Submitted by Caleb Pilgrim

To return to Trump ….Today is day 1075 since President Trump’s inauguration in January 2017. According to the Washington Post, by December 16, 2019, he, Trump, had made a mere 15,413 false or misleading statements (otherwise known as lies). Some claim that he even lied about his father, Fred Trump’s place of birth.

Arguably, the Post’s figures might well have been inaccurate. We do not know and we will never know the exact number of lies Trump would have told family, friends, acquaintances, strangers, his Cabinet members individually or collectively, or even lies he might have told himself during the period. The Post’s figures might therefore have been limited to his “public” lies, and the Post’s estimate far too low.

Such has been POTUS’s achievement here – a far cry from President George Washington who allegedly never told a lie – that American social scientists have now developed a new category pertaining to lies: awarding politicians, such as Trump, “the bottomless Pinocchio”. He is clearly unable to control his lying; a medical condition sometimes known as “mythomania”.

By contrast, a pastor friend, a diehard Trump supporter and a black evangelical here in the N.E USA, like another friend and former Barbados unsuccessful political candidate in last year’s May 24, 2018 election; these see Trump, notwithstanding his “truthful hyperbole” as a great man of destiny. To be fair, the Pastor’s wife, more wise, more discerning, early intimated that as far as she could see “God is not the author of confusion”.

The die, however, has now been cast; the Mueller Report completed; the transcript made available; the Whistleblower’s report publicized; ditto the IG’s report; the respective House Committees have done their inquiries and Reports. and the House has voted its two Articles of Impeachment. The Senate reconvenes in short order.

It now remains for the Senate under Chief Justice Roberts to schedule and conduct its impeachment trial of the President, a rarity, in the context of looming Primaries and a 2020 Presidential election. Senators McConnell and Graham, prospective jurors in any impeachment trial, have said that they already decided the matter. What happens if or when Senator Schumer and the Democratic Senate minority somehow file with C.J Roberts a motion to disqualify McConnell and Graham and any other juror who has already prejudged the matter? And, witnesses such as Bolton and Mulvaney? Remember that for many Republicans Trump remains the only game in town.

It is therefore appropriate to essay some brief, if random, remarks on POTUS, his Administration, certain of its policies and his prospects at this juncture.

In using the term “pre-mortem”, I do not mean to suggest that Trump’s defeat this November is a foregone conclusion. We have been here before with disastrous consequences, as former Secretary of State Clinton belatedly discovered. In a sense, he must harp on the economy. and his apparent “success” …. the economy stupid”?

Yet, there is an inescapable law of diminishing returns. Just ask any older man. (Even King David, 1 Kings 1, when he was old and cold). This law, it seems, applies in almost every sphere, including politics.

Consider a politician, a man not unlike Trumpf who thinks one way. He then speaks a second way. He then acts a third way. He trifles, obfuscates, deflects, dissembles, even lies. Bullshit and trivia persist as standard, daily political fare. His public, usually fickle, often misinformed, uninformed or even dis-informed. But, as Lincoln remarked, you can trick them some of the time, but not all of them all of the time.

As reasonable people, we must therefore resist the idea of The Idiot Posing as Intellect, or some Trump (The Tramp-in-Chief), a renegade bolshevik businessman and Putin stooge masquerading and declaring himself (soi-disant) a man of high IQ and “a very stable” geni-ass. (Cf. his late Wharton School Professor, William T. Kelley, a nonagenarian, who described him as “the dumbest goddam student” he, Professor Kelley, ever had in more than 40 years teaching at Wharton; Kissinger’s reference to him as not having “a very orderly mind”; or Tillerson’s description of him – unretracted – as a “moron”; his former lawyer, Attorney Cohen’s testimony that he pressured Fordham and Wharton not to release Trump’s academic transcripts; his absence from the Dean’s list at Wharton despite his boast that he had graduated “top of his class” at Wharton; all in the context wherein he (Trump) demanded to see President Obama’s transcripts and academic materials). Truly, a man of seemingly impregnable, untouchable ignorance, with legions of rats of all varieties scurrying around upstairs.

Perhaps, Republican Senator Romney, when he was thinking more clearly, had Trump’s measure, when he counseled Trump against releasing his tax returns, and then subsequently described him as a “fraud” and a “conman”. Thus, by way of example, Trump has always proclaimed his love for the military. Yet, beyond his serial draft dodging, and whatever his personal demons, the only war he (Trump) seems ever to have fought may well have been limited to some gilded boudoir with relatively expensive “toys” such as “Stormy” Daniels and Karen McDougal, going rate between US $125K and $150K.

No one can say that he (Trump) had been in the US Air Force; then exiled himself to Canada, Sweden, Denmark, the U.K., or elsewhere, rather than kill so-called “gooks” in the “swamps” and muddy/paddy fields of Vietnam. He made the great escape. He now poses as a “chicken hawk”, like many another draft dodger.

The Reader might still note that in terms of re-election strategy, it is still open to Trump and his advisers to start a war, if necessary, and before the elections, if this will gee up his domestic support. E.g in the case of Iran. Many a red blooded American would then rally to “the cause”, with typical shouts of “USA” “USA”. The problem will be one of graduated response and escalation? In response, the Ayatollahs and the Iranian National Guard may have to decide on the feasibility of shutting down the Gulf – following up on their attack on Saudi oil infrastructure some time ago. Beyond profiteering by armaments manufacturers, the military-industrial complex, billionaire investors, what would be the implications for the world economy, OECD and LDC countries and the least developed countries?

As to the issue of race, Trump’s re-election strategy, the Black, Latino and minority vote.

Fortunately, many no longer deny the fact that POTUS is a racist. For too long, the naive denied this fact, despite the overwhelming evidence, (his spawning of birtherism, his notorious ads about the Central Park Five after their sentences had been vacated and all criminal charges against them withdrawn; the EEOC housing discrimination complaints against him – I would not be surprised if there was not at least one Barbadian family allegedly victim of his housing discrimination; his abuse of African countries and Haiti as “s—hole” countries; his attacks on the inner city as “rat and rodent infested”; his own admission that he is a “white nationalist”).

As to his palpable disdain for Mexicans, rumor once did percolate that his daughter, Tiffany, had dated a wealthy Mexican young man while at Wharton. Imagine some Mexican with his grubby paw on his beautiful, pristine, blonde, blue-eyed daughter! Enough to make a “nationalist” nauseous! Who knows the source(s) of his animus against Mexico and Mexicans?

To my mind, to deny that President Trump is a good old fashioned racist largely surrounded by white supremacist advisers, such as Stephen Miller, is like witnessing a man in a bank, pointing his gun at employees and customers on the bank’s floor, and denying that the gunman was a bank robber. What stupid poppy cock!

