Traditionally, for years this period between Christmas and New Year the United Kingdom normally experiences the largest level of holiday bookings than at any other time annually. Not this year of course, with our tourism policymakers and planners left to contemplate, what, if anything they can do to bridge the enormous void of visitor arrivals.

It is an unprecedented situation and for those who stand on the side and criticize, proffering what they think could be done, are only frankly second guessing a clearly almost impossible and unpredictable scenario.

What I understand the current guardians of our industry are successfully doing is maintaining the highest possible destination visibility with initiatives like the Welcome Stamp, visits by travel writers, travel agents and the incredible centenarian, Captain Sir Tom Moore, all naturally under carefully managed pandemic compliant conditions.

While, it may seem very optimistic given the current circumstances, I am still going to have a wish list for 2021.

As we emerge from the pandemic, there will be opportunities and some of these may come from those airlines that have survived, downsized and retired their larger, less fuel efficient aircraft. New aircraft like the incredible Airbus A321XLR will come into service and enable long haul routes from various European cities to operate planes which carry around 200 passengers, economically on non-stop services to the Caribbean.

Routes like Dublin or Belfast to Barbados then become less of a risk and given a massive price advantage by not having APD (Advanced Passenger Duty) imposed on the fares, saving at least UK Pounds 80 per passenger in the case of Northern Ireland.

Locally, I believe that a great more could be done with developing smart partnerships between all sectors across tourism and those companies who supply them together with our seemingly reluctant banking sector. As one of the persons deeply involved in creating the first fully functional small hotel alliance, it has been hugely disappointing not to witness more co-operation in this sub-sector, by developing joint promotional initiatives and driving cost savings through collaboration.

And as the cruise industry finally resumes sailings from the Caribbean, perhaps not until the very latter part of 2021, let us look objectively at exactly where we can truly benefit from this sector and justify the investment we have already placed in it.

As always, my thoughts go out to all the dedicated tourism workers and managers that are still employed and have sacrificed their quality family time over this festive period, to give our cherished visitors that holiday of a lifetime.

258 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – Wish List for 2021”

1. I myself have paid all but one of those taxes (although I do have state garbage collection). I have also paid heaps of income tax.

Did you never pay income tax, then?

You suffer no more than the rest of us.

2. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Donna, that was not the argument. We expect and have paid ALL our Government dues, but in doing so we reasonably expect Government to honour their obligations in re-paying nearly $30,000 they still owe us in agreed VAT refunds dating back to February 2013.

3. As I said in the beginning, I do hope you receive your due. Government should be prompt. Government is not prompt.

But again….. you suffer no more than the rest of us. My brother was owed more than that for several years from a government department for which he did work. For a small business that is a lot of money. I had to pick up the slack.

4. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

This Barbados Labour Party is catching at the proverbial , along with their yardfowls they are continuing to mislead the public. They don’t have an original idea in their heads.

This initiative will cause more problems than it causes, if any. There is is nothing here to see. The 97% of the Barbados population will be no better off.

This is all about the status quo. As soon as the Tax officials in other countries see that it is a drain on their tax systems they will put all sorts of restrictions on individuals and companies who participates.

5. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

should be “straw” on line one.

6. Adrian LoveridgeDecember 29, 2020 4:52 PM

Donna, that was not the argument. We expect and have paid ALL our Government dues, but in doing so we reasonably expect Government to honour their obligations in re-paying nearly $30,000 they still owe us in agreed VAT refunds dating back to February 2013

Care to share what that much vat refund entailed

7. “As soon as the Tax officials in other countries see that it is a drain on their tax systems they will put all sorts of restrictions on individuals and companies who participates.”

Could you please explain the above comment?

8. @ Carson C Cadogan,
    If remote working proves to be too popular then it is evident that the big boys on the block will break it up. For the moment they are observing and learning.

https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/2020-11-16/greece-or-barbados-the-tax-fight-for-covid-s-wfh-nomads-begins

9. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Some news for the Barbados Labour Party Govt.:

10. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Artax

See if you can understand this::

“Second, given the scale of the coronavirus-driven recession, which has blown a massive hole in government finances, those privileged enough to be able to duck out of the rat race will be in the firing line of tax authorities.

