Submitted by Paula Sealy

There was an old Ellerslie boy,
Whose time on the radio I used to enjoy.
At 65 from Starcom he promptly retired, Just six months later by the PM to get hired.

Fearing the spread of COVID,
Along came a plum job for David.
So now all of his Brasstack candour,
Has been bought by the highest bidder.

We know everyone is not Sir Johnny,
All cannot be fortunate like Farley.
And being on the back bench you see,
Isn’t for every stinging Bee.

Remember the rage,
That had Payne on the front page?
Hinkson didn’t make a sound,
So he hasn’t lost as much ground.

Now if my bed was made in St Thomas,
And Sharon was stop every Christmas.
I’d make time to enjoy my last full parliamentary session,
Before the bell tolls for the next general election.

Cause when the tide goes out,
No matter how hard you holler and shout.
Or if you have not a single doubt,
Some will lose their seats after the count.

It is now common to see,
MPs frequently on CBV TV. But with good reason,
Cause it is the silly season.

Some ain’t able speaking Medic-ally,
To get up and canvass daily. Soon the ones on the Edge,
Or the top of the Hill may lose their privilege.

Santia says she is a lioness.
But Vineyard’s bes’,
Is coming to tes’.
I hope he prays at St. Philip The Less.
His pal from the union in Harmony Hall, Is not one to take a fall. You see Toni is sure to contes’, Whether you call her Moore or Less.

What is a good MP?
That is hard to see.
Since they are not plenty,
Expect more whistles and calls for a penalty.

Last of all I will miss Caswell,
That man always gave them good hell.
By now he must already know,
That soon he’ll be home often to play with Snow.

305 responses to “David’s Reason is Silly Season”

1. Artax,

I have never sought to be a part of any clique. I see I have now been described as a scavenger and somebody apparently agreed.

But scavengers are an essential part of any ecosystem. They clean up and recycle mess, rendering it more useful.

So Donna will happily accept the role of cleaning up the shit the unthinking “creatives” drop all over BU!

You could call me Scavenger Sue!

2. @ David September 19, 2021 12:34 PM

It is good to know that our Supreme Leader shares my views and uses the same expressions.

This shows once again that Mia Mottley has chosen globalisation to move our island forward and make life better for our residents. She has obviously realised that we need an investor-friendly climate that benefits everyone.

3. There is no honor among thieves or is there???
    All we have here is the same old story ,the Duopoly is always defended be it the Bees or the Dees.
    All they do is end up defending the corruption and lies that characterize the BLPDLP.
    Amazingly these folks actually try to fool us they are serious with this “ friendly fire”.
    It’s hilarious and makes for very good Sunday afternoon relaxation.
    What will they think of next………..,,

4. ArtaxSeptember 19, 2021 2:52 PM

“a bread box can afford million dollar advisors and consultants but find it hard to pay unemployment and severance to the people.”

Could you please provide BU with a list of public owned entities where employees were terminated and ‘government’ is finding it hard to pay unemployment and severance to them?

Xxccccccccc
    I have a job for you go check BU archives

5. The BU Archives will reveal that no matter the incarnation ac, Angela Cox/Skeete, Jezzebel, Maripussi etc sher is a dye in the wool DLP yardfowl who has Mottley living in her head rent free.

6. WS

And on you part its always the same old refrain

7. @ William Skinner September 19, 2021 4:27 PM

I usually ask for an explanation if I don’t understand something.

RE: “All we have here is the same old story ,the Duopoly is always defended be it the Bees or the Dees. All they do is end up defending the corruption and lies that characterize the BLPDLP.”

Are you suggesting looking at Mr. Ellis’ new appointment objectively, is “defending the corruption and lies that characterize the BLPDLP.”

RE; “Amazingly these folks actually try to fool us they are serious with this “ friendly fire”.”

Would you care to explain the above comment?

8. John 2

It seems as though some people believe every contributor should ‘come out with their guns blazing’ and be overly critical of the ‘government.’

