Submitted by Dr. GP

Every summer at the Plymouth Brethren Assembly that I attend here in Central Florida, the 16 Sundays in June through September are devoted to one of the men in the church giving a talk on a chosen theme.

Last week on Sweet Sunday Sermon – Enoch,  I submitted  my contribution from the year when the assignment was for contributors to harp on one of the heroes of faith from Hebrews chapter 11. 

Last week on Sweet Sunday Sermon – Enoch, after sharing a few outlines on the book of Hebrews, we demonstrated how to go about presenting the salient features about a Bible character by employing the Biographical Method of Bible Study.

This week on Sweet Sunday Sermon – Caleb’s Inheritance, I have submitted  my contribution from the year when the assignment was to choose an Old Testament event or Bible character, comment briefly thereon, and then relate the lessons gleaned about the Old Testament event or Bible character  to a related New Testament passage.

I therefore  chose my favorite Old Testament Bible character CALEB, and after giving a brief Biography of this Old Testament Bible character surrounding his inheritance, in the second half, I  gave an exegesis (or verse by verse study) of 1 Peter 1:3-5 which discusses THE BELIEVER’S INHERITANCE. Our study this week is therefore entitled CALEB’S INHERITANCE (Joshua 14) & THE BELIEVER’S INHERITANCE (1 Peter 1:3-5).

The punch lines of this week’s  teaching are as follows.

• The salient features about the life of Caleb were that
  • GOD MADE HIM A PROMISE OF AN INHERITANCE
  • GOD KEPT THE PROMISED INHERITANCE FOR HIM
  • GOD KEPT HIM FOR THE PROMISED INHERITANCE
  • GOD ENSURED THAT HE RECEIVED THE PROMISED INHERITANCE
  • The salient features about 1 Peter:3-5, and thus the comparison with  the life of Caleb are that ……………………..
  • GOD HAS MADE A PROMISE OF AN INHERITANCE TO US BELIEVERS
  • GOD HAS KEPT/IS KEEPING OUR INHERITANCE FOR US BELIEVERS
  • GOD HAS KEPT/IS KEEPING US BELIEVERS FOR OUR INHERITANCE
  • GOD WILL/HAS ENSURED THAT WE RECEIVE OUR INHERITANCE
  • The Christian’s inheritance is not like anything in this world.
  • Peter describes our inheritance by four adjectives 
  • In substance:  it is incorruptible; It will not spoil or go bad. Sin cannot affect it. It will never wear out or get old. Nothing can destroy it.
  • In purity: it is undefiled;
  • In beauty: it is unfading”  It will not lose its beauty. It is not like metal that stops shining. Nor is it like a light that goes out.
  • In security: it is reserved God keeps this inheritance safe in heaven for each person who believes his promises

Those who are interested in Bible Biography and the concept of spiritual inheritance should fine the exegesis of the 1 Peter passage enlightening.

Before you post on these Sunday Sermon blogs, maybe you should like the Bereans in Acts 17:11, first consult the Word of God, to see if the things here said are so, by  studying the Scriptures diligently and inductively as enjoined in 2 Timothy 2:15 & Nehemiah 8:8 especially emphasizing reading the text literally and reading the text in its context so that you can be sure to keep context “king”, so that you will be able to competently comment on the commentaries (including the one you are reading here on BU)

Do so in dependence on The Teacher, the Holy Spirit (not me), Who Jesus promised would guide believers  into all truth (John 16:13). This way you are more likely to benefit from the discourse.

In the last 50 years I have heard teens and even some very uneducated elderly men give good and accurate thoughts on passages of the Word of God.

You might also even consult reputable Bible commentaries, or sermons or other resources, so that we may have a reasonably useful discussion. If you do not like the Bible, just stay away. That is much better than professing yourself to be wise and only proving yourself to be a fool as taught in Romans 1:22.

Screenshot 2019-10-26 at 14.42.09.png
Click image to follow full presentation – CALEB’S INHERITANCE

322 responses to “Sweet Sunday Sermon – CALEB’S INHERITANCE”

1. RE “And I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man, but to be in silence.” (1 Tim 2:12)

GO READ SOMETHING LIKE “MANNERS AND CUSTOMS” AND SEEK TO ASCERTAIN HOW THIS WAS PRACTICED.

