Submitted by Ironside

There is going to be a by-election in St. George North and some parties have already announced their candidates. I will not waste time speculating about the reasons – real or imagined- why the sitting MP Glyne Clarke has resigned from parliament and is taking up a diplomatic post in Canada. That is for the gossip posse.

What is important is that this by-election has come at a time when the country is at the lowest ever in its economic performance and arguably at its lowest moral ebb. Politically, the country is experiencing a rise in de facto totalitarianism, a trend being reflected around the world and led by the CCP (Chinese Communist Party).  

Coming just over two years after the main election in 2018, the electioneering engines should not require too much of a warm up, especially in this weather! The core question is: will it be an acid test for the government or merely some quinine for covid-19?

I will leave the bulk of the statistical political punditry to the other bloggers who may more be skilled at the enterprise of analyzing historical voting patterns and the like.  Interested readers can now make use of the site Caribbean Elections Website to fuel their punditry and speculations.

What I want to do, as succinctly as possible, is to state a few imperatives/hypotheses about the by-election.

THE RULING PARTY CANNOT AFFORD TO LOSE THIS BY-ELECTION.  If it does it will confirm how we “feel”, namely, that the populace is no longer enamoured with the BLP and its leader what with the serial malfeasances it has committed over the last two years. If it wins, the pundits will put it down to hard core support in the constituency.

Your guess is as good as mine, though, as to whether the BLP is committing political suicide by running BWU union boss, Toni Moore.  I know the BU historians will tell us about the union leaders who have run for political office over the years so I am looking forward to that rehash and the punditry that will follow.  My rough estimate is that about 70% – 75% of Nationnews Facebook comments cast Ms. Moore’s selection negatively. One commentator bluntly hoped she would lose.  But I concede that that is a small and perhaps irrelevant sample.  

THE PDP CANNOT AFFORD NOT TO FIELD A CANDIDATE IN THIS BY-ELECTION.  I have been following their Facebook communications and all other things considered, they have been doing a fairly decent job of dissecting the issues even for a small, neophyte opposition. So, not to field a candidate in the by-election would send a message that they are still not quite ready.

THE DLP CAN BE EXPECTED TO FIELD A CANDIDATE. After all, it has been predicting by-elections in two constituencies (Indar Weir’s and Trevor Prescod’s) for more than a year!  Let’s see what they come up with! Again I leave my fellow bloggers to speculate…if they have time!

THE UPP MUST SHOW THAT IT HAS NOT LOST HOPE. It has fielded a candidate and we shall see how that plays out.  All things considered, it gave a fairly good account of itself in 2018 election. What I “worry” about is their pedestrian and non-charismatic leadership.

GRENVILLE PHILLIPS [A.K.A SOLUTIONS BARBADOS] HAS ENTERED THE FRAY.  Best of luck and more power to the Treasury!

Moving on smartly! What about issues to be raised in this by-election?

There are many hot, topical issues to inspire debate and conspire about: Covid-19, union betrayal, same sex unions, homosexual marriages, tourism, crime, BEST, neglect of the constituency, the push for republic status for Barbados and the “Thrown” Speech in general. The more enlightened and skilful party (parties) will throw in the Chinese influence in Barbados and the Caribbean.  Just remember I did say “enlightened”!

All in all, I am looking forward to political theatre at its BEST!

274 responses to “Phartford Files: St. George By-Election: Acid Test or Tonic Water?”

1. i didnt quote Donville and even if i did, isnt what he said borne out today as true? this is about the veracity of what was said and not who said it. to stand on that for any push back is v weak

2. @crusoe
    ‘In this manner, each person will vote for the full thirty or forty names. Yes, a longer process, but it is just ticks in a box.”

I like your idea, but must ask ‘Do we need as many as 30 or 40?’

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, as noted above this debate is highly partisan and thus totally hypocritical. @Greene is an admitted DLP partisan so his ‘hypocrisy’ is crystal clear but why are others who project as ‘independent’ knocking Moore’s decision in light of the looooong history of senior union officers involvement in elective politics in Bim and across the region … that’s RIDICULOSLY hypocritical!

However, your comment that “The quote from Clarke to contrast with Moore is relevant. No amount of gymnastics can make this go away…” was quite aggressive I thought! … There is no reason for the woman to deceive … in fact if she even recalled her perspectives from 1994 then it would make a much more INTERESTING narrative to let us know of her youthful dream now come true!

So I agree with the spin of @John2 and see a lovely Simone Bales gymnast pivot rather than the self-serving flip-flop you suggest … If it’s 994 as noted then that is 25 plus years ago and one can easily conjecture that an ambitious, socially motivated intelligent young woman enthused to Clarke that one day she too was going to represent her fellow ‘St. Georgians’ in parliament.

Not a strange statement for an gregarious, outgoing youth involved in her community as clearly she must have been.

