Submitted by Dr. GP

Every summer at the Plymouth Brethren Assembly that I attend here in Central Florida, the 16 Sundays in June through September are devoted to one of the men in the church giving a talk on a chosen theme.

Last week on Sweet Sunday Sermon – Enoch,  I submitted  my contribution from the year when the assignment was for contributors to harp on one of the heroes of faith from Hebrews chapter 11. 

Last week on Sweet Sunday Sermon – Enoch, after sharing a few outlines on the book of Hebrews, we demonstrated how to go about presenting the salient features about a Bible character by employing the Biographical Method of Bible Study.

This week on Sweet Sunday Sermon – Caleb’s Inheritance, I have submitted  my contribution from the year when the assignment was to choose an Old Testament event or Bible character, comment briefly thereon, and then relate the lessons gleaned about the Old Testament event or Bible character  to a related New Testament passage.

I therefore  chose my favorite Old Testament Bible character CALEB, and after giving a brief Biography of this Old Testament Bible character surrounding his inheritance, in the second half, I  gave an exegesis (or verse by verse study) of 1 Peter 1:3-5 which discusses THE BELIEVER’S INHERITANCE. Our study this week is therefore entitled CALEB’S INHERITANCE (Joshua 14) & THE BELIEVER’S INHERITANCE (1 Peter 1:3-5).

The punch lines of this week’s  teaching are as follows.

• The salient features about the life of Caleb were that
  • GOD MADE HIM A PROMISE OF AN INHERITANCE
  • GOD KEPT THE PROMISED INHERITANCE FOR HIM
  • GOD KEPT HIM FOR THE PROMISED INHERITANCE
  • GOD ENSURED THAT HE RECEIVED THE PROMISED INHERITANCE
  • The salient features about 1 Peter:3-5, and thus the comparison with  the life of Caleb are that ……………………..
  • GOD HAS MADE A PROMISE OF AN INHERITANCE TO US BELIEVERS
  • GOD HAS KEPT/IS KEEPING OUR INHERITANCE FOR US BELIEVERS
  • GOD HAS KEPT/IS KEEPING US BELIEVERS FOR OUR INHERITANCE
  • GOD WILL/HAS ENSURED THAT WE RECEIVE OUR INHERITANCE
  • The Christian’s inheritance is not like anything in this world.
  • Peter describes our inheritance by four adjectives 
  • In substance:  it is incorruptible; It will not spoil or go bad. Sin cannot affect it. It will never wear out or get old. Nothing can destroy it.
  • In purity: it is undefiled;
  • In beauty: it is unfading”  It will not lose its beauty. It is not like metal that stops shining. Nor is it like a light that goes out.
  • In security: it is reserved God keeps this inheritance safe in heaven for each person who believes his promises

Those who are interested in Bible Biography and the concept of spiritual inheritance should fine the exegesis of the 1 Peter passage enlightening.

Before you post on these Sunday Sermon blogs, maybe you should like the Bereans in Acts 17:11, first consult the Word of God, to see if the things here said are so, by  studying the Scriptures diligently and inductively as enjoined in 2 Timothy 2:15 & Nehemiah 8:8 especially emphasizing reading the text literally and reading the text in its context so that you can be sure to keep context “king”, so that you will be able to competently comment on the commentaries (including the one you are reading here on BU)

Do so in dependence on The Teacher, the Holy Spirit (not me), Who Jesus promised would guide believers  into all truth (John 16:13). This way you are more likely to benefit from the discourse.

In the last 50 years I have heard teens and even some very uneducated elderly men give good and accurate thoughts on passages of the Word of God.

You might also even consult reputable Bible commentaries, or sermons or other resources, so that we may have a reasonably useful discussion. If you do not like the Bible, just stay away. That is much better than professing yourself to be wise and only proving yourself to be a fool as taught in Romans 1:22.

Screenshot 2019-10-26 at 14.42.09.png
Click image to follow full presentation – CALEB’S INHERITANCE

322 responses to “Sweet Sunday Sermon – CALEB’S INHERITANCE”

1. JOHN

WHAT YOU ARE SAYING ABOUT YOUR MOTHER’S INSTRUCTION IS CLEARLY SET OUT IN DEUTERONOMY 6:6-9 THUS

6 And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart:

7 And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.

8 And thou shalt bind them for a sign upon thine hand, and they shall be as frontlets between thine eyes.

9 And thou shalt write them upon the posts of thy house, and on thy gates.

YOUR MOTHER, AND THE MOTHERS OF THE GREAT CHRISTIAN LEADERS MENTIONED ABOVE WERE FOLLOWING THE INSTRUCTIONS CLEARLY STATED IN THE SCRIPTURE ABOVE, AND DID SO WITHOUT UTTERING ONE WORD IN CHURCH TEACHING OR PREACHING.

