On the 22 June 2020 the Nation newspaper published a story with the headline $35m ICBL deal in works.

#donvilleinniss

On the 24 June the media reported that former Chairman of CLICO Holdings was being questioned by police.  He has since been charged with fraud and released on bail.

#corruption

While some people love to do crossword puzzles, the BU blogmaster enjoys connecting dots!

307 responses to “Leroy Parris Arrested”

1. @William

The Supervisor of Insurance at the time has the authority to act.

@Sargeant

Hope you are not suggesting the political directorate has a say in who the police and DPP charge and prosecute.

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“convenient the timing, isn’t this a welcome detour from Nelson?”

FAILED detour, which is now all being tied into the COLORISM, racism, corruption, apartheid, CLASSISM that both repulsive governments continued to practice without any conscience on the black population.

classism and colorism that are practiced from PRIMARY SCHOOL level on the island, degrading and demeaning young minds in the most evil and horrible fashion….someone posted a whole article on that recently..

3. i have looked at the information or evidence as some misname it, that has made the public rounds and this is not an easy matter to prosecute. it will turn on whether Parris was entitled to that money as compensation and whether he did anything fraudulent to so obtain it and whether such behavior was criminal.

v interesting case.

to those asking why he was not arrested and charged years ago, cases of this nature have to be put together meticulously and there is no rush really unless Parris was dying. contrary to what many think, it is almost impossible to hide a money trail or fraudulent activity; paperwork always exists in part if not whole

4. @ David June 25, 2020 8:30 AM

Since an alleged criminal matter of this white collar colour cannot be investigated without a complainant are you not a tad interested if finding out who was/is the Complainant in this Parris Fraud Affair?

Or should we consult D I Green(e) since he argued that such a crime cannot meet the criteria for prosecution under the old Anti-Money Laundering legislation?

Will this be the loophole Hal G. is relying on to boost his rich client’s chances of dismissal of such a case deemed not to be in the public’s interest like that of CH?

5. William Skinner Avatar

June 25, 2020 8:56 AM

@William

“The Supervisor of Insurance at the time has the authority to act.“

And once he/ she failed to act the substantive minister should have and you know it.
    Stop the damn excuses. Arthur had to know that CLICO was uncomplaining.

6. William Skinner Avatar

non compliant not uncomplaining

7. The financial regulator has wide oversight scope in the management of an insurance company. This is over and above the other key professionals, such as the auditors.
    As a public, it must have its annual accounts audited annually and the auditor can pass the accounts as fit for a company as a going concern. However, the auditor can qualify its report, or even walk away from the job, informing all relevant authorities, including the board, the audit committee and the regulator (years ago we had this discussion on BU).
    In all this the regulator is the most important. No important decisions can be made without the supervisor’s approval; every stress test should include important what ifs: what if the executive chairman walks away with most of the cash?
    A public company has systems in place for the payment of cash: according to the amount, the higher the seniority; the company also has a finance director who has responsibilities.
    I know in Barbados we like to politicalise everything, and quite often we party politicise it. But administrative competence can also be revealing.
    Then there is Barbadian stubbornness> Let us say, for example, you are the insurance supervisor and a company offers a product that it was told not to. That is illegal.
    But if the drafting of the law was inadequate and the supervisor was not given prosecutorial powers under the legislation, and rightly passed the details on to the prosecution body and no action was taken.
    The right and proper thing for the supervisor to do was to cover his/her back and get on with their job, not try to make a public row out of it. That is unprofessional.
    I know quite often we do not like taking lessons from outside the Caribbean, but sometimes others do things better than we do.

8. @William

The simple point is that by the Supervisor of Insurance failing to act it supports the point itbwas a regulatory failure.

@Greene

Was it is the Clico matter under judicial management? To what extent would this have influenced the prosecution of Parris matter.

@Miller

It will shake out in the wash.

9. Why was the invoice made out to the QC for legal services, which the QC denied ever doing? But I am dishonest, a hypocrite and liar. BU too sweet!!

10. (Quote):
    it will turn on whether Parris was entitled to that money as compensation and whether he did anything fraudulent to so obtain it and whether such behavior was criminal. (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And if “Parris” was technically and legally entitled to the money as compensation in the form of a ‘contractual gratuity’ payment why then manufacture an invoice for bogus legal services rendered?

The final beneficiary is not a lawyer by any stretch of the imagination.
    Why not write the CLICO-issued cheque to Parris or his private company?

Why go through a laundry washing machine posing as a law firm whose former associates have distanced themselves from that very transaction?

Is VAT payable on gratuities paid to employees or those holding contracts for services?

Fortunate for the prosecutors they have a multi-million dollar forensic auditors’ report to rely on as ‘objective’ evidence to support their case!

