At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. “@ WARU

YOU ARE A LIAR. IT IS NOT TRUE that only ONE merchant was opened.”

has it occured to your LITTLE FOWL MIND that SO FAR that is the only merchant i saw advertised..

so point me to the lie in that when i HAVE NO INFO ON OTHERS BEING ALLOWED TO OPEN…how can i talk about others WHEN I DON’T KNOW ABOUT THEM..

…..as i said yall fowls are SOCIAL BLIGHTS…stay in ya dark and slimy corners…

2. Fowl Enuff…that is quite the essay…lol

So the risk of plague infection is less at Abeds cloth store where the virus is KNOWN TO CLING TO CLOTH for long periods of time ….but MORE DANGEROUS AT SUPERMARKETS WHERE PEOPLE BUY FOOD.

quite the nonsensical analysis…but was totally expected…

3. I see that they are 67 confirmed cases, 11 recovery and 4 deaths.

In my opinion, despite the missteps that some love to emphasize and whether by luck , incompetence or proper management this government, so far, has done a good job.

To me, the only way to measure our government handling of this crisis is the number of infections and the number of deaths. And by that measure, the government performance is above average.

It serves no purpose in googling for countries with better numbers or for countries with worse numbers depending on which side of the B& D spectrum you are on. We know the B&D camps can point to missteps during any administration. Not to expect missteps during this crisis smack of seizing an opportunity to criticize or of ignorance.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not making any excuses fir this government,. In a perfect world, mistakes would not have been made but this is not a perfect world; and we have seen countries who are ‘more advance”‘ than we are make greater missteps and have been ravaged by the coronavirus.

There is an expression “I would rather be lucky than good”. I am praying that the luck of this government continues to hold. Any death is unfortunate, but I am yet to be convinced that another course of action would have lessened the numbers mentioned above.

4. The current administration should listen to some of the criticisms and adjust its policy if there is wisdom in the criticism. However, the government should not allow itself to be whipped into action by the naysayers.

It is painfully obvious, that if the government tacks to the left, there are those who will claim that it should have tacked to the right; and if it then tacks to the right they will claim the cation was taken too late.

Second guessing is now a national pastime..

5. I am hearing a flimsy excuse of people have to buy material for mask
    That is a poor excuse when the probability of the virus spreading is through visible contact or in close proximity of being in contact with people exhibiting certain conditions associated with the virus
    International health agencies have recommended wearing mask
    However at this late in the game govt opens the public to more contraction when govt breaks the #1 rule of allowing people to leave their home a sure way of contracting the virus
    Once again the govt is exhibiting reckless and careless approach to covering its useless measures already brought forward a liken to the wagon pulling the

@ Mariposa

You and your chairman accuse BU contributors of attacking you, but at the risk of incurring both your wrath……

I want to ask you a simple question. Do you sit down and THINK CAREFULLY, RATIONALLY and REASONABLY, before you ‘put fingers to keyboard,’ or do you grab at what you perceive as every and any opportunity to criticize ‘government,’ just for the sake of being critical?

Anyhow, REMEMBER, you were oppressively consistent in your argument that ‘government’ should have ALLOWED supermarkets to REMAIN OPEN.

Are you suggesting if this had occurred……

(a). your comment re “the probability of the virus spreading is through visible contact or in close proximity of being in contact with people exhibiting certain conditions associated with the virus,” would suddenly become be NULL and VOID?

(b). wouldn’t “govt (have) OPENED THE PUBLIC to more contraction when govt breaks the #1 rule of ALLOWING PEOPLE TO LEAVE THEIR HOME a sure way of contracting the virus?”

You need to make up your mind.

Oh, and another thing. Speaking of Abed, Yankee Garments recently hired additional employees to make masks for protection against the COVID-19 virus.

The managing directors of YG are Christopher Hadchity and his daughter, Anna. Interestingly, the original owner, Christopher’s father, George Hadchity, was Lebanese.

Perhaps someone may be willing to Google information from Wikipedia and let BU know if there are any connections to Hezbollah and the Lebanese Canadian Bank.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, a wow type lively discussion and only just 9AM!

I will take up the thread based on YOUR posts… they capture the thrust of Sen Franklyn’s remarks…But first your latest remark is unclear to me…so clarify…. When you say “You political operatives are trying to exploit a bad situation which may come back to haunt you. Especially some of you living overseas.”… what do mean?

