The ruling Administration has reneged on its Covenant of Hope where it promised to include Barbadians in governance. Perhaps one of the most frightening examples to date is Barbados becoming a Republic without a Referendum or consultation with the people. This article will focus on the impact on General Elections.

We have all heard it so many times that it has become second nature to state “elections in Barbados are constitutionally due every five years” and since the last general election was held in 2018, it would be expected that the next General Election will be held in 2023. The latter part of the statement is now in doubt.

The admission that the Constitution will come into existence after the Republic has started was brazen. This form of oppression is subtle. It should be the other way around with the Constitution first and the Republic after so that everyone can read and understand what they are getting into.

That admission has changed everything. One does not know how long a time period that will be. Since a date has not been specified, could it be a month, six months, a year, five years? The Prime Minister’s statement was not precise and therefore it cannot be measured. Hence, regardless of political affiliation, every member of the Barbadian public must acknowledge that this is a massive red flag.

There are several requirements to getting a mortgage and once these are met, the purchaser is provided the mortgage agreement and can get legal advice on the contents before signing. It is a legally binding document by which a person agrees to the principle, interest, payments, the terms and the other conditions. If the bank provided you with a piece of paper with just the title Mortgage on it and informed you that this will be the mortgage and asked you to sign without the principle, interest, payments, the terms and the other conditions being declared in writing, would you sign that piece of paper? Added to this you are told by the bank that the actual mortgage document with the written details will be available shortly after, not even on a specific date, would you sign? No one with all their mental faculties working would sign this blank mortgage document as the bank could write after the fact whatever it wishes on the document.

In the scale of things, the Constitution of Barbados is far more significant than a mortgage. It too is a legally binding document that will not only contain the laws that govern a mortgage but every other law that defines all aspects of life in Barbados. So how can the people of Barbados be asked by the government to agree to a change in the status of the State and a new Constitution with a blank document? What will be written on this document after the fact?

Essentially that is what the government is asking the people to do, to agree to a grand show and tell and later find out about the laws that make the new Constitution. It is a buy now pay later concept that is a trap for unsuspecting buyers.

There is no guarantee that elections will be held in 2023 as this is based off the present Constitution. Without a definitive time period of when the proposed Constitution will be ratified into law no one knows when the next General Elections will be. Will the document be laid in Parliament in a month, a year, or two years from the change of status? Only heaven knows.

In addition, one cannot even assume who will be legally responsible for issuing the writ that declares when elections will be held. One does not know if changes will be made to the Electoral and Boundaries Commission, if the matter of campaign finances will be a free for all, if payments to social media influencers will become part of the law.

The action by government to change the status of the island first and the Constitution after the change in status causes one to question the legality of this process. Due process is that the laws come first. What happens in the interim, emergency law or military law?

The matter of when the next General Elections are to be held is not to be taken lightly. There has been no Referendum, no terms of reference, no draft issued on the type of Republic or the contents of the new Constitution. There are just too many unknowns and people wanting to believe what they have no evidence of.

To the electorate, why is this entire process a secret? You are not at a Fair, the Constitution of Barbados should never be part of a lucky dip where after withdrawing your hand from the box you get the surprise of your life! Now is the time to stand up and fight for your rights.

209 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – When Is the Next General Election?”

1. I don’t even need to be bored by your ignorance anymore, since ya can never refute anything i say, even if i post it a thousand times a day…… they will be TALKED DOWN UNTIL THEY STOP SELLING OUT PEOPLE WHO LOOK JUST LIKE THEM…

.neither YOU nor THEM have the power to stop anything, so let them continue trying to sell out OUR CONTINENT…their latest dirty scam to impress thieving minorities….. and both you and THEM will see…they are no longer dealing with our helpless parents and grandparents…they have US to get through and around, the beneficiaries/inheritors and survivors, most of whom already have DESCENDANTS who are also ENTITLED TO THEIR CONTINENT.

try their evil Judas shit again…and they will get an ALL OUT WAR….that they are not in any way prepared for…they can’t say they have not been warned, i have warned them EVERY DAY..

watch muh nuh..

2. Explosive Revelations

https://vifreepress.com/2020/09/chinas-490-million-investment-in-barbados-behind-snap-decision-to-remove-the-queen-tory-mp/amp/

BRIDGETOWN — China is behind Barbados’ snap decision to remove the British Queen as its head of state.

That’s the shocking claim of a conservative member of the UK Parliament who said that a Chinese investment of $490 million in Bridgetown’s tourism infrastructure forced the Barbadian leader’s hand in the matter this month.