Bankers who fled New York City for the Hamptons earlier this year became a punching bag for politicians supporting a wealth tax, while those who escaped the City of London for destinations like St. Tropez were told to come back or face a change to their residency status. The U.K.’s tax authority has warned that any claim of “extraordinary circumstances” in terms of physical location would need to be justified and couldn’t exceed 60 days.”

Bloomberg

So don’t think other people are not watching.

11. These 20 states are raising their minimum wage on Jan. 1

While the coronavirus pandemic of 2020 has hit poor Americans the hardest, minimum wage earners in 20 U.S. states will get raises at the start of the new year. Four more states, plus Washington, DC, will raise their minimum wages later in 2021.

Florida’s workers will get one of the biggest raises, after voters overwhelmingly approved a ballot measure in November to gradually increase the minimum wage to $15 by 2026. The lowest-earning workers there earn $8.56 per hour and will move up to $8.65 on Jan. 1 and then $10 on Sept. 30.

Even without state mandates like Florida’s, some businesses have increased wages on their own, including Florida-based Lakewood Juices, which boosted the wage for its lowest earners to $15 four years ago. That boost “improves our own workers’ productivity,” according to Lakewood CEO Scott Fuhrman, who’s part of a national network called Business for a Fair Minimum Wage.

See also: ‘Patriotic Millionaires’ chair: Americans will spend stimulus ‘the very first week they get it’

Florida joins a range of states — California, Connecticut, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, and New York — that are all in the process of gradually increasing their minimum wage to $15. California’s minimum wage is set to reach $14 in 2021 and then $15 in 2022. Other states will reach $15 an hour in the subsequent years.
    CHICAGO, ILLINOIS – APRIL 03: Demonstrators march in front of the McDonalds Headquarters demanding a minimum wage of $15-per-hour and union representation on April 03, 2019 in Chicago, Illinois. McDonald’s recently announced that the company would no longer lobby against increases in minimum-wage. Similar demonstrations were held in 10 cities around the country today.

https://www.yahoo.com/finance/news/20-states-minimum-wage-increases-2021-204034392.html

12. THE 2 x 3 ISLAND NOW HAVING POOLS IN THE ROAD.

WELL WELL WELL.

TRULY PUNCHING ABOVE WEIGHT.

https://m.facebook.com/sharer.php?fs=8&sid=354177019329586&refid=52&tn=J%2AW-R

13. @ Critical Analyzer December 28, 2020 5:49 PM #: “The tax situation is probably much more straightforward than it is being made out to be since the company paying them is not changing their domiciled tax location and their salaries are still being deposited to their bank accounts back in their original country and their primary tax filing country is still their country of origin.”

I have to agree with Critical Analyzer.

A few weeks ago Baje was ‘saying’ the welcome stamp initiative was not unique to Barbados, in that other countries have been offering similar programs for a number of years. He was correct, but I decided not to comment on the issue.
    That’s why I previously mentioned the Czech Republic has a long-term visa with business purpose of stay, called ‘Zivno,’ which is meant for non-EU citizens who intend to work in the Republic as contractors, freelancers or operate their own business. Canadians, Americans, Australians and South Africans took advantage of the opportunity.

I could understand, for example, a USA domiciled company sending one of its employees here for 2 months to conduct business on behalf of the company and costs associated with air travel, accommodation, car rental, per diem, etc, charged to the client as reimbursable expenses.

But, for a company to pay the welcome stamp fee, in addition to all other expenses incurred for a remote employee to work here for up to one year and then charge them to expense accounts, would certainly attract the attention of tax auditors.

Taking that into consideration, I’m sure the tax authorities in remote workers’ jurisdictions would have already implemented the relevant tax legislation to rectify any situation that may have arisen in the past or to be confronted in the future.

14. Yes I am sure the tax authorities are right on in lol just like goverment of barbados bond yields are coming…or gobby for short

15. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Another unnatural death in Barbados.