11. @enuff

Exactly!

If he is entitled to the gratuity/payment as Greene alluded why falsify an invoice to support?

12. @ Enuff

Uh invoice made out for $3.3 million for services that nobody never performed, end up in Parris pocket claiming it was for gratuity, ain’t stealing, it is regulatory failure.

Just like wuh you say, BU too sweet, nuh?

13. Regarding the talk of the timing being suspicious, I recall the AG saying a highly regarded forensic specialist was quietly doing work for the government. Last week I saw an article in the newspaper talking about government starting to pay former BA workers their pension. Government is doing this through cash and bonds to Sagicor. BA was under CLICO. Is this arrest tied to the forensic expert? I see Hal Austin is now a legal expert, perhaps he’s skilled in forensics too 🤣🤣

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The Fowl is acting as though this is something special…that is what those who elected and are PAYING AS TAXPAYERS the government to do…something that they shoulld know must be done WITHOUT the 1000 taxpayer PAID consultants telling them what to do..

15. (Quote).
    If he is entitled to the gratuity/payment as Greene alluded why falsify an invoice to support? (Unquote).

That’s the fulcrum on which this case will pivot.

Greene is now totally lost down the rabbit hole.

He needs to call a ‘friend’.

It’s time his avatar Artax comes to his rescue.

16. @ David,

that is a good question and will come out as we go along in the matter and may have come out in the civil proceedings.

if i remember correctly the company never disputed that Parris was not entitled to the gratuity. why he felt compelled to manufacture a reason for getting the money if that was the case is a different matter.

i would suggest that this is a matter better handled by the Regulator

it would appear that the judicial manager at a certain point in the proceeding contacted the police and made certain statements and handed over documents. well done on her / his part

17. @ Enuff June 25, 2020 9:41 AM

Why don’t you stop with your ‘holier-than-thou’ hypocrisy?

You very well know these recent ‘developments’ of law enforcement in the world of white collar crime are tied to the blacklisting of the country’s offshore financial sector and the fallout from the Donvillegate affair.

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“to those asking why he was not arrested and charged years ago, cases of this nature have to be put together meticulously and there is no rush really unless Parris was dying.”

that is called incompetence, inefficiency, slowness…more complex cases in other jurisdictions take 3 years or less…no, this was playing games from day one, a sorry excuse..

there are still cases in that supreme court from 1964…that the useless AG took out of the system most of which involved LAND THEFT…and we all know who the land thieves are on the island…so no…no case takes 11 years to investigate not in a real jurisdication where corruption is not a staple and with real investigators who actually know how to do their jobs and will not tolerate political interference.

19. WURA
    Stupse!

20. this talk about forensic specialist is nonsense. that is a complete waste of money at the beginning of any fraud investigation. it is bandied around by those who have never prosecuted or defended such cases. what you really need are experienced fraud investigators. at a certain stage one can use the assistance of a forensic accountant but only after persons have been interview and associative documents collected. otherwise you are wasting money.

good work on the investigators part to end up here but it is going to be a slog for the prosecutors. i wish them luck.

i also like the following up charge of tax evasion. should be used more often. this one may stick even if the substantive charge doesnt.

21. So if it took 11 years to investigate and charge the Leper, while knowing that there were cases in the system from 1964 still not completed, so exactly how long will this fraud case and the fraud prosecutors take to complete the case and get a conviction….let’s see if any of us can live long enuff to see it completed..

22. Why not discuss and debate this issue and others without the baggage being dragged from blog to blog. It detracts.

23. Wuhloss…the Fowl is burning…

24. (Quote):
    if i remember correctly the company never disputed that Parris was not entitled to the gratuity. why he felt compelled to manufacture a reason for getting the money if that was the case is a different matter. (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why were these amounts ‘called gratuity’ NOT declared in the income tax return for either the individual or the company representing the interests of the recipient?

Also, Section 15 of the Theft Act is clearly applicable here.

25. :this talk about forensic specialist is nonsense. that is a complete waste of money at the beginning of any fraud investigation. ”

They are certainly acting like there were no special investigators and forensic specialists available anywhere on earth in the last 30 YEARS…looks like they only just found some.

Just the thought of being permanently BLACKLISTED is the great MOTIVATOR….and is clearly the reason why we are now seeing one arrest when we should be seeing at least 50 arrests of the criminal class on the island.

26. @ Miller June 25, 2020 8:11 AM

The interpretation of the Barbadian laws claimed by Caswell and many others is completely wrong. It is nothing more than a very naive and dangerous interpretation of the law by ignorant laymen.

