At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. Ya fowls cussed us for telling them that this would happen, do you now see for yourself.

.. a senior citizen fell because waiting in a long line in a GODDAMN HEATWAVE AND HUMIDITY CAN KILL THE ELDERLY…

even the damn pool water that is COLD AS SHITE from Dec to May is WARM TODAY…

suck it up and open the supermarkets to normal hours before you get heat stroke deaths on your hands……those kill quicker than Covid..

2. Reckless govt policies would create death and confusion
    but dont mention such a thought to the blp yardfowls
    a moral compass guided by a healthy dose of what is right for humanity is missing from these measures
    However when one look back at how govt waved the flag of humanity to lend a helping hand to the sick crew of the billion dollar cruise industry
    along with the 33 trini
    One cant help but asked where does govt humanity begins and where does it end
    It is sickening to see people no matter there age struggling to fend off the brutal heat while practicing social distance standing in long lines
    Heartless and cruel measures to the core

3. @enuff
    I know you don’t live in NA, so some advice. Food4Less is a division of Kroger, America’s largest grocery store chain. Despite the name, there are only THREE stores branded Food4Less in CA, and they are within the same general geographic area just north of LA. (Lancaster, Palmdale and Santa Clarita) The more prevalent names under that Kroger brand are Ralph’s, Quickstop, Smith’s and FoodsCo.

4. Some one pass out because of govt measures
    Sickening

https://www.facebook.com/everton.cumberbatch/videos/2975118252579450/

5. I promised myself not to comment any further on BU coronavirus posts, but bad logic irritates me.

To say that if an area has 10 people with one infection and a second area has 100 people then we should expect ten times the number of cases in the larger population is fallacious reasoning in two ways.

Let us for ease of explanation and mathematics assume that the two populations are uniformly spread over their land area.

Suppose that the larger population is living in an area that is 100 times area1 then the population density of area 2 is 1/10 that of area 1. Seeing that this disease is contagious and is spread by proximity then we could expect fewer than 10 people in area 2 to be infected.

On the other hand, if the two land areas were of the same size, we would expect more than 10 people in area 2o to be infected as the population would be much more dense.

This is a simple example to show that you just cannot take the size of the population as the single variable.

Please take a look at the following link and look at the population density of Barbados compared to Trinidad, Jamiaca and Guyana.
    https://www.caribjournal.com/2013/10/22/ranking-caribbean-countries-by-population-density.

I have suggested a simple model based on size of population and land area and a uniform distribution. We know that this is not the case for Guiana.

A more complicated predictive model would include age of the population, comorbidities of the population (diabetes and hypertension, etc) gender distribution (males seem to be more infected than females) etc…..

6. What an intelligent comment.

7. Don’t mek muh laugh.

He paying more attention to trivial foolishness like if he live in the US or not, instead accepting that you are making stupid comparisons of the cost of living and virus infections in other countries with that of Barbados and not considering important variables that separate them from us.

Who the hell care where he lives. That is not important.

What about the fines and prison terms for breaking the curfew in Jamaica when compared with backward, cesspool Barbados?

He likes talking about the size of Guyana’s population. So, talk about Guyanese getting,3.5 hours to shop.

So far, 30 people got arrested in St. Lucia for breaking the curfew there. If Barbados was as backward and inhumane as he wants people to believe, with the amount of people that are on the road day and night, more than 100 people would have been arrested by now.

Mr. 3 Degrees, Army veteran, UWI lecturer, successful business man, wants the small minded people he left in the cesspool, to follow his advice and open the country so people could use the opportunity to wander all about, forgetting about how dangers of this virus and community spread.

And he telling we bout common sense.

8. @ Enuff

But the supermarkets in Jamaica only open to persons, based on their surname for 3.5hrs, so pray tell how will they shop for 14hrs?

Murdaaaa. #shownedempapers #allboutdeLIES

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Total Lockdown: Government outlines new restriction laws to contain the spread of coronavirus

The government of Jamaica will be implementing laws that will restrict movement to contain the spread of the coronavirus-COVID-19.

These laws will go into effect on Wednesday, March 18, 2020. The restrictions will last for seven days but will be reviewed after five days.

The announcement was made by Prime Minister Andrew Holness at a press conference on Monday. Under the Disaster Risk Management Act, the government took these measures.

“We are treating supermarkets, corner shops, and pharmacies as essentials, but we ask they respect the restriction, no gathering of more than 20 and if you have that many people, maintain social distance,” he said.