JOHN NOTES HOW THE QUAKERS DID IT

THE WAY I HAVE SEEN IT PRACTICED AMONGST THE BAPTIST AND BRETHREN IS VERY GOOD PRACTICE

I PUT A WHOLE SERMON ON THE BLOG AND THIS IS ALL YOU CAN FIND IN YOUR PUERILE PETTY PEDANTIC PLOY TO COMMENT ON?

IS THIS HOW YOU WOULD GO ABOUT RUNNING BARBADOS?

YOU CANT TEACH ME BIBLE
    I HAVE READ TOO MANY TOMES BY THE GREAT SCHOLARS OF THE FAITH
    WHEN A TEXT IS CONTROVERSIAL ONE COMPARES WHAT IS TAUGHT BY SUCH SCHOLARS ONE DOES NOT COME TO BU TO LEARN FROM A NIT PICKER LIKE YOU

BE OFF BEFORE I TELL YOU A HAIR RAISING STORY

2. Here we have yet another BU man clearly trying to direct my thoughts, emotions, words and actions. Has he offered these exclamation pointed INSTRUCTIONS to any man who has here expressed his disagreement?

I have never come across any man who disagrees with the fact the one gender bears children and the other one doesn’t!!

… or for that matter any woman!!

3. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I have never committed adultery, NEVER.

Never had sex during the menstrual periods either.

Anybody you dared to suggest such a thing, was invited to stick it in his ear.

Lolll!!!

4. Let me assure you, sir, that I am indeed getting on with life – the life I have chosen for myself in my own way.

… and there’s the difference, no person, man or woman who ended up as missionaries made that choice on his or her own!!!

The message they have to teach is not of their own making.

They are just conduits, tools if you like.

A self absorbed man or woman has nothing to teach that anyone would want to learn!!!!

5. More than 200 years ago, Thomas Clarkson in trying to document what he saw of the Quakers had this to say.

In the same sense the Quakers consider all true ministers of the Gospel to be chosen. They believe that no imposition of hands or human ordination can qualify for this office. God, by means of his Holy Spirit alone, prepares such as are to be the vessels in his house. Those therefore, who, in obedience to this spirit, come forth from the multitude to perform spiritual offices, may be said to be called or chosen.

In this sense, nations may be said to be chosen also. Such were the Israelites, who by means of their peculiar laws and institutions, were kept apart from the other inhabitants of the world.

Now the dispute is, if any persons should be said to have been chosen in the scripture language, for what purpose they were so chosen. The favourers of the doctrine of election and reprobation, say for their salvation. But the Quakers say, this is no where manifest; for the term salvation is not annexed to any of the passages from which the doctrine is drawn. Nor do they believe it can be made to appear from any of the scriptural writings, that one man is called or chosen, or predestined to salvation, more than another.

They believe, on the other hand, that these words relate wholly to the usefulness of individuals, and that if God has chosen any particular persons, he has chosen them that they might be the ministers of good to others; that they might be spiritual lights in the universe; or that they might become, in different times and circumstances, instruments of increasing the happiness of their fellow-creatures. Thus the Almighty may be said to have chosen Noah, to perpetuate the memory of the deluge; to promulgate the origin and history of mankind; and to become, as St. Peter calls him, “a preacher of righteousness” to those who were to be the ancestors of men. Thus he may be said to have chosen Moses to give the law, and to lead out the Israelites, and to preserve them as a distinct people, who should carry with them notions of his existence, his providence, and his power. Thus he may be said to have chosen the prophets, that men, in after ages, seeing their prophecies accomplished, might believe that Christianity was of divine origin. Thus also he may be said to have chosen Paul,([95] and indeed Paul is described as a chosen vessel) to diffuse the Gospel among the Gentile world.

[Footnote 95: Acts 9. 15.]

6. So, are leaders of nations chosen by God too?

GP is saying and has said for a while that they are.

7. Thus also he may be said to have chosen Paul,([95] and indeed Paul is described as a chosen vessel) to diffuse the Gospel among the Gentile world.

