Grenville Phillips, Candidate for St. George North and Leader of Solutions Barbados

From my visits to almost every community in St George North, I have found one consistent desperate need. The employed want work for the unemployed, and the unemployed want work. All other issues were secondary.

All five candidates in this by-election (BLP, DLP, Solutions Barbados, UPP, and PdP) have a responsibility to propose workable solutions to the unemployment problems in St George North. The plans must not depend on new government funding, because the Government will claim that they have no money.

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they need to devise one. The plan should be fully operational in the 30 months remaining in the current election cycle.

UNCONSCIONABLE PRETENSE

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they should stop pretending that they do. It is unconscionable to give desperately hurting people false hope and empty promises.

The people of St George North do not only need a Member of Parliament (MP) in this by-election. There are so many MP’s in the House of Assembly, that the Prime Minister does not know what to do with them. The people of St George North need someone to manage workable employment generating projects.

Our plan is designed to make St George North the most prosperous constituency in Barbados. Both the plan, and my capacity to implement it, are contained in Solutions Barbados’ manifesto (attached). Please contact us if you have not received your copy.

All constituencies in Barbados are hurting. St George North voters have a responsibility to give them hope, and not let them down. They can do this by voting for the best plan for themselves, not their party.

If people are prospering, then families, businesses, churches, and community organisations automatically benefit.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and Solutions Barbados Candidate for St George North. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

Two and one half minute) audio recording of “What do the Residents of St George North Want?

580 responses to “What do the Residents of St George North Want?”

1. Donna

Lorenzo is probably doing what u do to me and what hal us accusing DPD of

2. @Baje
    I am surprised that you want my opinion.

Xxxxxxx

YOU MUST BE CONFUSED WITH SOMEONE ELSE.

3. depedantic
    You prefer duplicitous?

4. Yuh ain’t see even WS calling out the hypocrites on the Kemar story? LMBAO!

5. My stance on Kemar issue is placed on what the issue can do to the party image going forward
    Whether gulity or innocent such issues that are subjected to law does not die easily
    As long as the person is attached to the party the political windmills continue to turn which keeps the party name associated with illegalities
    Hence over the years names like Parris and now Inniss remains as potent to the party as when the issue first became known
    A party trying to rebuild must be cognizant of the fact that everything matters
    At the end of the political day there is no big sin or little sin when the rubber hits the word

6. Good comment ac. That was not so hard was it?

7. David

u know that the other onw right? 🙂

8. i dont know the amount he had. it it was enuff for personal and considering the way mj is heading now , i dont think they will be much political fall out for him.

i can see it happening like the dems using mm LEC – talking points for his opposition (that will never vote for him) but no effect on the electorate that really support him /independence

9. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Lets get pass this distraction with Stuart and get on with the real matter at hand.

That’s the election of Grenville Phillips II. The proper Candidate for SGN. The only Candidate with with concrete ideas for the people and Community.

He will not be there for 26 years enriching himself. SGN will be better with him around.

10. independents

11. CCC

trump promised to drain the swamp, make america great again etc………

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

”Disputes between homeowners and contractors are common. As an Adjudicator, I plan to listen to both sides, and give preliminary rulings on construction disputes. This service will be free of cost to residents of, and disputes within St George North.”

A sane and simple solution to an every day problem.

13. ART

that one for you also concerning what you said about the ndp bring something new

14. The political climate is ripe for mudslinging
    Unless the one getting the mud thrown in their direction ready and prepared to create an atmosphere to repair the damage
    The mudslingers would amplify there narrative bolstered with a position that they are right
    Hence the dlp party runs a high risk of negative criticisms from the past into the present
    The party must wise up and learned the lessons from the past

15. You need to go back and read what I wrote. I said that your BLP preference was always obvious but not fowlish until recently. That too was TheO’s opinion.

I, on the other hand, have said NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THE DLP WHATSOEVER since coming to BU and have absolutely no preference for them. Lorenzo’s assessment is based on the fact that I previously voted for them even after I repeatedly stated that I regret my 2013 vote and changed it in 2018.

Not even a whiff of fowl!

16. William,

Any word on if the taxes have been paid?

Enuff,

Who exactly are the hypocrites?

17. I support the legalization of small quantities of Marijuana because so many persons cannot pay the fine and end up in prison to be then corrupted by hard core criminals. I am hearing that this case was from 2018 but was just called. He should have told the party about his charge but maybe he felt it was not going to be called .As David said he would not be seen in bad light by the young people .I am not calling for him to resign because marijuana is smoked by persons at all strata of our society. The young people has seen them smoking and know who are hypocrites to condemn him..

18. Donna.

Exactly.
    taking what you said and putting his own meaning to it.

in hal and DPD case – hal is saiying it is in something in dpd head.

i our case u are taking thing i said and putting ur own meaning to it and making it something i didnt say/meant

Yes on moore resigning i went yardfowl …….but again i explain to you (or i tried to) it you (dont take it personal) dirty yardfowls in here that make me into a blp yardfowl.

that too hard for you to understand? or are you still slow?

