Traditionally, for years this period between Christmas and New Year the United Kingdom normally experiences the largest level of holiday bookings than at any other time annually. Not this year of course, with our tourism policymakers and planners left to contemplate, what, if anything they can do to bridge the enormous void of visitor arrivals.

It is an unprecedented situation and for those who stand on the side and criticize, proffering what they think could be done, are only frankly second guessing a clearly almost impossible and unpredictable scenario.

What I understand the current guardians of our industry are successfully doing is maintaining the highest possible destination visibility with initiatives like the Welcome Stamp, visits by travel writers, travel agents and the incredible centenarian, Captain Sir Tom Moore, all naturally under carefully managed pandemic compliant conditions.

While, it may seem very optimistic given the current circumstances, I am still going to have a wish list for 2021.

As we emerge from the pandemic, there will be opportunities and some of these may come from those airlines that have survived, downsized and retired their larger, less fuel efficient aircraft. New aircraft like the incredible Airbus A321XLR will come into service and enable long haul routes from various European cities to operate planes which carry around 200 passengers, economically on non-stop services to the Caribbean.

Routes like Dublin or Belfast to Barbados then become less of a risk and given a massive price advantage by not having APD (Advanced Passenger Duty) imposed on the fares, saving at least UK Pounds 80 per passenger in the case of Northern Ireland.

Locally, I believe that a great more could be done with developing smart partnerships between all sectors across tourism and those companies who supply them together with our seemingly reluctant banking sector. As one of the persons deeply involved in creating the first fully functional small hotel alliance, it has been hugely disappointing not to witness more co-operation in this sub-sector, by developing joint promotional initiatives and driving cost savings through collaboration.

And as the cruise industry finally resumes sailings from the Caribbean, perhaps not until the very latter part of 2021, let us look objectively at exactly where we can truly benefit from this sector and justify the investment we have already placed in it.

As always, my thoughts go out to all the dedicated tourism workers and managers that are still employed and have sacrificed their quality family time over this festive period, to give our cherished visitors that holiday of a lifetime.

258 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – Wish List for 2021”

1. @ Hal.

Yes and I am sure as we go along we will have to adjust the plan. Truth is it will be interesting to people from high expense locations like London and New York and other similar locations. Doubt we will get many from Idaho coming. Lol

2. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The tax situation is probably much more straightforward than it is being made out to be since the company paying them is not changing their domiciled tax location and their salaries are still being deposited to their bank accounts back in their original country and their primary tax filing country is still their country of origin.

They are not working in Barbados so there really is not much FATCA information if any to exchange about earnings from abroad which is what foreign countries really care about, reporting earnings outside of their country so they can have their piece of the pie.

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal & @ John A

I’ve been working with tax experts since May to try to anticipate the response of jurisdictions such as the UK and USA to the prospects of their citizens working remotely from Barbados.

To begin with the enabling legislation goes out of its way to define people who are here on a Welcome Stamp as being non-resident for tax purposes.

From the Remote Employment Bill, 2020 https://www.barbadosparliament.com/bills/details/512?:
    “4. A non-national who has been granted a Barbados Welcome Stamp to work remotely from Barbados shall be deemed not to be resident in Barbados for the purposes of section 85(5) of the Income Tax Act, Cap. 73.”

The process also includes an undertaking by the applicant to pay all applicable taxes on their earnings in their originating jurisdiction.

Tax law in the USA has already been struggling with this question for decades in the case of high paid New York City workers who live across the river in New Jersey. New York has tried to make sure that they pay State income tax in New York.

However, although Barbados is making no claim on the income taxes of remote workers, it has not escaped the attention of some of them that they can reconfigure their employment relationship to become subcontractors, incorporate in Barbados, and be taxed at a 5% level here.

I have no doubt that as the remote work sector grows it will face some attacks from both the UK and USA. They will fail because their own citizens will ensure that they fail.

4. @ PLT

Yes that is what I told David earlier they will not be expected to pay taxes locally. They will be responsible for their on domicile tax based on gross earnings like if they were home. IRS don’t care where you are just pay them what you owe.

To me what will be interesting is how will their revenue services view the increased expenses the companies will entail with off domicile expenses? When these expenses are added to their current expenses it will reduce their taxable income how will this be viewed? Also as you say for 5% of revenue they can incorporate locally so what happens then? No Doubt down the road this will face the same problems as the offshore sector, until then get all you can from it!