A “complaint” is not a prerequisite for initiating criminal proceedings at all. The police MUST investigate when a citizen files a complaint. However, the police CAN also investigate on their own initiative if there is sufficient reason for suspicion. Otherwise there would be no investigation of murders of persons without relatives.

At least that is the opinion of insiders and great authorities.

27. Laudable.

More crows to come out de (nest) ???

28. the sate assumes the role of the complainant / victim in certain offences eg murder, controlled drugs and certain child abuse offences.

if a woman is sexually assaulted (rape), the most common way this is investigated is by a complaint. if the woman does not herself complain in order for the matter to be investigated she must do so and subject herself to an examination. the state does not and cannot assume this role unless the woman is incompetent or a ward of the state. and the police would not investigate unless the matter is made known to them as stated above.

the same goes for offences of theft etc.

i have written about such matters so i wont go any further.

29. $1.5 Mil bail

Did he debit that $3.333 Mil to pay ??????

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

Another sideshow. The GoB needs MONEY. Possibly the tax evasion charge may stick. It attempts to show the world (money?) they are serious? The islands revenue sources are DRY. Nelson? A bell weather for the island’s upcoming Waterloo. When next February comes, and some tourisses have visited, but many less than normal, and none of the IMF targets can be met (but they have shown some flexibility), who is going to help ‘foot the bills’? Newly elected POTUS? A one leg Justin? Boris? Or the estrogen connection to Lagarde, who is by far, the most malleable of the lot. Almost guaranteed it will be a non-private group. Lagarde? who she? suddenly that EU-OECD looms large. @MTA is slightly ahead of the curve.

31. @David
    yours@8.56am

Exactly! What do the prosecutors know that they didn’t 1or 2 years ago?

32. @ Miller

Mr. Greene is correct.

He has consistently demonstrated a knowledge of legal procedures relative to issues such as this, which he has repeatedly explained thoroughly, rationally and without bias, while giving examples. As such, he does not need any assistance from me.

Rather than using TV ‘cop shows’ or presenting emotionally charged arguments as a basis upon which you make assumptions or conclusions ……. and challenging Mr. Greene in the process, perhaps it’s time for you to ‘sit back’ and ‘learn a thing or two’ from him.

33. Greene…the COP said the very same thing on the Donvillegate matter…don’t mind the idiot Tron..

only problem with that case the COP claims no one made any complaint to him yet and even if they do he sees no reason to investigate…even though ICBL confessed to bribing a sitting minister and paid a fine in US….so i don’t know what else the COP wants…..maybe waiting for “special investigators”…more taxpayer’s money down the drain.

34. A man, according to a whole audit done by Deloitte Canada in 2011 and made public, was party to the preparation of a false invoice for legal services. Yet the justice warriors that were recently railing against injustice are busy trying to defend him on technicalities. Like I said a week or so ago, racism isn’t the only ism inflicting Bdos and once the ism points at us, we forget about justice. My words ain’t fall to the ground.

35. @ Artax June 25, 2020 12:35 PM

In what way is Green(e) correct?

On what legal basis was the man recently arrested and charged?

What has transpired between Greene’s earlier claims that there is no effective legislation to prosecute either Donville (and associates) or Greenverbs for money laundering and what pertains today?

Who has been that complainant performing the role of the public watchdog and advocate for the CLICO aggrieved policyholders?

You or your pal Hal?

36. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Prodigal Son June 24, 2020 11:32 PM “Many people have died of a broken heart and never got back a cent of their money. I have a family friend who invested all his life savings in Clico. He saved all his life so that he would not be a burden to his children in the evening of his life. Just when he needed his investment to pay for pay for his care, Clico went belly up.”

NEVER, NEVER put all of you eggs in one basket. Don’t ever trust ANYBODY that much.

37. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TLSN June 25, 2020 4:59 AM “Another black man being arrested. Now there’s a surprise. Meanwhile members of the minority communities remain free to roam.”

Arrest all who need to be arrested.

Arrest white men.

Arrest black men

Arrest Indian men

Arrest Syrian men

Arrest Chinese men.

If you can find any female criminals black, white, yellow, red, brown, arrest them too.

38. Miller,

i never gave an opinion about ML with regard to Parris.

39. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hal Austin at 5:16 a.m. reporting from Barbados Today “Parris was also made to surrender his travel documents and told that he must apply for permission to leave the jurisdiction.”

I don’t know that they needed to hold the passport though, because none ‘o we leaving the jurisdiction any time soon. It used to be that people could cool out in the USA, such as Donville has done, but with 2,395,759 cases of COVID 19 in the USA and 122,127 deaths if I had a choice right now I would rather be living at Dodds Prison, Barbados, rather than the White House, Washington, D.C.

