Submitted by Ironside

I ended part 2 of this series with the following:

Whether it is one third party or a coalition of third parties fighting the 2023 election is irrelevant. The important thing is to break the two-party system domination. Therefore, there are three things we have to do from here on: 1. Focus! 2. Focus! 3.Focus!

As I also pointed out in then, it would be foolhardy of any third party to count out the DLP. In point of fact, as long ago as October 2018, the DLP has started to get is political machinery in gear. Furthermore, Mr. Mayers, General Secretary of the party, had hinted at possible by-elections given that “a Member of Parliament…is very ill” and alleged that the head of one of the St. Philip candidates was “on the cutting board”.
Source: ‘Snap goes the Poll’, Barbados Today 10/29/18

Against the background of the above, I wish to raise the following two issues in relation to the agenda for a third party:

1. If Guyson Mayers is correct, should the PdP also prepare for and contest a by-election if and when it occurs?
2. Should the PdP fight the next election as a coalition?

Issue
On balance, I would answer in the affirmative with respect to this issue. The main advantage of such a move would be to test the waters for the new configuration that is called the PdP, birthed and bathed as it is, in controversy.

Of course, the question is whether the party has the resources to do so. I would argue that given the localization of the contest, the party should be able to drum up the resources. The real practical issue, however, is whether the party has such an election in its strategic focus and more importantly, the political machinery to tackle it.

Issue #2:
The issue of whether the PdP should fight the next election as a coalition is definitely a point open for debate. Peter Wickham does not think that the current opposition led by Joseph Atherley has a chance. Addressing the question of how Barbadian would vote if an election were called today he opines:

I don’t see him [Atherley] making it because…once parliament is dissolved Atherley ceases to be relevant ‘cause he has no political party to speak of, they don’t have any branches, they don’t have any branch movement…no branch chairman”
Daily Nation, Thursday 28 November, 2019

Is Mr Wickham’s opinion based on current/ recent research? The fact that he does not state so suggests the negative. The context in which Mr. Wickham spoke, a Rotary event, is also very interesting. Did he believe that he was speaking to a predominantly BLP oriented audience?

Those matters aside, if the deficiencies possessed by the PdP are as posited by Mr. Wickham, there is cause for concern for its status as a viable third party. Ergo, a coalition of some sort to fight the election will be necessary. But that raises the question of the readiness of the PdP and the “other third parties”.

I have always been very concerned about the issue of the readiness of “alternative parties” to fight elections in Barbados. It is quite clear that there is dearth of strategic (=medium to long term) thinking among the newer parties. Consequently, their appearance on the scene is almost without exception, ad hoc, i.e. for the current election only.

Such a non-strategic approach will not get a third party much traction – or respect for that matter – from the majority of the electorate. For this reason, the approach taken by Solutions Barbados re the 2018 election: that is engaging the Barbadian electorate some three years in advance, has to be commended. Where the party fell down is another matter.

The modus operandi has got to be that as soon as possible after the last election, party strategists get down to doing the hard research and planning to define the contours of a strategy going forward to the next election and even beyond. In the intervening years, that strategy has to be fleshed out and refined.

This is the same basic message that business students all over the world hear in any strategy management class. I am not sure, therefore, why any political party would think that its management is an exception to these strategic principles.

So the question is: Are the third parties, PdP in particular, listening to Mr. Wickham and to the strategic principles being enunciated here?

I wish to reiterate that there is mental space out there for a third party. However, as I have explained in previous instalments, capturing it will not come without a sustained battle.

Barbadians are by nature short-term thinkers. We are very much unlike many eastern peoples, the Chinese in particular, who are long-term thinkers. Speaking generally, that explains why we wait until a hurricane is upon us to buy emergency supplies, why we do not save and why we are always late! It is ingrained in our DNA. In the social psychology of Barbados, it is a major theme!

Now is the time for those who are committed to the development of a third party to get on board. Now is the time for such a party /parties to define their philosophy and goals and seek to attract quality membership. Three months before the election will definitely not do it. It’s all about three things: 1. Preparation, 2. Preparation, 3. Preparation!

269 responses to “The Phartford Files: Agenda for a Third Party – Part 3”

1. Just get rd of this current government and START FRESH..the majority population has to SHUT DOWN EVERYTHING as they know it, regroup and REBUILD THE ISLAND THEMSELVES.

as long as ya get rid of the current thieves, liars, allround lowlifes in the parliament, their hangersons and bribers…the REBUILDING CAN BEGIN….and this time the island and ECONOMY MUST BE BLACK CONTROLLED…at all times. What’s the use of having a majority black population if that is still not happening over 50 years after the facade that was independence.

