Grenville Phillips, Candidate for St. George North and Leader of Solutions Barbados

From my visits to almost every community in St George North, I have found one consistent desperate need. The employed want work for the unemployed, and the unemployed want work. All other issues were secondary.

All five candidates in this by-election (BLP, DLP, Solutions Barbados, UPP, and PdP) have a responsibility to propose workable solutions to the unemployment problems in St George North. The plans must not depend on new government funding, because the Government will claim that they have no money.

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they need to devise one. The plan should be fully operational in the 30 months remaining in the current election cycle.

UNCONSCIONABLE PRETENSE

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they should stop pretending that they do. It is unconscionable to give desperately hurting people false hope and empty promises.

The people of St George North do not only need a Member of Parliament (MP) in this by-election. There are so many MP’s in the House of Assembly, that the Prime Minister does not know what to do with them. The people of St George North need someone to manage workable employment generating projects.

Our plan is designed to make St George North the most prosperous constituency in Barbados. Both the plan, and my capacity to implement it, are contained in Solutions Barbados’ manifesto (attached). Please contact us if you have not received your copy.

All constituencies in Barbados are hurting. St George North voters have a responsibility to give them hope, and not let them down. They can do this by voting for the best plan for themselves, not their party.

If people are prospering, then families, businesses, churches, and community organisations automatically benefit.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and Solutions Barbados Candidate for St George North. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

Two and one half minute) audio recording of “What do the Residents of St George North Want?

580 responses to “What do the Residents of St George North Want?”

1. U can fool me @ David

My comment don’t be aimed at the genuine people

If u remembered what I said

She should have taken it to the balluh to let DEM continue to talk

2. That is a nonsense position if you accept that as a budding public servant she has a duty to be transparent if she wants to be taken seriously by serious people.

3. What kind of balancing act are you trying to do?

Makes no sense whatsoever!

As a matter of principal, she should have resigned but as a matter of politics, she should not have resigned in order to irritate the Dems????

So… sacrifice principle to politics? And not even SMART politics?

I told you yesterday to if me no ifs. Today I say “But me no buts!”

4. David
    All she has too be worried about fir this election is the people of SGN

What I said before about taking it to the end was my personal opinion. And yes I was influenced by and against DEM yardfowls

5. Msriposa hitting what sixes you speaking of? As John 2 stated he was really uninspiring.It tells me he seems to be being used as suggested by some bees since he clearly ain, t no politician not by s long stretch at least not maybe by 2023 with some coaching.No way he can match Ms Moore in any debate.

6. It is all about winning, you are right.

7. Bees and Dees locked in a stupid cockfight while the cockmasters laugh and pocket their winnings.

8. they say Reifer cant speak but Gline Clarke and Dddddwwwwwight Sutherland can?

9. What debate
    Maybe you Moore and Mia could debate each other
    Floyd and party would be foolish to step into a zenith fly trap set for him and cooked up between media and Mia
    Meanwhile Floyd continue to distant himself from self serving demagogues like Moore and Mia pretending to be what they are Not
    We batting with Floyd

10. Mariposs that is your way of admitting Reifer is no match for Ms Moore in any debate.Let him stick to cricket and leave out the politics

11. Did Minister Sutherland take a leave of absence or is Campaign Manager a part time position?

12. DAvid

Yes it all about winning
    She won’t be able to serve in that spot unless she wins

And the people outside SGN can have and share their options but it’s only the ones of SGN that counts
    After she win then she will have the two hats to wear. I suspect in parliament she will be Moore wear a union hat
    Similar to how GP2 see most thing through his engineering eyes
    Away from parliament she will serve SGN
    Like one on one with the ministers to get things done

13. Greene

Did we say Reifer can’t talk or we indicated he will be poor at debating ?

You maybe correct. If you are I may have missed it

The two mp you mentioned never had to debate under the expected to come conditions

14. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

HAL

On a different subject for a moment, I was just watching a documentary about Black people and the British in England on the BBC 2. by Moly Dineen..

Black people from the West Indies had a really hard time and are still having a hard time in England. And the thing is they all had hope to return home someday to the West Indies, but never made it back.

They were treated poorly by the English people..
    That is just by the way.

15. Donna

U seems to be alway mixing up what I said or reading too much into it
    I said Moore should have resign

That she should continue is all on me it not about her taking a stand
    I like me ju king at the dlpites
    Or like when David is fed up he stupes
    It me me me
    Stop twisting what I said
    I know u r slow – u said it urself

16. My official opinion is she should resign

I wish she had stayed to the end because “I” wanted to irritate the dems?