“Some islands seem to be close to swapping a symbolic Queen in Windsor for a real and demanding emperor in Beijing,” Tom Tugendhat, chairman of the UK’s Foreign Affairs Committee, said. “It’s interesting because of course the UK is really not a monarchy, we’re a republic pretending to be a monarchy. The Crown in Parliament after all is simply a recognition that the people are sovereign.”

Tugendhat said Beijing is attempting to replace London’s historical status and presence in the Caribbean with a $600 million loan to Cuba, a $1 billion loan to Antigua and Barbuda, a $1.9 billion loan to Trinidad & Tobago, a $450 million loan to the Bahamas and a $2.7 billion loan for Jamaica.

“China has been using infrastructure investment and debt diplomacy as a means of control for a while and it’s coming closer to home for us,” he told The London Times.

Meanwhile, CIA intelligence in the U.S. about Chinese activities in Barbados has now reportedly been shared with Britain.

China has poured billions of dollars of investment into the Caribbean in recent years while signing tax and trade deals in an attempt to wrest the region out of the West’s sphere of influence and bring it under the sway of Beijing.

The Chinese government has invested at least $7 billion in six Caribbean nations since 2005, records complied by the American Enterprise Institute show — building roads, ports and the five-star Baha Mar casino and resort in the Bahamas — though the true figure is thought to run well into the tens of billions.

While some of the money arrives as part of trade and investment deals, much of it is offered as “soft loans” for infrastructure projects that are harder to track and typically come with requirements to use Chinese contractors for the work. The loans also provide long-term leverage for Beijing over the cash-strapped island nations.

Some eight countries in the region have signed on to Beijing’s Belt and Road initiative, kind of a 21st Century maritime version of the Silk Road, which includes: Jamaica, Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago.

Xxxx
    Read the complete story in the above link

3. And for those who want to speak about your views on the republic see the below

Please see registration links for Town Hall Meetings listed below:

Alexandra School – https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_l5e77Eq-Sp20D8oJFa_LBg

Princess Margaret School – https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_h9XhOK5kSuyYZVMHDCER_Q

Deighton Griffith School – https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_iieiZhRpSUCvcPR_gc7rLA

Combermere School – https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Y7fb5EEHTmiASzF80yvtXg

4. Angela Hal Austin Cox

UK and USA has been coming out with anti-China rhetoric and propaganda daily simply because China is overtaking them economically globally fair and square so they resort to every dirty trick they have got in the book of hook and crook. If you like racial warmongers propaganda then you can eat up UK and US shit for breakfast and remain subordinated to white supremacists who represent white people who are the minority in the world and are responsible for the majority of world problems of today. When UK and USA were droning black and brown people over last 20 years, China was developing the developing world. They should block USA and UK access from rare earth resources required for Information Technology computers drones robots smart bombs and WMDs. Tables are Turning Babylon is Burning with Anxiety.

5. “.neither YOU nor THEM have the power to stop anything,”

your little mind equates and associates me with them

which explains your minority criminal diatribes being triggered when I speak

6. How will Barbados govt repay China
    I dare to say some payments by land
    The Chinese govt is smart and have a high level for vision
    Xxxxx Barrow words are becoming true
    One day Barbadians would wake up to a reality that Barbados is no longer their place of ownership

7. All they have to do is agree to reparations and slam the door on the Chinese.

They cannot expect to have their cake and eat it too.

Everybody knows that the Chinese are not doing this out of the kindness of their hearts. They are buying influence.

If Europeans want influence, let them outbid the Chinese.

Instead they want to take the cheap route – FEAR. As though the Chinese are any worse to black people than Europeans have always been.

8. The Alabaster Whites Biggest Fear is Afroasiatic U N I T Y
    As for the war in Vietnam, Muhammad Ali, condemned racial discrimination in America
    “I ain’t got no quarrel with them Viet Cong,”
    “no Vietcong ever called me nigger.”.

so a paranoid white boy spy in GCHQ Babylon HQ says Chinese technology might be used to spy on them
    while they spy on everyone
    claiming that encrypted messaging will help pedophiles
    and that their dubious wars against muslims means for two decades that they need to spy on all for terrorism

X-Conservative Party leader Iain Duncan Smith claims he is being targeted by the Chinese state because of his racism against China

9. DonnaAugust 8, 2021 6:52 AM

All they have to do is agree to reparations and slam the door on the Chinese.

They cannot expect to have their cake and eat it too.

Everybody knows that the Chinese are not doing this out of the kindness of their hearts. They are buying influence.

If Europeans want influence, let them outbid the Chinese.

