Submitted by Due Diligence
Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs

LEADER of Government Business in the Senate, Senator Maxine McClean, has lauded the model to be used in the construction of houses in the Oxnards, St. James area as part of Government’s Housing Every Last Person programmeBarbadosAdvocate

The Senator appears not to understand how a home builder finances the construction of homes, and how a home buyer finances/pays for his/her purchase of the home. At the end of the day, once that person gets their mortgage approved, that person does not have access to any funds under the mortgage commitment ”to start to make their payments”.  The mortgage lender makes one advance – when the home is completed.

Assuming it has a good credit rating and title to the property, sign off on the agreement and accessing a mortgage (commitment by the home buyer) would allow the home builder/contractor to negotiate financing with its bank to for the cash flow needed to build the home; but the home buyer does not provide working capital into the project, he/she pays for his/her home when it is completed.

My understanding is that it normally works like this…

1. The home builder (contractor) buys the land, using its cash as a deposit on the land.
  2. The home builder then enters a contract with the home buyer, who has secured a commitment for a mortgage to enable him/her to complete the purchase when the home is built.  At signing the purchase contract, the home buyer makes a down payment – of say 25% of the purchase price.
  3. The home builder goes to the bank to arrange a loan, against the security of the property to enable him to fund the cost of building the home.
  4. When the home is completed, the home buyer goes back to the lender which has committed to the mortgage to draw down the advance of the mortgage – the final 75% of the purchase price – assuming he still qualifies for the mortgage. (if he has lost his job he probably will not qualify).
  5. The lender’s attorney registers its mortgage on the property of the home being purchased (so it mortgage is registered on title) and lender advances the amount of the mortgage (through its attorney); which is paid to ensure the home builder pays off any money owing on the land and/or the construction cost for that home, so the lender has clear title on the property to secure its mortgage.

In this case, it seems that some Government entity (NHC?) owns/has title to property on which the home will be built; and the small contractor/home builder does not have title to the land. In that model,  it will be the entity which has title to the property that will have to make payments to the contractor until the home is completed and the home buyer can get access  to the mortgage advance from the mortgage lender to complete the purchase.

If the Leader of Government Business in the Senate, does not understand how a simple mortgage loan to finance a new home is advanced; is it any wonder why the Government does not understand how a country is financed?

Maybe the Senator should limit her interaction with the media to those frequent photo-ops with her chatting with the Ambassador from China and other members of the diplomatic corps in Barbados.

76 responses to “Oxnard Housing Model Needs Clarification”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

are-we-there-yet | April 16, 2014 at 12:44 AM@ You are now getting the feel of things , The Archives is to be there for ever , After 1966 these crooks seem to make move to hide the History after Independence .

John | April 15, 2014 at 9:04 PM | @ That is great We have more we did not print, But you seem to have valid points ,
    As said before ‘I only want what is mine and right and what ever my Aunt leave Me,
    The Police Fraud was also blog from charging these BLP crooks at the time ,Now block from the DLP coverup crooks of today, The investigation was active up to the point of the Death of Violet Beckles Aug 23rd 2010 and PM DAVID Oct 23rd 2010 , See Numbers dont lie ,

Web site removed that was
    INDEX TO PLANTATIONS OWNERS 1630 TO MODERN TIMES
    web site was removed for We were looking into it Hard,
    As for Hughes/Queree 6 ring binder that was also changed up at the archives after death , mmmmm?
    list Chandler Dr.W.K 1914 , 240acres six mens
    Chandler .W.K 1924 30 acres six mens

Remember We at PLANTATION DEED ALSO KNOW THAT THERE IS FRAUD ON THE WEB SITE , WE POSTING WHAT WAS PRINTED OF THE WEB SITE BEFORE IT WAS PULLED IN 2012 OR ABOUT,
    WEB SITE CAME OUT OF TEXAS AS WE WERE TOLD US OF A.

2. Sargeant

Thanks for your full throated response about my assumptions.

If it sounds like my assumptions read suspiciously like the process in Canada, it is because most of the banks are Canadian.

The point of the original post was that the Senator (and Government) should not be counting on the home buyer to be funding the working capital needs of the small contractor. It is NHC who will have to fund the contractor until the home is completed and title transferred to the home buyer.