“Sagicor Sale …
    Sagicor Financial Corporation is soon to be sold to a Canadian corporation.”

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside

A few things

1.This title – The Phartford Files: Agenda for a Third Party – Part 3 why?

What is Phartford?

Why commingle a topic of such seriousness within a cocoon that sounds like flatulence and the expelling of gas?

2.This IS NOT YOUR THIRD submission on the 3rd party movement, it is only your second, but the 3rd time you submitted a topic with this name.

3.de ole man has a submission to make. I have submitted an article here to the Honourable Blogmaster on this matter of how the PdP WILL WIN THIS ELECTION but he has refused to publish it.

Why is that?

4.I have decided to be your “antipode” for 2 reasons.

The first is that you are fixated on this coalition theme WHICH SUGGESTS TO ME “SKIN IN THE GAME” when you not need to be floating A COALITION THEME so early in your strategy.

Therefore, this niggling anomaly, IN ADDITION TO THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER ‘s suppression of my article, suggests that this is a ploy!

Why name something of this nature so carelessly?

ANOMALY!

2.This is your 2nd essay here AND, barring quoting the remarks of the pollster Wickham, YOU HAVE NOT SAID ANYTHING ELSE OF ANY WORTH!

Everything here is SOP standard operating practice AND IS NOT GEARED TO ADVANCE THE THIRD PARTY PER SE!

This is a self advancement thrust that is my assessment Ironside.

This is a Walter Blackman move! insofar as the external article attracts attention for a few BUT, LIKE FLATULENCE, THE ARTICLE IS FULL OF HOT AIR, AND SIGNIFYING NOTHING!

Are you ….?

did you know that not all farts are “hot air”?

Corpses fart but it’s more a contraction of the skeletal muscles during Rigor Mortis and, given that the heat may have left the corpse, those farts may be cold.

3. Piece the Legend Avatar

An item here for Ironside thank you

4. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside

Let me continue in my self appointed role of “antipode”

“…Whether it is one third party or a coalition of third parties fighting the 2023 election is irrelevant…”

This is absolutely incorrect!

And causes me some concern vis à vis the PdP.

They need to keep clear OF ANY COALITION TALK BECAUSE IT WILL DESTROY THEM AT ONSET!

Their strategy HAS TO BE STANDALONE GOING INTO THE GENERAL ELECTION!

Coalition is for after the election NOT BEFORE IT & TO EVEN SUGGEST THIS @ TODAY is purposed implosion and will ensure that the horse DOES NOT GET OUT THE GATE!

ADDITIONALLY Mugabe will not wait until 2023 for the General Election, THE ELECTION WILL BE IN 2021!

Then you continue by stating the obvious.

“…The important thing is to break the two-party system domination…”

Which underscores my statement about “PURPOSED FLATULENCE” of this Phartford Article WHICH IS GIVEN ALL THIS SPACE while the Honourable Blogmaster refuses to publish de ole man’s own.

Let’s do a test Honourable Blogmaster

Publish mine as well.

You have published your buddy’s PUBLISH MINE AND WATCH THE COUNT!

Then Ironside you continue will this empty Call to Arms?

“…Therefore, there are three things we have to do from here on: 1. Focus! 2. Focus! 3.Focus!…”

What does “focus” mean?

Are you asking them to focus on a coalition? Or focus on an Election in 2023? when it will be in 2021?

Grateful for your response Ironside so we can get down to the meat of this matter

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

You continue with another item WHICH IS NOT IMPORTANT TO ANY THIRD PARTY

“…As I also pointed out in then, it would be foolhardy of any third party to count out the DLP…”

I am even more concerned about this statement and I will explain.

Why did you focus on JUST THE THIRD PARTY WHEN YOU SAID “foolhardy to count out the DLP?”

NORMALLY, that statement would read, “it would be foolhardy for all contesting political parties, OF WHICH THE BLP IS ONE, to count out the DLP!!!

So why this freudian slip AS IF YOU ARE SAYING THIS FROM A BLP PERSPECTIVE?

Now, given dat de ole man is a expert in dese tings (heheheheh dat gine get nuff people vex and “flamed) let us pause to consider this posit!

It is either that you are pushing this COALITION THEME aggressively and wish to show the fear element OR you are speaking from a BLP POINT OF VIEW like someone listening to the illiterate PdP meetings being convened in the bugged offices of the Leader of the Opposition!

Hmmmm…

Then you continue authoritatively and I quote

“…In point of fact, as long ago as October 2018, the DLP has started to get is political machinery in gear…”

And you know this how?

