Prime Minister Mia Mottley  advised the country tonight that Barbados will impose a curfew from 8PM to 6AM starting on Saturday 28 March 2020  until 14 April 2020. On a personal note the Prime Minister also shared she will be MIA for a while because her medical team advised her to undergo a medical procedure this coming weekend. Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw will act as prime minister. The blogmaster wishes her well.

790 responses to “Barbados Goes on Partial LOCKDOWN”

1. Here is the PRIMARY infection.

Once infected, these independent imbeciles return to their Mummy and Daddy’s home where the SECONDARY infection occurs.

They will also infect their grandparents because they depend on them and are not as independent as they would have you believe.

It is actually quite horrible.

2. @Hal April 1.2020 %.48 AM.

“It was opposite King William Street. It was called The Olde Grogge Shoppe”

What a great name.

3. So we don’t have Chinese New Year, we don’t have Carnival, and we don’t have Spring Break … or do we?

4. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 7:01 AM

“put aside the guess work and braying”

As far as I know only asses bray and to use the term “braying) connotes that those who use BU can be liken to asses”

5. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 7:01 AM
    You even got the time wrong. I suggest you re-read the post that resulted in my comment. Maybe a remedial course in English comprehension is required . You sarcasm was quite evident. It does not affect my ego. People in glass houses should not throw stones,:thus your reply.

@ Dr Robert Lucas BSc, MSc, PhD, I will let this long hop pass outside leg. On another day I would smash it over the Kensington Stand.
    Have a good one.

6. Waru

Yuh is still a Salemite but this mek muh laff:

“lol……ya won’t be picking up anybody under the guise of Corona though, stick with ya Beggars Charity as a COV-er..”

7. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 12:51 PM

You even got the number of letters behind my name wrong also. You are not only sloppy in regard to English comprehension. Do not let the letters bother you. The places I can go just having them you cannot go. I make no pretense of saying so either.

8. PAHO urges shore up health system

The head of the Pan American Health Organisation has urged Barbados and its regional neighbours to move urgently to shore up their health care systems to cope with the COVID-19 pandemic, warning the crisis has not yet peaked.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/04/01/paho-urges-shore-up-health-system/

9. I have been waiting all long to hear govt disclosed the good news which Peter Lawerence shared on Bu stating because of the generosity of the Chinese Barbados need of medical supplies is no longer necessary
    The Chinese had supplied large enough amounts to cover the time line of the virus

10. De Santis another Duffus who would rarther see the health care system collapsing than closing the borders
    These are the kind of nincompoops the people voted
    Makes me wonder how many of those that voted for Trump and DeSantis are dead or infected almost 7000 thousand people infected in fla and the jac ass would not call for a nation wide shutdown

11. Okay Bobby let’s do it your way…

The Dullard is not interested in what you did in the 1970s. Why do you feel the need to share your CV on an anonymous virtual rum shop?

Did I bruise your fragile ego?

12. @ Dr Robert Lucas Phd

The places I can go just having them you cannot go
    You mean like rum shops?

13. 48 mins Desantis issue shut down for Fla
    It took 7000 thousand people to be infected before the duffus issues a nationwide shutdown
    My God a country of clowns taking people like sheep to the slaughter

14. Govt of barbados why don’t u tell the truth as to how low the medical supplies are
    After reading PAHO article it is about time govt of barbados comes clean to the public
    No sense in waiting until the last minute
    Transparency is what is needed now
    Not hiding behind of a veil of deceit and wishing the pandemic would go away

15. John
    April 1, 2020 12:44 PM

So we don’t have Chinese New Year, we don’t have Carnival, and we don’t have Spring Break … or do we?

We do have Spring Break.

Our own students in the US and the Ross student’s here.

I would venture a guess that the curfew is in effect to protect the young folks from themselves and to protect us older folk from them!!

16. Florida has 87 deaths so far.

Here is what the experts say.

“His about-face came as health data experts gave clearer estimates of coronavirus’s toll, they warned that even with social distancing, Florida could see a median of 6,937 deaths, and the virus could kill between 100,000 and 240,000 people in the United States in the coming months.”

I doubt very much that 87 will get to 6,937!!!

Agree the number of infections will climb after Spring Break but that does not mean the deaths will rise.

What it does mean is that the virus is not as deadly as at first thought.

My gut is the experts will have completely discredited themselves when this is over.

17. Iowa has 9 deaths so far.

These experts are idiots.

18. New York has 1,941 deaths so far more as a result of incompetence at the Mayoral and State Governor ship level than the lethality of the virus …. Democrats!!

California has 184 deaths … Pelosi and company.

Democrats cannot run any thing but in the ground.

19. Schiff is out that side too!!

Completely incompetent.

20. @ Quaker John

Have you ever ran anything, apart from being a book keeper at some sugar plantation?

