At a critical juncture in the history of Barbados – a country successive governments have invested heavily in educating our people – is it unreasonable to expect this popular biblical quote to resonate, ‘to whom much is given, much will be required’ (Luke 12:48)? Why have we educated our people if not to be at the ready by reporting for duty when parlous times confront us?

A regret of this blogmaster is the extent to which civil society has become afflicted by a feckless and ineffectual political class. As we approach one year of the Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party (BLP) government’s unprecedented decapitation of the Freundel Stuart led Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in the general election of May 24, 2018, the level of cynicism and vapidity exhibited within the population has been rising. It should not be unexpected that the rhetoric of austerity will also increase. The level of disaffection is more acute if one considers the quality of the Opposition described as the government in waiting.

How does a population seemingly detached from national objectives demand accountability from the ‘system’? How does a political class committed to self sustaining policies demonstrate a capacity to ‘correct’ by satisfying its mandate to effectively govern the country?

We have a government attempting to grapple with the political, economic and social challenges. In the absence of a blue chip schematic, debate will continue about the best policies required to extricate the country from the abyss is continues to be mired.

In our adversarial system of government the Opposition has an important role to play by injecting a dissenting perspective that is coherent. However the quality of the dissenting interventions must be related to the quality of the actors in the opposition ranks. Regrettably in the opinion of this blogmaster the opposition entities- to bastardize a biblical expression-  have fallen short in the glory of the electorate.

In January 2019 the Leader of the Opposition Joseph Atherley announced that individuals were deputed to speak on the following portfolios. (Sidebar: Hopefully one of these days the Atherley story will be told).

Irvin Belgrave – Home Affairs

Rev John Carter – Agriculture, Food Security and Maritime Economy

Dr Phillip Corbin – Energy, Water Resources and Telecommunications

Akil Daley – Youth and Small Business Facilitation

Sen Crystal Drakes – Economic, Sustainable Development and Climate Change

Paul Forte – Housing, Property Ownership, Works and Maintenance

Sen Caswell Franklyn – Labour, Social Security, Corporatives and Civil Establishments

Paul Gibson – Health, Wellness Services Development and Environment

Sylvan Greenidge – Transportation, Sanitation and Sewage Services

Bruce Hennis – International Business and Trade, Manufacturing and Commerce

Maria Phillips – Justice, Law Enforcement and Penal System

Alan Springer – Creative Economy and Sports Industry Development

Scott Weatherhead – Tourism, Regional and International Transport

Yesterday 25 April 2019 the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) also announced the names of individuals charged shadow ministries.

To cut to the chase, the blogmaster is not impressed with the quality of the opposition on offer in the Barbados space for the obvious reasons. What is exposes is that quality players are not interested in joining the political class. A natural consequence to the state of affairs is garbage in, garbage out.

232 responses to “Whimpering Opposition”

1. I am on the side of the Cops on this issue, there is a universal dictum “Ignorance of the law is no excuse”. If the illegal parking prevented emergency vehicles from accessing someone who fell ill at the Concert what then? The Police issued warnings, It is not up to the public (Bajans) which laws they will obey and which laws they can ignore.

2. @ Donna my sisteren? if you don’t mind the term

I said that I would spend a few moments disavowing you of your fallacy as it relates to your simple understanding of the use of the internet

I have found that, when I want to make black people understand what I am saying or doing, NOT TO IMPRESS THEM WITH MY KNOWLEDGE OF WHAT MY GOD SHOWS ME, but to use the white man’s opinion and his knowledge and information renders

So, like I did the other day with the video from i2 showing the software that the new commissioner Darwin Dottin has AND IS USING WITH YOUR LANDLINES AND CELL PHONES, I said that I would use with my edification exercise on your WhatsApp and Facebook harvesting

So I decided to use a white woman this time because I hope that you might be more receptive to her message and the threat of Mugabe Mottley

“A fool convinced against his will is of the same opinion still…”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why could you not leave well enough alone?! Why address me when I have asked you to tek my name out ya mout?! Talk to your fans of which I am definitely not one. Leave this “lost sheep” ! I am insignificant. Save the ninety-nine!