TEACHING AND BRINGING UP ONE’S CHILDREN IN THE FEAR OF GOD IS THE MOST IMPORTANT JOB A PARENT HAS
    IT IS A SERIOUS SOLEMN DUTY

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Dr. GP my fellow myope

This blog is not for everyone. In fact I will say that the majority of people “miss life’s purpose” NOT OUT OF ACT OF VOLITION but out of STATE OF EVOLUTION!

This blog is but a micro replication of that VACUUM OF BEING that readers in this specific blogosphere represent.

Let me explain that further.

“… John 20:17-18 King James Version (KJV)

17 Jesus saith unto her, Touch me not; for I am not yet ascended to my Father: but go to my brethren, and say unto them, I ascend unto my Father, and your Father; and to my God, and your God…”

TOUCH ME NOT!

If, and hopefully when, you arrive at this discourse in the Bible, de ole man hazards that, we would arrive again at that conference of being which of late kerfuffled many an uninformed Christian here, called “Milk and Meat”

It continues to be that you discuss The Word at a depth of theology that is not standard, rather is not within the average ken of many of your readers.

So you would have commenced on the subject of Caleb but your detractors, because of their obsession with their train of thought, have sought to enveigle readers with non issues about women in the Church

And, some 251 comments along, the begin point that you shared, has been purposely attacked by …. and I purposely left out their names.

You wrote and I quote…

🏆 GOD HAS MADE A PROMISE OF AN INHERITANCE TO US BELIEVERS

🏆 GOD HAS KEPT/IS KEEPING OUR INHERITANCE FOR US BELIEVERS

🏆 GOD HAS KEPT/IS KEEPING US BELIEVERS FOR OUR INHERITANCE

🏆 GOD WILL/HAS ENSURED THAT WE RECEIVE OUR INHERITANCE

🏆 And that the Christian’s inheritance is not like anything in this world.

If a forensic scientist, which the Honourable Blogmaster is not, was to come to this matter and examine it, it becomes evident the source of our deviation.

And it becomes evident how, the subversion was aided and abetted!

Then, incredulously, you are castigated for not using the space effectively!

But, as we myopes are aware, IT IS NOT IN THE INTEREST OF CERTAIN PEOPLE TO PUBLICLY CASTIGATE THEIR POLITICAL CHAMPIONS for doing that which is spiritually egregious

Nonetheless we serve the Almighty God who will allow his people to prosper and ensure that His Word will not return to Him Void

3. Steupse!

Religion seems to turn some people foolish! If those who are reading silently haven’t got the point by now there is nothing I can do for them.

Instead of “not questioning God” I recommend that we question Him/Her rigourously. Maybe then we will get some answers that actually make sense.

4. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Dr. GP myope and now apostate heheheheh

5. John:

Paul provided an opinion. The issue is whether that was his opinion, or whether he was giving a doctrinal instruction. This is extremely important, because it has led to much confusion, and persecution of those who do not hold similar opinions. It has also led to oppressive instructions in some denominations.

Read an example of three types of Pauline instruction from 1 Cor 7. I have capitalised phrases for emphasis

6 But I SPEAK BY PERMISSION, AND NOT OF COMMANDMENT.

7 For I would that all men were even as I myself. But every man hath his proper gift of God, one after this manner, and another after that.

8 I SAY THEREFORE to the unmarried and widows, it is good for them if they abide even as I.

9 But if they cannot contain, let them marry: for it is better to marry than to burn.

10 And unto the married I command, YET NOT I, BUT THE LORD, Let not the wife depart from her husband:

11 But and if she depart, let her remain unmarried or be reconciled to her husband: and let not the husband put away his wife.

12 But to the rest SPEAK I, NOT THE LORD: If any brother hath a wife that believeth not, and she be pleased to dwell with him, let him not put her away.

I hope that you can appreciate the slight, but critical differences in the author of the instructions, that have resulted in significant consequences for believers. As I had previously explained, reading the Bible should be done with a fair degree of common sense. We should never be afraid of honest discussion, for it can only lead to the Truth.

I think that the following was Paul’s instruction, which would be for cultural guidance rather than being universally doctrinal.

“And I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man, but to be in silence.” (1 Tim 2:12)

6. Just as I figured, I was both taught by and learnt from Christian women.

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

Just as expected.

Comments against the Golden Boy are held in moderation EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE FOCUSED ON THE HOLY WORD!

But like I does say all de time, IT IS YOU TING SO DO DE DAWG DENNNN!

8. On second thoughts I can do something more. I can sum up what the old farts have “taught ” us here.

Women are not equally human and therefore not equal to men.
    Women are not equal because they bear children.
    God wants women to be baby making machines.
    Women are not allowed to teach men in church because they should be too busy teaching their eight or
    nine children at home.
    Since this is the most important job there is women should all be totally fulfilled doing it.
    Women have the most important job in the world but this does not make them the equal of men.
    No matter how capable a woman’s brain is of teaching a man what is more important is that she does not
    possess that well known organ of deep intellect and thoughtfulness – the penis, flanked by two squishy,
    leaky balls.