Who living overseas are political operatives that can be haunted by govt action? Is the govt threatening Bajans for being verbally critical of their bungling of this matter? Political operatives ALWAYS try to exploit so how is this vastly different that should lead to such recriminations and threats?

Let me leave that there and post my other comments separately.

7. All the seamstresses and tailors on the island can be MOBILIZED as the intelligent leaders in other islands and countries are doing to SUPPLY THEIR INDIVIDUAL COMMUNIITES…which will also CREATE JOBS in the deliberately oppressed areas..

NO ONE on the island owes Abeds or any merchant the fools in parliament are pushing to the front and allowing to suck up any remaining money circulating on the island..anything….

gloves and masks will be needed for a very long time going forward, i do not wear the same mask twice, those are disposable …YANKEE GARMENTS was already given permission to make disposable masks….scarves for covering heads will also be neede..

…, this is not the time to enrich GREEDY MERCHANTS or stupid politicians who are ALWAYS CREATING THESE SCAMS with their crook friends they call social partners…. FOR THEIR CUT…

8. @David

You political operatives are trying to exploit a bad situation which may come back to haunt you. Especially some of you living overseas
    ++++++++++++++++++
    There you go again pointing fingers at those of us who live in other places, how are we changing the narrative? Is the Gov’t beyond criticism? Should we wait until the crisis is over to offer any commentary on its actions? Some actions suggest that the Gov’t or those who make decisions are flying by the seat of their pants, why should we sit back and hope for the best?

BTW the harshest critics of the Gov’t on this blog are local stop making those in the diaspora your punching bag(s).

9. Have a great day Barbados

When this crisis is over, some of us who are capable of reflection and introspection will regret our behavior during this period. We will see that was a national crisis was treated as if it was a plank in the platform of a political party and that we confused patriotism with partisanship.

Some of us will never have that experience as we live on one side of a two-sided coin and to ‘leave’ one side is to venture on the other side; something that we cannot countenance;

Have a great day Barbados
    HAGD

10. This Corona virus is exposing many interesting facts that most Bajans never realized. Foremost is the fact that when ‘push comes to shove’, we are better off in the hands of the scientific community than the political/legal community!!!

Kudos to our medical front-line workers, medical doctors, researchers, scientists, etc…. and Dr. Lucas …. for displaying and explaining the ‘facts’! Never in our history, has our political leadership listened to the consul of our scientists so much and depended on them for (literally) their lives.

Let us hope, going forward, that we will invest more in STEM (& Technical) within our schools, at all levels, and not continue to go overboard with only the legal, cultural, sports, humanities, financial, etc,, areas. Our media is always highlighting articles/stories in those areas but little on scientific achievements by Bajans … young & old!!!

11. “has it occured to your LITTLE FOWL MIND that SO FAR that is the only merchant i saw advertised..”

You expect me, or anybody else to believe that it is only ONE merchant you saw advertised?

AGAIN, YOU ARE A LIAR. THAT’S WHAT YOU BEST…. TELL LIES.

You are always on facebook copy and pasting things from there to BU even if it is true or not. I am sure people were on FB talking about what happened on Wednesday and Thursday.

Then, you also give the impression that you are the first know about anything before anyone else on BU

Also, the acting PM gave a list of supermarkets that would be opened and said additional stores were willing to come on board.

You were caught out to be the LIAR YOU ARE, and just like a liar, you are back tracking. You do it all the time.

You ent got nutten better to do with yuh time than to be on BU EVERY BLOODY DAY, MAKING a BLOODY NUISANCE of yuhself, copy and pasting SHYTE.

Out of 100 comments, 75 are yours.

Yuh useless cut and paste wanker.

12. My ten point assessment with gradings speaks of givt measures going way back to 2018 well-designed to make the populace suffer
    The populace said nothing
    Now the same mentality applies to this crisis
    Poor must suffer and bear all the weight
    Today govt unleash another measure which can be described as politically induced
    My 10 point assessment speaks loud and clear for the operatives
    Let the 10 points sink in wunna heads

13. And since necessity is the mother of invention…SAVE YA MONEY and use the socks you have at home to make FACE MASKS, google how to, there is are videos online, ya don’t have to spend not one dime with the greedy to make them any wealthier, ya can make ya own masks just like i did…most females already have head scarves so no need to buy anything…

the dudes can google how to make a head cover and face mask with their BOXER SHORTS…it’s kinda funny with the added piece ya will see, but it is very safe, it works and costs NEXT TO NOTHING…

14. So now ya telling me what i saw and what i know, typical useless FOWL….

yall will be methodically dismantled and discarded ya will not even know when it happens..