This AG is a joke. When the Barbados Labour Party was in opposition he said that if Barbados has two murders , then that is two murders too many. And the Govt. must do something about it.

Now the Barbados Labour Party is in office, the BLACK PEOPLE who elected them 30 – 0 are being murdered like flies and the Govt. is doing nothing about it as they are BLACK PEOPLE. If a WHITE PERSON OR INDIAN is killed we will see a massive reaction from the Barbados Labour Party Govt.

Wait and see.

Then we will know who is more important. The 3% ,WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS, of the Barbados population or the 97%, BLACK, of the population.

16. Yeap getting down tp brass tax all the talk coming from Mia and her minions about crime
    But let see what this govt has done to curtail crime
    Nada
    Over fifty murders
    Missing persons disappearing like hot cakes
    Mystery deaths and the AG silence is as deafening as a dead body

17. “If a WHITE PERSON OR INDIAN is killed we will see a massive reaction from the Barbados Labour Party Govt.”

Both you and your partner Mariposa are two comedians.

When Dale Marshall was Attorney General in the Owen Arthur led BLP administration, then Opposition DLP criticized his handling of the crime situation.
    During the Thompson/Stuart led DLP administrations, then Opposition BLP criticized Stuart when he was AG and subsequently Adriel Brathwaite for their handling of the crime situation.

Now the BEEs are ‘in power,’ the political rhetoric continues. This is also a clear indication BOTH the BLP and DLP have FAILED to develop creative law and order strategies over the years.

However, what I would like for both of you to do, is please explain to BU, what policies could any BLP or DLP Attorney General implement to prevent murders that are:

…… ‘spur of the moment;’
    …… premeditated (gang ‘hits,’ drug related, revenge, etc);
    …… motivated by domestic violence (jealousy, anger because the relationship ended, drunken rage, etc);
    …… accidental;
    …… serial murders.

18. Axe falls on Sandals head
    Govt delisted Sandals off its quarantine list

19. But then again it is the blp in power
    Also the dlp did not have that many hands to help them find solutions
    As Mia said many hands makes for light work reason why she hired all those consultants and brought retired commissioners back to work
    However leave to Artax to sew the mistakes of this govt together to make yarn

20. ANOTHER MURDER TONIGHT.

3 IN 3 DAYS ALL OVER THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

SEEMS LIKE ENDING THE YEAR 2020 IN A BANG NO PUN INTENDED.

SLEEPING ATTORNEY GENERAL WHO DON’T HAVE A CLUE FOR THE LAST 2 1/2 YEARS.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Man shot in Upper Collymore Rock

There are unconfirmed reports reaching Nation News that a man was fatally shot in Upper Collymore Rock, St Michael around 9:30 p.m tonight.

https://www.nationnews.com/2020/12/29/man-shot-upper-collymore-rock/

21. “However leave to Artax to sew the mistakes of this govt together to make yarn.”

I know your intelligence is beyond us and you’re the ‘queen of metaphors.’ Unfortunately, however, you seem not to know the DIFFERENCE between a QUESTION and a STATEMENT.

How is asking you a few simple questions about what policies the attorneys general of BOTH the BLP and DLP could implement to prevent murders……………. be interpreted as “sewing the mistakes of this govt together to make yard?”

22. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

“Another unnatural death in Barbados.”

This is no. 2.

What is going on??????

“”This AG is a joke. When the Barbados Labour Party was in opposition he said that if Barbados has two murders , then that is two murders too many. And the Govt. must do something about it.

Now the Barbados Labour Party is in office, the BLACK PEOPLE who elected them 30 – 0 are being murdered like flies and the Govt. is doing nothing about it as they are BLACK PEOPLE. If a WHITE PERSON OR INDIAN is killed we will see a massive reaction from the Barbados Labour Party Govt.

Wait and see.

Then we will know who is more important. The 3% ,WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS, of the Barbados population or the 97%, BLACK, of the population.””

23. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

All I had to do was to repost my earlier comment with a few additions. So simple!!!!!!!