Instead they want to take the cheap route – FEAR. As though the Chinese are any worse to black people than Europeans have always been
    Xxccccccccc

Reparations would not be handed over to small island nations
    Unless their is cohesive effort brought by a hardened unification process amongst small island leaders and it’s people the long talk of reparations would remain as sounding brass and tinkling symbols
    Xxxxxcc
    As for the Chinese foot print across these small islands it is laudible having an effect which would improve their global and economic power worldwide
    So dont mix oranges with apples the Chinese moving across small island landscape should open the eyes of those who understand the economic implications for the people of Barbados and what benefits the Chinese would derive
    Having questions asked what purpose economically would there be for Barbadians in years to come

10. “BRIDGETOWN — China is behind Barbados’ snap decision to remove the British Queen as its head of state.

That’s the shocking claim of a conservative member of the UK Parliament who said that a Chinese investment of $490 million in Bridgetown’s tourism infrastructure forced the Barbadian leader’s hand in the matter this month.”

Which is an insult to the people of Barbados.

Check a Rebel Girl
    Rebel Girl Dub
    When UK Government was conspicuous in it’s absence in condemning the murder of George Floyd and supporting and praising the Trump nut while condemning #BLACKLIVESMATTER protestors in Bristol for their Massive Attack on the statue of slave trader Edward Colston dumping him in the river to sleep with the fishes like the souls of the many blacks called human cargo who jumped overboard from their slave ships of infamy as they would rather die free than live a life in human bondage as a slave under torture terror and rape of the irie African daughters, they failed to listen to the message given by the Barbados leader on her visit to inform them that the repugnant slave trade of 500 years ago still has ramifications of mental physical and spiritual damage to slave descendants today in the black diaspora and colonies of Babylon and serve notice of their intent to leave their rotten colony and become an independent republic moving on. Babylon is well wrong.

#BLACKLIVESMATTER

11. “Which is an insult to the people of Barbados.”

that’s what the trash misleaders in Barbados, garbage in, basura out, are famous for, selling out for shite money…to pad THEIR BANK ACCOUNTS…

the people have to stop electing the trifling low crawlers….this shifty BLP has always been a blight and curse in Black lives…

“your little mind equates and associates me with them

which explains your minority criminal diatribes being triggered when I speak”

which explains why you are TRIGGERED by my description and rant on and on about Europeans BUT YA HAVE TO LIVE WITH THEM..i don’t see you leaving UK despite the history, don’t see you rushing to live under the TRAITORS in Barbados and minority rule though you may fit in…..that is something you MUST come to terms with.

..many of us carry their European bloodlines, and a lot of it… ya aint hear us saying that we are going to remove the blood, even if it was possible….because we HAVE TO LIVE WITH IT and make the MOST OF IT..

12. If all goes well, Barbados will soon roll out its new digital ID cards.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/08/08/mcconney-says-digital-ids-soon/

13. “which explains why you are TRIGGERED by my description and rant on and on about Europeans BUT YA HAVE TO LIVE WITH THEM..i don’t see you leaving UK despite the history, don’t see you rushing to live under the TRAITORS in Barbados and minority rule though you may fit in…..that is something you MUST come to terms with.

..many of us carry their European bloodlines”

I know racists they were my friends I heard so much racism growing up that it became water off a ducks back

that’s how whites think as you know you married one

14. I know racists too…they live in my bloodline and i got racist friends..

15. This is the archive of yesterday’s Mia and Zeinab interview.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/w3ct2hfw

16. @ David,
    Please update your top links. The listed BBC link is obsolete. Please replace it with the link at 2.15.AM
    Tron would be excited to hear his master’s voice.

Mia has a trait where she talks directly over people. Zeinab tried to ask her questions and Mia would intervene. I was disappointed that she did not modify her behaviour as this programme was aired internationally.

Too many of her answers were robotic and did not chime with reality. Zeinab is no dummy and you felt in her tone that she was bemused with Mia’s approach to answering questions. When a lady of Zeinab’s pedigree asks a genuine question related to the cost of food in Barbados your answer should be genuine. Her research team would have been robust. One moment of hilarity was when Zeinab mocked Mia that she appeared to have a team of supporters on her side in the studio.

17. @TLSN

The top clicks is controlled by the clicks of commenters. Will have to delete the first comment.

18. @ David,
    Thanks. You are a gentleman.

