Submitted by Peter Lawrence Thompson

DLP Tourism spokesman Richard Sealy is mistaken. He leaked the report from the Hilary Beckles led committee to come up with a new tourism slogan in the hope of embarrassing the Government; however the committee has actually done an amazingly good job.

See Link to Nation newspaper storySealy: Slogan an embarrassment

I actually feel that I owe Professor Beckles and his committee an apology because I stated publicly that they were not up to the job, having little relevant expertise among the unwieldy membership of 18. Sorry Dr. Beckles.

They came up with three alternatives; “It’s A Bajan Thing”; “ Live Like A Bajan” and “Barbados: Feel Free”. This reminds me of the oldest consultants’ trick in the book: make three suggestions of which two are so obviously garbage that the client has no choice but to select the third.

The third suggestion, “Barbados: Feel Free” is a better tourism slogan than any we have ever had in the past. In fact, it is one of the best I have ever encountered globally. Let me explain.

A slogan needs to follow the the guidelines below and be:

• Brief
  • Memorable
  • Allusive (because it needs to mean subtly different things to different segments of your audience)
  • An appeal to emotion (because buying decisions are all made with the emotions and then rationalised intellectually afterwards)
  • A call to action

If you doubt me just take a look at the most successful marketing slogans of our lifetime:

• Nike – Just Do It.
  • Apple – Think Different.
  • Wendy’s – Where’s the Beef?
  • Coca-Cola – Open Happiness.

Each one follows the guidelines that I pointed out.

“Barbados: Feel Free” is better than any tourism slogan that we have ever had. “Feel Free” is an explicit invitation to drop by for a visit, and it is the sort of relaxed invitation you extend to social equals: to family or close friends. The feeling of freedom appeals to every psychographics and demographic because everyone invests it with what feels like freedom to them. It can appeal to locals as well as visitors because that feeling of freedom is aspirational for every human being.

282 responses to ““Barbados: Feel Free” Tourism Slogan Gets Support”

1. “SAY HELLO TO THE LIVE WID MAN WHO IS NOT YOUR OWN HUSBAND.”

are they still doing sex

2. SIMPLE SIMON
    YOUR AD HOMINEMS ARE AS INNOCUOUS AND AS INEFFECTIVE AS THE BOWLING OF THE TRINIDAD TEAM AT THE WORLD CUP
    IT IS WRITTEN JUDGE RIGHTEOUS JUDGEMENT
    IT IS DEFINITELY TRUE THAT YOU CANT ADJUDICATE CORRECTLY WITHOUT KNOWING THE FACTS
    AND YOUR INFERIOR INTELLIGENCE IS NOT AT ALL HELPING YOU

SO ALL YOU CAN DO IS PICK WELKS,BUT YOU CAN NOT ANSWER ANY OF THESE QUESTIONS

ARE YOU GOING TO GET A REFUND FROM ALL THOSE WHO WENT TO SCHOOL AND WASTED THEIR TIME?
    ARE YOU GOING TO GET A REFUND FROM ALL THOSE WHO WENT TO SCHOOL LIKE I DID AND THEN DEPARTED OUR SHORES AND NEVER RETURNED?

AT LEAST I RETURNED AND WORKED FAITHFULLY WHEN GIVEN AN OPPORTUNITY TO DO SO FOR 20 YEARS

NOW SINCE THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS PAID FOR MY EDUCATION SHOULD I BE DISALLOWED FROM SHARING MEDICAL INFORMATION BY A CERTIFIED MEDICAL ILLITERATE?

NOW SINCE THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS PAID FOR MY EDUCATION SHOULD I BE DISALLOWED FROM SHARING THE RECENT DISCOVERY BY RESEARCHERS THAT VACCINES AGAINST COVID MIGHT VERY WLL BE ONCOGENIC?

YOU NEED TO STEP UP IN BOTH LINE AND LENGTH
    YOUR PETTY PITHY PUNNY WOULD BE ARGUMENTS ARE VERY POOR

3. GP FYI there is a fine line between being a reputable medical professional and bat shit crazy like a Trump vulva
    and you crossed that line about 50-100 moons ago
    we will wait for the reputable medical professional fraternity to release the dope

4. Dear GP:

Buy, bye sweetie. See you the next time you are here for your usual 6 month visit, or I am in Florida for my usual 6 month visit.

Shhhh!!! Don’t say neffen, becausin’ it might cause the boys of BU to become jealous.

