If the late great Gladston Holder were alive he would take the opportunity to remind us that it does not matter who is elected to the White House, it the wealthiest families in the USA where the power is located- the Vanderbilts, Rockefellers et al. That said many will agree party colours aside, Trump’s legacy will be remembered as being one of the most bigoted and divisive.
Let it be no secret this blogmaster cannot wait to see the back of the man. He has disgraced the office of president of the USA and by extension the human race.
Discuss for 2 marks.

3,917 responses to “2020 US Presidential Election”
Contingent elections have occurred only three times in American history: in 1801, 1825, and 1837. In 1800, Thomas Jefferson and Aaron Burr, the presidential and vice-presidential nominees on the ticket of the Democratic-Republican party, received the same number of electoral votes. Under the procedures in place at the time, this necessitated a contingent election the following year to decide which would be President and which Vice President. In 1824, the Electoral College was split between four candidates, with Andrew Jackson losing the subsequent contingent election to John Quincy Adams, despite having won a plurality of both the popular and electoral vote. In 1836, faithless electors in Virginia refused to vote for Martin Van Buren’s vice-presidential nominee Richard Mentor Johnson, denying him a majority of the electoral vote and forcing the Senate to elect him in a contingent election.
The three past contingent elections were held by the outgoing Congress, since, at the time, congressional terms ended / began on March 4, the same day as presidential terms. In 1933, the 20th Amendment moved the congressional term end / start date to an earlier date in the year than the new January 20 presidential term end / start date. As a result, any future contingent election will be held by the incoming congress.
Bajans do the rocksteady
@TheOGazerts November 8, 2020 11:55 AM
“You are not Trump, but you are definitely an asshole”
You do not back down from injustices whether or not you lose your life for your position. So if you feel I am an ass hole for airing my views you are free to feel so. All summer there was chaos and the media and Democrats never condemned the riots. Why should Trump play along with his detractors now that the import of what can happen is now dawning on them? I do not believe in turning the other cheek. I believe in an eye for an eye maybe its due genetic make up. As the British Prime Minister during the Falklands war stated : “You started it and by God I am going to finish it”
@Donna November 8, 2020 5:39 AM “Freedom Liar is just looney, middle eastern style.”
And plenty of looneys in the Middle East, so many that Freedom Liar herself had to run away. Couldn’t stand the bad ways of her own people, but wish to bring those same bad ways here.
… and them there are faithless electors!!!
Then, not them although both work!!
Cuhdear BajanNovember 8, 2020 12:32 PM
@Donna November 8, 2020 5:39 AM “Freedom Liar is just looney, middle eastern style.”
And plenty of looneys in the Middle East, so many that Freedom Liar herself had to run away. Couldn’t stand the bad ways of her own people, but wish to bring those same bad ways here.
BABU I would guess.
Too hot to handle!!
@ robert lucas November 8, 2020 11:44 AM
“if I was Trump i would tell all seventy-million odd of my supporters to foment unrest and there is nothing that Biden or any one can do about. If I was Trump I would not back away from a civil war. It is evident that a steal is being executed and Trump’s refusal to go along with it has cost consternation because suddenly the import of what can result has dawned on every one. If it is a civil war that the cheaters want ,Trump should obliged. He should never back down not over seventy-million backers.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
And who would be involved in such a “civil war”?
Would it be the whites (including Jews) versus blacks or whites and Latinos versus other whites?
Unlike the ‘first’ civil war in America would there be a ‘divide’ among whites over the status of blacks as ‘equal’ citizens under their Constitution?
Can you appreciate that such a “civil war” would automatically result in the break-up of the ‘United States of America’ and destruction and fall of a nation as the No.1 superpower of the modern world?
As a man of ‘Science’ are you innocently predicting the fulfilment of one of the prophecies of Nostradamus?
@ David BU
I agree with you. To my mind, any evidence must be considered relevant enough to reasonably assist in proving there was actually electoral fraud. That’s one of the reason why it’s ‘examined’ in Court.