Adding that markets will be opened from 6 am to 2 pm.

https://buzz-caribbean.com/news/total-lockdown-government-outlines-new-restriction-laws-to-contain-the-spread-of-coronavirus/

NO NEED TO TWIST THE TRUTH FOR YOUR AGENDA IT IS OUT THERE ON THE INTERNET FOR THE WORLD TO SEE.

9. “You are customarily kind and when you use the word “limitations” de ole man would encourage you to be less charitable with that term but that would go against your nature.”

@ Piece

You are correct that it is my nature to be kind and charitable but I also know how to steel myself just enough to administer tough love when all else fails.

But I speak as someone who constantly examines herself and can freely admit my failings. I have not always contributed to Barbados’s success as well as I should have. I too was sometimes caught up in my own little world as though I was the only one who had a less than perfect existence. I too had holes in my heart that I tried to fill with the wrong things. But no longer.

Many of us are walking wounded. The origins of our country are partly the cause. We should have healed by now but we haven’t yet mustered the strength to look ourselves in a mirror without distortions. We have been distracted by the white man’s perspective. This would be the opportune time for introspection for those who never found the time to do so. Distractions will not work.

Our political leaders are no different. Politicians need to take note and heal themselves also. They too are walking wounded trying to fill the emptiness in their hearts with the wrong things.

We need to build a sustainable Barbados. The old one is dead. We must leave our false pride in a COVID mass grave and do the work that needs to be done to build BARBADOS! Not Little England or US of A but Barbados. If this crisis does not do the trick then we are truly doomed.

We have all we need to build a sustainable BARBADOS. If we try to be a country other than BARBADOS we will still need the begging bowl. White countries will never respect us if we always approach them with a begging bowl, no matter how much they KNOW they have stolen from us. The more we bow and scrape the more they will stand on our backs.

We must unravel ourselves from the bowing posture and stand erect as human beings.

“A man is a man even if he has one pants!”

We must learn to stand tall in one pants if that is all we can afford.

Re:This disease is the best thing that could ever have happened really.@Piece the Legend April 16, 2020 9:59 PM

No this disease is NOT, repeat NOT the best thing that could ever have happened . You are only saying that because it is not you struggling to breathe, and it is not your elderly spouse, sister or brother struggling to breathe, it is not your 30 something son or daughter who is a doctor or a nurse being cut down in the their youth. You may wish for your favoured people to achieve political victory, but rejoicing in the deaths of others is not the way to go.

People like you who rejoice in the sickness and deaths of others are truly despicable.

Silly Woman,

I think Piece was a bit insensitive to put it the way he did but i believe that he and I actually mean the same thing.
    Limping along as we have been as a country was no good for MOST PEOPLE.

We would have liked the people to awaken without a catastrophic event but I have for a while now thought that it would take such an event to make it happen.

It is now or never.

Lil Rick had a song. “Mash up and buy back!”

Well I borrow from that and say,” Now dat it mash up we have no choice but to build back!”

Better design to suit our climate!

I pray!

10. @Piece the Prophet

“Just take a look at the Death count here of 7 ans see that it paused the Killings and the Drug related murders.”

The drug turnover is achieved with the tourists. Without tourism there is no drug trade. Most of the locals can’t even afford the drugs. If no money is made, the drug soldiers don’t fight over their market. Hence no murders.

However, the murder rate will not remain so low for long if people commit crimes such as burglary and robbery to cover their daily needs. Remember Guyana under Burnham the Slayer.

Besides, I’m not the real jester at Mia’s court. This role is played by some economic advisors and now also by Chris Sinckler.

11. Robert aka Butthead

He likes talking about the size of Guyana’s population. So, talk about Guyanese getting,3.5 hours to shop.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SO YOU MOVE AWAY FROM USING JAMAICA SINCE YOUR BUDDY @Enuff aka Beavis HAS BEEN EXPOSED AS A LIAR.

I HAVE CHECKED ONLINE AND THERE IS NOT 1 ARTICLE I CAME ACROSS SAYING GUYANESE CAN ONLY SHOP FOR 3.5 HRS SAME FOR JAMAICANS.

POST THE ARTICLE SO THAT I WILL BE CORRECTED INSTEAD OF SHOPPING ONE DISHONEST STORY AFTER ANOTHER TO JUSTIFY YOU AND THE PARTY YOU SUPPORT AGENDA.

PEOPLE IN BARBADOS SUFFERING IN BLISTERING HOT SUN, SOME FAINTING WITH MANY HAVING LITTLE TO NOTHING TO EAT IN THEIR HOMES.

