At a critical juncture in the history of Barbados – a country successive governments have invested heavily in educating our people – is it unreasonable to expect this popular biblical quote to resonate, ‘to whom much is given, much will be required’ (Luke 12:48)? Why have we educated our people if not to be at the ready by reporting for duty when parlous times confront us?

A regret of this blogmaster is the extent to which civil society has become afflicted by a feckless and ineffectual political class. As we approach one year of the Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party (BLP) government’s unprecedented decapitation of the Freundel Stuart led Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in the general election of May 24, 2018, the level of cynicism and vapidity exhibited within the population has been rising. It should not be unexpected that the rhetoric of austerity will also increase. The level of disaffection is more acute if one considers the quality of the Opposition described as the government in waiting.

How does a population seemingly detached from national objectives demand accountability from the ‘system’? How does a political class committed to self sustaining policies demonstrate a capacity to ‘correct’ by satisfying its mandate to effectively govern the country?

We have a government attempting to grapple with the political, economic and social challenges. In the absence of a blue chip schematic, debate will continue about the best policies required to extricate the country from the abyss is continues to be mired.

In our adversarial system of government the Opposition has an important role to play by injecting a dissenting perspective that is coherent. However the quality of the dissenting interventions must be related to the quality of the actors in the opposition ranks. Regrettably in the opinion of this blogmaster the opposition entities- to bastardize a biblical expression-  have fallen short in the glory of the electorate.

In January 2019 the Leader of the Opposition Joseph Atherley announced that individuals were deputed to speak on the following portfolios. (Sidebar: Hopefully one of these days the Atherley story will be told).

Irvin Belgrave – Home Affairs

Rev John Carter – Agriculture, Food Security and Maritime Economy

Dr Phillip Corbin – Energy, Water Resources and Telecommunications

Akil Daley – Youth and Small Business Facilitation

Sen Crystal Drakes – Economic, Sustainable Development and Climate Change

Paul Forte – Housing, Property Ownership, Works and Maintenance

Sen Caswell Franklyn – Labour, Social Security, Corporatives and Civil Establishments

Paul Gibson – Health, Wellness Services Development and Environment

Sylvan Greenidge – Transportation, Sanitation and Sewage Services

Bruce Hennis – International Business and Trade, Manufacturing and Commerce

Maria Phillips – Justice, Law Enforcement and Penal System

Alan Springer – Creative Economy and Sports Industry Development

Scott Weatherhead – Tourism, Regional and International Transport

Yesterday 25 April 2019 the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) also announced the names of individuals charged shadow ministries.

To cut to the chase, the blogmaster is not impressed with the quality of the opposition on offer in the Barbados space for the obvious reasons. What is exposes is that quality players are not interested in joining the political class. A natural consequence to the state of affairs is garbage in, garbage out.

232 responses to “Whimpering Opposition”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I was pointing to the similarities in the histories of the commonwealth Caribbean while you point to the differences. I will be more explicit. The historical similarity among the islands in question is that they had colonial powers in common and that they evolved similarly hierarchical social structures with massa at the pinnacle. This has led to cultural patterns that model leadership on being massa.

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr. William Skinner

I going stick with you cause, UNLIKE THE REST, you are not in fairy tale land.

You said and I quote…

“…The reason we can’t move forward is because we have apologists trying their best to defend political skulduggery.

They then succeed in convincing the gullible, that such a defense is in the national interest…”

That sir, is my reality, unlike the academics here who espousing all sorts of interesting things.

What is your suggested way forward?

I asked because …

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William Skinner & Piece
    Why is it, do you think, that apologists try to defend political skullduggery??

I suggest that it is mostly because they feel an obligation to fall in line behind their massa. They feel that they will be undermining their massa if they exhibit any behavior that is not slavishly obedient.

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT & Piece

The first step is for the country to stop putting impossible expectations on new political parties and accept that the BLPDLP is really one party with two slightly different names.
    The third step is for third parties to get in the communities and use this period to have a direct conversation with the populace.
    While the ideas of Piece utilizing technology are needed , there must be a direct assault on the BLPDLP right in the Centre of ALL thirty constituencies.
    The people are ready but unseating the duopoly is a monumental challenge. I know.
    We are asking for a total nonviolent revolution to rid the country of these two parasites.
    The reason that the apologists are entrenched is that they have not been made to feel uncomfortable. The best time to sink them is now that one of the vultures have been weakened. Should the IMF operation failed the other vulture will automatically collapse.
    This is not my dish because the poor will suffer more but in reality the duopoly is now skating on very thin ice.
    Now is the time to strike.