Yet, Trump can still make inroads into the Black Vote (with “Blacks For Trump” and some of his allies). What if Trump and his advisers, including Secretary Carson, following the reparations advocates decide to expend some political capital and give black families some sort of money (not “40 acres and a mule”, far less will do), or even Yang’s “Freedom Dividend”? Many a hungry belly black may well be seduced by such an obvious political ploy and vote for Trump.

As to his foreign policy, unlike the Kennedy Doctrine, the Johnson Doctrine, the Nixon Doctrine, and others, the Trump doctrine seems at best a series of ad hoc, incoherent, non-sequential non-points, never going beyond slogans such as “MAGA” and “America First”, reflecting Trump’s typical, torrential nonsensical tweets.

Several decades ago, the British Yearbook of International Law kindly published an article that I had written on some aspects of trade in the natural resources of Namibia (1990?). The French Revue des Revues subsequently dismissed the article in two words “tres interessante”. However, we all got it wrong. There was/is no such country as Namibia, per Trump in one of his recent addresses to the UNGA, He should be forgiven for not knowing the name of such a namby pamby “s–hole” country. And, thank God for small mercies insofar as he did not confuse Namibia with NAMBLA.

Imagine, also, that iyou were an immigrant, a green card holder, and a veteran who had been deployed to Iraq, Afghanistan or Syria. You return “home” to the USA. You find yourself in conflict with the law, felony or misdemeanor. You are convicted in a court of law. You are then deported to Mexico courtesy of a Commander-in-Chief who never served. (ICE officials who might never have served either). And, there are several hundreds such deported veterans in limbo in Mexico, a country they would have left in their very early childhood when their parents brought them to the US as minor children.

We need not speak of the moral obloquy involved in Trump’s policy of separating immigrant children from their parents and caging them, with resulting psychological problems.

In the final analysis, in Trump, we have a man singularly classless, embarrassingly clueless, uninformed and unfathomably uncouth. Bristling with hubris, fire and brimstone, he is more the common man’s” Lord Haw Haw”. But, give him credit. He has normalized the abnormal…He has successfully weaponized unspeakable, mass ignorance and intellectual dishonesty in the U.S. No wonder he says he loves “the poorly educated”). He has so consolidated his leadership of the Republican Party, and might yet demoralize his divided 2020 democratic opposition, all with untold implications.

Caveat: As I have said, always beware of any politician who promises that he will end corruption and “drain the swamp”. Experience teaches that he merely brings in his own new, personal swamp, a la Trump.

A second term, however, is no picnic. Just as Nixon defeated George McGovern overwhelmingly and was then driven from Office, early in his second term; just as Bill Clinton’s Presidency was almost derailed early in his second term by the Lewinsky affair, so too Trump’s chickens may come home to roost before any second term or early in his second term if he should win. Few, if any, at any rate, can indefinitely survive a thousand cuts.

1,466 responses to “TRUMP: A Pre-mortem? Or, Death By A Thousand Cuts?”

1. It is well-established that during his career as a New York developer, before he entered presidential politics, Trump avoided shaking hands as much as possible because of his fear of germs.

On visits to the Howard Stern radio show many years ago, he repeatedly discussed his fears about contracting sexually transmitted diseases from female partners.

However, there is no evidence that these concerns rose to the level of a clinical disorder. For one thing, Trump maintained his personal and business associations with sports celebrities like Mike Tyson (who is allegedly etc, etc), and Trump’s lawyer for many years, Roy Cohn, was a homosexual who died from AIDS. As president, Trump has been seen pressing the flesh like a typical politician, so he can’t be too worried.

2. Trump is an unapologetic liar who knows what ailments he has? Does he have flat feet, fallen arches or Bone spurs? How about the numerous aliases? John Barron, John Miller or David Dennison?

I have been doing some research and I read that a common side effect to medication to combat bone spurs is a fear of germs which manifests itself in excessive handwashing etc. which can be partially cured if one enters politics but it is replaced by a tendency to lie excessively and delusions of grandeur.

If wunnah doubt me ask Dr.Harold Bornstein

3. Trump is not as much of a liar as Elizabeth Warren, who has told BIG, COBSEQUENTIAL LIES about her race, her father’s occupation, and where she sent her kids to school.

4. The Impeachment Trial of Donald J Trump.

5. Ewart ArcherJanuary 25, 2020 9:15 PM

Silly Woman

You are clearly a freak of Nature if you went to university and never fantasized about any of your professors.

Make that TWO freaks of Nature.

6. Ewart wants o embark on a ‘Who’s the biggest liar” segment. Warren is a candidate for the Democratic nomination who won’t get out of the primaries, the other is the President of the US. The candidate lies may affect her personally the President’s lies put other lives in jeopardy.

The Iranians were planning to attack our troops, no they were planning to attack four embassies we don’t know when but they were planning. (Trump)

Or how about this for pure malice

Your father was an associate of Lee Harvey Oswald and was in on the assassination of President Kennedy. (Trump to Ted Cruz)

7. Sargeant
    January 27, 2020 2:04 PM

Trump is an unapologetic liar who knows what ailments he has? Does he have flat feet, fallen arches or Bone spurs? How about the numerous aliases? John Barron, John Miller or David Dennison?
    I have been doing some research and I read that a common side effect to medication to combat bone spurs is a fear of germs which manifests itself in excessive handwashing etc. which can be partially cured if one enters politics but it is replaced by a tendency to lie excessively and delusions of grandeur.
    If wunnah doubt me ask Dr.Harold Bornstein

A goat will eat a ball of hair!!

8. Ewart Archer,

You have caused me to compose a list of the times I have had to fight of sexual assault and shrug of inappropriate and uninvited touching. Let me start at the beginning and proceed in chronological order.

When I was thirteen a neighbourhood man with whom my family was not at all close kissed me on the cheek out of the blue as I was walking home from the shop. I told my parents and they dealt with him.

When I was fourteen a man slipped his hand under my skirt whilst I was sandwiched between unruly pushers trying to board a bus. Fortunately I managed to thwart him in his attempt to reach the promised land. It was not a teenaged boy because there were none in sight. It was a man.

When I was sixteen I was walking down St. Michael’s Row in my school uniform when out of nowhere came a hand that pulled at my breast. That was a teenaged boy.

When I was seventeen another teenaged boy rubbed his genitals on me whilst I was standing in a packed bus. I got him off me by telling him that I had already dissected one rat for the day and would not balk at another one.

When I was twenty-one a beloved and trusted family member pulled my breast and ran his hand up my leg. I told no-one and remained in shock for a few years. I later found out that he had approached his daughter also.

When I was twenty-eight a trusted church member lured me into his work office and without any preamble pulled at my blouse to expose my breasts. Luckily I have lightning reflexes. The man AND his wife are related to me from different sides.

When I was thirty, a former principal of mine when I was a school child, ran his hand over my abdomen at a graduation ceremony at which i presented the prizes. Apparently about a half inch of my abdomen was peeking out from my under blouse. I later found out he had approached children at the schools he was head of. He knew my mother well enough not to mess with her girl child but he had to fulfill his fantasy when I became an adult.