And how many times do I have to tell you that I am well aware of harvesting techniques? I am well aware of the Facebook shenanigans and even Cambridge Analytica. You persist in trying to talk down to me in much the same way as politicians do. Now you are implying that somehow I am brainwashed into only accepting information from white people?! My man, it is not BLACK PEOPLE I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH BELIEVING. IT IS YOU. And it is because of your MANNER of elevating your HUMAN status TO THE PSEUDO DIVINE whilst dehumanizing others as SHEEPLE. Question marks shall remain for as long as this is so.

But somehow you expect me to believe you, an anonymous person on a blog and believe you when you say that you are our saviour and EVERYONE ELSE is a demon. Now who does that remind me of – DONALD TRUMP! So anyone with a modicum of self-awareness should understand my problem.

And I DO mind you calling me your sisteren. Not even my father could talk to me the way you do and still be called my father.

Do ya ting and leave me out! You already said that you don’t blog for me and so this should not be as difficult as you are making it.

PS. We could have continued to coexist peacefully here if you had not declared yourself my leader without my permission. UNACCEPTABLE FOR A WOMAN SUCH AS MYSELF. How come, being so smart and perceptive, you did not know that would have the opposite effect?

And we can still coexist peacefully if you do not address me personally.

3. Ignorance of the law is no excuse
    However ignorant laws does not make sense to be excused either and there is enough evidence in history to prove such happening
    The fact being that barbados touts itself as a tourist destination and in so doing must act and behave in ways to welcome the people who visit our shores
    The fact that there were no advance postings along the route shows ignorance under any law

4. Traffic laws are ignorant? How did “tourists” get roped into this? Barbados “must act and behave in ways to welcome the people who visit our shores”? Tell the Canadians who visit Barbados that they can bring legal their weed with them because we want “to welcome” them.

In your haste to criticize the Gov’t you are an example of a cricketer who swings at every ball, even the ones that haven’t been delivered, you should learn to pick your spots.

5. Barbados is well advised to watch the effect of CAL re-introducing non stop service on the Kingston Barbados route. While it is convenient and time saving for bona fide travellers,the opportunity arises once more for undesirables to find the allure of a relatively strong Barbados dollar so inviting that the special squad of immigration and/or police and border protection officers should be on red alert for trafficking in JA resources.

6. This is a situation where you are being extremely silly by creating nonsense just to be critical of the “government.”

Why, over the years, large crowds “made up of visitors” in Barbados attending cricket, Crop Over or any other event, have never resulted in “PR disaster” for any political administration?

Similarly to cricket or any other event held at Kensington Oval, meetings are held between the organizers, police, fire service, KOMI, etc…….. to discuss issues such as security, parking, safety of patrons……

The organizers are responsible for outlining parking arrangements for patrons and should have personnel on duty to direct patrons where they could or not park.

The onus is on KOMI to place “parking” or “no parking signs” around the environs of Kensington.

Police are on duty at the day of the event to enforce the law where and when necessary.

This script you received from your George Street pay-masters should have been thrown in the trash, rather than posted to BU.

7. Donna Freedom thinks that you are AWOKE to Pieces/LEGION and his TACTICS…

Real Freedom as you know is Thinking for Yourself and Not Being Led…Whither we Agree or Disagree Freedom is proud of the Direction you are moving in.

https://patrickstreetcofc.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/proverbs-17-3.jpg

8. It appears that the FAS people sought to save on expenses in not ensuring park and ride for a crowd of 15000.There was no way that number would have found parking in the environs of Kensington without flouting the traffic laws of Barbados.This experience should inform permission for future events must include park and ride as a sine qua non.

9. The fact being that if govt going to execute a law it must be more efficient
    Not just by being knee jerked reactive to a situation or circumstance which could have been handle in a manner of efficiency and not in a manner where visitors are subjected to off the hand punishments as a last minute response

10. Really? This is what we are discussing? If you had money enough for Buju the ticket should not be a problem

11. @Gabriel
    Yours @ 10.34am

Barbados just afforded red carpet treatment to a “Myrie” (Buju real name mark Anthony Myrie) are you advocating that the Gov’t employ its resources to stop more “Myries”? Shame on you for that bit of disloyalty to the PM when the Gov’t has indicated in no uncertain terms that Barbados is open for Caricom business.