So if Paul is a chosen vessel of God to diffuse the Gospel among the Gentile world, it is a brave man to suggest he got it wrong!!

Even Ananias obeyed God and went to Saul of Tarsus even though he figured he would be in big trouble!!

10 And there was a certain disciple at Damascus, named Ananias; and to him said the Lord in a vision, Ananias. And he said, Behold, I am here, Lord.

11 And the Lord said unto him, Arise, and go into the street which is called Straight, and enquire in the house of Judas for one called Saul, of Tarsus: for, behold, he prayeth,

12 And hath seen in a vision a man named Ananias coming in, and putting his hand on him, that he might receive his sight.

13 Then Ananias answered, Lord, I have heard by many of this man, how much evil he hath done to thy saints at Jerusalem:

14 And here he hath authority from the chief priests to bind all that call on thy name.

15 But the Lord said unto him, Go thy way: for he is a chosen vessel unto me, to bear my name before the Gentiles, and kings, and the children of Israel:

8. Saul of Tarsus thus got to bear God’s name not only to Gentiles and the children of Israel (Jews) but also to kings (leaders).

9. @ John

Is Quaker Oats affiliated to the Quakers?

10. GP:

So the Bible states: “When Aquila and Priscilla heard him, they took him aside and explained to him the way of God more accurately.” (Acts 18:24-26)

You have interpreted this to mean: “BOTH Aquila and Priscilla took him aside IN THEIR HOME. THIS IS DONE IN MANY BAPTIST AND BRETHREN CHURCHES TODAY STILL.”

Let us remember Paul’s instruction. “And I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man, but to be in silence.” (1 Tim 2:12)

So to your mind, it is OK for a woman to teach a man, once it is done privately – like in her home. However, Paul did not say anything about public or private teaching, he simply stated that she should not do so.

Your opinion does not appear to be either Ipsissima Vox (same meaning) or Ipsissima Verba (same words). So how can you Biblically justify a woman teaching man given the plain meaning of 1 Tim 2:12?

Is it not time for you to rethink your opinion, and consider the possibility that this was Paul’s personal opinion formed from his cultural traditions?

11. If that is the best you can do, John . Then I know you are truly stumped.

I did not disagree that men and women are different. I said that they are different but equally human. And being equally human they too are understood to be made in the image of God.

Steupse.

What does childbearing have to do with brain capacity?

Now you would label me as self-absorbed when I say I chose my own way in accordance with the rights afforded to me by the Creator. God gives us all the choice to follow Him/Her or not to follow Him/Her.

Sooo…. I chose to follow Him/Her in accordance with my understanding of my assignment.

In short, NOT YOUR UNDERSTANDING BUT MINE. I do not need your “superior” male intellect to interpret any conversation between me and my Creator.

You insufferable old fart.

PS. Are we suggesting that He/She stuffs ballot boxes? Perhaps changes the positioning of a voter’s ‘X’? Does He/She tell voters who have not consulted Him/Her who to support? Maybe just grabs the hands of a voter and makes them unable to place the vote as they wish? Does He/She control what campaign ads a voter sees?
    How exactly does God choose leaders of countries? Did He/She choose Mia Mottley?

Well then, I don’t see how He/She can say that we have been given freedom of choice.

12. 246
    Yuh wasting yuh time
    Dont thrown pearls before swine
    This guy ego is bigger than Mount rushmore
    GP is enjoying every moment of word to word combat with you
    I am convinced that a GP is a narcissist
    Leave him alone and let him drown in his own self righteouness

13. Hal Austin
    October 29, 2019 5:58 PM

@ John
    Is Quaker Oats affiliated to the Quakers?

A business using the Quaker name because of its standing!!

Google and you will see!!

Of greater import , what will happen in the December elections?

14. What does childbearing have to do with brain capacity?

Everything!!

Try raising 8 or 9 children!!

Amazed you can’t figure that one out!!

… and you went up to Codrington College!!

15. Did He/She choose Mia Mottley?

You mean Ms. Mockley?

Sho’ nuff!!

Thing is you don’t know why!!

