The former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Leader of Government Maxine McClean and Leader of government business in the last administration made a very interesting contribution to the radio talk show Brasstacks on the 8 August 2019. Her contribution severely criticized government’s decision to write-off penalties, interest owed on VAT in the 1996 to 2000 period and a waiver of taxes from 2001 to 2017.

It was unfortunate the moderator of the program appeared ignorant about the subject matter and preferred to pressure McClean to finish her contribution which was valuable if compared to many who use the program to discuss issues boring to most listeners.

Here is the link that captures McClean’s contribution.

174 responses to “Former Minister Maxine McClean Blisters Government’s Decision to Write-off VAT Monies Owed to Taxpayers”

1. @ David.

What about the additional burden it places on those that pay? To me that is just an excuse for an indirect tax collection system that has more holes in it than an old strainer.

If the collection agencies functioned then how could 2 years of debts be run up by anyone? Why didn’t they act after say 60 days to collect? You think you could run up a year of debt with the light and power and still have electricity? After 60 days you would of had to run and buy candles.

Why for exAmple were those who owed vat not told you can clear no further goods at customs until this is settled. You would of seen how fast they find the money!

Alot of dam excuses for a broken indirect taxation system that both governments refuse to fix, but instead bring new taxes to replace old uncollected ones.

I would like to use the words I honestly feel about this approach but I doubt you would print them!

2. Pacha
    Surprised you would craft a criticism that is as personal. She has a right to comment. In fact given her experience she is well placed to do so. Citizens must take her constructive critique and pressure the government to do better. Leveling empty attacks on the person means nothing.

Your position is what has led us to the state we are currently in.

There’s nothing personal here. We would have made similar comments about any of the other people who blindly carried our country to death’s door.

Up to now there has not even been an apology – from McClean, the party. But you are favourably disposed to forgiveness.

What we take particular objection to is that the DLP treated the country so badly that they set a new (low) standard for this BLP to follow, and they will! Nobody lost their pensions, no heads rolled and yet we have the McCleans of this world still occupying public spaces.

Then these same people have the gumption to come back talking shiiite. Maybe this writer cannot be as ‘forgiving’ as you seem to be.

What McClean should explain is why the DLP destroyed Barbados in the manner in which they did, without even having the decency to take the people into their confidence. These acts should be unforgiveable!

Now McClean would come and pretend that a matter, which she must be well familiar, since a lot of that shiiite happened under her very eyes, is so portentous that a right to speak is warranted.

David, where was McClean’s objections to the plan to sell the Hilton to make a loan payment. To us that kind of economic thinking is the equivalent to eating seed corn. But not a word then nor now from McClean.

Where is that dependable antiquarian device when most needed!

3. @Pacha the Sage
    Coming at you again.
    Is McClean’s critique of the Act, decision to write off/forgive valid. Let us start here before we advance the debate.

Yes! There is a point here if you’re a technician, like she pretends to be.

But that is the wrong question.

How is this single act by this BLP any different to what McClean and the DLP did? Now that is the right question!

What people really need to know is that we’ve entered a second phase of neoliberalism tending towards fascism.

But we will never hear any trenchant critique of the whole shebang from the likes of McClean.

4. @ John A

Packaging and selling on is better. You get cash up front and collecting the debt is somebody else’s affair. We can also sell on our pensions obligations for over-50s. There is so much we can do. The government is obviously not getting good policy advice, or is rejecting it..

5. “How is this single act by this BLP any different to what McClean and the DLP did? Now that is the right question!”

Exactly,..

“But we will never hear any trenchant critique of the whole shebang from the likes of McClean.”

I can say with qualified knowledge that she is a fraud and just like the other frauds from both political parties through the decades, never look out for their own people in the general population, not as long as they have the same skin color, not as long as they have minority criminals to suck up to, enrich and take bribes from.

They are all good for nothing.

6. @Pacha

What use is an apology from McClean using your yardstick of evaluation? Would you have been disposed to believing her?

You have accepted her intervention is valid. How do we embrace it to the benefit of the citizenry.

7. @John

Look around you Auditor General report is a good place to start. Much in the public service regarding financial management does not work efficiently. What we want to do is cherrypick the issues.

8. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

You still don’t get it ! David is a bone fide defender of the Duopoly. While your pedagogy is admirable you need to get another student. In the words of the elders : The boy’s ears hard!

9. Those who in there political. pursuit continues to attack Mclean on her forth right need to challenge this policy should be reminded that on May 24th the people voted for change which includes accountabilty and transparency at for that reason alone this govt should be questioned their intent and motives in they way they are /have/ will be transacting business on behalf of the people
    Apparantly for many here they are comfortable with doing business as usual
    Hence their boisterous attacks on Mclean who simply asked questions of clarity

10. McClean needs to sit her ass down, the elctorate got rid of the usless DLP for a very valid reason…

…the only thing left to do is get rid of the DLPs sidekick the BLP and all those who have polluted the island with such membership…no one wants to hear idiots at this time, it is too crucial a time to be listening to those who still have nothing better to offer but more of the same slave society, no new ideas, no progress, no radical changes of removing those who are PREVENTING PROGRESS FOR THE BLACK MAJORITY.

the problem remains the same, too many people still have 15 second attention spans coupled with SHORT MEMORIES….black people’s downfall.

11. @William

The blogmaster has little time and use for the silly games some play here. All members of the duopoly as you suggest are not the worse people. In the case of Maxine she has given to public service before her foray into politics. He was involved in the leadership of the credit union movement in its embryonic stage, she was involved in the YESS program (you are aware of this program?), a teacher at tertiary level etc. She has devoted much of her life to public service.

Does the blogmaster agree with her every move? Of course not. What this blogmaster will not do is join with some behind a keyboard clueless to the intricacies of the issues.

To restate: the former minister has asked relevant questions of the government- what makes sense at this stage is to decide if to attack the messenger or agree and add to the message to achieve some good.

The position of the blogmaster will confuse you and others who label every issue as a binary problem.

12. David

i am pleasantly surprised at you levelheadedness in this matter. keep it up but i have to ask- what gives?

13. William Skinner Avatar

Your defense of Ms. McClean’s contribution to the national well being is noted. I don’t ever allow my philosophical and ideological positions to blind me to the good in others. I have quite comfortable relationships within the Duopoly. They respect the fact that I see no real differences within their organizations.
    You believe that the country is well served by the Duopoly. You have been consistent on this and your position should be respected.
    I don’t consider a little side bar between McClean and her BFF to be significant in one way or the other. You seem to relish this latest display of affection.
    I am telling you all right now: the higher echelons of the Duopoly have already decided how to accommodate each other in the next election. They have already decided who will be sacrificed in order to correct what they consider an unintended and unexpected imbalance in the status quo. The Duopoly is way more sophisticated than some of us want to think.

The Duopoly Rules

14. When i hear an intelligent minister/politician say that it is FINALLY time to get rid of the criminal minorities whom they have all helped rape the treasury and pension fund in one form or another and at one time or another…then i will take bajan politicians/ministers seriously…in the meantime, i will certainly not hold my breath given the vicious actions of both governemnts over the decades in refusing to collect vat, enabling their BRIBERS families and friends to rob the treasury and benefiting from these crimes…AND malciously keeping one section of the majority population in a cycle of poverty generation after generation without end…

at least show some self respect and self esteem… put ya foot down if ya want any changes instead of both political parties when in government using the same modus of spinning shit in the people’s head and carrying them around and around in a cycle of no progress and no changes….just like McClean with her limited intellect believes she can now get away with doing.

15. @Pacha
    What use is an apology from McClean using your yardstick of evaluation? Would you have been disposed to believing her?
    You have accepted her intervention is valid. How do we embrace it to the benefit of the citizenry.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Pray tell. What kind of country can we pretend to have if after the people of Barbados, in their ‘wisdom’ gave the DLP an historic deathblow for what they considered to be the height of mismanagement. And now you can posit that an apology, at least, is not necessary, as a precondition to a public show of face, thereafter.

What’s so special about any of these characters that not even the basis rules of good behaviour are to apply to them?

Are you not the man who always complaining about crime? What are your ‘boys on the block’ to think when a group of thugs could run the country into the mire and there can never be personal/party accountability?