12. Sax player is good.

13. Sargeant
    As a regional newspaper points out,the hype and haloes for the Jamaican criminalof gun and drug offences will not make him less acceptable to the hordes which revel in that genre of music and dance.Barbados will pay a price for bandwagon economics.Lionizing the criminal element is sending the wrong message to the innocent follower.

14. Donna pale face and yes that is what the discussion is all about and if u don’t like what is being discuss .
    U cant always exit stage B.the same exit Bju used

15. Donna pale face and yes that is what the discussion is all about and if u don’t like what is being discuss .
    U cant always exit stage B.the same exit Bju used

16. @Donna
    On a Monday morning you are full of assumptions; Isn’t Bim in the midst of a stretch of public holidays and we still awaiting “May Day”? How do you know that “scrunting” Bajans will have enough left over after paying the freight of a Buju ticket after all their names aren’t Dale, Mia and Riri?

Back in the day under A. I Johnson when Christ Church used to have excursions the parishioners used to have to pay a fee for transportation to the various locations and there would be singing accompanied by tambourines along the way
    e.g. “I’m on my way to River Bay” or ‘I’m on my way to Maycock Bay”

The return songs would go “ All muh money gone, in Johnson hand etc.”

That is all true except for the tambourine part cause we Anglicans would never be caught with tambourines those were left for the Pentecostal and Christian Mission types.

BTW “John” wouldn’t know this bit of history he would never be caught on an excursion bus or even going to excursions.

All this to say the costs of de excursion exhausted we funds so yuh don’t know what Buju did to the economics of some Bajans.

17. @ Sargeant,

Thanks for the memories of Church excursions (about 60 years ago ) .Sweet Bread,pudding cake,sponge cake,rice and stew and orange Ju-C.

18. “The fact being that if govt going to execute a law it must be more efficient. Not just by being knee jerked reactive to a situation or circumstance which could have been handle in a manner of efficiency and not in a manner where visitors are subjected to off the hand punishments as a last minute response..”

Hmmmmm……….

Your above comments is a whole set of rubbish.

If anyone else had written that shiite, the usual clown would come out calling them appallingly ignorant because they learnt by rote. But as I repeatedly mentioned…. it’s not about WHAT was written……it’s all about WHO wrote it.

Here we have a political goat who seems to be suggesting that members of the Cabinet went to Kensington Oval and upon seeing people parking indiscriminately, in a “knee jerk reaction,” they ordered the police to report those people.

And all along I thought police were responsible for enforcing traffic laws and regulations. I did not know by enforcing those laws meant “subjecting (people) to off the hand punishments as a last minute response.”

More often than not, your ignorance is boundless.

19. @Hants

Yuh fuhget de corn beef sanguages

BTW Riri like she living de sweet life

20. Sargeant,

I don’t care what Buju did to the pockets of Barbadians. Buju, though I love his music and have no faith in the criminal justice system of the USA when it comes to black men, is not a necessity.

21. The police did not write the law
    The laws are written in and by accordance to legal standings and with approval by ministers in parliament
    The police is then given consent to adjucate the law
    Have u ever heard laws can be big a ss hole
    Well Saturday demonstrate than when a law is not well executed a.ss holes can be the drivers which execute the law
    No posting or warning signs equals inefficiency

22. “No posting or warning signs equals inefficiency…….”

Okay, so you’re blaming the current BLP administration for police reporting people for parking indiscriminately around the environs of Kensington?

If I were to take this silly argument to a “logical conclusion,”…….. then surely you must agree…. the former DLP administration CANNOT be ABSOLVED of any blame.

Admit you’re silly political yard-fowl who is presenting a stupid, nonsensical political yard-fowl argument……. shut to @#%*& up and move on.

23. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Donna my erstwhile sisteren

Is this how you address your leader?

Is this how low the Legend Piece has fallen? to be be so accosted by one of the troops ?

Oh how have the mighty fallen!!!

I am wondering if I should persist in my toying with you Donna?