And…… the “people of God” were inspired by God to rise up and elect Donald Trump the self-confessed and unrepentant grabber of women’s “pussies”.

Please don’t put forth that David argument again because we all know he repented in sack cloth and ashes.

That last sentence was the most persuasive argument against most black Barbadians taking anything you old farts said seriously because I can only find three black people besides the known BU posse who don’t think he is the devil incarnate.

And now I’m done!

9. Instead of “not questioning God” I recommend that we question Him/Her rigourously. Maybe then we will get some answers that actually make sense.

So, try reading the Bible and asking the Holy Spirit for guidance.

You miss the point however, it is the individual with whom God deals.

Change the “we” in your sentences above to “I”.

It then reads:

“Instead of “not questioning God” I recommend that I question Him/Her rigourously.

Maybe then I will get some answers that actually make sense.”

Try it and see what happens.

Take your own recommendation.

10. re I think that the following was Paul’s instruction, which would be for cultural guidance rather than being universally doctrinal.

I THINK?
    WHAT WITH?
    WHO ARE YOU?
    IT IS NOT WHAT YOU THINK ……….IT IS WHAT GOD SAYS

STOP REJECTING 2 Timothy 3:16-17 New International Version
    16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the servant of God[a] may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

ALL SCRIPTURE ALL!

WHEN DOES SOME ONE LOOKING LIKE A SESAME STREET CHARACTER DECIDE WHAT BIBLE DOCTRINE IS?

John 5:39 Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me.

JOHN
    RE “Instead of “not questioning God” I recommend that I question Him rigourously.
    Maybe then I will get some answers that actually make sense.” Try it and see what happens.

I CAN TELL YOU FROM EXPERIENCE THAT HE WILL ANSWER

SEE Jeremiah 33:3 Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and shew thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.

11. Women are not allowed to teach men in church

You miss the crucial point which has befuddled you and is being used to befuddle every one else.

My understanding is that Paul, a chosen vessel of the Holy Spirit, says I do not permit women to teach the Church.

He is speaking of the Church.

The Church consists of men and women, it isn’t a building.

So it isn’t only men that women can’t teach, it is also women.

He also says, I do not permit women to have authority over men in the church.

Since women are also members of the Church, then it would be logical to conclude that Paul is saying I do not permit women to have authority over women in the Church.

Authority roles are reserved for men.

Yet, women not only teach their sons from boyhood to manhood, but also their daughters from girlhood to womanhood.

They also exercise authority over their sons and daughters from childhood to adulthood.

Maybe I am wrong but it seems too simple for all these words.

12. GP:

You have ignored the three types of instruction that Paul specified. Further, the “scripture” that Paul was referring to was not his letter to Timothy, but the Old Testament. We accept Paul’s letter to be scripture. However, we should read it as it was intended to be read.

13. Piece the Legend Avatar

I had posted this comment earlier but…

@ Dr. GP my fellow myope

This blog is not for everyone. In fact I will say that the majority of people “miss life’s purpose” NOT OUT OF ACT OF VOLITION but out of STATE OF EVOLUTION!

This blog is but a micro replication of that VACUUM OF BEING that readers in this specific blogosphere represent.

Let me explain that further.

“… John 20:17-18 King James Version (KJV)

17 Jesus saith unto her, Touch me not; for I am not yet ascended to my Father: but go to my brethren, and say unto them, I ascend unto my Father, and your Father; and to my God, and your God…”

TOUCH ME NOT!

If, and hopefully when, you arrive at this discourse in the Bible, de ole man hazards that, we would arrive again at that conference of being which of late kerfuffled many an uninformed Christian here, called “Milk and Meat”

It continues to be that you discuss The Word at a depth of theology that is not standard, rather is not within the average ken of many of your readers.

So you would have commenced on the subject of Caleb but your detractors, because of their obsession with their train of thought, have sought to enveigle readers with non issues about women in the Church

And, some 251 comments along, the begin point that you shared, has been purposely attacked by …. and I purposely left out their names.

You wrote and I quote…

🏆 And that the Christian’s inheritance is not like anything in this world.

If a forensic scientist, which the Honourable Blogmaster is not, was to come to this matter and examine it, it becomes evident the source of our deviation.

And it becomes evident how, the subversion was aided and abetted!

Then, incredulously, you are castigated for not using the space effectively!

But, as we myopes are aware, IT IS NOT IN THE INTEREST OF CERTAIN PEOPLE TO PUBLICLY CASTIGATE THEIR POLITICAL CHAMPIONS for doing that which is spiritually egregious

Nonetheless we serve the Almighty God who will allow his people to prosper and ensure that His Word will not return to Him Void

14. RE And…… the “people of God” were inspired by God to rise up and elect Donald Trump the self-confessed and unrepentant grabber of women’s “pussies”.Please don’t put forth that David argument again because we all know he repented in sack cloth and ashes.