Whether we are disposed to believing her or not is not the issue. We wouldn’t want to say before an apology is properly tendered the country and the party says what they will do to make sure there is no repeat of their mismanagement.

Even prisoners, in order to get parole, are expected to be contrite. But never the duopoly.

16. @Wiliiam

Clearly you have difficulty with comprehension. The blogmaster is defending the probing questions McClean has delivered. Some here prefer to attack personalities forgetting that this is a battle all must unite against if it means coopting support from wherever. How is it different from when your late leader returned to the DLP?

17. Dear Maxine,

With ministers like you, Barbados became the laughing stock of the entire Caribbean. Maybe we should pump all the shit into your house that’s been flowing around the south coast on the road for years?

McClean has been farting on the leather seats of her official Mercedes all these years, jetting around the world at the expense of the state and shopping tax-free with a diplomatic passport.

Didn’t she tell us we had to tighten our belts?

p.s.

The fact that such an arrogant creature and slave driver may appear on the radio only shows that certain sections of the press want to overthrow the government.

18. “you are harping on paying of creditors at what cost to bajans ?”
    “you wish to pay creditors to bankrupt the country”
    “Are you Dr Worrell who is advising the creditors with his inside knpwledge of the situation”.
    “creditors will be paid when an agreement is reached in the best interest of the country”

Are you like me? Do you hear what I hear? The above numpty of a blogger cannot make a point without wrapping himself in the flag and then telling others “You are not a good Bajan! You wish the worst for the country? You are a traitor like Dr Worrell”

What a numpty

19. A happy and prosperous day to all of Barbados.
    Hoping that you start the day in pleasant surroundings and circumstances.
    Have a Great day Barbados

20. @ David.

I agree with you on this cherry picking whose debt you want to forgive. If your collection agencies are the failure you have shown them to be, then why would you expect them not to put you back where you are now after forgiving the debt. All that will happen is in another 5 years new unpaid debts will be racked up then what, will you have another debt forgiveness again?

There is no sound financial logic that can support such a decision. Fix the Indirect tax collection system and farm out what you are owed to an independent collector who will not show favouritism to any.

In the meantime stop slaughtering the few that pay with the burden for all.

21. William Skinner Avatar

@ TheOGazerts

You and dem radio stations want to overthrow de government. You, Hal Austin and John A ain’t patriotic. Imagine wunnuh want de government to pay who they owe and destroy we country. Traitors. Wunnuh so should be locked up without trial or we should really divert the sewage from the ocean and dump um in wunnuh living rooms. Wunnuh ain’t Bajan at all. Wunnuh get bout hey and cuss Stuart as wunnuh like but let me tell wunnuh something we don’t tolerate foolishness. All wunnuh gine prison fuh treason just now.
    Wuh Maxine do wunnuh she is one a we and we in de Duopoly have one rule: Touch one Touch All.
    Ah don care with all yuh suh. Wunnuh short ah water but de cool aid too sweet. Traitors wunnuh should be shame.

The Duopoly Rules

22. @ Hal

I like you find myself asking the same question and that is who are their financial advisors?

I can’t say from White Oaks back down that I have seen any results or value for money, in terms of what we have gotten based on our spend with these “learned advisors “

23. “Uneasy is the head that wears the crown”.

It is quite possible that MIa and her cohorts are travelling in territory that they did not expect and is completely new to them.

It is clear that they came with the intention of running the usual mono-duopoly scams, but found that the incompetence of the last administration has taken them beyond the customary sharing/slaying of the fatted calf.

The smoke and mirrors routines, they wished to employ, no longer work.
    White Hoax
    Port scammers.
    Announcing and shortly reversing policy
    Missing promised will-pay-on dates

I would love to see Barbados succeed, but the Mottley administration needs to rise to the challenges that are facing us. The last administration gutted the car. The auto-steering, cruise control and air-conditioning buttons are not working; the car needs fixing and steering;

Forget the scams and misstatements and be a good government. The opportunity to make a good mark is there> Seize it.

