Submitted by Ironside

I ended part 2 of this series with the following:

Whether it is one third party or a coalition of third parties fighting the 2023 election is irrelevant. The important thing is to break the two-party system domination. Therefore, there are three things we have to do from here on: 1. Focus! 2. Focus! 3.Focus!

As I also pointed out in then, it would be foolhardy of any third party to count out the DLP. In point of fact, as long ago as October 2018, the DLP has started to get is political machinery in gear. Furthermore, Mr. Mayers, General Secretary of the party, had hinted at possible by-elections given that “a Member of Parliament…is very ill” and alleged that the head of one of the St. Philip candidates was “on the cutting board”.
Source: ‘Snap goes the Poll’, Barbados Today 10/29/18

Against the background of the above, I wish to raise the following two issues in relation to the agenda for a third party:

1. If Guyson Mayers is correct, should the PdP also prepare for and contest a by-election if and when it occurs?
2. Should the PdP fight the next election as a coalition?

Issue #1
On balance, I would answer in the affirmative with respect to this issue. The main advantage of such a move would be to test the waters for the new configuration that is called the PdP, birthed and bathed as it is, in controversy.

Of course, the question is whether the party has the resources to do so. I would argue that given the localization of the contest, the party should be able to drum up the resources. The real practical issue, however, is whether the party has such an election in its strategic focus and more importantly, the political machinery to tackle it.

Issue #2:
The issue of whether the PdP should fight the next election as a coalition is definitely a point open for debate. Peter Wickham does not think that the current opposition led by Joseph Atherley has a chance. Addressing the question of how Barbadian would vote if an election were called today he opines:

I don’t see him [Atherley] making it because…once parliament is dissolved Atherley ceases to be relevant ‘cause he has no political party to speak of, they don’t have any branches, they don’t have any branch movement…no branch chairman”
Daily Nation, Thursday 28 November, 2019

Is Mr Wickham’s opinion based on current/ recent research? The fact that he does not state so suggests the negative. The context in which Mr. Wickham spoke, a Rotary event, is also very interesting. Did he believe that he was speaking to a predominantly BLP oriented audience?

Those matters aside, if the deficiencies possessed by the PdP are as posited by Mr. Wickham, there is cause for concern for its status as a viable third party. Ergo, a coalition of some sort to fight the election will be necessary. But that raises the question of the readiness of the PdP and the “other third parties”.

I have always been very concerned about the issue of the readiness of “alternative parties” to fight elections in Barbados. It is quite clear that there is dearth of strategic (=medium to long term) thinking among the newer parties. Consequently, their appearance on the scene is almost without exception, ad hoc, i.e. for the current election only.

Such a non-strategic approach will not get a third party much traction – or respect for that matter – from the majority of the electorate. For this reason, the approach taken by Solutions Barbados re the 2018 election: that is engaging the Barbadian electorate some three years in advance, has to be commended. Where the party fell down is another matter.

The modus operandi has got to be that as soon as possible after the last election, party strategists get down to doing the hard research and planning to define the contours of a strategy going forward to the next election and even beyond. In the intervening years, that strategy has to be fleshed out and refined.

This is the same basic message that business students all over the world hear in any strategy management class. I am not sure, therefore, why any political party would think that its management is an exception to these strategic principles.

So the question is: Are the third parties, PdP in particular, listening to Mr. Wickham and to the strategic principles being enunciated here?

I wish to reiterate that there is mental space out there for a third party. However, as I have explained in previous instalments, capturing it will not come without a sustained battle.

Barbadians are by nature short-term thinkers. We are very much unlike many eastern peoples, the Chinese in particular, who are long-term thinkers. Speaking generally, that explains why we wait until a hurricane is upon us to buy emergency supplies, why we do not save and why we are always late! It is ingrained in our DNA. In the social psychology of Barbados, it is a major theme!

Now is the time for those who are committed to the development of a third party to get on board. Now is the time for such a party /parties to define their philosophy and goals and seek to attract quality membership. Three months before the election will definitely not do it. It’s all about three things: 1. Preparation, 2. Preparation, 3. Preparation!

269 responses to “The Phartford Files: Agenda for a Third Party – Part 3”

1. Piece the Legend Avatar

“…The PdP is a contrived opposition although one has to admit Senators Drakes and Franklyn have been doing a good job…”

If you, David King of Barbados Underground can say that THEN WE HAVE A “BEGIN POINT”

and this is why the Reverend Atherley MUST ASCEND TO THE FUNERAL PYRE!

Because the general feeling is that He is a plant BUT IF HE CREATES A NEW SCRIPT, one which does not conform to the Mugabe Script, AND THE NARROW VISION OF SOME OF US HERE, he breaks free.

Here is the text that is being blocked again!!!

“…To the Reverend Joseph Atherley People’s Party for Democracy and Development

I Piece the Legend bring you this Word!

In the next General Elections in Barbados you WILL LOSE YOUR SEAT! But you already have an inkling of this BUT YOU ARE NOT SURE, so de ole man confirms this to you…”

De ole man Piece de Legend goes on to say and I self quote

“…History will record you as the politician whose “sacrifice” at the Polls of Barbados brought about a major change that re-centred the country Barbados!…”

Do you David King understand was I am saying now?