That this remark is coming to fruition a quarter century later and used as a club to beat her based on recent remarks from her that *”she had up to now had no interest in politics” is irrational. … Who doesn’t change direction in life! The lady certainly may have gone in a different direction to her earlier goals by representing her fellow citizens as a senor unionist, thus displacing that interest in direct elective politics… but now an opportunity presents itself!

I hold absolutely no brief for the lady but we really need to stop this unnecessary ‘gotcha’ politics (as the Americans would say) .. there is no disconnect to me re a remark you make 25 years in the past and your current perspective on your life! … More power to her and may she be an honest servant to her constituents and all Bajans if elected….

BTW, for all de ole talk MAM has politically masterfully out-maneuvered the DLP … she is becoming more DANGEROS as these actions if successful will deeply cement that autocratic power she now wields so purposefully… woe to us all!

4. @de pedantic Dribbler who wrote ” MAM has politically masterfully out-maneuvered the DLP ”

MAM is already a defacto Maximum Leader with 29 out of 30 seats.

Nothing masterful about anything she does although some would say master…….

The BLP will win the by election The people of SGN knows where their salt bread buttered.

5. DPD

pay david no mind. the purpose of that comment was to mine more comments on the blog.

6. A large chunk of Barbadians are unstably suspicious of the nomination of Toni Moore given the role she played to undermine the last government. To compare her entering politics to Walcott, Trotman et al is a simplistic view.

7. large chunk? or you mean the DLPites?

8. As Verla said and i agree – the constituents of SGN and the BWU will decide her fate eventually.

9. the last government undermined it self with it total incompetence from top to bottom except for one ministry

10. It is nice to see how easily our impoverished functionaries can be bought. If we create a new ambassadorial post every year, the preservation of power is guaranteed until 2050.

Our great Leader silenced Cumberbatch, then Prescod, now this union boss. The outspoken senator is next.

11. do you know of the connection between Roy and Toni? i say no more. maybe David, if he cares to, could give a hint

12. The word of the day is #incestuous.

13. @ Pachamama September 25, 2020 6:36 AM

It is even more idiotic to have the author explain the meaning of what he wrote and you still restate YOUR interpretation as though that will legitimize your meaning. Your assertions are irrelevant despite the high sounding intellectual phrases in which they are couched.

What we expecting here is at least level 2 cognitive skills: COMPREHENSION. So apart from scoring a non-point are we to gather that you have a problem understanding the multiple meanings of even simple English words?

+++ WHEN AND IF CHINA ( my emphasis) become s such a malignany [sic] carbuncle as the USA is we will focus our guns at her as well +++

Spoken like a true Bajan….let’s wait until the hurricane is pushing into Consett Bay then rush to buy supplies. Mental inertia and poikilothermia at is best!

Anyway: one red herring + 2 red herrings will still give you red herring (if you get my drift).

….so back to the by-election.

14. I was surprised when the lump sum payment was refused. They obviously didn’t understand the true depth of the mess the Treasury was in.
    Not knowing exactly which union represents whom, I thought the refusal was largely a NUPW call?
    Anyways an election is an opportunity for some “talk” and one or two ‘nuggets’ may emerge. The real race is which of the opposing parties gets the most votes.
    In some places there would be significant physical moves to be ‘living’ within the SGN electoral boundaries.

15. @David September 25, 2020 12:47 PM
    +++To compare her entering politics to Walcott, Trotman et al is a simplistic view.+++

Agreed!

So also is Wickham’s view that the circumstances are the same as with the other cases of union bosses running for political office. To the best of my knowledge, none of them faced a situation where the ruling party held ALL the seats (bar one in this case).

The workers and electorate have every right to fell betrayed by Toni Moore in the current environment. Mr. Trotman’s endorsement of Ms. Moore is irrelevant. It is simply a personality persuader to which, unfortunately, many Bajans are still so vulnerable.

16. 2018 election results for SGN

CLARKE, Gline Arley BLP 4,779 80.84%
    INCE, Jepter DLP 745 12.60%
    PHILLIPS, Grenville Walter II** SB 264 4.47%
    HOLLIGAN, Everton Ricardo UPP 124 2.10%

Source: Caribbean Elections

17. So are you people saying the Trotman is lying about Moore not being interested in politics?
    Why is his story unbelievable and is dismissed to what she said to Clarke over two decades ago?

Now i am not saying that Clarke is lying either.

18. NO

You are mostly correct that the refusal was mainly the NUPW call.

BWA is BWU largest membership and Moore had already gotten a few concession for them from BWA. But let DEM continue

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David ..excuse that start n stop…I would ask you to EXPLAN your remark that “To compare her entering politics to Walcott, Trotman et al is a simplistic view” but you offer such provocative posts to their own ends of generating heat or debate surfing with pithy sweet prose… so let’s do the surfing ting!

