Submitted by Melissa Martin, Ph.D, is an author, columnist, educator, and therapist. She lives in U.S

Give your brain a workout—read a book. Pump up the muscle mass between your two ears. Reading is that important. And people in all countries around the globe deserve the right to learn to read.

Literacy for All

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) estimates that 175 million young people lack basic literacy skills. To address the issues, UNESCO Regional Office of Southern Africa (ROSA) is supporting programs and activities to develop quality literacy materials for literacy educators and learners through integrating mother language in literacy teaching and learning. Fifty-two years ago, UNESCO officially declared September 8 International Literacy Day, with the goal of highlighting literacy as a human rights issue. www.unesco.org/.

In 2018, The International Literacy Association developed the Children’s Rights to Read project.The Case for Children’s Rights to Read lists 10 fundamental Reading Rights. www.literacyworldwide.org/.

According to Atlas (2017), the 25 most illiterate countries include: South Sudan, Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Niger, Mali, Chad, Somalia, Ethiopia, Guinea, Benin, Sierra Leone, Haiti, Senegal, The Gambia, Bhutan, Pakistan, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Central African Republic, Cote d’Ivoire, Nepal, Bangladesh, Timor-Leste, Mauritania, Togo.

Children Need Books

Family Scholarly Culture and Educational Success: Books and Schooling in 27 Nations, a 2010 article in the ScienceDirect Journal found that “Children growing up in homes with many books get 3 years more schooling than children from bookless homes, independent of their parents’ education, occupation, and class.” www.sciencedirect.com/.

Children need to see other kids that look like themselves in picture books. Why? Kids of color need to be represented in literature to show they are important in the world and that they matter. We Need Diverse Books is an organization with a vision of “a world in which all children can see themselves in the pages of a book.” Find more information at www.weneeddiversebooks.org.

Diverse books, both fiction and nonfiction, help kids understand that even though children look different on the outside, they are all the same on the inside. Our homes, schools, libraries, and communities need diverse books on bookshelves.

Celebrate Children’s Book Week

With Children’s Book Week turning 100 years old in 2019, Every Child a Reader and the Children’s Book Council have announced plans for a celebration. The 100th Anniversary theme is Read Now—Read Forever. Look to the past, present, and most important, the future of children’s books. Children’s Book Week is April 29 – May 5, 2019. Happy Birthday to Children’s Book Week!

Established in 1919, Children’s Book Week is the longest-running national literacy initiative in the U.S. Every year, events are held nationwide at schools, libraries, bookstores, and homes. www.everychildareader.net/.

Raising Readers

Why is it important to expose babies, toddlers, and younger children to the world of books? Why is it important to read aloud to babies and toddlers? Why is it important to make reading fun for children?

Parents are a child’s first teachers, first role models, and first communicators; talking, listening, singing, making sounds, smiling, laughing, and hugging. Homes are the building blocks of society. “Children are made readers on the laps of their parents,” surmised Emilie Buchwald.

“Learning to read and write doesn’t start in kindergarten or first grade. Developing language and literacy skills begins at birth through everyday loving interactions, such as sharing books, telling stories, singing songs and talking to one another.” www.zerotothree.org/.

“Children learn to love the sound of language before they even notice the existence of printed words on a page. Reading books aloud to children stimulates their imagination and expands their understanding of the world. It helps them develop language and listening skills and prepares them to understand the written word. When the rhythm and melody of language become a part of a child’s life, learning to read will be as natural as learning to walk and talk.” www.readingrockets.org/.

“It is not enough to simply teach children to read; we have to give them something worth reading. Something that will stretch their imaginations—something that will help them make sense of their own lives and encourage them to reach out toward people whose lives are quite different from their own.”—Katherine Patterson

122 responses to “Reading is a Human Right”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Pump up the muscle mass between your two ears. Reading is that important
    WHAT A LOAD OF ANATOMICAL BULLSHIT!
    WHAT ARE THE MUSCLES BETWEEN YOUR TWO EARS? LIST THEM PLEASE AND STATE THEIR PURPOSE.
    WHAT DO THESE MUSCLES BETWEEN YOUR TWO EARS HAVE TO DO WITH READING?

2. We are not convinced that reading, as traditionally understood, makes one literate.
    For at the end of the day it may be more important to better networked than read.

More street smart than book smart. Better able to corrupt social systems and mobilize, accumulate resources than suggest schooled in systems of equity, social justice.

Most people who believe themselves to be well read have no deep understanding about what they read, etymology or even the meanings of the a, b, c beyond the puerile song drilled from childhood.

And more ……….