If you can’t understand that now then I cannot help you

17. My way
    Only a fool would step on a landmine specifically strategically placed for them to step on
    Mia does not own any one right to say yes or no to her tricks
    Boo haaa the greatest insult to her would be someone of an unkown political rookie saying Hell No to her tricks
    Floyd not a floozie for Mia and as OSA once told her he is not a boy in the yard
    The same message Floyd can send to Mia making her think twice

18. Lwf

I don’t mind being called a blp yardfowls
    I am used to it

When I read the link dat David posted I did read that she had resigned in oct 1
    When David said it I assumed she had resigned today
    After reading it was announced at the blp meeting I assumed it was Friday

Just before I read ur message I had just read it on barbados today before I came on bu

19. @ David BU

What is your opinion?

1986 …… Cyril Walker = 3,069 (59.86%) ……….. Jack G. Odle = 2,058 (40.14%)
    1991 …… Cyril Walker = 2,215 (48.52%) ……….. Gline Clarke = 2,024 (44.34%)
    1994 …… John Daniel = 1,037 (21.95%) ……….. Gline Clarke = 2,803 (50.24%)
    1999 …… Patrick Carter = 1,021 (20.55%) …….. Gline Clarke = 3.948 (79.45%)
    2003 …… Desmond Browne = 1,447 (29.87%) .. Gline Clarke = 3,398 (60.07%)
    2008 …… Colin Spencer = 1,447 (30.42%)…….. Gline Clarke = 3,309 (69.58%)
    2013 …… Jepter Ince = 2,391 (40.43%) ………… Gline Clarke = 3,508 (55.12%)
    2018 …… Jepter Ince = 745 (12.60%) …………… Gline Clarke = 4,779 (80.84%)

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This is what the Prime Minister of St. Lucia has told his people in a Television address: :

(in part)

” Prime Minister Allen Chastanet has told St. Lucians that it is “no secret” that the island has exhausted all of the efforts aimed at providing financial assistance to citizens in the wake of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and appealed to nationals to follow the various protocols and measures aimed at curbing the spread of the virus that has so far infected 29 people here.

”In a television broadcast on Sunday night, Chastanet, flanked by the Chief Medical Officer Dr. Sharon Belmar-George Belmar and Police Commissioner Severin Moncherry, acknowledged that it had become difficult to raise funds both locally and overseas to finance the programme.

“It is no secret the government has exhausted all of the efforts, all of the resources with the NIC (National Insurance Corporation) and donor agencies to provide a social stabilisation programme for the public and for those persons who have lost their jobs.

“We have no more money. ”

Is the situation any different in Barbados???? are we ”punching above our weight”????We dont know because we are not being told anything of consequence.

21. Silly Johnny,

My slow coach reference was wrt reformation rather than revolution. I prefer gradual reformation while Pachamama prefers swift revolution.

Your language alone reveals who is the slower of the two of us.

How silly it is for you to admit that she should resign and then to wish she wouldn’t just to irritate Dems!

22. Donna

I don’t mind being silly. And not all dems
    Just certain dems. And you should know who

I know what I am doing. U may not understand and that’s ok u free to ur opinions

23. And yes u are slow

U said it not me ?

24. @Artax

The numbers support that Gline Clarke has made the seat his own. It explains why he has been at pain to be endorsing Toni every chance he gets. If the electorate accepts his endorsement it will be a no contest.

25. The numbers signifies that glyne did absolutely nothing fir SGN in 26 yrs

26. @john2
    Previously, even though it was clear that you were leaning in one direction, it was still possible to extract some sense from your contributions.

But these days you are doing a good impression of Lorenzo. How on earth can you think one way and then support a position that is opposite to your thoughts .

This would suggest a split in your personality; the Lorenzo condition. Counseling may help.

27. AGAIN,…. I…. SAID… I….AM ….A….SLOW….COACH…. BECAUSE…. I…. PREFER….A….SLOW….APPROACH…. TO….REFORMING….SOCIETY….RATHER….THAN….A….REVOLUTION….THAT ….CAN….OFTEN….BE….VIOLENT.

IT….HAD….NOTHING….TO….DO….WITH….MY….MENTAL….CAPACITY….FOR….
    WHICH….I….HAVE….A….HEALTHY….
    RESPECT….AS….HAVE….THE….VAST….
    MAJORITY….OF….PEOPLE….I….HAVE….
    ENCOUNTERED….OVER….THE….
    COURSE….OF….FIFTY….YEARS.

INDEED….THE…ONLY….PEOPLE….WHO….HAVE….EVER….CALLED….ME….STUPID….ARE….ALL….ON….BU….A….VERY….
    SMALL….NUMBER….AND….INCLUDE….SUCH….SMALL….MINDS….AS….
    LORENZO….WHOSE….CRITERION….IS….
    AGREEMENT….OR….DISAGREEMENT….WITH….MIA….MOTTLEY.

