Since the worrying outbreak caused by the ‘super spreader’ event in February, Barbados has done a good job of pulling back COVID 19 infections numbers. For the most part Barbadians have observed the protocols/directives and compared to countries near and far done excellently to administer the Covid 19 vaccine as a primary measure to combat the rampaging pandemic.

The blogmaster again takes the opportunity to thank Lyall Small who has been diligent to submit information formatted for 101 public use – see graphs below. The graphs show that compared to others in the region we are faring better than most but there is work still to be done until we are able to satisfactorily arrest the virus.

Against the forgoing the blogmaster is concerned we have religious zealots among us who blinded by an all-powering  ignorance would adopt a behaviour to jeopardize the health of people on the island and economic state of the country. The blogmaster is of the strong belief Lynroy Scantlebury and his wife Heather of  World Harvest Ministries International Church, based in Speightstown, St Peter should be made to feel the full weight of the law. His followers blindly following this idiot by continuing to avoid calls from authorities to present themselves should also be hauled before the court. One quality we have to nurture as a society if we are to break free from a pervasive mediocrity suffocating our little island is to respect the value DISCIPLINE adds to all that we do – see Nation News posted below for background to the matter at hand.

Why should the rest of Barbados suffer hardship to keep COVID 19 at bay and others who profess to walk a moral high ground ignore protocols and directives set by an elected government that come back to bite us in the asses where it hurts.

NO!

Attached are C-19 graphs for the week ending 16th April 2021.  Barbados is now showing a slight but possibly worrying upward trend in daily cases, as well as positivity percentages (even though these are still below the benchmark levels).  These indications are possibly mainly due to the cluster at a northern church which might not have been totally eliminated.  The active cases chart also appears to tell the same story.  The authorities, from this week’s press conference, appear to be concentrating on this cluster and will hopefully be successful in eliminating it,  given their good performance so far – See COVID Updates

Lyall Small

COME OUT! 

Bostic tells church members to stop hiding, get tested

By barryalleyne@nationnews.com

Stop hiding! Come out and get tested!

Minister of Health and Wellness Jeffrey Bostic did not mince words yesterday, as he urged members of a northern church to stop dodging public health officials who are conducting contact tracing into a cluster of COVID-19 cases.

He said public health officials had been hamstrung this week as they attempted to find people associated with the church.

Earlier this week in a story broken by the Midweek Nation, it was revealed that 19 members of the World Harvest Ministries International Church, based in Speightstown, St Peter, had tested positive for the COVID-19 virus. That number has since increased.

Its leader, Apostle Lynroy Scantlebury and his wife Heather, admitted that they were later ordered by Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George to report to Paragon in Christ Church, for him and his spouse to start a period of quarantine.

“My concern is this church cluster occupying the Ministry of Health and Wellness,” Bostic told a national press briefing yesterday, after confirming that nine of the country’s 12 newest COVID-19 infections were related to the church.

“I would like to appeal to all persons associated with that church in the north, if you haven’t been contacted, it’s either you haven’t been told of your possible exposure to the virus, or because you are hiding. If you don’t care about your status, I care and the Ministry of Health cares. If you remain in hiding, it could be detrimental to your health.”

Matter of urgency

He then urged those from the church who remained untested to present to the Wildey Gymnasium as a matter of urgency, or to any medical facility of their choosing.

Bostic said three of the 12 new cases had already been at the Harrison Point facility in St Lucy beingassessed, but what worried

him most was that the other nine individuals were all directly related to the church. He added that two families, one of four, and one of three people, all members of the church, had tested positive, and another two were not members but indirectly connected to an organisation that had its members exposed to the virus.

In response to a question by reporters, the minister said they were glad the leaders of the church were placed in quarantine, and having them at their disposal would allow the Chief Medical Officer to “vigorously continue the investigation into the cluster”.

“We don’t yet have all the information. We are very, very closely monitoring this situation. Nothing is being ruled out. The aim is to contain the spread of the disease in Barbados, and we will do whatever we have to do to do that,” he added.

Bostic added that public health personnel, in their investigation, would also determine if to take the matter further.

Scantlebury had claimed that COVID-19 had been planted at his church.

“This was planted at our church,” he had told the Midweek Nation in a telephone interview from his quarantine at Paragon. “We never had any cases of COVID at World Harvest. Not one single case.”

In yesterday’s Weekend Nation,some of his members demanded an apology from him, saying they felt misled by the church and fell victim to Scantlebury’s many statements that COVID-19 could not touch the church.