24. @ William

Good luck getting it pump up country in the bush by me. Lol

25. John A

Sometime go the government created the Diaspora conference, the idea was that people working overseas would attend and make suggestions on policy issues.
    One guy in New York spent ages working on a document on financial regulation and came home to present. Instead, he had Maxine McClean preaching to them about how they could help Barbados (reminds you of 20/20 Vison?). He emailed me from New York and said he would never attend again.
    @ John A There are Bajan local authority officers that manage budgets bigger than the entre budget of the Barbados government.

26. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/08/10/not-so-sweet-2/

I was not expecting to hear this in 2020. Are we in a time loop(Groundhog day) and recycling old useless messages?

Can we try different crops? As an example …. Would pineapple grow in Barbados?

27. Some are acting like they have not heard that STUCK RECORD that McClean is playing before, over the last 5 election cycles…at most 30 years, 3 decades…,and they still want people to respond to that mind numbing diocy coming from a mediocre politician like McClean…steuppss

Time loop does not begin to describe these jackasses…they are destructive to the island’s population.

It is time that the population DEMAND MORE from these treasury sucking parasites.

28. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/08/09/abm-scammers/

If you read the story then you will shed a few tears for the scammers (although they were laughing as they took your money).

I am calling on the Government/Courts of Barbados to give these guys four months in jail, a fine and then deportation. You are quick on dropping the hammer on nationals for stealing a loaf of bread and then giving Europeans and other criminal a tap on the wrist.

Let’s get a fair playing-field.

29. @ Hal

I am beginning to think that they do believe they are bigger than the government entire budget. I also have to ask how the MOF can sign off on some of these ideas that are void of all financial logic.

30. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/08/09/britishers-backing-barbados/

“Barbados is enjoying a season of goodwill and best wishes from the indigenous British people in the UK.”

Despite the silly start to the story… it’s a good one…

Curious…
    If you have Barbadian parents, but was born in the UK, are you indigenous?
    If the answer is no… what does indigenous means?
    Can your offspring or their offspring be considered indigenous?
    if no, would the be considered indigenous to Barbados?

31. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/08/09/poor-public-sector-to-blame-for-uncompetitive-bim-worrell/

Sounds a little like Tron.. Wondering …

Have a great day.

32. Theo…don’t mind those frauds, certain African bloodlines ARE INDIGENOUS TO UK…..they were there thousands of years before these caucusASIANS came across the straits…what you are seeing is just british frauds being british frauds as usual…..trying to continue the pretence of being slave masters and coming down to the islands ever so often to be served by black slaves in a plantation setting…

33. @Pacha

To expect an apology in the adversarial politics and culture operating is a simplistic expectation. If you agree the questions posed by McClean in her capacity as a citizen of Barbados are relevant then let us move on.

34. @John A

How many years have we been trying to implement BRA as the premier revenue collection agency? It was suppose to address leaking revenue as well as efficiently ollect outstanding debt. Al least this is how it was promoted to the people.

Wait a minute, wasn’t VAT sold to the citizenry has the mother of all tax system that should have realized untold benefits?

35. David

Moving on!

Seems to us that we are forever embroiled in a vicious cycle of DLP mismanagement then BLP mismanagement and over and over again.

We are seeking to break that duopoly cyclic norm. Why do you object?

Has that not been the story of our post-independence history, at least?

36. Government could publish the list of companies and people whose taxes were waived.

However that could create political problems if BLP members or government ministers are among those

whose taxes were waived and penalties and interest erased.

So let’s just move on. Nothing to see here.

37. @Pacha

What informs your position the blogmaster objects?

How does one dismantle the duopoly IF there are no willing or worthy contenders?

You propose a slash and burn approach?

38. David

We’re not that ambitious.

Merely subject the maximum lawbreakers of social contracts to the ultimate penalty.

39. Now just one question for the sake of transparency. You all remember that word it was knocking bout at elections alot?

Who will decide whose taxes are waived and what will be the basis of this waiver? Will there be a means test for waivers or will there be a waiver for all based on a date, including those who could of paid but chose not to? Will both Bs and Ds be entitled to waivers?

Finally what does this constant need for waivers and tax amnesty tell us? It tells us the economy is overtaxed hence the citizens can not exist on what they have and pay the state what they demand as well.