Do come back with similarily authoritative words to dispel the rampant fears your audience here will have.

De ole man gine spend buff time here wid you

6. Piece the Legend Avatar

Your assistance please with another more pointed remark to Ironside thank you

7. This government knows only too well how dirty and deceitful Maloney is, Mia herself said he should be in prison for the Rasta child’s death that SHE KNOWS HE CAUSED. She knows this Hyatt farce is just another racist apartheid exercise at the expense of the Black majority. with another run at the theft of taxpayer’s and pensioners money. BUT IT WILL BE STOPPED. THIEVES AND RACISTS.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/28/heritage-body-developers-misled-us/

8. Piece the Legend Avatar

Ironside your strategy IS BECOMING OBVIOUS, TOO OBVIOUS, TOO FREAKING OBVIOUS.

You are forcing the PdP (which incredulously has shrunken from multiple parties TO JUST ONE PARTY) into the COALITION HOLE whenever you speak!!!

“…2. Should the PdP fight the next election as a coalition?…”

So wunna start to accept that the People’s Party for Democracy and Development IS GOING TO BEAT MUGABE MOTTLEY because bajans fear ALL THESE MUGABE MOVES!

FINALLY!

But Ironside, contrary to what you are promoting DE OLE MAN WARNS THEM ABOUT DILUTING THE GIDEON ARMY WITH CASTAWAYS.

Such WILL NOT BE REQUIRED! And is absolutely advised against!!!

Reverend Atherley DO NOT TOUCH THE ACCURSED THING or you will lose

Harkens to the ole man

9. One two three.

The Phartford Files: Agenda for a Third Party Part I

The Phartford Files: Agenda for a Third Party Part 2

The Phartford Files: Agenda for a Third Party – Part 3

You submission was not posted because of the pejorative language directed at other commenters, to use your words, “why commingle a topic of such seriousness within a cocoon that sounds like flatulence and the expelling of gas?”

10. Something has to be done about Mark Maloney, Mia can go to hell if she thinks everyone will sit by and allow this criminal to continue to rule roost over the Black population as is the norm and continue to DESTROY BLACK LIVES…….be warned.

11. Piece…we are FINALLY at a critical juncture, me after 7 years, you after am sure the same time as Blogmaster…STAY FOCUSED we only got one shot at this and CANNOT MISS..

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

You will notice that de ole man has inverted your order of issues

I will continue to show your fixation with COALITION so that the PdP will be on guard for ALL SUCH INTERVENTIONS WHICH WILL BE SENT TO THEM , before they arise

But on the lesser pigeonhole comment, you said and I quote

“…Heheheheh

Ironside your strategy IS BECOMING OBVIOUS, TOO OBVIOUS, TOO FREAKING OBVIOUS.

You are forcing the PdP (which incredulously has shrunken from multiple parties TO JUST ONE PARTY) into the COALITION HOLE whenever you speak!!!

“…1. If Guyson Mayers is correct, should the PdP also prepare for and contest a by-election if and when it occurs?…”

De ole man will answer this question for you.

Guyson Mayers who incidentally is looking for work, AS ARE YOU, (heheheheh your words in an earlier blog here not mine) IS ONLY ASKING THE OBVIOUS.

He covers both bases by saying the possible scenarios for a by-election 1.Ilness or 2.firing a minister John Clarke.

Your real questions are

1.If a seat comes up for a By-election WHO IS GOING TO CONTEST IT?

AND

2.if john king or Trevor Prescod or William Duguid cross the floor BEFORE MUGABE AXES THEM will the PdP take them?

You are fishing really bad for the answer to question number one heheheheh

But for question number 2, you and Mugabe, and Guyston, and the PdP and the Barbadian population AND THE THREE DISGRUNTLED BLP MINISTERS want to know if they cross the floor BEFORE MIA FIRES THEM, if it would be best for the PdP to take them?

AND DE OLE MAN SAYS NO!

REASON 1. You are already contending with the Atherley issue as a purported plant.

3 more would destroy the PdP

REASON 2.

AVOID THE ACCURSED THING!

I WILL LET YOU KNOW THAT, WHEN GOD IS FOR YOU, NO MAN CAN BE AGAINST YOU!

13. Piece the Legend Avatar

Not the pejorative KING but the other elements that you realise bring focus to and issue on Mugabe your hero.

But did is you ting AND THIS IS WHY YOU ARE AT 50 DEATHS UNOFFICIALLY!

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

And so that readers understand why I posted and WHY YOU ARE NOT POSTING IT, I will share with them that all I said to your reincarnated Ironside was that Coalition was a farce.