5. @PLT

I do not know who your ‘experts’ are, I am not an expert, but with respect you are just an ordinary citizen. It is the government that has to clarify this matter, even if they have a policy of not explaining or apologising.
    What I can tell you is that if you go to even open a new bank account in the UK one of the most important questions they ask is if you are of interest to the IRS. They ask that for a reason.
    I believe the Yanks are thugs, but as things stand, they have enormous cross-border power, the long reach of their law. Whatever your experts tell you we are heading down a further digging of the blacklisting hole.
    By the way, if an ordinary person comes to Barbados, not a remote worker, and wants to remain for a year not working, but able to fund themselves, what is the immigration situation with such a case?

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Carson C Cadogan December 28, 2020 1:47 PM
    “Encourage the “stay and work” people to stay at Black owned properties so that BLACK PEPLE may have a meaningful share of the pie.”
    +++++++++++++++
    I am working as hard as I can to do exactly this. However rentals still only benefit the wealthy who have properties to rent. I, and many others, also try to make sure that they spend as much as possible with small scale Black owned businesses. Vegan food from Plant Lyfe https://www.instagram.com/plantlyfebarbados/, gourmet ice cream from Churn https://www.instagram.com/churnbarbados/, greens from Organic Growers Barbados https://www.instagram.com/ogca_barbados/, deserts from Agapey Chocolate Factory https://www.instagram.com/agapeychocolatefactory/, coconut water from the roadside vendors, etc.

7. (Quote):
    However, although Barbados is making no claim on the income taxes of remote workers, it has not escaped the attention of some of them that they can reconfigure their employment relationship to become subcontractors, incorporate in Barbados, and be taxed at a 5% level here. (Unquote).

Now that is when (and where) the tax status of “remote workers” becomes dicey proposition and will indeed attract the ‘detailed’ attention of their ‘home’ tax jurisdiction.

As it currently stands, the (sound) tax advice given by Critical Analyzer @December 28, 2020 5:49 PM is applicable provided no tax avoidance schemes are undertaken like claiming non-work related expenses as tax deductibles.

Double Taxation Treaties are designed to facilitate such business/work enterprises or undertakings.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Hal Austin December 28, 2020 6:09 PM
    “… but with respect you are just an ordinary citizen.
    ++++++++++++++++
    Yes you are correct… I’m talking to people who work with Invest Barbados and I’ve recruited a person with a British PhD in international Tax Law onto my Board of Directors.

“… if an ordinary person comes to Barbados, not a remote worker, and wants to remain for a year not working, but able to fund themselves,” they can stay for six months if from the UK, Australia, NZ, USA, or Canada. Then they apply to the Immigration Department for an extension for a further six months. Alternatively they can travel for a weekend to an island within our COVID travel bubble then return to Barbados for another six months.

9. @ PLT

They are 2 ways I can see the IRS will come at these entities.

First they will look at how the expenses in Barbados are affecting the historic pre Barbados taxable revenue. If the bajan expenses have caused the taxable revenue to fall substantially they coming for you by either capping the allowance, or taxing the full expense as a taxable benefit.

Secondly on the employees here working for these entities they can come with things like taxing the housing benefit etc being provided here for the employees.

These 2 moved will address both the company and employees in one shot. But its early days so cross those bridges as they come and don’t be daunted by what could be.

10. Critical Analyzer Avatar

None of them are permanently moving to Barbados so I really don’t see any of them going the incorporating in Barbados route. Incorporating in Barbados means they will need work permits as well as the stress that brings for FATCA and tax shelters, treaties and all the cross jurisdiction tax compliance headaches.

I more so see them leaving their money in their original countries using their credit cards and doing wire transfers to top up local bank accounts just like Bajans permanently living and working abroad that come here for months during the year and transfer the funds they will need to support themselves for the time they are here.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Critical Analyzer December 28, 2020 6:36 PM
    “None of them are permanently moving to Barbados so I really don’t see any of them going the incorporating in Barbados route. Incorporating in Barbados means they will need work permits as well as the stress that brings for FATCA and tax shelters, treaties and all the cross jurisdiction tax compliance headaches.”
    +++++++++++++++
    I have already had two inquiries about local incorporation. They do not need a work permit to incorporate locally. It is generally the very high earners who want to explore such options, but you are correct that it brings lots of headaches. They are willing to deal with the headaches if they are in a tax bracket which has them paying over $100k USD in US Taxes, because they will then hire lawyers and tax accountants to deal with the headaches and still come out way ahead financially.

