The Donville Inniss trial in the USA suffocated the local newsfeed in recent days and prevented the blogmaster – absent the noise – from sharing thoughts about other matters. Now that we have touchdown in the Inniss matter with the predictable verdict being returned, it is time.

Two images were posted in the Nation newspaper on the 12th and 18th of January 2020 which captured the attention of this blogmaster.

One image emblazoned on the Sunday’s front page of the 12 January 2020 showed the beaming countenance of Peter Wickham and Giancarlo with the caption – “Regional political consultant was formally married to his partner of the past ten years, Giancarlo Cardinale yesterday at the Hotel de Ville in Strasbourg, France …

Some will accuse the blogmaster of being homophobic after posting this blog. You are free to do so. Individuals are free to live lifes as they chose, once done within the boundary of the law. We live in a world where same sex unions are being given the ‘weight’ traditional marriages.  The beef this blogmaster has with the Nation Media House is the decision to insert the picture on the front page AND referring to the union as a marriage.

Barbadians are a people wedded to the traditional view that a marriage is ” established between two people of the opposite sex.” The Nation newspaper as the leading media outlet in the country has a duty to responsibly share information that accurately influence given the power of media to influence (manipulate) public opinion. After all we have the vulnerable in society to shepherd. Posting Wickhams so called marriage on the front page  brings into serious question the quality of decision-making at the Editor’s desk at Nation Publishing.

Peter Wickham Marriage

The second picture does not require an exercise in the prolix and can be explained in a few words – one must thrive to make the best decisions at all times Verla et al.

Verla De Peiza

Discuss for 10 marks.

244 responses to “Peter and Verla in Focus”

1. Verda Pizza must resign immediately. Like all other DLP grandees, she has sided with Donville, even though there has been strong evidence for his upcoming conviction for some time. The DLP is obviously not able to distinguish between justice and injustice. It would not surprise me if they soon demand the reintroduction of slavery and corporal punishment such as flogging of locals.

The two parliamentary terms from 2008 to 2018 were not only an economic catastrophe but also a socialist dictatorship of the semi-wild.

It would be even better if all official representatives, judges, prosecutors and police officers who were appointed between 2008 and 2018 voluntarily left the civil service. The continued employment of these people is as if democratic Japan had simply taken over the old officers from the dictatorship before 1945. Or think of Cambodia (Khmer Rouge) and many other dictatorships. This cannot be allowed.

2. Why does the article makes reference to the couple marriage as ” so called” was there a marriage or not
    Are they not countries that give legal marriage bindings to homosexual marriages
    What i sense is the writer almost feeling a sense of shame or disgust for the couple
    Hence the writer takes a position that the caption is misleading
    If the couple is happy what problem is it for society to judge them
    If the country in which they were legally married gives them a legal right to marry then (why) should the Nation article reflect differently
    —”’””‘””””‘”””‘”””””””””

Verla Depezia spoke truth what more could she have said
    No sense in throwing fuel to a blazing fire
    Within good commonsense and logical thinking it would have made no sense for Verla to entertain words which could have been interpreted in the public domain as divisive
    Her words cut across the entire spectrum of the political divide D..B..or independent and towards others seeking high places in govt

3. David

“Posting Wickhams so called marriage on the front page brings into serious question the quality of decision-making at the Editor’s desk at Nation Publishing.”

What do you mean by so called marriage? It is a marriage…period!. As far as I know polygamy is against the law in Barbados, but it does not stop media houses from reporting an individual (Osama Bin Laden for example) as having WIVES. Only recently a known prostitute was on the ballot for our elections. Is prostitution legal? Your comments fit the definition of homophobic and are also plainly illogical.

4. Amid the frenzy over local political corruption, which has led many on this blog to celebrate the crucifixion of Donville Innis, let us be mindful of the fact that this trial in the United States was obviously the result of a backroom deal between (white) prosecutors in the United States and (white) business executives based in Barbados — a deal which concealed the wrongdoing of the (white) puppetmasters involved in the much-discussed payoffs.

I am not excusing the disgusting behaviour of Donville Innis or suggesting any mitigation of the punishment he faces. But I’m reminding everyone that we have been allowed to see only the tip of the iceberg, and we should keep demanding that justice be served up to all the parties involved in this scheme, not just the black scapegoat.

5. First and last comment on Peter Wickham’s business.
    Don’t Know the guy, but I wish him success in all his endeavors.