Shouting ‘duopoly, criminal minority crooks and black faced parliamentarians, fowl slaves, Barbadians are appallingly ignorant,’ Barbados is a failed state,’…………… gives one immediate ‘platinum membership’ to the club.

9. Richie Haynes was a member of the Duopoly for how long? The same Duopoly that was so bad from 1965 yet some decide to follow a man who was part of the lies and corruption parties and others are condemned for stating their views on a blog!

10. @ John2
    You have a valid point and I accept it as such. Haynes broke with the Duopoly and I was one who followed him. Your point is well taken.
    @ Artax
    As I told @ David , Ellis’ appointment is really of no concern to me.
    I have used the term Duopoly for years on BU. I will continue to do so. Whatever terms others , including you , use are not my concern.
    I stand by my position. It is just “friendly fire “ that I find hilarious.
    Carry on smartly.
    Back to @ John 2: In cricketing terms you bowled a good one at muh. Cheers !

11. John 2 you are on the ball hitting Skinner, s long hop for six.His leader of the NDP Dr Richie Haynes came out of the Dems for many years.Yet Skinner who is pretending to be so critical of the duopoly chose to join up with Mr Haynes and we all know how that ended.Therefore all this talk of duopoly is a lot of pretence on his part as he was part of it.I gone.

12. @ Mr. Skinner

But, yuh know…….. I found, “Haynes broke with the Duopoly and I was one who followed him,”……. hilarious as well.

Cheers, mate……. and you “carry on smartly” as well.

13. DavidSeptember 19, 2021 5:00 PM

The BU Archives will reveal that no matter the incarnation ac, Angela Cox/Skeete, Jezzebel, Maripussi etc sher is a dye in the wool DLP yardfowl who has Mottley living in her head rent free

Xxccccc

JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.
    Lawd have mercy
    I pray fuh you

14. @ Lorenzo
    Nice to hear you. I never made the West Indies so the occasional long hop is expected. It’s a real joy watching your superb bowling these days. Nobody bowls a Chinaman like you. Keep up the good work.
    @ Artax
    More than happy to bring a smile to your face old chap. Cheers !

15. WS

IMO the majority of the regulars here ( except 2) would support a third party if their thought it was VIABLE – not just because the duopoly is so bad so “try” something else it cant do no more harm.

16. “I have a job for you go check BU archives.”

Nah. The answer to my question cannot be found in BU’s archives.

You wrote, ““a bread box can afford million dollar advisors and consultants but find it hard to pay unemployment and severance to the people.”

And, I’ll ask you……. again,……Could you please provide BU with a list of public owned entities where employees were terminated and ‘government’ is finding it hard to pay unemployment and severance to them?

17. @ John 2
    I think the majority get pissed off from time to time but they still see the BLPDLP as their comfort level. In all fairness, the third parties, NDP included, have not put in the time or work to move them, in any large numbers, in another direction.
    You do realise that even after being slaughtered at the polls, the DLP is being seen as the “ real opposition”. Not one third party has been in a position to capitalise on that slaughter.
    So, in my opinion, we get a lot of “ friendly fire “ between the two camps. Also note that Atherley’s party has not been considered although he takes home the opposition leader’s salary with all the perks.
    This is the reality when all the noise subsides.
    Like it or not the Duopoly is in full control. I remain convinced that they are both equally corrupt. I suggest that they have done equally well and equally badly.
    There really is no difference and no serious analysis can disprove my position.

18. It is called dealing with reality. This duopoly is not going anywhere in any hurry. We have the choice of rejecting every move, which will be dismissed as purely partisan, or compartmentalising, assessing each move seperately and basing our comments on the merits of that particular move.

There is never going to be a perfect government. Many here quote from Animal Farm without getting the message.

They should take a read of Adrian Green’s column today.

Changing a political culture is a longterm and complex challenge that involves changing more than political parties or politicians.

In the meantime, we can chip away at the government of the day and win a few battles along the way.