15. @ robert lucas April 11, 2020 6:57 AM
    “Envious of an OLD MAN WHOSE PRODUCTIVE YEARS ARE BEHIND HIM and who lives like a PAUPER.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Bricky, we are surprised you have dispensed with your dignity as to even bow so low to respond to that comment.

That master at the art of ad hominem is clearly intellectually barren for him or her to make such an insolent remark.

If he or she were really seized with the ‘truth’ of knowledge he would have known that many of the greatest artists, inventors and scientists who made exceedingly outstanding contributions to the advancement of human civilization lived and died in poverty (as his wont to define a spartan life).

Far from being a “pauper” of materialism you ought to see your self more in the mirror of the local Socrates the Bajan gadfly to the authorities dealing with this Covid-19.

We view your contributions, to date, as nothing more than valuable constructive criticisms based on your training and experience.

Let your detractor(s), the real enemy of ‘Truth’ continue to peddle their ignorance to be the real pauper(s) in the realm of ideas and wisdom.

16. So in the spirit of sharing valid information…Sweden was kinda slow to react, so let’s see the outcome, experts believe it will be devastating..

https://www.nydailynews.com/coronavirus/ny-coronavirus-sweden-approach-laid-back-20200410-btx67gubcraopniob5od3ajyt4-story.html#nt=oft-Double%20Chain~Flex%20Feature~top-version1~sweden-10p~~1~yes-art~curated~curatedpage

“Following the terrible examples of China, the United States, Britain and others, Sweden has decided that coronavirus is overrated.

The European nation known for being cold and socialist has not ordered any sort of lockdown, is still allowing up to 50 people to gather in groups and has been weeks behind the rest of Europe on social distancing advice, Time Magazine reported.

A top doctor as a large Swedish hospital told Time that this lackadaisical approach will “probably end in a historical massacre.”

17. Grandstanding again while the media feeds the insatiable appetite. Meanwhile, listen to the Monday morning quarterbacks or put another way, the pavilion cocks as they pontificate on what should have been done but never what to do.

18. I hope once the masks are made they will in turn be supplied to the pharmacies for sale. As pharmacies are allowed to be open as an essential service they are the best outlet for them.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Earlier Mr Blogmaster I totally agreed with your comment that “The government cannot get customs and other units to accept surveillance yet believe what South Korea has done is possible in Barbados?”.

Your style of being succinct but very impactful was spot on there. In fact it brings the Senator back into play…how does he (his opposition party) view what would be a massive privacy invasion on a national scale vis the more insignificant (but equally important at that level) customs security surveillance he has refused!

(We all read about that Google-Apple phone tag/trace proposal…MAJOR privacy issue regardless of opt-in claims…same for Bim in whatever plan the govt proposes)

But after that first sterling post Mr Blogmaster your remarks fell off the table in my view….And @Greene’s prosecution of the issues was what was “spot on”!

The critique of this admin in summary has been that they are lurching from basic error to error and seemingly NOT learning from their mistakes and correcting course…we accept good faith errors while attempting to fix a massive problem… but heads should role if similar mistakes (therefore compounding the problems) continue ad nauseum.

The admin has not been criticized for their sterling best practices .. a few examples are the setup at Paragon and the arrangements in waiting at Harrison’s Point. Excellent strategic planning with apparently good execution. Kudos.

But testing temps. at ports and managing passenger tracing etc has been poor. The logistics of the shopping, has been horrendous. That is too startling a gap of competence/incompetence….We need the excellent strategic and execution across the board!

If one supplier applied to open then a practical Czar would instruct his team to also request the other key suppliers to submit their request and have a few locations open at same time to avoid the exact thing we all fear with the virus: mass gathering and panic crowding.

I do not know if that was done…but if it wasn’t then it’s basically a repeat of the closure announcement re supts…how can repeated folly infuse us with confidence… despite the examples of “excellence”!