The qualification for a mortgage “commitment” is indeed done at the front end. Then there is the period between the signing of the commitment and the advancing of the funds at the completion of the home – say 6, 9, 12 months. If the borrower’s circumstances, employment, income, credit score etc. have not changed when the home is completed and title to the property is transferred to the home buyer he/she draws down the mortgage and the home builder/contractor and/or existing title holder is paid.

It would be a poor lender who does not it include a material adverse change condition such as: “This commitment is subject to reconsideration if there is any material adverse change in your financial status …….. etc”; so that if the borrower’s circumstances change, say he/she loses his/her job, the lender may refuse to make the advance.

My assumptions included that, given that the 73 units at the Project at Oxnards seem to be under a “Housing Every Last Person” programme, the home buyer does not hold title to the property – but that title is held by NHC – maybe. On re-reading the Senator’s comments the words “once it is vested into the NHC.” have me wondering if NHC has title.

As I said in my last kick at this can, I believe it is wishful thinking for the Senator to think that a person buying a house at Oxnards will be able to get their mortgage approved to provide for staged draws on a lot on which the person buying the house does not hold title, so NHC will have to make the staged payments to the small contractor.

If, however, the borrower, like Hants, has title to the property and has adequate unencumbered equity in the property, and meets the lenders other criteria, a lender may give a commitment with staged draws (ground floor then ring beam then roof then completed.) upon the borrower granting, and the lender registering, a mortgage on the property.

I must be careful in the future not to assume; cause as Oscar Wilde said – “When you assume you make an ass out of you and me.”, and I do not want to make an ass out of you or me.

3. @DD

Isn’t there a legal arrangment where NHC can give an undertaking to give title to the bank on completion?

4. Due Diligence wrote “I must be careful in the future not to assume;”

No sir. Bu is not a court of law. We all make assumptions and post on BU.

However there is always somebody who will correct you if you are wrong and your “assumption” has lead to an informative discussion.

All we Bajans is one (except for party politics) lol

5. David

“Isn’t there a legal arrangment where NHC can give an undertaking to give title to the bank on completion?”

I will have to leave that to the lawyers; which would likely make it cost-prohibitive to do.

In any event the Senator’s words “once it is vested into the NHC.” have me wondering if NHC has title to the Oxnards property: so even if such a legal arrangement were possible NHC may not have title so could not give an undertaking over something they do not own.

Hants

Thanks, I am happy my assumptions lead to an informative discussion.

And isn’t that what BU is all about.

6. @DD

If it is Crown land the MoH would have to go to parliament to transfer to the NHC. maybe BUPPS can advise.

7. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Once Again , The Crown own no Land, The NHC own no land , Crooking just like TAXES.
    If the AG act for the CROWN and then take Land , then hands it over to the NHC or UDC , COW , HAM ,friends, and others,what type of title is that? Fraud, No one paid any person for the land , Where is CLEAR TITLE AS NEEDED TO take to THE BANK for a loan.
    If NHC gives a title, you will be , or be able to see where the land came from , That is a Fraud Document , They Will not put that in your hands,
    Now you can see why information and books, wesite pulled or rewritten ,
    You can now know that the DBLP government did not buy no land from Plantation Owners for the country , Where is the records to show who they bought from ,
    Yet they show C.O.Williams 1970 canefield 238 acres ????
    So as you can see it report 1630 to modern times, buy COW and few other reach the year 2000 , less than 5 maybe.
    other only reach 1914, 1924,1947 and it ends there ,
    So we to believe that COW now use one plantation that he may not own himself and bought up all other , with help of Sir Chelthenham and the DBLP government contracts .
    NOW YOU ALL GETTING THE PICTURE,again
    ALL LAND HAVE AN OWNER AND ITS NOT THE CROWN AG nor any CROOK , LIAR , SCUMBAG MINISTER WHO JUST WON BY FRAUD ELECTIONS,
    They are all paid well to SHUT UP, and take the money.
    If Beatrice Henry did not buy the Plantation who did? Why hide the records?
    We send some info to David BU on Six Mens , let hope he post it,
    LAND AND TAXES IS THE KEY