Or we can have an Animal Farm type revolution and quickly end up back at square one.

19. William Skinner September 19, 2021 8:46 PM #: “You do realise that even after being slaughtered at the polls, the DLP is being seen as the “real opposition”. Not one third party has been in a position to capitalise on that slaughter.”

@ Mr. Skinner

I agree with you.

A few days ago I read Verla DePeiza announced that Richard Sealy is ‘Shadow Minister of Tourism’ in her ‘shadow cabinet.’ I thought a ‘Shadow Cabinet’ was appointed by the official Opposition Leader.

In my opinion, DePeiza can appoint whosoever she wants ‘to keep some noise and throw things at the wall, hoping something sticks.’

The DLP is not the official Opposition nor DePeiza the Opposition Leader. She is simply the leader of another political party, similar to how Grenville Phillips II led Solutions Barbados, Alex Mitchell and Bajan Free Party, Neil Holder and Barbados Integrity Movement or Mark Adamson and the People’s Democratic Congress.

So, what separates her and the DEMS that merits them being treated differently from those leaders and their political parties?

According to David BU, “All Barbadians accept the DLP is the effective political opposition in Barbados.”
    Although I disagreed, he has a point. I wouldn’t go as far as to ‘say’ “ALL Barbadians,” because several other people hold a similar point of view as I do.

However, I’ll be the first to agree the DEMS are keeping ‘a lot more noise’ than the official Opposition Leader, Joseph Atherley, and his PdP.
    When an issue arises, he comes out, engages in, according to you, “friendly fire,“ and disappears, only to resurface when an other ‘hot topic’ comes to the fore.

He has not shown any indication the PdP will be contesting the 2023 general elections. He has not named any candidates, or provided Barbadians with his vision or socio-economic policies for the future development of the island.

Similar could be said of the DLP as well.

20. Changing the political culture

I have been one of those, one of those many who saw the two major political parties as representing the same spirit. My belief was that we needed a new political party to arise to challenge the big two and bring transformation to the nation’s political culture.
    I felt that a new crop of politicians, had to step forward to take the reins from the old breed of politicians, who are steeped in the old political culture. I didn’t fully appreciate the deep implications of the phrase “political culture”.
    A culture is more than the sum of the individuals who make it up. A culture can travel farther than and outlast its individual members. For instance, you can find reggae culture outside of Jamaica and outside of Jamaicans. While Jamaica is the home and root of reggae, the music and its culture have gone beyond Jamaica. That culture has infiltrated and influenced persons of every nation, creed, class or colour. If all Jamaicans were to disappear now, Jamaican culture, reggae culture, would still survive. Culture spreads. It is contagious.
    If every Barbadian politician were to disappear right now, Barbadian political culture would still be with us. Because (1) the political culture is not just in the politicians. It infects their supporters, their opponents and even the neutral observers. Barbadian political culture, the political way of being, seeing, speaking, emoting, spreads everywhere. Case in point: the daughter of a friend told her mother that a candidate for form captain of her class was caught buying votes. And (2) Barbadian political culture is a product of wider Barbadian culture. It is created and sustained by Bajans. It reflects features of the wider culture.
    It is who we are. At least a particular aspect of us.
    Improved batch
    It is necessary to understand that it is not simply the politicians, but our political culture that we have issues with. It is us. When we thought that it was just “the politicians”, we could dream of voting out one batch and replacing them with a new and improved batch who would turn everything around.
    When it was just “the politicians”, we could point the finger and say “it is dem so dat got de place so”.
    Realising how deep and widespread the political culture is, beyond the walls of Parliament and the party headquarters, is to realise that it ain’t only dem it, it is we, we confused.
    This presents a hard and complex problem. Changing a government is relatively easy. Changing a culture is so much harder by comparison. The people who we would expect to change the culture, Government ministers, members of Parliament, and party faithful, are the ones who benefit the most from the way it is currently. It takes a special person to dismantle and reform a system that works for them as an individual in favour of the common good. This is, of course, provided that the politician or party member has the self-awareness and emotional and intellectual integrity to honestly critique themselves and the culture to which they belong. It can be hard to see ourselves.
    Even if there emerged politicians who understood that the political culture must change, would they realise that that culture was also in them and that they too had to change?
    Or would they assume that it is everyone else who has to change and not them? Changing the culture means changing ourselves.
    As we change ourselves, we will find ourselves odd-men and odd-women in a system, a culture which is in need of change. The system, the culture will exert pressure on you to conform.
    There will be rewards for going with the flow. There will be the temptation to try and fit in and not rock the boat.
    There may be criticism from all sides because you will not take sides.
    This is why the changes we need must first come from inside. From inside the individual Barbadian the conviction that “something has to change and that change begins with me” must arise. The determination to be in the system and culture but not of it must be firm. And then there must be the faith and patience to persevere knowing that the change will come, even if not in your lifetime.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: Adriangreen14@gmail.com

