In recent weeks two events created embarrassment for the Mia Mottley led government. First it was the still born Little Island Big Barbados BTMI matter followed by the snub after she demanded the smutty Trojan Riddim video be removed from the YouTube streaming service.

Three years after achieving an unprecedented victory in the 2018 general election and riding the crest of high popularity, several blunders and unwieldy execution of projects have been the bane of the BLP administration in recent months. Notwithstanding severe economic challenges, a raging COVID 19 pandemic and a brief encounter with ash fall, the general public has become increasingly impatient with a government that has over promised and yet to deliver on several promises: Freedom of Information legislation, enhanced governance to effectively treat with perennial concerns of the Auditor General and related matters, timely delivery of justice from the courts, NIS  fix, reform education, arrest crime, rooting out corruption in public life by holding transgressors accountable to name a few.

One suspects despite the blunders the government still has its head at the front of the 2023 political race given the unpreparedness of the main opposition party. That said a week is a long time in politics. However, the black eye the Mia Mottley government has received as a result of the clawback on the ‘Little Island Big Barbados’ issue, capped by the snub delivered by the Trojan Riddim artistes must be worrying. Why pull the plug on the Brand driver initiative after it was paid for? How will a committee of locals determine a brand driver for the visitor? Why demand local artistes remove the video from Youtube if Mottley more than most should have been acutely aware of the uncompromising loyalty enjoyed by said artistes with the underground audience?

Brand drivers are a set of adjectives that describe your organization and are used as a way to influence your branding in the marketplace. … The marketplace, your customers, and others outside of your organization are the ones who actually determine what your branding is.

Brand Drivers

More worrying for the blogmaster is the confirmation of a crisis of public morality in the country. Public morality is considered to be the moral and ethical standards a people try to maintain in the society; embodied in our laws, how the police force enforces the law and the peer to peer influence by citizens. The cohesion required for a well ordered society is the ability for all segments, Alpha, Millennials, Baby Boomers et al to ensure mutual concerns overlap on the ‘ven diagram’. What we have in Barbados are disparate groups unable to create a path to defining acceptable social values 

Note to Prime Minister Mia Mottley, the country needs leadership.

The attributes of true leadership are honesty and integrity, authenticity, responsibility, the will to inspire and act, passionate communication skills, the drive to innovate and create, to name a few.

However, I believe the real stuff leaders are made of is when they live their values out loud. That’s where leadership has its roots. That’s when a leader becomes inspiring. That’s when leadership is real.

The Stuff Leaders are Made of

167 responses to “Mia’s Blunders”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Still waiting for the press conference to explain to the Black population WHERE ALL THEIR BILLIONS OF DOLLARS they generated over the decades by their mere presence on the island disappeared to.

..POST 2018…there was a press conference for every reason and every season….tell the people WHO TIEF THEIR MONEY and WHERE is it….and why there is a write off of millions and billions of dollars every other week..

and why can’t they get back the money that was obviously SKIMMED from the treasury to pay for an overused slogan..

they love to run to different countries and spill their guts to strangers about information that should be going to the people on the island….tell the people about their money and where it all disappeared to AND WHY THEY ARE STRUGGLING and sliding deeper and deeper into poverty…

.they should trot out their fellow anit-black thieves in the minority business community to help them explain about that and the pipeline of guns and drugs into the depressed areas..

and bring along their yardfowls to help with the explanations..

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

they should trot out their fellow ANTI-black thieves in the minority business community to help them explain about that and the PIPELINES of guns and drugs into the depressed areas that they ALL KNOW ABOUT…..

3. “However, the black eye the Mia Mottley government has received as a result of the clawback on the ‘Little Island Big Barbados’ issue, capped by the snub delivered by the Trojan Riddim artistes must be worrying. “

Shut the Fuck Up all y’all political bitches

Cascade of Colours
    Spiritual Sunset Mix

4. Only a right wing spinner like a Harold could come up with specious propaganda that dancehall music is immoral causing an abscess that spreads in the body of a nation like a disease that causes blockage and sickness and the PM speaking out against the gun lyrics in the compilation of an objectionable riddim like the fake preachers wanted and being ignored in taking down the youtube video is a sign of weakness in the Government that thrashed DLP and spat it out in bubbles. You may as well say black skin is a punishment in this life and makes you stupid and UK is right that royalty should not marry black people and have black children and black people should marry white people and have whiter children. White children can do whatever they want and will not be judged the same way.
    Abstract Afro Vibes
    Cascade of Colour
    Journey to Colour Mix

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbrFoGFW2QQ

5. My Bad, I meant to play the white peoples party version to trip to on hard drugs

not the spiritual sunset version twice

6. Project implementation 101, create a pilot to execute in a controlled environment before going blast.

7. Being a leader is not about being popular, it is about inspiring (see quote in the blog) others to efficiently deliver on the mandate set out. In the case of a prime minister is to inspire a majority of the electorate (stakeholders in civil society) to support the plan. We cannot be hoping to build Barbados with the prevailing level of dysfunction at play.