When I was in my early thirties the newly married priest ran his hand up my leg in the church office where I was consulting him on a youth matter. I later found out from my cousin that he had asked him to put in a word for him when he was sixteen. I put it down to an old time fantasy and left it there.

When I was in my mid thirties a man on board the Jolly Roger saw my backside as an invitation even though I was doing a sedate jig with my boss’ son. I ran him of by asking him if he knew how to swim.

When I was thirty-seven I was attacked from behind whilst walking along Enterprise Road. I tripped him up and fell on top of him in a sitting position. I was first up and when he managed to rise he ran away.

When I was forty-six and old married church member kissed me while we were discussing costuming for a big Easter production. I said nothing because I did not wish to put a damper on the production. He was banned from the next production because by then he had moved on to propositioning ten year old girls.

And just about three years ago, into my fifties, and an old man ran his hand up my leg on public transport.

I thought I was beyond that and it was one of the perks of getting older.

But alas! It seems as though it never ends!

All this for one woman going about her daily business. And I may have been attractive but I ain’t no Halle Berry. I don’t know what it was about me. Or perhaps it was the same for most women.

So please, don’t try to fob this shit off on women because they have finally found a voice to TELL THE TRUTH!

There will be a few liars in the bunch but based on my experience i’m willing to bet that most are truthful.

9. A group of goats is called a tribe or a trip.

10. corrections – fight off and shrug off

11. DPD, I salute you! The barrage of lies and nonsense have overwhelmed me. Most people in Barbados already have Trump’s number. They have shut off from all things Trump. These people are only preaching to a barber’s quartet. And what we think here hardly matters anyhow.

12. Donna

I don’t think of my private parts as the “Promised Land” for women.

But you think of yours as the Promised Land for men.

You resent men for touching you. But women touch men without permission all the time. Do men resent them for it? Of course not.

You’ve been raised to be narcissistic and put on a pedestal. Yoy’ve developed an exalted view of yourself, and consider yourself a prize men must compete for.

And not just you. In fact, as I have shown previously, the status of women is so privileged in North Atlantic countries that Harvard University suspends a man who is one of the leading economists in the world because he made some jokes that a few of his female subordinates didn’t care for. That is, the university respects and values them so much more than him, even though he is a hugely accomplished individual, that it will ruin him as if he is of no importance, for the most trivial reason.

That is what feminism means today.

13. @ Ewart

Welcome to the world of grown ups. The ‘other’ in white feminism 2.0 is the black man. They are also hostile to black women (thus womanism) but it is the black man they really hate. Lesson 101.

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Re “And what we think here hardly matters anyhow.”… Indeed it does not @Donna … but I ask you and all to weigh the mortar in this way.

There are men and women here who slavishly and more problematically irrationally defend absurd acts by the US leader. These folks are very educated and attended Bdos top secondary institutions. In sum: some of our best and brightest.

These are folks who were in important and senior roles in the island (or off island) basically leading and influencing a generation of others… Is this how they acted then: immune to reason; arrogant and dismissive of any view which didn’t conform to their beliefs?

I marvel at the behaviour of your Grenville beat-up mate for example … even yesterday and today in the simple obit folks paid to the memory of a sports star he needed to show his awesome empathetic personality and remind us that Kobe “is just a man, who will be cremated or buried”: such a warm and fuzzy Christian soldier is your blog mate.

This type insight into their psyche is revealing and reflecting on their rabid non-desire to be rational or reasoned on these issues my interest is not about the impact of our trivial comments but rather I worringly extrapolate that there are scores of boys (and girlsl) who sat next to them (or in their places later) who behave , act and think just like them…. some on one side of the aisle and others on the other…but same arrogant, absurd mien!

Should we be surprised that the island is so screwed up!

That @Donna is my big take-away from all this haranguing ..

I gone, tho.

15. One thing has nothing to do with the other.

Having done some formal study on how to approach the interpretation of the Bible, GP and I both know that Grenville is misleading his readers.

And Kobe is indeed a man, one of many who died yesterday. Nothing we say here will bring him back or console his family.

PS. You needn’t worry about these so called smart men misleading the younger ones in Trump matters. Mention his name to most young people down here (except the white ones for whom I cannot vouch for obvious reasons) and they will let out one long steupse.

16. @Dee Word

Of course it matters. Part of the human experience as we travail life is that we express ourselves about all manner of things (events) swirling in the space we occupy. Whether it is about personal development or a sense of belonging (actualizing) etc. it depends on the lens we view life. Some of is see different things. And this is fine.

17. Ewart ArcherJanuary 27, 2020 5:19 PM

Donna

Y
    You’ve been raised to be narcissistic and put on a pedestal. Yoy’ve developed an exalted view of yourself, and consider yourself a prize men must compete for.

And not just you. In fact, as I have shown previously, the status of women is so privileged in North Atlantic countries that Harvard University suspends a man who is one of the leading economists in the world because he made some jokes that a few of his female subordinates didn’t care for. That is, the university respects and values them so much more than him, even though he is a hugely accomplished individual, that it will ruin him as if he is of no importance, for the most trivial reason.

That is what feminism means today.

Re: I don’t think of my private parts as the “Promised Land” for women.

But you think of yours as the Promised Land for men.

The promised land was a definition I first heard from a MAN. And the amount of time and energy guys spend in trying to reach it I think it is an apt description of how they feel about it. I have taught my son that sex is only a part of life. He is the proof that you lie. Sixteen years old and still keeping it in without breaking a sweat. Not common these days, I can tell you.

Re: You resent men for touching you. But women touch men without permission all the time. Do men resent them for it? Of course not.

I have NEVER touched a man without permission. And if guys are not offended when other females do so it’s because they consider it a feather in their caps. And the women who do that know it.

RE: You’ve been raised to be narcissistic and put on a pedestal. Yoy’ve developed an exalted view of yourself, and consider yourself a prize men must compete for.

Please tell me where to find my pedestal. But in the animal world the males do compete for the females in elaborate ways. Never had anyone lock horns over me, though. If they had I would have stepped over fools and left them in the dust.

But seriously though, the last man i heard talking about women who behaved like that (which was just a few months ago at the credit union) was referring to “big botsy, clear skinned, long hair girls”. I had a good laugh at the hoops he and his son were asked to jump through for the girls’ attention. I told him that it was the fault of the men who made them feel they were “all dah” and added a hilarious story of how my brother left one waiting in the rain. Thankfully the man and his son were not total pushovers.

But I have managed to cope with all the indignities that I endured. What could have happened to you to make you cast all the ills of the world at the feet of women? Or is it that pesky Genesis male concoction again.

PS. You would have noticed that in no case did I prosecute my molesters. I did not even tell their wives. I did not want the drama or the responsibility for causing disharmony in the marriage. That does not align with your description of me. For which narcissist thinks about others or shies away from drama.