What has the state done to demand a 40 percent increase in land tax on some for example? Can we not see the total lack of logic in this whole tax approach? First we tax people more than they can pay so the estimates of revenue look good for the IMF, then we come back and issue waivers on sums we know we can’t collect.

One question to the MOF. Will statutory organisations also be granted waivers in this exercise? Is this a way of clearing their liability to central government so that we can tell the IMF all is now up to date?

So many questions but I don’t expect one answer.

40. @John A

The same questions Maxine is asking along with other clarifications?

41. Pacha…the world moved on decades ago and these backward RETARDS are still stuck in a warped and twisted cycle of …..the BLP did and did not do this and the DLP did and did not do that…playing stupid mind games that ya can’t even approach any of my grandchildren with…..or they would put you firmly in your place…

….insulting the intelligence of people who can actually think for themselves..

..and they all still think this 1950s idiocy is cute in this era…..steupppps

when they should all be telling McClean to give back the salary she collected for DOING NOTHING except for getting the island sued …when they all violated the human rights of Shanique Myrie..she and her fellow dummy Husbands …..and she and all the others should be made to give back the pension she and they are fraudulently collecting…

only insipid yardfowls would think any of that makes any sense.

42. Oh dear i like i anger the jackass Gazzerts every time i mention Dr Worrell,s name.Maybe he is Dr Worrell himself or his relative, well guess what Gazzerts i do not give a damn about you or Dr Worrell as in my view he is a traitor to his country.Deal with it jackass and go look to defend your madman idol Piece.

43. “So many questions but I don’t expect one answer.”

and just like you McClean KNOWS WELL ENUFF…that she will never get an answer, cause her administration…NEVER gave taxpayers and pensioners any answers either about what they are doing OR what they did with the people’s money.

…..neither government gives answers…NEVER DID, NEVER WILL BECAUSE THEY ARE BOTH TOO CORRUPT…but people still think that WE should embrace the bullshit coming out of any of these ministers and politicians wicked mouths..

44. David

“Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs in the previous Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Government expressed disappointment that at a time when citizens are being asked to carry “a significant burden”, tax-defaulting businesses were being spared.”

She didn’t know this when the last administration was introducing all them taxes and writing of taxes and offering interest write-offs on VAT? Maxine is all hot air. What were her accomplishments as Minister of Foreign Affairs besides flying? Hypocrite!🤣🤣🤣

45. @ David.

In a way but her slant is seen as political even though they deserve an answer, she is seen as Satan lecturing to sinners. Lol

I don’t care about party all I want to know is what is the criteria for waivers and doesn’t the constant need for waivers and amnesty suggest we are taxed beyond our ability to pay.

As usual anyone who wants to argue differently i am willing to chat with based on facts and data but not politics.

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Someone asked the same question that I ask these BLP tricksters. If you are going to give all those who owe the government tax breaks, including Daddy dearest, who now breathe easier, you should be able to publish their names in the name of transparency. Those on here talking shite about what the stinking DLP should have done seem not to realise that these same people who are now getting tax breaks date back to the days to the BLP. Why did they not seek to collect the taxes then as well? The BLP is force to go after unpaid taxes like never because the playing field has changed. Mia Rogue Works Mottley should make the names available. They should be no secrecy in this exercise.

47. David you want to bet that there will not be another land tax amnesty either next year or year after based on these massive increases?

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

………What has the state done to demand a 40 percent increase in land tax on some for example? Can we not see the total lack of logic in this whole tax approach? First, we tax people more than they can pay so the estimates of revenue look good for the IMF, then we come back and issue waivers on sums we know we can’t collect……….

They got some on here that want you to believe that this Rogue has everything in control. Do not say anything about her and her administration because they doing far better than the last jackasses. Where is the commonsense in this move? If the people who owe taxes are unable to pay then provide the proof of this to the public to set the record straight. Talking shite about some dead, some unable to pay blah blah, especially coming from the mouths of people who are known to deceive and tell lies, just ain’t cutting it.

49. Sunshine my mother didn’t have no sheep for a son. We will ask questions even if we get no answers. If we could all just put politics one side we would get so much further with opening issues up for discussion.

Anyhow we live on hope I guess