8. 555dubstreet

modern day Dance Hall Music and American Gangster Rap are both rubbish that serves no other purpose than to dumb down the intelligence of the youths.

9. 555dubstreet

Why it is that they never promote the lyrics of artists back in the day like Redhead Kingpin from NY, who implored the youths to do the right thing in his lyrics? Skippa, I think we know why, because a positive message in Rap Music does not sell, so it is easy to turn to the Artists who promote violence and objectify Black women because it makes the big dollars.

10. Weekend Versions
    Dreads Love Dub Versions more than the Vocals
    Cascades of Colour
    (Weekend Vocal Remix) vs (Weekend Dubby Remix)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0DWBMJ74MGA

11. Do you guys mind please?

12. How does one reconcile building a campaign against corruption and then upon success at the polls, announce the appointment of one of the chief architects of the alleged corruption to a high profile government panel? Not a murmur from the public. How does one reconcile the alleged unethical practices of a businessman before an election and the grace with which he is welcomed into governmental circles after election? Not a murmur from the public. How does one reconcile an insurance executive who before an election is accused of siphoning away millions of dollars in taxpayer and client funds and after elections slinks quietly away without nary a backward glance?

13. @ David @ Dompey

Your meditation for today is

Where the music takes you

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4jauYa4gehY

14. Why it is that they never promote the lyrics of artists back in the day like Redhead Kingpin from NY

Yo! MTV Raps promoted him. I met him in Paramus Shopping Mall buying a pair of fly sneakers for his smaller brother and he sat next to me when they checked the size, we chatted and he gave me a fist bump and said “respeck”.

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

At this stage of our development we expect our leaders to commit “blunders”. Winning a General Election does not imbue them with infallibility. What you have zeroed onto are quite minor. Is this an attempt to distract us from the major problems we need to deal with promptly?
    Really and truthfully these “hick ups” should have been eliminated at the level of the technocrats. The problem is that some ministers appear to dabble in matters below their pay grades. This undermines the authority and influence of the technocrats.Tourists do not have access to “dance hall” music. They certainly do not factor them into holiday decisions. They are pure entertainment for the bashment crew,, who do not even hear the lyrics.

16. @ Fear Play June 10, 2021 8:31 AM

Be careful with those bitingly truthful words.

It certainly boggles the miller’s mind since it represents the politics of inclusion carried to its most morally evil apex.

But what can we expect from a person whom the late OSA ‘wisely’ cautioned Bajans about?

You might soon be seen as a persona non grata in the eyes of Lorenzo, Enuff John2 and other members sitting on the red side of the coop of yardfowlism.

17. comment unapproved=1678881 x comment unapproved=1678888

now tell me what the fuck I am supposed to do

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAOFhn-j5zE

18. “Tourists do not have access to “dance hall” music. They certainly do not factor them into holiday decisions. They are pure entertainment for the bashment crew,, who do not even hear the lyrics.”

Dancehall culture works in Dancehall with big speakers booming out sounds that make your body shake and fence vibrate

Low life politicians in opposition want to make a big deal of the fact that Mia objected to the video
    just like they did
    when she was ignored they did another 360 degree spin and criticised her again
    Bajan politics seems to be petty and trifling
    Politicians should leave dancehall business alone

Now Mia is being blamed with Dancehall Singers for the price of Guns and price of Badness going up
    As Simple Simon may say Mia should Ban Guns in Barbados as a Political Platform in next election but that stance backfired on Hillary against Trump in 2016 and racist white trash sneaked into office and made a comeback

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TEyrbJ7C8gU

19. Censorship has no place on a social media blog, unless such censorship, involves the use of threats, intimidation, libel or vulgarity.