YOU PEOPLE ARE NOTHING SHORT OF BEING CRIMINALS.

12. …that is quasi-communist misinformation….they think they are untouchable.

13. Sometimes I wondered about you,Tron but I think I have you pegged now.

And you really are quite hilarious! And Piece is quite right to label you the Court Jester. You do have a way of telling truths wrapped up in what seems like lunacy.

14. What an intelligent comment.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I FIND IT SO AMAZING THAT WHEN CONVENIENT BAJANS CAN COMPARE THEMSELVES WITH USA AND OTHER MAJOR COUNTRIES AND INCLUDE POPULATION ETC TO JUSTIFY THEIR NARROW MINDED THINKING.

ONE THING I AM HAPPY THIS SHOULD BE A WAKE-UP CALL BIM IS NOW A FURTHER LAUGHING STOCK OF THE REST OF THE CARIBBEAN.

AS @PIECE HAS ALLUDED THE LONGER THIS BULLSHIT DRAGS ON PEOPLE WILL DEAL WITH IT.

WHAT ASSHOLES COULD DETERMINE THAT FOOD AND MEDICINES ARE NOT ESSENTIAL NEEDS TO BE IN DODDS PRISON IN ST. PHILIP.

CHANGE WILL COME I BELIEVE THIS IS THE CATALYST THAT BREAKS THE CAMEL’S BACK ALONG WITH RECORD MURDERS.

15. Please take a look at the following link and look at the population density of Barbados compared to Trinidad, Jamiaca and Guyana.

https://www.caribjournal.com/2013/10/22/ranking-caribbean-countries-by-population-density.

I have suggested a simple model based on size of population and land area and a uniform distribution. We know that this is not the case for Guiana.

A more complicated predictive model would include age of the population, comorbidities of the population (diabetes and hypertension, etc) gender distribution (males seem to be more infected than females) etc…..(Quote)

@ TheoGazerts

SPOT ON!!!!

YOU HAVE PROVEN THAT MAN IS A FRAUD.

You have thoroughly explained what I was trying to tell Mr. Successful 3 Degrees. For a man that says he lectured at several universities, he come here ever day with flawed logic.

Guyana is a big country with islands in it as big as Barbados. You must use a village in Guyana where the demographics are similar to Barbados, if you want to compare both countries.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The fool talking about twisting and agendas and then brought OLD CURFEW HOURS from March 18, 2020.

There was another curfew from April 1st to 8th.

Since then, the hours were adjusted: from 8 p.m. Wednesday, April 8 to 6 a.m. Thursday, April 9; from 8 p.m. on Thursday, April 9 to 7 a.m. on Friday, April 10; from Friday, April 10 to Monday, April 13, the curfew will commence at 3 p.m. each day and end at 7 a.m. the following day; and on Monday, April 13, the curfew will begin at 3 p.m. and end on Tuesday, April 14 at 5 a.m.

After Easter, the nightly curfews were between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. commencing on Tuesday, April 14 and ending on April 21, 2020.

16. Steuspe

17. Donna…..we too knew it would take a catastrophic event to RATTLE REPULSIVE COLONIALLY TRAINED MINDS, but these have been acting from the moment they lost their tourism anchor…as though they can’t function with intelligence and so far not much to benefit the people ..despite all these loans…

in is correct to ask….why are the people standing in heat wave and humidity to get into a supermarket….people are appalled….so yes, a GOOD, SOUND RATTLE IS IN ORDER….as we always knew, it should also serve as a catalyst to awake SLEEPING BAJANS…who always seem to want to put their trust in these parasite’s.

18. Tron

When was the Chinese new year. I seem to remember being told that there was a flu going around in January / February that was characterized by an abnormal number of instances of preumonia.

19. wha gine happen eff de rain come down wen wunna in dem long long line ups ?

Shoot, I fuget dey is a drought in Babadus so nuh rain en gine fall.

20. Zero COVID cases for the last two days.

21. HMMM,

AM I THE ONE WHO IS REALLY TWISTING?

NEITHER GUYANA OR JAMAICA IS ON 24HR LOCKDOWN.

SUPERMARKETS AND PHARMACIES ARE OPEN.

FOOD AND MEDICINE DEEMED ESSENTIAL.

NO ONE HAS BEEN ALLOCATED 3.5 HOURS TO SHOP WINDOW FROM EITHER COUNTRY THAT IS BARBADOS.