19. McConney says digital IDs soon

20. @ David,
    Here, finally, is the definitive broadcast featuring Mia.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/w3ct2hfv

21. I hope Mia knows she is NOT getting away with that bullshit…since the flood of 1970 DBLP were told to build dams, where is the 40 million Canada offered to do so, no bribes in that, so it was abandoned….there was no Covid, sargussum no ashfall no natural disasters for 60 YEARS, with billions of dollars available NOW MISSING….and yall could not see to do anything ..ya not getting away with lying to the world…yall are the ones who keep minority rule, oppression, suppression and THEFTS against the people via the fraudulent TIEFING social partnership in play..ya will not fool anyone, did ya mention that the water goes to watering golf coursse and lawns of TIEFING RACIST HOTELIERS…DEPRIVING the people who pay water bills FOR YEARS.. why did you not mention the CORRUPTION and maloney and the big red bag of evidence to lock up DLP…..

there is a RECKONING.

22. DLP ready to rule, says De Peiza
    THE BARBADOS Labour Party (BLP) administration is a one-term Government and the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is ready to lead Barbados again, says leader Verla De Peiza.
    The DLP president declared this while speaking at a Christ Church West branch meeting on Sunday at Arthur Smith Primary School. She said the BLP had dropped the ball on education, health care, renewable energy and on uplifting Barbadians.
    “We will win the next election because we are going out there and we are not only talking to DLP people but also to all the other political complexions in Barbados, which will turn yellow and blue because we are going to all of them. This is not about how sweet you talk but how hard you work, especially when things are rough.
    “Our youth will be an advantage because people got to the point where they felt they were getting the same thing from both parties. We are grounded in the upliftment of people . . . . This is not a one-man show but a ride for the livelihood of every single person in Barbados,” she said.
    Failed experiment
    De Peiza said the BLP had the “perfect opportunity” to make “fundamental” changes to education after the COVID-19 pandemic struck but instead failed at experimenting with virtual education. She also criticised the ruling party for defaulting on loans prior to the pandemic; over-relying on tourism when there was an opportunity to monetise agriculture and small business; not having a national renewable energy policy for new construction; mishandling the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) and failing to present a Budget.
    “We need to know what is going on with health care, the nurses at the QEH . . . . We need a full and frank conversation on the state of the QEH. Show us you can walk and chew gum; tell us what else you have dropped the ball on.
    “We are in a time where we need to figure out how to earn money besides tourism and borrowing people’s money. The best way is to present a Budget. The last one was when they introduced the fuel tax, which continues to strangle us. We need to raise our voices consistently to get this Government to present a Budget,” she said.
    De Peiza said her party had made the most strides in education – giving three- to five-year-olds the opportunity to start formal education with basic knowledge; introducing the Caribbean Vocational Qualifications; expanding sixth forms and special education and more – while the BLP struggled with the Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination.
    “We have known the present
    education format is past its sell-by date. We have had reports and cues going back generations that things needed to change. The last administration very quietly started an education revolution. Do not let go of the role the DLP played in education . . . . Do not let anyone tell you any hogwash.
    “Our young people are floundering and suffering and that builds up the potential for social unrest. It must be wrestled with immediacy and the DLP is committed to bringing those fundamental changes to education. We have a young team but we have a capable team and we are ready to stand up for the people of Barbados one more time. This is a one-term Government and we need all of you to stand up and do your part,” she said. (CA)

23. Williams’ committee working on republic proposals
    CHAIRMAN OF the Republican Status Transition Advisory Committee, Dr Marion Williams, says they are moving ahead with work on recommendations that could inform the process of selecting a president under Government’s plan to change Barbados to a republic.
    Speaking on The People’s Business Sunday night on CBC TV, she explained that in accordance with Government’s declared intention to change Barbados to republican status on November 30, this was the immediate priority of the ten-member committee set up to help plan and manage the transition from a monarchical to a republican system.
    The other members of the committee, which was named in May, are Reverend Dr John Rogers, Lolita Applewaite, Chereda Grannum, Suleiman Bulbulia, The Most Honourable Patrick Frost, Shirley Bell, Cyndi Marshall, Adrian Green and Cecille Humphrey.
    Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley had earlier explained that in the transition from a Governor General under the present monarchical system to a president as head of a republic, Government would be drawing on recommendations contained in the report of the 1998 Constitution Review Commission headed by Sir Henry Forde, which recommended the manner in which the country should settle all of the arrangements for the President.
    Among the Forde Commission’s suggestions were:
    • The head of state should be a president elected by an Electoral College constituted by the Senate and the House of Assembly meeting as a single body for the purpose of such an election;
    • The Electoral College shall be convened by the Speaker of the House of Assembly, who shall preside as chairman over the proceedings of the Electoral College and shall have an original vote;
    • The person holding the office of Governor General at the commencement of the reformed Constitution should hold the office of President under the new Constitution until a President is elected under the provision of the new Constitution.
    Williams confirmed the Transition Advisory Committee would indeed be taking some relevant aspects of the Forde Commission’s report into consideration in making its recommendations to Government. However, she stressed theirs was an advisory role, while the decisions would be left to Government.
    Also appearing on the panel were Transition Advisory Committee member Frost and Professor Velma Newton, the University of the West Indies law librarian, who had prepared a set of “Facts and Questions” on the Barbados Constitution for the Forde Commission in 1997.
    It was pointed out that the Transition Committee’s work would extend beyond the matter of the presidency since there were more fundamental changes that would have to be made to the Barbados Constitution. Such changes, according to Mottley, will be made on the basis of consultation with the public.
    (GC)

