Recent COVID 19 Dashboards reflect a global picture, one of rising infections caused mainly by the Delta variant. Unfortunately because Barbados does not exist in a fishbowl, our tiny island is being ravaged by the the coronavirus. Given the perilous state of the economy before the pandemic struck, Barbadians should expect a period of economic hardship for the next many years, ten, twenty …it is left to be seen. We will probably be told differently very soon with 2023 rapidly approaching.

It is regrettable the one advantage our island has compared to larger countries we continue to squander. Come together, agree to a way forward , inspire residents to rally behind a sensible plan AND EXECUTE. Instead we see the same old, political opportunism, high class ignorance and panic.

Covid 19 Dashboard 1/9/2021

The blogmaster is hopeful this blog can be used to record constructive suggestions to help onlookers negotiate the ongoing Covid 19 challenge, now and in the long-term. To repeat – the blogmaster is hopeful.

One thing is for certain, it is going to be a bleak Christmas.

439 responses to “Barbados: in the Grip of a Pandemic”

1. The majority of school uniforms sold in Bridgetown stores, the ‘Classic’ brand, are imported from China.

2. The unvaccinated seem to be high risk for being infected by the vaccinated, many professionals are saying that… Having to work together in the same space is a real problem..

“His pastor Brian Houston is a WHITE New Zealand born man.”

both groups have naysayers who don’t believe there is a virus….and DIE….natural selection…don’t care how it came about, irrelevant at this point….there is a virus and both unvaccinated and vaccinated are becoming infected and passing it around….and DYING from it..

has nothing to do with this..
    @WURA-War-on-U September 3, 2021 5:55 AM “…look after the BLACK/AFRICAN FAMILY instead…African descendants are on their own…

3. I prefer to think for myself, see what is being said by whom.

20 odd years ago and all this hype would have caused me grave concern.

At this stage of my life and knowing what I know I decide to watch and wait …. wait and see in other words.

4. Here we go, the blogmaster expressly asked for commenters to make suggestions how to negotiate the pandemic given the delta and other variants which have challenged the herd immunity idea, instead we get some of up pasting NS. These comments will be deleted.

#jesus

5. 7 people died in Barbados the first Covid10 wave.

41 people, that is, 5.8 times as many as those who died in the first wave died in the second wave.

If the Delta variant transmits more easily, and if it is just as deadly as the variants which were around for the first two waves, we can expect 238+ people to die in this third wave.

So who will be deaths 52 to 238?

Now might be a good time to buy shares in a funeral home company.

6. I used Dominica alot for my decision making but of late its testing methods have changed.

It used to use PCR tests and now it uses Antigen and PCR.

It is frustrating to see the PCR tests deliver 11 positive and the antigen deliver 300+.

I am beginning to wonder when just when you need consistency in testing we end up with inconsistency.

It’s like someone is deliberately trying to sow confusion.

Anyway, there are other countries to check, Taiwan for example.

I don’t know if I trust any experts at the moment.

7. Not a fella din ask “What is in the Viagra?” when Pfizer put it on the market in 1998. Instead the fellas spent BILLIONS of THEIR OWN MONEY buying this Pfizer product; pharmacists in Barbados and elsewhere couldn’t keep it on their shelves. Now people are hesitant to take a FREE Pfizer vaccine.

Fellas if you can trust Pfizer to take good care of your penis, why not trust their vaccine?

8. @Hants

Your approach is definitely recommended if one is vaccinated. The chalky is that Barbados like many countries around the world have large numbers of unvaccinated.

9. Everyone has to make those decisions on their own, that too is NOT a one size fits all…some people worked out a formula to keep infections at bay and those have worked well so far…if it doesn’t it’s because the powers that be are not telling people everything, but so far….18 months and counting…so good..

what might work for one person may not work for another, then information will spread on social media that they were listening to somebody called Cuddear on BU….😂🤣

10. “Fellas if you can trust Pfizer to take good care of your penis, why not trust their vaccine?”

every couple months ya hear a few of them loaded up on Viagra die of heart attacks while assuming the position.

11. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 3, 2021 1:37 PM

Not a fella din ask “What is in the Viagra?” when Pfizer put it on the market in 1998. Instead the fellas spent BILLIONS of THEIR OWN MONEY buying this Pfizer product; pharmacists in Barbados and elsewhere couldn’t keep it on their shelves. Now people are hesitant to take a FREE Pfizer vaccine.

Fellas if you can trust Pfizer to take good care of your penis, why not trust their vaccine?

“Viagra was originally tested for heart problems – angina pectoris, a chest pain associated with coronary heart disease – on the basis of its vasodilatory effects (in other words it widens the blood vessels). Its results as an anti-angina drug were only modest, but patients reported the unexpected “side effect” of improved erections. The focus of interest in this drug shifted rapidly from the heart to the bedroom.”

https://blogs.biomedcentral.com/on-medicine/2014/10/20/viagra-protects-the-heart-back-to-the-future-for-the-love-pills/

In other words, Pfizer got it wrong!!!

It only came to light when the nurses went to see why all the men in the original tests were lying on their stomachs.

Has Pfizer got it wrong again?

12. @David September 3, 2021 8:48 AM “Will repeat the question. If experts are agreeing that preventing caronavirus infections is impossible re achieving herd immunity- should Barbados change strategy of community testing by identifying and treating the sick and those showing symptoms only? ”

But David, Barbados has not actually been doing community testing.

Barbados has in fact been identifying and treating the sick and those showing symptoms, and the close contact of those infected.

13. @John at 158 “In other words, Pfizer got it wrong!!! Has Pfizer got it wrong again?”

I’ve never used any Phizer product. I took the Astra Zeneca vaccines. You will have to direct your questions to the people who annually spend billions of THEIR OWN MONEY buying the product(s)

14. @Simple Simon

May be you missed it but the CMO advised community testing as well as with some businessws was being conducted.

15. Loan

“Given the perilous state of the economy before the pandemic struck, Barbadians should expect a period of economic hardship for the next many years, ten, twenty …it is left to be seen.”

Xxxxx$$$$$$

Ralph Gonzales a forgiven LOAN Broker. Can secure 2 billion economic aid package for Bim.

Who is “Gaston Browne-PetroCaribe” ?

16. @ David

Yes i agree with you that we will have to live with this for a while for sure. Mask wearing protocols and testing will have to be part of our life along with vaccinations. Will it mean booster shots? Probably and no one knows how many or how often.

Truth is though we have to coexist with it as we do with dengue and the common cold. Life can’t not stop or be put on hold for it any longer. Maybe we may have to implement rules that state companies with a number of employees exceeding X will have to test monthly, who knows what the next step will be.

17. @John A

There was a story published in the USA today the Biden administration was told to suspend the decision to administer booster shots pending more analysis of data.

18. Way back when, it was opined that the answer to this pandemic was mass testing.

Remember this article?

https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/03/25/call-for-mass-covid-19-testing/comment-page-1/

For me, one of the benefits of the testing as it has been practiced worldwide up to now has been the data it has produced.

It is easy to recognize patterns, waves and inconsistencies and try to explain them.

If testing were to stop it may be no big deal because there is plenty data already which can be analyzed.

19. DavidMarch 25, 2020 8:22 AM

@Peter

The idea is to aggressively test to establish if the virus in located in geographical clusters? Barbados is a small place after all. Should the testing be all inclusive?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You want to be able to know if for instance the QEH kitchen which is routinely shut down as a hotspot occurs because there were cases admitted and it spread OR if the whole of the QUE is in the midst of a hotspot, in other words, if water for example tis to blame.

By now the authorities know where the hotspots are or were but have pursued a policy of scrupulously keeping the information away from the public.