16. 12 But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence.
    13 For Adam was first formed, then Eve.
    14 And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression.
    15 Notwithstanding she shall be saved in childbearing, if they continue in faith and charity and holiness with sobriety.

Of the three reasons given the first two are the ones causing the commotion.

The third one however can stand on its own and is thus the salient one.

Notwithstanding means despite the fact that Adam was first formed and despite the fact that the woman was deceived, ” .. she shall be saved in childbearing …

What Grenville is saying is that since women now have time on their hands having exercised their freedom of choice to render their bodies incapable of childbearing, then women can use all this free time to “teach” men!!

Besides, the UN has determined men and women are equal and equality is a human right.

Suppose God doesn’t like the idea of women rendering their bodies incapable of childbirth!!

17. GEORGIE PORGIE with EARNED paper trophies Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE with EARNED paper trophies

BUT JOHN THE FOUR VERSES YOU QUOTED ABOVE CAN BE STRUCK FROM THE RECORD AND ARE OF NO EFFECT CAUSE THEY ARE NOT REALLY SCRIPTURE OR GOD’S WORD———-THEY WERE ONLY PAUL’S OPINION. LOL

HOW DARE PAUL SAY THESE THINGS!
    WAS IT REALLY TRUE THAT MUCH LEARNING HAD MADE HIM MAD AS FESTUS POSITED IN ACTS 26:24? OR ARE WE JUST DEALING WITH A CONTEMPORARY”CULTURAL” IDIOT

18. A politician courting women’s vote by saying what he thinks they want to hear.

He doesn’t give women credit for much sense although there are some who will be attracted.

19. JOHN

RE A politician courting women’s vote by saying what he thinks they want to hear.

He doesn’t give women credit for much sense although there are some who will be attracted.

SO YOU FIGURED THAT OUT TOO?
    THAT HAS BEEN EXACTLY MY OPINION FROM THE START.
    HERE IS A MAN PRETENDING TO KNOW THE BIBLE AND THAT IS THE ONLY ISSUE HE COULD COMMENT ON FROM A 5OOO WORD DISCOURSE, EXCEPT FOR BRANDING ME AS A FALSE TEACHER/APOSTATE, AND EXPRESSING HIS HATRED FOR PIECE

20. You have got to be kidding me!

Barefoot and pregnant!

Now you listen to me!

I love children. Enjoyed being pregnant. Enjoy being a mother. But there is another side of me that longs for something more and needs to contribute in a different way that challenges my brain . If God did not wish me to use my capacity why would He/She not have.rendered me less intelligent than every man? Why not make me fit for the purpose? Big womb, small brain shouldn’t have been difficult for the Almighty. Why make me capable of performing complex mathematical operations if all I really need is the basics of Arithmetic to manage grocery shopping?

I don’t give a damn what the UN says. I DECLARE MYSELF AND HAVE OFTEN PROVEN MYSELF TO BE EQUAL. And if we are being honest having more brain power than many many men.

PS. How many children did you have? I know GP’s wife does not have eight or nine children. Neither was she a mere housewife having worked in the insurance industry for many years.

21. Don’t know Grenville’s motives but I know many non politicians who have come out of the cave you guys inhabit and have seen the light. These include many men who have just as many degrees in theology as GP and some of them more. These guys do not need to disqualify half of the world’s population in order to ensure an audience for themselves.

Since when does penis equal brain? Seems to me it is the least thoughtful organ known to humankind!

PS. The present government has many women in their midst and so that would not be a determining factor in where I place my “X”.

22. in retrospect, Grenville has never, even before this discussion shown any inclination to belittle and devalue the contributions of women to this forum. In our interactions, even when we disagreed, I detected no gender bias in his responses. It is my experience that a male chauvinist has a hard time hiding his true colours. For instance I saw you two long before the specific issue arose.

PS. I am still waiting to find out how God engineers an election.

23. re I am still waiting to find out how God engineers an election.