20. Robert you are cortect this Wsru and Mariposa are REAL REAL NUISANCES.Everyday 24 hours a day these two before they praise god for seeing another they they posting a bunch a nonsense. The blog master needs to limit their comments on his blog. As for Sargeant David BU is quite correct where you overseas non medical armchair experts come from are in worse position in terms of deaths etc.The government has made errors following the medical advice but SO HAS ALL OTHER COUNTRIES INCLUDING CANADA , ENGLAND and THE USA . Therefore quit the superior to us locals crap attitude and join with us in praising THE EXCELLENT WORK OF THE DOCTORS, NURSES,POLICE and SOLDIERS etc and pray to god that they continue to do the excellent work they are doing.Bajans truly appreciates you.

21. I am staying AS FAR AWAY from this Covid test as is humanly possible…when ya make ya OWN face masks from SOCKS or whatever, make sure to double the material or pad it with EXTRA PROTECTION…

am sure when they give the fowls this test all their empty brains will just leak right out…

https://www.facebook.com/Saviormusic/videos/3435496116480442/?t=2

22. @Dee Word

No problem. We have some here who have been pushing narrow agendas pre COVID. Can call names but will defer, for now. Any issue that puts Barbados in a bad light us squeezed into a narrow agenda.

23. @Sargeant

The blogmaster sits a privileged position to understand the agenda several are pushing on the blog. If the cap does not fit you step aside.

24. @ David April 10, 2020 11:43 PM

It is the ELISA test that I have been talking about. There is one from Abbot’s Lab that has FDA approval. It should be only a matter of weeks before the tests are available. It is simple to use and fast. The tweaking of the protein in your link is eloquent.

25. @David

you do talk pure puhp at times, dont yuh?

you published Caswell’s critcisms of Govt as a lead article and then want to criticise others for agreeing with Caswell?

does that really make any sense?

what is Caswell’s agenda?

26. @ WURA-War-on-U April 11, 2020 10:03 AM

After watching the video you posted, all I can say is that the quicker the ELISA method is put on the market, the better. This RNA method looks very tough indeed.

27. @ Miller April 11, 2020 9:41 AM

Thanks. I was surprised that in this day and age people are talking about being a pauper and old. I could not see the connection with the topic of the virus.

28. “The government cannot get customs and other units to accept surveillance yet believe what South Korea has done is possible in Barbados?”

That is a nice piece of bowling.
    I bet that it will be left alone by the batsman.

29. Yeah Robert…it brought me right back to an NCV test i had done years ago, and you know those are never done without very valid reasons… it’s a good thing the person who did it we are close, or i swear with that level of pain…i would have lashed out, that is all i kept telling myself..

don’t want to lash out at any frontline workers who are even more at risk of being tested…so in this case…prevention is much, much better than testing or cure..

30. https://us.cnn.com/2020/04/10/china/africans-guangzhou-china-coronavirus-hnk-intl/index.html

…In the southern Chinese city, Africans have been evicted from their homes by landlords and turned away from hotels, despite many claiming to have no recent travel history or known contact with Covid-19 patients…

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

32. TheoGaz
    Not at all, the batsman didn’t even need a helmet.🤣🤣🤣

33. @David

The blogmaster sits a privileged position to understand the agenda several are pushing on the blog
    That may be so, but since to all intents and purposes there is no functioning opposition in Barbados what are they supposed to do? Write letters to the Editor of the Nation? The Gov’t of Barbados is top heavy with Ministers and if in the opinion of some they keep screwing up someone should blow the whistle.

In my opinion the Gov’t completely mishandled the curfew(s) and the resulting muck up at the Food stores and the Post Office, its actions unwittingly exposed more people to the spread of the virus, the very thing that the curfew was supposed to limit. Unless you want the blog to be Granma or Pravda you should expect commentary that is critical of the Gov’t at times.

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Waru

Ma petite fille est très bien. Nous allons tous très bien. Merci d’avoir posé la question

35. tres bien.

36. Good to see you are well Ms.EU MM, only this morning you crossed my mind.

37. What is amusing here is how some want to totally side step the issues raised by Caswell and instead try to play the usual party nonesence card instead of looking at the facts.

The question to me was how much he said was true and based on the data available.

The fact that the authorities have said the cases so far were imported and there is no record of community transition, should be the starting point of the discussion.

Some would argue had the ports of entry been closed earlier then these cases would not be present. Others would say yes but how far back should we of gone to close the ports? To me this is all history so let’s deal with the present.