I wonder if I should go back and find your post where you said that you did not see how Mugabe could use your internet and website use for her gain.

But then again my erstwhile sisteren, though you now no longer wish to be one the team THAT IS THE CUTTING EDGE HERE ON BU…

Yes my erstwhile sisteren, while you languish to be among the sheeple, as opposed to being among those people who are seeking solely to liberate Barbados from Mugabe

Yes, my sisteren Donna since YOU PREFER TO BE AMONG THE SHEEPLE FOR WHOM I HAVE, and will forever have, nothing but uncomplimentary
    remarks…

It is with great sadness AND MUCH LOSS OF SLEEP, that I, the Legend Piece, must release you…

Observe Donna, how easily one can shift through all the shades of grey here on BU, to be civil to the civil, assist the enquiring, toy with the megalomaniacs, speak to the people, insult the sheeple and entertain oneself by goading those like you who teks youself too seriously

This Barbados Underground blog is just a chatroom where, if the optimal elements are brought to bear, enquiring minds MIGHT become more informed and hopefully not only make better decisions but assist others with their decisions

I remain very optimistic that it is possible to achieve the required change but, given what I see here daily on BU, with the constancy of needing to remember “who to call sisteren or who name to call or not to call, who is a sheep, or who is a BLP pimp or who ent like the word poochlicker” tings like dat is hard for an ole man to remember

Anyway HAGD, to you, the sheeple and the people heheheheh

24. Artax
    You are wasting your time.I think David put it in perspective.Crap in crap out.The Barrow Dems leaving here one by one.That era of good governance gave way to the irascible leadership of one Stuart who up to this day has not a clue of what leadership means.Now we have the 5 time loser Irene Garner finding the nerve to speak again and sharing her views with Verla the lamb to the slaughter.Never again will Bajans allow a political group of misfits and punks to add Willy-nilly,an additional $8 billion in debt in 10 years to a $7billion debt tag they found and which accumulated over a 400 year period.As Sanka was at pain to point out to the Ecky-Becky caller from St John,tell us what the Dems did with the $2billion in foreign reserves they found Owen Arthur left in the treasury in 2007.Between Stuart,Worrell,Boyce,Ince and Sinckler there should be a law banning them from ever holding public office again,further take away their pension rights.The Dems are rotten to the core.No decent bajan want to associate with rogues and thieves.

25. Yes he is wasting his time for he cannot tell me that if signs where posted by relevant authorities the end result would have been the same
    Garbage in garbage out as this govt continues to show signs of ineptness and disdainful attitudes

26. BTW “John” wouldn’t know this bit of history he would never be caught on an excursion bus or even going to excursions.

I rarely went to church prior to Confirmation but I remember sometimes passing excursion buses as a boy and hearing the tambourines.

Until I was 9 I lived on the South Coast, off route.

Foster’s Funland I often walked through hiking on a Sunday morning.

That was an attempt to commercialise the Excursions probably in the 70’s.

A friend from the hikes used to regale us with stories of his experiences at excursions.

As a little boy his fondest memory of an excursion was nestling between the bosums of a particularly well endowed lady I guess on the way home when the children were being encouraged to sleep by the ladies!!

From his description of the experience I do not get the impression he ever went to sleep!!

27. Gabriel

You are dealing with a political yard-fowl, who does not see the IDIOCY in blaming a political administration for police reporting patrons that parked indiscriminately around the environs of Kensington. Creating situations just to criticize the BLP is disingenuous.

These silly types of arguments usually come from Denis Kellman and the 4 time loser Irene Sandiford-Garner.

The parking situation at Kensington did NOT “surfaced” over night……….. or from May 25, 2018.

And if the yard-fowl wants to lay the absence of parking signs at the feet of a political administration, she should have looked in her own back yard first, and BLAME the former inept DLP administration. Because it was under David Thompson, that other than cricket, the DEMS made the DECISION to HOST all types of events at Kensington…….

…………….from the swearing in of DLP Cabinet ministers and Crop Over events, to various reggae and “oldie goldie” shows.

As such, they should have anticipated the crowd and ENSURED “signs were posted by relevant authorities.”

Over the years, since Thompson made that decision, I’m sure people attending events at Kensington were reported for parking indiscriminately. It happens all the time.