OK ALL DAVID’S DESCENDANTS IN THE DIVIDED KINGDOM OF ISRAEL WERE EVIL….ALL
    GOD ALLOWED IT TILL HE SENT THEM INTO CAPTIVITY

MANY OF DAVID’S DESCENDANTS IN THE DIVIDED KINGDOM OF JUDAH WERE EVIL UNTIL GOD SENT THEM INTO CAPTIVITY

WHY? BECAUSE
    2 Peter 3:9
    The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

IF the “people of God” were inspired by God to rise up and elect SHITBAMA WHY DO YOU THINK THE SAME FOLK COULD NOT ELECT Donald Trump the self-confessed and unrepentant grabber of women’s “pussies”.

IN DUE TIME, IF HE IS UNREPENTANT GOD WILL DEAL WITH HIM ACCORDINGLY AS TAUGHT IN 2 Peter 3:9
    MEANWHILE HE IS DOING A GOOD JOB IN JOSIAH-ESQUE FASHION

15. A few years after she was married, my sister was diagnosed by doctors as being unable to have children.

She asked our mother for prayers. She asked her buddies for prayers.

It took 2 weeks.

When my sister announced to her husband she was pregnant with #4 her husband nearly had a heart attack and asked her to tell our mother she could stop praying!!

16. LISTEN MR SESAME STREET CHARACTER I DO NOT WANT TO HEAR FROM YOU

I CAN READ THE OPINION OF A NUMBER OF RENOWNED COMMENTATORS AND EXPOSITORS ON THE WORD AS I HAVE BEEN DOING FOR YEARS

I WILL CONSULT THEM FOR MY TEACHING BUT I WILL NOT BE TAUGHT BIBLE BY YOU

Q SPEAKING AS A BIOCHEMIST AND EMBRYOLOGIST NOW IS THE SHAPE OF YOUR FACE THE RESULT OF AN INBORN ERROR OF METABOLISM?

17. JOHN
    THE SCENARIO YOU DESCRIBE IS THAT OF MANY OLD TESTAMENT MOTHERS
    DESCRIBED THIS IN A VIGNETTE IN A SERMON ON MOTHER’S DAY THIS YEAR

PIECE
    AS MENTIONED THREE TIMES IN MY POST YOUR QUOTE FROM MY DISCOURSE BELOW WAS THE PUNCH LINE AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN THE FOCUS OF THE DISCUSSION

🏆 And that the Christian’s inheritance is not like anything in this world

WHEN THE DISCUSSION BEGAN I CONVERSED WITH YOU, AND ENGAGED WITH VINCENT, JOHN AND ANSWERED ONE OF MILLERS QUESTIONS AND ONE FROM SIMPLE SIMON. I PARTICULARLY IGNORED ALL THE OTHER REGULAR AND EXPECTED RUBBISH

THEN SESAME STREET FACIES ENTERED AND HAS HIJACKED THE BLOG ON WOMEN SPEAKING IN THE CHURCH

HE JUMPED IN BECAUSE AS JOHN PERCEIVED AS” “A politician courting women’s vote by saying what he thinks they want to hear.”

YOU MIGHT HAVE NOTICED THAT WHEN JOHN SAID THIS, I RESPONDED THUS.

SO YOU FIGURED THAT OUT TOO?
    THAT HAS BEEN EXACTLY MY OPINION FROM THE START.
    HERE IS A MAN PRETENDING TO KNOW THE BIBLE AND THAT IS THE ONLY ISSUE HE COULD COMMENT ON FROM A 5OOO WORD DISCOURSE, EXCEPT FOR BRANDING ME AS A FALSE TEACHER/APOSTATE, AND EXPRESSING HIS HATRED FOR PIECE

THE MAN IS A PRIME SOURCE OF PROCTALGIA FUGAX LIKE BUSHTEA
    I WONDER IF THEY ARE NOT THE SAME

18. PIECE

THE REASON WHY THIS MAN WILL NOT LEAD ANY POLITICAL PARTY IN BARBADOS SUCCESSFULLY IS BECAUSE HE DOES NOT LISTEN TO ANYTHING THAT ANY ONE IS SAYING.

HE THINKS THAT ONLY HE KNOWS AND MOCKS OTHER FOLK’S SCHOLARSHIP

HE WANTS TO TEACH BUT DOES NOT LISTEN

HE SINGS THE ONLY SONG HE KNOWS OVER AND OVER

HE IS HILARIOUS!

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna “that well known organ of deep intellect and thoughtfulness– he penis”

Ya killin’ me den.

Never yet met one of those things posessed of deep intellect or thoughtfullness.

