks rely on for short-term liquidity management.

Mia Mottley and the banks

Those attending the BCCI understood Mottley was engaged in what politicians do when a general election is on the horizon with an enraged public up in arms about banks and credit unions charging Barbadians a $6.00 fee for withdrawals at ATMs. The blogmaster is disappointed Barbadians at large – including the traditional media – have not seized the opportunity to defend these veil attacks against the office of prime minister and by extension BARBADIANS notwithstanding political affiliations.

We are Barbadians first!

180 responses to “In Defence of OUR Prime Minister”

1. And we’re back on the sex train! I think we never ever really get off!

But David, you alright this morning???? I struggle to find the reason for and the reasoning within this blog.

Is it your opinion that I am to defend Ms. Mottley because she is Barbadian and Trinidadians are trying to pull her down for nefarious reasons?

I do declare that I will instead defend Ms. Mottley when she proves herself worthy of defending, regardless of what may be the motives of the Trinidadians. I care nothing about what they say.

Besides, Viv Richards believed a batsman should let his bat do the talking and I agreed with him wholeheartedly.

By the time his bat finished talking he was known to the entire cricketing world as the MASTER BLASTER!

And there was no-one on Earth or Mars who dared to utter a word in opposition.

If you or Ms. Mottley want me to join the choir that sings her praises, like the Merrymen did for Gary Sobers, there is only one way to do it. (Hint: It will require more than the presentation of a birth certificate.)

Rather than sledge the Trinies, I suggest that we all chew some gum like Viv and wait for Mia to hit the winning runs.

Then even Angela Cox may be forced to sing,

🎵
    “For she’s a jolly good fe-elloooow…..
    which nobody can deny!”🎶

Pun intended.

Alliteration to follow.

2. No worries Donna, we entitled to a view.

3. David
    That is a misguidance. You have never sought to empower Black people with a sense of saving our country economically as their solemn responsibility. You left this entirely to the White planter class types and foreigners.

We remember well Black people like Martin, Hampden, Nasser, Clarke and many others across all sectors strangulated by racist structures thought natural in Barbados.

4. @ David November 17, 2021 11:32 AM

So how do you explain the recent rise of Maloney to be the new controlling kid on the kickback block?

There were more black-owned commercial entities in the Barbados of the 1940’s & 50’s than there are in these modern days of ‘dark light’.

5. @Pacha

You know it starts with a relevant education curriculum. William will agree. However the same people have been feed Eurocentric concepts. How will the cycle be broken? At minimum we are a generation behind. Note this is not a Barbados only problem.

6. @Miller

MAM2 is a frontman and bagman. And he is a high brown.

7. Retribution and Karma walking hand in hand.

“You left this entirely to the White planter class types and foreigners.”

who will now look for ways to ship them ALL OUT TO UAE…now that they got the dirty, corrupt, slimy connection..

8. “There were more black-owned commercial entities in the Barbados of the 1940’s & 50’s than there are in these modern days of ‘dark light’.

by the 1970’s the covetous, racist greedy minorities put their heads together with the HOUSE NEGROS of parliamnet a came up with a plot to ISOLATE and SEGREGATE the Black majority from EVER owning small island “big” business like that ever again and it is has worked well for nearly half century…

i got the whole story about HOW and WHO plotted it…that’s why i went after them with their stinking corrupt selves when the judases gave them permission to attempt to ROB the continent with their fintech scamming…

9. Caribbean islands should become one nation to pool resources income etc with local Governments and local sales tax
    Haiti Cuba Dominican Republic have about 10 million each and all the other islands combined equal another 10 million

10. So now ya see why all of this is just a waste of time energy…YOU have NO SAY, YOU, OWN NOTHING…yall sold out DECADES AGO…and if ya sold out ya people, businesses, land and other resources to me because yall are JUDASES…..i would MAKE SURE you have NO SAY ….and look to get rid of yall too…clean up the crime scene before ya get it in ya STUPID, SELLOUT HEADS…to make life difficult for me or call my name in international circles…

11. 555,

Easier said than done. We tried that but I guess our politicians all wanted to be head honcho.

Big fish in small ponds, satisfied to play large and in charge when in fact they are insignificant on any world stage.

Competition to the death of us all seems more likely than co-operation.

12. @ David the blogmaster,

PM Mottley does not want anyone defending her.

13. @ David November 17, 2021 12:10 PM
    “MAM2 is a frontman and bagman. And he is a high brown.”

Wuhlos(s)!
    Confession is good for the Blogmaster’s soul!

Glad to see you have finally come around to the reality that the Hyatt erection is a mere mirage of a project designed to scam money from the BTII.

That money that was lost in the vaccine scam could have gone a long way in bringing that long promised Ziva erection to life to light the path to some form of much needed economic recovery to stave off social upheaval.

It would have been a good sign towards the revitalization of Bridgetown as the shining capital of the new republic called ‘RoB’.

You can now expect to be crossed off the upcoming Xmas list of the exceedingly reticent Enuff.