So…

Make all three of them links so we can examine their content!

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

You King HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO FIGHT THIS SCOURGE!

You come with the empty platitudes daily and monosylabic answers

And you wonders daily how de ef he getting de clicks?

And you, like the rest, say how do I stop those clicks? instead of wondering WHAT IS CAUSING THE CLICKS?

What is it that is acting like a magnet THAT CAUSES THE FEW *** CONSISTENTLY?

and with your physical eye you “see” what you call “pejoratives” directed at fellow commentators BUT INCREDULOUSLY THE FELLOW COMMENTATORS, both the sheeple and people, see a man whose unstinting commentary is directed towards a system that has failed BECAUSE PEOPLE LIKE YOU HAVE A SELECTIVE BACKBONE!

So when I post my article about Pornville and how the Americans SHOULD LOCK HIS BLACK ASS UP, you get vex and “flamed” with me!

Like if I teif ICBL money or pay a feller in New Jersey.

But did is de same person who campaigned against the Corrupt Claire & Cahill and the incompetent Fumbles.

All that has happened is that I CALL OUT YOUR GOLDEN INBETWEENER MUGABE FOR HER DESPOTISM.

Just like Owen Arthur did before he now begging for 3 month cunsultancies

The difference between Owen, you and me is that I WILL NOT BE BOUGHT NOR BOW DOWN TO DESPOTS!

You hate me because I loathe corruption and greed and dictatorship AND I CALL IT OUT WHEREVER I SEE IT.

But this is okay David King because I DO NOT SERVE YOU NOR WILL I BE JUDGED BY YOU AT THE SECOND DEATH!!!

16. @WARU
    Once they would play the old game of A supporting one party and B supporting the other. No matter who won the elections, their collective interest was looked after.

Now it seems as if there is just one player for both parties – Mark Maloney

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

David King I am not the person killing the citizens of Barbados

Why fight with me then?

I am not your ministers who stole $1.5 billion over 10 years!

Why fight with me then?

I am not the Despot who is destroying the country Barbados at today

Why fight with me then?

The answer is very simple.

IF YOU ARE NOT PART OF THE SOLUTION YOU ARE PART OF THE PROBLEM!!

18. “Now it seems as if there is just one player for both parties – Mark Maloney.”

Yep my friend, he jas info on ALL OF THEM that you won’t believe…hence the reason the PEOPLE have to PRY BOTH HIM and them off their backs, or it will not end well…personally i want to see both HIM AND THEM IN PRISON…for all they have done…no joke.

Mia with her own mouth said publicly in the media that Maloney should be in prison BUT once elected made an abrupt reverse turn….THAT TELLS US EVERYTHING.

ALL OF THEM AND THEIR BRIBERS GOTTA GO…one down, 2 to go.

19. Hahaaaaa! Comedyfest continues on BU. When 2/3 people account for 99% of all comments on the thread, mostly shiite, there’s a problem. The usual piffile. #mybackbroad#depickanoisecrew

20. Only difference….YOUR 2/3 majority WILL BE KICKED OUT OF PARLIAMENT….but we won’t…how bout that.

21. Verily I say unto you Enuff, ignore idiots for they sole purpose is to indulge in idiocy.

22. Well ah heard people cannot sleep and the STRAIN IS SHOWING…

many on here keep saying…pressure does burst pipe.

23. JUST COMPARE THE SCRIPTURE BELOW WITH BARBADOS UNDER MAO MUGABE MIA MUCKLEY

ISAIAH 3 – THE SINS OF JUDAH
    A. Profile of a society under judgment.
    1. (1-7) Shortages of food, water, and competent leaders.

For behold, the Lord, the LORD of hosts,
    Takes away from Jerusalem and from Judah
    The stock and the store,
    The whole supply of bread and the whole supply of water;
    The mighty man and the man of war,
    The judge and the prophet,
    And the diviner and the elder;
    The captain of fifty and the honorable man,
    The counselor and the skillful artisan,
    And the expert enchanter.
    “I will give children to be their princes,
    And babes shall rule over them.
    The people will be oppressed,
    Every one by another and every one by his neighbor;
    The child will be insolent toward the elder,
    And the base toward the honorable.”
    When a man takes hold of his brother
    In the house of his father, saying,
    “You have clothing; you be our ruler,
    And let these ruins be under your power,”
    In that day he will protest, saying,
    “I cannot cure your ills,
    For in my house is neither food nor clothing;
    Do not make me a ruler of the people.”