THATS VERY EASY

HE MOVES IN THE HEARTS OF HIS PEOPLE TO VOTE AS HE DID IN THE 2016 ELECTION
    THERE WAS FOR EXAMPLE AN EMAIL CIRCULATED ( WHICH I TRIED TO PUT ON BU AT THE TIME BUT I WAS MODERATED ) THAT PRESENTED WHY HILARY SHOULD NOT BE ELECTED
    IT WAS VERY EFFECTIVE

GOD EVEN MOVED IN THE HEARTS OF THE DUMB THE DIABOLICAL AND THE DEVILS UP HERE

IF THE MEGA CHURCHES IN THE VARIOUS CHURCHES VOTE FOR TRUMP IN 2020. HE WILL WIN AT A CANTER

IF THE BLACK CHURCH VOTE FOR TRUMP IN 2020. HE WILL WIN AT A CANTER

THE BRETHREN DONT MENTION POLITICS PUBLICALLY BUT I LEARNED THAT ONE OF OUR MEMBERS WAS DOING WORK FOR THE DONALD

HOWEVER DANIEL 2:20-22 CLEARLY STATES THAT GOD SETS UP AND TAKES DOWN KINGS OR LEADERS.
    BEFORE YOU ASK HE EVEN PERMITS BAD LEADERS, E.G HE CORRECTLY DEEMED THAT SHITBAMA, AS EVIL AS HE WAS/IS IS BETTER THAN MCCAIN OR ROMNEY OR HILARY

Daniel answered and said, Blessed be the name of God for ever and ever: for wisdom and might are his:

21 And he changeth the times and the seasons: he removeth kings, and setteth up kings: he giveth wisdom unto the wise, and knowledge to them that know understanding:

22 He revealeth the deep and secret things: he knoweth what is in the darkness, and the light dwelleth with him.

ROMANS 13:1 STATES Let every person be subordinate to the higher authorities, for there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been established by God

YOU AND FOOLBERT MAY AGREE OR DISAGREE AND SAY THAT THIS IS THE OPINION OF DANIEL OR PAUL BUT I FIRMLY BELIEVE THAT ALL…….ALL SCRIPTURE IS GOD BREATHED AND THAT THE BIBLE’S AUTHORS (CALLED HOLY MEN OF GOD IN 2 PETER 1) WERE MOVED OR CARRIED ALONG OR INSPIRED BY THE SPIRIT OF GOD

24. THE MEGA CHURCHES IN THE VARIOUS STATES

25. HE MOVES IN THE HEARTS OF HIS PEOPLE TO VOTE

Last election I decided I was not voting B or D so I voted Solutions.

It won’t happen again!!

We’ll see who runs next time, if there is one!!

26. Scratch 3 parties for me!!

27. John:

Paul identified this as his opinion. He then provided verses to support his opinion. However, neither you nor GP responded to my comment. So let me state it again, referencing GP.

The Bible states: “When Aquila and Priscilla heard him [Apollos], they took him aside and explained to him the way of God more accurately.” (Acts 18:24-26)

GP interpreted this to mean: “BOTH Aquila and Priscilla took him aside IN THEIR HOME. THIS IS DONE IN MANY BAPTIST AND BRETHREN CHURCHES TODAY STILL.”

Let us remember Paul’s instruction. “And I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man, but to be in silence.” (1 Tim 2:12)

So to your mind, it is OK for a woman to teach a man, once it is done privately – like in her home. However, Paul did not say anything about public or private teaching, he simply stated that she should not do so.

Did Priscilla, in teaching mighty Apollos, disobey God, Paul, your religious denomination, or none of them?

28. re neither you nor GP responded to my comment. So let me state it again, referencing GP.

why dont you get your apologist freedom crier to answer you?
    do you want to call me a false teacher and apostate again?
    and mock the effort it took to earn my degrees in theology and the view of the baptist and brethren church on this matter?

do you know anything about Caleb or 1 Peter 1:3-5?

YOU ARE A PRIME SOURCE OF PROCTALGIA FUGAX
    YOU MAY HAVE THE LAST WORD……….BYE

29. So to your mind, it is OK for a woman to teach a man, once it is done privately – like in her home. However, Paul did not say anything about public or private teaching, he simply stated that she should not do so.