14. and if ya sold out ya people, businesses, land and other resources to me, allowed me to steal BILLIONS of dollars of your people’s money from the treasury, pension fund and VAT… because yall are JUDASES…..i would MAKE SURE you have NO SAY

it’s so much, so ugly and so repulsive ya tend to forget the numerous crimes these judases enbled, condoned and RUBBERSTAMPED against 2 generations of Black people…for over half century..

15. @Hants

If you read the blog carefully you should be able to glean the issue is not so much about MOTTLEY. Unfortunately the mention of her name generates ‘noise’.

16. “would have been a good sign towards the revitalization of Bridgetown as the shining capital of the new republic called ‘RoB’”

when the judases gave them permission to attempt to ROB the continent with their fintech scamming…

RoB……🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

17. @Miller

The matter raised straddles both administrations and is a symptom of a bigger issue. Is it possible to zoom on the systemic and structural problems?

18. Steuspe

19. @VC

“On the area of National debt / GDP. I have expressed my views on that ad nauseam. It is not of economic significance. It is just a monitor.”

A true believer that GOD is a BAJAN.

20. Do we agree GDP is an indicator we are living above our means?

21. I am not emotional
    I am overwhelmed by the twist and turns of this govt when accountability and transparency is shoved our the door
    How can the media offer support for the PM when the obvious poor planning of her many policies have back fired
    May the Trinidadian message to PM was worth saying after all her backdoor tactics in trying to buy vaccine at a ridiculous price and her unqenching appetite for borrowing
    She would be supported when she does the right things
    Hard not to remember in the early days of COVID
    The media was signing HOW Great Thou art to MIa

22. David

Of course! We would suggest and would have suggested RADICAL approaches long before we got to this dead end.

Those who did were hit with the Public Order Act. Or people’s property was taken away, Sagicor.

Now, the only possibility for a sustainable solution is to put the population on death’s ground.

Unless we can transform the conservative attitudes of Bajans about development, including you who are archetypal we regret, Barbados will eventually die.

Conservatism is for people who got something to lose. Never could quite figured out what Bajans had to, including most here.

23. Oh dear! It seems the “kernel” of this blog was so hidden as to be easily missed.

What are we supposed to be discussing again?

24. @Pacha

We need the conservative to anchor the change to avoid chaos LOL.

25. “Conservatism is for people who got something to lose. Never could quite figured out what Bajans had to, including most here”

follow pattern will kill them…..following and mouthing about something they have VERY LITTLE INFORMATION ABOUT…..and don’t know the DEPTH OF…the fall back word when they have nothing interesting to discuss and that is the explanation and justification for inbred STUPIDITY…

now they will pay for being loose with the gifts they SQUANDERED.

26. David

Have we not been doing that type of thinking previously? Playing it safe?

It reminds us of the saying, if yuh go teiffing carry a frightened man as a bulwark against being caught.

Oh no, if you’re serious the mentality has to be burning down, figuratively, all that there is.

27. I have enjoyed reading this post; especially the two old timers GP and Pachamama politely engaging each other.
    On an all together more serious note, I hope there will be a good ending to this story. The wording for the missing lady is bizzare in the extreme.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/11/17/missing-samara-cameisha-kymel-bristol/

28. TLSN

Weeeeeeee have no permanent foes, permanent friends or colleagues.

And yes! GP, even his moniker alone, has a way of presenting jovial moments. We must admit.

29. @Pacha

When dealing with the unpredictability of human behaviour it adds a layer of complexity to determining process and outcomes. Apply chaos theory if you will. Also your usual prognostications about the need to understand our ecosystem by linking local to global.

30. Pacha…ya won’t believe what information just DROPPED IN MY LAP…

cast your brain back to a discussion some weeks ago, yes, it was ACCURATE…and more information just appeared…just like that, i wasn’t even looking for it.. some things i just cannot post anymore, but you can find it on my WordPress website just peruse the menus…

31. @ Pacha @ TLSN
    With Dr. Mascoll’s position that the economy has been set back to 1997 , as a result of COVID, and the fact that we are yet to be presented by any of the political parties and other players how we can go forward, it means that all the gains made for the last 30/ 40 years have been effectively wiped out or threatened.
    There is need for an almost revolutionary national discourse on how we handle the socio economic factors and challenges with which we are now confronted.
    Any other considerations must take second place to this reality.
    I recall almost thirty years ago, the jokers were talking about the Singapore model . We always seem bent on copying others rather than putting our intellectual and other resources to solving problems.
    It’s like copying at school : when the person you are copying from moves , you are left in no man’s land.
    Dr. Eric Williams said many moons ago that a considerable amount of our challenges are created by outside influences. However, he never said that we should just sit and watch our own backyard go to ruin. While we cannot and should not ignore global realities , we should not and cannot fail to utilize our own talents and resources to combat those outside influences.And that is exactly where the political and intellectual classes have failed and apparently will continue to fail.
    Once more we are blaming the broken down masses for every single misadventure of the leadership; once more we are asking them to surrender basic rights to be further down pressed by an economic system that promises them much but delivers less than little.
    Daily the unemployed and economically struggling masses in the region are being told to be nationalistic and embrace a collective visionless leadership.
    This gamble that has characterized our region since the independence era is starting to fail. In other words as the Mighty Gabby has reminded us:
    One day coming soon, de people will rise up and when they do , it will be heat on the tormentors feet…………..