5. The first step is for the country to stop putting impossible expectations on new political parties and accept that the BLPDLP is really one party with two slightly different names.

How does one get a country to coalesce behind such a nebulous ideal?

The third step is for third parties to get in the communities and use this period to have a direct conversation with the populace.

Before the third parties are able to have a conversation they must project quality and competence.

6. William Skinner,

Real conversations with the people in all constituencies. Not political meetings. Sit down discussions in smaller groups. Yes, the people are ready. THE YOUNG PEOPLE ARE READY. But if you lie to them EVEN ONCE you will lose them. We need to start at the beginning and teach them who we are and what we are capable of doing together. We need to teach them interdependence and long term sustainability.

And yes we do need to make the DUOPOLY feel uncomfortable among us. We need to stop noticing them when they pass as though they are worthy of acclaim. We need to stop attending stupid ceremonies over which they preside. We need to speak their titles as though they are the marks of shame.

And I did see you mentioning REAL EDUCATION somewhere on another blog. And yes, technology will also be a good tool.

7. Now here is another case of an incompetent govt putting rules and regulations in place without fully understanding the negative fall out
    Govt decides to issued monthly bus passes at a reduced price
    The fallout once again show stranded passengers having to walk to their places of destination and govt does not have a refunding process as a remedial source for passengers to have their monies back

8. More misinformation. #nofurthercomment

9. Enuff that is all u can say
    But there is nothing u can say to cover for govt incompetency
    Imagine after raising bus fares people have to walk because a bus breaks down and not another one available in a timely fashion in order to take the people to work or school or other destinations

10. Scientists: Earth Endangered By New Strain of Fact-Resistant Humans
    April 21, 2019

Scientists have discovered a powerful new strain of fact-resistant humans who are threatening the ability of Earth to sustain life, a sobering new study reports.

The research, conducted by the University of Minnesota, identifies a virulent strain of humans who are virtually immune to any form of verifiable knowledge, leaving scientists at a loss as to how to combat them.

“These humans appear to have all the faculties necessary to receive and process information. And yet, somehow, they have developed defenses that, for all intents and purposes, have rendered those faculties totally inactive. As facts have multiplied, their defenses against those facts have only grown more powerful.” Davis Logsdon, one of the scientists who contributed to the study, said.

While scientists have no clear understanding of the mechanisms that prevent the fact-resistant humans from absorbing data, they theorize that the strain may have developed the ability to intercept and discard information enroute from the auditory nerve to the brain.

“The normal functions of human consciousness have been completely nullified,” Logsdon said.

While reaffirming the gloomy assessments of the study, Logsdon held out hope that the threat of fact-resistant humans could be mitigated in the future.

“Our research is very preliminary, but it’s possible that they will become more receptive to facts once they are in an environment without food, water, or oxygen,” he said. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

11. peterlawrencethompson
    April 26, 2019 3:05 PM

I was pointing to the similarities in the histories of the commonwealth Caribbean while you point to the differences. I will be more explicit. The historical similarity among the islands in question is that they had colonial powers in common and that they evolved similarly hierarchical social structures with massa at the pinnacle. This has led to cultural patterns that model leadership on being massa.

If you go to Guadelope or Martinigue, Bermuda or the Bahamas, the Caymans or Dutch Islands, Guyana or Suriname wouldn’t you say they all have and had massa at the pinnacle?

How come the massa of yesteryear was never able to get his country into the trouble ours is in today?

What was the public debt of Barbados 100 years, 200 years, 300 years ago?

Clearly the two “hierarchical structures” to which you allude are completely different and to pretend what exists today existed all the time is clearly just that, a pretension.

There has never been any thing in Barbados in the past remotely similar to what pertains today!!

The biggest difference I see is access to cash.

Your problem is what most peoples’ is.