So, in my opinion, for anyone to say ‘it is evident that a steal is being executed’ or referring to people as ‘cheaters,’ without any evidence being examined, is exercising their judgement a bit ‘prematurely.’
“I would advise the good doctor to use a pseudonym when commenting on matters outside of his expertise”
Innit, you can’t teach religion when you don’t have the spirit flow in you and are an inhuman robot
Leadership does not mean dominion
No civil war needed and likely!!
Trump will win either in the electoral college or in a contingent election.
The meercats ain’t going to do nothing!!
Spineless.
@robert lucas November 8, 2020 9:26 AM “…Trump is not your normal person…”
My response: Sensible people knew that “…Trump is not your normal person…” long, long ago, even before the 2016 election, way back from the time when he propagated the lie that O’Bama was not American born
@robert lucas November 8, 2020 9:26 AM “…Trump. If an attempt is made on his life…”
My response: Very likely he will make an attempt on his own life. And “no” you will not get the civil war, that you and people like you are wishing for.
“Faced with fewer polling stations and social distancing, the obvious solution: mail in your vote and mail it early.
The beast created its own destruction.”
everyone i know MAILED IN THEIR VOTE…and mailed it in EARLY…some people even made videos of the postman collecting their ballots..lol
they did not think about the ramifications of closing polling stations to suppress votes during a PLAGUE..🤣😂🤣
“@robert lucas November 8, 2020 9:26 AM “…Trump. If an attempt is made on his life…”
another unstable genuis….perfect example of book sense being no sense at all…the dude just lost an election…he is in debt up to his thinning hair ….maybe only his debtors will finish him off for the billions he owes them and collect from his estate…otherwise..Robert ya outdoing the yardfowls in dumbness…no small feat…
@ Miller November 8, 2020 12:36 PM
In a civil war you have family members fighting against one another, The family can be any color. As I have stated the import of what can happened in a deeply divided society like the USA is now dawning on people. A man was demonized for five years because of his status of being a non-politician and an outsider. Why should he now tell his supporters that for good of the nation keep quiet. The Antifa and BLM mobs were allowed to run riot and were not condemned by one of the major political parties. It is being requested of the vilified party that for the unity of the country he should retire. Only Jesus Christ would do so. As I have said, I believe in an eye for an eye and total extermination of my enemies. You don’t have agree with my position and I don’t expect you to. Let explain how I operate. I think I mentioned this before. When I had my company there was an attempt to seize control from me. I made sure that if I did not have total control of the company( I started it from scratch) i would destroy it so that no one benefited at my expense, no matter what the consequences to me were. I made sure it was destroyed as simple as that. My reactions maybe due to my genetic make up.
Same FRAUD who dont want Black/African people fighting for their human rights, all the talk this coward will hide out in Barbados if there is civil war in US..
“I do not believe in turning the other cheek. I believe in an eye for an eye maybe its due genetic make up.”
They never knew Biden have him credentials, but never the less he is more a placeholder and fatherly figure for a Kamala presidency.. and another Obama administration part II sequel and therein lies the rub..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZG6biYdi-o
@robert lucas November 8, 2020 11:44 AM “Trump has never been accepted by the professional politicians of both parties and the media and unelected civil servants.”
And now he is not accepted by the American electorate either. In fact even in 2016 he was not accepted by the American electorate, because we recall, that even then the majority of good sensible Americans did NOT vote for Trump
My faith in the good sensible hard working American people is firm.
If Trump wins at the electoral college stage or the contingent election it is more likely that the radical left MAY riot in support of their candidate, Joe Biden.
Their Problems.
The Police who will be the first line of defense of law and order know Joe Biden’s intent is to defund them.
Trump has the insurrection act at his disposal and can call out the army.
I was always intrigued by this interview as it seemed to presage what could happen.