21. @ Donna
    Social and economic stagnation is not progress. The reality is that we have grown accustomed to this belief that we are moving when in fact we are standing very still.
    We refuse to admit this and end up trying to convince ourselves that we are somewhat integral to the process when all evidence suggest we are collectively treated with serious contempt.
    Once we remain contented or accept this , there would be no change and the inequalities would remain. That there is no perfect government anywhere is an acceptable and known fact . We are not seeking perfect governance , we are seeking good governance. It is a basic ingredient of true development.
    Under the circumstances, fighting a global epidemic and seeing its economy decline by almost eighty percent , is a frightening reality. However one cannot deny that the current administration is trying to do its best.
    However the real truth is that under both administrations, without all the problems that now exist, they allowed the inequalities and socio economic stagnation to prevail. In fact they governed in such a manner to maintain these inequalities.
    In other words , even when times were good , we were treated with damn contempt. And that’s the issue.

22. David

Only if Ellis was politically incline and could remain as is today …………….

Nuff nuff political capital under any party or as leader of a new party / culture

IMO

23. @ Artax
    “ He has not shown any indication the PdP will be contesting the 2023 general elections. He has not named any candidates, or provided Barbadians with his vision or socio-economic policies for the future development of the island.”

This bears out @ David’s point.
    about people seeing the DLP as the real opposition. Imagine nobody is asking the official opposition leader when he’s going to announce candidates but every day they ask Depeiza.
    That essentially shows that Atherley is not taken seriously. I don’t think that people remember that Caswell was actually put in the Senate by Atherley.
    Caswell has now evolved as a lone star. The only real voice speaking truth to power.
    So we should at least thank Atherley for that.

24. Caswell and his young colleague in the senate have not hidden the fact they have zero interest in running for political office. It is reasonable to conclude Atherley created the situation that informs public perception of his party.

25. @ David
    Exactly ! The ironic thing is that both Senators have been outstanding. I have followed and listen to Senator Drakes and she is perhaps one of the clearest thinkers in either house at this time.

26. There has not been true progress in Barbados in a very long time, William.

Not surprising, since I doubt we have a true definition of what progress actually is.

This would be a good time for a national conversation.

But who shall lead us in what must be a comprehensive and consensus seeking series of discussions?

Who has the stomach for the projectile vomiting that must take place?

NOTHING must be off limits. NO OPINION, no matter how nauseating, must be held in check.

I am ready. Don’t know who else is. Let’s get down and dirty! “Scornful hand eat dirty pie!”

We cannot clean up the dirt before we “unearth” it!