What I think is immaterial, I am only one person who hardly picks up a Bible but for what its worth here is my experience learning from Christian women.

I have learnt plenty from remarkable Christian women.

No doubt you remember Miss Alleyne at HC.

I’ve watched my mother in her lifetime and learnt more about faith than I have from any man or any sermon in church.

I watched it her faith grow firsthand as she found it with her church (Anglican) friends most of whom were also Christian women from whom I also learnt.

Her good buddy, who died a week or two before her 100th birthday this year was fearsomely strong in her beliefs.

She came to work with us when I was about 18 so I was as good as a man.

She could quote scripture at the drop of a hat which exactly fit whatever situation arose at home and I never knew her source was the Bible until recently when I started googling some of what I thought were her own words.

These are examples of Christian women from whom I have learnt some of life’s important lessons.

Is learning from a woman different from being taught by a woman?

If it isn’t then I would say it is ok for a woman to teach a man, otherwise I would be in trouble!!

For heaven’s sake, of course it is ok for a man to learn from a woman!!

You have got the meaning of teach wrong!!

30. JOHN

wHEN EVER BIBLE SCHOLARS HAVE PROBLEMS WITH A TEXT IN THE ENGLISH RENDERINGS ( REMEMBER THE ENGLISH VERSIONS WERE TRANSLATED) THEY GO TO THE ORIGINAL LANGUAGE AND THEY COMPARE WHAT IS SAID IN OTHER TEXTS.

DONT WASTE YOUR VOTE AGAIN IN THE ELECTION—IT IS BETTER TO STAY AT HOME THAN VOTE FOR THIS MAN’S NON SOLUTIONS.

31. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna “re I am still waiting to find out how God engineers an election.

@GPOctober 30, 2019 3:00 PM “AN EMAIL CIRCULATED THAT PRESENTED WHY HILARY SHOULD NOT BE ELECTED IT WAS VERY EFFECTIVE.”

I hope that you are not implying that that email was from God?

What if it was from the Russians?

Or from Cambridge Analytica?

Or even from a Republican Party operative?

None of whom of course are God.

32. the email was from a well know pastor SS
    IT WAS NOT FROM THE GOD OF HEAVEN OR THE Russians Or from Cambridge Analytica Or even from a Republican Party operative

33. Grenville

A Christian woman is hard to miss.

Once you find one, listen, watch and learn!!

34. RE A Christian woman is hard to miss.

Once you find one, listen, watch and learn!!

AND SHE DONT HAVE TO SPEAK IN CHURCH
    JOHN DID YOUR MOTHER PREACH AND TEACH MEN IN CHURCH

35. Nope!!

36. Two of her Church friends (both women, two sisters) persuaded her to serve on council which she did.

Both were probably 20 years older than she was.

One was the personal secretary to the Manager of Barclays Bank and the other a director of a major Barbadian firm.

From these and others of her friends she got advice and learnt from their experiences.

She participated fully in the business of her church and grew stronger every day.

When I got back from university in 1978 I was amazed at just how strong she had become.

37. Two of her Church friends (both women, two sisters) persuaded her to serve on council which she did.

Both were probably 20 years older than she was.

DID THESE WOMEN PREACH AND TEACH MEN IN THEIR CHURCH?

DID THEY STILL RENDER STIRLING SERVICE TO THE CHURCH AND BOTH GOD& MAN?

38. Nope

Yup

The problem is the microphone!!

Bajans just have a love affair with a microphone.

Can’t resist it.

39. John:

You are stretching the scriptures to fit your idea. Since it is done to support GP’s opinion, he is not objecting.

Paul’s instruction. “And I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man, but to be in silence.” (1 Tim 2:12)

Your interpretation. “For heaven’s sake, of course it is ok for a man to learn from a woman!! You have got the meaning of teach wrong!!”

You are suggesting that Apollos “learnt” from Priscilla but was not “taught” by her. You seem to be twisting yourself into a pretzel.

The Bible states: “When Aquila and Priscilla heard him [Apollos], they took him aside and explained/expounded to him the way of God more accurately.” (Acts 18:24-26)

So Priscilla had the skill of expounding the scriptures to the mighty Apollos, but not teaching him. Through this magic, Apollos learnt. Let us simply agree to disagree on this.