24. For behold, the Lord, the LORD of hosts, takes away from Jerusalem and from Judah the stock and the store: God’s judgment on Judah, at this point, includes taking away their food (stock and the store) and water.
    The mighty man and the man of war, the judge and the prophet:

The judgment is worse than just taking away food and water. God also brought judgment on Jerusalem and Judah by depriving them of godly, competent leaders on every level: the mighty man and the man of war, the judge and the prophet, and the diviner and the elder; the captain of fifty and the honorable man, the counselor and the skillful artisan, and the expert enchanter. Instead of wise, competent leaders, God will give children to be their princes, and babes shall rule over them.

GOD HAS DONE THE SAME TO BARBADOS TODAY HE HAS TAKEN AWAY FOOD AND WATER AND DEPRIVED US OF COMPETENT LEADERSHIP AT EVERY LEVEL
    our ignorance and stupidity must be aroused

But this principle of God’s judgment endures to this day. One way God may bring judgment on a nation is to curse them with incompetent, ungodly leaders. Often, this is the simplest avenue of judgment: giving people what their wicked hearts desire. This crisis of leadership can happen even in economically prosperous times The terrible effect of this judgment of God, the granting of incompetent and ungodly leaders, may not be immediately seen, but it will be certainly seen, apart from the repentance of a nation and the mercy of God.

The people will be oppressed: This comes from the ungodly, incompetent leadership, and there will be a breakdown of order in society (The child will be insolent toward the elder, and the base toward the honorable).
    For there is hardly any conduct more offensive, or more fitted to disturb our minds, than when the worst examples of every sort are publicly exhibited by magistrates, while no man utters a syllable against them, but almost all give their approbation.
    IS THIS NOT WHAT IS HAPPNING IN BARBADOS TODAY?

Things have become so bad, that in the minds of the people, the smallest achievements qualify a man for leadership. Yet, even such a man will not want to lead: In that day, he will protest, saying, “I cannot cure your ills… do not make me a ruler of the people.”

JUST LOOK AT THE NUMBER OF MOCK MINISTERS WE HAVE IN BARBADOS TODAY

It is astonishing how realistically the prophet is here able to describe the consequences of a total collapse of the state. Anyone who remembers the months that followed May 1945 in Germany will have the sensation in reading this passage of being carried right back to these days.

HISTORY IS REPEATING ITSELF IN BARBADOS BEFORE OUR VERY EYES

25. @GP,
    I agree 100% with your last two comments – 100%! Even your old adversary, Miller, would struggle to challenge your argument . What a tragedy for the majority black population and their slave foreparents. It is going to end very badly for this group.

26. YES WE LOVE TO DESPISE SCRIPTURE BUT I FIND ISAIAH 3 &4 VERY RELEVANT TO WHAT IS HAPPENING IN BARBADOS TODAY

27. GP…..we do know as is the nature of SUBHUMANS, they have been making the same mistakes for thousands of years and got the nerve to expect different results, so it’s no stretch of the imagination to see and write the utter shite that they will do next, because they are PREDICTABLE…and never deviate..

28. The major problem facing third parties is political laziness. They believe that the Duopoly will become over ripe and fall into their hands. When Atherley speaks he resonates with the Duopoly. He cannot seriously attack policies he ran on. His delivery is impeccable but basically empty.
    The UPP seems to have entered a phase of stagnation and its best not to offer Grenville any advice since he seems to be now the evangelist of local politics. As a rule I try not to question people’s religion or religiosity.
    So until some group rolls up it’s sleeves and get in the trenches the Duopoly Rules.

29. A few of you reached out to de ole man and asked what I had written to “flamed” the Honourable Blogmaster so.

It will be blocked if I put it up in its entirety so you will get it in pieces.

You continue with another item WHICH IS NOT IMPORTANT TO ANY THIRD PARTY

“…As I also pointed out in then, it would be foolhardy of any third party to count out the DLP…”

I am even more concerned about this statement and I will explain.

Why did you focus on JUST THE THIRD PARTY WHEN YOU SAID “foolhardy to count out the DLP?”

NORMALLY, that statement would read, “it would be foolhardy for all contesting political parties, OF WHICH THE BLP IS ONE, to count out the DLP!!!

So why this freudian slip AS IF YOU ARE SAYING THIS FROM A BLP PERSPECTIVE?

Now, given dat de ole man is a expert in dese tings (heheheheh dat gine get nuff people vex and “flamed) let us pause to consider this posit!

It is either that you are pushing this COALITION THEME aggressively and wish to show the fear element OR you are speaking from a BLP POINT OF VIEW like someone listening to the ill advised PdP meetings being convened in the bugged offices of the Leader of the Opposition!