But maybe I have not ahem! explored enough.

20. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GPOctober 30, 2019 11:10 PM “JUST AS WE SANG IT AT CH CH PARISH CHURCH IN THE GLORIOUS 60’S”

GP, I am beginning to suspect that ye are a “closet” Anglican.

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GPOctober 31, 2019 10:31 AM “shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way.”

So women can teach when they walk outside then?

22. GPOctober 31, 2019 2:31 PM

PIECE

THE REASON WHY THIS MAN WILL NOT LEAD ANY POLITICAL PARTY IN BARBADOS SUCCESSFULLY IS BECAUSE HE DOES NOT LISTEN TO ANYTHING THAT ANY ONE IS SAYING.

“”””,,,,,,#:::###::::###::::::::::::::::;;;;;;

GP the about comments fits you like hand in glove
    Sounds more like pot calling kettle black
    Physician heal thyself

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@JohnOctober 31, 2019 1:57 PM “When my sister announced to her husband she was pregnant with #4 her husband nearly had a heart attack and asked her to tell our mother she could stop praying!!”

I am here wondering if it isn’t the fact that your brother in law liked “the thing” rather too much, and that this is what was causing the frequent pregnancies.

24. RE GP, I am beginning to suspect that ye are a “closet” Anglican.

NO BUT I FULLY ENJOYED BY TIME IN THE ANGLICAN CHURCH

MY GRANNY TOOK ME TO PATRONAL FESTIVAL AT ST PAUL’S ABOUT AGE 6
    I WAS IMPRESSED BY THE CHOIR BOYS IN THEIR ELIZABETHAN COLLARS, AND TO BE A CHORISTER WAS ONE OF MY FIRST AMBITIONS. THIS I ACHIEVED AT ST LAWRENCE IN 1960 AT AGE 8
    WHEN MY FATHER RETURNED FROM HIS TRAVELS WE JOINED THE CHOIR AT CH CH PARISH CHURCH, IN 62 WHERE I ALSO BECAME A CONFIRMED SINNER ON ADVENT SUNDAY IN 63

I WAS A FERVENT AND ARDENT ANGLICAN, AND RECTOR AI JOHNSON WAS SURE I WOULD BE AN ANGLICAN PRIEST.

BECAUSE OF THE SEASONAL NATURE OF THE SINGING OF THE HYMNS, WHICH I ALSO SANG AT PRAYERS AT BOTH BFS AND HC, I STILL RECALL MANY OF THEM AND NOW UNDERSTAND THE SCRIPTURES THAT INFLUENCED THE LYRICS

YOU MAY NOT KNOW THIS, BUT ALTHOUGH THE CHURCH POLITY AND PRACTICE OF THE PLYMOUTH BRETHREN IS SO MUCH DIFFERENT, THIS GROUP OF ASSEMBLIES CAME OUT OF THE ANGLICAN CHURCH IN A SENSE, SINCE J N DARBY WAS AN IRISH ANGLICAN PRIEST WHO ALSO HAD A FIRST CLASS LAW DEGREE FROM OXFORD.

LAST TIME I ATTENDED AN ANGLICAN SERVICE WAS IN 2003 AT ST JOHNS CATHEDRAL IN ST JOHNS ANTIGUA

I LOVE THE MUSIC AND OFTEN MEDITATE THEREWITH

25. GP sounds like your God rules with an iron fist
    In so much that Timothy or Pauls utterances must only be spoken by his authority and not through a sane and stable mind which God gave them
    Makes me wonder how can religiuos teachers say that God gave mankind free will
    But then again it is your God that you are referencing and not the God the creator that gave all of mankind free will
    Cant imagine being in heaven with braying a.ssses like you
    You probably would even argue with God
    What a duffus

26. RE “shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way.”

So women can teach when they walk outside then?

THIS INSTRUCTION WAS GIVEN TO ALL PARENTS IN ISRAEL- BOTH MALE & FEMALE IT IS A SELF EXPLANATORY INSTRUCTION
    ONE OF THE FIRST VERSES I MEMORIZED AS A NEW CONVERT IN 1968
    WHEN I DROVE MY SONS TO SCHOOL ON MORNINGS WE USED TO MEMORIZE SCRIPTURES
    MY LAST SON STILL DOES THIS SOME 30 YEARS LATER

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GP “LAST TIME I ATTENDED AN ANGLICAN SERVICE WAS IN 2003 AT ST JOHNS CATHEDRAL IN ST JOHNS ANTIGUA.”

A beautifully restored building, after the earthquake of 1980. Restored under the direction of Antiguan Fitzroy Pestaina, who had previously served for many years in Barbados.

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Whenever I go to Antigua i like to walk up to St. John’s Cathedral and stop for a few minutes of prayer therein.

29. Simple Simon,

Just showing up the old farts, gal.

“Positions of authority are (reserved) for men”

What a great job they have done with that authority!