18. It does not matter in that it has no bearing on what happens to Trump. Never said we shouldn’t discuss it. Just that I can no longer be bothered because those who live in the other universe will never change their minds even if he shoots somebody on Fifth Avenue.

i mean. when you can have John saying with certainty that the man is a germaphobe when there are pictures of him hugging porn stars.

https://www.healthline.com/health/germaphobia

What is germaphobia?
    Germaphobia (also sometimes spelled germophobia) is the fear of germs. In this case, “germs” refers broadly to any microorganism that causes disease — for instance, bacteria, viruses, or parasites.

Germaphobia may be referred to by other names, including:

bacillophobia
    bacteriophobia
    mysophobia
    verminophobia
    Read on to find out more about germaphobia symptoms and when to seek help.

Symptoms of germaphobia
    We all have fears, but phobias tend to be viewed as unreasonable or excessive compared to standard fears.

The distress and anxiety caused by a germ phobia are out of proportion to the damage that germs are likely to cause. Someone who has germaphobia might go to extreme lengths to avoid contamination.

The symptoms of germaphobia are the same as the symptoms of other specific phobias. In this case, they apply to thoughts and situations that involve germs.

The emotional and psychological symptoms of germaphobia include:

intense terror or fear of germs
    anxiety, worries, or nervousness related to exposure to germs
    thoughts of germ exposure resulting in an illnesses or other negative consequence
    thoughts of being overcome with fear in situations when germs are present
    trying to distract yourself from thoughts about germs or situations that involve germs
    feeling powerless to control a fear of germs that you recognize as unreasonable or extreme
    The behavioral symptoms of germaphobia include:

avoiding or leaving situations perceived to result in germ exposure
    spending an excessive amount of time thinking about, preparing for, or putting off situations that might involve germs
    seeking help to cope with the fear or situations that cause fear
    difficulty functioning at home, work, or school because of fear of germs (for example, the need to excessively wash your hands may limit your productivity in places where you perceive there to be many germs)
    The physical symptoms of germaphobia are similar to those of other anxiety disorders and can occur during both thoughts of germs and situations that involve germs. They include:

rapid heartbeat
    sweating or chills
    shortness of breath
    chest tightness or pain
    light-headedness
    tingling
    shaking or tremors
    muscle tension
    restlessness
    nausea or vomiting
    headache
    difficulty relaxing
    Children who have a fear of germs can also experience the symptoms listed above. Depending on their age, they may experience additional symptoms, such as:

tantrums, crying, or screaming
    clinging to or refusing to leave parents
    difficulty sleeping
    nervous movements
    self-esteem issues
    Sometimes a fear of germs can lead to obsessive-compulsive disorder. Learn more about how to determine if your child has this condition.

Impact on lifestyle
    With germaphobia, the fear of germs is persistent enough to impact your day-to-day life. People with this fear might go to great lengths to avoid actions that could result in contamination, such as eating out at a restaurant or having sex.

They might also avoid places where germs are plentiful, such as public bathrooms, restaurants, or buses. Some places are harder to avoid, such as school or work. In these places, actions like touching a doorknob or shaking hands with someone can lead to significant anxiety.

Sometimes, this anxiety leads to compulsive behaviors. Someone with germaphobia might frequently wash their hands, shower, or wipe surfaces clean.

While these repeated actions might actually reduce the risk of contamination, they can be all-consuming, making it difficult to focus on anything else.

Relation to obsessive-compulsive disorder
    Passing concern about germs or illnesses isn’t necessarily a sign of obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD).

With OCD, recurring and persistent obsessions result in significant anxiety and distress. These feelings result in compulsive and repetitive behaviors that provide some relief. Cleaning is a common compulsion among people who have OCD.

It’s possible to have germaphobia without OCD, and vice versa. Some people have both germaphobia and OCD.

The key difference is that people with germaphobia clean in an effort to reduce germs, while people with OCD clean (aka engage in the ritual behavior) to reduce their anxiety.

Causes of germaphobia
    Like other phobias, germaphobia often begins between childhood and young adulthood. Several factors are believed to contribute to the development of a phobia. These include:

Negative experiences in childhood. Many people with germaphobia can recall a specific event or traumatic experience that led to germ-related fears.
    Family history. Phobias can have a genetic link. Having a close family member with a phobia or another anxiety disorder can increase your risk. However, they might not have the same phobia as you.
    Environmental factors. Beliefs and practices about cleanliness or hygiene that you’re exposed to as a young person may influence the development of germaphobia.
    Brain factors. Certain changes in brain chemistry and function are thought to play a role in the development of phobias.
    Triggers are objects, places, or situations that aggravate phobia symptoms. Germaphobia triggers that cause symptoms can include:

bodily fluids such as mucus, saliva, or semen
    unclean objects and surfaces, such as doorknobs, computer keyboards, or unwashed clothes
    places where germs are known to collect, such as airplanes or hospitals
    unhygienic practices or people

How germaphobia is diagnosed
    Germaphobia falls under the category of specific phobias in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5).

To diagnose a phobia, a clinician will conduct an interview. The interview might include questions about your current symptoms, as well as your medical, psychiatric, and family history.

The DSM-5 includes a list of criteria used to diagnose phobias. In addition to experiencing certain symptoms, a phobia typically causes significant distress, impacts your ability to function, and lasts for a period of six months or more.

During the diagnosis process, your clinician may also ask questions to identify whether your fear of germs is caused by OCD.

Anybody remember Adrian Monk the tv detective? Now that is germaphobia.

19. RE Donna January 27, 2020 6:05 PM “Having done some formal study on how to approach the interpretation of the Bible, GP and I both know that Grenville is misleading his readers.”

How GP and Madonna who named herself “the Proud Cyber Bully” Speaks and how GP Speaks DOES NOT LEAD ONE TO CHRIST. It means that they need a new heart and if they had a New heart they would not Believe and Behave in the manner that they do.

In Contrast, GP11 speaks Gently with Reason and Invites you to Consider what he is saying. What the other learned people say here is that because of their Learning they are correct. Yet God Called Fishermen, a Tax Collector, he did not Call Doctors, nor did he call Rabbis and he did not call people from the Synagogues.

When we were Converted we See thing Differently and Act Differently we do not want to hurt others as we have been hurt and have experienced hurt and Accepting the Gospel we made many Changes in our Lives.

The Following is how Christ Spoke that we accept beneficial Change…

Understanding; Part 3:Repentance Overview Building on what we know From Freedoms Hubby‘s New Book now published…

“This parable is very instructive in describing our human nature, how we receive new ideas and how to receive transformative ideas.