3. The above was from the cell phone

One could be as well-read as humanly possible

But if one cannot write a line of code

Or ‘read-and-write’ just one language in a world of thousands

Could the human even approach, anymore, mass functional literary. Surely, reading can’t still mean just calling one word after the other.

And in any event when compared to an android, or even a flash drive, the humanoid is deemed mediocre, at best. And this judgement will be even more severe in the future.

So, what is the latest misguidance about reading again?

Don’t worry, one day coming soon we will go to bed one night and wake up in the ‘morrow speaking and writing tens of languages and a massive implanted intelligence. A Bajan scientist will make that possible. LOL

4. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

All I can say is dat is dere ent no bajans whose expertise could be relied on?

Somebody tell wunna de ole man Achilles Heel?

Self reliance and black consciousness are the order of the day.

Where is my bajan Fanon?

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“For at the end of the day it may be more important to better networked than read.”

Knowledge is power but networking is power squared..

6. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

BTW…i must big up Fusion Restaurant in Limegrove…exquisite dining, hard to match ambience.world class service..

Sour grapes Lawson….between Fusion and Buzos Osteria in Barbados, ya can’t go wrong.

7. Oh Lord.. Not her again

8. How about highlighting some black Carribbean authors
    Arent they not worthy of recognition on a blog that is mostly frequented by a majority black audience
    Names like Naomi Jackson comes to mind a woman of great literally style .

9. @ Piece,

The great Bajan Fanon was the late Leroy Harewood, a man not recognised in his own land, but a world-class historian and political analyst. For one, Leroy would not have had some white American woman with a PhD in something setting the narrative on black culture. He knew too much about cultural representation and appropriation and was a perfect teacher and mentor.

10. Really BU what u protends is a determination of wanting to impose another ethic way of thinking into a black culture
    People of the black culture are tired of being bombarded and told how to think or what to do or how we should understand or see things from a white perspective.
    This constant news articles from this white lady stands as a vice grip by which to inform blacks to what is write and acceptable
    No i did not read the article but venting my feelings after seeing her numerous articles on BU

11. The opportunity to ensure our children can read is foundational to a highly literate society.

12. I concur with the writer of the article. I was a member of the Barbados Public Library from the age of seven, when the late Mr. Sampson( Barbados Table Tennis player) enrolled the entire class one of St .Mary’s School. In those days there was no tv, so one had to read, pitch marbles or play cricket, i became a voracious reader. Learnt a lot about the world. Read lots of detective, westerns, Biggles, Gimlet, William, Billy Bunter, Boys’ Own magazines, West Indian novels etc. The ability to read a lot and to do so quickly was an edge at university(one could play a lot of cricket and fool around and still pass the exams). Reading has made me a more “rounded “person to coin a phrase. When things are down, one can forget one’s problems for a while by immersing one’s self in a good book.

13. David

If the traditional meaning of reading is what you are talking bout we will expect more of same, we’ve had in the past.

Should reading or literacy not have a new meaning. Your PM is talking about children learning to swim and other things as part of a new definition, no

14. @Robert Lucas

You are so right.

Many of us found ways to borrow more than the three library tickets allowed. We could not wait for the mobile library van to visit the area. We shared books with friends. The poorest home had a bookcase or a shelf in house. That has been replaced with the computer or tablet but is it the same?

15. @Pacha

Reading in the generic is anchored in the thirst for knowledge. A curiosity about finding about the unknown.

16. David

All of that and you still can’t tell us what a or b or c means

17. @Pacha

It means the job is to be completed.

18. David

Oh no!

It means the job has always been to misdirect, to miseducate, etc

How could you ask for completion when the very beginning is ignorance based?

No wonder we have so many well-educated, mentally-crimpled idiots everywhere

19. @Pacha

If the job is to misdirect are you saying there is a lack of capacity within the general body to make optimal choices?

20. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Completed by whom?

That is the point Pachamama the Sojourner is making.

When I was a baby I was taught the a,b,c.

Then went to primary school and learnt to multiply divide and comprehend.

Didn’t get no farther after that heheheheh but the fact is that numeracy is not literacy and what obtained 30 to 40 years DOES NOT MEET THE STANDARDS REQUIRED TODAY

Yet our school system has not evolved and an inept Ministry of Education is no nearer to that solution today than it was 40 years ago.

We still chanting about our numeracy today.

An as if go confirm our total disconnect, look how you rely on non locals, if only to underscore our own incapacity

21. David

Instead of promoting people like this Malissa Martin with her Eurocentric functional, illiterate, diatribes, you may want to consult people who really know about reading and writing.