Now go and spend the rest of today watching cricket.

I will go now to spend 2 hours in the life enhancing sun.

5. Artax,

It was not a criticism but an explanation of why almost everything we speak about seems to come back to race.

I, for one, don’t moan and groan all day about it because I happen to believe that we have travelled some distance from the original position in a relatively short space of time. But there is still a long way to go and patience is wearing thin for some who feel the effects more than you or I. They know that we could have moved even further along with the right political leadership. We have been stalled for a while now because we rested on our laurels as though the job was done.

We cannot afford to let this moment of heightened awareness pass or we may be stalled for another 100 years.

So, as annoying as it is, it is necessary.

6. @ Donna:
    “They know that we could have moved even further along with the right political leadership. We have been stalled for a while now because we rested on our laurels as though the job was done.” (Quote)

You are absolutely correct.

7. @John A November 3, 2021 9:36 PM

Good suggestions.

We must not under any circumstances make any concessions for those among the 50 per cent unvaccinated who refuse to be vaccinated out of sheer fun. Like the radical Muslim Brother Winston Clarke and other local terrorists.

I do not imagine that the good, vaccinated citizens will go along with Taliban masking and hand disinfection with acid for much longer. I wouldn’t be surprised if outraged citizens soon silence Winston Clarke and other vaccination adversaries.

8. @John A

You heard Dr. Justin Robinson on the news?

The economy has contracted by 20% since 2017. A projected growth of 10% in 2022 will land us where? We will be floundering for awhile longer based on current trajectory.

9. @ David
    He also said the economy has not grown since 2017, when it grew by 3%.

10. Barbados……if you thought all pirates were dead

11. Canada- where the squatting never ends!

12. Barbados ..no milfs here

13. Canada – where delusions are a virtue

14. barbados we taught nelson to spin

15. Heather…you must be prepared for the costs associated with website building, designing customizing, maintaining etc..this is a second being built, but the cost girl….ya get a serious soaking, so make sure you are prepated…

https://african-online-publishing.webflow.io

16. I have never seen this advert before from the King of Pop

Michael Jackson Pepsi Generation

17. Barbados

“ Where possibilities are endless.”

18. Barbados – “ Where possibilities are endless.” BUT WHAT FOR ?

19. Barbados a better chance of living to a hundred than getting to the head of the line at a bank

20. @Lawson
    Knowing you.. that m stands for men..

21. HeatherNovember 4, 2021 9:47 AM

@ John, Renn Hampden ex slave owner was the Member of Parliament for Great Marlow in the UK from 1842 to 1847.
    Whoever it was that was sold or taken to the US was before John Christopher’s time. He is 4 generations from me. 5 to 8 generations was the reference given by Ancestry.com. Most likely the reference point is the first one you mentioned when the growing of cotton demanded labour. George was probably his grandfather or great grandfather.
    Yesterday someone on one of the Barbados Genealogy groups was asking for Sarey, that she was a slave on the Rising Sun. She is also on the Returns for Thomas Cole. It has made me now realize that the Coles did not have a Plantation and hired out their slaves. That explains how these slaves are captured on the Returns as belonging to Thomas Cole and yet my oral history from my grandmother placed them at Rising Sun. So most likely Tommy was hired out to Balls and ended up living there after Emancipation. I am only assume that the others were hired out to nearby Plantations.

I contacted the Genealogical Society in Mississippi but no response yet.

The 5th to 8th generation DNA match also brought back some white people as well.

There were about 6,000 persons who made returns in 1817, about 10% were free coloured either black or Mulatto.

There were about 300 plantations greater than 100 acres.

Clearly the majority of the slaveowners in Barbados, regardless of colour, owned small “plantations”.

Barbados is about 100,000 acres so if you take 300 plantations at more than 100 acres from that probably half of Barbados was owned by the 5,700 slave owners (6000-300 = 57000) of all colours.

The majority of the slave owners, whether black or white, thus owned on average, less than 10 acres.

The land was used in subsistence farming and farmed by the owners and their slaves.

The wealth/riches resided with the merchants who owned few slaves but bought produce from large and small plantation owners to supply their ships and those of their clients from around the globe.

Some merchants did own plantations.

They farmed/traded with the rest of the world so obviously they were far more successful than farmers/traders who operated on 166 sq miles or about 100,000 acres.

Historians have great difficulty comprehending this simple truth.

Once you start looking at genealogies for families and get down the individual you begin to realise how things actually worked and how much rubbish has been written which passes for history.