36 ¶ And he spake also a parable unto them; No man putteth a piece of a new garment upon an old; if otherwise, then both the new maketh a rent, and the piece that was taken out of the new agreeth not with the old.
    37 And no man putteth new wine into old bottles; else the new wine will burst the bottles, and be spilled, and the bottles shall perish.
    38 But new wine must be put into new bottles; and both are preserved.
    39 No man also having drunk old wine straightway desireth new: for he saith, The old is better. (Luke 5:36–39)

Everyone knows that new clothes shrink so if you put a piece of new cloth to patch an older garment, when the new patch shrinks the hole would be made bigger and we would have wasted our time; it would not have fixed anything. In those olden days wine bottles would have been made of leather and during the process of turning to wine the leather bottle would have stretched. Here Christ was talking about ideas, His gospel, which He was teaching and saying we need to have a new heart to receive these things. Our old heart and ideas cannot hold the patch nor can it be added to the old. The old leather bottles have been stretched already and the new wine will burst the old bottles as it matures. Our old selves cannot contain the new Gospel He is teaching. And lastly a person who has drunk deeply of the accepted dogma and is comfortable will be reluctant to change. (He does not “straightway desireth new”) and would say the old dogma is better. The moral of the stories is that we need to have a new heart if we do not change enough to get a new heart we will fracture. Our wine will spill and lastly we may reject the new wine for the old. Commitment must be total to endure and enjoy that which Christ offers, a patch will not work.”

FREEDOM IS APPEALING TO BOTH OF YOU WHO ARE BELIEVERS TO STOP TEARING DOWN GP11 WHO IS ALSO A BELIEVER AND EVEN IF YOU THINK YOU ARE MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE DO NOT BEHAVE THE WAY YOU DO. IT ALLOWS YOUR PRIDE TO GET THE BETTER OF YOU.

https://tuesdaystorch.files.wordpress.com/2016/06/mark-2-22.jpg?w=1400

20. @ Donna: Many thanks for the edification.

@ Dr. GP & “John”, his new physician’s assistant:

Not being particularly well educated, tell me, Doc, when Trump told Billy Bush, “just grab them by the p—. They let you do it because you are a star”; was he (Trump) lying then?

Or, was he lying when he claimed to be “a germaphobe”?

As a germ(s)aphobe, how did this quid pro ho President maneuver as a sporting man and a well known playboy? For instance, how did he operate at the late Hugh Hefner’s Playboy Mansion? As a germ(s)aphobe, what due diligence did he do? After grabbing them by the “p—-“, did he clean it, like a hawker cleans and scales the fish in the Bridgetown Cheapside fish market?

Or, so far as you can advise, Doc, were the “p—–s” all clean and clothed in some expensive chastity belt, with a furry lining, purchased from some Trump-on-line Sales’ Department – also selling Trump steaks, Trump wines; and throwing in a Trump degree in anatomy for good measure?

Your assistant clearly needs to be fired.

To conclude: Oh: The futility of it all! That is why I am with Max Ehrman when he said: “speak your truth quietly and clearly, and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story….
    Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit”. Desiderata (1927).

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna, really re: “One thing has nothing to do with the other.”… A person, any person, who has the propensity to disparage anyone who disagrees with them as your blog mate does and you can easily say ‘one thing has nothing to do with the other ‘… yet we critique the US leader for exactly that behaviour. I respectfully disagree completely..

2.I have done NO formal study of the bible but I believe I have done quite enough ENGLUSH interpretation to understand a verse cited from the bible and linked to an idea or thesis… I take a person’s interpretation of a biblical verse as within the context of the idea to which they are inferring and how they connect the quotation to their thesis….NOT necessarily to the precise overall context of how it was written in the bible.

NB: Of course the verse CANNOT be taken completely out of alll biblical meaning or context.

So if the blogger says :“Jesus, “though He was a Son, yet He learned obedience […] (Hebrews 5:8)” and then adds his point that, “As followers of Jesus, we can expect to be trained in a similar manner”… I interpret his intent to be simply that we need to be as obedient and learn carefully from our tribulations.

The fact that he then goes on to ‘”whine” as a victim of blogging harassment and exhorts his readers that he “welcome[s] the offenses […] since they can only benefit [his] growth” is surely way over-the-top … but there is nothing OUT OF CONTEXT in simple English comprehension.

Why or how does the complete biblical rendering that “author is discussing the identification of Jesus, our high priest, with us: He prayed and learned obedience through what He suffered” put anything into better context to invalidate the blogger’s intended point!

No one disputes that thousands die daily… the day that Pres Kennedy died or Dr. King or my father or brother or sister or even P.W. Botha there was nothing to be said to bring them back either…(and some we wouldn’t want back)…but why be snarky to the deceased … to prove or emphasize what exactly!
    I worry not about anyone misleading the youth on Trump matters….rather I worry about arrogant men and women LIKE Trump or @Dr. GP or @John or Mia dismissing critical push back; being vindictive and career destructive to critics and taking the nation(s) to a place that meets their impulses!

Thats what’s displayed on the blog and that’s what’s displayed in the WH or in Illaro Court… we speak out as needed!

22. DPD, you would do well to keep out of Biblical interpretation.

When I say that one has nothing to do with the other, i mean that I agree or disagree based on the validity of the post and not the poster.

I have often clashed with GP on Trump but he attempted to explain his position to me. That position seems to be that Trump is flawed as we all are but he is being used by God to bring about His ends which strangely enough coincide with the demise of America. I don’t believe that but I can see where he would have come up with it from reading the Bible. It’s just that I am not one for prophesy.

And yes, GP can be sharp tongued and like the elephant never forgets. But wait, not true. He has “forgotten” what i said to him and what Simple Simon said to him! Wonder why.

PS. If Grenville is as sloppy as his offerings here suggest I take great pride in being “career destructive” to his political ambitions. 270,000 Barbadians are more important to me than one man.

Here again you are missing context. Grenville is offering himself as a political leader and would be prime minister of Barbados. You will notice that I don’t read or answer his crazy defender Looney Tunes much. She is not offering herself as a political leader or would be prime minister.

You really need to learn more about Jesus. He was not always a mild mannered, soft spoken, butter wun melt in he mout kinda guy. He spoke harshly when necessary.

23. Germaphobia (also sometimes spelled germophobia) is the fear of germs. In this case, “germs” refers broadly to any microorganism that causes disease — for instance, bacteria, viruses, or parasites.

So any sufferer from germaphobia would keep away from furry critters, wouldn’t they?!!

… unless those said critters are certified as bacteria, virus and parasite free.

This is the simple inescapable logic of Donna’s presentation with which I am in total agreement.

Stormy is a working girl and Trump hugs working people he encounters, shakes hands with them and pats them on the back all the time.

24. As an indication of the anti-Trump hysteria on this board, consider the fact that Trump is being compared to Joseph Stalin.

Stalin was a notoriously cruel and unpredictable Soviet dictator, blamed for about 800,000 executions, and for a famine in the Ukraine that killed more than 6 million people. Another 2 million or so died in prison camps which held many political opponents of his regime. In fact, some historians put the total human cost of Stalin’s regime at about 20 million civilians.

So why would any credible analysis mention Trump’s name alongside Stalin’s.