Whole different ball game.
robert lucas November 8, 2020 12:57 PM “It is being requested of the vilified party that for the unity of the country he should retire. Only Jesus Christ would do so.”
And we know for sure that Don the Con ain’t no Jesus Christ.
money brain, wha’ part you is?
lawson you de’d?
All Trump’s supporters have to do is “keep the faith”!!
This too shall pass.
A pity you Trumpers lie so much. He is Joe Biden condemning the rioters
https://youtu.be/V6zH7I5FnRw
Correction – Here is Joe Biden
“The Police who will be the first line of defense of law and order know Joe Biden’s intent is to defund them.
Trump has the insurrection act at his disposal and can call out the army.”
Racist police have always been a threat to blacks who do not know their place and vote and were klansmen who hung them from trees for doing so and bombed churches for protesting for their rights.
Black youths are protesting against racist police and never run when police man come.
They have to run when soldier man come..
.. but who the fuck told told you the US army supported the trump chump, don’t be a pussy all your life, take a day off, you are still in denial that the opressors lost and USA is celebrating the end of the era of the new klan revival in power who want to live forever
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tA8AfuDsws
Not dead. Only ashamed. Moneybrain is scrambling about looking for a Nunes report.
And Lawson, he is crying a river because gold digging Dr. Boobies has been taken down from her pedestal and placed back on her bearskin rug while Kamala Harris proved she could rise without screwing an ugly old man.
By the way, Trump’s campaign is seeking to raise money to pay for his lawyers to throw spaghetti at the walls of the Supreme Court. The fine print of the contract states that the money can also be used to settle ANY OTHER outstanding campaign debts.
Murdaaaaah!
Donna, The fine print of the contract states that the money can also be used to settle ANY OTHER outstanding campaign debts.
Once a con artist….and the fools will fall for it. Paying his debts for him.
Whuh lawd, de mad people still at it.
Election done, the Democratic candidate won.
Nuff said. No lotta long talk.
Donna, WARU, David Cuhdear and Dub, you have some patience dat I does not. Wunna musse dealt with mad people before.
I does only got one quesshun. Will de Major General tek she son and go back to Russia now her job is over, or will she stay in an unhappy marriage?
Her Russia pension musse a good one.
Crusoe,
What patience? The patience was needed before the election. This is now party time. I am thoroughly enjoying the sight of scholarly madmen twisting themselves into pretzels while grasping at imaginery straws in deep shitty waters.
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
@Donna November 8, 2020 1:40 PM “…screwing an ugly old man.”
Eeeewwww!!!
Crusoe, Actually I was raised next door to a bona fide mad man. After I was an adult I was made to understand that I should have been afraid of him. However I was never afraid of him. But I did understand that he was different.
David needs to flag false claims like Twitter
Trump keeps getting flagged in every post
44th and 46th are better than 45th
Check out Donald J. Trump the Cry Baby In Chief
Donald J. Trump
@realDonaldTrump
https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor
A small interruption
For fans of Jeopardy, Alex Trebek has died
https://www.cnn.com/2020/11/08/entertainment/alex-trebek-jeopardy-host-death-trnd/index.html
What can motivate contributors to a Bajan blog to obsess over the US presidential election when we have our own political problems which are about to sink the nation?
Those resident in the US, or those who think the future of the world depends on the outcome, can easily be excused. I am sure this is a good case for study by psychologists.
Even our president has expressed congratulations on behalf of the Caribbean and the world. I think she forgot the people of Barbados.
@Hal Austin November 8, 2020 2:31 PM
We Bajans have to be obsessed because like it or lump it, our political elite have tied our fortunes to the US by depending on foreign exchange handouts from others to maintain our punching above the belt fallacy instead of properly supporting ourselves post independence and earning our foreign exchange offering truly tangible products and services.