22. @ Lawson November 4, 2021 1:17 PM
    “Barbados ..no milfs here”

Lawson, aka Harry kill a hen, you are ‘nothing than’ an old fare-picking sailor.

So what about Donna or the other Silly Wo(e)man called the “Cuhdear Bajan” both of whom- in the ‘(in)imitable’ style of the Mighty Sparrow- like Jean & Dinah you can ‘get all for nothing’?

The queer Queen gone and poor Lawson take over now. Wuhlos!

23. (6000-300 = 57000) should be (6,000-300 = 5,700)

24. Lawson,
    Search for Jimmy Carr on youtube.
    I think you would like him.

GP, he is not your kind of comedian.

25. My company is trying to bring back in half of its employees on Monday and Wednesday and the other half of the employees on Tuesday and Thursday.

All employees must be fully vaccinated to come into the office. A PCR test must be performed once a week on any of the two days.

26. Well I plan to throw in the towel next year and head south (if God is willing). This is a year later than plan.

Trying to figure out what can get me through 15 years in Barbados or Trinidad .

Any ideas???

27. TheOGazertsNovember 4, 2021 7:11 PM

My company is trying to bring back in half of its employees on Monday and Wednesday and the other half of the employees on Tuesday and Thursday.

Sounds like the MTW, Monday Tuesday and Wednesday.

28. HeatherNovember 4, 2021 5:45 AM

Rising Sun was owned by Thomas LeGall (he was the tax collector in Oistins) and after his death it was sold to Renn Hampden.

In 1823, Renn Hamden owned Small Ridge, Balls and Chancery Lane. They were probably worked as a unit with Rising Sun whenever he bought it.

Renn Hamden might explain the links you are finding.

29. Freedom is a good slogan. Our Supreme Leader freed us from the chains of DLP torture in May 2018. Since then, we are free to follow our Supreme Leader and praise her political genius.

30. Tron is perhaps the funniest guy on BU. He delivers these killer lines without missing a beat.

31. @John thanks for you insight. I will continue to research and see where it goes!

So far I have Thomas LeGall’s will. I will try to get hold of George’s Cole’s will.

32. New words for 2021
    Dear Sirs,
    I am submitting the following for your approval
    Nogan: Barbados tourism slogan
    PLTogan: one who supports a nogan
    Johnogan: ardent nogan supporter and party hack.

33. “TheOGazertsNovember 4, 2021 7:11 PM

My company is trying to bring back in half of its employees on Monday and Wednesday and the other half of the employees on Tuesday and Thursday.”

just got an email from someone stating that his company says all employees back to work in NYC, he thinks it’s too early and dangerous, we shall see.

34. PLT
    We’ve always had fundamental problems with sloganeering although, like you, been exposed to a studied understanding of its role in marketing.

And “Barbados, Feel Free” is emblematic. For example, as a “former” slave state what are the determinants of real freedom? As a titularly independent or republican country what are the determinants of freedom?

This national and enduring fixation with form without substance, a nation the playground forever for White people, does not depart an iota from its recent origins.

That such a high powered committee, with all their misguided intellectual resources, could be so deployed when the country and region has vastly more important issues is the best example of the decadence at the centre of the Barbadian unreality.

That hilary beckles could find himself so lowered as to deal with tinsel clearly demonstrates that he is not even the brassbowl Bushie might have estimated.

35. @Pacha

The moniker you selected to broadcast your messages on the blog is not meant to convey a little of what you represent?

36. Sex for me was approached from the point of view of mutual enjoyment. I freely gave exactly what I expected to receive – sexual pleasure.

Only old farts think of sex as a woman giving up something to a man.

Woman too are sexual beings.

So you are correct that I never sold sex. I was never desperate like yuh mudda! But, of course, I was never a free for all.

Come into the twentieth, sorry the twenty-first century, you relic!

37. In matters of sexuality, the old farts of BU are trapped in the age of misogyny!

38. Sigh! And hung up on sex on the whole! Obsessed!

Homophobic, misogynistic, judgmental on all fronts (pun intended) forever using sexual terms as insults – “bullers” and “wickers”, “whores”, “woman having sex with men who are not their own husbands”, ” self-confessed fingerer of men’s botsies”.

Obsessed!

While the Silly Woman and “the other Silly Woman” ……. have minds long liberated, freeing up room to think on other things! No unnecessary clutter!