349 responses to “LOCK Lynroy Scantlebury and Wife to Rh Up!”

1. @WURA-War-on-U April 18, 2021 10:50 AM.you asked the one or two you know…”

So sweet girl, how many did you ask?

2. I didn’t have to ask, i was told about the incident early in the vaccine rollout, by family….just because the couple nurses you know knew nothing about it, does not mean it didn’t happen, some people have 3 generations of nurses in their families, ya can’t know all..

“Late last year, a semi-retired British scientist co-authored a petition to Europe’s medicines regulator. The petitioners made a bold demand: Halt COVID-19 vaccine clinical trials.”

and this also happened..

3. All of the blp BU attack dogs gine into hiding since i made my presence known
    Wuhloss that was easy
    Lol

4. Where is the people’s WATER….people in St. Thomas in the Porey Spring area has a representative, they are going to standpipes for water…who where is the water for their homes, they pay water bills..

where are the representativesthey don’t forget to collect their salaries every month and legislate laws to arrest Black people, why can’t they do their jobs for once instead….

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/18/st-joseph-folk-protest-lack-water/

“Water is uppermost on the minds of some St Joseph residents.

Around noon today, some Vaughn’s Road and Horse Hill householders pulled out placards, chanted and marched to the constituency office of member of Parliament Dale Marshall.”

5. Around noon today, some Vaughn’s Road and Horse Hill householders pulled out placards, chanted and marched to the constituency office of member of Parliament Dale Marshall.”

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

DALE MARSHALL LIKE MIA DRINKING WHISKY AND EATING PUNANNY.

THEY DON’T HAVE TIME FOR POOR BLACK PEOPLE WATER PROBLEMS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

6. @angela cox April 18, 2021 1:54 PM

Hiding what! I was busy preparing and enjoying some herbed oven roasted pork chops, brown rice and black eyed peas, carrots, my own beans, a glass of sorrell and some coconut ice cream.

7. @BAJE April 18, 2021 2:02 PM “…EATING PUNANNY.”

You sound jealous.

Wha’ happen?

You don’t have a clean healthy, exciting partner?

8. @ Cuhdear Bajan April 18, 2021 1:34 PM

Would you agree that, under the circumstances, it would be fair and reasonable to similarly assume just because a couple of nurses allegedly told someone of an incident, does not mean it DID happen, even despite the fact some people may have 3 or more generations of nurses in their families?

9. Agree.

Registered nurses in my family since the 1950’s

“Granny” midwives, including my maternal grandmother and her first cousin, both born in the 19th century long, long before that.

Health professionals in Barbados have largely been willing to be vaccinated against Covid 19.

Nobody has been compelled. Firstly there is not enough vaccine available anywhere in the world to enable governments to compel. And secondly in order to achieve herd immunity only about 80% of the population needs to be vaccinated, and we are not anywhere near 80% yet.

10. Horse Hill residents fed up after days with no water
    April 18, 2021

Residents of Horse Hill, St Joseph say days with absolutely no water have left them feeling tired, fed up and frustrated.
    The residents say they have had enough and it is time something is done about the situation. For some, it has been seven days without water while for others it has been close to two weeks.

This morning the residents gathered on the street with a basket full of dirty clothes and empty pots and bottles to express their frustration.Some also stood in front of the constituency office of Attorney General Dale Marshall, parliamentary representative for that parish, chanting: “We want water”.

Phyllis Cumberbatch, who has been living in the area for the past 32-years, told Barbados TODAY she could not make a cup of tea and has been unable to have a shower.“I gotta get up and look for water to clean myself. I wash my face up the road this morning with a pep bottle of water that was given to me.

“I ain’t even drank a cup of tea yet this morning because there is no water. I could not even cook food since Thursday because I have no water. I have to resort to bread and drink,” Cumberbatch said. As a small farmer, Cumberbatch said her livestock such as pigs, chickens and rabbits are all suffering. She is also unable to wet her vegetable beds and the recent ashfall has left her house in need of cleaning.

“Even if I could get a bucket full of water just to give the animals, you can’t suffer the animals. They can’t get up and go get water for themselves. I gotta get up and go look for water for them,” Cumberbatch added.

Many of the residents are asking why it is that they are not hearing from parliamentary representative Dale Marshall about the water situation.

Politician Randall Rouse, who ran on the Democratic Labour Party ticket for three consecutive terms, was present to listen to the residents.