Have a great day, Barbados
    Wishing good fortune to every person on the 166 square mile rock, and to their relatives.
    HAGD

6. The White executives you refer are located at the parent company which is NOT located in Barbados.

7. @enuff

Would have thought the blogmaster was very clear his definition of marriage.

8. “let us be mindful of the fact that this trial in the United States was obviously the result of a backroom deal between (white) prosecutors in the United States and (white) business executives based in Barbados ”

retard…it is doubtful prosecutors in US will align themselves with half-assed minority crooks in Barbados that are known to be corrupt, that are known to bribe the same lowlife government ministers that are known to be PARASITES in the lives of the black majority.

These clowns are common class thieves it’s only the dumb in Barbados would put them on any kind of pedestal, the shite they do on the island, they would be in prison for decades in US.for committing..

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Nobody gives a tinkers damn what your definition of marriage is. Neither is it of the slightest relevance to Mr Wickham’s marriage because you did not marry him.

I have no idea whether you are married yourself, but the same book of White people’s mythology also says that if your wife was not a virgin when she married you she should be stoned to death in public. Deuteronomy 22, 19 I think, I’m too lazy to go check the family Bible.

10. With all the talk, when will this government go after ICBL 70% and CGI 30% recipients of the BIDC contract with one being the BROKER for this same deal that saw Donville on a hook and Tasker and Iness “at large”.

When will Dale and the DPP act and give the COP some powers on this.

instead of trying to WEASEL OUT of taking any action.

11. It’s a marriage in Strasbourg so it’s a marriage but what this headline “formally married” is a “live wid” an informal marriage? Some Bajans have tied the knot with their same sex partners outside of Bim without fanfare but Peter being a media personality wants to let all Barbados to know of his new status.

For once I agree with Enuff about the Blogmaster exhibiting some homophobia

BTW two females were given extensive coverage in the Nation approximately a year ago about their lives and I understand they are very prominent on the social network about their status and I didn’t hear a word from the blogmaster. Didn’t they get engaged? Perhaps they are married by this time.

Watch for the fireworks when the law is ultimately changed in Bim

Moi? Live and let live

12. @Peter and Sargeant

The advantage of being blogmaster is that he can share his opinion and don’t give a damn what anybody thinks about it.

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Which is exactly the same advantage enjoyed by the other 3 billion humans with internet access. Congratulations. 🍾🎊🎉

14. David u have been exposed
    Now all u have to say is “Yes”

15. I would be interested in finding out exactly how and when Barbados became a morally degenerate society, with a live-and-let-live attitude to questions of sexual pairing and marriage.

Did this happen in the 1990s? The 2000s? Was it the result of watching North American movies and TV? I certainly never became aware of any attitude shifts in my own Roman Catholic family. It is shocking to me that people do not see this change as problematic.

16. Now Barbados has two poster children
    Ironically they are both boys
    For better or for worse the eyes of the world are now gazing upon a barbados where corruption was a norm along with pictures of same sex marriages as an introduction to a new form of normality

17. Read this and the comments – (remember it is cannabis that we talking about)

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/18/jamaican-drug-trafficker-may-sue/
    He should have been punished and was, but
    not ready for legalizing
    not ready for decriminalizing

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, REALLY.. you said such a thing:

“The advantage of being blogmaster is that he can share his opinion and don’t give a damn what anybody thinks about it.”

REALLY.

No one questions that ability to editorialize freely but we question making ILLOGICAL editorials.

If you don’t like same sex unions then so be it, bro … but to suggest that a NEWS WORTHY event (Wickham is a well known Bajan with deep roots) should not be so widely publicized because same sex marriage is illegal in Bim is ABSURD. (As all noted).

You normally don’t do absurd.

As the gents said : “Your comments fit the definition of […] of plainly illogical.”

Where else do you allow your personal views to cloud your reason n logic bro???? That’s ‘the skinny’ here… NOT the view expressed!

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Ewart Arthur

Barbados became a degenerate society in 1627 with English settlement and the introduction of Colonialism with its assumption of White superiority and mythology that advocated stoning women to death in public for not being virgins at marriage (amongst other atrocities advocated in their Bible).

Barbados has yet to recover.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Ewart Archer^

21. Well to me their marriage neither improves my day nor makes it worst. For years bout here they were so called ” respectable” people who were known as closet queens.

In 2020 if 2 men or 2 women choose to get married I wish them well. After all isn’t one of the biggest jokes in the world not the Catholic church? They insist their pastors be celibate much to the disadvantage of the young boys in the church. How much has this said bastion of religion paid out over the years to quietly settle damage claims?