SO….LET…THAT….ONE….GO….OR….
    MAKE…YOURSELF….LOOK….MORE….
    FOOLISH.

YOUR….CHOICE.

28. Theo,

His preference for the BLP was always obvious but it wasn’t fowlish. One can believe a party to be the best choice and express that opinion without sprouting feathers, wings and a beak.

29. @Carson

Black people from the West Indies had a really hard time and are still having a hard time in England. And the thing is they all had hope to return home someday to the West Indies, but never made it back….(Quote)

I have not seen the programme. This is Black History Month so the usual racists (including the BBC as an institution) are rushing to prove how liberal they are. Want to see how liberal they are, look at the number of black people they employ, or how they treat Lewis Hamilton or how they do PR for the police and downplay the mistreatment of black people.
    The more things change, the more they remain the same. Just think outside the box. The very tourists our home country is desperately trying to seduce, are t he very people who discriminate against us. The very police they invite down to run training courses, are the very police who target black people.
    When these black people return home, under the belief that things will b different, if not better, they see the very tourists (and New Barbadians) getting preference in our own country. How would you feel?
    Some people have opted to tolerate the the racism in the UK than to return to a nation that voluntarily submits itself to deference and begging.

30. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Is it being said MIA AMOR MOTLLEY is in her right??????.

Who would have expected a BLP supporter AND WHITE MAN to say something else???

PUT UP YOUR HAND??????

31. General secretary of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Kemar Stuart is facing an illegal drugs charge.

Stuart, recently elected to the post at the DLP’s annual conference, appeared in the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court last week for possession of a quantity of marijuana. He was represented by former DLP minister of housing Michael Lashley QC.

When Barbados TODAY contacted DLP president Verla De Peiza on the matter she made it clear that the party would not be leaving Stuart “out to dry”. Stuart is also president of the Young Democrats. Efforts to reach him tonight were unsuccessful. However, De Peiza referred to the development as unfortunate.

“He is a young man. He’s not the first neither will he be the last young person to encounter challenges with marijuana possession.The tone and content of the Throne Speech suggest in any event that the entire country’s focus is diverted from matters of this nature, to the point where it is surprising that this is noteworthy for the media,” she told Barbados TODAY tonight.

De Peiza went on to assure the 25-year-old of her party’s support. She said: “Many families face similar situations. He is a member of the Democratic Labour Party family and has proven to be an asset to it. The only difference is that this is a political family and therefore political decisions will have to be made.”

Sources told this newspaper that members of the DLP’s council met tonight around 7 o’clock for just over two hours to discuss Stuart’s future as general secretary of the party. But no information regarding the decision made was forthcoming. “I cannot say yet. Respecting the man,” De Peiza responded when quizzed as to the young political hopeful’s future as the general secretary.

Stuart first came to national attention during the 2018 General Election, when on a Solutions Barbados ticket, he ran against the now Prime Minister Mia Mottley in the St Michael North East riding.

He officially joined the membership of the Dems in late 2018……(Quote)

He must resign forthwith. No ifs, no buts. If he does not it must be demanded of him. This is about the reputation of the party.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID’S numbers are not to ignored.

The man who represented SGN for 26 years while doing nothing for the people and the Constituency but only for himself, was voted in by the same people of SGN TIME, AFTER TIME, AFTER TIME, AFTER TIME, AFTER TIME, AFTER TIME, AFTER TIME.

What is this saying about the people of SGN??????

LET THAT SINK IN!!!!!!!!!

33. @ Carson

What we should ask Serrao is if when he was at the Electoral and Boundaries Commission, an independent position, if he ever offered money to the BLP?
    We want to know if he enters the public debate with clean hands.

34. Stuart problem would be Verla first moral political decision and test she has to deal with
    All eyes would be awaiting to see how she deals with Stuart problem
    For a party who is still in the early stages of rebuilding reputation matters.
    A call for Stuart to step down is sooner rather than later
    Stuart is a bright and talented person and his future in politics would not be tarnished because of this problem
    Marijuana has become a drug of choice for old and young alike
    Of recent the PM in her throne speech has called for marijuana to be decriminalize
    However until such happened Stuart problem becomes a DLP problem and one that the party can not afford hanging above its head
    Reputation Matters across the board towards good leadership and party morale

35. @Mariposa

Stuart must resign or be forced to. A party seeking to govern the nation cannot have a senior member who is an alleged illegal drug user.
    I know we live in a culture that has normalised marijuana use, but someone must stand up. Being b right is not enough; we need ethics in public life.

36. @ Hal Austin October 13, 2020 5:03 AM

Fully endorse those comments.

nothing angers me more than bajans hanging onto the words of mediocre white englishmen then telling a returning national to go back where yuh come from. or the govt hiring poor rakey british consultants and paying them big dosh but would want the services of a returning national for free. but that is who were are.

and yes Kemar Stuart should tender his resignation.