27. @ Donna
    We were not interested in any national conversation. The political culture of which Greene complains will not permit such. We assume that this quagmire was unplanned but it was perfectly engineered with state propaganda.
    You will recall that prior to COVID , we were actually bragging how “brilliant” we were at borrowing money. Going back to Stuart and company , we witnessed widespread economic madness.
    Until Greene and others who now occupy the higher echelons of public discourse, speak the truth as to why we are here and who brought us here, the unearthing
    that you suggest will not come about.
    One notes that the preferred exercise is to blame the masses. Quite recently on BU a very serious topic ended up addressing why poor people buy cell phones! We tend to blame the people and not those who are leading the people.
    I don’t think that as a country , we have been seriously engaged since the mid 70s. We were fed a lot of feel good stories and got into depending on international agency ratings and so on.
    In the mean time, the basic infrastructure began to deteriorate, that’s why today we are dealing with water shortages and poor housing etc.
    Many of these self appointed guardians of society are excellent gymnasts they know how to flip, fly through the air and then “ stick it” by landing perfectly on their feet. We the spectators applaud them and they end up with the medals and million dollars endorsements.
    And that’s the show for tonight, see you next time folks…………………
    No wonder then they can say that’s who we are. They know us quite well. They are the engineers.

28. William,

You are correct. Since the mid 70s we have not been seriously engaged. The battle was portrayed as won.

It was only just beginning.

29. William Skinner September 20, 2021 7:28 AM

I have read old issues of the Barbados Advocate ‘dating back’ to 1950, in which I’ve seen articles highlighting water shortages in St. Andrew and St. Joseph…… something still occurring to this day. And, there were also cases of “poor housing” as well.

There were also several cases of bus drivers being fined for speeding, allowing passengers to disembark at areas other than bus stops, failing to stop when signalled to do so police, while conductors were fine for overloading.
    For example, on December 20, 1951, Acting Police Magistrate of District ‘A,’ G.B Griffith, fined Edward Robinson of the General Bus Company, 5/-, to be paid in 14 days or 21 day imprisonment, after he was found guilty of failing to stop omnibus M1448, when signalled to do so by P.C Brathwaite.
    On January 10, 1951, H. A Thalma imposed a 5s fine on bus conductor, Marcus Marcus Morris, for overloading omnibus M-2138.
    There was also a case going back to September 1933, where a bus driver was fined 6/- and 1/- costs for talking to a passenger.

Doesn’t those cases remind you of what occurs with the operators ‘ZRs’ and mini-buses in 2021……… SEVENTY (70) YEARS later?

There were several cases involving vendors not utilizing the markets, preferring instead to ‘set-up’ shop where ever they chose to sell.

‘Government’ opened the newly built Probyn Street bus stand on Sunday, February 5, 1950 and by February 10, passengers were complaining that it was great inconvenience to them.

By May 1950, hawkers took over the bus stand, with bread vendors parking their carts along the stand. A news report indicated it was ‘gradually becoming a small wayside market and discarded coconuts shells, paper and skins added to its untidiness.”

Doesn’t this remind you of those vendors at the entrance to the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal………. SEVENTY-ONE (71) later, in 2021?

And, I’ve read contribution in which you wrote about ‘progressive thinkers’ to whom you listened with rapt attention.

If you were to analyse the situation, one would reasonably conclude there hasn’t been any significant changes during the past 71 years, and all those guys you keep alluding to, ‘were all talk and no action.’

30. @ Artax
    Their “ all talk and no action” resulted in the 1974 Public Order Act. I think you’re wrong to call men and women who suffered personally and professionally for exposing racism and other inequalities in the society as mere talkers. I can tell from your totally false statement that you are not aware of what transpired at that time . You obviously are unaware of what Errol Barrow told Eric Williams , when the Black Power activists were exposing similar atrocities against the masses in Trinidad.
    At a public meeting in Independence Square Barrow said something like this: I saying it now. Anybody who tries to overthrow a government is involved in treason. The penalty for treason is death.
    So, you are wrong about declaring people who took on the social ills of the country as bare talkers. BTW, they were out there in full sight not hiding behind pseudonyms. Go and talk to now retired police and they will enlighten you a bit more.
    The mere fact that you can go back further than the seventies to highlight poor services and creeping indiscipline bares out my point that the Duopoly can be justly accused or blamed for encouraging , allowing and engineering what we are confronted with at present.
    Peace bro’

31. Come on, my friend.

As I’ve mentioned to you before, perhaps it’s either the manner in which I express myself, or you read, and ‘shoot from the hip,’ without first attempting to understand what was written.