12. The truth about the Welcome Stamp, is that with all the promises made since 2018, it is the only new policy initiative, that has captured both local and international attention. It proves the point , that some have been making for forty plus years, and that is the fact , that the BLPDLP are bankrupt of ideas.
    The bigger point here, is that withoiut innovation and creativity; with or without COVID, the economy is always going to be debt ridden and will be always proppped up by borrowing, to cover the holes that will keep recurring. It is a pity that the conversation cannot move beyond the petty back and forth and often pie -in -the sky mouthings.
    The Welcome Stamp is on its way. A simple evaluation shows that it is capable of achieving some success. However, it cannot be seen as the one innovation that will lift us out of the predicament.
    We really need better leadership and our private sector needs to be held to the fire. @ PLT has done his country a great favor. I have been calling for money to be pumped into a thousnad small businesess to create three thousand jobs. We are now a rudderless ship and the rocks await us , don’t mind how much we fool ourselves. We will not avoid the crash by long drawn out pseudo intellectual mumbo jumbo.

13. @ Enuff December 28, 2020 12:10 PM
    “….. you either ignored or are unaware that like the car industry, the aviation industry is heading towards electrification.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Yes, indeed, just like any other means of transport.

The question is if Barbados can wait 20 to 30 years down the ‘grass-growing-while-the-horse-starving’ road for that vaccine to stem the loss of forex blood from the existing gaping wound caused by Covid and its ramifications for the future air travel.

The more eco-conscious future tourists would be less focused on the ecologically-exposed sea, sand and sun traditional fare which Barbados mainly offers and would want more cultural fizz for their hard-earned post Covid bucks.

Barbados depends heavily on long-haul airlifts mainly out of the UK which “electric” airplanes would not be able to provide until some time in the future when technology in that field would have advanced to the level comparable to the performance of the modern Mercedes-Benz B250e or the Ford Focus Electric when compared to the Model T.

Electric airplanes in the very near technological future would be more befitting for regional carriers like LIAT (2025) catering more for ‘business’ travel than sun worshipping pleasure seekers on the cheap.

14. I do not want to come across as a curmudgeon. However, it has to be pointed out that this government has carried out all sorts of acrobatics that would put to shame the world’s greatest female acrobat – Simon Biles.

Our government has utilised all the PR tools at their disposal and have worked hard to ensure that PLT’S scheme reaps rewards.

The effort shown by this government in their rush to seduce PLT’S nomad warriors highlights the degree to which successive Barbadian governments have failed their own people. Our government has never shown such largesse to her citizens. I have to say, this whole thing sits very uncomfortably with me.

15. @ Miller
    You are absolutely correct. We were fooled ,like magic , that the tourist industry , will just “ bounce back”. It did not and will not happen. Anybody who believes that high end villa rentals can save us , is fooling nobody but themselves.
    There are always people who want to travel. Sometimes they wait until children finish college or when they retire.
    Furthermore, all of our major tourist markets have their own local tourism and the numbers to support that industry.
    We either improve our product dramatically or it will itself become a burden on the economy. Quite frankly it’s a tremendous burden on the economy at present. Note we were forced to take three hundred million to prop it up.
    We may be a prime or leading tourism destination in the Caribbean but when compared to other destinations, we are barely on the radar. However, it is difficult for us to accept this simple fact.
    We need a new product or the post COVID numbers will be very depressing. We are probably oblivious to people, in our major destinations , in lines ten or more miles waiting for food.

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@TLSNDecember 28, 2020 6:59 PM
    “Our government has never shown such largesse to her citizens. I have to say, this whole thing sits very uncomfortably with me.”
    ++++++++++++
    The Government has shown zero “largesse” to the Welcome Stamp vis applicants either. They pay $4,000 per individual or $6,000 per family for a visa which costs the Government exactly $0.

I understand that the initiative makes many Bajans uncomfortable. We should not minimize the risks it poses:
    1. It is causing real estate price inflation.
    2. Many of the visa holders are from jurisdictions like Australia, South Africa, the UK and USA where White supremacist racism is widespread, and the last thing we need in Barbados is to be importing racist people to be living among us long term.
    3. It is an evolution of the tourism industry and suffers from many of the same socio-cultural drawbacks as out traditional tourism industry in bringing a largely White bunch of visitors to be served by Black Bajans in ways that are an uncomfortable mirror of our history of enslavement by Colonial powers.

So let us figure out ways to use this opportunity to innovate beyond tourism.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Evidence of the inflationary effect of the Welcome Stamp visa program:
    https://www.barbadospropertysearch.com/blog/2020/12/28/have-long-term-rental-rates-in-barbados-gone-up-in-2020?