20. As news trickle out, everyone will still have to be very careful of infections…and do their own part to protect themselves, governments cannot protect anyone. unless a vaccine is developed to HALT INFECTIONS….and right now, until they can all be on one page, it’s not likely to happen anytime soon, too much confustion, finger pointing, blame assigning….

https://youtu.be/6luhvfpPn9c?t=4

21. It’s easy for China to grab Caribbean islands…they don’t have the brightest leaders and ALL OF THEM put the people and islands in EXTREME DANGER and economic duck’s guts.

22. ” governments cannot protect anyone. unless a vaccine is developed to HALT INFECTIONS….and right now, until they can all be on one page, it’s not likely to happen anytime soon, too much confustion, finger pointing, blame assigning….”

+++++££££

Stiffer penalties on those individual-assholes who are not compliant with Mask-Wearing protocols…Again, follow de Singapore examples:

EVENING STANDARD
    August 19, 2021

British man living in Singapore has been jailed for six weeks after repeatedly refusing to wear a face covering in public. Benjamin Glynn, 40, was found guilty on four charges of breaching coronavirus protocols.

Jail & Stiff Fines, if you can’t be a responsible Citizen.

UK Covid news LIVE: Surge of 42,076 new infections as Mu virus strain hits UK 🇬🇧

Where does it STOP 🛑

23. https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9952515/Kansas-grandmother-COVID-19-recorded-death-US.html“The identity of the first recorded COVID-19 death, Lovell Brown, was revealed
    “Brown died at the age of 78, on January 9, 2020 at Providence Hospital, Kansas City, after experiencing COVID-19-related symptoms since Christmas 2019. Her cause of death was updated from ‘acute stroke and chronic obtrusive lung disease’ to ‘COVID-19 Pneumonia’ three months ago but family was not alerted. It is unknown why the ICU doctor amended the death certificate a year later. Before the change, the first COVID-19 death in the U.S was believed to be Patricia Dowd, a California woman who died from the virus on February 6, 2020. Five other January 2020 deaths were amended to COVID-19 in California, Alabama, Georgia, Oklahoma and Wisconsin”

The 1918 Spanish flu pandemic which killed 50 to 100 million people was for nearly 100 years believed to have started in Spain. The scientific consensus now is that it started in Haskell County, Kansas.

Since Covid19 deaths were already occurring in multiple US States, most of then inland and very far from the Pacific coast/China very early in 2020, what if Covid19 also started naturally in Kansas when a relatively harmless corona virus mutated?

24. “K Covid news LIVE: Surge of 42,076 new infections as Mu virus strain hits UK 🇬🇧

Where does it STOP 🛑”

not any time soon…that we know..

25. https://www.mercurynews.com/2021/09/02/exclusive-how-did-a-kansas-grandmother-just-become-the-first-u-s-covid-death-not-even-her-family-knew-until-this-week/

How did a Kansas grandmother just become the first U.S. COVID death? Not even her family knew until this week. For more than a year, the February 2020 death of a San Jose woman was considered the first in the U.S

26. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The Dr Chetty protocol for the 8th day is probably the most successful intervention for treating COVID-19 patients.

27. Cuhdear

You have to take into consideration the amount of people that are vaccinated In the Third wave – should reduce the expected number of deaths

28. ecause when we all thought we had the flu in Nov-Dec 2019…the virus was already spreading in the west….China was more than likely still hiding whatever happened then…

29. Cuddear…because when we thought we had the flu in Nov-Dec 2019…the virus was already spreading in the west including in Barbados……as we have been saying for 18 months….China was more than likely hiding whatever happened….untl they couldn’t anymore.

30. Blame it on Covid

31. Now they own Barbados and you will soon be speaking Chinese…ain’t life grand….parliament dummies/dunces too like being owned…but the population can remove themselves and let ching chong have them.

32. DavidSeptember 3, 2021 8:44 AM

Did you watch the video?

Did you read the comment posted by the blog master on Bobby Morris Facebook where you and your mate hang out?