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Due Diligence | April 16, 2014 at 12:40 PM @ you are getting the picture and now asking the Questions,Let them show the money and who , when , where and why , Bank , lawyers , owners, ,
    Walk backwards in time and drop off the edge to GAPS in owner ship between the AG ,CROWN, NHC,UDC, BANK, LANDTAX fraud bills to back up the Deeds they makeup .Free Land and the money is missing that is to go to NHC. STATUTORY rape TITLES MADE UP AS YOU GO , Michael Lashly DAM crook ass lawyer ,Rape of Violet and Beatrice
    Credit Unions also in this mess , some have more than a Billion in assets , with land and buildings they never build , Even light and power ,and others, FINDS the DEEDS,

9. @DD
    Thanks to Hants suggestion DD did some further investigating, and it appears I made the incorrect assumption that the Project at Oxnards is a conventional home building project.
    +++++++
    After you wrote the above I didn’t see the need to add a long winded response to my initial comments. You’ve also added the following to counter my earlier remarks

I am not a lawyer and I’ve heard of conditional loans but I can’t say I know of conditional mortgages, if the “material adverse” was not due to any fraudulent action on my part, if I didn’t lie on the loan application and if everything was above board and I paid the “25%” deposit and all the fees associated with the loan only to be told at the last minute “Sorry but you lost your job so we will not give you a mortgage”. My response would be “I’ll see you in Court”, my job loss may impose a financial hardship on my family but who will return my deposit and my fees? What if the builder sues me because I didn’t get the mortgage and couldn’t close the deal?

One other thing the Banks may be Canadian and their administration follows the Canadian model but their loan policy is dictated by local conditions, these are International Banks and they can’t very well duplicate the loan policies prevalent in Canada at all their International Offices.

10. are-we-there-yet

well i dont know if she has cleared it, but what i can say with certainty, she knows the process.

11. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Newblodd

My point was really a frivolous one. She must know the process, after all her house (afaik) is either in, or contiguous, to the Oxnards development.

12. I am not normally moved to respond to comments about me on the blogs. i do read contributions however. I would suggest that Due diligence first carry out his /her own due diligence and indicate exactly what was my contribution in the Senate in the debate to which he/she refers in this article. The writer knows nothing about my knowledge of what is involved in home purchase and or construction.

I did negotiate a mortgage, sign a contract to have constructed and supervise the construction of my own home and therefore am very familiar with the process of securing a mortgage and building a home, I also spent several years as a volunteer on the Executive of a credit union which routinely provided mortgages to its members. In addition I spent about 15 years as a Director of a commercial bank which engaged in similarly lending. I am therefore knowledgeable of these processes.

If an entity received a first payment on a home to be constructed, (receiving staged payments on a project for say 72 houses) does that not constitute working capital? this is in contrast to a situation where a builder invests 100% capital to construct and then seeks to sell them on completion. in the latter instance the builder will have to awit to recoup his investment. If you did not understand what i said or what was reported on what I said say so, but do not attribute ignorance to me on a matter of this nature. I knew of what i spoke.

13. Minister McClean

Thanks for your intervention but take note Due Diligence means well.

14. Undue Diligence, more the monkey climbs more of his Ass you see!
    Just another disgruntled, mischievous, Lying B they are so desperate, they can’t get anything to stick including their unified support for Mottley, and the are becoming increasingly more disjointed, desperate and despicable and dishonest collection bits and pieces politicians rightly named by their Leader of HM Loyal Opposition Sir Owen See Thru Arthur.

15. @Maxine McClean, this is a de facto “Political”blog.
    Politics shapes the comments of bloggers and any opportunity to bend the truth to attack”the opposition” is taken, just as is done in parliament and the senate.

No intelligent person would believe that you would not know the “process” and the majority of BU bloggers are intelligent.

To his credit “Due Dilligence” has tried to correct his “mistake” after taking a “hint” from me and Sargeant.

It is good that you read BU. There is a lot of good information emanating from both sides of the political divide.

16. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Maxine McClean | April 18, 2014 at 10:30 AM |@
    In All that you wrote , lets hope the people have CLEAR TITLE TO THE LAND and not the BLP fraud title , DLP fraud titles or the DBLP cover-up Fraud titles,
    We need the truth , of the PLANTATION LANDS AND DEED HISTORY RESTORED ,
    IF NOT WHILE IN OFFICE IT WILL BE DONE, OR WHEN YOU ALL ARE REMOVED. ONCE YOU SMELL THE RAT , THE CHEESE IS GONE,
    MIA AND OWEN NOW YOUR CROOK PM AND AG AND YOUR CROOK COP IS GONE, WE WILL SEE WHAT THE NEW COP DOES .
    ALL THOSE WHO TRESPASS WILL HAVE HELL TO PAY,
    WE AT PLANTATION DEEDS KNOWS WHAT YOU AL DID IN THE DARK.
    MORE PAIN TO COME FOR THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS,BECAUSE OF FRAUD AND COVER UP BY YOUR FRIENDS , CHECK YOU SELF! BEFORE YOU ………….
    THY KINGDOM COME, CHECK YOUR BIBLE
    HAPPY EASTER ,

17. @

R u for real? How could u offer such an explanation to my friend Maxine by stating due diligence means well. Yes we have our political point of view and oftentimes you deem those of us who support or lean towards the DLP as yardfowls a very much sought after commoidity these days

Have a Bledded Easter to all the BU family.

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

NY judicial commission notes 1,770 complaints
    TUESDAY APR 15, 2014 | THE grASSOCIATED PRESS
    ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) — New York’s Commission on Judicial Conduct says it processed 1,770 new complaints against judges last year, conducting 477 preliminary inquiries and authorizing 177 full investigations.
    In its annual report, the commission says it issued 17 public decisions admonishing or censuring 10 jurists, removing two from office and reaching five stipulations where judges resigned and agreed to never hold another judicial office.
    Another 10 judges resigned with complaints against them pending.
    The commission issued 18 confidential cautionary letters and had 201 matters pending at the end of the year.
    Since it was established in 1975, the commission has received 48,710 complaints, conducted 8,345 investigations and publicly disciplined 826 judges, including 166 removed from office. Another 1,516 judges have been confidentially cautioned and 493 judges resigned while under investigation or facing charges.

BARBADOS turn is here , brace for impact,
    To All crooks liars and scumbags
    Hello Ex CJ David Simmons Et alii.

19. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

The DLP and the BLP , the New DBLP Invest in Corruption , Corruption is like any other Business ,Supply Demand ad Greed.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

Every single one of them comes here to read commentary about them.

This is the azimuth by which they judge themselves, the weathercock and weather vane which lets them know how well they are performing or, as with Stinkliar, the profound asininity of his economic recovery programs.

It is here that Sanka “the moore the monkey climb the moore yuh does see he tail” comes to get inspiration for his Nation submissions and it is here when they get caught with their asses exposed to the wind that they come to see how they will fare at the polls of BU.

Note that, unlike the other Bajan blog sites how everyman jack now is posting here and the incidence of dual postings by the same clown have started to diminish as bloggers realise that their currency lies in the stolidity of their submissions as “John Doe” and not John Doe masquerading as James Doe.

A few still do it but as the clowns recognise that even though we (me included) have to hide behind these superfluous nom de plumes, we have a voice that is heard by the masses that come here to read.

Your readership is fast approaching the circulation of the nation and while many are afraid to put pen to cyberpaper and type their points of view, the voices in the wilderness are being monitored.

They come here and the smart ones graft the little that their challenged minds can absorb and they go back and implement.

Note how many bits of confidential information are now coming from Tom Dick and harry as the true Bajans seek to expose the wufflessness that has been and continues to be perpetrated against we Bajans.

I know a couple people who would willingly upload documents and email and pictures and alot of scary infelicities that are happening in Bulbados if they had the assurance as i do that your system of confidential info is foolproof.

I would suggest that you find a 3rd party site with a good webutation for secrecy and incorporate it as a link or whatever one does something that is so simple that John Doe the average Bajan feels that they can go there and upload the scans that they have from the office etc and be assured that BU or the RFPB CANNOT IN A THOUSAND YEARS find out who they are.

Both the DLP and the BLP fear this site because it now holds no brief for either of the scoundrels and one day you can be David Slayer of the BLP Owen Goliath Arthur of Alleyne Arthur fame and the next the man who (i) paid and got paid ridiculous sets of money in the Leroy Scandal and (ii) the man who left the proceeds of Families First to your widow instead of the people of Barbados.