But I guess in those days and under similar circumstances, the consortium couldn’t care less if “signs were posted by relevant authorities,”

……………..and they did not believed the DEMS “showed signs of ineptness and disdainful attitudes.”

Therefore, to be FAIR, the idiots comment re: “government continues to show signs of ineptness and disdainful attitudes,”…

……… has to also INCLUDE the “ineptness and disdainful attitudes” of the former inept DLP administration.

This folly is similar to Guyson Mayers telling the DEMS that, since their humiliating defeat on May 24, 2018, during the FIVE (5) month period June to October 2018, 130 people joined the DLP………..

……….. and their esteemed leader, Verla Depieza, now wants to convince Barbadians that between May 24, 2018 and April 2019, 150 people joined the party.

So, for the SIX (6) month period November 2018 to April 2019, meant only 20 more people joined?

28. Now on to another subject titled ..disingenuous the politican path to hypocrisy
    No one has yet to question govt where they get the largess to finance a Big MOUT extranvangaza in the year of austerity
    Yet when past govt honored barbados 50th anniversary with pomp and show of patriotism
    This present govt who was opposition at the time threw a big stink
    What a bunch of big Mout hypocrites

29. If you are referring to the Buju concert, “No one has yet to question govt where they get the largess to finance a Big MOUT extranvangaza in the year of austerity”……..

…………. because, everyone, except YOU, knows the concert was ORGANIZED by Freddie Hill and Al Gilkes of FAS Entertainment……. and NOT the BLP or at the expense of taxpayers

Thine ignorance is definitely beyond belief.

30. Big. Mout party and no severence pay
    Still waiting
    How much longer.
    Not to mention my bonds that mature next year
    What insensitivity that flies in the face of good goverence

31. A dead giveaway of inept leadership again was to hear the esteemed leader, nay lamb to the slaughter Verla use the word APPROXIMATELY 150.Its either 150 or whatever number she choose to share but to say APPROXIMATELY tellers me she’s come to the public with a figure she is pulling out of thin air,it’s called subterfuge or in plain bajan dodging the truth.

32. Also govt hired taxis to take the people to the BIG MOUT extravangza
    Now rewind when the 50th anniversary was heralded with loud opposing noises coming from the blp lips all because an emphasis was to focus the 50th as a day of celebration in our national and patriotic interest
    Fast forward the now present govt moves forawrd with haste to celebrate (wink 😉) heroes day in the most lavish style in a year of austerity when bajans are suffering under the economic pinch and buses are hard to come by to take them to their destinations
    Yet govt can find resources to use the buses to transport people to a BIG MOUT EXTRAVANGZA BLP STYLE

33. Oh yuh telling me that them two powerhouse entertainers going foot all the necessary expense for govt
    Artax yuh need to give up the koolaid

34. Mariposa, you need to give up eating “idiot pie.”

Because, clearly, you’re an IDIOT.

Buju Banton’s 2019 Tour, “Long Walk to Freedom,” would have seen him performed, so far, in Jamaica, Bahamas, Trinidad & Tobago and Barbados. He is also slated to perform in Suriname, Grenada, Tortola and St. Kitts.

Banton’s 2019 tour is his PERSONAL ENDEAVOUR……..it was NOT organized by the government of Barbados, at the EXPENSE of Barbadian taxpayers.

With that information, you’re still foolishly trying to convince us that the governments of these Caribbean islands paid Banton to perform……. or is Barbados the ONLY territory in which he performed at the expense of taxpayers?

After the Caribbean tour, Banton is expected to tout Europe. Among the places he will be performing are: Cologne, Germany at Summer Jam; Amsterdam, Netherlands; Zurich, Switzerland at Jamaica Splash; Porto, Portugal; Vertheuil, France at Reggae Sun Ska; and Geel, Belgium.

Are you of the opinion that the governments of these European countries will pay for his performance?

What you should do is to present the evidence to BU that would clearly indicate the taxpayers of Barbados paid Buju Banton for performing and for providing taxi bus services.

Clearly you have ran out of ideas to criticize the government and you’re now “scraping the bottom of the barrel,” hoping to find something.