NO ONE IS DEBATING CURFEW TIMES BEING CHANGED, FACT IS NONE OF THE 2 COUNTRIES TODAY ARE ON 24 HR LOCKDOWN HOWEVER BARBADOS IS.

HERE IS GUYANA SUPERMARKET HOURS OF ONE OF ITS SUPERMARKET RETAILERS TO THE PUBLIC WHO CAN SHOP UNHINDERED 6 DAYS A WEEK AS IN JAMAICA BASED ON THE STORES OPENING AND CLOSING HOURS.

Beepats to reduce opening hours over coronavirus

In a bid to limit the risk of exposure of employees and customers to the coronavirus, Beepats Store on Regent Street will be temporarily reducing its hours of operation from today until further notice.

In an advertisement in yesterday’s Sunday Stabroek, Beepats said that its new opening hours will be from 8.30 am to 3.30 pm Monday to Saturday.

It added that only senior citizens will be accommodated and served between 8.30 am and 9 am. ALL OTHER CUSTOMERS will be tended to from 9.30 am onwards. (5 1/2HRS DAILY x 6 DAYS = 33HRS EACH WEEK TO ALL SHOPPERS WHO ARE NOT SENIOR CITIZENS)

“We appreciate your understanding and help in this time of need; as we all stand together as Guyanese to do our part in fighting the spread of the coronavirus”, the ad stated.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2020/03/23/news/guyana/beepats-to-reduce-opening-hours-over-coronavirus/

YOU GUYS ARE DESPERATE AND WILL COME UP CONTINUALLY WITH BULLSHIT TO MAKE LOCAL PEOPLE SUFFER UNNECESSARY. WELCOME TO CUBA/VENEZUELA.

BRING THE EVIDENCE AND LINK SHOWING BOTH JAMAICA AND GUYANA CAN ONLY SHOP 3.5HRS AND BY SURNAME.

BARBADOS IS DOING THIS SUFFOCATION ON ITS OWN BIRDBRAINS.

22. How do you know what party I support? THAT’S THE FIRST THING WUNNUH DOES COME WITH——– PARTY PEOPLE SUPPORT. BUT YOU DON’T KNOW THAT PEOPLE NOTICED SINCE THE DEMS LOST, YOU CAME HERE TO BU. ONE ANGRY MAN_______WITH CAPITAL LETTERS AND ALL.

I DON’T WANT NO HAVING OUT WITH YOU.

I JUST WANT TO ASK YOU A SIMPLE QUESTION

IF YOU ARE SO SUCCESSFUL AND INTELLIGENT AS YOU SAY YOU ARE, WHY DO YOU COME TO BU EVERY DAY TO PICK NOISES WITH PEOPLE YOU SAY ARE FOOLISH, BACKWARD, SMALL MINDED AND LIVE IN A CESSPOOL?

IT CAN’T BE TO PROVE YOU MORE BRIGHTER THAN ANYBODY HERE, BECAUSE PEOPLE DOES SHOW UP THE FOOLISHNESS IN YOUR POSTS.

AND DON’T TELL ME NOTHING ABOUT BRINGING TRUTH. ALL THE INFORMATION YOU DOES GOOGLE AND POST HERE, WE CAN FIND ON THE INTERNET, TOO.

23. Bajeposs you slong with your twin Mariposa and the conpiracy and racist expert have been proven to be LIARS on this blog on several occasions and rather than admot you all do not know what the hell you talking about try to shift the goal posts.Hear Waru Bermuda has five times the tourisr Barbados get.When Enuff produces the stats she claims someone else stated it.Mariposa with dozen eggs recently more lies and Bajeposa with a lot of halftruths ecposed as a fraud.This cutting and pasting ain, t working for you all. All you all need to take social distancing off BUfor a long time, have zero credibilty.By the way is it true that the racist Waru is married to a white man? If so WTF.

24. –Coronavirus only —
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/04/17/tourism-linked-to-covid-says-solutions/

That, my friend, is a ‘beautiful’ graph and though the blogger/journalist commented on the first portion I fell madly in love with the second part of the graph.

First we see a constant rate of infection until April 09, 2020. Then the ‘beautiful’ portion, still a linear trend but a smaller slope (a decrease in the rate of infection). This is the beginning of a leveling -off that we all hoped for.

Then today’s headline (even better news).
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/04/17/covid-19-update-no-new-cases-today/

A further indication that we are in the leveling-off stage. We should expect that there will still be some new infections in the days ahead, but we are winning the battle against the virus..