Hmmmm…

30. IT CAN NOT BE DENIED THAT IN BARBADOS TODAY THAT VERY LITTLE FOOD IS PLANTED

IT CAN NOT BE DENIED THAT IN BARBADOS TODAY THAT THE PEOPLE ARE DEPRIVED OF WATER AND COMPETENT LEADERSHIP AT EVERY LEVEL

IF YOU WISH, YOU MAY STEUPSE AND SAY “:IT AINT GOT NUTTIN TO DO WID NO GOD” BUT THERE IS VERY LITTLE FOOD PLANTED OR HARVESTED IN BARBADOS ANYMORE , AND THE PEOPLE ARE BAWLING FOR WATER AND PROPER LEADERSHIP

WE CAN CHOSE TO DESPISE SCRIPTURE AND FAIL TO SEE THE RELEVANCE OF ISAIAH 3 &4 TO WHAT IS HAPPENING IN BARBADOS TODAY, IF WE LIKE, BUT DOES NOT NEGATE THE FACTS

WE CAN PUT OUR HEADS IN THE PROVERBIAL SAND IF WE LACK BUT THE TRUTH OF THE PROPHETIC SCRIPTURES ARE POIGNANT PERTINENT AND PRESENT………………AND IT IS GOING TO GET WORSE!

31. @William

A third party is not born because some people jump on a bandwagon. It will have to be anchored in a philosophy then there must be leadership to ensure a message is crafted that resonates with the masses. Other plans will have to line up as well. What you are witnessing in Barbados are attempts to fire a movement which is part of a process. None of the so-called third parties meet the criteria to win the minds and gain the support necessary.

32. @ William

What is the political philosophy of the DLP and BLP?

33. @ Hal
    I font know but I think whatever it is it’s the same for both,

34. “So until some group rolls up it’s sleeves and get in the trenches the Duopoly Rules.”

if those elected would start treating their election to parliament as A JOB and themsleves as GODDAMN EMPLOYEES OF THE PEOPLE….and not some yardfowl gathering to be misused every 5 years pretending to be what they will never become with the intent to REMAIN bloodsuckers and parasites in the lives of the people then invite all their parasitic bribers to partake…they would just do their jobs and then get the hell out and stop trying to make themselves and their hangerson permanent fixtures and parasites on the treasury…maybe then we will see progress and not destruction, corruption. FAILURES and uselessness on the part of each successive government.

Something has to give, this cannot be allowed to continue..they are a world class disgrace that EVERYONE IS NOW TALKING ABOUT..

35. @ William

That is fine. I am used to unintelligible waffle.

36. “The major problem facing third parties is political laziness. They believe that the Duopoly will become over ripe and fall into their hands. When Atherley speaks he resonates with the Duopoly. He cannot seriously attack policies he ran on.”

Mr. Skinner

I have to agree with your above comments, and as David BU mentioned, “A third party is not born because some people jump on a bandwagon. It will have to be anchored in a philosophy then there must be leadership to ensure a message is crafted that resonates with the masses.”

If you seriously examine the so-called “third parties” in Barbados, you would discover the UPP consisted of disgruntled BEES; the PPfDD was formed by Atherley after he wasn’t included in Mottley’s Cabinet (it is for this reason I don’t take him seriously)……. and consists of former disgruntled members of the BLP, UPP and Solutions Barbados.

It isn’t surprising the political strategies of these parties are similar to those of the BLP and DLP. Following in the foot-steps of those traditional parties, the third parties are all about criticizing, political posturing and grandstanding to win votes…… rather than concentrating on formulating, comprehensive social and economic policies for the short-term and long-term development of Barbados and discussing them with the public.

We are essentially recycling the same old politicians into new political parties.

37. You can never post a comment unless it disparages or rubbishes another. You definitely have issues.

38. Piece the Legend Avatar

So, as de ole man continues here I would hope that readers focus on the ideas that I present.

You note that SILENTLY the focus is on the PEOPLE’S PARTY FOR DEMOCRACY AND DEVELOPMENT ALONE!

No other third party!

None!

AND THAT DREADED “C” WORD!

Not chvunt but COALITION!

Your questions should be why?

Why am I, according to the Rented Jackass Hee Hee spending so much time on this article?

Wunna done know de answer to that!

But then you should as why am I dissecting Ironside’s article?

And suddenly it should click for all you readers the things that you should REALLY BE LOOKING FOR in this upcoming election.

This IS THE ONLY POLITICAL ARTICLE THAT IS BEING ALLOWED TO BE POSTED HERE OVER THE LAST 6 WEEKS!

Imagine that!