40. DING DONG MERRILY ON HIGH

RE Since it is done to support GP’s opinion, he is not objecting.

NOR DID I OBJECT TO MUCH OF THE RUBBISH POSTED ON THIS BLOG ALL DAY SUNDAY BEFORE YOU JUMPED IN WITH A PARTIAL LIST OF PASSAGES ON FALSE TEACHING BEFORE EVENTUALLY YOU HAVE 1 Tim 2:12 STUCK IN YOUR CRAW

GO AWAY AND LOOK FOR VOTES
    YOU SOUND JUST LIKE BUSHTEA, A KNOWN SON OF THE DEVIL

JOHN AND I WILL RUN YOU RAGGED
    I AM HERE SINGING THAT CHRISTMAS CAROL CALLED ROCKING
    BUT INSTEAD OF SINGING WE WILL ROCK YOU ROCK YOU ROCK YOU
    I AM SINGING WE WILL MOCK YOU MOCK YOU MOCK YOU

WILL SEND YOU THE MUSIC WHEN I GET UP STAIRS

41. Piece the Legend Avatar

Dr. GP my fellow myope and no fellow apostate,

Let me say this.

De ole man enjoys your Sunday morning submissions to the blog

I am a Sinner who while I sin daily, ask Him who is without sin to intercede for me at The Throne of Grace so that I, being drawn by The Holy Spirit, might be among those called and numbered among the Chosen

I, being mindful of who I was and am, cannot in all truthfulness ask to be called one of the Saints BT IT SHALL BE ENOUGH TO BE CALLED AMONG THE SAVED.

I pray that you are able to continue to give service to His Word, continually overcoming the fickle ness that is this flesh and putting aside the sinful nature of man.

Of one thing we can be assured, we shall not be judged by these men (and women) here or elsewhere neither they by us.

Looking forward to seeing more of you in the coming weeks, for as long as God gives you Health and Breath.

God bless you Sir.

I going back heah and deal with another set of demons in the only way I know how

42. Grenville

This is all greek to me but maybe you can make sense of it.

https://www.wordofhisgrace.org/wp/women-authority-qa/

“In summary, looking at the meaning of the Greek words, the syntax of the wording, and the context of 1 Timothy 2:12, we see that Paul is forbidding to women the role in the ekklēsia of teaching and having a man’s authority.

That this is not merely a cultural eccentricity that can now be dismissed is seen in the fact that he bases his decision on the creation order and the fact that Eve was deceived.

Women are to be silent and still and in all submission when the men pray and are not to teach or have a man’s authority in the assemblies.

So says Paul under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit.”

43. TO THE FELLOW WITH THE NOSE LIKE A SESAME STREET CHARACTER
    HERE IS ROCKING JUST AS WE SANG IT AT CH CH PARISH CHURCH IN THE GLORIOUS 60’S

WE WILL MOCK YOU NOT ROCK YOU

44. @GP

Why are you mocking Grenville? He is clearly giving his interpretation, if you are of the view he is incorrect use the blog space to counter – with grace. Isn’t this the purpose of the space or do you prefer to ‘preach’ to the converted.

45. “When Aquila and Priscilla heard him [Apollos], they took him aside and explained/expounded to him the way of God more accurately.” (Acts 18:24-26)

Took him aside

So Priscilla had the skill of expounding the scriptures to the mighty Apollos

Priscilla is not usurping the authority of a man to lead the church … or teach the church.

I learnt from my mother’s example of faith, she did not teach the church where I happened to be present to learn from her teaching.

She learnt from the two sisters, they did not teach the church where she happened to be present to learn from their teaching.

Like private lessons out of school!!

46. RE Why are you mocking Grenville? He is clearly giving his interpretation, if you are of the view he is incorrect use the blog space to counter – with grace. Isn’t this the purpose of the space or do you prefer to ‘preach’ to the converted.