We do not need Integrity Legislation the dirt (and the attendant shame for those who can feel it) exposed here in clear light of day, is worth ten parliamentary Acts, it is the power of the pen or the power of the cuntputer that makes the McClean’s of this 11×16 rock come here, as do they all

21. @PODRYR

Why can’t a submitter feel comfortable uploading via Dropbox to barbadosunderground?

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

It is not the comfort factor that i am speaking about, we both know that it is safe, it is moreso the simplicity of process of the submission.

John and Jane Doe aint like de ole man wid de grandson at the bank en ting, dem want a “drag it heah” and whuplax it ent even ask me fuh a false email address nor nuffin”

When I gine expose de Minister uh Tourism girlfriend in de pine and show de credit card statements dat she does get and he does pay fuh, i only wants to tek de pictures pun my camera put dem pun de computer and whuplax… upload dem

You know when you click on BU’s email address the message that comes back is “the page you requested is not found”

The Dirt will keep them honest….

23. Wuh David, you yaself just lecture Bushie on the hopelessness of pursuing the PLANTATIONS AFFAIR…..
    Lemuel feel that some people already looking to seize Bushie’s whacker (or his ass 🙂 ) …and now you can’t see why Bajans frighten fuh your Dropbox…?

Dropbox shiite….. :). Bajans frighten enough for electronic stuff yuh….never know where it can end up…..or who sticky hands may be in de box….
    You may need to educate and demonstrate.
    But Peiceuhderrock right about the power of transparency and integrity in BU’s hands…..

24. @pieceuhderockyeahright

Thanks for spotting the dead link. Will see what is possible.

25. DD apologizes for the delay in responding to Senator McClean’s post at April 18, 2014 at 10:30 AM, as he was away from BU for the Easter weekend, and just recently saw her post.

I acknowledge that apart from what was quoted by the Advocate I do not know exactly what the Senator said in her contribution in the Senate in the debate to which the Advocate article referred.

DD does not question the Senator’s knowledge of what is involved in home purchase and or construction, nor that she did negotiate a mortgage, sign a contract to have constructed and supervise the construction of her own home.

I would suggest, though, that the process of securing a mortgage and building a home for a person of the Senator’s financial and professional status and connections is quite different from a person wanting to buy a home as part of Government’s Housing Every Last Person programme.

I defer to the Senator’s intimate knowledge of the lending practices of credit unions gained from her several years as a volunteer on the Executive of a credit union. But I do find it difficult to believe that any lender, including a credit union, would make progress advances to a borrower who does not hold title to the property on which the home is to be constructed so that the home buyer can make staged payments to the contractor.

I previously said, and still believe it is wishful thinking for the Senator to think that persons wanting to buy a house at Oxnards will be able to get their mortgage approved to provide for staged draws on a lot on which the person buying the house does not hold title.

And, the way the Advocate article is written, it could create unrealistic expectations among its readers who may have an interest to buy a home in the Project at Oxnards; but which could result in disappointment when it does not turn out not to be as simple as it seemed, and some of the hopeful buyers are not able to have their home ownership dreams come true.

But, then I guess politics is all about creating expectations (unrealistic or otherwise), and the Senator is a politician.

And to Due What?, DD has no political affiliations or axe to grind.

26. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

ITS EASY TO QUALIFY ? FOR FRAUD
    DOCUMENTS NEEDED ? FOR FRAUD
    Job letter and recent pay slip ,,,,,, job cuts / lay offs ,union sell out workers
    Estimate of the project ……. we have no job
    Land owners permission …….. we cant find title,so we will make one up
    Town planning approval….. Mark Cummins for a fee, we dont care who own
    the land we just approve plans
    Passport-size photo……. So we can see if we know you.
    Financial statement /self employed…..TIMES HARD UNDER DBLP
    Agreement for sale……… more fraud no CLEAR TITLE ,
    Individual lot plan…….trespass by land surveyor
    Proof of ownership of house……..you never built it
    Title deeds ,,,,,,, any crook lawyer will make up one , with a lawyer stating to the best of my , more fraud ,

Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs, If you are part of this fraud , you will have a lot to answer for when the CUP take over the government , STOP the fraud open your Mouth and let the People know the truth , Some one in this DBLP government need balls , even if it is a woman.PLANTATION DEEDS WILL BE WATCHING AND THE REST OF BARBADOS , STOP THE COVERING UP THE COVER UP ON THIS MASSIVE FRAUD,