Given the current trajectory, it appears that the much maligned coronavirus policies of the current administration are working. If you want to say it sucks, then you must agree it is lucky… Reminds me of the expression… I rather be lucky than good.

Mia: Keep the peddle to the metal.

——-Coronavirus only —–

25. ” out of a total 65 tests carried out on April 15 and 16, no one tested positive for the viral illness.”

26. Why would I lie? Isnt this what Robert said in his post: https://www.loopjamaica.com/content/st-catherine-residents-given-additional-time-shop-under-lockdown

I didn’t say Bermuda receives 5 times the number of tourists than Bdos, then when shamed ssy the numbers are padded? I guess the CTO, who produces the stats, pads for only Bdos. I didn’t then say Bermuda was smart to not rely on one sector, notwithstanding it does stand on one leg–off-shore finance, as a few in here have pointed out. Neither am I making numbers about the rate of infection. I repeat, Barbados 8.3%; TT 8.7%; and, Jamaica 10%. All yuh too liard.

27. Hahahahaha

What a silly man.

The only person arguing about a lockdown is you.

Another old post dated 23 MARCH, 2020. So much things could have changed since then.

Like in this April 4, 2020 post.

https://buzz-caribbean.com/news/over-100-charged-in-guyana-within-first-3-days-of-24-hour-curfew/

THINGS CHANGED AGAIN:-

https://guyanachronicle.com/2020/04/03/breaking-one-month-covid-19-lockdown-effective

The link, dated April 14, 2020, tells about a lockdown in St. Catherine, Jamaica.

https://www.loopjamaica.com/content/st-catherine-under-7-day-lockdown-covid-19-cases-spike

The parish of St Catherine will be placed on lockdown for seven days as of 5am, Wednesday, April 15 until 5am, Wednesday, April 22 as the government scrambles to contain an outbreak of the deadly coronavirus (COVID-19) on the island.

The announcement was made Tuesday evening by Prime Minister Andrew Holness during a digital press conference from Jamaica House.

As such, Wednesday and Saturday have been set aside for shopping, including going to the pharmacy.

Persons 65-years and older, those who are pregnant, and persons with disabilities will be allowed to go to the supermarket, corner shop or pharmacy to make their purchases between 8am and 10am on shopping days.

Persons with surnames A-M, who are younger than 65 years, will be allowed to shop between 10am and 1.30pm. For those with surnames N-Z, shopping will be allowed between 1.30pm and 5pm.

“Everyone who is going to venture on the road or into a public space must take with them some form of identification,” said Holness.

STOP GOOGLING OLD POST, MR. INTELLIGENT.

28. @ Enuff

I just posted that link again.

Mr. 3 Degrees is looking for favour and validation from BU’s favourite personality.

Notice he is bring a lot of old posts.

29. So how many of these countries have their people standing in long lines during a heat wave so they and the elderly can collapse because they can’t get into the supermarket..

..what shames YOU does not shame me, i have way more confidence in myself than that..

…i can do math and have an adequate amount of commonsense, some of you only know how to tief and count money….i have never held such low standards regarding not working for an honest pay…..not showing progressive results.

Anyway, things just keep getting better and better depending on how one views developments.

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2017/feb/18/bill-gates-warns-tens-of-millions-could-be-killed-by-bio-terrorism?CMP=share_btn_fb&fbclid=IwAR2kcDGk3IShAPTBdLv_59vFGFJR7F8ZeLRqqCsQndpgR7tKNtk0Pv6fMlM

he is acting like genetic engineering is something new.

30. Have they done more than 900 tests yet.

ya done know when fowls feel they can change the narrative…something is not right…

…people are wrapped around buildings in long lines…when they should just do their shopping like normal…..essential food remember, but moving more briskly, not wrapped around buildings and then told to come back another day….more exposure.

ya don’t try to get hero status for that..

31. @ Piece The Legend,

Pay no mind to Silly Woman. The majority of your fellow bloggers understood the context of your words and that is all that matters.

Following on from Donna’s contribution at 4.40, I can remember, roughly, five weeks ago I tried to articulate a proposal for a social and an economic model that Barbados should adopt. I argued that power should be devolved to the parishes and that central government influence should be severely restricted. I proposed that each individual parish should build a model of self-sufficiency and at the same time “trade” with the other parishes. There would be a degree of duplicity between the parishes from services, to produce, to manufactured goods, etc. However this would promote a healthy form of competition across the island. Which would create a stronger Barbados.