21. Is it true a homeless man in Barbados has been arrested for breaking the curfew?

22. Now all across social media is this woman who claims of having no placed of abode locked in handcuffs and decked on both sides by policeman
    Now what was her crime ..Oh she broke the curfew
    Here is an instance wherby this woman could not be having no place of abode
    But the first response by police was to locked the lady in hand cuffs and take her into custody
    I get the feeling that the image was to send a strong measure to the public
    But cuhdear there are many people who are mentally challenged and have no place of abode
    Instead of using the lady as an example could not the police released the information to the public without all the kudoment publicity
    I would bet this is another one of govt publicity stunts to win favour with the people after the govt disastrous handling of the Corona Virus
    With so much crime taking root in barbados daily would it not be better to place a stronger interest in finding the criminal element that keeps barbadians in fear
    How about the squatters living illegally on land why cant govt give them the same type of police treatment that is set aside for squatters

23. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 1:50 PM

If I choose to go into a rum shop it is my money not yours. I was drinking and doing my studies at the same time. Also playing cricket. and setting up a business. How far along the scale have you gotten doing any of them? If you have tried and failed I will respect your effort and guts for having tried. You are typical of the general Barbadian population. Envious of others in your self righteousness. Personally, I find you are not very bright. I am curious to see how far you want to proceed. As I said do not let my credentials bother you. You seemed pissed off by them especially the doctorate .I did not stop you from getting one. Do you know how one gets one?. You certainly do not get one by being stupid. You, in passing talked about paper qualifications. It only shows how silly you are . All of my areas of study called for hands on practical experience. As I have said you are not only sloppy in English comprehension but also in numerical skills, having got the number of letters behind my wrong. I have taken time out to respond because I do not take s–t from people.

24. @John,

So, is the aircraft carrier that has been basically put out of commission run by Democrats?

No, this is all caused by Trumps totally ineffectual lack of leadership and action.

But, get that, an aircraft carrier out of commission because of this virus. Do you realise the implications for the defense???

Is the twit still calling it a hoax???

This is a crisis of grave magnitude and calls for definitive leadership and urgent action.

That said, your friend and his cronies would likely prefer that this is a crisis that extends into September, pushing any chance of an election into 2021 or 2022.

Strange times indeed.

25. @ Crusoe April 1, 2020 4:48 PM

There are nine more. Basically, the carrier is as obsolete as was the battle ship in WW2. You sink one of them with anti-ship missile :100 planes lost.5000 men dead or missing and billions of dollars wasted. The Admirals have this fixation on the carriers just for prestige. The money would be better spent having more missile destroyers and corvettes.

26. Crusoe
    April 1, 2020 4:48 PM

@John,
    So, is the aircraft carrier that has been basically put out of commission run by Democrats?

The spread of the virus is the result of Democrats.

So if the virus spreads to an aircraft carrier or whatever, … I will leave you to fill in the blanks!!

27. Hal Austin
    April 1, 2020 3:35 PM

@ Quaker John
    Have you ever ran anything, apart from being a book keeper at some sugar plantation?

Yup!!

28. What do you think engineers do?

29. … and what happens if engineers don’t run it right?

30. @ Bobby

Thank you for taking the time to respond. And thanks again for reminding the Dullard of your “research” from the 1970s.
    Your little lab work from the 1970s is nothing to brag about, neither are the failed “business” ventures.

Personally, I find you are not very bright
    Look at the moniker — Dullard. But tell me, what makes you “bright”?

As I have said you are not only sloppy in English comprehension but also in numerical skills
    You “have done post doctoral research in microbiology and recombinant DNA”. What makes you think you are numerate?

You are typical of the general Barbadian population. Envious of others in your self righteousness
    I am not sure what you have that would interest the Dullard. (Grand)daughters perhaps?

A. Dullard

31. Hal

Looks like the UK is going through a second wave of deaths.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/uk/

Were there more celebrations in the UK after the Chinese New Year?

Was there an equivalent to a Mardi Gras/Carnival?

It is just 3 days.

Here is what I think was the first wave of infections in London and Milan, the days leading up to February 10.

First deaths March 14th, 10 that day.

What would have happened in the days after February 10?

Could be mass transit, London Underground.

Looks like services were curtailed on 19th March.

On that day there were 40 deaths.

So the virus had more than a month to spread via the underground if it did.

Maybe it isn’t a second wave, maybe it is a continuation of the first wave.

32. Milan also has a mass transit system.

By Feb 26 it had emptied out, Northern Italy then went into lock down on 12th March.

Probably same thing happened in London, people stopped using the Underground before the authorities closed it.

Looks like week of March 8th to 15th, a couple of weeks after Milan in this graph below.

https://qz.com/1824243/coronavirus-has-killed-off-public-transportation-across-the-world/

How many passengers in the various mass transit systems around the world?

https://www.citylab.com/transportation/2018/09/the-global-mass-transit-revolution/570883/

Unfortunately it doesn’t separate England from Europe.

“Worldwide, mass transit carried 53 billion passengers in 2017—an increase of roughly 9 billion passengers since 2012, with most of that growth occurring in Asia, and the Middle East-North Africa region. Asian transit systems carry more than 26 billion passengers a year; European lines carry more than 10 billion passengers; Latin America nearly 6 billion and North America (U.S. and Canada) just 3.7 billion. Metro networks are most utilized in Eurasia, with the average inhabitant taking 117 trips last year, although simultaneously, Eurasia is the only region to see a decline in trips per capita.”