24. For DLP to win next election they will have to employ psychological operations psyops information warfare

White PSYOP
    White PSYOP is attributable to PSYOP as a source. White is acknowledged as an official statement

Grey PSYOP
    The source of the grey PSYOP product is deliberately ambiguous.

Black PSYOP
    The activity engaged in appears to emanate from a source (government, party, group, organisation, person) usually hostile in nature. The interest of the U.S. government is concealed and the U.S. government would deny responsibility. It is best used in support of strategic plans.

Media
    PSYOP conveys messages via visual, audio, and audiovisual media. Fourth estate media and Fifth estate Social media

25. THE BARBADOS Labour Party (BLP) administration is a one-term Government and the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is ready to lead Barbados again, says leader Verla De Peiza.

oh really…no one want colonial parliament nigas ruling, representing or speaking for BLACK AFRICAN PEOPLE EVER AGAIN…get that thought out of yall CORRUPT HEADS…what rule what, who the hell you want to continue to place under south african boer minoritity rule…fcuk off….both you and Mia/DBLP….that’s for yall IGNORANT SLAVES/yardfowls.

26. Seems as though Guy Hewitt is also seeking to be nominated as the DLP’s candidate for Christ Church East Central in the next general elections.

Guy said he “has been persuaded by persons both from within the Party and the country at-large to apply my leadership skills and passion not only to administrative but political leadership,” and “believes that the constituency of Christ Church East Central would be a good fit.”

27. All I am hearing about is a 2021 constitutional review committee and 1998 recommendations. Man, if you don’t have anything new stamp 2021 on the 1998 suggestions and circulate them today.

28. Is there a news’s blackout on our Prime Minister’s interview with the BBC reporter, Zeinab.

Waru is the only person to have commented. I have spoken over many years how Barbados has been largely unaffected by any major catastrophes since her independence. No wars, hurricanes or famines. It would appear that this period of grace has been poorly managed. We have manoeuvred ourselves into becoming one of the most heavily indebted country in the entire world.

Zeinab would have carried out her research and would have been informed by numerous groups of the real state of the country. For MIa, this was an opportunity missed. She should have been more humbled; rather then blustering and bulldozing her way through the interview whilst looking for sympathy with reference to recent natural disasters. For surely she must know within her heart that Barbados is a busted flush propped on loans by unscrupulous players. May God help our people.

29. They maneuvered themselves into that position where the MISLEADERS of parliament are now OWNED by IMF….the Black populaiton can WALK AWAY and leave them right there, it looks good on them..

they got the social partnership of thieves to help them out of it…THEY ARE THE ONES HELPED them into it by ROBBING the island GLEEFULLY of BILLIONS OF DOLLARS with their house negros..

the Black population should TAKE NO DISRESPECT from BLP… nor any other colonial political party..

30. Artax,

“Persuaded” ha, ha! The reluctant hero steps into the fray!

Is this going to be his narrative?

HILARIOUS!

31. Wasted opportunities and wasted time because the vote begging parliament traitors dont want to see the Black/African FREE or EMPOWERED and feel better about their evil selves pushingvthe people on marijuana slave plantation BLP created just for that while they set up minority criminals in Barbados and the region to slither into Afrika and STEAL OUR ANCESTRAL BIRTHRIGHT…but Karma will get you slimy nigas.

http://www.afrikanheritage.com/who-will-guard-the-guards/

32. “I must say that I find it hard to understand how any Barbadian citizen could feel satisfied to have as our nation’s head of state, the Monarch of our former colonial master.