My point is anyone that talks about religion being not in favour of same sex marriage needs to take their head out the sand.

Why just last month I ran into 2 lesbians at a function. One was gorgeous and the other somewhat Butch. I had to ask the gorgeous one if she was sure she was a lesbian, or was she maybe unsure and being mislead. This however annoyed her butch partner.

What can I say as a man i felt the need to make one last attempt at converting this nice young thing was required ! LOL

22. ” Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people in Barbados do not enjoy the same rights as non-LGBT people. Homosexual acts are illegal (regardless of whether they were consensual and done in private) in Barbados, with a life sentence; however, the law is rarely enforced. The law is currently in effect, but under review.[1] In June 2016, Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite said that gays should be “left alone” and protected in the eyes of the law.[2]

In August 2016, the Belize Supreme Court struck down Belize’s sodomy ban as unconstitutional. Because Belize and Barbados (and all member states of CARICOM) share an identical jurisprudence, Barbados’ sodomy ban is also unconstitutional. However, unlike Belize, Barbados’ Constitution contains a “savings clause”, which protects laws inherited by the former British Empire from constitutional review, even if these laws run counter to fundamental human rights.

Because of Barbados’ small population, many LGBT Barbadians choose to remain in the closet in fear that coming out would expose them to the entire country.[3] Barbados held its first Pride Week in July 2018. Activities raising awareness and acceptance were hosted throughout the country.[4]

23. “I had to ask the gorgeous one if she was sure she was a lesbian, or was she maybe unsure and being mislead.”

That is funny but was wrong. It is also a problem that good looking lesbians have, people tend not to take them seriously”. If she expressed uncertainty, would you have volunteered to show her what she was missing.

🙂 May your gorgeous lesbian encounters be many and more fruitful 🙂

24. @ Theo

Even Custer had to make one last stand! 😁

25. Is Mia Mottley the Prime Minister a lesbian?

ASKING FOR A FRIEND.

26. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A

Well Theo should then pay close heed to what happened to Custer.

27. @ Peter.

Lol very true. Thing is the more I talked to them after they had a few drinks, the more I realised I was possibly a lesbian too! After all we all seemed to like the same thing! I told the wife going home about my dilemma and she nearly died laughing at me!

My point is let all people live and you will find if you chat with some as opposed to avoiding them, they are really entertaining.

28. The problem with some men when they meet gay women is that they believe they are in the conversion business.
    Much to their chagrin they are soon disabused of that notion.

29. David
    And the Nation chose to publish the story and use marriage based on their interpretation “and don’t give a damn what anybody thinks about it”, including you.

30. @Ewart Archer January 18, 2020 10:42 AM

I would be interested in finding out exactly how and when Barbados became a morally degenerate society, with a live-and-let-live attitude to questions of sexual pairing and marriage.

When I was a young boy a male couple, Timmy and Frank, lived together in Waterhall Land (in the Tudor Bridge/Eagle Hall area) and I had to utter the usual good morning/evening when passing in front of the house and one or both were looking out the window, since I didn’t want them to complain, to my mother or grandparents, of my unmannerly behavior. That was in the 1950s.

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Actually, the Nation chose to publish the story using the definition of marriage in the jurisdiction where the couple were married because anything else would be utterly idiotic.

Now David is upset that they don’t share his narrow minded homophobia that he swallowed whole from his colonial history.

32. @David the blogmaster “The beef this blogmaster has with the Nation Media House is the decision to insert the picture on the front page AND referring to the union as a marriage. Barbadians are a people wedded to the traditional view that a marriage is ” established between two people of the opposite sex.” The Nation newspaper as the leading media outlet in the country has a duty to responsibly share information that accurately influence given the power of media to influence (manipulate) public opinion. After all we have the vulnerable in society to shepherd. Posting Wickhams so called marriage on the front page brings into serious question the quality of decision-making at the Editor’s desk at Nation Publishing.”

But David marriage is whatever a particular society/legal system recognizes as marriage, so Mr. Wickham and Mr. Cardinale are legally married under the laws of France, so I don’t know how you can refer to the gentlemen’s marriage as a “so called marriage”

On the other hand I have a cousin whose wife moved to the U.S. in 1995. Lolll!!! the idiot still ain’t realize that she int coming back. He hasn’t seen her since, and still walking ’bout telling people he is a married man. De facto he int no married man.

Stupseee!!! how the hell can you be married to a person whom you haven’t seen in more than 25 years.