32. Skinmer
    Agree, with every word!!!!!!!

33. @Pacha

What is wrong with evaluating successful models that exist elsewhere as a pathway to improving our backyard? Have other countries visited our shores to assess the electoral system to cite just one example? This is standard fare, it does not obviate the need to be innovative about other things. We love to conflate the issues.

34. @GP

Our Supreme Leader is a legend like Queen Elizabeth I of England. She does not need a wimpy, lazy, indigenous man. She is married to the nation. She does not need real children. Her children are the people.

@Miller

You’re actually right. Given the great fame of our leader, I plead for a 10,000 Barbados dollar bill.

35. I just read that Miss Grenville Phillips has filed an injunction against our transformation to a republic.

How ridiculous! Miss GP II is even afraid of a little needle called an inoculation. How can a person who is so fearful and trapped in the delusion of her fear of vaccination even file a lawsuit? Didn’t the judge check the vaccination status???

Voluntarily unvaccinated people have no rights at all. They are without rights because they are enemies of the leader, state and people. So they are not allowed to sue.

36. “Daily the unemployed and economically struggling masses in the region are being told to be nationalistic and embrace a collective visionless leadership”

the people would be a little more than FOOLISH…..to listen to anything these fraud colonial agents across the region has to tell them when all they do IS LIE, LIE LIE and SELLOUT, SELLOUT, SELLOUT…

ya may get 2 or three good ones out of the lot across the islands…if ya lucky…

what nationalism what, another fraud they did not even create themselves…and talking shite incessantly……i would be ASHAMED for anyone to see or hear me following any of those colonial demons into hell…..i would be embarrassed to let my children and grandchildren witness me being thus MISLED.

37. David
    Yuh still looking elsewhere. Will there be ever a point in time when we feel confident enough to dispense with crutches. Hope that word is acceptable with the morality police.

Why are you so fearful but yet waxing lyrical about independence, republicanism?

38. David
    Our electoral system is a problem. Is the major problem we have this misleadership class.

You want to go to heaven, but not die.

39. Republicism
    Meta verse
    Interesting

Criticisms and concerns

The term arose in the early 1990s, and has come to be criticised as a method of public relations building using a purely speculative, “over-hyped”[41] concept based on existing technology.[42]

Information privacy in the metaverse is an area of concern because the companies involved will likely collect users’ personal information through wearable devices and user interactions.[12] Facebook is planning on persisting targeted advertising within the metaverse, raising further worries related to the spread of misinformation and loss of personal privacy.[3]

User addiction and problematic social media use is another concern for the development of the metaverse. Internet addiction disorder, social media, and video game addiction can have mental and physical repercussions over a prolonged period of time, such as depression, anxiety, and obesity.[11] Experts are also concerned that the metaverse could be used as an ‘escape’ from reality in a similar fashion to existing internet technologies.[12][43]

The metaverse may magnify the social impacts of online echo chambers and digitally alienating spaces.[2][44] Since metaverse developments may be made to algorithmically tailor virtual worlds based on each person’s beliefs, the metaverse may further distort users’ perceptions of reality with biased content to maintain or increase engagement.[44][45] The alienation of the human personality and the digitization of the human experience is demonstrated to lead to further alienation of interpersonal human relationships.[46]

40. David

Your backyard cannot be improved. Have we not tried that for 55 years at least.

Your backyard needs bulldozers to rip up and transform.

41. Waru
    Will like to have a look.

42. @ Pacha
    @ David wants to ride but he is bent on keeping on the training wheels. However, his gradualism has always won the day. Whether we like it or accept it the fear of removing the training wheels is real and politically psychological.
    When we add the glaring lack of inspirational leadership, the picture is very clear.
    Always make Massa comfortable and everything will be alright in the morning. That’s the real problem. Believe it or not. It’s very real.
    The struggle continues.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

the last time I saw something like this, it was dated 1942.
    Covenants for the Atlantic Breeze development by the NHC
    https://storage.googleapis.com/production-domaincom-v1-0-7/627/751627/w7yxuGbO/57a07bb87a6c4042ab954f9d2d746c4a?fileName=Covenants%20for%20Chancery%20Lane.pdf

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

You will know it when you see it.

https://wordpress.com/page/african-online-publishing.com/71

45. William Skinner
    Yes, you’re quite right. However, theirs can never be ours. Theirs are the very ways which have robbed us of the best of Bajans, those most capable than any others, who could have helped us to deal with these monumental even existential matters before the perdition expected. But yes, we rarely seem to be able to fashion a genuine transformation.

46. Skinner

If we are to envision a new Barbados, the duopoly will have to be made illegal, if we serious.

47. I have no respect for anyone who supports former US president , Donald Trump.
    All members of the Coon Club please take a bow.
    https://youtu.be/mpkxGe0OQ74
    https://youtu.be/tKujLAiR22Y

48. https://www.facebook.com/270969375988/posts/10158000670415989/

Taxi drivers say no relief same Ole crap