We Barbadians are surely not in any way inferior to the British people . And so, if Britain can have a British Head of State, why shouldn’t independent Barbados move as expeditiously as possible to confer upon ourselves a Barbadian head of state? This is a long overdue progressive development, and we should all welcome and support it”

we find it even harder to understand why ya would want to get rid of Elizabeth and KEEP the dangerous colonial slave system in place that DESTROYED 20 GENERATIONS OF YOUR ANCESTORS, they came as a package and SHOULD LEAVE BLACK LIVES AS SUCH…………

and still more dangerous to the Black/African than anything else since yall have crawled into the parliament for the last 54 YEARS and weaponized it against the African population and MALICIOUSLY ADDED the boer apartheid system from South Africa…….so the better question is WHY ARE YOU STILL USING IT.

and ya still ACT LIKE YA INFERIOR by embracing a total dependency SLAVERY tourism product….and refuse to give the majority a chance to make better choices for themselves and their future generations…..as far as i am concerned YALL ARE THE REAL PROBLEM..

33. Check it out TLSN..the interview was screwed up by Mia, but Zeinab, unafraid of bulllies, exposed the truth.

Cuddear…i do believe that STARVATION and STARK POVERTY will get the most vulnerable in the majority population first before Covid…ya worrying about the wrong thing….misery and poverty is a MAN MADE VIRUS…and the thieves in and out of the parliament love to GENERATE BOTH for the Black population…that should be the biggest concern right now.

the lying government was caught with it’s ass exposed when BBCs Zeinab threw the truth out there and had Mia stuttering and scrambing for words..Slavery tourism is going to cause DEATHS ON THE ISLAND, with the thieving slave driving hoteliers more than willing to assist in the degradation….and all of them should go down or up to international tribunals for MURDER…their thefts from the populaiton are largely responsible for this, they even stole employee salaries, benefits, severance and pensions..

“Barbados has long been regarded as among the most expensive places in the world to live. It is an unenviable position to hold, but we have been led to believe that it is the result of living in an open economy, where virtually everything is imported.

The international organization’s research found: “Job loss and income reductions are still very common, affecting 55 per cent of overall respondents and 88 per cent of those from the lowest income groups. Disproportionately impacted are households whose income comes from tourism and hospitality, petty trade, informal labour, or external assistance, as well as younger people.”

Even more important was the finding that 55 per cent of Barbadians surveyed experienced higher than usual food prices, with the lowest income groups more commonly reporting increases.

With lack of financial means influencing their shopping behaviour, Barbadians began turning to cheaper food products or buying smaller quantities of food.

“Food insecurity remains a concern, with a sizeable number of people cutting back on food consumption,” the report on Barbados revealed.

And so, it was not good news to be informed by the country’s main producer of livestock feeds that there will be a near 20 per cent rise in the cost of its products.

As a result, local meats, including chicken, processed meat products, and possibly some vegetable prices, are expected to rise.”

34. btw…it’s a nearly decades old pattern for me,. the BU brigade only jump out mostly to contradict and reduce posts to their small petty inputs, but never to add anything worthwhile, the people who do can all be counted on one hand. ..it has gotten much, much better.

that alone shows the negativity assisted in how the island has degraded significantly and with the low minds in the parliaments feeding that beast with their wound up dangerous little yardfowls/Slaves, and the trickle down effect into communities, it’s unlikely to change COMPLETELY any time soon, without a defining catalyst, which we hoped will not be the poverty THAT IS CLEARLY derived from tourism dependency….but that now seems UNLIKELY with the report SHOWING that it does more harm than good..

i just do what needs to be done and HAVE, after 9 YEARS seen what i set out to do come to fruition, and left the naysayers behind stuck in their timewarp, very proud of the citizens who opened their eyes, seen the light and having NONE OF IT, they are very vocal on the known platforms, something you could not get happening 6 years ago, it was like pulling teeth, not anymore though….

so i consider my time on BU and other platforms, well spent and not wasted…trust me, it was much worse in the first 5 years, there were some of the most toxic racists on the blog leaking anti-black poison with EVERY POST and attacking every day…they have become EXTINCT…the reason why they disappeared, they could not fight reality stuck in their fantasy world as they were, the battle was real….with the Black targets of those attacks contradicting every post that could open their eyes….but they BOTH LOST…reality WON.