Daniel Grant, a young mother, is also fed up with the situation and said it has been going on for a very long time. She noted that the people of that area continue to suffer every year for water.

“This is a whole seven days we ain’t had water. The water trucks just bypass all the tanks on the road. Our tank only got full twice since this water situation has been going on. They claim the trucks for this area break down.

“What everyone keeps quarrelling about too is that the man from the Barbados Water Authority said he ain’t giving us water because we were wasting the water. We keep calling the water authority and all they keep saying is that they are sending a truck.

“Since Dale won he ain’t come down here. Everything in Bathsheba is getting renewed. They are building over stalls, a community centre that nobody cares about us. He doesn’t care that we ain’t getting water,” Grant said.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/04/18/horse-hill-residents-fed-up-after-days-with-no-water/

11. Cuddear why you wasting time with Mrs Mitchell she likes to make things.She stated you spoke to one or two people how dpes she know how many people you spoke to.However, she who does not live here claim she did not have to speak to any as she has family in the profesion.Let me reiterate to the reknown liar that NO ONE IN BARBADOS WAS FORCED TO TAKE THE VACCINE..IT WAS OPTIONAL.As for AC you are talkimg pure monsense.If these church members are infected it is crucial they are found since they can cause a spike in cases whichay result in another shitdown which the country csnnot afford.Hence if tje pastor ignored the protocols he shpuld feel the full weight of the law.

12. TheOGazertsApril 18, 2021 1:15 PM

Say what you like…
    Mariposa can get good mileage out of a `dead horse; something Chally Jones could not do….
    (Have I dated myself -prehistoric)
    Xxccccccccc

Funny

Joke of the day two thumbs up
    Cxcccccc

Prehistoric like dinosaur 🦕🦕 era

13. A case of the ,’ ifs’ by Lorenzo
    Xxxxccccc

So if the members govt looking for where not infected the damage against the members and the ministers would have been done
    Back up and see how quick Mia was to take a position in favour of the man selling good
    The difference between the minister and the deacons guy is that minister was not I’n access to Mia number
    Who the cat likes
    The cat licks it

14. Fowl Slave Lorenza…go tell these they are lying…..keep telling LIES and taking BRIBES to sell out the water….or let the likes of Ram run illegal connections for decades and get free water….and CROOKS like cow etc take control of the WATER WELLS THAT DON’T BELONG TO THEM…..yall got HUMAN RIGHTS ABUSES on the island, keep pretending you don’t…yall wild animals, ya are not supposed ot tell people you are not giving them any water, people DIE FROM THIRST IN 7 DAYS…

“On average, a person can survive without water for about 3 days, but some have reported to survive around 8 to 10.”

YALL WANT LOCKING UP…

“This morning the residents gathered on the street with a basket full of dirty clothes and empty pots and bottles to express their frustration.Some also stood in front of the constituency office of Attorney General Dale Marshall, parliamentary representative for that parish, chanting: “We want water”.

Phyllis Cumberbatch, who has been living in the area for the past 32-years, told Barbados TODAY she could not make a cup of tea and has been unable to have a shower.“I gotta get up and look for water to clean myself. I wash my face up the road this morning with a pep bottle of water that was given to me.

Daniel Grant, a young mother, is also fed up with the situation and said it has been going on for a very long time. She noted that the people of that area continue to suffer every year for water.

“This is a whole seven days we ain’t had water. The water trucks just bypass all the tanks on the road. Our tank only got full twice since this water situation has been going on. They claim the trucks for this area break down.

“What everyone keeps quarrelling about too is that the man from the Barbados Water Authority said he ain’t giving us water because we were wasting the water. We keep calling the water authority and all they keep saying is that they are sending a truck.

“Since Dale won he ain’t come down here. Everything in Bathsheba is getting renewed. They are building over stalls, a community centre that nobody cares about us. He doesn’t care that we ain’t getting water,” Grant said.”

15. I will lay in my bed and see them come get all of you if these people die from lack of water…

16. A leading conspiracy theorist who thought COVID-19 was a hoax died from the virus after hosting illegal house parties
    A Norwegian conspiracy theorist, who believed COVID-19 was a hoax, has died from the virus just days after hosting two illegal gatherings at his property, according to officials.

Hans Kristian Gaarder, 60, from Gran, a municipality that lies 40 miles north of Oslo, tested positive for the virus after dying on April 6, officials said this week.