But…. since we were responsible for raising the men I guess it’s OUR fault. Again!

Wuhlaus!

A woman can’t win! Who told us to pick that fruit and persuade foolish Adam to eat it?!\ That damned slimy serpent!

But wait…. I don’t recall ever being in a garden naked and hiding from the Lord! That was EVE not Donna! So why am I suffering the consequences? What kind of fair and just God would want me to bear eight or nine children in pain for something I didn’t do?

Again I ask the question – who wrote this Bible?

And the answer? Men. Men who caught an imperfect glimpse of God which is as much as the human condition allows us to do and were inspired to write it down according to the limits of their understanding.

I am certain that is true for all the religions of the world.

The main difference between the Muslim world and the Christian world is that Muslims are still living in the back of the cave whilst Christians have PROGRESSED to the opening. When the old farts die off this denial of full humanity to women will die with them.

Years ago I deliberately showed my Sunday School class of young adolescents a film of the whole Garden of Eden shebang and though they had heard the story told many many times actually SEEING it nearly killed them with laughter until they begged me to turn it off. They believed in God. They believed in the Creator. They appreciated the Bible. But they had not taken leave of their senses.

This literal nonsense will die!

PS. Did you believe that God chose Obama to be the president of the United States? Because I thought that was the electorate. I’m ashamed to say that I did not consult Him?Her when I voted for either Freundel or Mia. Did you?

30. An instruction that I followed to great effect. We spoke of God whilst we were lying in bed at night and when we went for our nature walks on the cliffs.The posters are still on my door even though my son is sixteen years old.

But here’s the thing…. I have also spoken in church and one man asked me if it was like that every week because he would have left his church to come to ours.

31. simple simon

rev pestaina died in 1976.
    seems he has arisen from the dead to lead the restoration in the last 8 years which is still in the works
    https://www.antiguaobserver.com/eight-years-later-st-johns-cathedral-opens-for-mass/

I call this church “the sealed house” as the copious paneling within causes me to think what Haggai’s temple might have looked like)

Though beautiful. I thought that the paneling damped down the acoustics

32. Who wrote the Book of Hebrews?

33. ALTHOUGH HE DOES NOT SAY, I BELIEVE IT IS PAUL BECAUSE OF ITS CHARACTERISTICS OF HAVING A DOCTRINAL SECTION LINKED TO A DEVOTIONAL SECTION BY A THEREFORE OR THEREFORE

34. Some seem to think it may have been Priscilla

35. Years ago I deliberately showed my Sunday School class of young adolescents a film of the whole Garden of Eden shebang and though they had heard the story told many many times actually SEEING it nearly killed them with laughter until they begged me to turn it off. They believed in God. They believed in the Creator. They appreciated the Bible. But they had not taken leave of their senses.
    This literal nonsense will die!

What are you saying?

You, a woman was given the responsibility to teach God’s Word to Children in the Church and you belittled it?

Where did you get the idea that God’s Word was false?

Seen any serpent’s lately?

“14 And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression.”

36. JOHN

Re And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression.”

ITS STILL HAPPENING TODAY SIR

Re Where did you get the idea that God’s Word was false?

IT MUST BE THOUGHT TO BE FALSE IF ONE DOES NOT START AT THE POINT OF BELIEVING IN THE CONCEPT OF THE PLENARY VERBAL INSPIRATION OF THE WORD OF GOD AS VERY CLEARLY THOUGHT IN 2Tim.3:16 to 17
    All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

AND IN 2 Peter 1:21V)
    For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

NOTE THAT THE WORD DID NOT COME by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

RE This literal nonsense will die!
    ALL THE GREAT BIBLE SCHOLARS THROUGHOUT THE AGES INTERPRET THE BIBLE LITERALLY USING
    The common sense Golden Rule of Interpretation

“When the plain sense of Scripture makes common sense, seek no other sense; therefore, take every word at its primary, ordinary, usual, literal meaning unless the facts of the immediate context, studied in the light of related passages and axiomatic and fundamental truths, indicate clearly otherwise.”–Dr. David L. Cooper (1886-1965),
    founder of The Biblical Research Society

This has often been shortened to “When the plain sense of Scripture makes common sense, seek no other sense, lest it result in nonsense.”

Please don’t fall for the trap of using human reasoning to twist the meaning of a phrase into something you want it to mean. I have heard the most outlandish doctrines developed out of the interpretation of a particular phraseology of partial verses in a certain translation. Why?! How can that possibly be what God wanted us to learn from his written word?