And, when it is posted, it is devoid of real meat.

AND WHEN IT IS CHALLENGED, WELL TAKE A LOOK BACK AT WHAT HAPPENS AT 6.16 AM!

And wunna starts seeing how the setup is going to happen

39. Piece the Legend Avatar

So let me see

@ Mr William Skinner

“…When Atherley speaks he resonates with the Duopoly.

He cannot seriously attack policies he ran on. His delivery is impeccable but basically empty.

The UPP seems to have entered a phase of stagnation and its best not to offer Grenville any advice since he seems to be now the evangelist of local politics…”

I will again write what I wrote this morning to Ironside and what I wrote TWICE TO THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER AND HE REFUSES TO POST!

You are becoming bogged down in the predictable Mr. Skinner.

So I will seek to get you to think this through.

And now I see why my article here was NOT PERMITTED TO BE POSTED!

Let me ask you these 3 questions first

1.Where is Reverend Atherley going to run in 2021

2.Why will he run there?

3.Will he win his seat?

40. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside

Here is part of what de ole man posted for you earlier.

“Ironside your strategy IS BECOMING OBVIOUS, TOO OBVIOUS, TOO FREAKING OBVIOUS.

“…1. If Guyson Mayers is correct, should the PdP also prepare for and contest a by-election if and when it occurs?…”

De ole man will answer this question for you.

Guyson Mayers who incidentally is looking for work, AS ARE YOU, (heheheheh your words in an earlier blog here not mine) IS ONLY ASKING THE OBVIOUS.

He covers both bases by saying the possible scenarios for a by-election 1.Ilness or 2.firing a minister John Clarke.

Your real questions are

AND

2.if john king or Trevor Prescod or William Duguid cross the floor BEFORE MUGABE AXES THEM will the PdP take them?”

41. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner
    @ Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver

Just to see if you gents can break away from the narrative that you are being fed by the Honourable Blogmaster

Here are another 2 questions for both of you

1.If a seat comes up for a By-election WHO SHOULD BE ADVANCED TO CONTEST IT?

2.and, GIVEN THAT BOTH OF YOU ARE SPEAKING OF THE DUOPOLY, why?

42. @ Piece
    Answers:
    1.They can run whoever they like
    2. Like it or not the Duopoly will support each other. It has already decided who to sacrifice next elections to ensure that the balance of the status quo remains.
    3. Solutions and UPP are impervious to political advice
    4. Sooner or later Atherley must decide which direction he wants to go.

BTW , I notice that you are now persona not grata at Roebuck Street. Wuh happen Piece ?

43. @ Piece AT ALL TIMES

I have tried to keep the article short and organized so that disciplined individuals could dig into some of the points so that we could develop a semblance of a debate.

Evidently you are not a very disciplined person.

So at the first blush, you try to hog the blog, ramble, run a gamut of idiotic accusations and spew out charges of “trying to get work” and all that bull crap. If you are writing anonymously here how can you be advertising? Get your grey matter in gear, man!

You also need to clean out your mouth and stop wondering why the blog master censors your comments! There is such a thing as cause-and-effect!

I grew up in a village where the guys use to cuss for fun and have cussing competitions.

I have moved on a long ago. So should you. As Grenville would say, you are retarding your growth!

I don’t have time to waste sifting through clutter so give me something meaty, coherent and cleaner to respond to – if you can!

44. @ Piece November 29, 2019 2:44 PM

+++++++++
    Re:
    Your real questions are

AND

2.if john king or Trevor Prescod or William Duguid cross the floor BEFORE MUGABE AXES THEM will the PdP take them?”
    ++++++

OK, much better!

[1] WHO IS GOING TO CONTEST IT?

(a) Certainly the duopoly!

(b) I am more concerned with whether a third party say, the PdP, would ready and able to contest it. I assumed you would be too! Given the PdP ‘s weaknesses as indicated by Wickham, they should be stragegizing all like now for a by-election. If a coalition is necessary to get size and scope, do it.

(c) It is called strategic thinking!

(d) Moreover, it would be the perfect opportunity to engage in enlightened self-interest, a concept we are yet to learn from the those at the top, a.ka. the Maloneys . We at the bottom are too divisive!

(e) They can’t lose; the effort to organize and contest the seat shows seriousness. It does not matter too much if they do not win. It is prep and experience that are important. It is a sustained battle. We are too short-term in our thinking!

[2] CROSSING THE FLOOR

I do not have ESP, you need to enlighten me here on how you arrive at these names/ crossover. But if they did I would not take them!!!! This might appear to contradict (d) but in fact it is consistent with an assumed strategic goal as per (c)

45. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

It is called the “from hero to zero” syndrome.