35. Bro u said that govt Big Mout extravaganza was being sponsored by local entertainment .i asked if these powerhouse local entertainers would pay the entire overcost including govt share
    Then u go rambling about Buju other tours

Steupse

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    ya better be careful, she could be Verla.
    Whenever deficit or debt was raised during the 08-18 period, @ac would reply, the B’s started it, and so any growth in debt during that period had to be the B’s fault.
    Now watch V.deP on the TB, from BT..
    “She argued that the entity was showing significant decline long before the DLP formed the Government in 2008.
    “If you look at the Transport Board’s 2008-2009 annual report, table 20, it showed significant decline in the tens of millions beginning from the year 2004. So, the Transport Board decline was not in the last ten years,” she said.

Two people cannot have the same flawed story?

37. As far as the Buju debacle the govt holds all responsibity for safety and parking
    The concert promoters cannot regulate law
    They can not hold fast to what rules and guidlines govt told them to adhere
    Buju concert was held within a venue where there was insufficient parking
    Instead of govt sending storm troopers to placed punishment cards on the people cars
    Govt should have been at least tolerant simply out of a concern that the parking spaces available on the stadium grounds was limited
    If i were a judge i would throw out all them parking tickets and admonish govt in terms of advicng them to use common sense when occasions call for them to understand that there are times when can do means cant do better..as in this case when people wanting to make entry to see the show had no other alternative provided for parking
    As for international countries one can bet that there event venues adequately provide sufficient parking for public as well as private parking
    This govt has shown a tedency to ran fast feet on the ground but heading in the wrong direction
    Bro u can holleted scream all u want
    The parking ticket debacle was a PR disaster for this govt and nothing u say or name call gonna change my mind

38. RE: “Bro u said that govt Big Mout extravaganza was being sponsored by local entertainment.”

You read, yet you DO NOT understand what you read.

You are a LIAR………..I NEVER mentioned anything about the show “being SPONSORED by local entertainment.”

I specifically mentioned Al Gilkes and Freddie Hill of FAS Entertainment Inc. were the ORGANIZERS or PROMOTERS of the Buju concert.

FAS Entertainment Inc. is a company that organizes shows such as “Hennessy Artistry,” “DIGICEL Vintage Reggae Show & Dance” and the “Barbados Reggae Festival.”

If you are referring to “FAS Entertainment Inc.” as local entertainers, then just like the other jokers in the DLP, you’re an IDIOT.

RE: “i asked if these powerhouse local entertainers would pay the entire overcost including govt share..”

That is a STUPID question. Who are these “powerhouse entertainers” and why would they pay for a Buju Banton concert?

And what the hell is “overcost including govt share?” (THAT comment is a CLEAR CASE of rambling).

It isn’t surprising you would ask such a stupid question, because just like the other jokers in the DLP, you’re an IDIOT.

RE: “Then u go rambling about Buju other tours..”

Since you’re the one who is insisting the concert was organized at the expense of Barbadian tax payers, I mentioned where Banton is scheduled to perform and simply ASKED if the taxpayers of the other territories would foot the bill for his performances, which under the circumstances is a FAIR question.

It isn’t surprising you would think that is “rambling”, because similarly to the other jokers in the DLP, you’re an IDIOT.

Where is the coherent Mariposa?

39. RE: “As far as the Buju debacle the govt holds all responsibility for safety and parking.”

That is NOT TRUE and would occur if it was a government sponsored concert.

When promoters rent a venue, they are responsible for providing security and personnel charged with directing patrons where they could park or not park. They also have to pay the police, fire service and insurance.

RE: “Buju concert was held within a venue where there was insufficient parking..”

Whose fault is that, the promoters or government?

RE: “Instead of govt sending storm troopers to placed punishment cards on the people cars…”

You’re essentially implying government, meaning Mottley et al, SENT the police to report patrons who parked indiscriminately. It isn’t surprising you think like this, because similarly to the other jokers in the DLP, you’re an IDIOT to push this silly argument, and more so, since you feel proud spewing it.

RE: “The parking ticket debacle was a PR disaster for this govt and nothing u say or name call gonna change my mind.”