All believe Sugar was an extremely profitable venture and the slave owners made lots of $$$ and lived to quote a more recent version of the same tripe that is dished out, “lavish lifestyles”.

That’s because it was spoon fed to you and you can’t let it go.

I believe the South with its cotton is the only example of agriculture in the New World where the demand for the product was insatiable and that’s where fortunes in agriculture were made, 1795 to 1860.

An inexhaustible supply of land in the US.

Even though Britain had abolished the slave trade the slave population in the US increased markedly in this period.

The industrial revolution with its mills and their voracious appetites provided a huge market in England for cotton.

The Victorian era with its ideas of modesty and the need to cover skin with cloth also fed the demand for cotton.

Sugar was never a product for the mass market as was cotton in its day.

12. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://globalnews.ca/news/5207753/prominent-ontario-lawyer-pleads-guilty-to-bigamy-forging-divorce-documents/
    Prominent Ontario lawyer pleads guilty to bigamy, forging divorce documents

James Cooper Morton had it all, but now the prominent Hamilton lawyer, a member of the Law Society of Ontario and Nunavut and former president of the Ontario Bar Association, and a former Osgoode Hall law professor may never practice law again after pleading guilty to forging divorce papers and bigamy. He told investigators he was living at his office in Hamilton, but still resided with his wife in theory.

Well at least Barbados is not the only place with “interesting’ lawyers.

I have just one “legal” question: How does one reside with one’s spouse “in theory”

13. SIR HILARY: ECONOMIC GROWTH, COMPETITIVENESS KEY

Fri, 04/26/2019 – 8:00am
    The number one challenge facing the Caribbean and therefore the University of the West Indies by extension, is ensuring that the economies of the region can rise to a higher level of competitiveness and performance.
    UWI Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sir Hilary Beckles suggested the above, during a media engagement held yesterday on location at the UWI St. Augustine and livestreamed on UWItv. Vice-Chancellor Beckles used that opportunity to have a conversation with regional media, as a prelude to his upcoming Report to the University Council— the highest governing body of The UWI.
    “I would say that this is the number one challenge facing the Caribbean and therefore the University right now, getting our economies to a higher level of competitiveness and performance. I would say that economic growth is the number one priority for the thinking of this University right now. Rebuilding the economic infrastructure and competitiveness of our Caribbean systems” Sir Hilary remarked.
    “If we don’t achieve sustainable economic growth in the next ten years across the region, many of the social and cultural benefits that we have achieved will be eroded and the erosion will also be felt within our University. So therefore, we are primarily first and foremost committed to this business of economic transformation, economic growth and in association with social transformational and social development, because we are as much opposed to the increase of poverty in the Caribbean, as we are supportive of economic growth. We see them as dialectically related” the Vice-Chancellor added.
    He meanwhile noted that a key issue with the economies of this region, is that most of them are either in an International Monetary Fund (IMF) programmes or under IMF surveillance or exiting plans.
    “The fact that the IMF is playing such a powerful and pivotal role in the allocation of economic resources in the Caribbean, has to do with the fact that we have not achieved the kinds of growth that we have been expecting and we have found ourselves as small vulnerable economies, exposed to global movements and some of those exposures have been very damaging. But nonetheless, we now have to begin to imagine and conceptualise the post IMF Caribbean,” he said.
    “In twenty years’ time, there is no reason whatsoever why the IMF should be involved in our economic affairs, with the level of depth that they currently possess. We have to find a way to restructure, diversify, become more competitive to move these economies into a higher level of competitiveness,” Sir Hilary maintained, while signalling that the UWI’s Triple A Strategic Plan can help in this endeavour. (RSM)

14. William Skinner Avatar

You are correct. It’s going to take a lot of grind and hard work.

How did man get to the moon ?
    How was slavery abolished?
    How did West Indies become world champions?
    How did Nelson. Mandela gain freedom?
    How did BU become the most prominent blog in Bdos ?
    How did Castro battle America?
    How do poor people battle austerity?
    How did black Bajans who read by smut lamp and went to school barefoot become surgeons ?

Answer They did not think like those who said they can’t.