20. David
    One can’t just make such a sweeping statement without providing any analysis, especially in view of what the government has achieved. One needs to start with setting out what was promised, delivered, is in the process of being delivered and what hasn’t. You can’t just pick those not delivered in 3 years (a year snatched by Covid) and paint a narrative. Even some of your handpicked failures provide no context. For example, have changes not been made to the judicial process/judiciary to speed up the system? Has the Auditor General not concluded that “the outstanding level of arrears in the audits of state entities has improved”? What led to this? So start doing some detailed analyses is needed if one wants to seriously assess the government’s performance. It is this type of flippant approach that more than likely scuttled the Little Island, Big strategy (which I find catchy, visually and aurally) because we are somehow an island of Little Analysis Big Expertise.🤣🤣🤣

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“For example, have changes not been made to the judicial process/judiciary to speed up the system?”

you are LYING…and i have receipts…why can’t the CIVIL CASES BE SPEEDED UP or even start, why can’t JUDGES HAND DOWN DECISIONS in the allotted 6 month period, where they are supposed to be reprimanded if they dont, but and YEARS AND YEARS later, still no judgement….

Mia and her consultants and hangerons are being PAID TO DO A JOB….they have not done SHIT THAT CAN BE COMMENDED…..only Slaves and supporters of CORRUPTION accept ANYTHING…

22. @Vincent

A simple reply is to ask, what is the public’s perception given the current state of things?

We are not happy even if you intellectualized as we are inclined to do.

23. @enuff

This lowly blogmaster can only judge based on current state perception.

We are not happy.

24. This fraud needs a time out, there are civil cases in the supreme court over 31 YEARS old, clogging up the system, with no closure and this liar slithers out to distract and misdirect….

.who takes from 2007 until 2021 to give a judgement in a simple straight forward case? then when asked about the length of time nothing was done, suddenly “have a question for the lawyers”..

who takes nearly 2 years to give a decision in another simple straight forward case…ONE OF THEIR FIRST CASES as a politically appointed judge..

….none of these cases require a brain surgeon or rocket scientist….yet none of the cases backlogging the supreme court can get a judgement within the 6 month period required for reserved judgments….

25. You IGNORANT black people, who believe that you are so impressive, ya IGNORANCE will MARK the end of all of you..

26. next time ya pull that lying shit, knowing that the civil cases ARE NOT MOVING…i will be calling real names, cause not many on the bench name olsen….and pamela…

27. Miller….can you believe this fraud though, first it got a mugabe bitch slap, but that was not enuff, it had to return for a BU smack down..

…yardfowls have no shame…

28. “This lowly blogmaster can only judge based on current state perception.

We are not happy.”

Do you concur Barbados Government is insolvent due to previous DLP regime’s high sovereign debt owed to it’s creditors defaulting
    the mind boggles to understand how a Government that fails it’s remit to provide adequate services can still overspend and go bust
    How much wiggle room does a restructed debtor’s economy have to improve their services and investments for growth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1IOi5x2ckc

29. “Do you guys mind please?”

Yes, Put down your foot🦶Davie.

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Notice it is no longer about : “good governance” “ accountability “ and “ transparency “. It’s now about technocrats messing up things. Anything to shift blame from their political masters.

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Yep…they think they can change a narrative…thrashing around telling lies and trying to wash the corruption off themselves, but there are some CRIMES not even soap and water can remove…and when ya have violated Black rights for decades…ya can only WALK THROUGH DARKNESS…and see no light period,,

the blighted plight of the colonial negro, give them a slave title, access to the people’s money/treasury/pension fund, access to the armed forces and the first thing they start doing is instilling FEAR in the population and violating Black rights…..won’t they be SHOCKED to find out that this generation have no fear of black face sellouts..

32. The fact that Barbados is not progressing economically is not due to our honourable government, but to our population. They don’t want to work, they want socialist-style benefits and they want to be civil servants for life. No wonder things are not moving forward. No wonder only a small minority succeeds as grand businessmen.

It’s time to deport our critics and all the insubordinates and to bring hard-working foreigners into the countries! We need more hard-working women like Mia Mottley. At least 80,000.

33. Good point, how can we afford to support our heavy social services network under the adverse circumstances?

34. @David June 10, 2021 2:10 PM

If a tree withers in the dry season because it does not suit our climate, we should go for West African trees or cacti from the desert.

Translation: It would be best if we followed the example of Africa or Southeast Asia in terms of social transfers and workers’ rights. That could create a fabulous economic boom for us.