Marriage is NOT a piece of paper giver by a priest, pastor or magistrate. Marriage is the day to day living and doing for each other, which is why Barbados recognizes traditional marriages, sometimes called common law marriages.

I wish Mr. Wickham and Mr. Cardinale well. May they live happily after.

Still a little vex wid Peter tho’ that he did not pop the question to me.

Oh! well!!!.

33. @Tron January 18, 2020 7:12 AM “Verda Pizza must resign immediately. Like all other DLP grandees, she has sided with Donville, even though there has been strong evidence for his upcoming conviction for some time.”

Now all ‘o wunna know that Donville int my best buddy, but cuddear Tron man, ya can’t convict a man before he is convicted. All like 3 o’clock Thursday evening, the Don was as innocent as my new born grand babe.

Now that he is convicted the Americans can throw him under the bus for all I care, especially since he like the American so bad. Look as soon as the elections done in Barbados as soon as he could he bound and gone up in the Americans place. Wha’ he do that for/? Barbados int good enough fah he?

But “no” i din’t feel that Verla should resign as there is no evidence that she helped Donville with his laundry nor his book keeping nor neffen so.

But I would love to hear from Freundel. Fruendel was Donville’s boss/supervisor for nearly ten years.

What does Freundel think about Donville’s conviction?

34. Won’t it be better to discuss the nonsense Peter Wickham told the Nation after the conviction of Donville than his marital status? It is his, to me, bogus ‘expertise’ as a political analyst that is most offensive to some of us. Why the Nation went to him for comment beats me. Why not go to Freundel? Or Adrian Brathwaite? Or the police commissioner?

35. @Enuff January 18, 2020 8:55 AM “What do you mean by so called marriage? It is a marriage…period!. As far as I know polygamy is against the law in Barbados, but it does not stop media houses from reporting an individual (Osama Bin Laden for example) as having WIVES. Only recently a known prostitute was on the ballot for our elections. Is prostitution legal? Your comments fit the definition of homophobic and are also plainly illogical.”

Enuff you asked why David used the term so called marriage. i am here to ask yu what is “a known prostitute?” how do you KNOW that the person is a prostitute? Have you paid the person for sexual services? Are you the FBI that you have checked their bank and email transactions and seen real [not fake] invoices for sexual services? If not aren’t you just engaging in malicious gossip?

36. @ David January 18, 2020 9:53 AM “Would have thought the blogmaster was very clear his definition of marriage.”

David you have ZERO authority to define marriage for the French state. ZERO.

37. PLT

is a forceful advocate for same-sex marriage, in conformity with the fashionably progressive thinking of this generation.

Is he equally in favour of polygamy? Logically, you cannot argue for one kind of “freedom” without the other.

38. @Hal Austin January 18, 2020 1:48 PM

Happy New Year and all the best to you and the family. I was getting worried and thought you decided to quit contributing because some of us try to keep you in line every now and then – lol.

39. @Ewart Archer January 18, 2020 9:12 AM “Amid the frenzy over local political corruption, which has led many on this blog to celebrate the crucifixion of Donville Innis, let us be mindful of the fact that this trial in the United States was obviously the result of a backroom deal between (white) prosecutors in the United States and (white) business executives based in Barbados — a deal which concealed the wrongdoing of the (white) puppetmasters involved in the much-discussed payoffs.”

Looka, now you got me here almost defending wicked white men [and women] but I have to remind you that Donville is NOT a puppet, and that if he arranged with others to commit money laundering no white body was holding his brain, nor his hand and forcing him to do money laundering. Donville could have said “no.”

So there is not point in you crying victim tears on Donville’s behalf.

Donville is NOT a victim. White people have done a lot of wickedness to black people,but in this instance it is Donville self who did the wickedness to Donville self and to me as well because I am a long time customer of ICBL and no doubt the bribe money and the subsequent disgorgements to the U.S.A. government were coming out of my pockets. And the USA government and people are rich and i am not. The damn people were picking my pockets and I didn’t even know.

Was that a good way to treat a poor black woman? We poor black women who gave birth to all of the big shot men, who cleaned their bottoms, wiped their snotty noses, cooked their food, taught them how to read and write, and then in our old age they juck we.

Not nice. not nice at all.

If a white man frigs me up I can say that the old rascal hates poor black women, but when a black man frigs me up and picks my pocket in my old age…

Do you understand how bad it makes me feel?