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

You said and I again quote

“…The PdP is a contrived opposition although one has to admit Senators Drakes and Franklyn have been doing a good job…”

De ole man wrote but as you know, it was blocked

“…And I will now tell you 2 of the 3 things de ole man was told to say TO YOUR FACE!

1.Mugabe will ensure she makes you lose in the most despicable way possible, “by destroying your credibility as a Man of God.” But you already know her.

You should understand what those specific actions entail Reverend Joe BUT, IF YOU LOVE GOD, YOU MUST TAKE HEART THROUGH HER ACTIONS because her actions to destroy you ARE GOING TO MAKE YOU STRONG!

AND THE PdP STRONGER!

2.You are instructed to RUN IN ST MICHAEL NORTH EAST!

Mia Mottley ‘s constituency!

Leave the Gibbs fellow AND FIGHT MIA MOTTLEY HERSELF Reverend Atherley!…”

3. Piece the Legend Avatar

2 comments are in suspense Honourable Blogmaster

Both are for you if you are man enough to respond

4. Piece the Legend Avatar

One is still blocked Honourable Blogmaster

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside

THIS IS STRATEGY, not fancy talk as per your accustomed style.

The People’s Party for Democracy and Development DOES NOT NEED A COALITION WITH 18 SEATS!

I will detail the deliverables soon.

But before I do so I WILL REVERT TO YOUR SUBMISSION HERE, and dissect it from its weak tendons WHICH ARE TIED TO YOUR PETER WICKHAM DRIVEN, Coalition Fantasy!

6. @ Piece

One of the great things or lessons learned from the defeat I got at the polls in 1991 as a NDP candidate was that been soundly rejected by the electorate, I have no fear of apologists and political junkies. Having refused to join either the BLP or DLP, I wear that defeat as a budge of honour. I have long dismissed the Duopoly and today I look back and see that the country is now in more dire straits than it was when the NDP was rejected. Even more ironic is the attempts by the Duopoly to implement policies today that the NDP presented in 1991. I am quite certain that former NDPs are advising them on certain programs.
    I stood up and felt the full brunt of the Duopoly and I can still walk with my political philosophy and ideology in tact.
    I am proud to have refused the cool aid on Roebuck and George Streets. However I respect those of my comrades who have found a home in those places.
    So my friend when they are ready to kick me off BU it would be no surprise or big thing. But thanks for the heads up.
    Keep up the good work. You are now a thorn in their backsides and they can’t take it. In the words of the elders: De cool aid drinkers and apologists can give but they can’t tek.
    Don’t ease up. The same stick that beat Bob is beat Harry. Peace.

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside

You need to understand that this SENSITIZATION of the electorate has to be rapid AS IN NOW AND IS NOT DEFINED BY ANY PERSONAL BENEFIT!

WE ARE NOT HERE TO SET UP A CONSULTANCY AT THE EXPENSE OF BARBADOS

THAT IS WHAT GOT US HERE IN THE FIRST PLACE!

PERSONAL GAIN OVER COUNTRY!

You then continue with another ungrounded piece of vapourware

The Funding Fantasy based on hypotheticals.

You said AND I QUOTE

“…Of course, the question is whether the party has the resources to do so.

I would argue that given the localization of the contest, the party should be able to drum up the resources…”

AS USUAL SHY$E TALK that would appease lesser mortals BUT NOT PIECE THE LEGEND!

In theory all that financial resources shy$e talk sounds good but let de ole man fill you in with the actual stuff.

Suppose the PdP needs $10 million to run their campaign, AND I HAVE $1 MILLION, WHO DO I GIVE IT TO?

Is the party incorporated?

What is is corporate structure?

What happens with my money from a budget point of view AND FROM THE POINT OF VIEW OF DISSOLUTION?

So you see all your theoretical waffle? De ole man going destroy you so called expertise by demanding you come here AND SHOW YOUR CREDENTIALS or get to RH out of Dodge!

The Honourable Blogmaster does bow down to all uh wunna but de ole man does show wunna up EARLY O’CLOCK

LIKE I DID WALTER!

now, if you is all dis marketing expert dat you claim you is, when you come back heah, show us what are the mechanisms that would satisfy a financial well wisher!

Otherwise leave the studio!

The real practical issue, however, is whether the party has such an election in its strategic focus and more importantly, the political machinery to tackle it.

8. “Watch we plant 1 million trees”

9. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

I thank you for those words of encouragement

And, more importantly, the insights on your own voyage AND THE SCARS OF HONOUR.

I wonder how many people having read your submission @ 5.24 pm understand what made you tick then AND WHAT KEEPS YOU TICKING NOW, irrespective of the twin faces of the DUOPOLY?

I wonder if they understand the process involved in making a sword

The process of forging a sword involves heat and being beaten over and over again until, like Excalibur, you cannot be broken!

A lot of these people here are brittle materials to begin with THEY ARE NOT EXCALIBURS and can’t take the most delicate of touches FAR LESS COMBAT.

IF YOU TALK TOO HARD TO THEM they crumble or complain the the Honourable Blogmaster who does cuddle den ALOT!

Thanks for sharing, he nor they ent going like you too much.

10. Piece the Legend Avatar

So once again an item is held that outlines what the PdP has to do to secure money on behalf of the incorporated party

I will also detail the names of the trustees AND SIGNATORY POWER REQUIREMENTS!

11. Piece the Legend Avatar

But here is de ole man’s continued document

Now YOU CAN SEE WHY THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER WAS INSTRUCTED NOT TO POST THIS SUBMISSION.

Because, unlike Ironside’s empty chatter DE OLE MAN IS DELIVERING PRACTICAL CONTENT.

Uncharacteristically, Ironside is vex and “flamed”

I wonder why?

I mean de Honourable Blogmaster gave him a whole blog and denied me one

Give him full posts BUT IS DENYING MINE!

Asking de man Ironside all sorts of questions BUT IS NOT ASKING PIECE THE LEGEND for my expertise!

Why dat?

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

So what I was saying before and which was blocked was

“…@ Ironside

You need to understand that this SENSITIZATION of the electorate has to be rapid AS IN NOW AND IS NOT DEFINED BY ANY PERSONAL BENEFIT!

WE ARE NOT HERE TO SET UP A CONSULTANCY AT THE EXPENSE OF BARBADOS

THAT IS WHAT GOT US HERE IN THE FIRST PLACE!

PERSONAL GAIN OVER COUNTRY!

You then continue with another ungrounded piece of vapourware

The Funding Fantasy based on hypotheticals.

You said AND I QUOTE

“…Of course, the question is whether the party has the resources to do so.

I would argue that given the localization of the contest, the party should be able to drum up the resources…”

AS USUAL SHY$E TALK that would appease lesser mortals BUT NOT PIECE THE LEGEND!

In theory all that financial resources shy$e talk sounds good but let de ole man fill you in with the actual stuff.

Suppose the PdP needs $10 million to run their campaign, AND I HAVE $1 MILLION, WHO DO I GIVE IT TO?

Is the party incorporated?

What is is corporate structure?

What happens with my money from a budget point of view AND FROM THE POINT OF VIEW OF DISSOLUTION?

So you see all your theoretical waffle? De ole man going destroy you so called expertise by demanding you come here AND SHOW YOUR CREDENTIALS or get to RH out of Dodge!

The Honourable Blogmaster does bow down to all uh wunna but de ole man does show wunna up EARLY O’CLOCK

LIKE I DID WALTER!

now, if you is all dis marketing expert dat you claim you is, when you come back heah, show us what are the mechanisms that would satisfy a financial well wisher!

Otherwise leave the studio!

The real practical issue, however, is whether the party has such an election in its strategic focus and more importantly, the political machinery to tackle it…”

13. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Reverend Joseph Atherley

As you read these submissions YOU START TO UNDERSTAND THAT MUCH THOUGH WAS PUT INTO YOUR VICTORY.

BUT YOU ARE ALREADY AWARE THAT MUGABE MOTTLEY INTENDS TO DESTROY YOU IN THE PROCESS.

Ironside and Peter Wickham only confirm what de ole man posted to you over 2 weeks ago.

And if I did not know better de ole man might be inclined to think that my submission was ……

Anyways be that as it may de ole man will continue with Ironside s quote

“…once parliament is dissolved Atherley ceases to be relevant ‘cause he has no political party to speak of, they don’t have any branches, they don’t have any branch movement…no branch chairman…”

And here Reverend Atherley THEY ARE ENTIRELY WRONG BECAUSE GOT TOLD ME TO TELL YOU THIS

“…You MUST ASSAIL “THE MOTTLEY STRONGHOLD” because, though YOU WILL LOSE in the physical, YOU WILL WIN.

and you must announce your candidacy for St Michael North East now. Not in 2021. There is a reason Reverend…”

Let this sink in for a little bit!

You see how Wickham is seeing this with his physical eyes BUT DE OLE MAN IS BEING SHOWN THIS BY GOD! who Peter does NOT BELIEVE IN, by the way!

He and Ironside running your campaign the old way IN 2023

GOD IS RUNNING YOUR CAMPAIGN NOW and putting you in EVERY SINGLE BAJAN’s MOUTH!

AND THE PARTY!

AND WHAT CAN MUGABE DO ABOUT YOUR ANNOUNCEMENT Reverend Atherley?

Nothing?

She CANNOT FIGHT YOUR ASCENDENCY THROUGH YOUR SELF SACRIFICE!

Do you comprehend this 18 to 12 Victory?

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Reverend Atherley

So de ole man continues by repeating

“…and you must announce your candidacy for St Michael North East now. Not in 2021…”

What are the reasons Reverend Atherley?

I will share 2 of the three of them with you Reverend.

Immediately as you make these announcements you AND THE PdPs viewability increase

It will mean that you AND THEY are going to have to work twice as hard, IN BOTH CONSTITUENCIES, but you understand what happens then.

You and your party are immediatelygoing to get the exposure and opportunity to let people understand WHY YOU, THE LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION, AT 2019, are making this LAST STAND and fight this demon MUGABE in her S.M.N.E lair!

This is what real men do Reverend AND YOU ARE A MAN OF GOD.

YOU FEAR NO MAN, OR WOMAN, OR BEAST!

Are you understanding what de ole man is telling you?

GOOD!

15. @Piece the Legend…

Are you familiar with the philosophical thought experiment “If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

I truly don’t have any skin in this game. I don’t understand politics. It seems to involve /way/ too many “normals”.

However, I have personally found that gaining trust takes a little level of self-confidence.

Being willing to stand behind what one says, for example.

I hope that makes sense, and is taken sincerely.

16. “…and you must announce your candidacy for St Michael North East now. Not in 2021…”

I am done!🤣🤣🤣🤣

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

Right now @ Ironside and @ the Honourable Blogmaster are vexed and “flamed” with me.

I know why the Blogmaster is vexed because I have taken his evil and made it into a major Good that he cannot comprehend THE HOW! but this is GOD!

Ironside is another matter.

If he is not who he says he is, AND HE GETS VEXED, AND SPEAKS HIS ANGER, it exposes him to his readers.

Remember that his blog was posed early this morning and he came back at 3.33 pm to say

“…I have tried to keep the article short and organized so that disciplined individuals could dig into some of the points so that we could develop a semblance of a debate…”

So, if he goes down that road again HE IMMEDIATELY SHOWS READERS THAT HE IS ABOUT CONTROL

AND THAT HE IS DECIDING THE PACE FOR A TOPIC WHICH BUSH TEA AND NUFF BETTER PEOPLE DAN HE TALK BOUT with his johnnie come lately self.

What he would be saying is that this topic IS HIS SUBJECT MATTER, and no one else can comment on What is his.

And all uh wunna would see what de ole man is hinting about vis a vis his style!

However if he “debates” the points de ole man shotgun blast he wid adequately den he would show heself to be a real patriot

BUT EFFIN HE GET VEX AND “FLAMED” dat is he friend de Blogmaster word, and lef de blog vexed den heheheheh wunna would unnerstand de ole man inferences

Wunna see why dem HATE DE OLE MAN SO?

heheheheh

18. Looking from the outside i
    Rev Atherley made a mistake that too often many politicians make that is by having and inflated ego
    Then trying to use it to prove themselves right
    Wrong Atherley is yet to prove that he is worthy of the title of being called the oppisition
    Wrong ! Atherley made a clear decision that rather than be with the blp he would jump ship and become a pain in their side
    Wrong.. what Atherley was not prepared for was the backlash
    Atherley in the next election would pay dearly for that fatal error

19. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Chris Halsall

Ever single word I have written here is Truth.

There is NOT MUCH TIME for this plan

Bush Tea was telling Senator Caswell Franklyn to BUP for a longggg time AND CASWELL FOUGHT IT, but it IS GOD’S WILL!

What we as bajans must do Chris demands self sacrifice BECAUSE AS DR. GP IS SAYING HERE ALL THE TIME, WE ARE FIGHTING FOR THE SOUL OF OUR NATION.

50 DEATHS, POLITICIANS LOCKED UP IN AMERICA, DRUGLORDS IN PARLIAMENT, CONSTITUTIONAL CHANGES AT A WHIFF, MEKKING YOU FADDER A KNIGHT, FORGIVING $1 MILLION IN TAXES what else do you need to understand where the country is going?

Must My God send a tsunami to show you His Absolute power and turn you aware from this pestilence called Mugabe?

Pray that He sends you good men and women WHO WILL DO HIS WILL Chris.

I pray that all of you can understand what is being said AND THAT YOU TURN AWAY FROM THIS ABOMINATION that prostitutes the ashes of our forefathers for meaningless trifles.

I can do this for as long as He Commands Me to do it but pause a while and read what He has guided my pen to wrote AND GIVEN ME THE WORDS TO SPEAK.

Good night.

20. Piece the Legend Avatar

Last comment for the night for Chris Halsall in suspense good night

21. Steuspe.

22. @ David November 29, 2019 6:33 PM
    “Watch we plant 1 million trees”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What’s (so) up with this figure of a “Million”?

Recently it was the call for a million people being the desired figure for an economically-sustainable future Barbados.

Now it is a million trees for an environmentally sustainable Barbados.

Are these “1 million trees” in addition to the existing Bajan tree population?

So where would the million people live if they have to compete for land space against an additional million trees requiring an extra 2,500 to 3,000 acres in order to grow?

Would the ‘old’ CLICO plantations’ lands now under State controlled be commandeered to meet this national target for both immigrant ‘workers’ and locally-bred trees?

How about starting with the ‘greater’ forestation of the Scotland District; one of the most breathtakingly scenic places in the Caribbean?

Aren’t trees, especially fruit-bearing trees, the ‘bedrock’ of human (and other animal life) on the planet called Earth?

How about being proactively practical (in the interest of national food security and in reducing the forex-draining and massively embarrassing food import bill) by making the Scotland district both the fruit and bread baskets for Barbados?

Why not come up with a programme to get the same tree-planting young people to switch more to public transportation or even to walk more and away from using the too many ‘thousands’ of polluting private vehicles on the already overly congested roads of which too many are in an awful state of disrepair?

PS: Would the planting of cannabis trees qualify as part of this nationalistic drive towards a Greener Barbados; even if the objective is to save millions in forex currently leaked through the roots of the illicit (underground) trade?

23. @Miller…

A metaphor is often used to express a deep thought without a lot of words.

Some can do it. Others, not so well…

24. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar
    SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife

@Miller “Nope. Because cannabis trees are bushes, not trees. We want permanent trees, trees that will outlive us, not ones that will go up in smoke as son as they are six feet tall.

25. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar
    SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife

@Ironside “Barbadians are by nature short-term thinkers. We are very much unlike many eastern peoples, the Chinese in particular, who are long-term thinkers. Speaking generally, that explains why we wait until a hurricane is upon us to buy emergency supplies, why we do not save and why we are always late! It is ingrained in our DNA. In the social psychology of Barbados, it is a major theme!”

And where did you learn these thigs? Or are you just making up stuff as you go along?

The Japanese are “Eastern people” I think. Yet they developed “just in time.” The exact reasons for adoption of JIT in Japan are unclear. Plenert offers four reasons, paraphrased here. During Japan’s post-World War II rebuilding of industry: 1) Japan’s lack of cash made it difficult for industry to finance the big-batch, large inventory production methods common elsewhere. 2) Japan lacked space to build big factories loaded with inventory. 3) The Japanese islands were (and are) lacking in natural resources with which to build products. 4) Japan had high unemployment, which meant that labor efficiency methods were not an obvious pathway to industrial success. Thus the Japanese “leaned out” their processes. “They built smaller factories … in which the only materials housed in the factory were those on which work was currently being done. In this way, inventory levels were kept low, investment in in-process inventories was at a minimum, and the investment in purchased natural resources was quickly turned around so that additional materials were purchased.” Plenart goes on to explain Toyota’s key role in developing this lean or JIT production methodology.Wikipedia

Maybe Bajans also independently developed and practice just in time for exactly the same very rational reasons as the Japanese. Maybe we wait until a hurricane is upon us before buying supplies because we too lack cash. Maybe we too lack space to store large amounts of supplies at home.Maybe we too “lean out” our household budgets. Maybe we do a risk analysis and determine that our meagre $300 is better spent buying food now, paying for water now, buying school uniforms now, instead of storing supplies for something that may never happen in our lifetimes. Maybe Bajans are a rational and sensible people.

Maybe if a third party would start here. Here being the respect that is due to Bajans because we are not NOT sheeple, NOT foolish, NOT short-term thinkers, maybe, then maybe a third party will get somewhere.

26. @SimonPresidentForLife…

I consider myself to have been incredibly lucky in my life. I was introduced to many different types of thinking, including “eastern”, during my early upbringing.

Some of my earliest memories are being taught to read, and having walls of books immediately at hand to pull down and read.

And, importantly, having teachers available who would try to answer any questions I might have had. Including the important answer “I can’t answer your question.

IMO, questions are good. Strong people are comfortable with questions.

27. ” From the Hastings/Garrison area, along Bay Street, the Pierhead and Cavans Lane, Hincks Street and beyond into Black Rock, you will see massive change.”

28. “What’s (so) up with this figure of a “Million”?”

always watch them when they are obsessing with only one figure…the figure they used most to rob the treasury and pension fund was 60 millions US…even low class Bizzy “gimme” when he jumped out with his big brian scheme to tief BWA he wanted 60 whole Million dollars, free of course like it’s his AND the BWA…

…watch those THIEVES..

29. “Why not come up with a programme to get the same tree-planting young people to switch more to public transportation”

The degradation, corruption and complete mismanagement of the public funded transport system have them with ..NO WORKING TRANSPORT, the reason why they are so many, too many cars on such a tiny island….everything leads right back to government corruption and theft of public funds..

30. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife November 29, 2019 10:22 PM
    “@Miller “Nope. Because cannabis trees are bushes, not trees. We want permanent trees, trees that will outlive us, not ones that will go up in smoke as son as they are six feet tall.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Of course the reference to mary jane- aka the ‘weedy-grassy’ tree of medicinal and sacramental good but recreational evil- was done to provoke a ‘simplistic’ reaction from your ilk.

So what kind of long-lasting trees would you be planting, Presidente?

The ‘simple’ garden variety of the magic money tree so you can buy your own vehicle (instead of the ZR) to transport your own homegrown produce (including the pigs) to market?

Or would it be your own ‘unique’ variety of the Bajan sugar apple, hog plum or the mahogany full of birds?

Or would you be a bit more conspicuously fancy and go for the imported Redwood or the biblical Cedar from Lebanon or, as the myth goes, the infamous dogwood on which Yeshua was crucified?

How about “la belle de nuit” ‘flowering tree’ to be used as outdoor Xmas trees instead of spending “millions” in forex to import those which end up in the annual ostentatious collection destined for the dump heap on Mount Stinkeroo?

31. @Chris Halsall November 29, 2019 8:14 PM

++++++++
    Re: @Piece the Legend…

Are you familiar with the philosophical thought experiment “If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound? ………

I hope that makes sense, and is taken sincerely.
    ++++++++

I would not hold my breath on that if I were you!

That person is just full of venom and bitterness. Happens to some in their old age. This (blogging) is his catharsis. Let him be!

And look! he is changing; right before our eyes. He is now into prophecy; the PdP’s – and Atherley’s- prophetic oracle!

32. @ Sir Simple SimonPresidentForLife November 29, 2019 10:42 PM

+++++++++
    @Ironside

“Barbadians are by nature short-term thinkers. We are very much unlike many eastern peoples, the Chinese in particular, who are long-term thinkers. Speaking generally, that explains why we wait until a hurricane is upon us to buy emergency supplies, why we do not save and why we are always late! It is ingrained in our DNA. In the social psychology of Barbados, it is a major theme!”

[1] And where did you learn these thigs? Or are you just making up stuff as you go along?
    ++++++++++

I just cooked them up in the kitchen…because I don’t have a library like Chris! Or the Internet like you!

[2] ++++Maybe Bajans also independently developed and practice just in time for exactly the same very rational reasons as the Japanese+++

Maybe that explains why the Japanese have a world class automobile and electronics industry and Barbadians are struggling with the export of black belly sheep.

Or why it took us (Caribbean countries, Barbados included) 11 years to regain our intellectual property rights to Sea Island cotton…from the Japanese!

+++++++
    “It (the trademark) was registered in Japan, but when it expired instead of GIVING US TIME (my emphasis) to re-register ourselves they (West Indies Sea Island Cotton Club of Japan) went ahead and registered it themselves and refused to pass it back to us,” Vitus Evans, chief executive officer of Jamaica Agricultural Development Foundation (JADF), the entity leading the development of West Indies Sea Island Cotton in Jamaica, told the Financial Gleaner.+++++++

Or why the Chinese have virtually achieved their dream of being a dominant economic power rivalling that of the USA…

All of these were due to JIT; not strategic (long-term) thinking.

Respectfully, “Sir”, I think you mean “rationalization” [“rational reasons”????]. This is Psychology 101. Hope you have a suitable tome in your library. Otherwise ask Chris.

Or Newton’s first law (“inertia”). Physics 101.

+++++An object at rest stays at rest and an object in motion stays in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced force++++

Hope you have a suitable tome in your library. Otherwise….ask Chris!

Or why many do not have a drop of water to flush the loo if the water goes off! [I practice rain water harvesting and my wife insists on having several large bottles of water nearby just for that purpose!]

Maybe, just maybe…. we are just making good old Bajan excuses for “pharting” put tardiness, incompetence, non-performance and, of course,reactivity!

Perhaps we should take out patents and/copyrights on our excuses!

P.S. An alcoholic seldom admits to being a drunkard! Ditto a nation!

33. RE: Ironside November 30, 2019 5:24 AM

That should read: “ ‘pharting’ out” instead of ” ‘pharting’ put”

34. On a serious note. The Prime Minister of Malta will be resigning today. Individuals close to him have been linked to the assassination of the investigative journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia.

For those of you who may be interested, I would urge you to look closely at Malta and The Maldives.

These two countries have become synonymous with the unrivaled corruption practised by their ruling parties. The similarities with Barbados are evident.

If you want to see where we are heading then focus on Malta and the assassination of Daphne Caruana Galizia.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/nov/29/the-guardian-view-on-the-daphne-caruana-galizia-investigation-the-ministerial-connection

35. Me thinks the island is there already, some say that PUBLICLY covering up a murder is just as bad or even worse, but what do i know.

36. Let’s hope the usual suspects and gaggle of small island riffraff are not so arrogant and full of themselves to believe they can shut up anyone, they may want to remember that handcuffs and ankle monitors are ALREADY in their futures and they know why, besides, am quite sure the intent has already been discuseed in certain circles and they are all being monitored, so it’s up to them to seal their own coffins and free trips to prison.

37. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Sage Annunaki

I think that you understand these catchy phrases AND THEIR PURPOSE MUCH BETTER THAN MOST PEOPLE and definitely the Sheeple.

This is classic Mao Zedong packaged around the Million Man March and a mixture of how to distract NUFF BAJANS WHILE BOTH THE SHEEPLE AND OUR PEOPLE DO NOTHING!

Mia Mottley has shown an acute understanding of people and their predisposition to absorb WAFFLE EN MASSE.

Just look at this Million Trees idea and the elements of THE GREAT LEAP FORWARD and you clearly see the similarities.

We should expect the idea to be paired with some symbolic launch by Louis Farrakan to cement the “million” trees concept IN A COUNTRY WITH DROUGHT!

38. Well, what can we say, trees do require enuff water..lol

39. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Talking Loud Saying Nothing

“…These two countries have become synonymous with the unrivaled corruption practised by their ruling parties. The similarities with Barbados are evident.

If you want to see where we are heading then focus on Malta and the assassination of Daphne Caruana Galizia…”

You sir read!

People read!

How many of the sheeple that abound in Barbados read?

Do you think that these predominantly SHEEPLE GIVE A RH?

2020 begins the monthly fetes and wuk UPS in the parishes WHICH WILL BE ATTENDED BY SOME DRUNKEN MEN FIGHTS AND STABBING WHILE THE INEBRIATED REACH OUT TO TOUCH SOMEBODY WOMAN!

Someone with insights to WHAT WILL HAPPEN would have started a SENSITIZATION message IMMEDIATELY ON LAUNCHING THE RIPPOFF 2020 IDEA about how people are to behave!

A proactive TUBBY THE GUARD CAMPAIGN but, being devoid of any Spiritual Elements IT HAS NO SUCH MESSAGE.

But after de ole man published this GIS WILL RUSH TO CATCH UP.

Keep vigilant TLSN and keep watching.

40. Happy Independence Barbados!

41. Are we truly aware of what is happening in the Caribbean where the selling of citizenship within Caricom has become the norm.

The planting of trees and the proposal by Mia to produce a national garden is merely the politics of distraction.

I despair over the Caribbean. How is it possible that the Prime Minister of Grenada has been in power for 25 years.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/oct/16/the-passport-king-who-markets-citizenship-for-cash

42. @ David November 29, 2019 4:23 PM re: @Ironside

Sorry about the late response…it’s hectic at this time!

++++Without overanalysing the current state of affairs+++

You are not. On the contrary, there is need for deeper analysis. For example, I would want to hear Wickham on the “middle class vote”: Who exactly is the middle? Is there a pattern to its duopoly voting? Does it vote personality? Leadership? Policies? 64 million $ question: How big is it?

+++The electorate voted for the BLP 30-0 mainly because it was dissatisfied with the performance of the last DLP government++++

AGREED.

But, given the success of SB in 2018, however limited, is there is “religious vote” worth targeting in Barbados? a by-election, if it were to come, could allow the PDP or any “religiously-oriented” part to test that vote provided relevant the research was done in advance.

+++The PdP is a contrived opposition+++

AGREED: born in and bathed in controversy!

+++….although one has to admit Senators Drakes and Franklyn have been doing a good job++

AGREED
    I have also listened to video presentations by Hennis, Fanklyn and others and I think there is something sold going on here. We need to encourage these guys if we are to break the duopoly. It is not going to be easy but persistence and medium/long-term planning will bring success.

I worry about Atherley…it is going to be a tough fight to get back in. He has to think out his campaign very clearly. Also he needs a strong deputy. Lots of planning and organizing to do here!

+++Unfortunately that party and the others do not have a base and are not doing anything to build one+++

AGREED! Cannot be emphasized enough!

It is the point Wickham is making. I am not interested in Wickham’s personality, sexual orientation etc. If he is making a point that is TRUE I am prepared to listen. So should the prospective third parties!

Unfortunately in Barbados, we have the Law of Slow Learning and the Law of Fast Forgetting (not to mention Newton’s Law of inertia) in simultaneous operation!

+++Bear in mind both the DLP and BLP have a core of support on the active voters list+++

AGREED That- and more- is what I meant when I said (think it is in part 2) that it would be foolhardy to count out the DLP.

+++The X factor will be the ability to mobilize disaffected persons eligible to vote.+++

TRUE: That is true but there is room for a more “positive” approach, for example, targeting a “religiously-oriented” vote if that segment is substantial. This calls for serious research upfront.

+++On the other hand the DLP despite the shellacking has a brand that will act as a default position if a credible third party movement fails to gain traction.+++

AGREED! Dear Lord, help us!
    But you are on target….talking serious strategic marketing here re. “a brand that will act as a default position!”

Very meaty points!

43. Why is King David mocking the citizens of Barbados?

44. The whole place is falling apart and her new measures all built on a platform to save face is talk of planting trees
    Steupse
    This is the kind of change Barbados voted for
    Measure 1 . A 2020 initiative called We Gathering
    Measure 2 We planting a million trees
    Wuh loss muh belly hurting on Independence day
    Mia uh ought to be ashamed when many bellies going hungry today our 53rd year of Independence and u talking about planting trees

45. “Someone with insights to WHAT WILL HAPPEN would have started a SENSITIZATION message IMMEDIATELY ON LAUNCHING THE RIPPOFF 2020 IDEA about how people are to behave!”

something that has not yet fully returned to BITE..

46. @ Piece the Legend,

You call them sheeple; I call them frogs.

Check your spam blogmaster.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boiling_frog

47. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside

People are creatures of habit, for the most part, unless trained otherwise.

I will not comment on your “form factor “, or why the protectionism practices of the Honourable Blogmaster gave you away.

Nor will I comment on how the proliferic writing goaded your accustomed responses.

This blog IS TO ASSIST IN THE BUILDING OF A VIBRANT THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT in the 15 months remaining before the General Elections.

ITS NOT FOR YOUR ASCENSION OR MINE as political strategists.

The only party that is ready for this critical action IS THE PEOPLE’S PARTY FOR DEMOCRACY AND DEVELOPMENT!

The current leadership, as per the words of your friend the Honourable Blogmaster is compromised, AND SHORT OF A MIRACLE, REVEREND ATHERLEY will not be able to enter the HoA!

Given that eventuality I, Piece the Legend speak, predict, prophesy, and use whatever words and verbs WHICH MAKE THE ELECTORATE WAKE UP!