18. @ PLT,
    Thank you for your courteous reply. I am old enough to remember when whites fled London in their droves when Caribbeans started to settle in London. Once we got to the nineties we witnessed the return of the white population to London. Areas that had sizeable black populations became gentrified by whites. Many well-to-do blacks with young families decided to quit inner city London for the more peaceful suburbs. Whilst the less fortunate who lived in council/ government buildings were forced to relocate outside of London.

PLT you may have unleashed a beast. I have to admit I was stupified to witness that interview with the South African family.

This so-called transition of our tourism industry will morph into a great migration wave. I have spoken.

19. (Quote):
    Many of the visa holders are from jurisdictions like Australia, South Africa, the UK and USA where White supremacist racism is widespread, and the last thing we need in Barbados is to be importing racist people to be living among us long term. (Unquote).

Bu isn’t Barbados already tarnished with a past of having been a very early exemplary perpetrator in the practice of apartheid?

we suspect they (the ‘imported racists) would feel rather at home where the bedrock of racism/apartheid still exists in the socio-economic arrangements of the deeply conservative Bajan society in which the white man is still worshipped as a god.

20. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

We are opening Pandora’s box with this thing. The WHITE BAJANS are happy with it because it has the potential to sure up their dwindling numbers. So they are happy with it. But my children to come will be nothing but servants. The real estate prices will sky rock out the realm of Black people as already happening with THE INDIANS.

21. Really would like the numbers or statistics on how many people / visitors have taken advantage of the welcome stamp
    Have seen all the PR and commercialistion of the Welcome Stamp but no numbers that indicate vistors acceptance
    Talk is cheap only in barbados can govt talk a lot about” what has happened” but shows no glaring proof
    At this point i am convinced that there is a ting of Smoke and Mirrors attached to this Stamp which brings to mind the white dude who has his eyes clasp firmly on land to plant marijuana
    Makes for wonder if this white dude is part of the Welcome Stamp bridgade and how many more like him waiting to plant feet on our shores

22. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Certain people interest, including the blog master, on this matter is only to prop up the Barbados Labour Party at any cost. They dont care what happens to future BLACK BARBADIANS.

23. Milluh
    Electrified airplanes are expected in the next decade, as the groundwork has already been laid within the automotive industry (engines are engines). Much lighter materials are also being developed. Furthermore, carbon off-setting is part and parcel of the NET zero carbon emissions agenda. The eco-traveller will not outstrip the mass tourist and the eco-conscious traveller will quickly coalesce into the mass traveller given the ongoing greening agenda across every industry, including aviation, and growing consciousness in relation to climate change. Greta is against air travel due to the impact of emissions from airplanes not because she hates New York City. But let’s go back to the concept of net zero and accept that I can’t swim from Bdos to New York but can surely take a train from Paris to Vienna. So what type of air travel would and should be reduced first?

24. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

In 1880 , 99% of all BLACK people worked for whites, Today , 98% of all BLACK people work for whites. You are enjoying a Social illusion because you go to someone’s else’s rest. but you don’t own the rest. itself.

Dr. Claud Anderson

25. @ peterlawrencethompson December 28, 2020 7:26 PM

“It is causing real estate price inflation.”
    Not if we confine our beloved expats to St. James, gated communities and to the heights.

“the last thing we need in Barbados is to be importing racist people to be living among us long term.”
    I agree wholeheartedly. We already have enough local racists like John, Presscott and CCC.

“bringing a largely White bunch of visitors to be served by Black Bajans in ways that are an uncomfortable mirror of our history of enslavement by Colonial powers.”
    In Florida, France, Italy, Greece and Spain, locals enjoy working in the tourism industry. It is a Barbadian peculiarity to believe that services are equivalent to slavery. That’s why also agriculture is dead in our country – because the locals are too posh to work in the fields.

26. WS
    “The truth about the Welcome Stamp, is that with all the promises made since 2018, it is the only new policy initiative, that has captured both local and international attention.”

You duz mek me laff. The world is confronted with Covid, which disrupts tourism (a global industry)and by extension economies even in big cities like New York, Paris and London. It is obvious that the Welcome Stamp would capture local and international attention. There are however quite a number of other good policy initiatives since 2018. Just admit you don’t understand them, just like you poured scorn on the idea of climate and low covid rates being an attractive combo for tourists, if my memory serves me correctly.

27. @Peter

Does this Property Search Listing represent a total market view or is it a niche segment.