19. I understood what you meant a long time ago but that was not your only comment on the matter. You went on to say that when Moore did not resign, it bothered them and now she has resigned it bothers them. David had to remind you of the issue.

If you were just being silly then fine but there were no “lols” indicating such.

20. Just saw that you did admit to going “yardfowl”. Then your feathers should not have been ruffled when I threatened to shut the coop door on you.

So… it is now settled. You went yardfowl but you didn’t really mean it.

21. Donna

Our stories are similar except i don’t vote
    and i have been in here longer than you ( probably 5+ years….wow, times fly).
    i too “supported” (wanted) the dlp to win in 2008
    Felt they blp would have win in 2013 if owen had stood down. but also understand that the Ds might have been given a second term because of the reccession.
    i came in to BU behind SB and got disappointed and turned off etc etc etc
    supported BLP to replace the Disgusted DEM from the lost decades.Yes ..i understand why some would call be a blp yardfowl but i have no loyality to any party. i like the observing the political chess game.

i support most things the blp did since in power.

last thing the i disagree on was MM hiting at franklin on the about the money. and that was only after he revealed it was a grant. i think she was wrong to bring it up and learnt her lesson.

i dont agree the the number of ministers or consultants – and would have supported you on that instead of you hiting on glyne clarke pension

22. you need to get you storys straight.

i admitted to going yardfowl on the moore resigning.

u closing ur coop door and going on ur nest was on the glyne clare toppic.

23. I SAID SHE SHOULD HAVE TAKEN it to the balluh to give them something to talk about…….and i meant every word of it.

24. Got a little mixed up but the comments were all connected to the by-election and both were nonsensical.

25. david interjection was somthing to do with transparency
    i done even think i responded to him or if i did it must have been way off because later i foound out that he probably was talking about the time between the time she retired and the time it was announced to the public. so dont even go there with that.

26. nonsense to you because you are slow ( you said it not me) but to others that been here on BU long then you have and probably know/understand me better than you would understand what i am saying and where i am coming from.

27. my comment about if she resign or not had nothing to do wid you or david.
    it was made to someone else and at the time of righting that it was instigated in my mind by talk about bs being lowlifes scum or something similar

28. @ Enuff October 13, 2020 6:36 AM
    “In the meantime a brand new fishing complex at Pile Bay and drainage and landscaping works on the Condtitution River. It should be noted that work on the latter started under the previous BLP administration. Another shooting, thankfully it was not fatal. November 11th can’t come sooner. Jesus take de wheel.”

Now which do you think, Mr. Enuff, should come first?

The completion of the new Freedom Park in Bridgetown to replace the old NIS building or the Pile Bay Fishing Complex?

Why should the present administration press ahead for a fishing complex in a period of dwindling fish stocks on the western and southern sides of the island to put the Bridgetown and Oistins complex out of business?

Where is the money going to come from in these very hard Covid times to build such a complex?

Is it going to come from the same Chinese ‘grant-funding’ source as the Performing Arts Centre at Brandons as promised under the previous Stinkliar administration?

As a master town-planner yourself don’t you think it would make more economic sense to complete the “Four Season” forex-earning project which is less than a mile away before building a fishing complex to process dwindling sprats for sale to people whose preference is clearly chicken bought from KFC and Chefette?

PS: You will note that not a word about the Hyatt erection has been mentioned.
    Maybe you are the hot ‘Red’ one selected to bring about its detumescence.

29. when you attack me for expricing my view/wish for moore to take it to the bolluh………
    and allow thing like bs “being low life scum” then you wonder why one may labell you a D?

30. Milluh
    Stupse! Wait and read about it in tomorrow’s news. Oh shiiite, I’ve gone from PR fraud to master town planner. You’re barking up the wrong tree looking for a bone. I have none to give.

31. William Skinner Avatar

I don’t know if the taxes were paid or if they fell under the millions that were written off.

32. Greene said, “nothing angers me more than bajans hanging onto the words of mediocre white englishmen then telling a returning national to go back where yuh come from. or the govt hiring poor rakey british consultants and paying them big dosh but would want the services of a returning national for free…”
    What do you expect from a set of people who regularly boast of being the “best slaves in the Caribbean” ?

33. What is the latest in the Kemar Stuart scandal. Has he resigned? Has he been suspended by the party? When was he arrested? When was it decided to go ahead with charges? Were the president and attorney general informed? Was Mr Stuart aware of these likely charges prior to standing for office in the DLP?
    I understand he is still a student at UWI; if this is so, will a conviction on a drug offence prevent his travelling to certain countries? Will it stop him from getting a post-graduate bursary or scholarship? What will be the impact of a conviction on his future career?
    Where are our media?

34. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

HAL

You ever thought about writing a book before you go???

Your life in England and the difficulties you encountered while reaching manhood?? How West Indies people, were treated badly by the British???? How the Caribbean BLACK Govts over the years abandoned their own people in England??? Left them to suffer and their descendants still suffering to this day???.

Everyone down here take everything with them to the grave leave nothing to posterity. All our Prime Ministers die and leave little to nothing behind for us to read. Our only former PM’s alive now is Sandy and Freundel Stuart and you can be sure that Sandy is not going to write anything as he has not done so already.