I HAVE CLEARLY SAID WHAT I BELIEVE ON THE MATTER 3 TIMES, AND WHY AND WITH MUCH GRACE AND PATIENCE
    HE KEEPS COMING MOCKING MY SCHOLARSHIP. THAT IS NOT ALLOWED
    I HAVE NOT SOUGHT TO PERSAUDE HIM OR ANYONE WHAT THEY SHOULD THINK OR BELIEVE
    I KNOW WHAT I BELIEVE AND I HAVE SAID SO ND WHY AND WITH MUCH GRACE AND PATIENCE

I AM NOT HERE TO ARGUE WITH ANYONE OR COUNTER OR DEBATE WITH ANYONE
    I TRY TO ANSWER REASONABLE QUESTIONS FROM GENUINE SEEKERS
    BUT I DONT SEE WHY I SHOULD SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY

I HAVE SOUGHT TO LISTEN TO, AND LET A LOT OF RUBBISH PASS WITHOUT COMMENT, AS I KNOW WHAT I AM DEALING WITH HERE

BUT GRANVILLE HAS COME WITH HIS AUTOCRATIC STYLE, OVER AND OVER. I WILL NOT HAVE IT
    IT DOES NOT HAPPEN ELSEWHERE EXCEPT ON BU, WHERE I HAVE HEARD THE MOST RUBBISH EVER ABOUT BIBLE, AND I HAVE SAT IN AND LISTENED IN WHAT WE CALL BIBLE READINGS OVER THE YEARS
    I DONT KNOW IT ALL, BUT I KNOW WHEN I AM HEARING RUBBISH AND WHEN I AM DEALING WITH AN EVIL DISRUPTIVE SPIRIT

47. A BLOG WITH VERY CLEAR TEACHING ON THE SUBJECT MATTER SHOULD NOT BE SO PROLONGED ESPECIALLY WHEN FOLK ARE NOT SEEKING TO DEAL WITH THE SUBJECT MATTER

THE ISSUE WAS ABOUT “OUR INHERITANCE” NOT AN ARGUEMENT ABOUT WOMEN SPEAKING OR A TOTAL DISRESPECT FOR THE TWO KNOWN PROOF TEXTS FOR THE PLENARY VERBAL INSPIRATION OF THE BIBLE

48. I never knew the reasons why men were in leadership positions in the church until now, it just never dawned on me to ask or research to find out.

That was never an issue in people’s minds before.

I understand the reasons now.

Nothing wrong in exercising freedom of choice to question the Bible but I think the Bible can stand on its own very well.

49. … and every day I value more and more the lessons I learnt from Christian women …

… or is it better to say, the lessons I was taught by Christian women.

Doesn’t matter me.

50. JOHN

IT IS ONLY IN RECENT TIMES THAT WOMEN ARE PRIESTS MOST LIKELY BECAUSE THERE IS A LACK OF PARTICIPATION BY THE MEN OF OUR DAY.

THERE ARE VERY FEW BOYS,AND MEN IF CHURCH CHOIRS TODAY. WOMEN HAVE TAKEN OVER THE “CHURCH”

WOMEN WITHOUT PREACHING AND SOUNDING THEIR VOICES IN CHURCH MEETINGS HAVE CONTRIBUTED MUCH

EXAMPLE : JOANA WESLEY, THE MOTHER OF METHODISM JOHN & CHARLES WESLEY, CHARLES WAS A PROLIFIC WRITER HYMNS IN WHICH HIS PARAPHRASE OF SCRIPTURE IS WITHOUT PEER.

EXAMPLE THE WIFE OF THE FAMOUS PREACHER G. CAMPBELL MORGAN AND MOTHER OF HIS FIVE SONS, ALL PREACHERS.

AND WE CAN SAY MORE. I HAVE ALREADY TWICE NOTED THE CONTRIBUTION TO THE BAPTIST CHURCH IN BARBADOS AND THE INFLUENCE OF ONE YOUNG FAITHFUL FEMALE MISSIONARY TO THE SEVERAL YOUNG PEOPLE THAT SHE NURTURED.

NONE OF THE TWITS WHO KEEP HARPING ON ONE SCRIPTURE HAVE DONE 1% FOR THE CAUSE OF CHRIST AS ANY OF THE WOMEN LISTED ABOVE.