28. @enuff

For the sake of the discussion go ahead and list the other initiatives. Are these initiatives enough to move the GDP needle to satisfy concerns about the need to diversify the economy?

29. David
    Is their a role for “ease of doing business” in moving the GDP needle and or diversification? What about land development policy and its role in engendering diversification and driving growth?

30. @enuff

There is a role for creating greater efficiency to existing processes in the economy BUT surely this is more about maintenance if we want to create new industries to channel opportunities in a brave new global economy?

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ David December 28, 2020 9:36 PM
    “Does this Property Search Listing represent a total market view…”
    +++++++++
    It is supposed to be a statistically representative sample, but I’m not sure how good their methodology is.

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Enuff
    Ease of doing business has a very long way yet to go in Barbados before it has any significant economic impact.

The energy policy however, specifically getting solar photovoltaic electricity ramped up, is very economically significant. Bravo.

The next step is to notice that we do not need to take land out of agricultural production when we cover it with photovoltaic cells… just put the framework 8 ft off the ground and space out the cells a little to create partial shade below. This not only reduces evaporative water loss in our water scarce climate, the microclimate created by the agricultural activity boosts photovoltaic efficiency by reducing the ambient temperature by even a single degree.

Now if we coupled that with banning the import of internal combustion vehicles by 2025 then we would really be cooking.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Traveler
    I can find no errors in your figures, and so, am left in wonderment as to why one would give up a place in Florida, for a place in Barbados. Or why an extended visa would cause Barbados to be more attractive than it is today.

34. This travel stamp, although an excellent idea, is necessary but wholly insufficient to save our bacon.

And to make the larger leap of trying to transform whole sectors and subsectors during a depression is a fool’s errand.

35. @Paceven in the best of times tourism was not enough to pay the bills given our appetite for conspicuous consumption.

36. David

Agreed. That is why we need to focus on the big picture and not deluded by a solitary success.

37. Even transient success

38. @Pacha

Agreed, however the process of enlightenment calls for a focus on successes and at the same time build and implement the master plan. Do we have a master plan though?

39. (Quote):
    Ease of doing business has a very long way yet to go in Barbados before it has any significant economic impact.(Unquote).

And why is that given Barbados is just another ‘small-island’ economy and society?

Aren’t there ‘established’ agencies like Invest Barbados tasked with the official responsibility of making Barbados the No.1 place to invest and to do business both at the local and international levels?

Is it because easing and simplifying the way business is done would result in the reduction in the size of an already burdensome bureaucracy and eliminate the opportunities of bribe taking by both bureaucrats and their political masters as witnessed in the Donvillegate affair?

How can Barbados ever achieved such a ‘preferred’ status in the world of business when it is defined by a beleaguered justice system which not even the proverbial tortoise would wish to emulate?

40. @ Enuff
    “You duz mek me laff. The world is confronted with Covid, which disrupts tourism (a global industry)and by extension economies even in big cities like New York, Paris and London. It is obvious that the Welcome Stamp would capture local and international attention. There are however quite a number of other good policy initiatives since 2018. Just admit you don’t understand them, just like you poured scorn on the idea of climate and low covid rates being an attractive combo for tourists, if my memory serves me correctly.“
    1. Never poured scorn on anything. Simply said that villa rentals can’t save the economy. Question: Has it?
    2. Name at least three policy initiatives that has made any significant change to the economy pre-COVID.

41. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

We must be really in dire straights when we are catching at the “”stay and work”” program with both feet and both hands..

I believe that the WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS see it as benefiting them. No one else.

42. @ Enuff December 28, 2020 8:54 PM
    “Electrified airplanes are expected in the next decade, as the groundwork has already been laid within the automotive industry (engines are engines). Much lighter materials are also being developed.”

We note your ‘evolving’ skill to carry on an intellectual conversation bereft of the hallmark of ‘yardfowlism’ of the Red variety.

But why make such a stupid remark about Greta Thunberg the icon for climate change? Of course she does not “hate New York”; or for that matter Barbados which she has never visited.

Of course, there are already on the market airplanes ‘powered’ by electric engines. So there is no need to wait on ‘e-developments’ in the automotive industry.

The seemingly insurmountable challenge is one of storage of the ‘big’ batteries of electricity needed to propel jet engines across the Oceans compared with the storage and burning of ‘more’ refined kerosene aka Jet A-1.

What, therefore, would be the trade off for airline operators like VA & BA?
    Less passengers faced with much higher airfares and more expensive loads of cargo or the larger batteries to store electricity needed to power Rolls Royce jet engines from London to BGI?