Have the last word.
    What ?
    Why are u trolling me

Xxxxxcc
    31 new Covid cases just maybe a sign of the slow rate the lab are conducting these cases
    Govt is back to square one

33. @John2 September 3, 2021 5:27 PM Cuhdear. You have to take into consideration the amount of people that are vaccinated In the Third wave – should reduce the expected number of deaths.

True.

Thanks for the correction.

34. A law is definitely needed, preferably international…..banning governments and greedy private sector crooks from terrorizing civil society…especiallly after they already TIEF BILLIONZ FROM THE PEOPLE..

“It’s completely unacceptable for either the government or the private sector to impose upon you the requirement that you show proof of vaccine to just simply be able to participate in normal society,” the governor said before signing his executive order. “If you want to go to the movie theater, should you have to show that? No. If you want to go to a game, no. If you want to go to a theme park, no. … I think it’s something that people have certain freedoms and individual liberties to make decisions for themselves.”

talking about TIEF…i thought there would be celebration and BIG NEWSPAPER WRITE UP, bragging and boasting now that Bitt, Inc….fly by night crooks are now UNDER the Nigeria E-Naira……wuh happen?…thought yall would be boasting about that partnership…yall quiet like MICE…..i waited all day to see it in the news…can’t wait anymore..

35. @WURA-War-on-U September 3, 2021 5:51 PM “China was more than likely hiding whatever happened…untl they couldn’t anymore.”

What if China isn’t hiding anything?

What if this pandemic, like the 1918 pandemic which killed 50 to 100 million people started naturally in Kansas?

P,S. I haven’t had the flu since 2012. Haven’t had chikungunya, dengue nor zika either. Still trying to keep safe.

36. It isn’t possible with the dataset from Barbados to recognize waves.

Too few deaths.

We should be looking at where those persons lived and worked.

We only have a few data points so it is easy to analyze

37. @Hants September 3, 2021 5:56 PM “Blame it on Covid”

That Nation video is from January 2020.

38. ” This is not who we are” LOL!!! I can’t imagine a mighty white being on the receiving end of such appalling behaviour. We really have to educate our domestic black brothers and sisters to raise their level.

39. Had a long day now getting back to reading to some of the baffled sh.it posted here
    For e.g

ArtaxSeptember 3, 2021 9:30 AM

The lady seems to be of the opinion BU’s SOLE PURPOSE is to provide her with a platform to criticize Mia Mottley…

Xxxxxxcccc

Stupse lol

40. “What if this pandemic, like the 1918 pandemic which killed 50 to 100 million people started naturally in Kansas?”

i will play along, so who took it to China? andwhat was it doing in Barbados BEFORE JANUARY, 2020?

41. So Fintech will help Nigeria develop their digital currency, they have been hired to do so and get it done by the end of the year…..so they are working for Nigeria…and still no boasting…yall lapsing, even Bloomberg have the info..

imagine that…minorities HAVE TO WORK FOR A BLACK MAJORITY COUNTRY…

42. Extreme baffled shit
    Xxxccccccc

Atax Sept 3rd 2021 @7.30 am

For example, the topic of this thread is, ‘Barbados: In the grip of a pandemic,’ and, rather than post a relevant, meaningful contribution, she is making her usual attempts to distract contributors from the conversation, by introducing crap about the Fairchild Street market, while misrepresenting the truth
    Xxxxxxxx
    My thoughts
    The vendors have waited more than three years for those huts to be finished shouldn’t be left standing out in the cold
    This situation is needed for a calling of heads to roll those who would undermine the process

Xxccccc

43. Oscar De La Hoya Hospitalized for Breakthrough COVID, Withdraws from Comeback Boxing Match

Oscar De La Hoya will not be able to participate in his upcoming comeback boxing match contracting a breakthrough case of COVID-19.

The Olympic gold medalist, 49, revealed that he has been hospitalized for the respiratory virus on Friday, saying in a statement shared to his Twitter and Instagram, “Wanted you to hear directly from me that despite being fully vaccinated, I have contracted Covid and am not going to be able to fight next weekend.”