25. Uh oh! The FBI claims that Prince Andrew is not responding to their requests for co-operation on the Jeffrey Epstein case. He promised he would cooperate.

Never thought he would because if he didn’t know about Epstein he would have been the only one in his circle who didn’t. And that includes Bill Clinton.

Besides, staying at Epstein’s house after he was released from jail because it “was a convenient place to stay” tells it all. So does describing Epstein’s acts as Epstein misbehaving or conducting himself in an unbecoming manner or something like that. He cannot cooperate because he is terrible at interviews and would soon trip himself up.

Something like Donald Trump, who always “strongly considers” cooperating but never does.

John, you are getting weaker and weaker. Not worth a real response.

26. THE DEPRAVED BRIMBLER

RE .I have done NO formal study of the bible but I believe I have done quite enough ENGLUSH interpretation to understand a verse cited from the bible and linked to an idea or thesis…

REALLY? SO WHY DOES JESUS CALL HIMSELF THE SON OF MAN?

WHY WAS ABRAHAM WILLING TO OFFER HIS “ONLY” SON AS COMMANDED BY GOD IN GENESIS 22? WHERE WOULD YOUL LOOK FOR A POSSIBLE ANSWER?
    WHAT IS THE REAL MESSAGE OF GENESIS 24?
    DOES THESE THINGS EVEN MATTER?

IF YOU HAVE DONE NO FORMAL STUDY OF THE BIBLE YOU SHOULD SHUT UP AND LISTEN. JUST AS SINCE YOU HAVE DONE NO FORMAL STUDY OF MEDICINE YOU TEND TO TALK RUBBISH ABOUT MEDICAL THINGS AND EFFLUX FROM THE REGIONS OF YOUR SHELVES OF HOUSTON. AND TALK ABOUT EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

RE I take a person’s interpretation of a biblical verse as within the context of the idea to which they are inferring and how they connect the quotation to their thesis….NOT necessarily to the precise overall context of how it was written in the bible.NB: Of course the verse CANNOT be taken completely out of alll biblical meaning or context.

SO HOW WILL YOU INTERPRET A CHAPTER LIKE JOHN 1O? WHAT WAS THE BACKGROUND TO THIS TALK? IT IS EZEKIEL 34 INTER ALIA. .DO YOU KNOW THAT JOHN 10 IS A DIRECT CONNECTION TO CHAPTER 9 (NOTE I DIDN’T SAY IT FOLLOWS CHAPTER 9)

DO YOU KNOW THAT IN JOHN JESUS ALWAYS FOLLOWS A MIRACLE OR SIGN BY A DISCOURSE AS HE DOES HERE?

DO YOU KNOW THAT IN JOHN 10 JESUS IS ACTUALLY PUTTING SOME SERIOUS LICKS IN THE JEWISH LEADERSHIP WHOM HE CALLED BLIND IN JOHN 9?

RE
    So if the blogger says :“Jesus, “though He was a Son, yet He learned obedience […] (Hebrews 5:8)” and then adds his point that, “As followers of Jesus, we can expect to be trained in a similar manner”… I interpret his intent to be simply that we need to be as obedient and learn carefully from our tribulations.
    THEN YOU ARE WRONG AS I TRIED TO TEACH THE BLOGGER BECAUSE THAT IS NOT WHAT IS BEING DESCRIBED OR DISCUSSED HERE

RE The fact that he then goes on to ‘”whine” as a victim of blogging harassment and exhorts his readers that he “welcome[s] the offenses […] since they can only benefit [his] growth” is surely way over-the-top … but there is nothing OUT OF CONTEXT in simple English comprehension.

ACTUALLY IT IS RUBBISH FOR HE USES THE WRONG TEXT IF THAT IS HIS PLAN AND PURPOSE

RE Why or how does the complete biblical rendering that “author is discussing the identification of Jesus, our high priest, with us: He prayed and learned obedience through what He suffered” put anything into better context to invalidate the blogger’s intended point!

IT INVALIDATE’S THE BLOGERS POINT BY PUTTING THAT VERSE IN ITS REAL CONTEXT

RE No one disputes that thousands die daily… the day that Pres Kennedy died or Dr. King or my father or brother or sister or even P.W. Botha there was nothing to be said to bring them back either…(and some we wouldn’t want back)…but why be snarky to the deceased … to prove or emphasize what exactly! IT WAS OUT OF PLACE AND OUT OF CONTEXT.TO WHAT WAS BEING DISCUSSED

DO YOU KNOW THAT THE DAY BILLY GRAHAM DIED WHEN I POSTED THAT ON BU MY POST WAS TAKEN DOWN?

RE I worry not about anyone misleading the youth on Trump matters….rather I worry about arrogant men and women LIKE Trump or @Dr. GP or @John or Mia dismissing critical push back; being vindictive and career destructive to critics and taking the nation(s) to a place that meets their impulses!
    LOL WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT?
    HAVE A CERVICAL INJURY? OR AN EMERGENCY POST MORTEM? OR WILL YOU JUST HAVE AN UNNECCESSAY AMPUTATION?

27. RE You really need to learn more about Jesus. He was not always a mild mannered, soft spoken, butter wun melt in he mout kinda guy. He spoke harshly when necessary.

AND SO DID PAUL AND MOSES
    AND SO DO I WHEN BU MEDICAL AND BIBLE ILLITERATES AND BRIMBLERS TRY TO CONTRADICT ME
    I NEVER SPEAK ABOUT THINGS ABOUT WHICH I KNOW NOTHING

28. Romney has come out that it is increasingly important to hear from Bolton.

29. Bolton has suddenly changed from the target of hatred by the press to their poster boy.

The NYT which broke the leak now admits it hasn’t actually read the relevant part.

The book is being vetted by the NSC, FBI etc etc etc.

Seems as though one of the vetters is the twin brother of Vindman who told the “whistleblower” about the phone call and started the charade.

Somebody seems to have leaked a part but no one has actually read it outside of Bolton and the vetters.

https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2020/jan/27/nsc-aide-handling-book-approvals-twin-brother-lt-c/

30. @John

How is the observation relevant?

31. No facts change!!

32. Bolton is a red herring!!

33. @John

Did Bolton sit at the insiders table with Trump? What position he held until he became one of many firings in the Trump administration?

34. There are only two articles of impeachment against President Trump.

Both articles were rubbished by the President’s lawyers yesterday. While it would take a lengthy presentation just to summarize all the reasons why Article 1 — abuse of power — cannot be valid (though John A has done a good job so far), it’s easier to explain why Article 2 — obstruction of Congress — is complete bullshit.

The presidency is a co-equal branch of the US federal government, and the exercise of presidential functions requires that the CONFIDENTIALITY of White House documents and presidential conversations be scrupulously protected. The US Constitution allows the president to refuse disclosure to the Congress of any and all White House documents and conversations, unless the US Supreme Court overrules the President in specific cases or situations.