Are you saying that Ms. Moore has like her named predecessors NOT been involved in politics for the last several years as a senior union leader… and that her entry now at this turbulent point into “representative politics” is so vastly different to any of the others back, then I bow to that wisdom!

Are you also suggesting that when Trotman (Obrien) led marches for his members against the DLP regime of the time and subsequently turned up as an Independent Senator and then BLP party official that that affair was also just simplistic!

Or when Trotman (Sir Leroy) led marches against govt policy or corporate alleged wrong doings and then sat on a council with the same corporate chieftains that there was just too much simplest stuff then too!

If you modern day pundits want to take the very, very similar dynamics and pretend that there is a grand difference of PERSONAL motivations simply because this admin holds all the seats then please do … I too unwise and simple!

Yes #Northern, like you I believe that “The real race is which of the opposing parties gets the most votes.” We shall see what the Bajan public really feel about the goings-ons!

20. @Dee Word

Besides the fact Toni Moore is positional head of the BWU what can you say about her body of work as a trade unionist?

21. @ Greene

If you choose to incorrectly describe my simple comment as an “inane rebuttal,” so be it. And, if you “can’t fathom (what I) try too hard sometimes to prove,” wouldn’t it have been better if you SCROLLED PASSED, rather than respond with your version of an “inane rebuttal?”

My friend, you’re the one who’s “trying too hard” in attempting to pass your usual hypocritical, simplistic, biased, rhetorical political diatribe, as serious debate in this forum, when it should be reserved for the rum shops and campaign platforms.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

de pedantic Dribbler September 25, 2020 12:30 PM #: “If it’s 1994 as noted then that is 25 plus years ago and one can easily conjecture that an ambitious, socially motivated intelligent young woman enthused to Clarke that one day she too was going to represent her fellow ‘St. Georgians’ in parliament.”

@ dpD

What Toni Moore allegedly told Gline Clarke relative to her hopes of representing St, George North someday, is a non-issue that’s being politicized.

Why??? We must first ask ourselves how old was Ms Moore in 1994. If we assume, for example, she is 45 years old, then she would have been 19 in 1994. So, we’re essentially juxtaposing the expressed ambitions of a 19 year old girl TWENTY-SIX (26) years ago, with her recent actions, described as “marching hand in glove with MAM and private sector,” and the usual nonsense about 23% and 5%……… calling it “v interesting” and asking “how deceiving the lady is?”

“Simply simplistic.”

22. Maybe Gline Clarke is the person who was simplistic by mentioning it given what Toni Moore said minutes earlier.

23. Lest we forget Ms Moore is one of the longest serving Directors of the NIS. Clearly that sterling contribution is a strong recommendation for any public office.
    We frequently elect persons who have done little, and are then surprised when they get together and decide little can be done.

24. Toni Moore she is married to ROGER MOORE?

25. @ Greene

There is a magical Bajan word called ‘comprehension’. Usually the people who use it most do not understand the written language. We had it on another stream with an idiot referred to the fact that Sir Patrick Vallance, the government’s chief scientific adviser, has a £600000 deferred investment in GSK as somehow a scandal. Proof t hat Britain is a failed state.

26. “We frequently elect persons who done little, and then are surprised when they get together and decide that nothing can be done.”

QUOTE OF THE YEAR SO FAR.

27. Artax,

unlike many on here i came right out and said i support the DLP and i believe i stated the reasons why. unlike you, i dont hide behind the unbiased shtick when clearly all you do is criticise, in some vague attempt to appear neutral, any comment positive about the DLP or that is negative about the BLP.

i do enjoy a little banter but let it make sense even if it is a contrary view or is supportive of the BLP. i have often given MAM her props and i often bash the DLP but i support the Dems by and large and will bash the BLP hard and often when i get the chance.

if you dont want me to respond to nonsense you write simply eye pass what i write or we should both take our liks like men.

28. @Hal,

water off a duck’s back, mate. it is what it is

29. David

Maybe you are ignoring what Moore said which was corroberated by Trotman and pushing what Clarke said (which just proof that he has a good memory), not only to mine comments but to try to pull a few vote for your second man GP2

#incestuousalltheway 🙂

30. there is a reason why Clarke is called Wuk Fuh Wuk.

from all reports he was a good community man and is well known in St George but dont make him larger than he was. all pols especially in the rural areas join community clubs to further their political ambitions. like all pols he looked after his own like Nigel Whitehall the PR man his retirement, who is a lawyer and resigned his previous post and worked in Housing and Lands when Clarke was the minister. when Clarke left he left too

Clarke also has several apartments blocks scattered about St George on lands that were gotten via… housing and lands it is alleged. and that is only a tiny bit of what he gained in his 26 years

so please dont make him a saint.

i may not live in Bim but i am well connected

31. “If you dont want me to respond to nonsense you write simply eye pass what i write or we should both take our liks like men.”