I specifically wrote, “If you were to ANALYSE the situation, one would REASONABLY CONCLUDE there hasn’t been any significant changes during the past 71 years, and all those guys you keep alluding to, ‘were all talk and no action.’.”

I’m sure you’re aware there is a significant difference between EXPOSING a situation……… and CHANGING it.

All I’m ‘asking’ is, despite all “the men and women who suffered personally and professionally for EXPOSING racism and other inequalities in the society,”………

……………. please indicate WHAT are the FUNDAMENTAL SOCIAL CHANGES those people you alluded to, INITIATED, especially when one takes into CONSIDERATION many of the social-economic problems, “racism and other inequalities” that EXISTED and were “EXPOSED” in those days……….. STILL EXIST TODAY?

Unless you’re trying to ‘tell’ me one of their achievements was the 1974 Public Order Act?

Please explain to me how I am wrong, when I DID NOT make a DEFINITIVE statement………. but an ASSUMPTION, based on what existed then and now?

Referring to people who “were out there in full sight (in the 1960s or 70s) not hiding behind pseudonyms,” as opposed to people using pseudonyms on a social media blog, you’re being facetious and it’s a silly comparison.

Unfortunately, this is you how guys operate. You cannot engage in a civil discussion, without ‘dropping snide remarks or going into the gutter.’

By the way, bear in mind, if you’ve accepted ‘men and women who were out there in full sight not hiding behind pseudonyms, suffered personally and professionally for exposing’ the ills of the society at that time, then, surely you can sympathize with anyone who does not want to suffer a similar fate, preferring to fight anonymously in this era, instead?

Tusahibuk alsalama.

32. @ Mr. Skinner

33. @ Artax
    Hiding behind pseudonyms simply means they were exposed. In other words the powers that be knew who they were. You obviously interpreted the comment incorrectly. In other words there was no social media back then. I did not attempt any comparison. I merely stated a fact. You assumed it was intended as a snide remark.
    They achieved a lot because they opened the eyes of hundreds of people who got a better understanding as to the socio economic conditions of their country. That my friend is called education. That is an achievement.
    Whether you assumed they were merely talkers , believe or said so as a statement you are wrong. They went to battle and they paid a very high price. And yes they achieved a whole lot in my opinion.
    Peace bro’

34. The COVID advisor returned to the media platforms yesterday and speaks about the CoVID dashboard
    He associates a level of mistrust amongst the people towards officials and govt presentation of the COvid numbers
    Barbadians mistrust of govt has been an ongoing talking point since 2018
    The dash board only reinforces such the reality
    Govt has already said and done enough damage to the physche of the Barbadian
    Mr ,Ellis job of being advisor to the people may well become an advisor to govt in helping govt to tell the truth and for that his pay might worth the while

35. So.Ellis comes out the paddock and has bolted towards one of govt misdeeds
    The elephant called Mistrust just hoping that govt takes the advice and not put a padlock on the door by which Ellis entered to take the job

36. Lol…a talking point since 2018. You must be blind, deaf or both. Or is it just selective? It has been going on for as long as I can remember. And no bill nor act will change that, for they can all find a way around that.
    You see a magistrate found grounds to extradite Tasker (under appeal), another party has already been tried and convicted, both implying laws in Barbados were broken, or the funds in question would not require cleaning.
    And the solution? Ignore. Do nothing. Pretend nothing happened. Cuss the USA for meddling.
    And note that every election, each of the duopoly have a suitcase full of “evidence” against the other, and yet nothing happens? It’s like a theatre play . It captures your attention briefly, then turns into a fairy tale.

37. “Barbadians mistrust of govt has been an ongoing talking point since 2018.”