No Covid 19 at Dodds…

Yet…

40. @ Enuff June 25, 2020 1:22 PM
    “A man, according to a whole audit done by Deloitte Canada in 2011 and made public, was party to the preparation of a false invoice for legal services. Yet the justice warriors that were recently railing against injustice are busy trying to defend him on technicalities. Like I said a week or so ago, racism isn’t the only ism inflicting Bdos and once the ism points at us, we forget about justice. My words ain’t fall to the ground.”

Now that’s the kind of man “Enuff” we can all respect (except the supporters of white collar criminals).

Your true pre-May2018 place is one on the side of Justice.

Stop with your political ‘red’ ass-licking and return where you belong.

Bush Tea would welcome you back; whether from this realm or in the spiritual ether.

41. Northern
    When it was charles herbert your judgement was that he was as innocent as a virgin.

Now you have a very different assessment about Parris.

How do you reconcile these desperate judgements. One found with a tonne of drugs and another according to you merely avoided taxes, a fairly minor and popular offence in barbados. Should not both of these men be in jail?

42. @ Greene June 25, 2020 1:50 PM

And what is yours on the Greenverbs case?

Isn’t a complainant a sine qua non in this case or do the ‘public’ allegations of criminal behaviour fall into that category where the State can act as the complainant?

Under which piece of legislation did the CoP ‘recently’ apprehend and charge Greenverbs and which wasn’t available prior to 2018 or at the time Donville was exposed and placed in an ankle bracelet?

We are not dealing with any Pele Parris mystery case here, Greenie!

43. Artax
    Sarcasm graaanmurrr?🤣🤣🤣

44. Disparate

45. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hal Austin June 25, 2020 5:16 AM “The other point is that any trial that emerges from these charges will also be a trial of the judicial process in Barbados and regulatory incompetence. If I were a consultant on this case, a strong part of my defence will be regulatory failure. There is nothing they are alleging that, if true, should not have been spotted by competent regulation….Parris is black, did not go to Harrison College or get a Barbados Scholarship, and was beyond his station chairman of a leading financial company. It is a society of vipers, what I politely call the Bajan Condition.”

But should any adult, especially an adult who is competent enough to be a “chairman of a leading financial company” need to have the regulator looking over our shoulders in order for us to adhere to the written regulations?

I think that all adults have a duty of self regulation…I mean when it is cold we adults know enough to put on a sweater or coat, and when it is hot we know enough to take it off…

because after all we are not toddlers.

46. Another distraction by the gov…
    That said, if it were up to me Sweetboy Leroy would get about 20 years up Dodds. But I am willing to bet that he will get at most a fine.

@Blogmaster
    Since BF&M have decided to get rid of the tainted ICBL have you heard anything on the grape vine about interested parties?

47. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Pachamama June 25, 2020 7:50 AM “It is exactly because all the rest of criminals are not being charged, in the same way, which makes this a political prosecution.”

One of these days, please God, the BLP will no longer be in office, and then the party in office, maybe the DLP, maybe some other party can charge BLP people with any offences committed while they were in office. Notice that i say in office, and not in power.

Why do you think people like me regularly change our votes?

We went to change the party in office.

And we want the new party to go after the old crooks.

All kinds of crooks.

We tired of being unfaired. We HATE to see the political classes over taxing us and misusing our money to their own benefit and to the benefit of their families and friends and people who went to school with them.

We HATE it.

We would like to see a fresh batch of arrests every five years.

Lolll!!!

48. (Quote):
    Parris is black, did not go to Harrison College or get a Barbados Scholarship, and was beyond his station chairman of a leading financial company. It is a society of vipers, what I politely call the Bajan Condition. (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Hal knows that claim is a load of BS!

How can a man who had 3 PMs in his back-pockets as his playthings be considered a fool?

He is the smartest geezer ever to come out of St. John; even smarter than Dodridge.

Just look at the photos of his ‘past’ circle of friends and see how smart the man was!

But as the ole folks used to say: “Ev’ry man day does come!”

And ‘One-smart’ dead at ‘Too’ smart door locked with the keys of Justice.

Whom Hal Austin ought to be congratulating are his ‘regulatory’ white friends in the EU for blacklisting Bim and exposing the deliberate acts of injustice performed daily in the two Barbadoes.

49. @Dullard

Connect the dots. Clearly moves are being made.

Mia has stuff in the red bag she promised to share dont forget.

50. “Parris is black, did not go to Harrison College or get a Barbados Scholarship, and was beyond his station chairman of a leading financial company. It is a society of vipers, what I politely call the Bajan Condition.”

Yet it took near 10 years. Lawd fadda!🤣🤣🤣🤣