“A man in his 60s, living in Gran, has died after being ill with coronavirus. The person was not tested for coronavirus before he died, but it is confirmed afterward that he was infected with the virus,” the municipality of Gran said in a statement on their website, according to Metro.
    Gaarder’s death comes several days after he hosted two illegal house parties on March 26 and 27. It is unclear how many people attended. He is thought to have been ill for several weeks but kept it secret local officials believe, newsinenglish.no reported.

Local media reported that more than a dozen attendees have since tested positive for the virus and continued to pass it on.

“We don’t know how many or who took part in the arrangements, but ask all participants to take a corona test as soon as possible,” police said in a press release, according to newsinenglish.no.

Gaarder was a prominent conspiracy theorist who used various social media channels to peddle false information relating to the coronavirus pandemic, as well as the US election in 2020.

He frequently compared COVID-19 to “something that will be like a cold or light flu” and incorrectly argued that it doesn’t spread from person to person.

https://news.yahoo.com/leading-conspiracy-theorist-thought-covid-152900477.html

17. One thing’s for sure TEETS can’t beg enuff votes to get back in the parliament……..savages, you are drinking water but your constituents can’t get any to drink for weeks, months and in some cases years, they have to HUNT for water to LIVE, but because of them you are an uppity, arrogant, ego soaked minister…shame and disgrace..

18. It has been awful in the st Thomas and St Joseph area for the last week. Water has hardly been on and when it does come on, in a matter of 2 hours its off again.

I heard the PM say to try and bathe once a day only, but mistress if you get a decent shower up here in the bush once in the last 7 days you do good!

As they say parties change but little changes in this island. When the dems was in we cuss them for no water in the bush, now the bees in years later we cussing them for the same thing. When the bees wanted the vote up here, they promise the water problems was a thing of the past! Reservoirs was coming and desal plant was to get built pun de the east coast bla bla bla. 3 years in and what change? Not one dam thing!
    Wait i lie we still getting promises !!!

19. Fowl Slave Lorenza…they better not let anyone hear even a WHISPER..that they do it in STEALTH AGAIN…and that also goes for the nasty business people on the island who think they own slaves.

https://freepress.org/article/nuremberg-code-violations-big-pharma

20. How quickly all of you forgot the shitehound wickum who wanted to forceably vaccinate the Rasta Community and some of you idiots were supporting the half wit….in his persecution of the people and his outright ignorance.

21. As they say parties change but little changes in this island. When the dems was in we cuss them for no water in the bush, now the bees in years later we cussing them for the same thing. When the bees wanted the vote up here, they promise the water problems was a thing of the past! Reservoirs was coming and desal plant was to get built pun de the east coast bla bla bla. 3 years in and what change? Not one dam thing!
    Wait i lie we still getting promises !!!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ John A

A PROMISE BY EITHER THE DLP OR BLP IS A COMFORT FOR FOOLS.

22. Is it not ironic that TEETS lit this BONFIRE under his own tail and all by himself…

believing that they were going to get water is just the same as believing that any corrupt DLP minister or corrupt minority was going to be arrested by BLP even with ALL THE EVIDENCE RIGHT THERE for all the whole world to see.

23. believing that they were going to get water is just the same as believing that any corrupt DLP minister or corrupt minority was going to be arrested by BLP even with ALL THE EVIDENCE RIGHT THERE for all the whole world to see.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WHY IS IT NOT CLEAR TO ANYONE NOT FOLLOWING THE DLP OR BLP PROPAGANDA.

SEEMS THAT THERE ARE MANY MANY THOUSANDS OF BLACK GULLIBLE PEOPLE WHO ARE NOT THINKING FOR THEMSELVES ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND BESIDES THIS CHURCH GROUP WHICH HAS CONTRACTED COVID-19.

24. Yeah…and some areas are complaining that there is TOO MUCH CHLORINE in the water and it tastes like swimming pool water…so who else alyuh TRYING TO KILL NOW….

25. Alyuh playing with the RIGHT PEOPLE NOW…ya been BEGGING for it for YEARS…..not everyone is a Fowl Slave or willing to put up with alyuh human rights abuses…

26. @John A

You have heard the pleas from the Barbados Water Authority officials for Bajans to cutback on the use of potable water for washing their houses, cars etc? The use of potable water has compromised the reservoirs. You are aware that we are in the dry season? The laying of the mains re vineyard project and other projects ongoing will assist soon. Unfortunately the ash fall has made a bad situation worse. The poor infrastructure at the BWA is as a result of decades of neglect, it cannot be corrected in the same time the former government built a 60 million headquarters.