Such a model would have allowed Barbados to become more self sufficient and less reliant on others to provide for her citizens. For example, today I viewed a video clip of shoppers forming lines of more than 1000 metres. It beggars belief that our political class chose to adopt an economic system which excluded the development of a strong agricultural sector.

By developing an agricultural model throughout the parishes Barbadians would not be beholden to a cruel government or supermarkets who sell overpriced and inferior foreign imports.

I believe that Barbados should adopt a sustainable economic model that would be beneficial to her citizens. Many years ago I stated that Barbados should be planting mahogany trees. Least we forget the finest UK antiques have their origins in mahogany timber which was imported from Barbados. Likewise, Sea Island cotton is recognised for its superiority as a material in fashion circles. Hemp which is a derivative of the marijuana plant has a multitude of uses and over the years has been adopted by the construction industry as a super insulation material and is used within the construction of walls.

We should look at developing countries such as Kenya who are market leaders in IT technology and try to develop technologies that are practical and suitable for Barbados. And there is no reason why we can not develop our own pharmaceutical industries. Once we have developed a strong and competitive domestic industry we could then look at attacking the overseas market.

Is Mia woman enough to admit that she is hamstrung as to what path she should take to allow Barbados to survive Covid-19. Is she willing enough to detach herself from those minority groups who are surrounding her and giving her poor advice? From this side of the Atlantic, the optics looks bad. It is unacceptable that the majority population have been forced to queue for hours on end for scraps of overpriced food.

The business as usual model is no longer valid. The cosy relationship shared by government ministers and the usual suspects from private businesses has to be ended. The country has to fend for itself. And Mia’s first port of call should involve the requisition of private land and to bring it into use to boost the food output for the nation.

The building of a hotel corridor was always a pipe dream. Mia is sitting in the big girl’s chair and we expect her to draw up a radical plan that that will ensure that all Barbadians will prosper in an unchartered economic world.

32. We have no new infections on record since April 15th. If all goes right, the Wuhan plague will be over by early May. Then we can let in again the many tourists with a cold and cough.

No, seriously: The tourists will stay away anyway. I hope that the discussion will then turn to the total economic disaster.

33. So how many of these countries have their people standing in long lines during a heat wave so they and the elderly can collapse because they can’t get into the supermarket..

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

No, seriously: The tourists will stay away anyway. I hope that the discussion will then turn to the total economic disaster.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Waru

YOU REALIZED THAT NONE OF THE INDIVIDUALS POSTED ANYTHING ABOUT EITHER JAMAICA OR GUYANA ONLY BEING ALLOWED TO SHOP IN SUPERMARKETS FOR 3.5 HRS AS ALLEGED WHEN SHOWN CLEAR EVIDENCE TO THE CONTRARY.

DEALING WITH BLATANT LIARS ONE DON’T HAVE ANY OPTION BUT POSTING THE TRUTH TO EXPOSE BLATANT DISHONESTY.

AS @Tron SO PUTS IT NO TOURIST WILL BE COMING TO BARBADOS IN ANY NUMBERS TO SUSTAIN THE ONE SHOW IN TOWN TOURISM.

WE WILL OBSERVE FROM ABROAD WHAT NEW TRICKS THEY WILL USE TO SUBDUE AND CONTROL THE PEOPLE MINDS IN BARBADOS.

A NEW REALITY IS HERE AND NO AMOUNT OF THEORETICAL BOOK KNOWLEDGE AND LIES BY THE POLITICIANS AND THEIR LACKEYS WILL KEEP THE TSUNAMI OF PENT-UP FRUSTRATIONS BY THE LOCAL POPULACE OVER THE NEXT 6 – 12 MONTHS.

THE BORROWING AN BEGGING FROM GOVERNMENTS ABROAD WILL BE COMING TO AN END SOON.

PROBABLY WHY THE CHARITY SCAM COLLUSION WITH MALONEY AND GOVERNMENT CAME ABOUT AS A NEW PLOY.

KARMA IS A BITCH.

34. It unfortunate that people have ti stand in line to shop. But there is a reason for that

Talk about standung in sun for hrs and bajan?

Tell ne something about kadooment day?
    Does it rain then?

Tell me about the garrison on Gold cup day ?