15. Hi David:

My experience is that once a group of persons set their minds to solve a problem, then through honest discussion, the root problem can be identified. The group can also iteratively move closer to a workable solution.

This method of solving problems works when all parties have the same aim of solving the problem. It works across cultures and age groups. However, it is guaranteed not to work when instead of focusing on (or attacking) the problem, we are manipulated into focusing on (and attacking) each other.

It is the manipulators, the political operatives, who ensure that corruption and mismanagement are part of the governing political administrations for the foreseeable future. When manipulators see unity in discussion, or honest discussion that can lead to a convergence of ideas, they seem compelled to inject disunity.

The question that begs an answer is, what compels them. By being aware of what compels them helps put their personal attacks in context.

16. @Grenville

We have people through ignorance or not form different positions. It is the nature of man to form cliques motivated by different reasons. To mobilize a people of different socioeconomic and political background requires a Herculean effort. The change required to force change in a society to adopt new political systems cannot be compared to some other event.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The massa of yesteryear got the people of these islands into far far worse trouble than our contemporary mismanagement has achieved… but you are willfully blind to the holocaust that they inflicted upon our ancestors.

You cherry pick meaningless measurements like national debt to draw comparisons that you know to be specious because you are not that big an idiot. You claim to have a Christian soul but it is most profoundly lost and you are deliberately wallowing in evil.

18. Anybody know when the “L” will be removed from present Govt?
    Them learning on the job?
    Remember: ” measure twice cut once”
    How about ” too many cooks spoil the broth”
    These clowns from another planet eh!
    We like it so!!!
    Comedy hour.

19. Hi David:

No Herculean effort is required. When there is a common purpose, fish and frog can swim together. What compels people to frustrate a fruitful discussion is their selfish interests.

When people see that the conclusion of a discussion may threaten something that they have a vested interest in, expect them to start attacking anyone they think is standing in their way.

20. @Grenville

You are stating the theory of what we know.

The challenge is how to galvanize the support .

21. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Useless idle conversation by a useless idle autocrat Grenville Phillips

You must never see the house of Assembly from inside you liar and dissembler

Talking shy$e bout “fish and frog swimming together”

Like if any bajan ever see a flying fish swimming with a bull frog in salt dea water!

That shows how totally disconnected you are with anything real

@ Mr. William Skinner

“…This is not my dish because the poor will suffer more but in reality the duopoly is now skating on very thin ice.

Now is the time to strike…”

The sole moment in time for the nonviolent, but radical, displacement of the DBLP is NOW!!

The Democratic Labour Party is dead having shown itself to be devoid of ideas.

And the sluggarfs called the BLP have in 6 months grown hog faced and puffed up on $21 million for themselves while de poor man living on $3 million.

This is the message of Discontent thag WILL REMOVE MUGABE OVERNIGHT.

Here is de ole man’s take on this.

If a Single Man, SAY YOU, were to form a political Party now and call it

EXODUS – ONE PEOPLE, ONE PARTY.

And if that Single Man, SAY YOU, were to say to all bajans you are only the night Watchman, and you are looking for a few good men and women

And say if that Single Man were to say to bajans

Your party was going to have 4 corner stones.

1.The first being The Power of Recall

2.The 2nd thing is that you will change elections to 4 years

3.The Third is Deliverables

And The last thing de ole man ent going say here yet…

Those alone would mek people wake up and talk wid dat man. YOU

As a one man party Mr. Skinner I would start with Live internet sessions Sir.

I know you said “…there must be a direct assault on the BLPDLP right in the Centre of ALL thirty constituencies….” but I would do a year of encounters, LIVE ENCOUNTERS, using the internet first, aided by a major outreach***, Mr Skinner.

I would promote that man, say you, as the Night Watchman

The Interim Guardian until the others come.

And build you up and out.

The Oter people Will Come.

The First Group MUST UNDERSTAND SACRIFICE.

Lambs to the slaughter

BUT THE OTHERS WHO COME, THEY WILL BE THE LONG STAY CANDIDATES

You went on go say “…The people are ready but unseating the duopoly is a monumental challenge. I know…”

How is it that you know it is monumental while thd Dufus and Liar Grenville Phillips talking about how easy it is?

All de same he lost 28 deposits to the Treasury in 2018.