The cases we have are in isolation and SO FAR we have been able to confirm this. IF a small amount of infections escaped the screening process we would not know until they present themselves, however as of today we have no evidence of this.

From this then one can argue that based on the statistics supplied there is no reason why supermarkets should not be reopened on Tuesday with stringent regulations in place. So we shop by either surname or age twice a week only for 30 minutes at a time, with the defence force and police there to ensure social distancing. We open the supermarkets from 8 to 5 for the full 7 days a week but all entering must wear face masks.

The point is if we go by what the authorities say and accept that there has been no community spread, then surely the threat to opening the supermarkets under strict conditions can’t be that great. Unless of course we are saying we don’t believe the official statements, in which case where is the data to support there is evidence of community infection? Based on the official statements if they are to be accepted, then Caswell’s points are sound.

You can’t say A when it suits and B when it don’t. If there is no community transfer after 14 days of shutdown then one has every right to argue the risk to the general population should be getting lower by the day.

38. You have to read David’s comment carefully to determine who is the ‘intended’ batsman.
    This is the equivalent of the googly.
    The ‘government’ is at the runner’s end of the wicket.
    That is how I see it.

39. @Dr. Lucas

Thank, wanted to clarify that it was something in the pipeline.

40. @Greene

Come on, if you are an aspiring politician who wants to bring leadership do that! Posting the article and overing an opinion are two different things things. Caswell has shared his opinion and the blogmaster will continue to share him. If you prefer to dwell on the airport not being opened supermarkets should not have been closed, by all means continue. The blogmaster prefers to harvest solutions, offer advise about how we can improve to meet the oncoming challenges. What is leadership again?

41. Side note
    Where is my fearless leader and visionary??
    Piece, have they compromised the security of your computer?
    We need to see the bat light…
    Whatever it is, I want to see you back here

42. @Sargeant

Some of the agendas are malicious. You don’t drag a country in the mud because of narrow inte, then c9me on a blog concerned about if a supermarket closed or open. Anyway enough of this for now. There will be a time to prosecute.

43. @David

get your persons straight man. i offered no opinion on the air or sea port. like Caswell i criticised Govt procrastination at a stage in the proceedings and yes the lockdown of the supermarkets- it is inappropriate. you cited Bermuda for something. i looked up what they are doing and their supermarkets are open on a last name basis.

so say A then say B.

let get this straight man. to go forward you must look back to see whats is coming and how best to maneuver. it makes no sense to talk about solutions if u dont want to examine the present failures/ problems and plan for the future.

the past plus the present = the future

44. @Greene

Take a breath.

The comment was more general to illustrate the urgency for leadership in the current situation. We can rabble rouse and try to score cheap political points, placate inflated egos et. but this is not what is required at this time.

45. @David,

fair enuff. you should do the same too, man.

46. https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/apr/10/heres-how-body-gains-immunity-coronavirus

Robert…this is right up your alley. It helped me understand a little more with the info i got along the way, you can break it down even more..

47. @ David.

Today is Saturday the government have been saying since Monday that ” we have been in discussions with the supermarkets”, you don’t think it is time that the public be given a statement by the PM as to what will be the position on Tuesday? Lord major international trade deals have been finalised in less than a week!

It is time for some sense of normalcy to return to we the populace, even if it has to be in a controlled manner. That would at least allow us to plan and move forward in an organised way. Enough of this on today off tomorrow approach, lay out the plans for Tuesday today. Unless wunna frighten to do it as it might change by Sunday again!

48. Stupse! Didn’t Greene deny his/her yella belly nature when called out by me and others about their political leanings after appearing post Redwash 1.0? Now I am hearing he/she is indeed a supporter/member with aspirations of contesting the next election on the DLP ticket. Confessions of a closet Dem, LMBAO! If Greene, Verla, the Worell character from St.John and Kemar “I Kemar Stuart, President of the Young Democrats” Stuart are exponents of the DLP strategy, may the Gods help them.

49. The role of the BU blogmaster is never done and takes many forms, like the proverbial chameleon.

50. @John A

One suspects we will hear some announcements next week. The word is that the banks will be opening on a limited basis, this is a good start. Still trying to find out about if there will be a change to supermarket arran. The blogmaster did a quick tour of certain parts of the island and village shops are doing good trade with social distancing being observed. Also wayside vendors I.e. vegetables and bread. One suspects the village shops are catering to low income and pensioners. There is hope people will not starve.