@ Greene

I hope you realized we expressed similar views.

At least we both agree we could scroll pass the shiite each other writes.

32. Ironically, there’s another magical Bajan word called ‘hypocrisy.’ Some people who live in glass houses and thrive on throwing stones at others, often don’t understand its meaning.

33. gREENE

who is pushing Clarke? politically clarke is retired/done. its a waste of time trying to sully his name now. you will gain no political points.

34. @Artax,

fair enuff but at times you do make sense. in this particular thread you didnt.

@John2,

when Hal mentioned a comprehension problem, i believe he meant you

35. With all this talk about a new direction Republic and all that the same old politics are paramount on the rock. The PM is not satisfied with a 30-0 victory she wants to consolidate power by having the leader of the largest Union on the island in her back pocket by bringing her into the fold. It is simply put a power grab I don’t care about whataboutism and what Hugh Springer or Frank Walcott or any the of the others did, how does a country advance when it continuously embraces and repeats the mistakes of the past?

36. @ Sargeant

It has been two years now since I have called our leader the president; It has been obvious for sometime that her ambitions go beyond being prime minister of Barbados.
    They are not even global, she really wants to control everything in her sight. Compromising her rivals, by any means necessary, is one of her weapons.
    If they are not happy with offers of jobs, or titles, or trickles, she is not above puttying them in prison on remand for a decade. That is her mind set. The real danger are those who do not want to see anything different about her style of leadership.

37. Greene

i could care less.

38. Barbados Union of Teachers head Pedro Shepherd, will be seeking to be elected as assistant general secretary.

39. of the DLP

40. no conflict of interest here

41. The discussion about the past union leaders should be placed in context.Sir Grantley Adams,Sir Hugh Springer,Sir Frank Walcott were members of Political Parties fighting for the workers. All of the others used the Unions as a base to get political power. Mrs Moore said she was not political and so is seeking political power through a safe seat as there is no fighting for the workers over the last 25 years. How come the BWU never had a strike fund but all the leaders drive new Mercedes cars? Both BWU leaders drive Mercedes cars.

42. @ Greene
    “i may not live in Bim but i am well connected“
    Respectfully Sir, that is a big lie . How can you a Barbadian living overseas have any good connections. You are not living there; you don’t subscribe to the Nation or the Advocate; you can’t listen to VOB or CBC. You don’t have any friends or family there. You don’t know one damn thing about Barbados. Why don’t you shut up and let the people who live there and know what going on talk and write on BU.
    People like you just pull down the country and want it to fail. Everybody knows you don’t like Mia Mottley.
    Wunnuh so should be shame to call all you selves Bajans.
    You got contacts my foot. Who you really trying to fool? All wunnuh walking about saying there is 40 % percent unemployment and how no tourists ain’t coming. Wunnuh just lie.
    Best wunnuh so stand where wunnuh belong and let the real Bajans run de country and write on BU. De man dat own BU should ban you.

43. @William Skinner,

please forgive my transgressions.

it will never happen again

44. Caswell speaks

45. Senator Franklyn confirmed what the blogmaster has been saying all along- he has no interest in elective politics. He also confirmed that Toni Moore very recently expressed no interest in elective politics.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2020/09/toni_moore.png

46. she was wearing two had before why it got to be only one today?

47. i must aplogise to my mate Caswell. i said in a post that he was raw and unpolished. that is not so. at least not in this interview. maybe i have been too long away. i enjoyed the bajan flair with all the facial nuances. kept it up Caswell. you come over as honest, full of integrity, and most of all forthright, an endearing quality that is missing nowadays in people. we need more like you in politics. keep up the good work and may you be guided, muh brother.

48. Caswell uses the Senate to further his Union members’ causes and Moore did it in the Senate too. Why must we see her move from Independent senator to government backbencher as a departure from what obtained in the Upper House? Monique Taitt and Kevin Boyce went from Chair and member respectively of statutory boards under the previous administration to Independent senators. Their fathers were ministers under previous DLP administrations. I, however, find they are mature and their contributions apolitical. Miss Taitt just loves to pick at commas and semi-colons and press for clarity and consistency. How can we avoid “incest” in 1×1.5 island? Interestingly, the first bill to be debated this session is to appoint a swathe of public servants overnight. Seems the unions in bed with government to the benefit of workers. We have countries where unions are openly allied with political parties, including where the hypocrite Greene resides.
    In ending, I must say it is rich hearing Verla talk about the legitimacy of candidate selection. Anyone recalls she got 5 votes to Taan Abed’s 86 but was still selected to get her second cut arse in a different constituency?🤣🤣🤔https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/4272/abed-stand

49. @ Northern

I give you 9.8 out of ten for delivery and substance . Now you know how I felt when I heard Sinkyuh was appointed to head a committe on economic recovery! Lol