35. Much ado about Republicanism

THE ONGOING REPUBLICANISM DEBATE in Barbados has further exposed the failure of Caribbean opposition parties to put aside petty political advantage when large civilisational questions are at stake.
    After several decades of discussion surrounding the publication of the Henry Forde Commission report (appointed in 1996) which had made broad recommendations for the creation of a Barbadian Head of State, the main opposition groupings are accusing the Mia Amor Mottley administration of hastiness.
    Both major political parties (most recently under the leadership of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart), have in the past declared commitments to republicanism, yet the current leadership of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is treating the issue like a Mottley invention. In typical partisan fashion, an idea is championed in government and rejected in opposition.
    Similarly, when DLP Prime Minister Freundel Stuart declared his intention to move to republicanism following upon Errol Barrow’s independence and Owen Arthur’s move to the Caribbean Court of Justice, the opposition Barbados Labour Party responded derisively by claiming that he was only after his legacy. This was childish trivialising of an important issue, when exemplary statesmanship was required. Perhaps, Stuart can make a profound post-prime ministerial development contribution by publicly restating his call for republicanism.
    A British Monarch as the Head of State is being replaced by a native Barbadian, to be styled President, instead of Governor General. That is all.
    However, words like “dictatorship” are being bandied about. There are insistent calls for a referendum.
    There is also confusion surrounding the proposal for a post-November 30 discussion on constitutional reform and the adoption of republicanism by November 30. The proposal for an “electoral college” to select the President is being conflated with the odious United States electoral college system, fuelling more disinformation.
    African-majority population
    Laughing silently among themselves, are the bottom residue of the old colonial elite who get immense psychological satisfaction from an African-majority
    population being led by a European Monarch.
    However, neither the voluntary nor the involuntary colonials can be blamed for the misguided tone of the debate.
    Colonials are colonials. The blame lies with the opposition groupings who are deliberately and opportunistically intellectually dishonest in their interventions. The Joseph Atherley of pre-May 2018 would have been a leading champion of republicanism.
    Those calling for a referendum know very well that Caribbean referenda, whatever the issue being voted upon, always play out like partisan circuses.
    It will be a wonderful day in the Caribbean when the dominant political parties accept that there are issues which are so central to our collective political growth that national consensus is the instinctive reflex. That day has not yet come. The first step towards this new dawn is for party leaders to distinguish between a cheap vote and a substantive civilisational objective. The birthing of a Barbadian Head of State of Barbados is one such moment.
    Will genuine statespersons please stand up?
    Tennyson Joseph is a political scientist at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, specialising in regional affairs.

36. The only legacy that lives on is the legacy that is written in the hearts and minds of the people, passed down from grateful generation to generation, not in dry history books but in the passion conveyed by the oral tradition where heroes become larger than life.

Being the “Father of Independence” has outlived its magic. We realise now that we are not independent. Being the “Mother of the Republic” holds no magic on its own. The magic comes only in creating a SUCCESSFUL republic, a republic that transforms the lives of the majority population in a tangible way and makes the world marvel at the impossible dream accomplished.

All other legacies are like dry bones, lifeless, buried and marked only by headstones, out of sight and increasingly out of mind.

Until eventually they go, “Poof!”

37. Where Mottley went blatantly wrong in her mouthings
    It all began when she loudly and boastfully stated that Nov.30th be a day for the birthing of Barbados becoming a Republic
    At that point and time all eyes and ears were opened to Mia deceit and voices rang out in Unisom Hell No
    On and before her 30th Nov. statement no one seemed to be paying attention and just thought that becoming a Republic meant simply removing the Queen of Head
    Talking about shooting oneself in the mouth
    Unbelievable

38. I see you haven’t read Tennyson.

39. Tennyson Joseph nailed it. This is not to excuse the government from poor execution with communication.

40. I agree with Donna and Dr. Joseph.

The DEMS and their supporters are mainly concerned about ‘Barrow’s legacy’ being erased from history and are making it out to be a substantive issue.

We celebrate Barrow every year on January 21, ‘Errol Barrow Day,’ and April 28 during ‘National Heroes Day,’ when both days are entirely devoted to highlighting his speeches and political exploits, while references are constantly made to the role he played in Barbados becoming Independent.

The same references to Barrow are also regurgitated on ‘Independence Day.’

So what if Barbados goes to Republic status on November 30?

Or, are we saying ‘Barrow’s legacy’ is so outstanding that THREE (3) annual public holidays are required for us to remember it?

41. (Quote):
    This was childish trivialising of an important issue, when exemplary statesmanship was required. Perhaps, Stuart can make a profound post-prime ministerial development contribution by publicly restating his call for republicanism. (Unquote).

And while he is “publicly restating his call for republicanism ” we hope he takes that opportunity to apologize to the citizens of the new republic for threatening to withdraw his fiefdom of Independence from the CCJ just because it simply did not rule according to his expectations and indeed those of his lawyering sidekick the shallow Hal.