Because I does say “ALL HAIL MUGAGE” instead of (UNCLE), “MIA CARES”! de ole man is anathema!

You said AND I QUOTE

“…1.They can run whoever they like…”

I would counter that suggestion as to the PdP running whoever it likes!

They MUST RUN CASWELL FRANKLYN!

There MUST BE A CLEAR UNDERSTANDING BY THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS THAT THE PdP IS NOT MIA TING!

Here is party of MY ARTICLE TITLED

“…”ATHERLEY…YOU HAVE TO LOSE…FOR THE PdP TO WIN”…”

THIS IS THE ARTICLE THAT THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER WAS INSTRUCTED NOT TO POST!

Now he going come here vex and “flamed” about that comment above even though earlier this week he said “say anything bout him but stop connecting about blogger identities”

in that article de ole man explained WHY JOSEPH ATHERLEY MUST LOSE AND DETAILED WHY HE MUST LOSE WHILE RUNNING AGAINST MUGABE MOTTLEY but that article was killed Mr Skinner.

You continue by saying and I quote

“…2. Like it or not the Duopoly will support each other. It has already decided who to sacrifice next elections to ensure that the balance of the status quo remains….”

And it is precisely to this point Mr. Skinner that de ole man is speaking!

I wish to detail HOW THE PdP is going to win AND THIS IS WHAT IS BEING SUPPRESSED HERE!!! ERGO THE REMARKS BY THE HONOURABLE…..

The fact is that IN 2021, Mugabe WILL NOT GET BACK 30 SEATS, but even though, as you suggest, “they are carving up the seats among themselves”, THEY DO NOT WANT THE PdP in the mix!

So you, and others, ARE STARTING TO UNDERSTAND DE OLE MAN’S FALL FROM GRACE!

MY PREDICTION OF 18-12 AND HOW IT WILL COME TO PASS, IS HATED. AND WHEN I EXPLAIN MUGABE’S RUSH TO EXPAND THE VOTER LISTS BY THIS IMMIGRATION PLOY, dem hate de ole man more!!

You were always a sharp tool Mr Skinner, always!

so you see why dem agitating to get rid of de ole man, De Prophet PIECE (heheheheh)

46. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Mr Skinner

@ Ironside

Before you get tied up you, being new to the blog, need to understand that this is NOT ABOUT YOU AND ME!

You are not my audience!

Neither will I ever blog in a sequence that you or anyone else defines.

You are not God.

Now that you have been disavowed of that concept you need to understand that this topic is going to be viewed by hundreds of people WHO ENT GOT DE TIME TO WAIT PUN YOUR HIGHNESS TO COME HOME FROM WORK!

Read, skim over, or answer.

I have already taken up the position of being your opponent on this blog that ONLY 10 PEOPLE WILL RESPOND TO.

But several hundred will view.

So wake up and understand that I am not trying to cement a job with the PdP, I am seeking to serve my country.

You posited COALITION and I countered and said it is a silly idea.

I dont wuk for you or you for me, counter with something or step out the kitchen.

47. Am still wondering why Fowl Enuff was panicking so much this manana…me thinks it is very clear the writing is on the wall and big enuff for everyone to see .

48. @Ironside

Without overanalysing the current state of affairs:

The electorate voted for the BLP 30-0 mainly because it was dissatisfied with the performance of the last DLP government.

The PdP is a contrived opposition although one has to admit Senators Drakes and Franklyn have been doing a good job. Unfortunately that party and the others do not have a base and are not doing anything to build one. Bear in mind both the DLP and BLP have a core of support on the active voters list. The X factor will be the ability to mobilize disaffected persons eligible to vote.

On the other hand the DLP despite the shellacking has a brand that will act as a default position if a credible third party movement fails to gain traction.

49. Piece the Legend Avatar

Once again here is your employer/employee script

“… Given the PdP ‘s weaknesses as indicated by Wickham, they should be stragegizing all like now for a by-election…”

Who de RH is this man Wickham?

Why are you mentioning his name like if he is the Oracle of the Delphi?

And once again STOP SAYING THE OBVIOUS WORDS LIKE they should be strategizing etc!

Every time I post a strategy here THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER IS BLOCKING IT!

EVERY SINGLE TIME!

SO WHEN YOU READ, you and the others here ARE NOT SEEING THE DETAILED STRATEGIES, because the Virtual Minister of Disinformation is doing his job AGAIN!

Now I am only at paragraph 3 of your opinion here AND THERE IS MUCH MORE TO COME

Do try to keep up!