I would never attempt to change your mind. You have demonstrated time and time again that you’re just another political yard-fowl scraping the barrel looking for something that is clearly not there, to criticize.

Similarly to the other jokers in the DLP, you’re just another IDIOT.

With this flawed way of thinking, it’s no wonder why the DLP was severely beaten 30 – 0.

I’ll let you continue to demonstrate your IDIOCY on this topic.

Here endeth the lesson.

40. Man i think u had too much koolaid to drink u all mixed up
    I never made mention that these powerhouse entertainers / promoters should or required to pay anything fo Buju
    My question was in reference to the BIG MOUT EXTRAVGANZA and the local promoters payments if any towards govt share of the extravangza
    i also earlier in my comment made mention as to who would pay for the Big Mout show to which you replied local promoters sponsered the show
    Which still begs a question of asking who pays for all the transportation taxis included to the East Coast provided by govt

41. NO

Similarly to the other jokers in the DLP and the Mariposa consortium, Verla Depeiza is an IDIOT.

A three time loser is president, a four time loser is vice president and the general secretary is a man who fed from the “fatted calf” at the expense of taxpayers.

I also noticed a former Solutions Barbados candidate recently joined the DLP and said he “felt at home” among the DEMS.

I wonder what Grenville Phillips II has to say about this.

42. From all reports, the many thousands who attended the show enjoyed themselves read a good time was had by all.

43. RE: “i also earlier in my comment made mention as to who would pay for the Big Mout show to which you replied local promoters sponsered the show.”

YOU ARE A LIAR. I NEVER MENTIONED ANYTHING ABOUT LOCAL ENTERTAINERS PAYING FOR OR SPONSORING ANY SHOW.

What you should do is INDICATE to me WHERE in any of my contributions I MADE that COMMENT.

RE: “Which still begs a question of asking who pays for all the transportation taxis included to the East Coast provided by govt”

Perhaps the same people who paid “for all the transportation taxis included to the East Coast, when similar events were held by the former govt?.”

And in those days, Sandra Forde, who is in the DLP’s fold, was GM of the Transport Board. I hope a perusal of the income statements would reveal the DLP paid for those buses and they were not provided free of cost.

Or I hope it isn’t a case where the DLP used CBC to push their political propaganda and ended up owing the Corporation $109,609.

You know eff wunnuh pay dah yet?

44. And I still ask the question – what is she going to do with my information? Are people so easily manipulated? Did the Russians really influence the elections?

Toying with me you say? Well that’s nice, isn’t it? Says more about you than it does about me. And no, I do not take myself too seriously. After all, I’m not the one called by God to save Barbados. I am, as I said before, insignificant. I am not equipped to lead a national movement I am a small time operator, ! know when to shut up and listen when someone is more capable in particular areas than I am, etc etc. etc. What I have is a tendency to be open minded and a desire to be fair.

Does that sound like someone who takes herself too seriously?

Anyway, it has reached the stage where a complimentary remark from you would be an insult. And an insult would be worn as a badge of honour.

So carry on!

Dismissed!

45. Ha. Ha. Boy uh tell uh when all fails to convince go low
    Uh talking to u Artax too much kollaid got uh head turned
    Follow David example and pretend that those who got tickets were happy with the concert and nothing else mattered to them
    The video on fb of the parked cars was a classic example of govt putting cart before horse in their execution of parking tickets when if there was adequate and sufficient parking ..this conversation having govt looking for excuses would not be happening

46. One minute BU is just a game for me that I play in my spare time. For me just an academic discussion in the midst of a fierce battle for our country. Then the next minute I am taking myself too seriously in the middle of what is just a forum where people can educate themselves.

Now which is it?????

47. @ David,

I watched videos of the show and it was a very good “show ” and worth $300. The patrons were engaged and expressed their satisfaction with Buju and the supporting acts.

Bring on Crop Over and keep the parties going.

48. I never listened to Buju Banton until someone placed a link here (recently). I clicked on the link and his music was great….
    Now here trying to figure out how I wrote him off without ever listening to him

49. @Hants

It was a good show. Tickets were bought from $80.00 to VIP 300.00.