Spot on, Coxy!!

And, I’m sure you’ll agree that’s one of the reasons why the DLP was defeated 30-0 at the polls.

But, as the saying goes, ‘ government is a continuum,’…………. so, the mistrust continues.

38. ArtaxSeptember 21, 2021 8:50 AM

“Barbadians mistrust of govt has been an ongoing talking point since 2018.”

Spot on, Coxy!!

And, I’m sure you’ll agree that’s one of the reasons why the DLP was defeated 30-0 at the polls.

But, as the saying goes, ‘ government is a continuum,’…………. so, the mistrust continues
    Xxcxccccc
    With all sincerity my hope is that come next election the same result coming from mistrust would occur again
    In.any event if Ellis is given an opportunity to tell it like it’ is
    There might be Hope that govt would heed the call and take his advice and not await a similar result which was handed to past govt at the election poll
    Ellis came out swinging like a sharp shooter on a mission

39. “With all sincerity my hope is that come next election the same result coming from mistrust would occur again.”

And, “with all sincerity my hope is that come next election,” a ‘third party’ would emerge, with credible, progressive thinking candidates, who would articulate clear vision and progressive socio-economic policies for Barbados’ future development

Unfortunately, the nightmare of having to reelect the BLP or return to the DLP……. a political party that’s clearly ‘not ready’…. may become a reality.

40. @Artax

ac lacks the capacity to understand the DLP as William will agree is an equal partner contributing to the problem.

41. @ David

That’s the problem with ‘die hard party supporters.’ They cannot think objectively.

I remember mentioning I’m yet to hear the DLP’s pre and post COVID-19 plans. angela cox’s response was, DePeiza criticized the vaccines. That, in her mind, was an articulation of a policy proposal.

When you examine both political parties, you’ll realise there aren’t any political, philosophical and ideological differences between the BLP and DLP………. no matter how much their members and supporters believe and may want to convince us otherwise.

Just look at how easily members move between both parties and fit in comfortably.

We’re faced with a serious COVID-19 pandemic. Here is an opportunity for the DLP to be MATURE and put politics aside to work with ‘government’…….. present and discuss alternative ideas.

Instead, DePeiza, the DEMS and angela cox prefer to ‘get up every morning’ to look for anything for which to criticize ‘government,’ WITHOUT providing any ALTERNATIVE SOLUTIONS………simply because they seem to believe being adversarial is ‘good politics.’
    In other words, keep some noise, criticize, hold marches, while keeping policies ‘close to your chest,’ worked for Mottley while she was in Opposition, therefore, it should work for DePeiza as well.

And, then these would try to convince us they have the interest of Barbados and Barbadians at heart, when in actuality they’re selfishly seeking ‘power.’

42. @ David
    All of this is friendly fire. It’s amusing regardless of which end it comes from. It’s a show. Nothing more.
    I said from the very beginning of this epidemic that we are extremely vulnerable because such crisis require unplanned for expenditure.I declined to enter any political discussion on the matter.
    I am also cognizant of the fact that our physical infrastructure will make it even more difficult to manage.
    A lot of jokers began to steer the discussion into politics and the usual party BS. You will note that I decline comment on Ellis’ appointment
    I don’t understand how any citizen would want to turn this serious COVID matter into a political football.
    There can be no balance when the Bees and Dees are sniping at each other.
    We need to throw our full weight behind the government’s efforts with COVID.
    Peace

43. ArtaxSeptember 21, 2021 10:23 AM

That’s the problem with ‘die hard party supporters.’ They cannot think objectively.

I remember mentioning I’m yet to hear the DLP’s pre and post COVID-19 plans. angela cox’s response was, DePeiza criticized the vaccines. That, in her mind, was an articulation of a policy proposal.