33. Top 10 Busiest Transit Systems (Annual Ridership in Billions)
    Ranking
    City
    Ridership
    Tokyo
    Moscow
    Shanghai
    Beijing
    Seoul
    New York City
    New Delhi
    Guangzhou
    Mexico City
    Hong Kong

34. London, Milan and Madrid are not in the top 10 but they do have mass transit systems.

What can we get from the table of the top 10?

China where the virus originated has 3 cities in the top 10.

New York where I suggest the virus was first spread in the New Year celebrations is #6.

Hong Kong canceled its New Year celebrations or had them cancelled by China which also cancelled its own.

Possibly the spread in China was due to Mass Transit and not the New Year celebrations.

Possible absence of spread in Hong Kong was due to lack of numbers to spread via Mass Transit.

Possible New York had both the initial numbers through its celebrations and the Mass Transit.

Disaster.

New Delhi, Russia and Tokyo are like Hong Kong, no large numbers to spread.

35. If China’s numbers are right, and if mass transit alone and not the celebrations was responsible for the spread there then it is possible the duration for England may be similar, 3 months.

36. Tokyo rings a bell, sarin attack of 1995.

Mass Transit is an Achilles heel.

37. I remember a contributor posting a poem to imply it was some flattering prediction about Trump.

Miller subsequently posted a quote from Nostradamus, which he used to imply the opposite.

Interestingly, I came across an article in which the author mentioned Trump’s presidency was predicted in 1920, by H.L Mencken.

“H.L. Mencken foresaw the decline of American democracy and the inevitable rise of the 45th president…. all the way back in 1920.”

“As democracy is perfected, the office of president represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart’s desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron.” [H.L. Mencken, Baltimore Evening Sun, July 26, 1920]

38. @ Quaker John

You need a new hobby. Your bogus theory is irritating, but if it helps you to maintain your sanity keep it up. I suggest you stop Googling nonsense about Chinese New Year celebrations and make yourself more useful to the society.
    It is sad that Barbadian taxpayers spent so much money on your education and now do not benefit from it. I have no interesting in debunking your nonsense. Life is too short. I leave that to others who have limited cognitive skills.

39. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 9:55 PM

You have supported the points I have made. The envy and constant harping on my research in 1970’s. The talk about business failure. Did you ever try to start a business?

40. @ Bobbie

You have made no point.

Only revert to your 1st line of defense: bray about your “post doctoral research in microbiology and recombinant DNA” and failed businesses (plural). By the way, what have you done recently?

How can I envy you? Assuming that “robert lucas” is your government name, I’ve never heard of you.

41. You guys have got to call a halt. The nation – the world – is going through tough times. We need all hands on deck, especially as it looks as if Barbados is so badly in need of sound political leadership. The chairman has lost control.

42. @ Hal

Halt to what? I am having a great conversation, getting to know the blogger with the handle “robert lucas”.

Who invited you? And how does BU contribute to “sound political leadership”?

The chairman has lost control of nothing.

43. @ Dullard

Thanks for your kind words. I do not care nor am I interested in your private conversations. What I am saying, in simple words, is that Barbados is in crisis. Our political leaders have abandoned ship, our media prefers entertainment, and BU, the single voice of the people, is witnessing two of its most articulate voices getting in to a deep personal conversation.
    Share the love, Talk to all of us, and the rest of the nation, by putting forward ideas/solutions to get us out of this mess. Nobody invifed me, and as I have said on numerous occasions, I am not a joiner. So even if invited I will decline. The only organisation I have ever belonged to was the NUJ, and then reluctantly.
    It is my view that the chairman has lost control, but that is not new.

44. Hal Austin
    April 2, 2020 3:44 AM

@ Quaker John

I have no interesting in debunking your nonsense

All I want from you is information about what is going on in the UK on the ground, dates, times!!

FACTS.

My brain deals in FACTS.

So sometimes I will provoke because in so doing accidentally a FACT you may not realise you possess or think unimportant will unknowingly slip out, something that you have seen or heard in a country with the problem which we blessed here as we are with minimal issues for the moment can learn from and try to explain.

I don’t trust the press so double check it from on the ground resources.

Everything I have seen from the FACTS I have been able to glean tells me “the only thing we have to fear is fear itself” … in cliché form.

I wasn’t brought up in fear and I will not succumb to it now!!

What about Fear of God you may say but God gave me the talents I posses and I will use them without fear!!

45. @ Dullard April 2, 2020 7:45 AM

Unlike you, I do not hide my identity using an alias. I have a pretty good idea of who you are based on a word you keep repeating.

46. @ the blogger with handle “robert lucas”

Ahhh. So predictable. Just like clockwork, when all fails, you use the old , “well at least I use my real name” routine to claim some imaginary moral superiority. Pathetic!

You don’t know the Dullard. More importantly, the Dullard has never heard of any “robert lucas” apart from this blog.

Why do you think you are so important?

47. @ robert lucas

Why do you bother?

Their behavior is so predictable.

Pretty obvious they can’t help themselves.