27. short memory syndrome will get the Fowl Slaves and the naysayers EVERY TIME…am beginning to really wonder if there is truth to the long held belief that the water has been tampered with over the decades, we know how the wicked and greedy are……but something is definitely wrong…..it’s NOT NATURAL…for anyone’s memory to be THAT SHORT…

blogs that were filled with comments by the same nuisances just weeks ago…THEY CAN’T REMEMBER ANYTHING that they themselves posted…lol..and they expect people to take them seriously..

28. Cart before horse syndrome as usual
    Govt bought electric air-conditioned useless buses
    Instead of worrying about fixing pipes
    Govt even boasted about buying more buses as the water system continue to decorate
    What a hot mess
    Head not brains

29. Good news, phase 2 distribution of vaccines restarts from tomorrow.

New date for start of vaccine second doses – New date for start of vaccine second doses: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/04/18/new-date-for-start-of-vaccine-second-doses/

30. @ Lorenzo April 18, 2021 6:02 PM

Only an ‘appallingly ignorant buffoon’ would interpret public health officials and the COVID Unit attempting to find some members of the ‘World Harvest Ministries International Church’…………

………. to mean Mia Mottley and the ‘government’ are looking for them.

Yes, I agree people have a constitutional right to practice their choice of religion. But, they should exercise some level of responsibility in their actions, while acknowledging the possibility of infringing other people’s rights as well.

The Charismatic Christian movement and its ‘charismatic leaders’ usually emphasize the manifestations of the gifts of the Holy Spirit…… direct divine inspiration, characterized as inglossolalia, healing powers or the ability to prophesy.

We’re faced with a situation where members of the ‘World Harvest Ministries International Church’ were allegedly encouraged by Apostle Lynroy Scantlebury, to ignore the COVID-19 protocols, at their own peril, thereby endangering the health of those people with whom they come into contact, believing they are being protected by the Holy Spirit?

The law enforcement health officials are responsible for law and order and protecting the health of every citizen respectively. What should they do under circumstances where Scantlebury and his wife Heather ignored Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George’s order for them to report to Paragon and start a period of quarantine?

What about those untested church member who are refusing to present themselves to the Wildey Gymnasium or any medical facility of their choice, to be tested for COVID-19?

I believe, in this particular situation, protecting the health of Barbadians takes priority over people’s right of religious freedom.

31. The point here is that Barbados has had to impose curfews and lockdowns in various forms to keep the virus under control in the last year. During this time many Barbadians have seen jobs disappear, some have died – the economy is still in ICU. Up comes a religious zealot flouting COVID protocols by encouraging no masks and congregation size that exceeded covid protocol. The result is that potentially the cluster if not arrested soon could derail the effort to curtail infections.

Lock them to hell up!

32. Lock them to hell up!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ALONG WITH DLP AND BLP PARASITES

33. David April 18, 2021 9:43 PM #: “Unfortunately the ash fall has made a bad situation worse. The poor infrastructure at the BWA is as a result of decades of neglect, it cannot be corrected in the same time the former government built a 60 million headquarters.”

You’ve made an interesting observation.

People have been complaining about a scarcity of water in St. Joseph since the early 1950s.

But, the irony of this situation is, in addition to ‘putting the horse before the cart’ and constructing a new BWA headquarters at a cost of $60M, while the BWA paid Gollop $1.5M for providing questionable legal services and the law firm Clarke Gittens and Farmer, $275,000 for preparing documentation………

…………. in 2016, the former DLP administration also constructed a new $28M five-storey headquarters for the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA), at Vaucluse, St Thomas, that has remained unused to this day.

So, we had a combined total of $89,775M, which could have been better utilized to improve sustainable water systems and infrastructure in those communities that are experiencing ‘water woes.’

But, the yard-fowls prefer to ‘fly off their fence’ to gripe and ‘talking’ shiite about 33 electric buses that were purchased to ‘replenish’ Transport Board’s ‘depleted stock of buses,’ which occurred ‘under the watch’ of an inept former GM Sandra Forde and Transport Minister, Michael Lashley, thereby affecting the TB’s ability to provide an efficient service.

34. We need to promote a system that is based on national priorities instead of at the whims and fancy of politicians whose primary focus is to win votes and popularity.