35. “Open letter from African intellectuals to leaders over COVID-19
    Prominent thinkers urge continent’s leaders to use coronavirus pandemic crisis as opportunity to spur ‘radical change’.”

https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/features/open-letter-african-intellectuals-leaders-covid-19-200417140154396.html

36. Baje.
    U is an ass

Jamacia Ait got 3/4/5 hrs shopping all over Jamaica

But the Jamaica given ment got it in place in a Parish that probably bigger than Barbados

37. Well at least they heard for themselves, it has been years they were being warned to stop PATRONIZING the gold cup shite and wasting their money….the carnival is once a year for hours….but of course these things will be compared to PURCHASING LIFE SAVING FOOD… and in some cases WATER…oh, there are parishes that don’t get water and it has been like that for some for years, others for one year…..etc.

keep it up, now everyone knows what the people have been putting up with for decades….while yall brag and boast and tell lies.

38. “Such a model would have allowed Barbados to become more self sufficient and less reliant on others to provide for her citizens.”

that is what the VOTE BEGGARS DON’T WANT…they will do anything to prevent that, but this time Bajans will remember this…too harsh for even them to pretend they forgot…

while the vote beggars will soon be gearing up because this one they know did them in, of course they will try to blame the plague, but the plague should retaliate..

39. Mari
    Good post in that vid
    Why u did tuen around and let us see your face?

You had you camera man well placed

40. @ Silly Woman April 17, 2020 2:40 PM

I replied and answered that question in a post on the 16th. Stop jumping to conclusion. Check it out.

41. WW

Yes them thing is once a year

The lives are temporaryand long because of sivuakaan distancing

42. Piece the Legend Avatar

You said and i quote

“… If this crisis does not do the trick then we are truly doomed…”

De ole man used to have a very stubborn billy goat when i was younger almost 70 years ago (heheheheheheheheh)

It was one of the most stubborn creatures i have had the displeasure of knowing next to Fumbles Stuart and the DLP.

One day it attacked de ole man with its horns and de ole man was nimble then and I escaped a juck at de ole man privates, BARELY!

De ole man returned with a dog hunter and gave that goat two lashes.

Whenever I returned to the pen, i went with that dog hunter, and until it graced our plate some years later after Sunday Church, the goat respected de ole man.

I was did butt everybody in we ole wood house but not me!

Covid-19 is that Dog Hunter gentle Donna!

The mentalities of these ingrunt sheeple and beligerent bajan peeple requires unking, non gentle licks by that type of dog hunter in dem behind which Covid is inflicting in ALL OF US (you see de ole man says us)

We need to be brutalized so that we comprehend what is happening and wake up

Like i said, I understand Simple Simon and her mentality and she is a well meaning old soul but, as far as people go, she is truly a Simple Simon who feels that by talking to people nice she going get the results she wants

43. I CAN GUARANTEE THERE WILL BE NO MAJOR TOURIST FOR KADOOMENT DAY WHICH IS 1 DAY AND WHICH HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH PEOPLE BEING OUT IN THE HOT SUN TO BUY GROCERIES AND FOOD FOR SURVIVAL.

WUKING UP ON KADOOMENT DAY IS A CHOICE SO IS ATTENDING THE GOLD CUP FOR 1 DAY.

BEING IN THE HOT SUN FOR BUYING FOOD AT A SUPERMARKET WHICH THE WORLD OVER HAS CLASSIFIED AS ESSENTIAL EXCEPT THE IDIOTS IN BIM OVER A NUMBER OF WEEKS FOR SURVIVAL IS LIKE COMPARING CHALK TO CHEESE.

HOWEVER YOU SING FROM THE SAME BRIGADE SO I KNOW YOU WOULD UNDERSTAND LESS THAN THE AVERAGE INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS COMMON SENSE.

44. Some good news….just don’t know yet who will be eligible, but everyone should be in these times….ah hope the fools noticed that they said this was to HELP THE PEOPLE…they never mentioned anything about the well paid leaders.

https://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0geKejePZpezDMA1k9XNyoA;_ylu=X3oDMTEyc2k4bmgwBGNvbG8DYmYxBHBvcwMxBHZ0aWQDQjk1NTlfMQRzZWMDc3I-/RV=2/RE=1587195487/RO=10/RU=https%3a%2f%2fwww.msn.com%2fen-us%2fnews%2fworld%2frichest-countries-agree-to-freeze-poorer-nations-debt%2far-BB12EIjh/RK=2/RS=HNE49iS80bLCt6c9x0jBYBQTB0w-

“To this end, the world’s richest nations have temporarily suspended all debt payments, public and private, owed by poorer nations until the COVID-19 pandemic is over.

The G-20 includes countries like the U.S., China, India, Russia, France, Turkey, South Africa and the U.K.

Although the specific countries to benefit were not mentioned, French Finance Minister Bruno Le Maire said 76 countries were eligible for the moratorium.