Freundel Stuart might not write anything either.

35. William Skinner Avatar

All:
    The government must be congratulated on making 94.7 FM a radio station that will only carry 100% local content .
    This is the most significant policy decision in Culture since the reintroduction of Crop Over decades ago.

36. i see that Maloney is speaking with the President of Guyana and is looking to expand into Guyana. interesting given MAM’s support of the new Guyanese Govt

37. WS
    St Lucia recently did the same. each trying to support local artists

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hal

Just hear me out for a while.

Did a WHITE BAJAN was allegedly caught on a Boat with allegedly nuff, nuff, alleged Cocaine and alleged Marijuana??????

Did BLACK ROYAL BARBADOS POLICE FORCE allegedly bend over backwards to reduce the amounts found to almost nothing?????. Did The allege DPP allegedly came and drop ANY alleged charges against the alleged man?????? Did he walk free?????

Was An INDIAN MAN allegedly caught with a CONTAINER OF MARIJUANA into Barbados and the alleged charges for some reason were dropped????? Did the alleged INDIAN MAN walk free??????

Is that how our JUDICARY WORKS???

39. @ Carson

I have been approached on a number of occasions. I do keep voluminous notes because I am a hoarder. I still have all my notes from student days. However, my answer is always that there is nothing about my life that I do not know.
    Few authors make any money on their books, unless they can get them on some curricula, and I am not so interesting that people want to read about me. My ideas are more important which I pass on free of cost on BU.
    The short answer is that I have thought about it on a number of occasions, but then I wake up from my dream.
    I have long given up on Barbadians living in Barbados appreciating what life has been like, and still is, for black people in the UK. It may not surprise you that young black Brits do not even want to know. They prefer the fiction taught to them in university.
    I recently asked some black parents why they they do not talk to their kids about life in the 1960s and the united reply was that they do not want to burden them with those stories.
    It hits you when they talk about events that as an individual you have taken part in yourself. I have mentioned the Stephen Lawrence case before, the time when I took part in a discussion at the Barbados high commission and talked about the instructions I received my my news editor and what took place when I interviewed the father, and was challenged by one participant and practically told I was lying.
    One of our little jokes we share in London is the number of politicians, business people and senior civil servants who visit on a regular basis ant not one asks to go to the theatre – and London is the global theatre capital. There is a cultural void at the heart of our nation.
    I saw recently another Black History Month fairy tale about the journal race today and its late editor, Darcus Howe, the Trinidadian-Barbadian. Two of us were interviewed for that job as editor, Darcus and I and he was successful.
    I remember going to the Jermyn Street office to be interviewed by Bishop Wood and Sivanandan, but the story in the Guardian went on its own merry way.
    But you are right about our leaders, especially prime ministers. I have said on BU on a number of occasions that Owen Arthur should have resigned from politics, sat at his desk at UWI, and written two good books: one on his time in politics, and the other on CARICOM. Remember, we do not have a single book publisher of repute in Barbados; and, since the death of Wickham, not a single newspaper had a book review page.
    Bajans are not interested in literature. How many do you see reading in public? At my local train st ation there are free books for travellers, we also get free newspapers and magazines.
    However, he preferred to be used by the president to sit on top of the dying LIAT, to poke his face in Guyanese politics and his post-Covid job creation.
    We like politics, politics and party politics. There is no cultural hinterland. It is the result of learning by rote.

40. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Do You have to be WHITE or INDIAN and nothing happens????

41. @Hal,

you should donate all those musings/writings to our school

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

HAL

So sad!!!!

Sandy soon gone, who knows i might go before him, and Mr. Stuart he might or might not write anything. It is really devastating nothing being left behind. Everything going to the grave.

If you really want to know anything significant about Barbados or the Caribbean one has to go to the Cemetery and read headstones that’s about all..

That is so wrong.

I still hope you would reconsider. Somebody got to leave something for those who like to to read.

43. William Skinner Avatar

@ Carson Cadigan
    Sandiford did write at least one book. I think it was a collection of speeches or something big that nature .
    Errol Barrow graced us with a cookbook.

44. William Skinner Avatar

Should read: something of that nature.

45. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Well said and understood. There is a very interesting and well written series of articles in the Nation or Barbados Today about Bajans who went to Britain in the 6os 70s etc. Fascinating stuff. Folks left with a good primary school education and did great things.

46. Greene
    That is what business people do
    Look for greener pastures
    Even if Mia had influence Maloney has a right to pursue his better interest

47. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

William

These should star writing.

Dont mind they might make much, but for posterity. Write about their highs and Lows of public service. Who sabotage their work . How they were able to accomplish everything they set out to do or how they were not able to accomplish to do and why. Help us to accomplish what they accomplish. Sandy very old and he has never written anything.

Give us a true picture about their personality.

Don’t leave us high and dry. Give us as BLACK PEOPLE something to aim for.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

should be ”not” on line two.

49. Not better interest, other interest.

50. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

William

I dont know about that book Sandy publish. If so forgive me ..