Xxxxxc

Go to bu archives and pull.out that comment which u said I made
    Xxxxxxx

44. ac @Artax

Go to bu archives and pull.out that comment which u said I made

Xxxxxxxxx
    Three hours and counting
    Xxxxx
    Bring the evidence u always quick to find anything that can support your side of the story
    This is three times I have asked u to bring evidence to support your mouthing
    Rolling my eyes

45. angela cox September 21, 2021 3:20 PM #: “Go to bu archives and pull.out that comment which u said I made. Three hours and counting. Bring the evidence u always quick to find anything that can support your side of the story. This is three times I have asked u to bring evidence to support your mouthing. Rolling my eyes.”

@ angela cox

I apologize for keeping you waiting. Went into the BU archives, as you suggested. Guess what I found?

Perhaps you may want to stop “rolling your eyes” to read the following.

Artax August 22, 2021 9:00 AM

We are yet hear what are their socioeconomic policies, how will they GO ABOUT DEALING with COVID-19, if they plan to restructure the economy, more importantly, Verla’s vision for Barbados.

angela cox August 22, 2021 9:25 AM

If memory serves correct Verla had made several statements on Covid even stating that govt take on vaccinations were insufficient to give public clarity on the issue of mandatory vaccine.”
    “On the issue of the economy dlp spokesperson Ryan Walter’s have made several comments and statements which Depezia has not disagreed.”
    “In any case going into the last election MiA kept her plans closed and only a pursue a plan of criticizing the then govt.”

Artax August 22, 2021 10:23 AM

My friend, it’s clear you read, but DO NOT UNDERSTAND what you read. I wrote, “we are yet hear how will they ago about DEALING with COVID-19.

“Verla making several statements on Covid and even stating that govt take on vaccinations were insufficient to give public clarity on the issue of mandatory vaccine,”……………

…………. are MERE CRITICISMS and NOT an articulation of a COVID-19 policy.”

angela cox August 22, 2021 10:39 AM

My response should be one gathered with sufficient understanding that Depezia has made sufficient input on that issue and many others
    Hence in likewise manner Mia kept a closed mouth on issues going into the last election
    Verla should not be denied the same due

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Artax August 22, 2021 11:23 AM

angela cox August 22, 2021 10:39 AM

Sufficient input in what?????

Criticizing is NOT the same as ARTICULATING a policy initiative.

And, you’re suggesting the DLP shouldn’t outline their plans for socioeconomic development of the island, but the electorate should ‘buy a pig in a bag’ and vote for them based ONLY on their criticisms of the BLP?

Reminds me of a comment the Blogmaster made.

David August 17, 2021 7:28 AM

The BU Archives.

#priceless

46. How zat umpire?
    👆

47. Artax

angela cox August 22, 2021 9:25 AM

If memory serves correct Verla had made several statements on Covid even stating that govt take on vaccinations were insufficient to give public clarity on the issue of mandatory vaccine.”
    “On the issue of the economy dlp spokesperson Ryan Walter’s have made several comments and statements which Depezia has not disagreed.”
    “In any case going into the last election MiA kept her plans closed and only a pursue a plan of criticizing the then govt

Xxxxxcc
    You might be a wordsmith on taking comments and interpreting them into.what you belive what they are meant to say

Xxxxxxxxx
    These are your words

Xxxxxx
    Again where did I say Verla Depezia criticized the vaccines
    Maybe you should stop trying to.be Master interpreter for other people’s comments

48. @ angela cox

It’s clear you’re a semi-literate buffoon.

49. ArtaxSeptember 21, 2021 6:26 PM

@ angela cox

It’s clear you’re a semi-literate buffoon.

Xxcccccc

It is clear u are a total jac..a.ss

Xxxc

The comment of which u reference me as saying Verla Depezia criticized the vaccine makes you conclusion of what I stated to be a bold faced lie
    The issue by which I made my comment resolved around the issue of mandatory vaccination which Verla did make a comment on and not the vaccine
    However in your rush to judgement you pull out a comment which does not give the full context of what the issue was about
    Guh long jac.a.ss yuh made my day
    Now go back to the archives and dig a little longer for smut