These, he said, include about 40 sub-Saharan African countries, adding that over $20 billion worth of debt payments will be suspended.

In a joint statement, the World Bank Group President David Malpass and IMF Managing Director Kristalina Georgieva, said freezing the debts of poorer countries “will do much to safeguard the lives and livelihoods of millions of the most vulnerable people.”

Meanwhile, Ghana’s total Coronavirus case count has sharply risen to 641, as of April 16, 2020.

The country has, however, recorded 83 recoveries and eight deaths so far, the Ghana Health Service announced.”

45. @ enuff aka Beavis

THE WHOLE OF BARBADOS 11 PARISHES HAS BEEN ON LOCKED DOWN I BELIEVE FOR SEVERAL WEEKS.

JAMAICA THIS WEEK PUT ST. CATHERINE A PARISH ON 7 DAY LOCKDOWN WITH CURTAILED SHOPPING.

(However, since 1 May 1867 Jamaica has been divided into the current fourteen parishes.)

NOW HOW THE HELL DOES RESTRICTING ONE PARISH BECOME THE WHOLE OF JAMAICA.

IT IS LIKE SAYING THAT ALL THE RESIDENTS IN ST. LUCY IS ON RESTRICTIONS.

DOES THAT MEAN THE WHOLE OF BARBADOS?

YOU KISS THE ASS OF SO MANY WHITE MEN TO SUCCEED YOU SEEM TO THINK THAT EVERYONE WENT THE SAME ROUTE TO PROGRESS IN LIFE.

46. AGAIN…for the stupid and greedy…it is meant to save the LIVES OF THE PEOPLE…it does not mention leaders and their corrupt friends…..the leaders are already over paid and over stayed while their corrupt friends should be in prison with them..

“In a joint statement, the World Bank Group President David Malpass and IMF Managing Director Kristalina Georgieva, said freezing the debts of poorer countries “will do much to safeguard the lives and livelihoods of millions of the most vulnerable people.”

47. YOU REALIZED THAT NONE OF THE INDIVIDUALS POSTED ANYTHING ABOUT EITHER JAMAICA OR GUYANA ONLY BEING ALLOWED TO SHOP IN SUPERMARKETS FOR 3.5 HRS AS ALLEGED WHEN SHOWN CLEAR EVIDENCE TO THE CONTRARY. {Quote}

FOR A MAN WHO IS ALWAYS BRAGGING ABOUT YOUR SUCCESS SHOULD BE A BIT MORE CONFIDENT.

YOU ARE NOT. YOU ARE A JOKER AND TOO EASILY RILED UP.

A LINK WAS POSTED THREE (3) TIMES INDICATING WHERE JAMAICANS WERE TO BE SHOPPING FOR 3.5 HRS. I’LL ADMIT I MADE A MISTAKE AND SAID GUYANA, WHEN I REALLY MEANT JAMAICA.

WHAT YOU KEEP DOING IS POSTING LINKS THAT ARE ALMOST 4 WEEKS OLD AND DID NOT CONSIDER THINGS KEEP CHANGING, AS I SHOWED IN THE CASE OF JAMAICA.

ANYHOW, IF YOU BELIEVE THAT WE ARE BLATANT LIARS AND DON’T HAVE COMMON SENSE, WHY DO YOU KEEP RESPONDING TO OUR POSTS?

AN INTELLIGENT MAN LIKE YOU SHOULD SCROLL ON BY AND IGNORE US.

YOU ARE FRAUD.

48. POPULATION OF JAMAICA 2,935,000.

POPULATION OF ST CATHERINE JAMAICA 518,345 ABOUT 1/6

MEANS THAT OVER 2 MILLION 400,000 JAMICANS ARE NOT ON 24HR LOCKDOWN AND HAVE ACCESS TO SUPERMARKETS AND PHARMACIES DAILY AS NORMAL.

THE MAJORITY 5/6 OF JAMAICANS ARE FREE TO CONDUCT THEIR LIVES IN THE OTHER 13 PARISHES.

YOU AND YOUR BUDDIES LIKE TO COME ON BU AND PUNCH ABOVE YOUR WEIGHT DEFENDING SHITE AND MISINFORMATION DAILY.

I DON’T NEED SUPPORT THE TRUTH AND FACTS ARE THE BEST DEFENDERS.

49. And what happen to the other 1/6 that is even more people than Barbados?

50. @ lyallsmall April 17, 2020 5:06 PM

Core time 25 January – 4 February 2020, with additional festive days 17 January to 8 February 2020.