35. William Skinner Avatar

Et al
    We can spend all the time in the world digging up squandermania, there is more than enough to go around. A classic case of pots calling kettles black:
    Greenland: 100 ml.
    BWA & SSA buildings : 97ml
    Kensington Oval : 135 ml
    Total 332 ml.
    Now pray tell who the hell was thinking of water in St. Joseph! Both of these parties have squandered millions upon millions while collectively allowing: roads, schools, government buildings, buses, garbage trucks, ambulances, water services, etc to fall into unbelievable states of disrepair. They could not even maintain parliament.

“Boos,(Peter) who recently also stepped down as chairman of the Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation, also conceded that investment in Kensington Oval to the tune of $135 million has not yet started to bear fruit.
    “If you look at what has happened to Kensington Oval itself, it hasn’t gone to where we would have liked it to go. Why did that happen? It comes down to the way we do things here. It is all done on the basis of friendships and affiliations, he said”
    Nationnews , Feb., 20th 2015.

@ WURA is more than correct. Until we see the BLPDLP for what they really are, we would continue with business as usual.

36. These water problems are the result of years of neglect and corruption by the administrations of both parties.

This administration has been in for less than three years. Barbados was in a mess when it took over. That is why the last administration lost the election 30:0. For a couple of years before May 25th, 2018 not only were there water woes but sewage woes, garbage woes, bus woes and other woes too numerous to mention.

For the last year we have the added woes of COVID and now we have volcanic ash woes.

These added woes will probably delay the solutions that were planned for the other woes. Before these woes the other woes were being addressed.

Nothing wrong with keeping the pressure on this Government, especially for basic necessities such as water. If I was without water I would holler every day all day.

But DLP supporters should be ashamed to open their damn mouths to criticise!

I voted Bee for the first time last election and despite all the foul ups, bleeps and blunders, so far I see nothing to make me regret my decision, I have chosen the “devil” I know over the deep blue sea and, as far as I can tell, the devil can be bargained with whereas the deep blue sea was oblivious to human cries.

Unfortunately, we know how politics works in Barbados. We have the Bees and the Dees and very little else that offers any hope.

Changing this political environment is not an overnight job. It is up to us to dedicate our time, talent and energy in an organised and sustained effort to bring about the desired change.

P.S. And before William Skinner jumps in to remark on how we idiots are dazzled by a few garbage trucks and electric buses, let me assure him that we also have our eyes on all the matters of concern to him. But I will not feign indifference to the regular garbage pick ups and the absence of broken down buses on the roads.

37. Artax you are of course correct but look at how quick the so csll neutral Skinner jump in.As anyone point out the nonsense done by the dems he is here to defend talking about duolopoly.Sometime ago, he stated bajans are impresded by s few buses and garbage trucks.Of course he was not here waitng hours for a bus to get to work or hsving to live with s gsrbage pile up for weeks under his dems.Therefore he along with others can talk a lot of shite.We in Barbados know the job this party has done so far and continues to do even in tje face of covid amd now this ashfall.Of course we hope that the persons can get wster in the affected area soon nut instead of building a 60 ml dollar headquarters that money should jave been spent on supplying water.

38. “These water problems are the result of years of neglect and corruption by the administrations of both parties.”

LOUDER, LOUDER…they are both sickening and should pay for their CRIMES AGAINST THE PEOPLE….them and their tiefing millionaire friends…..investors had to be warned about them, those who found out how they treat the population WANT NOTHNG TO DO WITH THEM (came straight out of the billionaires x2 horse’s mouths)…they can only attract criminals to the island, just like the minorities they collude with…

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/19/dry-redmans-bagatelle/

“It was not only protesters in St Joseph who were crying out for water yesterday.

In Redmans Village, St Thomas, long-time resident Margarita Smith said while the volcanic ash had made a bad situation worse, they had been suffering way before La Soufriere sent ash spewing Barbados’ way two Fridays ago.

“We had water issues for the longest while and the place really stink. When the water vat comes out, it does not come through here and when you go to the tank, sometimes it is dry,” said the pensioner, who lives in a rocky cul-de-sac.

“I don’t know the last day I had a shower standing up. I have to bathe like the old people. And even before the volcano, we were suffering bad and the bills still coming in high. Every bill that coming in mark ‘due for disconnection’ so I don’t understand,” Smith said.”