37. In the meantime a brand new fishing complex at Pile Bay and drainage and landscaping works on the Condtitution River. It should be noted that work on the latter started under the previous BLP administration. Another shooting, thankfully it was not fatal. November 11th can’t come sooner. Jesus take de wheel.🤣🤣🤣

38. @Greene

Do you want to share specifics or is a generalization enough. We have many Bajans who have returned and made Barbados their home in retirement. Drive through Ruby, Union, Fort George, go to Miami Beach early on a morning. Of course some have experienced difficulty with the reentry because of differences caused for many reasons discussed on BU pages through the years, some the fault of the retirees. Of course you have local and Bajans in the diaspora who can do a lot more to create a better relationship. Who said life is perfect.

It is a foolish Bajan who undervalues the contribution of the diaspora. What the blogmaster has determined over the years is that it is a lazy way out some of you resort to deal with an inability to value the difference at play.

39. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

After reading the British position on Televised Debates, I must ask if our Electoral Laws dictate that there must be Televised Debates?????

40. @ Greene

At best he should be suspended – and should of been the moment he was arrested. If the allegations are true, he is a silly young man.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

HAL

Just by way;;

They were and are our people, yet we in the West Indies did absolutely nothing to help them We are still doing nothing to help them. As long as they send MONEY back, the more the merrier, food and clothes then everything was alright.

We abandon these people. That is so sad. They have no one to turn to.

By the way given this thread.

42. @David,

you got all that from what i said. you introduced new subject matters that went way beyond what i said and what i responded to.

you think i dont know there are many returnees in Bim or where they hang out and how they are viewed? i would think that such topics have been discussed here but what i said is what i have experienced and it is not good.

i know my people well so i know what to respect and how to respond. most returnees know. i really hope that you are not trying to lecture me on this topic

listen Bajans get fooled a lot by foreigners especially white ones but are reluctant to accept advice from black returnees and i will stand by that until the cows come home

43. Well well Mr Stuart arrested on drug charges.The general secretary of the DLP.Surprisingly i am in agreement with Austin, Greene and of all people Mariposa on this.He should either resign failing which he should be fired.I waiting to hear CCCand the other Dems who are agents for shouting about transparency Donna, Lest we forget,Gazzetrs and Skinner.Tell us what you think.On another topic let me be very clear i blog here under one name thst can be verified by the blogmaster.I noticed someone called Runner who Donna wad praising made a conttibution which sounded very much like Baje to me.These are the persons that try to fool people by blogging under several names i do not.

44. @Greene

Specifics man!

Let use rule out consultants as part of conditions for funding.

45. The young man needs to step down for a while. Attitudes towards marijuana use are changing but the legal process is not complete. This can lead to confusion and distractions. This was an unwise risk he took at this time.

I myself see no need for marijuana but that is my upbringing. I am sure it has its uses as does every other plant on earth. What that is I am not entirely sure. So at present I would confine myself to medical use if presented with evidence of its benefits to my condition by the relevant authorities.

46. And by the way, I have never described myself as a Dem. I voted Dem until last election because I thought they were the better choice. Whether I was right about that before I do not know but I am certain I was wrong in 2013. I did not repeat my mistake in 2018.

But… I never had any allegiance to a party. A party is only of use if it serves the people. When it ceases to do that it should die.

47. Without being privy to the details the timing though…

48. @Greene
    @Carson

You are both right. The only time a Caribbean government has ever intervened on the racial problems in the UK was when Norman Manley intervened after the 1959 Notting Hill riots.

@Greene
    You are spot on. What you have said is the reason why, assuming I have anything to contribute, I have removed myself from Barbadian party politics or taking part in any consultancy etc.
    I made an early decision to make my career in the UK and to work to retirement; once retired that was it with work. I remember the last Kamau Brathwaite told me that he went to the consulate in New York to re-new his Barbados passport and sked the young clerk to write in Companion of Honour.
    In his best Bajan, using language that will be familiar on BU, the young man said no. He could not care who who he was he was not putting any expletive Companion of Honour.
    It is a society that had decayed, our collective morality has lost its anchor. I am not surprise that the chairman of BU wants to lecture @Greene about being a returnee. Is there anything he does not know about?
    A returnee lady once told me that she enjoys keeping away from stay-at-home Bajans. The only time she mixes is when she goes in to town to bank or pay bills.

49. I guess it is too much for a yardfowl to understand that for most of my life politics were not my daily diet. I never even discussed politics seriously until I came to BU. I knew there were accountability problems with our governance but I never thought we would come to this regardless of which party was in office.

So…I just accepted things as they were and did not examine or question in a more than superficial way.