De La Hoya was scheduled to square off against UFC champion Viktor Belfort at the Staples Center in Los Angeles on Sept. 11. The boxing match would have been his first since his retirement from the sport in 2008.

“Preparing for this comeback has been everything to me over the last months, and I want to thank everyone for their tremendous support,” De La Hoya said in his statement. “I am currently in the hospital getting treatment and am confident I will be back in the ring before the year is up. God bless everyone and stay safe.”

De La Hoya also spoke about contracting COVID-19 in an accompanying video filmed from the hospital. “I mean, what are the chances of me getting COVID? I’ve been taking care of myself and this really, really kicked my a–,” he said.

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/oscar-la-hoya-hospitalized-breakthrough-212539377.html

44. I stop counting the daycare closure this week

Haynesville Day Nursery closed until further notice – by Barbados Today September 3, 2021
    The Child Care Board advises that the Haynesville Day Nursery, located at Haynesville, St. James, is closed, until further notice
    Xccccccc
    Only thing left is for govt to once again implement a pause until the situation gets better control
    At present seems as if the Del Santos lab is overwhelmed with the massive testing conducted and having to roll out results are becoming a challenge
    I agree with those who are asking govt to have a two week pause

45. angela cox September 3, 2021 7:42 PM #: “The vendors have waited MORE THAN THREE YEARS for those huts to be finished shouldn’t be left standing out in the cold.”

angela cox June 14, 2021 7:03 PM #: “But over 2million dollars spent and LESS THAN one hundred stalls the size of broom closet FINISHED in TWO YEARS is unacceptable.

angela cox June 14, 2021 7:58 PM #: “100 hundred stalls the size of shoe boxes in TWO YEARS, plus 2 million dollars.”

angela cox June 14, 2021 8:40 PM #: “Again 2million spent in TWO YEARS and NOT EVEN ONE stall completed.”

angela cox June 15, 2021 12:57 PM #: “2 million dollars spent on 2×4 stalls in TWO YEARS and NOT ONE completed.”

From two (2) years to MORE THAN three (3) years.

From LESS THAN 100 stalls FINISHED…….. to 100 stalls FINISHED…………. to NOT EVEN ONE FINISHED.

Make up your mind.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

angela cox June 19, 2021 9:15 AM #: “PEOPLE like Braven reminds of the house negro. Why don’t HE place HIS office in the same adjacent area close to the sewage plant. A TYPICAL BLACK MAN who would shine HIS masters boots to secure a safe haven for HIMSELF.”

angela cox June 19, 2021 9:43 AM #: “Braven words to the vendors about having to relocate near the sewage plants speaks volumes to where HIS interest lies. Yuh think HE could chant that tripe to the white business class if they had a similar grievance. The MAN is just a figure of who the cat likes HE licks.”

BARVEN is NOT a MAN, but the ACRONYM for Barbados Association of Retailers, Vendors and Entrepreneurs.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

angela cox June 14, 2021 7:03 PM #: “Sufficient and enough for the Auditor general to ASK questions and raised the eyebrows of concerned citizens.”

angela cox June 15, 2021 8:26 PM #: “Take note the ACTUAL or NEAR TIMING of the video COINCIDES with the Auditor general report. Hence the video was of recent. The citizen reporter REPEATEDLY SAYS that his questions STEM FROM WHAT WAS WRITTEN IN the Auditor general report ABOUT the PROJECT.”

The recent Auditor General’s Report was for the financial year ending March 31, 2020. To be precise, it was an audit report of government’s financial statements for the financial year April 1, 2019 – March 31, 2020.

If construction of the new market facilities BEGAN in September 2020, how could the Auditor General mention anything in his report about a project that BEGAN SIX (6) MONTHS AFTER the END of the financial year that was under review?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

My thoughts????

EXTREME BAFFLED BULLSHIT.

“Thine ignorance knoweth no boundaries.”

https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif