During the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) 81st Annual Conference in Queen’s Park on Saturday, Mottley described Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley, De Peiza and Solutions Barbados’ leader Grenville Phillips as “Eenie, Meenie and Miney” who were poor alternatives to the BLP Government.

[Nation Newspaper 27 October 2019]

The political barbs Prime Minister Mia Mottley lobbed at the three visible faces who represent the dissenting voice of political parties in our democratic system has evoked some public comment. Mottley in an address at the 81st Annual Conference of her political party used the occasion to rev up her political base – throw some reed meat at the loyal subjects. To intuitive political observers this is standard fare.

Have we forgotten not too long ago in order to avert a constitutional crisis serious consideration was given to creating Senate seats for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP)? That idea was scrapped presumably because our system of government is derived from a first past the post and not propositional representation. Bishop Joseph Atherley conveniently defected to the Opposition side and as they say the rest is history.

Leaders of organizations anchor positions taken based on values and purpose partially influenced by management philosophers of the past like Elton Mayo, Peter Drucker, Henry Gantt, Edward Deming et al. Political leaders will cite Machiavelli, Madison et al for the same reasons. Unlike Verla De Peiza, Grenville Phillips II, Joseph Atherley et al Mia Mottley – the political animal that she is – will not ignore the opportunity to stoke her popularity within the party. Imprinted on her mind are the faces of Dale Marshall, Ronald Toppin, Gline Clarke and George Payne who were instrumental in ousting her as leader of the BLP to make way for the return of Owen Arthur in 2010.   So far she has adhered to Sun Tzu’s advice to “keep your friends close and your enemies closer”. Mottley wears the scares of her confrontations within the BLP to give currency to the position by many that politics is as a blood sport.

To cut a log story short, Mia Mottley is Prime Minister of Barbados AND leader of the Barbados Labour Party. This blogmaster anticipated her message to the annual party conference would have been laced with the usual political rhetoric and hyperbole.  What Phillips, Da Peiza and Atherley must do is to exercise political gravitas in the counter to be seen as relevant in the minds of the electorate. Make no mistake, the average Joe will entertain a political actor who is not averse to riposte.

The Prime Minister at the Conference threatened to withhold a subvention Owen Arthur approved (Cabinet decision) for all political parties represented in the House of Assembly. Richie Hayne’s of the National Democratic Party (NDP) received the subvention of $150,000 when he displaced  the BLP as the official Opposition. The subvention is allocated in the Estimates to Parliament under the authority of the Clerk of Parliament to disburse to the Leader of the Opposition to assist with administrative expenses. Arthur was sensible enough to appreciate a democracy is as strong as a quality opposition.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley should immediately suppress the temptation to rescind the practice of giving the subvention to political parties sitting in parliament. Given the overwhelming majority of the BLP sitting in the Lower House why has she made this an issue?

A word to the wise should be sufficient.

185 responses to “Mottley Don’t be a Moe!”

1. PEOPLE PRAY FOR THIS NATION BARBADOS AND ITS LEADERS AS “PRIDE GOES BEFORE THE FALL”!

Recently PM Described the Position of Running Barbados as a Throne, Portraying how she sees her Role, as Queen B of Barbados… QUEENS RULE THEIR SUBJECTS… The PM AND CIVIL SERVANTS ARE SUPPOSE TO SERVE THE PEOPLE NOT RULE, IF SO THEY BECOME THE MASTERS AND NOT SERVANTS OF THE PEOPLE!

SO IS IT ALL ABOUT POWER AND EGO FOR THIS BEE! SEEM SO EVIDENTLY!! THIS PM QUEEN B, NEEDS TO “BE” AWARE OF PRIDE!

https://memeshappen.com/media/created/2019/05/-Dont-mess-with-the-queen-bee.jpg

2. Mia mouthings at Queens Park sent a message of insecurity
    Yes her utterances may have seemed as necessary and of importance to her supporters
    However nestled in side her utterances were words of effect that she knows that she is being challenged from within and without and would do all that is necessary to fight her enemies even if it means withholding subvention which would make it harder for them to be financially stronger on the political battle field
    Her messages was not only filled with warnings but a woman consumed with the angst of being a leader and as OSA once said a person filled with beliving she is entiltled
    Nevertheless she would have to do more to convince those who are feeling the pain of the burdensome taxes placed upon their shoulders while in her earnest to fight her political enemies she feels the pressure of a 30-0 victory which is consuming her every thought
    She might have won the battle but her uterrances in Queens Park tells a story that she is beginning to lose the fight
    Words on the street are what she will have to fight going forward because their are where the troops are already aligned and ready for action
    A word to the wise

3. You seem to have written those comments with Stuart and the “Eagar 11” in mind.

4. Artax
    My words explains the truthfulness of Mottley utterances.. words defined to send a measure of wit ..ruthfulness but yet unable to hid her insecurity as she leveled her political content towards her enemies
    Nevertheless what she could not hide is the fear of being neglected by her supporters which she hoarded
    A nagging bug that dwells within her

5. Perhaps she has taken an online degree in Trumpology from Trump University and that horrible picture of her and Trump was taken just after he presented the diploma.

Red meat to the base indeed! That conjures up a picture of savage, snarling beasts at a Roman coliseum being trained for gladiator fights.

Is that why they call them political animals?

Shouldn’t we expect human beings, even so called political animals, to have evolved from this blood lust?

Do the times not require that we think rather than feel?

Should our leaders not encourage us to be sober and thoughtful, that is if they are confidant that beings so will not cause us to defect from their camp?

Why do they want us to feel rather than to think? Surely we cannot feel our way out of this mess! Surely we must now overcome our feelings and think creative thoughts that lead to the creation of a new reality?

Or are we to create a virtual reality through our emotions, viewed through a party lens?

6. That “being so’.

7. William Skinner Avatar

“The Prime Minister at the Conference threatened to withhold a subvention Owen Arthur approved (Cabinet decision) for all political parties represented in the House of Assembly. Richie Hayne’s of the National Democratic Party (NDP) received the subvention of $150,000 when he displaced the BLP as the official Opposition. The subvention is allocated in the Estimates to Parliament under the authority of the Clerk of Parliament to disburse to the Leader of the Opposition to assist with administrative expenses. Arthur was sensible enough to appreciate a democracy is as strong as a quality opposition.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley should immediately suppress the temptation to rescind the practice of giving the subvention to political parties sitting in parliament. Given the overwhelming majority of the BLP sitting in the Lower House why has she made this an issue? “

How can a Prime Minister refuse to give a subvention to the Opposition?
    Wasn’t the Opposition leader appointed by the Governor General under the Constitution? Isn’t the Governor General the Head of State?
    Do these funds come from the taxpayers or a private party?
    This sounds very inaccurate.
    If it is so , on what grounds are the funds being withheld?
    This cannot be accurate.
    Just asking.

8. @William

What is a subvention?

9. With holding the subvention would weaken and limit the moral of the oppisition giving them less financial support and political expedience to go after her
    This is wickedness at its highest level which Mottley has threatened and which goes against the political dynamics of a democracy
    Mottley ought to be ashamed of those utterances and one day coming soon she and her party might regret those words
    Her words speak of a person consumed with political greed and selfishness and makes for wonder if she now belives that she has a right to reinvent the political wheel for her own purpose
    What a b..th

10. Reverend Joe is not Her Majesty’s loyal opposition as defined in the constitution!!!

He is merely a concoction by the BLP and Ms Mockley!!

A straw man!!

De Pizza and Grenville are the opposition outside of parliament.

Until one or both of them get elected with other of their parties the GOB is based on a nullity and Ms. Mockley is engaged in setting up a straw man to lick him down!!

Caswell. like Reverend Joe is another straw man.

11. I will not list the number of items that I have no real knowledge of.

I leave the heavy lifting on some topics to VC, NO, JA (J=John), WB, WS, GP, HA. my fearless leader :-), Artax ,occasionally the blog master and others.

They do an excellent job.

I am glad to see some things puzzled these braniacs.

The idea that the PM can wake up one morning and cut=off funds for the opposition is puzzling. Whilst some struggle with whether or not we have a real opposition or the quality of the opposition, we now learn that it may exist at the whim of Mia Motley.

Let me re-post the following:
    “How can a Prime Minister refuse to give a subvention to the Opposition?
    Wasn’t the Opposition leader appointed by the Governor General under the Constitution? Isn’t the Governor General the Head of State?
    Do these funds come from the taxpayers or a private party?
    This sounds very inaccurate.
    If it is so , on what grounds are the funds being withheld?
    This cannot be accurate.”

Though WS may have applied much more thought to the matter. I went by my guts and arrived at

“This cannot be accurate.”

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

In the interest of clarity which funds are under discussion,those attached to the office of the Leader of the opposition ? Or those to the leaders of political parties with representation in the House of Assembly?
    What does the Law say about these two distinct charges on the Consolidated Fund?

I am appalled at the very imprecise manner in which ideas and information are expressed,leading to a lot of waffle and confusion.

13. @Wiliam

Perhaps you missed this comment, will repeat.

What is a subvention?

14. @ David

I read in the piece something about $150,000. I really just asked a question.
    I really don’t think the article is accurate.

I think my concerns quoted the article quite extensively.

15. @Vincent

Good question, can we discuss both?

There is the allocation to the parliament used to pay the leader of the opposition and other officers of parliament managed by the Clerk of Parliament. Then there is the subvention Arthur approved to be given to political parties.

If this position can be challenged let us hear it.

16. Thanks for answering William. The blogmaster will wait for you or any other to clarify.

17. @ Mariposa 6.34

You are right. As I have said, a prime minister, less than 18 months in to a five-year term, speaking at the party’s annual jamboree, should be rousing her fan base with vision of the New Jerusalem, about the massive plans they have up their sleeves to change Barbados.
    Instead, she spent her time attacking the one-member Solutions Barbados, a political party only in the mind of the passive/aggressive authoritarian ‘leader’.
    The DLP is still suffering from its defeat and clearly De Peiza has not a clue what she is doing, and the other minor parties are out of consideration. We want to hear from the prime minister and minister of economic affairs what her plans are for the future of the nation. Or is it a secret?.
    I often compare the Mottley BLP with the 1961 Barrow Government, and something is seriously missing. I remember the excitement of the 1961 government, much of it with 20/20 vision was totally useless: the filling in of the Careenage and Constitution river; the tax-free deals with overseas businesses (remember Texas Instruments) who left immediately the tax-free period ran out; the promises of bagasse board, taught to us by the Cubans; the promise of glass from sand; and the slow death of the shrimp industry, just to mention a few.
    Mottley has not even embarked on any such project, apart from the debt default. Her presidential style is not working; her preaching, hands all over the place, unscripted like a Pentecostal preacher at revival.

18. @Vincent

Appreciate if you can clarify any matters here.

19. Barbados elected a party 30 to 0. They elected a de facto dictatorship with a leader who has embraced the power given to her.

After surviving the political savagery of OSA and still becoming PM what did you all expect ?

Accept the de facto and vote in 2023 an in facto.

@ Piece the Legend,

As you can see from the ” Diaspora Corner ” I continue to spend my time doing meaningful research.

In addition to perusing the history of Suriname I will divert some of my attention to Columbia.

uh wunda eff de PM does check de Diaspora Corner.

20. More vacuous nonsense. Have a listen to her speech and it covered a range of issues. Attacking the opposition was part of her speech. We should constructively criticize. Have you listened to the party conferences of the Tory and Labour parties recently.

21. @Hants,
    I was about to complain about accessing the Diaspora comments.

I clicked on it this morning and it went directly to the final page. This is a vast improvement and I must commend the blogmaster for this ability to multi-task (behind the scenes work and exchanging fisticuffs, and looking for other sparring partners 🙂 )… Just rocking.

Keep up the good work.

22. Your words definitely explains the truthfulness of the political rhetoric ALL politicians utter at the annual conferences of their respective political parties to excite supporters.

If you were to make an honest assessment of the speeches made by Arthur, Thompson, Stuart and DePeiza at annual conferences, I’m sure you’ll agree their “words can also be defined to send a measure of wit…… ruthfulness, but yet unable to hide their insecurity as they level their political content towards their enemies.”

It’s a strategy used by members of both the BLP and DLP…… and perhaps you’re reading too much into the nonsense. What you should do is remind members of ALL political parties to use their annual conferences to highlight their vision for the future social and economical development of Barbados and the policies they plan to implement to achieve those objectives.

However, perhaps you may want to refer BU to any political leader (or politician) in Barbados who wasn’t/isn’t insecure or had a fear of being neglected by their supporters.

Clyde Mascoll could not hide his insecurity when it came to David Thompson; Thompson could not hide his when it came to Denis Kellman; Mottley’s insecurity was heightened by Arthur, Marshall, Payne, Clarke et al; so too it was with Stuart when he heard about the “Eager 11;” and Verla cannot hide her insecurity because she is faced with the reality she may be the DLP’s interim leader.

Surely she remembers when the DLP lost the 1999 elections having won two seats to the BLP’s 26, Clyde Mascoll was elected as leader of the party after Thompson resigned. The DLP’s elders actually had Thompson “fielding in slips” waiting to take over as leader after Mascoll was successful in rebuilding the party.

So, it seems as though Clyde was seen only as interim leader.

While Mottley finds herself in a predicament similar that of Stuart……. Verla is faced with a situation similar to that of Clyde………

………….but she should be mindful……. history has a way of repeating itself.

23. Hal really
    Mia should have presented a viable score card of accomplishments and ideas all nicely wrapped into policies which is in the making
    However it is obviuos that she has realized that her policies of more taxation has weakened her support and like an unbridled horse trots out of the stable heads for the starting gate
    This conference can be described as Mia first campagain speech for 2023

24. A BLP or DLP Annual Conference is a big fete and indoor political mass meeting.

25. I do not base my opinions on what should be on the goings on at the party conferences of the Tory or the Labour party.

Where exactly has that got them?

Where has that sort of behaviour taken the US of A?

Just look at the tribal warfare that is paralyzing the UK and is destroying the US of A!

Why can we not be leaders instead of following the white man? Are you not now guilty of assuming that legitimate political activity must be modeled on European standards?

PS. There is something known as preparing an audience . One fills them with red meat and then they will be happy to wash it down with Kool Aid.

Vacuous comments indeed!

26. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 10 : 47 AM

I share your observations in the referenced intervention.
    Comparisons are usually a bit unfair. With 20/20 hindsight and a bit of nostalgia ,the past always looks perfect/ golden. Unfortunately,today’s leaders have a different slate of issues to handle and there are no templates and no management manuals to follow and to use.

I agree that some present day leaders are bringing a lot of past due date solutions/remedies to current issues , and they should be criticized and made aware of their shortcomings.
    But please avoid the personal comparisons. Different day. Different issues. National challenges are different.
    Political leaders should therefore avoid majoring in minors. It does not move the process forward. They distract from important tasks at hand.

27. Artax
    So i have included Mottley
    What is your Problem?
    Also dont forget her political salvo was for change
    Shouldnt change first start with her
    No point in you trying to defend Mottley position it is her words which i challenged all comprise of those she once crticized
    Words which will continue to haunt her and bite her in the a.rse
    Words like watch muh
    Yes indeed all are watching

28. If Ms Mottley is confident that the leaders of the opposing parties are not a threat because of their incompetence it would indeed be more sensible to ignore them and spend her time on her vision for a new Barbados. Positive energy TRUMPS negative energy when it comes to productivity.

Giving account of her stewardship thus far and communicating the way forward would have signaled a change from business as usual to business unusual.

29. Mariposa
    November 3, 2019 9:50 AM
    “With holding the subvention would weaken and limit the moral of the opp(o)sition giving them less financial support and political expedience to go after her…”

Mariposa,
    I recently pulled Miller aside and privately confabulated with him after he tried to “soup” up Piece Uh De Cock by making him believe that the PdP will probably get more than 18 seats in the next election.

I told Miller that an attempt will undoubtedly be made to remove any financial support from the PdP, and by the time the 2023 elections came around, the PdP will be thrashing about in its death throes.

I was not trying to parade myself as a 21st century Nostra-dumb-ass. Far from it. I simply told Miller that I am no politician, but if I can see this, any practicing politician will see it also. Machiavelli 101.

On reflection, I am sorry that I kept that conversation with Miller private and confidential. I should have written it down so that all BU readers could digest it. For confirmation, you can check with Miller.

LOL.

30. @ David November 3, 2019 10:27 AM
    “There is the allocation to the parliament used to pay the leader of the opposition and other officers of parliament managed by the Clerk of Parliament. Then there is the subvention Arthur approved to be given to political parties.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The proof of the “subvention” pudding is in its precedence of application.

Did Dr. Maria Agard carry a similar subvention with her when she gave up her Parliamentary “independence” and joined forces with the Lynette Eastmond-led UPP?

If not, should Rev. Joe be looking this subvention of a gift-horse in the mouth or counting his electoral chickens before his 20/20 vision?

Why not discuss a political scenario in which the good Lord Yahweh were to call home the ‘honourable’ Bishop Joe to higher service long before his electoral date with destiny?

Who would replace the poor chap the same way Tom and Errol had to be replaced to ensure the smooth running of the State?

Who would be willing to cross the floor of imaginary divide to fill Joe’s bishopric shoes in the post of the LoO while Chris Gibbs is awaiting his climb to the stairs of the HoA and ready to play the zero-sum game of political Duopoly according to the rules of William Skinner?

Would it be another Mia-appointed apostate the p(r)ostrated Gline looking for a bigger ministerial-type pay day before the close of political play?

31. @ Vincent

I often compare the Mottley BLP with the 1961 Barrow Government, and something is seriously missing. I remember the excitement of the 1961 government, much of it with 20/20 vision was totally useless(Quote)

Plse re-read the above. First, I made it clear that it was 20/20 vision with the wisdom of hindsight; and, second, I have not made any personal comparisons.
    I clearly said I often compare the Mottley BLP with the 1961 Barrow government ie government v government. What is personal about that? This is conventional comparative history.
    Thanks for reminding me that 2019 is not 1961; silly me.

32. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Artax at 11: 08 AM

Verla Depeiza can also learn from Mr. Mascoll’s mistakes . She does not have to repeat them. She is an intelligent woman. Just another perspective.

33. Well , well look at who ome out the wood work early Mariposa, Donna, Skinner, Gazzerts and Austin all known Dems who like to criticize everything Ms Mottley does .I hearf Ms Mottley spoke about saving the Barbados dollar from devaluation , the state of both the SSA and the Transport Board with the Dems not having bought a bus or garbage truck in 10 years NOT ONE and their on going efforts to rectify that situation.Ms Mottley also spoke about the QEH you all seem to have convenient ears.However as political leader she also attacked the opposition parties calling Ms Depeiza a POLIYICAL NIGHTWATCHMAN AND Rev Atherley an OPPORTUNIST all par for the course. I remember Mr Barrow, Mr Adams,Mr Sandiford, Mr Arthur,Mr Thompson and Mr Stuart all dping likewise so what is the halluballu about?This is what politicians do bunch of hyprocrites!.

34. “No point in you trying to defend Mottley position it is her words which i challenged all comprise of those she once crticized…”

I believe you read, yet you don’t understand what you read.

Anyhow…….could you please indicate to me where in my contribution i “tried to defend Mottley’s words?”

Thank you.

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 10 :47 AM

It is always best for leaders to be magnanimous in victory. The reason for the introduction of these “subventions” was to preempt politicians seeking funding from persons outside the political parties. Even the USA have similar public paid subventions.
    The public was given the reasons for their introduction when they were instituted. … to preserve democracy and the avoidance of corruption.

36. Walter Blackman

I belive your ever word stated in your above comment
    It is most likely that a man who have been in and around the politics of barbados can read the tea leaves

37. Clearly you missed the point big time. Why do you regard general comments to be directed at you? The comment again was general to say that ALL political parties engage in the rhetoric Mia spewed at the BLP 81st annual conference. Reference to the Torries and Labour was deliberate for an obvious reason. Politicians for the most part make decisions to pad their popularity and power base. It is how a political leader survives, it is why politics is often referred to as a blood sport.

38. David
    November 3, 2019 10:52 AM

“…. Have a listen to her speech and it covered a range of issues. …… We should constructively criticize……”

For the purpose of background, I would like to take this opportunity to remind BU readers that former PM Owen Arthur swore to Barbadians that, by 2020, Barbados would become a 1st world country.
    PM Arthur laid out no step-by-step policy statements or blueprint that we or anyone coming after him could follow so that his “empty promise” could be converted into something tangible or real.

2020 is almost upon us. For sure, we know that Barbados has not achieved 1st world status. Some of us are now wondering aloud if, instead, we have plummeted to “last world” status.

Thanks to you, I was able to listen to the BLP leader’s speech via the video you provided.
    I do not have criticism. I have questions.

The President of the BLP told her audience of BLP supporters and members something to the effect of “Be patient. All of you will get wuk”.

Was she promising full employment to all Barbadians or only supporters of the BLP?

If the promise was made to BLP supporters only, can we look forward to hearing and reading daily that DLP and other non-BLP supporters are losing their jobs and being replaced by BLP supporters (an employment zero sum game)?

There are many well-qualified Barbadians who possess special skills and qualifications who could make a meaningful contribution to the development of their country, but they are not members or open supporters of the BLP. Will they be systematically kept out of jobs commensurate with their qualifications and training? Will these jobs go instead to BLP square pegs stuffed into round national roles?

If the promise of full employment was made to all Barbadians, where are the step-by-step policy statements, pronouncements and blueprints to guide the government and obtain buy-in from all of us?

I can’t really say if I am just asking. LOL.

39. @Walter

Red meat!

40. Here is PdP with a voice, way to go!

PdP: Brace for more austerity

https://www.nationnews.com/IMG/013/90013/scott-weatherhead3021-450×303.jpg

MARIA BRADSHAW, mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

Added 03 November 2019

Barbadians are being warned to brace for more austerity measures in the coming months, including layoffs after Christmas.

This warning was issued yesterday by the Opposition People’s Party for Democracy and Development (PdP), during a press conference at the Parliament Buildings.

Scott Weatherhead, spokesman on tourism and international transport, said Government would not meet its target under the International Monetary Fund (IMF) agreed Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme.

“So citizens should brace for more austerity in the coming months as they try to meet this target. That will mean more layoffs after Christmas, that will mean more taxes in the new year, and that will mean a further reduction in Government spending which will result in poorer quality of services from institutions like the (Queen Elizabeth Hospital), the Water Authority, the Sanitation Service Authority, the Transport Board, and other government departments. (MB)

Subscribe now to our eNATION edition for the full story.

41. ” When you win, say nothing. When you lose, say less.”

Hopefully cool aid drinkers can understand the above.

42. “Verla Depeiza can also learn from Mr. Mascoll’s mistakes . She does not have to repeat them. She is an intelligent woman. Just another perspective.”

Mr. Codrington

I agree with your above comments.

However, in my opinion, unlike Verla, Clyde stayed away from the usual rhetorical, political diatribe.

Clyde was able to “lock horns” with the so-called “great economist,” Owen Arthur, by dissecting his economic policies, while articulating “another perspective” and his (Clyde) vision for the development of Barbados.

I recall when Clyde presented his social and economic policies under the caption “A fair share for all.”

He built kiosks in Deacon’s Road by the old bus shed, giving youngsters in the community an opportunity to become entrepreneurs. Unfortunately, the OSA administration sent MTW “bulldozers” to destroy the kiosks after saying they were built without Town & Country Planning permission.

Clyde did these things and more……. yet, he was jilted by the DLP.

What has Verla been able to offer Barbadians so far, to convince us she has the ability to lead Barbados?

She has not presented any social or economic alternatives that would indicate to us what are the DLP’s long-term or short-term plans for the future development of Barbados. Instead, she spends her time masking her fears with political posturing, spewing meaningless political rhetoric and “criticizing without bringing solutions.”

By now, Verla and the team she selected to shadow the Ministry of Finance should have done a comprehensive analysis of BERT and the debt restructuring program (e.g. if the payment to White Oaks justifies the savings realized on the debt). Perhaps she should read BU contributor John A’s comments on these issues and solicit his assistance.

Although she is intelligent, as you reminded us, Verla has so far not demonstrated she has leadership qualities…….under her leadership, she hasn’t done anything inspiring to lift the DLP out of the abyss……. the party seems to be still in limbo and hurting from the 30-0 defeat 17 months ago.

My point is, if Clyde was able to revitalize the DLP and presented alternative social and economic policies to those of Arthur……and was subsequently jilted by the party……Verla may also fall victim of a coup.

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

David asked “what is a subvention?”

A subvention is a grant of money, especially from a government.

Government=TAXPAYERS

A subvention is therefore taxpayers money, that is WE MONEY.

44. ” Barbadians are being warned to brace for more austerity measures in the coming months, including layoffs after Christmas ”

There will be lots of self employment opportunities for ” We Gatherin 2020 “.

45. Piece the Legend Avatar

WHO WROTE THIS ARTICLE?

MY MAN, WHO WROTE THIS?

Be truthful now wid this ole fool David King and tell de ole man, WHO WROTE THIS!

IF, IF IT IS YOU, then Mugabe Mottley going do everything in her power to close down Barbados Underground

In fact David King, EVEN IF IT IS NOT YOU, DIS SITE GOING GET CLOSED DOWN FOR DARING TO WRITE THIS ONE ARTICLE!

I sent a blog to you about Donville Inniss and it was not posted AND DE OLE MAN SAID TO MYSELF, “myself, dem hiding up comments about Pornville because, SINCE THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE IS MONITORING BU, dem doan want no comments to be visible about Pornville.

But YOU DONE BIN GOT ME SAYING WHAT DE BADWORD Honourable Blogmaster!

My man I gine begin with a few likkle points cause dis article mash up ALL DE REST OF MY BELIEFS BOUT YOU!

Cause unless dis is a next Machiavellian big move by you to sound out de waters….my man, de ole man confused BAD!!!

“…in order to avert a constitutional crisis serious consideration was given to creating Senate seats for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP)?

That idea was scrapped presumably because our system of government is derived from a first past the post and not propositional representation.

Bishop Joseph Atherley conveniently defected to the Opposition side…”

“Conveniently defected…”

Look at those words People and Sheeple

Those are extremely powerful words ESPECIALLY WHEN JUXTAPOSED AGAINST the admonition of Walter Blackman (tHB) and his partner (nearly said alter ego) John A!

Walter Blackman in another blog here said that the Leader of the Opposition Reverend Atherley had “failed” in responding to the recent report on the debt Restructuring Fiasco.

And de ole man has had to agree that, given the expertise at the side of the People’s Party, the financial expertise of Bruce Hennis seems visibly absent from the responses of the LoO!

But your article Honourable Blogmaster being written in this manner leads de ole man to wonder about the nature of your volte-face given your unwaning support for the regime elsewhere on BU!

Is this the Manchurian Candidate WHO HAS UNWITTINGLY BROUGHT THE THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT THAT DE OLE MAN PROPHESIED into being and now DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO KILL?

Is it remotely possible that ALL THIS “EENIE MEENIE Lucille Moe” talk is because Mugabe did not plan for the assembly of such talent in the House of Assembly and the Senate?

Is it Honourable Blogmaster that the People’s Party for Democracy and Development has brought the core of Men and Women of Principle tha Mugabe AND THE DLP and the Bedroom Policeman fear?

Is this why there is this new, subtle effort to attack de ole man and get me banned?

Is this why the Subvention IS BEING HALTED?

Do you dear Reverend Atherley NOT UNDERSTAND THAT YOU WERE BORN AND HAVE BEEN PLACED HERE, for such a time as this?

Do you Reverend Joseph Atherley think Our God is a Liar? and is to be mocked by you His servant?

Look around you and see how He Who Is Almighty God has sent you your Gideon’s Army Joe.

No one who understands the story of Saul of Tarsus CARES ONE IOTA ABOUT WHO YOU HAVE BEEN OR WHERE YOU CAME FROM JOSEPH!

All that Our God is asking you to do is “Choose this day WHO WILL BE YOUR GOD, Joseph”

We WILL SHOW MOTTLEY WHO IS EENIE!

46. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Artax “Verla is faced with a situation similar to that of Clyde.”

I hope that Verla has the courage and intelligence to pull a “Mia” on the dinosaurs in the DLP club, just as Mia cut out the balls, figuratively of course, of some of the BLP dinosaurs.

I trust that Verla does not permit them to pull a Clyde on her.

Simple Simon
    Looking forward to voting for a renewed DLP

47. If I were a government minister, I would try to poach some of these young African IT entrepreneurs. They would be an asset and would bring new ideas to a country that is in need of a lift. We could lure them to the country by offering them full citizenship after a period of ten years. We could offer them tax breaks and further incentives.

These are a can do people with a mentality far removed from the institutionalised Bajan.

An injection of new players is required to stimulate our country and the Bajan mindset.

48. Wrong post. Should have been in the vision to shifting to action post

49. @ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife November 3, 2019 1:05 PM
    “I trust that Verla does not permit them to pull a Clyde on her.”

Verla can be proactive and gain some brownie points by upping the stakes in her bid to become a politician who is palatable to the electable taste of a DLP-wary electorate.

She needs to swallow her misplaced Bajan pride (and arrogance) and issue an apology on behalf of the DLP for the bad treatment meted out to the Guyanese migrants under the previous DLP (mal)administration.

Seeing that the same Guyana has turned into the Cinderella of economic growth and opportunities for Bajans she can play the role of the pious Saint Verla by being a real gift from the Caricim god in bearing the sins of the previous DLP band of xenophobic bounty hunters.

50. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Vincent Codrington

I will quote you

“…It is always best for leaders to be magnanimous in victory.

The reason for the introduction of these “subventions” was to preempt politicians seeking funding from persons outside the political parties…”

And let me carry this a step further

In an article on this blog remarks are being dropped about the potential buyer of FCIB might be a drug lord because he is Colombian

Let us extrapolate on that speculation for a moment

Say that he is, AND HE, OR ANY OTHER DRUG DEALERS, SEE THIS AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO INGRATIATE THEMSELVES WITH THE OPPOSITION PARTY, then what?

While $150,000 might not necessarily stop the LoO if he were a dishonest person in the first place, it would certainly assist him in doing what Oppositions are supposed to do.

But then again people are starting to see why I call Mottley a Dictator and BY THESE ACTIONS WUNNA STARTING TO SEE DAT DE OLE MAN ENT WRONG!

HEHEHEHEH