Where would he have taken the Bajan judicial system if not back to the same monarchical Privy Council of the former Mother country only to be ‘ret(r)ied’ to the monarchical apron strings and insulted in a manner befitting only a ‘loyally good’ old colonial slave?

Poor Fumble, in the regal Muttley medal collecting style, must be royally’ disappointed he has missed that Right Honourable (RH) opportunity of being called “Sir” even under the dawning republic.

42. ArtaxAugust 12, 2021 7:46 AM

I agree with Donna and Dr. Joseph.

The DEMS and their supporters are mainly concerned about ‘Barrow’s legacy’ being erased from history and are making it out to be a substantive issue.

Xcxxxccc
    More than concerned as all eyes are wide concern to Mia deceit
    After all her stampeding exercise to remove Barbados name from the minds of people
    First her magical imprint of placing her name on a Barrow memorabilia honoring his name
    Next the demolishing of the NIS building a building whose architecture structure was worth saving
    Now hovering with what seems to be a disgusting and disguise attempt to replace the significance role Barrow played in Barbados becoming Independent
    Mia can drag out as many foot soldiers to bring all causes and reason placed on intellectual mouthings as to.why how and should be
    But the masses already see the path on which Mia wants to pursue Barbados becoming Republic while piggybacking on the good name of His Rgh Errol Barrow
    Talk all wunna want the eyes and ears are opening and not having it
    Ronnie Yearwood explain the other side and many are listening and agreeing with what he said
    ####wheelandcomeagain

43. @ John August 12, 2021 8:24 AM
    (Quote).
    Whatever water is on the earth was there at the beginning. (Unquote).

Where does water come from other than the tears of your Yahweh?

It’s truly enigmatic how an intellectual fraud like you can argue a case based on ‘Science’ but, paradoxically, continue to display your blind faith in the universality of the Jewish ‘Six Days of Creation’ story as confusingly plagiarized in their book of myths and legends.

44. @Miller

Partisan party politics is suffocating the world. This period of existence does not recommend the political class at all.

45. David,

Truly they have no shame! They are brazen in their shenanigans.

Do they think we don’t see them? Or don’t they care?

Is there some sort of sick pleasure in rubbing their brazen inconsistencies in our faces?

Well… look where that has brought us! People don’t trust them enough to follow public health recommendations.

I can’t say I blame them. Proven liars are known to lie.

46. So… all the preening, pompesettin’ and pisparadin’ on CNN ends with huffing and puffing to keep up on the BBC.(?)

The gloss is gone! No more star power!

Sad.

47. @ angela cox August 12, 2021 9:01 AM

[1]: “After all her stampeding exercise to remove Barbados name from the minds of people.”

Trinidad & Tabago, for example, maintained its name after becoming independent in 1962 and a republic in 1976.

When has Mottley said anything to suggest that, by becoming a republic, she intends “to remove Barbados’ name from the minds of people?”

[2]: “First her magical imprint of placing her name on a Barrow memorabilia honoring his name.”

Please give BU at least ONE (1) example of Mottley “placing her name on memorabilia honoring Barrow’s his name?”

[3]: “Next the demolishing of the NIS building a building whose architecture structure was worth saving.”

Please provide BU any official information that indicates the old ‘NIS Building’s architectural structure was of such significant historical importance that it was worth saving?’

[4]: “Now hovering with what seems to be a disgusting and disguise attempt to replace the significance role Barrow played in Barbados becoming Independent.”

How can “the significance role Barrow played in Barbados becoming Independent be replaced,” when it is recorded in the ‘annuls of Barbadian history’ and Parliamentary debates on the issue are recorded in Hansard?

[5]: Who are “the masses” you keep referring to?

Because one or two people are speaking to the Republic issue in terms you agree with, does not mean their opinions are the GENERAL CONSENSUS of the population.

To the remainder of your contribution………..

“Stupseeee.”

“####wheelandcomeagain……..”

48. ArtaxAugust 12, 2021 10:15 AM

@,Angela cox

Trinidad & Tabago, for example, maintained its name after becoming independent in 1962 and a republic in 1976.

When has Mottley said anything to suggest that, by becoming a republic, she intends “to remove Barrow name from the minds of people?

Please give BU at least ONE (1) example of Mottley “placing her name on memorabilia honoring Barrow’s his name?”

Please provide BU any official information that indicates the old ‘NIS Building’s architectural structure was of such significant historical importance that it was worth saving?’

[5]: Who are “the masses” you keep referring to?

Because one or two people are speaking to the Republic issue in terms you agree with, does not mean their opinions are the GENERAL CONSENSUS of the population.

To the remainder of your contribution………..
    A big FAT YAWN