We need to radically deregulate the market, reduce labour costs, stimulate foreign investment and and and …
    A “patriotic reform” of the exchange rate would also be desirable. For a start, I suggest 1:4.

35. Agreed, we need disruption but do the citizens have the appetite for it? Based on the general conversations on social media and rumshops, NOT!

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Ah guess the fowl is done for the day, when ya come out to tell LIES for politicians…make sure they give you THE FULL STORY…..they are corrupt and will always leave out the most important parts that makes the most money for them…….when they think no one is WATCHING…

Miller…the billion dollar projects manager…lawd…

37. “how can we afford to support our heavy social services network under the adverse circumstances?”

David V34.1 has flipped and become a hardcore Conservative

under the mask lies an ugly reptilian Hal face

Sunset Excursion
    Can you tell the difference between the Latin and Afro Blues Mix

38. David
    I am confident that based on what has been achieved so far, despite the unexpected costs (not just financially but costs period) associated with COVID, that more will be done. There are low hanging fruit and then other stuff that will require ladders. This is not about me being hyper partisan either.

39. “The fact that Barbados is not progressing economically is not due to our honourable government, but to our population. They don’t want to work, they want socialist-style benefits and they want to be civil servants for life. No wonder things are not moving forward. No wonder only a small minority succeeds as grand businessmen.”

As per Davie “spot on Tron”

40. @enuff

It is often the intangibles:soft issues that must be managed properly to build public trust, grow integrity and the like along side efficiently executing the projects and transactional stuff.

41. Cutting services will shaft the poor
    Barbados Underground is a disservice to the people of Barbados

ICU
    Lets play spot the cunt holes
    O Dirt farmer
    O Tron
    O David

you cannot reason with a cunt
    see the y’pocrites go long deh

Here’s a 52 minute meditation 4U

Moola Mantra
    Reverence

Om Satchitananda Parabrahma
    Purushothama Paramatma
    Sri Bhagavati Sametha
    Sri Bhagavate Namaha
    Hari Om Tat Sat

Oh Divine Force, Spirit of All Creation,
    Highest Personality, Divine Presence,
    manifest in every living being –
    Supreme Soul manifested as the
    Divine Mother and as the Divine Father –
    I bow in deepest reverence.

Inner Tuning: Known as the Moola Mantra, these sounds allow me to enter into a space of reverence for the Divine in all its many forms and manifestations.

42. A 39 year old man from Silver Hill, Christ Church remains in critical condition in hospital and has also lost an eye in a brawl that erupted on a route taxi at Lower Collymore Rock, St. Michael yesterday.

Police say the victim boarded the ZR at Fairchild Street about 4 45 pm and when the vehicle reached Lower Collymore Rock another man got on board.

An altercation ensued between the two that continued outside the vehicle.

The victim was stabbed five times in his head and also struck with a cement block. The injuries were so severe that the victim’s left eye had to be removed and he remains hospitalized.

Starcom Network News understands that if a female passenger had not intervened and begged the attacker to show mercy, the victim would have been delivered another blow to the head with the cement block.

The attacker is still being sought.

Source: Starcom Network News

43. @ angela cox
    The incident related was barbaric… Our Isles in de sun 🌞

44. @ David June 10, 2021 2:25 PM

Unfortunately, you are right. However, if the electorate does not want disruption, let our Supreme Leader pull out the big disruptor.

I therefore plead for the fastest possible transformation to a republic so that Mia Mottley can become president for life and do as she pleases. Without presidential elections every four to eight years, she would no longer be subject to the will of the electorate and could base her decisions solely on the common good.

We must force voters to make the right economic choices if they do not want to do so voluntarily. Like in Singapore.

45. A leader must find a way to bring the people along even if they disagree. Therein is our problem. There is too much tension at every layer of the society. It is unfortunate we seem to have developed a mindset that all solutions must be found within the bosom of the political directorate.

46. On reflection I should have said “Let’s play count the cunt holes” as it has a better ring to it.
    Bajans are such suck ups / sycophants who have to works as teams
    GP and John
    AC and Hal
    Warrior and Miller and Pachamummy
    (although Miller and Pachamummy seem to disown the Worrier and prefer to go solo)
    Warrior and William
    William and Hal

Warrior and William talk the same nonsense consistently all the time that they even start to make sense
    Bajan politicians on both sides don’t care about the people and only care about themselves
    and are so incompetent they couldn’t do anything even if they tried anyway