Trust but verify
    Establish every matter in the mouth of two or three witnesses. If we trust God to fulfil his word, he will follow his own teaching. Therefore, everything that we need to know and obey will be given in the mouth of 2 or 3 witnesses. LIKE THE BEREANS IN ACTS 17

37. JOHN

READ THIS STATEMENT BELOW IN AN INTRODUCTION TO MICAH

Don’t just believe everything you think. IF I CANT SUPPORT MY THOUGHTS ABOUT MATTERS OF FAITH AND PRACTICE BY SCRIPTURE, I DISCARD THEM

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GPOctober 31, 2019 6:24 PM “simple simon. rev pestaina died in 1976. seems he has arisen from the dead to lead the restoration in the last 8 years which is still in the works.”

But you attended a service there in 2003 did you not?

And I worshipped there in 2002 for certain.

You know as well as i do that it takes years, sometimes decades to restore/rebuild a cathedral, especially in poor communities. And that there is often some time between when the building returns to regular use, and the time of the “official” reopening.

Tell me what state the building was in 2003 when you were there. Was it in a usable state?

The panelling and the acoustics won’t bother me, because alas I can’t sing. Lolll!!! so I have to worship in silence.

39. @John

Is it about the Bible being false or an appreciation that allegories must be filtered from the message. You are too intelligent to resort to a base interpretation of the word.

40. SS
    Tell me what state the building was in 2003 when you were there. Was it in a usable state?
    THE RESTORATION WAS BEING PLANNED THEN

RE Is it about the Bible being false or an appreciation that allegories must be filtered from the message. You are too intelligent to resort to a base interpretation of the word.

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT THERE ARE TWO STATED ALLEGORIES IN THE BIBLE ONLY— IN BOTH CASES THIS IS STATED

One instance of this is Galatians 4, where Paul interprets the story of Abraham, Hagar, and Sarah as an allegory for the Old and New Covenants. He writes, “For it is written that Abraham had two sons, one by the slave woman and the other by the free woman. His son by the slave woman was born according to the flesh, but his son by the free woman was born as the result of a divine promise. These things are being taken figuratively: The women represent two covenants. One covenant is from Mount Sinai and bears children who are to be slaves: This is Hagar. Now Hagar stands for Mount Sinai in Arabia and corresponds to the present city of Jerusalem, because she is in slavery with her children. But the Jerusalem that is above is free, and she is our mother” (Galatians 4:22–26). Here, Paul takes actual, historical people (Abraham, Hagar, and Sarah) and uses them as symbols for the Law of Moses (the Old Covenant) and the freedom of Christ (the New Covenant). Through Paul’s allegorical lens, we see that our relationship with God is one of freedom (we are children of the divine promise, as Isaac was to Sarah), not of bondage (we are not children of man’s bondage, as Ishmael was to Hagar). Paul, through the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, could see the symbolic significance of this historical event and used it to illustrate our position in Christ.

I THINK THE OTHER STATED ALLEGORY IS IN HOSEA

MANY MORONS MUDDY UP THE WATERS BY ALLEGORICAL INTERPRETATIONS. IT IS THUS THAT THE DEVIL CAUSES CONFUSION AND CHAOS AND CAUSES FOLK TO DOUBT GO JUST AS HE DID IN THE GARDEN

WHEN IT SAYS “THEY GOT IN A BOAT AND WENT OVER TO THE OTHER SIDE”, IT MEANS SIMPLY THAT “THEY GOT IN A BOAT AND WENT OVER TO THE OTHER SIDE”

INTELLIGENT SANE SOUND SENSIBLE STUDENTS OF THE SCRIPTURES INTERPRET THE BIBLE LITERALLY AS THEY DO OTHER LITERATURE ACCORDING TO WHAT IS CALLED COOPERS RULES.

“When the plain sense of Scripture makes common sense, seek no other sense; therefore, take every word at its primary, ordinary, usual, literal meaning unless the facts of the immediate context, studied in the light of related passages and axiomatic and fundamental truths, indicate clearly otherwise.”

This has often been shortened to “When the plain sense of Scripture makes common sense, seek no other sense, lest it result in nonsense.”

THE BIBLE IS LITERATURE AND OUGHT TO BE READ THUS

iT IS TO BE NOTED THAT SOME PORTIONS OF THE SCRIPTURES ARE POETRY AND THIS MAKES THESE PORTIONS DIFFICULT TO INTERPRET

INTELLIGENT SANE SOUND SENSIBLE STUDENTS OF THE SCRIPTURES THEN CONSULT WORD STUDIES

41. JOHN

RE You are too intelligent to resort to a base interpretation of the word.

RUBBISH

JOHN YOU ARE DOING MUCH BETTER THAN MOST OF THE NOVICES AND BIBLE KNOW IT ALLS THAT COME HERE BECAUSE YOU ARE AN HONEST SEEKER AND SEEM TO DO LIKE THE SAINTS AT BEREA MENTIONED IN ACTS 17:10 And the brethren immediately sent away Paul and Silas by night unto Berea: who coming thither went into the synagogue of the Jews.