39. Yeah all knew that the water system was in poor condition and getting worse for years
    However the politics going forward lend all eyes and years for the past ten years to conclude that something must be done to remedy the problem
    All remember so well how the politics of the blp under mottley was a cause for total.embarassment for the past govt as Mottley parade via media sources to make her views known calling past govt inept and worthless for not fixing the water system as the people cried for help having to endure days weeks and months of dry pipes
    Those were mostly her words and rallying cry against past govt
    Along with her cries she made promises under the banner called a Covenant of Hope to which the people of Barbados agreed
    Now two years later after a 30 -0 victory Mia forgets her promise to fix the water system
    A necessary component to good health
    However invest millions in useless electric bases which for the most part have been running on empty loads
    Meanwhile not a thought of telling the people in the same loud and vocal manner how much millions govt will put in place to fix the water system
    One can now only imagine the deteriorated state that both sewer systems would be facing given the amount of ash fall on the island and its impact on everything
    But don’t worry folks we got electric buses and more on the way
    Whoopi dooo

40. The long arm of the govt political machinery was a source which was used to embarrasses the Minister and his wife nothing more nothing else
    Look how quick the media along with the yardfowl David was quick to condemn the Minister
    If govt wanted to find these people govt could have without using the PR apparatus
    Barbados has been in lockdown and under curfews and recently people had to stay indoors because of the ash
    However govt had a hand to.play against these people and used it to demonize them
    A hand which has revealed that govt can be evil and wicked as hell when necessary
    The church minister has been speaking against govt policies
    Hence the day of reckoning for them had arrived and the long arm of political mischief stepped in and showed their dirty hand
    Be bless yuh all

41. Another violation of human rights, that has been happening for DECADES…forcing PAYMENTS from the vulnerable for WATER THEY ARE NOT GETTING….yall black beasts…it happened under BOTH DBLP governments..

42. Only international CRIMINALS will be interested in investing in a 54 YEAR OLD SLAVE SOCIETY…with the PM publicing saying on ITV London that the people are MENTALLY ENSLAVED for the whole wide world to see and hear……no one wants their names TAINTED with corrupt governments and mixed in with MODERN DAY SLAVERY.

43. The electric buses were ordered before COVID made the roads empty and were very much needed at the time. In fact, they were a response to the cries of the people.

Mercy me! I cannot take much more of this nonsense today!

My final statement today, “Anything the BLP eff up the DLP can eff up “better”

This government has two more years to go in which I hope we manage to convince them to do EVERYTHING, in the interest of the people.

God knows they have no competition at present and so our task has been made even harder by the refusal of the DLP to take stock, clean house and give us a better option.

No other options are appearing on the horizon, so we got to work with those we currently have.

Life!

44. Genuinely surprised that the water issue is such an intractable problem. It is not hundreds of thousands of people or hundreds of square miles that have an issue.

I am also surprised at the tens of millions of dollars spent on some buildings. Might not be a b or a d thing; perhaps we prefers fancy buildings over supplying water.
    “When a tourist pass by and see we building, he gun think we developed. We don’t need to solve the water problem, just gi he a place to buy a soda before going back to de hotel.’
    Have a great day. Spend your money wisely.

45. Put the country before your pockets
    Set reachable goals
    Set realistic timelines
    Prioritize
    Go for a few quick wins

46. And don’t forget the ease at which the 3oomillion was given to BHTI and the massive money in forgiven debts and huge tax waivers all money which could have been placed towards repair of the pipes all under this govt a govt which prides itself on benevolence while the pipes remains corroded
    Oh and the cruise industry also benefitted as govt extended a financial gift of voiding their docking fees
    God bless Barbados is the mantra while the poor cries we need help

47. Donna April 19, 2021 3:20 AM #: “These water problems are the result of years of neglect and corruption by the administrations of both parties.”

“But DLP supporters should be ashamed to open their damn mouths to criticise!”

Those were exactly the points I was trying to make, when I made the comparison between a known DLP ‘BU regular’ CONTINUALLY griping about this administration buying buses and the previous one preferring to construct a BWA headquarters, rather than address the water problems.

But, rather than interpret this fact as a clear indication the problem seemed not to be a PRIORITY for SUCCESSIVE BLP and DLP administrations…… and the NEGLECT CONTINUES to this day, we’re being ‘told’ nonsense about “digging up squandermania” and “pots calling kettles black,” and references made to the BLP’s Kensington Oval and the World Cup fiasco, to basically suggest they’ve ‘brought balance’ because we’re blaming the DLP only.

Sometimes I wonder about comprehension skills.

A few months ago, I posted an article from a 1951 ‘edition of a ‘Barbados Advocate,’ in which people from St. Joseph were complaining about water scarcity.