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Ewart Archer

I am a forceful advocate of equal human rights for all human beings. Period.

Your attempt to pretend that polygamy is the logical equivalent of the right of an adult human being to marry another adult human being that they love is completely farcical. I mean you are really embarrassing yourself with such idiocy.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

The man in the hat in the picture of the newlyweds looks incredibly similar to Mikhail Gorbachev.
    “Barbadians are a people wedded to the traditional view…….”; appreciate the pun, but it goes well beyond same-sex marriage. Barbadians, in the majority, are a very homophobic group, EVEN when it comes to their own children!!! It destroys families. Irish the two well.
    The DI cloud has been hovering over the D’s. Barring the sentencing and appeal, time to move on.
    What Barbados needs is a rash of cases, involving all types, to decrease expectations and a money flow which has become systemic. It is rampant and on the verge of tradition.

42. @ Bajan in New York

Many thanks and the same to you. As you know, I will come on BU if only to spar with you. As to keeping me in line, I can still remember your long hops.

43. Enuff, we agree – the picture should not be on the front of the Rh Sunday Sunday on a bright Sunday. This is the opinion of the blogmaster to which he is entitled.

44. @peterlawrencethompson January 18, 2020 10:15 AM “t if your wife was not a virgin when she married you she should be stoned to death in public. Deuteronomy 22, 19 I think, I’m too lazy to go check the family Bible.”

I am not into this stoning business. Them Middle Easterners too violent to me. I don’t know why we wold want to follow themin matters of love, marriage and family life.

But to offer up an excuse for them; back in those days women, girls really were married just after their first period, and it is not hard to be a 12, 13. or 14 year old virgin. Even i, an elderly cougar according to the miller’s reckoning was a virgin throughout ALL of my teens.

So “no” virginity in the teens is normal and natural, not difficult to be, no big deal.

But try being or finding a 25 or 35 year old virgin.

Lolll!!!

Those are as rare as hen’s teeth.

45. Not even Prince Charles could find one. Of course he was not one either.

46. My first response to this nonsense post from the most powerful blogmaster with the only forum in the world where we can share our opinions was, “STEUPSE to the billionth degree!”

But I do have some “late breaking news” for Ewart Archer who wonders when the shift towards homosexuality occurred since his Roman Catholic family has not changed its position.

Dear sir, the hierarchy of the Roman Catholic church has not changed its position either, which was always, “Do as we say and not as we do!” Roman Catholic priests and even popes have always been the chief purveyors of homosexuality, paedophilia and downright lasciviousness. After all, what would be expected of anything Roman?

To the most powerful blogmaster’s non point, I see nothing wrong with the Nation’s reporting. Peter is married in France and other places. They need not fit their language into Barbados law. I don’t know if the editors expressed a favourable opinion of the marriage but if they did they have the right to do so. Newspapers have sought to influence public thinking from the beginning of journalism. Human rights were advanced by some publications. Peter and other homosexuals are human. And as far as I know, they did not make themselves. I do not know what caused them to be homosexual and neither do the people who condemn them. But it seems that EVERYBODY has an opinion – based on what exactly?

Frankly, I don’t see how Peter’s being homosexual or married takes away from my life or anybody else’s. I am not going to waste my time searching for things to be upset about.

47. @Ewart Archer January 18, 2020 10:42 AM “I would be interested in finding out exactly how and when Barbados became a morally degenerate society I certainly never became aware of any attitude shifts in my own Roman Catholic family. It is shocking to me that people do not see this change as problematic.”

Why you don’t spend you time telling your hundreds or thousands or tens of thousands of Roman Catholic priests and very likely lay people too to stop foo-ping the people’s boy children?

“And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? ”
    Matthew 7: 3-5

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Yes, you are absolutely entitled to hold a stupid opinion; you are even legally entitled to hold this homophobic opinion. Barbados law does not prohibit either stupidity or homophobia.

49. @ Peter

I think our time would now be better spent pressuring our AG into
    honouring his promises on the political platform to ensure “corruption is stamped out in this island.”

He has been given all the information from the US, seeing that his pleading with the commissioner here to act bore no fruit.

Don’t let us get side tracked with petty issues, but instead let us hold his and the others feet to the fire for follow through and results on this matter locally in our local courts.

50. So…. the newspaper should not print certain news on a Sunday??????????? How about mass murder, gang rape, a child sex ring? Should these newsworthy items be HIDDEN on the back page or held back until non bright (apparently) Monday morning.

Getting more ridiculous by the post!