11 These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.

12 Therefore many of them believed; also of honourable women which were Greeks, and of men, not a few.

HOW ON EARTH WILL YOU ALLEGORISE THIS

ALSO DONT CONFUSE METAPHOR AND OTHER USES OF THE LANGUAGE LIKE METONONY, ANTHROPHOMORPHISMS ETC WITH ALLEGORY

THE DEVIL WILL HAVE US INTERPRET JOHN 19 BY ALLEGORY TOO I BET

42. SS

….. so I have to worship in silence.

What is so hard to understand about worshiping in silence?

Men do it as do women.

In fact Quakers did it routinely.

43. JOHN
    RE ….. so I have to worship in silence.

SHE IS SAYING SINCE SHE CANT SING SHE CANNOT PARTICIPATE IN THOSE PARTS OF THE SERVICE WHERE THERE IS SINGING SO SHE HAS TO worship in silence DURING THESE PARTS OF THE MEETING

44. @ GP November 1, 2019 11:17 AM
    “THE BIBLE IS LITERATURE AND OUGHT TO BE READ THUS…”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You mean like the “Complete Works of Shakespeare”?

If you actually believe an old man and his post-menopausal senile wife (both nonagenarians) can have a baby together then you would believe that King Arthur impregnated Alice in Wonderland and Queen Elizabeth 11 is a descendant of King David and was put on the British throne by Yahweh.

45. You are too intelligent to resort to a base interpretation of the word.

Unintelligent people often get It long before intelligent ones.

I don’t mess with the Bible, that’s not what I was taught.

It is what it is.

Because I may not be able to make sense of parts does not mean they are wrong.

It just means I can’t make sense of parts.

So what’s new!!

I have favorite places to go when I need help which make perfect sense to me!!

Sometimes I strike out into unknown chapters and get befuddled.

But, Google is there as are people who know it better than I do.

… and I can always reread the parts slower!!

46. re If you actually believe an old man and his post-menopausal senile wife (both nonagenarians) can have a baby together then you would believe that King Arthur impregnated Alice in Wonderland and Queen Elizabeth 11 is a descendant of King David and was put on the British throne by Yahweh.

MILLER SIR
    I DO, JUST LIKE HOW I BELIEVE THAT YOU ARE THE FATHER OF THE CHILDREN YOU SAY BELONG TO BOTH YOU AND YOUR WIFE AND JUST AS I BELIEVE YOUR OUT SIDE WOMEN WHEN THEY CLAIM THAT YOU ARE THE FATHER OF THEIR CHILDREN TOO

YOU BELIEVE IT TOO, EVEN THOUGH YOU KNOW THAT YOU FIRING BLANKS!

47. JOHN

RE But, Google is there as are people who know it better than I do.
    THIS IS TRUE. MANY OF THE GOOD AUTHORS ARE TO BE FOUND ONLINE BUT THERE IS A LOT OF RUBBISH TOO

I WOULD RECOMMEND TO YOU GUZICK- VERY SIMPLE & PRECEPT AUSTIN VERY FULL OF THE WRITINGS OF THE OLD STALWARTS OF THE FAITH

IF YOU WANT TO STUDY SAY PSALM 23 TYPE GUZICK ON PSALM 23 OR PRECEPT AUSTIN ON PSALM 23 OR CONSTABLE OR DEFFINBAUGH AND YOU SHOULD GET SOME GOOD JUICE!

48. I showed them a video. I did not speak. I did not make faces. The reaction was all theirs.

Perhaps I should say this ABSOLUTE LITERAL nonsense way of interpreting every verse in every story will die.

49. The common sense Golden Rule of Interpretation

“When the plain sense of Scripture makes common sense, seek no other sense; therefore, take every word at its primary, ordinary, usual, literal meaning unless the facts of the immediate context, studied in the light of related passages and axiomatic and fundamental truths, indicate clearly otherwise.”–Dr. David L. Cooper (1886-1965),
    founder of The Biblical Research Society

So…….we are now to use common sense?????????????

My common sense or your common sense?

I prefer mine.

It does not make sense to me that a man should be given authority over a much more competent woman just because of a penis and two balls, the organs that show the least common sense of any human organs known to humankind. These organs cause men to behave in purely irrational ways for which they are often relieved of responsibility because of their irrational nature. The onus has always been on women to control the bad behaviour of these irrational organs. Men who frequently lose control of these organs are usually heralded as studs. And the women who fail to stop these rampant male organs from getting out of control are labelled sluts and whores.

50. we are now to use common sense?
    YES JUST AS YOU WOULD WHEN YOU READ BU OR THE NEWS PAPER OR A BOOK

YOU MUST take every word at its primary, ordinary, usual, literal meaning unless the facts of the immediate context, studied in the light of related passages and axiomatic and fundamental truths, indicate clearly otherwise JUST AS YOU WOULD WHEN YOU READ BU OR THE NEWS PAPER OR A BOOK . ”