Out to Garden of Peace to pick my proliferation of peas! I don’t know where the pests have gone to but I have not even had to use neem for many months.

Upon these things I think long and hard.

39. Pun intended.

40. David
    It’s central to everything and without Her there is nothing.

41. Only a determined asshole could suggest that a dated uncomfortable medical intervention, which that asshole has said that a man known to her, and we use this language in a legal sense, would prefer done by a female doctor, and for which there have long been vastly more advanced and precise diagnostic methods, a reference to sex, as some sort of perversion, is at least a reach, and at worst …..

42. @ David

That projected growth still has us well below 2019 levels. The other thing is that the increase freight rates will drive up prices by January and we may well see a contraction in business due to high item cost. The problem with these straight line projections is they don’t take in variables.

The far east freight has nearly tripled and alot of the manufacturers there are now only keeping the larger clients. This will cause smaller players to now buy from an intermediary driving prices higher as well

43. RE there have long been vastly more advanced and precise diagnostic methods,

PLEASE KINDLY TELL US WHAT ARE THE vastly more advanced and precise diagnostic methods, EMPLOYED TO DIAGNOSE CARCINOMA OF THE PROSTATE

PLEASE KINDLY TELL US ALSO FROM YOUR VAST EXPERIENCE IN EXAMINING PATIENTS WITH PROSTATISM WHY EXAMINATIONS SHOULD BE ABANDONED WHEN EVEN WIDELY ACCLAIMED MEDICAL CENTERS STILL EMPLOY THIS PROCEEDURE ROUTINELY, AS DO PHYSICIANS ALL OVER THE WORLD

BORROW SARGEANTS NEJM COLLECTION AND GIVE US ALL THE REPORTS THAT CLIOM THAT THAT THIS PROCEDURE HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED

44. GOOD PUN DONNA
    PUNS ARE FUN
    I LOVE A GOOD PUN

45. @John A

What is sad, really sad is that after a decade of economic stagnation made worse by the pandemic we are forced to read same political partisan idiotic comments. When will we learn.

46. @ John November 4, 2021 6:52 PM
    The land was used in subsistence farming and farmed by the owners and their slaves.
    The wealth/riches resided with the merchants who owned few slaves but bought produce from large and small plantation owners to supply their ships and those of their clients from around the globe.
    (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Here you are, Sir John the BU Bajan Twistorian, at it again trying to distort Bajan history by sanitizing the nature of the relationship between the slaves and the owners and operators of the plantation system.

What else other than raw sugar, molasses and rum did the merchants/commission agents buy from the plantations to sell to the ships?

Was it yams and sweet potatoes in exchange for imported salted fish and pork or the slaves bought by the England –based traders from the gold coast of west Africa?

Sugar was King in Barbadoes (not shipping like Bermuda) and every economic activity revolved around the simple fact including the same ship supply operations or chandling once conducted at Little Bristol.

Sugar was the reason why west Africans were forcibly brought to Barbadoes. To work as slaves in the sugarcane fields; not in some stuffy building run by some Jewish or Quaker family in Bridgetown or Mr. Speight’s town.

47. @ David and the legal beagles on BU,

Is there a glimmer of hope for Ingrid ?

https://www.scc-csc.ca/case-dossier/cb/2021/39130-eng.aspx

48. I forgot. FEEL FREE to comment on the above.

49. RE What is sad, really sad is that after a decade of economic stagnation made worse by the pandemic we are forced to read same political partisan idiotic comments. When will we learn.

WHEN WILL YOU LEARN THAT IT AINT GOING TO GET ANY BETTER, AND THAT IT WILL GET WORSE AS PRECICTED IN HOLY WRIT?

WHEN WILL YOU LEARN THAT THIS IS JUST NOW THE PREAMBLE FOR THE PREDICTED ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT OF ANTICHRIST AND THE TRIBULATION PERIOD?

WHEN WILL YOU LEARN THAT IT WILL GET FAR WORSE BEFORE UM GET BETTER?

BUT I EXPECT TOO MUCH OF YOU THOUGH, YOU CANT EVEN WORK OUT THAT THE NEW PFIZER DRUG FOR COVID IS JUST BIG PHARMA AT WORK?

IF YOU CANT UNDERSTAND LIKKLE TINGS LIKE DAT HOW CAN YOU UNDERSTAND THE WEIGHTIER MATTERS OF THE ESCHATON?

WILL YOU TEK DOWN DIS POST TOO? LOL