People like the Great Theophile Obenga.

But we ‘overstand’ why it is still deemed necessary to have a little White in the product mix. That in and of itself speak to the current state of ‘literacy’.

Here is Obenga!

Get serious

22. This work by Obenga maybe more precise in explaining what we like to call the abc but know not its meaning.

23. Who determines our cultural path? A Somali-born coach? Where did he come from? Apart from Somalia, where do Somali footballers play? Next he will be saying he is a loyal Barbadian.

George LasCaris, one of Barbados’ longest-serving football administrators, is crying foul and claiming unfair play.
    And LasCaris is adamant he won’t be bullied by the Barbados Football Association’s (BFA) Somalia-born technical director Ahmed Mohamed.(Quote)

24. @Pacha

There is no hurdle preventing the critics here from submitting a view. What the blogmaster has found over the years is that it helps to flesh out different views when you swim against the current. Many of our people have been infected by the euro influence. How can we own anything?

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Biggles, Gimlet, William, Billy Bunter, Boys’ Own magazines

PLEASANT MEMORIES

ADD TO THAT FAMOUS FIVE AND SCRET SEVEN BY ENID BLYTON AND NODDY

READING IS IMPORTANT FOR IMPROVING ONE’S VOCABULARY FOR SURE

26. Was the Reader’s Digest books mentioned? Unfortunately the reading material offered back then was selected by others. The Internet provides wide access to information and therefore opportunity to understand the abc as Pacha has opined

27. Somehow, this made me think of Caribbean Trade Law.
    The truth is, I did not understand most of what she wrote but she was earnest 🙂

I visited her site and saw that she made the “Top 30 Caribbean Blogs”. Looked through most of them.. as much fun as “watching paint dry”

28. Obviously you are not her target audience. She is a technocrat.

29. David

Yes! It’s alright to try to tease out differing views. All good! But to what end?

At the same time, there is a generalized determination to ensure that the Eurocentric centre holds in an Afrikan descended community, titularly.

A Eurocentrism almost totally based on untruths, borrowings, misrepresentations, domination, etc

That is what we’re up against, not just the presentation of varied views.

30. @Pachamama

There is agreement we need to ensure we ‘educate’ our people. All of us should continue to play our roles.

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Pacha
    @ David BU

Is not the internet eurocentric? It is doing a lot better than the’ colonial education’ at brainwashing.
    ” Let Google be your friend” is the often repeated mantra on BU. I always wondered who programmed Google, and Wikipedia.

Reading does a lot more than is mooted here. It puts us in touch with some of the finest minds. I retreat there after a session of the internet and some brimblers on BU and other blogs.

32. @Vincent

The Internet is the technology which supports access to voluminous information. Universities, governments, NGOs, citizens etc all post information using the platform. The range is wide i.e. from opinion to peer review

33. David

When White people make these grandiose claims about what is or is not a human right or wrong we recall dark memories from our DNA

And our DNA is best collection of all of our Ancestors.

We did not recognize that they were in a position to say what was human or not. What was right or wrong. Why was this thinking of rights and human become necessary? And what is its function in our world?

We recall, for example, the pronouncement that a certain book was to be exchanged for our lands, our art objects, our peoples even, our sysstems of building community, etc.

With us, there is therefore an ancestral deficit of trust.

Indeed, they has long succeeded in keeping non-White peoples ignorant with their sloganeering.

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Very true. But one is limited to what is uploaded to the internet. Not everything is uploaded. And they are uploaded by persons on their websites which generally have biases.

35. @Pacha

This is where we differ a little. We have to clawback the disadvantage we have given the construction of the establishment. It will by educating our people. The challenge is that we are not 100% African. We have a generation encultrated on Eurocentric way.

36. Vincent

You are mostly right, but wrong this time.

For the electronic systems are a fair representation of the rote methods well known.

A prime example as widely used by students, is Wikipedia.

37. @Vincent

A good researcher and commonsense approach to searching for information to to cross check using multiple sources. Sometimes it must be said it is not possible.

38. David

Please!

All humans are 100% Afrikan

How come then that the Europeans you seek to defend with your specious argumentation never claim their own Africa ancestry?

39. David

Wrong again.

Crosschecking sources has hard limitations, For most of the sources draw from the same well.

To know we are required to go beyond the dominant narratives.

40. @Pacha

How can there be right and wrong if we want to create a harmonious society between the races? The esoteric argument will not win it.

41. @Pacha

There is nothing preventing anyone that wants to research truth from subscribing to an electronic database of an African university as a simple example.

42. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Pacha

Just to be mischievous. Did you not push the Europeans out of Africa at the dawn of history because of ” their genetic defect”? How do you know that they have not returned to claim what was rightfully theirs in the first place.? Do you really think that this is the first era that there was migration from Africa to Europe?

Let me repeat” I am being mischievous”.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IN MY FIRST YEAR AT HC WE HAD TO READ A BOOK CALLED TANGLE WOOD TALES.

I CAN NOT RECALL ANY OF THE TALES, BUT I REMEMBER THIS THOUGHT IN THE FRONTISPIECE

“A GOOD BOOK IS THE PRECIOUS LIFE BLOOD OF A MASTER SPIRIT”

MY FAVORITE BOOK IS THE BIBLE, ESPECIALLY READING THE LOGIC IN THE PAULINE EPISTLES

44. David

Only African peoples engage notions of the universality of man.

Everybody else does the opposite. That is the reality!

That notion was central in our demise and is therefore most likely to be unhelpful in our restoration.

45. @Pacha

Understood.

46. Dr. GP my Education came after leaving school when being converted at age 18 and in my early Twenties given the responsibility of teaching the Scriptures to 14 to 18 olds, which I did for seven years that gave me the opportunity to read study for several hours to be able to teach a class. Since that time I also had the opportunity to Continue Serving and Teaching in many different ways for which I will always be eternally grateful. I am also grateful to have also been taught by others similarly.

Because of teaching the scriptures I developed a love for reading and chronological thinking and researching.

The Greatest message that comes across in the Scriptures he does that which is good among the children of men; and he does nothing save it be plain unto the children of men; and he invites them all to come unto him and partake of his goodness; and he denies none that come unto him, black and white, bond and free, male and female; and he remembers the heathen; and all are alike unto God, both Jew and Gentile.

His Arms are Stretched out Still and the Scriptures are Still my Favourite Books.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/43/55/38/4355387d3c5f0ceba106d7527e192f5f.jpg

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster if this is duplicated please delete one accordingly.

@Vincent your two remarks at 10:16 and 10:26 are amazingly strange here in 2019 on an ELECTRONIC “book”.

Correct me senor but has the SAME thing not been said since the printing press was invented! … Didn’t we say for generations that our reading materials were “…eurocentric (or American influenced)” and *”…colonial brainwashing”.

Back then we were directly limited to the available books from our public, school or private/friends’ book collection and even then it was still difficult to get texts and stories from Black or progressive authors.

How now can you echo basically the same trope when anyone with a wifi or wired connection can access information from almost ANY author from ANYwhere the desire takes one!

When you retreat to a book after “brimblers on BU and other blogs” do you go to your favorite right-wing, left-wing, progressive, conservative, liberal or Asian or white or Black scribe???

…would you not be perpetuating the same problem that those who frequent a particular site are doing: using your own echo chamber!!

What about if you retreated to a ‘Ted Talks’ and one of the excellent fine minds that produce that series, for example…or access one of the thought provoking pod-cast from Lawfare or any of the other very excellently presented electronic sites available!

Respectfully brother but you remarks are absolutely counter-intuitive to the entire concept of knowledge…Books NEVER gave us the ‘upload’ to everything either….That printed material which we affectionately embrace has in fact been SET FREE and VASTLY expanded by the use of the internet… not HAMPERED by it!!

About a year ago a friend read about 26 BOOKS from various authors over a number of months….that she did all as electronic copies from a public library…nary a visit to the imposing building to return or pick up a single item…

…. how can we dispute the power of the INTERNET in greatly improving our reading and knowledge power…the physical book is all good but its importance as a tool itself is as relevant as lets say a telephone book of numbers: useful surely, but we all get the data from other sources now, don’t we!

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    You may want to add another brilliant brother: Comrade John Cumberbatch.

Peace

@ Pacha
    You are correct .

Peace

49. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“With us, there is therefore an ancestral deficit of trust.

Indeed, they has long succeeded in keeping non-White peoples ignorant with their sloganeering.”

and labeling of other groups of people on earth….they have no goddamn right….

the reality

those whites who seek to control the earth and her people…need re-education.

those whites and others who believe themselves superior to every human on earth…need re-education.

those blacks who are still wallowing in their own mental enslavement…need re-education.

the only way the people can move on from those social blights and curses.

50. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“It means the job has always been to misdirect, to miseducate, etc

How could you ask for completion when the very beginning is ignorance based?

No wonder we have so many well-educated, mentally-crimpled idiots everywhere”

they actually created the 8th wonder of the world, with that shite mis-education system in Barbados..