Let the blog master “”steupse”” now. He, “donna” and “Ärtax” are there to prop up the incompetent Barbados Labour Party. Not BLACK PEOPLE.

24. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

I will ask a few questions to find out if Sandals is the only hotel with guests in quarantine who are walking about. And see what was done to them.

25. @ Carson
    @Mariposa

You are both right about this grossly incompetent attorney general. You get him on a stage talking about CoVid social distancing but not even a single word about the epidemic of shooting taking place in ordinary working class districts. Nothing either from his boss, herself a former attorney general. Where is the commissioner of police.
    It is not rocket science, other countries have had (and continue to have) similar problems, but they also put in place policies to deal with the problems.
    We have all learned from the @PLT remote working visas that if you make policy suggestions they will be captured and implemented inadequately.
    There are certain things we can safely assume, such as that the guns used in these murders (very little is said about the motives) are imported; that we are not told of any forensic examination of these weapons, if recovered; and if the gunmen (they are usually men) are acting on their own or as part of any gangs.
    Media reporting is inadequate (remember officer Gittens who shot his neighbour, was remanded in prison, then given bail by Adriel Brathwaite and is yet to face a court, nearly three years after a BLP government came to power?).
    We can also assume that the boys on the block are not the only ones armed, that certain religious and ethnic groups are heavily armed, especially the Syrian/Lebanese communities, but also the Asians and the Bajan whites.
    We know that someone is acting as quartermaster in these communities, smuggling g guns ans selling them (or hiring them out, something our forensic experts have not yet told us) to these youths.
    What is the price of a gun on the black market? How much does it cost to hire one for a specific job? If a gun is used in a crime, especially a murder, what happens to that weapon?
    Do you notice the silent brigade, a peculiar Bajan Condition, from the victims’ members of parliament, to the church, the police association, the bar association, academics, our so-called criminologists, even on BU, apart from the hysterics.
    In the meantime, people live in fear of the gunmen, on the one hand, and the police, on the other.

26. Could never understand the idea of using hotels as quarantine centres
    Now everyday one reads of people while under strict govt orders to quarantine leaving the hotels
    The problem in my opinion lies with govt protocols which were mostly designed to fill hotel rooms and not with a first all towards safety for the entire country
    Now that arrivals have increased govt finds itself having to implement laws to punish the visitor when in fact it is govt who is at fault

27. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

I have often ask the question, why no one who supplied the guns are ever brought to Court???? The Royal Barbados Police Force are sure to ask where the gun come from?????They are surely given an answer???? Why no action against the person who the gun come from???? Is it because they are from the 3% of the population????

My opinion is that the person who supplied the gun to kill some one is just as guilty as the person who pulled the trigger. Their assets should be taken away. When known , why are they not in Court???They are just as guilty. Why no action is being taken against them????

Why is the Royal Barbados Police Force operating with such ANTIQUATED LAWS????? In these modern times why are no laws being passed which would arrest this situation???? Why are laws only being passed to give jobs to the friends of the Barbados Labour Party????

Why are guns still coming through the Bridgetown port at Harbor Road????

28. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Why is nothing being done to stop the use of the firing range at Waterford, St. Michael??????Morning, noon, and night, that Range is being used. Is that where the guns are being sold illegally???? There is a School nearby, the children have to put with it every day, there is a Church right next to the Range, they have to put with it everyday as they try praise God. It is a working district with lots of BLACK PEPLE why is nothing being done to close it down?????Because it used the 3% of the Barbados population.

As far the Harbor Road shots can be heard being fired. The people are always asking if some being killed. This happens everyday. Why in light of gun crime in the Country ,. why is the Shooting Range not being shut down as an example to the Country.

That shooting Range is in the PRIME MINISTER constituency.

29. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

should be “:is by” in line 5

30. @ Hal
    Why worry? When there were 28 murders , all the BLPs on BU were calling for resignations. Now there are two straight years of record breaking murders, the same BLPs are saying that “ de attorney general don’t shoot anybody”. Then next you would hear “ there’s crime everywhere “.
    Man, this is by far a failed attorney general but that’s who we are ; party first , country second.
    On the other side the DLP after nearly three years ,can’t announce four candidates and don’t have any real alternative policies other than warmed over soup.
    In the midst of a pandemic the Opposition leader is complaining that MPs are underpaid and ex MPs need to be treated as elite citizens.
    Spend ten years in parliament and you are guaranteed a pension. When you expire as PM , your spouse gets a pension for life.
    I am completely at lost, why Atherley would want to talk such crap at this time.
    Where are his candidates ? How is he preparing to be a force in 2023.
    It’s becoming one serious joke.

31. @ William

Barbados is a failed state. Its attractions are simply its lawlessness, the incompetence and corruption of public officials and its lack of an effective criminal justice system. It will end in tears.
    But, as I have said before, young people need leadership, those aspiring to leadership should get out in the community every day and night, offering advice, writing letters, providing advocacy for poor people, defending them at work, school administrators and with landlords.
    Poor people are bullied by unscrupulous employers, police, courts, lawyers because they think they have no representation; bullies come in all shades, in Barbados the most common of which is a belief in having a better education or professional qualifications.
    Once you expose the myth of their standard of education and the value of their paper qualifications they get angry and want to be violent.

32. Stupid CCC,

Lorenzo calls me a disgruntled Dem and now you say I am here to prop up the Bees!

That is the problem with yardfowls, wuhnuh got politics of the eyes disease.

My man, both parties allowed this gang stuff to get out of hand. But who are the puppeteers behind the screens? Why is it only stupid little black boys paying the price?

I don’t know who the puppeteers are but I bet the authorities do. I wonder why they escape unscathed.

Poor me, all I can do is advocate for an upgrade of our educatipnal system to present all little black boys with a sense of hope and social programmes that present them with options.

Then, if they choose the path that leads to early death, it would be all at them.

33. I have often ask the question, why no one who supplied the guns are ever brought to Court???? The Royal Barbados Police Force are sure to ask where the gun come from?????They are surely given an answer???? Why no action against the person who the gun come from???? Is it because they are from the 3% of the population????

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

IT SEEMS TO ESCAPE SOME OF YOU THAT THERE ARE LOCAL POLICE ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND ENGAGED IN SELLING OF GUNS RACKET AMONG MANY OTHER UNDERGROUND ACTIVITIES,

34. @ Hal
    The future of Barbados will be determined in the next year. For donkey years progressives have been saying that without radical and revolutionary reform of the educational system,there can be no economic restructuring/reform.
    We also gave to seriously tackle land reform and economic enfranchisement. We cannot allow the environment to continue to deteriorate.
    The economy must be diversified, even if we have to pay a price for three or four years, let us do so with a vision. We need to create jobs not delusional joys.
    These are the real issues, the smoke and mirrors must end. We got this, watch muh and not bout here is not government policy. Over used catch phrases: critical mass, fit for purpose and other simplistic mouthings never created a job or put food on the table.
    The same way we hammered Stuart we now have to hammer Mottley. She is getting too many free passes.
    Time for jive talking is over.

35. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Hal
    Would it be safe to say that we are a Banana Republic?????

36. Allow the blogmaster to say – Barbados is everything that is bad in this world.

37. @ Carson

No. We do not have any bananas. We a re a delusional state, with an inflated opinion of who we are. As a nation we live in a parallel universe.

@ William

You are right as usual. I will go through each point one by one. There is indeed an urgent need for a radical reform of our educational system. As a nation, we are functionally ill-equipped to function in a modern, highly technological world. Further, after 14 years of Arthur, ten years of Thompson/Stuart, and two years of Mottley,, where are we? We cannot even get our messed up CXC exams right five months after the unintended attack on our children’s futures.
    On land reform, again you are fight. There is no reason why the freehold in ALL land cannot be held by the state, with residential and commercial leaseholders have a right of occupancy.
    By the way, remember the hurricane that flattened Barbuda and the scandalous attempt by the government of Antigua to remove the Codrington (a slaveholder) covenant against freeholders? Yet you had this awful government wanting to remove one of the most progressive land reform policies in the western world in order to build hotels.
    On the economy, again you are right. However, it will take a book to explain the gross incompetence of EVERY government we have had since November 1966 as far as the economy is concerned.
    The myth of economic growth was demolished in the early 1970s by radical economists and has no real place in modern economic theory, it is bogus.
    Our challenge is improving the standard of living of ordinary Barbadian people, not the fallacy of economic growth.