In the process, I WILL BE TAINTED AS A MADMAN, which is an improvement on Tin Foil BUT, the greater good IS THE OBJECTIVE HERE not my purported mental state!

Mugabe is purported to be a lesbian who bit off a clitoris BUT IN THE SAME WAY SUCH DOES NOT INVALIDATE HER FUNCTION, i rely on that truth when i say, EXAMINE THE VERACITY OF HOW I PROPOSE THAT THE PDP WINS!

True to form, you have shown your panties and how you respond when YOUR MASTER PLAN IS DEBUNKED.

But that is not important.

BARBADOS’ WELLBEING IS THE SUPERLATIVE CONSIDERATION HERE!

Reverend Atherley MUST RISE ABOVE THIS CURRENT IMAGE AS BEING MOTTLEY’S TIN FOIL MAN and endear himself to all Barbadians as a TRUE PATRIOT!

And this is my concern about the partiality being shown by the Honourable Blogmaster

All people who love Barbados ask him to do is “LET ALL SIDES BE GIVEN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY TO REPRESENT BARBADOS”

48. @Ironside

See a few comments in blue.

But, given the success of SB in 2018, however limited, is there is “religious vote” worth targeting in Barbados? a by-election, if it were to come, could allow the PDP or any “religiously-oriented” part to test that vote provided relevant the research was done in advance.

There will always be a religious, environment and other type interest voting segments but will be more fringe, not enough to win seats although some may argue these narrow voting blocs can serve as spoiler depending on the messaging of the two main parties.

I have also listened to video presentations by Hennis, Fanklyn and others and I think there is something sold going on here. We need to encourage these guys if we are to break the duopoly. It is not going to be easy but persistence and medium/long-term planning will bring success.

I worry about Atherley…it is going to be a tough fight to get back in. He has to think out his campaign very clearly. Also he needs a strong deputy. Lots of planning and organizing to do here!

Agree ,we have seen good individual presentations from members in the third party cohort but it is the perceived strength of the political party at the national level by the public that must create the impetus to penetrate the psyche of the electorate.

+++Unfortunately that party and the others do not have a base and are not doing anything to build one+++

AGREED! Cannot be emphasized enough!

It is the point Wickham is making. I am not interested in Wickham’s personality, sexual orientation etc. If he is making a point that is TRUE I am prepared to listen. So should the prospective third parties!

Unfortunately in Barbados, we have the Law of Slow Learning and the Law of Fast Forgetting (not to mention Newton’s Law of inertia) in simultaneous operation!

The Barbados society is what it is for the most part – conservative with a heavy dose of hypocrisy. Wickham will have to battle the sexual orientation argument from the public for some time to come. In the opinion of this blogmaster he continues to damaged his credibility with the opinionated positions he is prepared to take in his other role as social commentator. He thrives on being an opinion shaper that some argue feeds the numbers for poll data. Do a simple survy among your friends who group in the middle class and have a sebnse where their minds are at. This group will go with a message that aligns with their pockets; being able to secure education for children and personal lifestyles. An immature position but we are a work in progress after all.

+++Bear in mind both the DLP and BLP have a core of support on the active voters list+++

AGREED That- and more- is what I meant when I said (think it is in part 2) that it would be foolhardy to count out the DLP.

+++The X factor will be the ability to mobilize disaffected persons eligible to vote.+++

TRUE: That is true but there is room for a more “positive” approach, for example, targeting a “religiously-oriented” vote if that segment is substantial. This calls for serious research upfront.

Do not agree with you. As stated abouve, these are fringe votes that will never count enough to win seats.

49. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Reverend Joseph Atherley

No matter which agent of the Barbados Labour Party WHO HAS PLAYED OFF THE RELIGIOUS NAME OF IRONSIDE SMARTLY (see the entry of that name on this blospace), no matter what you are told about that hairbrained idea of YOUR FINDING A DEPUTY , do not entertain it!

If you do, IT WILL KILL THE PDP!

You are being lured NOT ONLY TO YOUR POLITICAL DEATH, but, if you follow the reincarnated Ironside down this rabbit hole, IT WILL TRANSFORM YOU, AND THE PDP, INTO FEMALE RABBITS and CHVUNTS!

Ok, don’t take what Piece the Legend is saying to you as the Truth!

But go to your constituency AND WALK THROUGH IT and observe the way how people react to you @ 2019!

Test de ole man’s assessment of your political currency Joe, prove me wrong yourself.

You are on your way out, comfortably so too, but this is your swansong

ONCE YOU HAVE FORMED THE POLITICAL PARTY, convene a meeting AND ENDORSE SENATOR CASWELL FRANKLYN AS LEADER!

All your colleagues will support this vote.

After that act WALK YOUR CONSTITUENCY AGAIN Joe!

I am NOT SPEAKING TO YOU as if I am trying to get a job Joe.

I am seeking to save a country IN 15 MONTHS!

You are not the fastest moving man in the History of Politics Joe.

This is not an insult, IT IS FACT and you MUST ACCEPT THAT if my prediction, comment, remark, prophecy IS RIGHT then you CANNOT BE THE ONE TO LEAD!