When the President refused to make disclosures to Congress in the Ukraine matter, he was not only acting within his constitutional rights, but he was acting on the independent legal advice given to him by the US Department of Justice. And because the US Congress never even appealed to the US Supreme Court for a ruling on the matter, the President cannot be accused of any wrongdoing.

Therefore Artcle 2 is completely invalid.

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Archer, your assertions at 7:56 AM are fundamentally and objectively INACCURRATE.

@David, re: “How is the observation relevant?”… At which junture in this long three years of this admin has it been necessary for any trumpet to sound observations RELEVANT to anything.!

1.Throughout this entire escapade we have been told that the whistleblower is important, that we need to know who he is, whether he used the correct form (and forms) to make his complaint, what was is political bias and so on! WHY was any of that relevant?

Simply stated: Were his claims valid, accurate and substantiated that the POTUS committed a possible impeachable act should be the only relevency.

Some context of relevency: A top level whistleblower out of Russia (more commonly called a spy in intel business🙃) was a primary source of the details of Putin’s comprehensive efforts to subvert the US election appartus. His info was subsequently validated and he – as reported- now lives under deep cover in US. Some folks wanted to out him too… why? ….

“Deep Throat” was the Andrew McCabe person back in 1970s… that was never known until early 2000s…. did his identity affect the VALIDITY of the info he leaked! [Not SAYING that McCabe leaked anything…Felt or Deep Throat was at that level of seniority)

When do these trumpets make a relevant sound Mr Blogmaster!

2.Throughout this entire sordid Ukraine affair the Jim Jordan’s, Sen Barrasos, Cipillones at al have strongly said that there were no advisors on record who DIRECTLY heard the POTUS link the quid pro quo…thus they said how can we ‘convict’ on 2nd hand opinions … that was a totally ridiculous argument as physical evidence told a tale…however NOW that there is an advisor offering DIRECT KNOWLEDGE of the ‘quid’ being withheld the trumpets are sounding a totally different tune!

Look anyone who enjoys jazz or some funky RnB where talented musicians improvise sweetly and repeatedly to produce great riffs or indeed (more locally) enjoy great picong must truly be impressed with these POTUS acolytes. Truly!

@Archer, yours can be lengthy to rebut so suffice to say: the Supremes in one of their Nixon rulings CLEARLY set a precedent that POTUS has no rights to withhold evidence or restrict advisor testimony where that evidence/info may be part of an illegal (or impeachable) action.

That is the blunt premises here. Lata for further rebuttal.

36. @David
    Romney has come out that it is increasingly important to hear from Bolton
    ++++++++++++++++
    Romney is one of two Senators that Trump doesn’t have a cudgel over because he represents a Mormon State and they will vote for Romney no matter what; the other is Lisa Murkowski from Alaska because most Alaskans have an independent streak and she doesn’t owe Trump anything.

37. Dribbler

Your argument is completely fallacious.

ALL disclosure disputes between the Congress and the President MUST be settled by the US Supreme Court BEFORE the President can be accused of wrongdoing.

It is SETTLED LAW in the United States that the President CANNOT BE ACCUSED OF WRONGDOING for MERELY ASSERTING THE PRIVILEGE OF CONFIDENTIALITY.

38. Note: In the UK, Parliament is supreme, and delegates some of its power to the Executive Authority (prime minister and Cabinet).

In the United States, things are different. The Executive Authority — the Presidency — stands as a fully co-equal branch of government. Equal to the Legislative Authority (US Senate and US House of Representatives.)

The US House cannot order the President around because the President is EQUAL IN AUTHORITY. That is why disputes between the President and the Legislature must be decided by an umpire — the US Supreme Court.

39. DE PATHETIC BRIMBLER

I marvel at the behaviour of your Grenville beat-up mate for example … even yesterday and today in the simple obit folks paid to the memory of a sports star he needed to show his awesome empathetic personality and remind us that Kobe “is just a man, who will be cremated or buried”:

WHAT IS INACCURATE ABOUT MY STATEMENT? Kobe “is just a man, who will be cremated or buried”: THAT IS AS TRUE AS JOHN 3:16. AND IT WILL HAPPEN WITH MUCH FANFARE

such a warm and fuzzy Christian soldier is your blog mate. WHAT DOES MY TRUE STATEMENT HAVE TO DO WITH CHRISTIANITY?
    WHAT I SAID IS THE TRUTH AND IS NOT A SIN
    MANY OTHER PERSONS DIED THAT SAME DAY THAT NO ONE CARES ABOUT OR EVEN GAVE A THOUGHT ABOUT.
    THAT IS AS TRUE AS JOHN 3:16 TOO

This type insight into their psyche is revealing and reflecting on their rabid non-desire to be rational or reasoned on these issues
    WHAT A NONSEQUITUR? IS BEING RATIONAL AND REASONED TO THINK AS YOU DO?

WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT PSYCHE? YOU ARE AS POOR A PSYCHOLOGIST AS YOU ARE A POOR PATHOLOGIST

RE my interest is not about the impact of our trivial comments but rather I worringly extrapolate that there are scores of boys (and girlsl) who sat next to them (or in their places later) who behave , act and think just like them…. some on one side of the aisle and others on the other…but same arrogant, absurd mien! HOW ON EARTH CAN YOU EXTRAPOLATE THUS?

LOL, MAN YOU HAVE A VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM

Should we be surprised that the island is so screwed up!

I DONT LIVE ON THE ISLAND AND I CERTAINLY DID NOT SCREW IT UP. THE POLITICIANS DID!

I ACTUALLY SUCCEEDED IN GETTING THE BLP TO RUN THE NHS FROM POLYCLINICS INSTEAD OF TRYING TO FOLLOW THE UK MODEL , AND I DID SO WHEN GUVMENT AND DOCTORS WERE FIGHTING ABOUT THE ISSUE

40. @Ewart

I see you have learnt something about a parliamentary democracy. Good boy. I am not wasting my time on BU.

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Archer, re “[My] argument is completely fallacious.” Absolutely not.

The point is PRECEDENT not whether the branches of govt are co-equal and certainly not whether “ALL disclosure disputes between the Congress and the President MUST be settled by the US Supreme Court BEFORE the President can be accused of wrongdoing.”

Of course a judgement of wrong doing like the standard in ANY legal matter can only be affirmed after a final court ruling….but clearly there are standards of WHAT is wrong-doing…

NO ONE asserts that POTUS can be accused of wrongdoing for merely asserting the privilege of confidentiality. The assertion is that he CANNOT ENFORCE ‘Exec Priv’ to hide an illegal or possibly impeachable act.

— Research is a powerful thing (thanks to Just Security, Lawfare, Laurence Tribe et al)…

Thus battle with the facts… : ”Congress’ use of (and need for vindication of) its subpoena power […] is no less legitimate or important than was the grand jury’s in United States v. Nixon. Both involve core functions of a co-equal branch of the federal government, and for the reasons identified in Nixon, the president may only be entitled toa presumptive, rather than an absolute, privilege….