38. Our challenge is improving the standard of living of ordinary Barbadian people, not the fallacy of economic growth.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WELL SAID.

INSTEAD OF ALL THE FALSE PROMISES AND LINING OF POCKETS.

39. @ Hal,
    You’re punching like a superheavyweight champion. The tragic story below is a familiar theme shared by many black citizens who give up on their respective countries to seek greener pastures in foreign countries.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/12/30/ethiopian-refugee-symbol-of-integration-in-italy-killed-on-farm

Black Bajans need to recognise that the majority of them only have one home: and it is called Barbados.

Also check out the Al-Jazeera program below. The parallels shared with the Caribbean are evident.

https://www.aljazeera.com/program/inside-story/2020/12/28/can-africa-be-described-as-democratic

40. @TLSN

CoVid has given us an opportunity to stop and reflect, but it appears as if we are missing the opportunity. We need good leadership.

41. David,

How far is the US of A , that so-called bastion of democracy from a Banana Republic? Even as the “great systems and competence” of America and Europe is exposed for the world to see, still they bash the little 2×3 as alone in its Bajan Condition. It is obvious that Hal Austin gets pleasure from self-flagellation. Since his black skin ensures that to the British he ain’t nothing but a Bajan.

But… putting that stupidity aside (as I am able to do though he can’t) he and William are making good points.

42. are exposed

43. @Donna

Just read a report that Operation Warp Speed quickly delivered the vaccine to locations not equipped to store and distribute effectively because of handling requirements. This is unraveling in the great USofA.

44. @ David who wrote ” Barbados is everything that is bad in this world.”

45. @ David
    David December 30, 2020 9:14 AM

“Allow the blogmaster to say – Barbados is everything that is bad in this world.“

You are doing a serious injustice to basic common sense. It is appallingly ignorant to continuously compare our country with the USA, Japan, China, Canada,England.
    There is nothing wrong with Barbados. Barbados has been and continues to be good to all of us.
    We need to move on from this nonsense. I have addressed, in both formal and informal gatherings, my Caribbean brothers and they have always agreed with me that Barbados is perhaps the best managed country in the region.
    I have seen and visited primary schools in Trinidad that are slums compared to what we have. I have seen private schools atop supermarkets, where Trinidadians pay $6000 per term.
    You and others need to just accept that those who criticize are saying we can do better and must do better and we are simply not going as well as we can.
    There is crime, dresses, garbage, poor public transportation, squatters, corrupt politicians, poor water supply all over the frigging world. We know that.
    What want to address is ensuring where these problems exist in our country is to continuously counter them and conquer them , so that our country can be better.
    Stop the damn foolishness and put Barbados.
    You ought to really know better. You have a blog read by thousands. Every blasted day you ask the political class to step up to the plate. Please ask yourself to do the same.
    If anybody on this blog or anywhere else ever say that Barbados is the worst place in the world, I will be the first to cuss them blind.
    Get serious or just shut to hell up!

46. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Hal

“”Our challenge is improving the standard of living of ordinary Barbadian people, not the fallacy of economic growth.””

You said a mouthful.

Why must BLACK PEOPLE IN BARBADOS always continue as hewers of wood and drawers of water for the other Races???? Especially when they form only a tiny fraction of the population???? 3% of the total population of Barbados.

47. One man’s opinion
    I would put William in a class by himself. Some of what he says may be hard to digest but his contributions are truthful and always delivered with the intention of helping.

1/1
    Hal is a solid contributor, but there is too much variation in his deliveries. One moment an excellent delivery, but the next moment he is waging a silly war .
    Overall: At times unequaled, but
    can be distracted and loses his focus