De ole man, now called Piece de Legend by my fans (heheheheh watch dem gather as I get dem vex) would be willing to assist in such an initiative

22. @Hal Austin, the same thing you are saying about the BLP and DLP in Bim, Nigel Farage and his Brexit Party are saying about the Tory and Labour party in the UK. You consider him a buffoon….go figure

23. Well, we have thoroughly enjoyed the insightful , sometimes biting,l comments of one PLT this day.

24. @ Bajan in New York,

You seem to have a thing about me and the UK and Brexit. What is the problem? Do I consider Farage a buffoon? Yes. He is a good friend of Donald Trump’s, who I also consider a buffoon..

25. “I would say that this is the number one challenge facing the Caribbean and therefore the University right now, getting our economies to a higher level of competitiveness and performance. I would say that economic growth is the number one priority for the thinking of this University right now. Rebuilding the economic infrastructure and competitiveness of our Caribbean systems” Sir Hilary remarked.

From the guru himself ….. Hilary Beckles

He must be a Trump supporter too!!

26. peterlawrencethompson
    April 26, 2019 10:19 PM

The massa of yesteryear got the people of these islands into far far worse trouble than our contemporary mismanagement has achieved… but you are willfully blind to the holocaust that they inflicted upon our ancestors.
    You cherry pick meaningless measurements like national debt to draw comparisons that you know to be specious because you are not that big an idiot. You claim to have a Christian soul but it is most profoundly lost and you are deliberately wallowing in evil.

What meaningful measurements do you propose?

Is Hope one?

27. Massa ended slavery, an institution that had existed for millennia although he didn’t do it on his own.

He had some serious big time help!!

What equivalent contribution to humanity has contemporary mismanagement made?

Apart from looking to borrow more money, do you see contemporary mismanagement seeking help?

Contemporary mismanagement knows it all even though their results suck!!

28. John

We have for far too long allowed the White man to distorted our contributions to our human civilization … At a Sunday service on Black History Month I who read and have read a lot of Black History was really taken back by the contributions we as Black people have made to our human civilization. I cannot start to name of contributions to our human civilization of which little is made mention of our is distorted to give this negative image of our race of people.

29. speaking of whimpering what happened to the loud voice of David Commissiong

30. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The subject of this thread is the quality of political opposition in Barbados.

I decline to follow you down the rabbit hole of disputing your rose coloured racist revisionist history of enslavement in Barbados, even though it is that history of enslavement that is one of the most critical influences on our culture and political culture.

I do wish you would contribute productively to our discussion by thinking and talking about what we ourselves can do to make political opposition less “feckless and ineffectual”.

31. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@nextparty246 April 26, 2019 9:23 PM “However, it is guaranteed not to work when instead of focusing on (or attacking) the problem, we are manipulated into focusing on (and attacking) each other.”

But isn’t it true that we PERMIT ourselves to be manipulated?

If we ALWAYS asked “in whose interest?” would the political manipulators have so much power over us?

32. The challenge is that we have to develop the capacity to critically assess what is happening around us. This is the issue.

How do we educate and continuously send relevant messages to the population that supports them to be champions of the democracy they have a civic duty to stand guard.

33. One of the two topics John does not do well. I fear your wish will go unfulfilled.

34. David
    April 27, 2019 7:55 AM

The challenge is that we have to develop the capacity to critically assess what is happening around us. This is the issue.

+++++++++++++++++++

If we don’t know how we and those around us got here we will never understand what is happening around us!!

35. David Commisiong one of the most vocal and outspoken advocates for the Blp is being paid outbof the treasury to be a meaningful reprsentative for all things Caricom
    Presently Liat us in tge death throngs if being placed in the graveyard of airline burial
    Yet not a word from him on this issue a issue which would affect Caricom nationals
    How is that for nationalism

36. We will go nowhere unless we have a paradigm shift towards the idea of interdependence. Right now we believe that in order for one man to win the other man has to lose. We do not understand that both men can actually win.

For instance, a businessman seems to think that the only way to make a profit is to charge more than a product is worth and frustrate a customer with poor after sale service. That is short term way to make a profit. The long term or sustainable way to make a profit would be to offer good products at a fair price and offer great after sale customer service. That maintains your customer base and ultimately expands it. Everybody wins.