I was also surprised to read an article on page 5 of the June 30, 1951 edition of ‘The Barbados Advocate,’ in which was mentioned some Bridgetown vendors were complaining about the need for a market for them to ply their trade, while others wanted to remain on the streets.

There was an article on page 5 of July 15, 1951 Advocate entitled, “Colour Snobbery is Affecting School Life….. Cast it Out,” in which, during Queen’s College Speech Day, the then governor of Barbados called for an end of “this snobbery of colour by nearly all shades of the community.”

Drivers and conductors of buses owned by the private concessionaires were often reported by the police for ‘speeding and overloading’ respectively. There were several Traffic Court cases involving a Corporal Cyrus.

These are some of the SAME ISSUES we have been ‘discussing’ on BU in 2021, 70 years later. And, to think Barbados became independent in 1966.

48. TheOGazertsApril 19, 2021 7:07 AM

Genuinely surprised that the water issue is such an intractable problem. It is not hundreds of thousands of people or hundreds of square miles that have an issue.

It has all been in black and white since 1946 in the Senn Report.

The problem is not the water issue, it is the comprehension issue.

49. “However govt had a hand to.play against these people and used it to demonize them. A hand which has revealed that govt can be evil and wicked as hell when necessary.”

I’m sure Lisa Marshall and the other retrenched former Transport Board employees can attest to your comment.

And, under those circumstances, you DEFENDED the former administration’s operative who leaked correspondence from Lisa’s personal file to ‘DEMONIZE’ her and suggest she and the other former employees shouldn’t have complained to the media about not being paid their severance payments on the stipulated days, because she was a thief.

You ‘demonized’ Lisa and had some very nasty things to say about her.

Let me remind you.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2014/08/29/lisa-marshall-retrenched-worker-from-the-transport-board/

50. William Skinner Avatar

@ Donna@ @ Lorenza
    Once more it seems impossible to write anything here to expose the two parties with balance. My position now for at least forty years is that there really is no difference.
    I stated and I stay by my word that I never knew that buying buses or garbage trucks was to be seen as exceptional. I came up in a Barbados where the streets were clean and the bus service was excellent. The mere fact that the Democratic Labour Party did not buy garbage trucks or buses proves how incompetent they are/were. The mere fact that such praise was lavished for buying buses and garbage trucks showed how low we had sunk as nation providing basic service for the people. Amazing when we were getting water and proper bus service, the bus fares . We’re manageable Today they are astronomical.
    I never” put down “ buying buses or garbage trucks. I never said the government should not buy them. If you guys were to go in the archives of the Advocate, Nation , you would find where William Skinner had written letters asking us to keep the country clean under both administrations.
    It is intellectually dishonest to only point out squandermania under the Barbados Labour Party or the Democratic Labour Party. To be balanced one has to point out mismanagement and stupidity under both.
    There is evidence that we have been wasting water since the mid sixties or before. I , personally living in St. Michael experienced water problems, going back to the late seventies and on.
    These two parties are collectively responsible for all that is good and all that is bad about our country.
    Unfortunately no amount of personal BS will succeed in running me from BU or commenting on issues. What I would like anybody to prove is that I am writing lies or being biased. To this day friends in both the Barbados Labour Party and Democratic Labour Party laugh at me for running for the No Damn Party.(NDP) They say: Skinner you had to know that we gine lick up anybody dat come. They always say “ We”’ And I saw “them”do it.
    It will probably shock you to know that I was very active in the last election but people who don’t know a person, usually “ run dey mout” and get personal when confronted by pure facts.
    I repeat here : the two parties have done equally well and equally badly. Anybody can have their say in the degree of goodness or badness. I choose to brand them as Siamese twins. I have the following to back my thesis:
    Errol Barrow
    Hamilton Lashley
    David Comissiong
    Trevor Prescod
    Kerrie Simmons
    Clyde Mascoll
    Ralph Thorne
    All the above and dozens more have been Bees and Dees
    There are all up in one another.
    So, that’s my case and you are entitled to yours. As we say: I sticking by my guns and you are entitled to stick to yours regardless of whomever you are and wherever you are. We are all Bajans and we in did together. We alllove Bim equally.
    I really have nothing else to say other than I will continue to expose the BLPDLP whenever I deem it necessary. And further more I will continue to show that there is no difference in how the die hards of both parties behave on BU. And that is their right. Fair is fair.