Hal it is most mind boggling to see the energy and interest by bajans at home invested in the politics of america
As far as i am concern be it Biden Trump or whoever the falling economic needle of small island nations would not change
The evidence points its finger that after more than two hundred years blacks are still placed on the bottom of the social and economic pole awaiting small tokens of biscuit crumbs to be handed to them as a gesture of appreciation by the white controlled political system of the great US of A
One would think that those blacks living on homegrown territory in barbados would move the needle forward in their fight for a bigger piece of the economic pipe
After all Mia did hand huge slices to private business in the forms of taxes and earnings of financial aid
Meanwhile the small businesses crumble to the ground as urban flight fixated on status and pedigree move away
Hal as they say we CAN walk and chew gum; or literally in my case “obsess” about the U.S. election, cook a lovely Sunday dinner, pay close attention the the St. George North by-election and the St. Vincent general election, nurture my spouse, children and grandchildren, and work my land.
It is not hard to do at all.
@Crusoe November 8, 2020 1:57 PM “I does only got one quesshun. Will de Major General tek she son and go back to Russia now her job is over, or will she stay in an unhappy marriage?”
I smell a divorce.
@robert lucas “I do not believe in turning the other cheek. I believe in an eye for an eye maybe its due genetic make up.”
Very likely NOTHING at all to do with genetics.
Probably anger at at the decisions YOU have made in your personal and professional life.
And if you have spent many years drinking large quantities of alcohol, that can also alter the way a person thinks.
But genetics?
Highly unlikely.
@ Mariposa
It is not only a diversion, but it mythologises the idea of being intelligent. A bogus analysis of the US presidential outcome makes one feel as if one is on top of global events.
It substitutes for having to look closely and analytically at Barbados as it drifts in a cesspit of incompetence and corruption and, even more, search for answers to our own problems.
When challenged, they hit out like a frustrated toddler, screaming mine, mine, mine. Our leaders – political, business, academic, civil – have failed us. Do not expect them to admit they have failed, this will undermine their very authenticity.
That will be illogical. They will become Leninists and blame the people for not understanding the complexities of government, oar business or economics. Or you will get the nit-pickers going through everything you have said and finding faults with the most innocuous claims or simply cyber bullying.
That is history. There is nothing new under the sun. By obsessing over the US presidential election they fool themselves they are informed and articulate. They may be from a small island, but they understand world affairs.
It is the same mind-set of the president who hides her gross incompetence behind a facade of being world class. It is the Bajan Condition.
@Sargeant
Have a look at this Ted Talk. Interesting indeed.
https://youtu.be/6ED4Sgx-MLU
https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js
Then there is:-
Well diagnosed! Now diagnose yuhself. You are a damn control freak!
We will blog about whatever we wish.
Has it occurred to you that there is much to be learnt from what occurs in the US of A????? There is also much to be learnt about the workings of the minds of some so-called educated Barbadians who live here.
Good to know how they think and operate. It may come in very handy.
I guess that Robert Lucas is exempt from your criticism.
Give me a break
Breaking news
Barbados learns from what happens in the USofA lol
Never new that some one had flip the coin
@ Critical
You have proved my point. The constant discussion over foreign reserves in Barbados is like a pentecostalist speaking in tongues. It is irrational and irrelevant to contemporary macro-economics. But it persist like a mantra.
You may notice, apart from claims of paying for foreign imports, they is never a proper intellectual discussion, it is taken as gospel and anyone who challenges it is seen as a transgressor.
This illogic is perpetuated through the institutions of learning. Old professors teach what they were taught; they single out as bright young people who repeat this repeat wisdom as if it is on the pioneering edge of knowledge; and so this vicious circle of knowledge goes on and on.
And, what is more, it is repeated by the parrots in the media and in the wider public life as if it were true – even on BU. The Bajan is fixed to the Greenback, why do we not discuss the performance of the Greenback on the currency markets?
What about the crap of fiscal space? Or the nonsensical statements by DeLisle Worrell since he was freed from the yoke of Chris Sinckler?