There is also NO assertion that ”The US House [can] order the President around” but we all accept that absolutely they are ”CO-EQUAL IN AUTHORITY.”

And that legislative equality was further enshrined to give Congress power to censure the POTUS, to wit: ”high crimes and misdemeanors” are “those offenses which proceed from the misconduct of public men, or, in other words, from the abuse or violation of some public trust.”

The debate burns on what is a “high crime and misdemeanor” but there certainly is no debate on Congress’s ability to sanction the POTUS for his alleged malfeasance…

So when you say that ”disputes between the President and the Legislature must be decided by […] the US Supreme Court” you casually omit to note that the Supremes are governed by precedent and rule of law…

… thus when the Nixon court opined that ”[executive] privilege is limited to communications ‘in performance of [the President’s] responsibilities,’ made ‘in the process of shaping policies and making decisions.’” they were also signaling that ”executive privilege does not extend to purely political communications that concern the advancement of a crime or other acts in violation of law.”

Every president is absolutely entitled to private and confidential advice but NONE are entitled to that advice remaining private if in the process they allegedly may be breaking national laws!

None, sir. Not Nixon and his incriminating tapes, not Clinton and his folly, not Bush with his WH counsel Miers on the absurd (as compared to this Ukraine matter) forced resignations of US attorneys and nor Obama with the ‘fast and fury’ debacle.

NONE.

Committee on Judiciary v. Miers;United States District Court, D. Columbia Jul 31, 2008. The Executive’s current claim of absolute immunity from compelled congressional process for senior presidential aides is without any support in the case law. The fallacy of that claim was presaged in United States v. Nixon itself (id. at 706):

neither the doctrine of separation of powers, nor the need for confidentiality of high-level communications, without more, can sustain an absolute, unqualified Presidential privilege of immunity from judicial [or congressional] process under all circumstances…

Enough heavy lifting for one blog day. I gone.

42. Dribbler

You are arm waving.

The Congress issued subpoenas to the White House. The President rejected them ON THE INDEPENDENT ADVICE OF THE OFFICE OF LEGAL COUNSEL, DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE.

The impasse can ONLY be resolved by a NEW decision from the US Supreme Court. And Congress has to seek the decision from the Supreme Court, which Congress did not do.

Article 2 is invalid.

43. Addendum:

The US Supreme Court tries to honour precedent to maximize the consistency and predictability of the law.

But the Court is not BOUND by precedent. It can OVERTURN any longstanding precedent whenever it chooses to do so. In fact, some of its most famous decisions are those that reversed a previous train of opinions.

44. In order to show you the defect in the position of the anti-Trump political forces re Article 2, we can refer to Dribbler telling us that the US President’s confidentiality privilege is not absolute.

Agreed.

But Dribbler then references United States v Nixon, an impeachment case where the Congress was seeking documents and other information from the President about a burglary and a related White House cover up. The Supreme Court sided with the Congress, because the burglary and cover up were ordinary and blatantly criminal acts that could justify impeachment of the President.

In the Trump case, however, the Congress requested information about murky events at the heart of the President’s conduct of foreign affairs, a government function where the President’s authority exceeds that of the Congress.

So not only would the Congress have to await a ruling of the Supreme Court before pressing its requests. It is likely the Supreme Court would rule in favour of the President — validating Trump’s rejection of the Congressional subpoenas.

45. Re TRUMP’S ANTI-IMMIGRANT CAMPAIGN

In another vein:

Trump’s anti-immigrant campaign remains in full flight as he campaigns for a second term as President.

See yesterday’s SCOTUS decision.
    @ https://www.politico.com/

SCOTUS has essentially upheld the Trump’s Administration policy of refusing green cards to anyone the US immigration officer, in exercising his discretion, determines might become a public charge,

BTW, no one can truthfully deny that the average Barbadian, indeed, the average West Indian immigrant, is hardworking, industrious, productive and RARELY IF EVER SEEKS PUBLIC ASSISTANCE, OR WELFARE IN THE USA. Such immigrants, for generations, have contributed greatly to the US economy and society in countless, innumerable ways, e.g in hospitals, in the subways, in private homes, in countless cleaning jobs which the average American would not do, etc, etc.

Trump’s intention here is simply to dampen legal immigration by brown and black peoples in the changing demographic context in the USA and shore up a declining white majority.

Note that even if Trump’s policy is facially neutral, it remains extremely doubtful that similar restrictions would be applied by the Trump Administration IN PRACTICE to immigrants from his preferred “Norway”, or Slovenia, Croatia, Moldova or some such other European country. Sometimes, such European and Russian emigres arrive at JFK and are routinely granted multiple benefits. White privilege? I dunno.

So much then for “give me your poor, your tired, those yearning to be free, etc, etc”. (paraphrasing).

Trump’s MAGA clearly shows itself for what it is: a total reversal with respect to immigrants’ rights, civil rights, and women’s rights; left to POTUS, it would most probably result in the unqualified restoration of white supremacy across the board in the USA.

46. Re Trump’s Israeli-Palestinian Peace Plan issued today, Tuesday, January 28, 2020.

See; https://www.whitehouse.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/Peace-to-Prosperity-0120.pdf.

All that I can say is that there is as much chance of this Plan being implemented as my becoming (better yet, Ewart Archer, as I believe he is a good Catholic) the first black Pope in the Vatican.

47. David
    January 28, 2020 7:27 AM

Did Bolton sit at the insiders table with Trump? What position he held until he became one of many firings in the Trump administration?

Does it matter?

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Okay here we are….1) Win the battle, win the war and lose the election… 2) Lose the battle, win the war and lose the election….or can they get 3) a Win, win, win! The bogey on hole 4) is a Win,Win, Win but lose the Senate…very unlikely tho!

Here of course, the battle refers to allowing witnesses or to be precise John Bolton at the impeachment trial war.

For a Republican this is a bad situation. Option 3 is the only outcome after this fawning, lock-step appeasement to their most beloved leader so it makes no sense to allow Bolton to come in to delay the process and create weeks into months of unfavorable press.

Yet if they dismiss Bolton and his book paints the devastating picture it seems poised to do then many will be registered in history as abrogating their duty to protect the nation as their founders expected.

More problematically we could see a situation of 4 more years of the most bitter partnersip between this Pres and the reelected Dem Congress….as surely Dems will beat the hustings that they need a strong majority to keep POTUS in check (if their candidate flames out).

Impeaching a president has consequences…attempting to impeach and failing has even more dire consequences !

This is a virtual Armageddon right now, right here…

49. The Super Bowl is around the corner and Trump and Netanyahu trying a “Hail Mary” with their announcement of a Middle East peace Plan ( Jared’s brainchild). The Israeli’s indicted Netanyahu today on corruption charges and Trump is fighting Impeachment but how can you announce a peace plan without involving the Palestinians (or other Arab States) in the discussions?