Employers seem to think that the best way to keep expenses down is to pay employees as little as is possible. That is the short-term way to keep expenses down . The long-term way would be pay employees a fair wage that would take the stress and strain of daily living away, leaving them with more mental and physical energy to be efficient. That way everybody wins.

And even in the most basic of our relationships, those between men and women. There is a saying ” Happy wife, happy life.”

Since women are usually more particular about the little things, some men actually determine that they will allow them to have their way about them. That way they avoid the nagging and quarreling which is the thing which makes a man most unhappy. And she then has more mental and physical and emotional energy for the things that make him most happy.

That way they both win.

Of course the devil here would be in the details. But if we started to THINK differently I believe it would be possible.

Teaching about interdependence is the only way to be sustainable.

PS. I believe Boeiing may be coming to an understanding of what happens with shoddy products for short-term gain. Better safe than sorry. Sorry is costly. Prevention is ALWAYS cheaper than cure.

37. @ Mariposa,

Whenever you hear the word nationalism hold on to your integrity and wallet and run. You are in the company of a short-sighted crook and coward.

38. John go close that book and contents u keep pushing down peoples throat
    The issue here dwells on a politics of self interest and corruption and sinster motives at present time
    The issue here dwells on the haves vs.the have nots
    While the haves climbed to the top off the pain and suffering of the poor and making it almost impossible for the have nots to crawl themselves out of poverty

39. First thing this morning and we are of to the races attacking people instead of debating the real issues? Here is a hint, read comments posted by Peter as one example.

40. U got that right
    Meaning Comissiong made himself vocally and physically relevant in Barbados politics
    Suddenly he has disappeared
    Presently govt has a wider political interest in opening our borders allowing Caricom nationals living in barbados to giving acess legally to other family members
    A plan which Commisiong openly agrees
    However with the immient demise of Liat one would think that his input would be forwarded in ways that would open a dialogue as to helpful proposals for Liat
    Instead he collects tax payers money in past discourses relevant to past govt policies
    But now for his voice to be heard on all things Caricom he is no where to be found
    What a bone head

41. This is one of those posts where I am unable to contribute.
    I have a simple rule…
    If I see Quaker, Trump, religious verses and “big big” words, this cockroach knows it is a fowl party.
    Besides, this is warm-over soup that is being served again.

42. On another Issue
    When Yuh think that it would all but be impossible to find another dictator in Parliament
    Out comes Caswell wearing a tin horn hat asking for all dlp employees working in govt to be rid of
    Boy i tell uh Caswell you have just created a huge land mine fuh yuh self
    Rather than go after the corrupt ministers in the blp. you go after barbadian head of households who already are feeling the pain and suffering of this govt
    Wuh kind of Union leader are u
    For your information some of them might have family membership in Unity
    You have now define yourself as one of them dictators who would use dictatorship policies to rid anyone who belief to be an enemy
    Shame on you Caswell

43. William Skinner Avatar

It is absolutely astonishing that you can have such a limited understanding of what change really means. My dear brother within all change grit when broken down points toward the ability to see the mountain top long before you start the journey. The grit will determine how you get there. This is where intellectual grandstanding disappears and your mind takes over: Ask Martin Luther King or Muhammad Ali. Ask Suki King or Sir Garry Sobers.
    You would not know it but every day poor hungry black people in this country are very critical of the vagabonds that you defend but they have the grit to go forward and survive the real austerity which is trying to eat a proper meal each day.
    You are missing every single point in this thread but then again apologists are skillful at that!
    Your mind tells you that slashing a welfare budget by 3 million then spending 20 million plus on consultants while increasing bus fares is in the national interests.
    However that same mind told you that Sinkler and company increasing their salaries was not in the national interest.
    How can such a mind be taken seriously ?
    Both acts were criminal but your mind can’t see that . And that’s the problem. In other words you can’t really see the mountain top because your vision is limited to what goes on by Lionel C Hill Supermarket and St Cyprians Church.
    You really don’t need grit a second hand bicycle is all you need to get to your mountain top. Those two locations are even in walking distance. You are going to either walk up and down or ride up and down and you are going to end up the same place every single time.

44. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

” …How do we educate and continuously send relevant messages to the population that supports them to be champions of the democracy they have a civic duty to stand guard?…”

I can never understand you people!

Seriously!!

When Sir Hilary was “educating” wunna with “shock medicine” people started tekking dem ass out of John the Quaker ‘s pooch till John the Quaker and his Mutual friends gave him a knighthood AND HILARY SHUT UP!!!

The Honourable Blogmaster comes here AND IN SIMILAR VEIN starts the process of similar SHOCK MEDICINE namely the names of the lawyers who are teifing people money AND JUST SO, MIA TELL HE STOP, and he stops!

Yet wunna “please yank my balls” sheeple CANNOT UNDERSTAND HOW THIS PROCESS OF REAL EDUCATION HAS TO WORK.

This is why I am always fvcking cursing, not because I cant find more eloquent words to titillate wunna aural senses BUT BECAUSE WUNNA SHEEPLE CANT REMAIN FOCUSED

NOR DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE NATURE OF THE INDOCTRINATION THAT HAS TO BE REMOVED FROM GHE EYES OF BLACK.
    John the Quaker does so what he come to do is seduce wunna fvckers down the “female rabbit hole” of examining the different colonial structures of slavery AND THE CODE NOIRE

And for a good few hours wunna entertain that set of chvunt.

This is not about any slow education of our black psyches in History 101 DIS HAS TO BE A RADICAL CAESARIAN OPERATION.

we love you dearly but the baby is in breach AND IF WE DON’T TEK UM NOW, BOTH MOTHEF AND CHILD GINE DEAD!!!

The DUOPOLY must change.

There must be a seismic change.

There must be INTERIM MANAGEMENT.

Men like WILLIAM SKINNER AND PETER LAWRENCE THOMPSON & KAMMIE HOLDER have to step up and bat at the wicket UNTIL THE SECOND WAVE COME!!

Stop all this shite talk that the Honourable Blogmaster is encouraging with his vacillating platitudes

RELEVANT MESSAGES IS GHAT HE HAS TO TEK HIS FINGERS OUG WUNNA BOTSIES and distribute a serious message of what he calls TENSION to the DUOPOLY.

AND STOP THIS GAME OF BLOGGING THRONES , writing articles for hits and to get Grenville Phillips the liar jn the House of Assembly

IF CLOWNS LIKE GRENVILLE WIN THAT THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS LOOSE!!

45. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

It would appear like if we are in total sync WITH REGARD TO THE OBJECTIVE OF THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER.

WE BOTH SEE HIM AS PART OF THE PROBLEM

you do so by giving him the benefit of ghd doubt and as ribe to him an inability to “see” outside of his small corral

I conversely see it as Psychological Warfare where he does know what he is doing while pulling our atropying psyches and intellectual doggies!

And why do I say this?

Look how, in the face of ghis obvious intellectual chasm, look how he is promoting the inept Grenville Phillips!

Fuh real??? The country is in the Sandpit of Idiocy and the Blackhole of Social, Political and Economic Perdition AND HE IS PROMOTING GRENVILLE.

I am not specifically focusing on Phillips per se, but I am repeating his name so that people see THE CALIBRE OF MAN HE IS SUGGESTING AS THE NATION’S VISION!

STEUPSEE

46. We think that the commentariat should suspend their judgements until they truly understand what PLT has said.

For he has put his finger on a vein of magisterial mental work that no amount of trivia can overcome.

And until we digest the import, nothing else makes any sense. Whether in economy, political or other environments.

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David April 26, 20197:11 AM “We are witnessing a decline in societies or alternatively- to be euphemistic- a change in the family system/values. It will start and end with ensuring quality households.”

But how do we grow quality households?

In my experience quality households require a lot of love, a lot of hard work, a lot of energy, a lot of commitment, a lot of time, a fair amount of money.

Are we he adults in these communities willing to give the love, the had work, the energy, the commitment, the time and the money?

48. @Simple Simon

There is magic solution. We need to find ways to influence how we manage households. The tail must not wag the dog.

49. In other words, many battles have to be waged at the same time.