But we all must be optimistic by looking on the bright side wishing and hoping the tourists will descend on Barbados after Coivd-19 like sand on the West Coast beaches in order to save Bajans from descent into abject poverty.

That’s why it is so critical for Barbados be prepared to accommodate this influx of eager visitors.

When is your man with the ‘Vision’ going to get that Lighthouse off the ground to act as that beacon of Welcome to Barbados?

43. There is just one igrunt question I meant to ask the writer concerning a statement he made in his last column in which he claimed to have just paid hundreds of thousands of dollars in income tax. And here’s my igrunt question – are taxes not paid on profit?

So… there must have been some profit. And tax is some small percentage of profit, I think.

Hotels owners do not make that profit by themselves. They and their guests use our infrastructure. Taxes are in order for each use.

Adrian did not pay taxes for nothing. He paid to maintain the infrastructure he needed to make money.

44. Like

Adrian Loveridge December 22, 2020 8:31 AM

Mariposa,
    once again you are so far from the whole truth.
    As stated in my column, we are still awaiting nearly $30,000 in due and acknowledged VAT Refunds dating back from February 2013. This despite paying over to Government more than $400,000 in taxes and VAT contributions within the last month.

45. @Northern

The 183 day rule for Canadians to stay in the USA complicates things. It is a complicated calculation and to much so to explain here. Other areas why Barbados would be more attractive would include health care.. I know of a person who got food posining and went to emrmergency for 2 hours and came out will a bill for $24,500.00 US. And occupancy costs for electrical, internet, water, and land tax are significantly higher in the USA than they are in Barbados and went it gets down into the low 40’s at night you have to heat your house. You want to heat your pool in Florida? That will be $200 to $300 a month US$. I see picking a place to spend 7 or 8 months a year is like the show The Price is Right. You have to look at the details behind each door. If you are looking for consistently nice weather, economical occupancy cost, relaxation with freindly people Barbados is way ahead of the USA. People don’t like surprises. Having certainty that one could stay 240 days would enhance the attractivness of Barbados as a retirement spot.

46. Milluh
    You call it yardfowl behaviour because you don’t agree and can’t robustly challenge what I say. Resorting to Maloney’s vision in the bay certainly does not help. The Greta reference clearly wrntbover your head and you don’t appear to understand the concept of NET zero and carbon off-setting. Let me give you an example, in some countries certain developments or even refurbishments are required to meet minimum carbon reduction targets. Of course for various reasons–design, location, size etc–sometimes a development simply cannot meet these minimum standards. This failure, however, does not render the development null and void. An “off-set” payment is calculated to make up the onsite shortfall. Sometimes future-proofing for district heat and decarbonisation strategies are also required. Remember it is one system we are dealing with, which is connected regardless of location.

47. WS
    Pre-COVID represents June 2018-December 2019 for this administration. Go and do some research on what has been done rather than ask me, as anything I say will surely be viewed by you and others as tainted red. In any event, how can you measure for significant change to the economy given the less than 3-year tenure, of which a whole year has been disrupted by Covid and another dominated by debt restructuring? You duz mek me laff.

48. @ Enuff
    Cut out the foolishness. Kindly point out three policies that have caused any significant change in the economy pre COVID and since the current administration came into office.
    You are the one bragging about how many things were done. Put up three or just keep quiet.

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Traveler
    I get the feeling, this choice boils down to one of personal preference?
    Which it has always been.
    While I no longer own in either place, I have in both, and the costs are a wash, IMO. I personally, enjoyed the drive to Fla, where I could take whatever I wanted, make pit stops along the way, and have my own car to drive. I enjoy golf, and there is no comparison. Especially when you pay the airline a premium for club transport and they lose them!! Yes, out of country health insurance is expensive. I could give you some stories of health care in Barbados, but will not, as they abound everywhere, even here in Canada. In Fla I sold in 7 days, and for more than double what I paid; in Barbados it took nearly a year, and I netted less than I paid. (transactional costs?) The climate in Barbados is superior, though I personally don’t mind the cooler temps in Fla. Truth be told, I’d take either over Ontario in Jan-April.

50. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Donna, read my column carefully. I made No mention of income tax.

Property Transfer Tax
    Stamp Duty
    Land taxes
    Municipal Solid Waste Levy (despite having no state garbage collection)
    Non re-claimable VAT on legal and other fees
    2% on currency transfer even though ALL funds brought in were in FX and registered with Central Bank

Should I go on?