Submitted by Melissa Martin, Ph.D, is an author, columnist, educator, and therapist. She lives in U.S

Give your brain a workout—read a book. Pump up the muscle mass between your two ears. Reading is that important. And people in all countries around the globe deserve the right to learn to read.

Literacy for All

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) estimates that 175 million young people lack basic literacy skills. To address the issues, UNESCO Regional Office of Southern Africa (ROSA) is supporting programs and activities to develop quality literacy materials for literacy educators and learners through integrating mother language in literacy teaching and learning. Fifty-two years ago, UNESCO officially declared September 8 International Literacy Day, with the goal of highlighting literacy as a human rights issue. www.unesco.org/.

In 2018, The International Literacy Association developed the Children’s Rights to Read project.The Case for Children’s Rights to Read lists 10 fundamental Reading Rights. www.literacyworldwide.org/.

According to Atlas (2017), the 25 most illiterate countries include: South Sudan, Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Niger, Mali, Chad, Somalia, Ethiopia, Guinea, Benin, Sierra Leone, Haiti, Senegal, The Gambia, Bhutan, Pakistan, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Central African Republic, Cote d’Ivoire, Nepal, Bangladesh, Timor-Leste, Mauritania, Togo.

Children Need Books

Family Scholarly Culture and Educational Success: Books and Schooling in 27 Nations, a 2010 article in the ScienceDirect Journal found that “Children growing up in homes with many books get 3 years more schooling than children from bookless homes, independent of their parents’ education, occupation, and class.” www.sciencedirect.com/.

Children need to see other kids that look like themselves in picture books. Why? Kids of color need to be represented in literature to show they are important in the world and that they matter. We Need Diverse Books is an organization with a vision of “a world in which all children can see themselves in the pages of a book.” Find more information at www.weneeddiversebooks.org.

Diverse books, both fiction and nonfiction, help kids understand that even though children look different on the outside, they are all the same on the inside. Our homes, schools, libraries, and communities need diverse books on bookshelves.

Celebrate Children’s Book Week

With Children’s Book Week turning 100 years old in 2019, Every Child a Reader and the Children’s Book Council have announced plans for a celebration. The 100th Anniversary theme is Read Now—Read Forever. Look to the past, present, and most important, the future of children’s books. Children’s Book Week is April 29 – May 5, 2019. Happy Birthday to Children’s Book Week!

Established in 1919, Children’s Book Week is the longest-running national literacy initiative in the U.S. Every year, events are held nationwide at schools, libraries, bookstores, and homes. www.everychildareader.net/.

Raising Readers

Why is it important to expose babies, toddlers, and younger children to the world of books? Why is it important to read aloud to babies and toddlers? Why is it important to make reading fun for children?

Parents are a child’s first teachers, first role models, and first communicators; talking, listening, singing, making sounds, smiling, laughing, and hugging. Homes are the building blocks of society. “Children are made readers on the laps of their parents,” surmised Emilie Buchwald.

“Learning to read and write doesn’t start in kindergarten or first grade. Developing language and literacy skills begins at birth through everyday loving interactions, such as sharing books, telling stories, singing songs and talking to one another.” www.zerotothree.org/.

“Children learn to love the sound of language before they even notice the existence of printed words on a page. Reading books aloud to children stimulates their imagination and expands their understanding of the world. It helps them develop language and listening skills and prepares them to understand the written word. When the rhythm and melody of language become a part of a child’s life, learning to read will be as natural as learning to walk and talk.” www.readingrockets.org/.

“It is not enough to simply teach children to read; we have to give them something worth reading. Something that will stretch their imaginations—something that will help them make sense of their own lives and encourage them to reach out toward people whose lives are quite different from their own.”—Katherine Patterson

122 responses to “Reading is a Human Right”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD at 11 : 18 AM

Nice palaver . I do not think it made contact with the fundamental point I attempted to make ;nor the issue raised by the author that reading is a human right. I think we both agree that the ability to read is a good thing in our modern society.
    By training i must read critically. The electronic screen is not ,for me , the best medium for critical reading. The letters are not stable and the scrolling up and down to check facts and figures is eye -tiring. I make speedy success with a hard copy/printed page. I can also make notes in the margin of books/articles. I do not learn by rote. I try to understand from several perspectives. So it is a preference/choice. Not a denigration of technological progress nor electronics a road down which you attempt to push this moot.

So yes. Reading is a sine qua non for me and a progressive society.

2. “To know we are required to go beyond the dominant narratives.”

Very true. The dominant narratives are just that – the dominant narratives. The average person would need some help in finding credible sources outside of the dominant narrative. We are so steeped in the Eurocentric perspective and they have been extremely successful in obliterating our faith in anything outside of their frame That is why it is incumbent on those who have done the work to pass it on to the average Barbadian.

What is the first image that flits through the mind when somebody says the name Africa? That would be a good experiment to conduct.

3. @ Vincent,

In some US court districts artificial intelligence does the sentencing. Guess who comes off worst? AI puts out what is put in – garbage in, garbage out.
    Peer reviews simply mean the establishment in the discipline protects itself by having the power to approve or reject what is published. It is silly to expect someone who got his/her PhD in conventional political science to celebrate Black nationalism or Marxism. Such people are rare.
    A critical education means challenging ALL received wisdoms, such as that Barbados is not in the Caribbean. Or a well-meaning white woman telling us what are good books to read and what are not to shore up black identity.
    Malorie Blackman is the outstanding British children’s author – and the grand daughter of an outstanding old Harrisonian – yet her books are not on the Bajan school curricula. Bajans treat their literature as they do their politics ie Lamming v Brathwaite.
    Literary journalism died in Barbados when Wickham died. How many Bajans do you see reading in public? How many books do you see reviewed in the Nation or Barbados Today – or discussed on BU? I one suggested having a black literary and film festival at the SAME TIME as Crop Over and it fell flat like a badly baked pudding.

4. Vincent Codrington April 6, 2019 10:42 AM

@ Pacha

Just to be mischievous. Did you not push the Europeans out of Africa at the dawn of history because of ” their genetic defect”? How do you know that they have not returned to claim what was rightfully theirs in the first place.? Do you really think that this is the first era that there was migration from Africa to Europe?

If Africa is the origin of all people then this is indeed logical. Thought of that many times but did not open that can of worms.

And this is why.

Pachamama April 6, 2019 10:50 AM

Only African peoples engage notions of the universality of man.

Everybody else does the opposite. That is the reality!

That notion was central in our demise and is therefore most likely to be unhelpful in our restoration.

A perfect example of a priceless diamond found among the pebbles! Gave form to what was still a nebulous idea inside my head.

5. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 12:07 PM

You are on the ball in grasping the subtle point that garbage regardless of the vehicle through which it reaches the consumer is still garbage.
    We tend to get distracted by the packaging. That is good marketing psychology. But we buy it ail the same. AI has to be designed , coded and input by humans; therefore it will be contaminated by the imperfections and biases of man.

6. Donna

Well said!

7. Vincent,
    your post @11:48 was put well.

whilst in 6th form at Cawmere the Beast always encouraged us boys to read far and wide. he said to be always afraid of the person of one book

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, no senor I am absolutely not pushing the discourse into …a denigration of technological progress nor electronics. a road down which you attempt to push this moot.

Revisit YOUR words like: “Very true. But one is limited to what is uploaded to the internet. Not everything is uploaded. And they are uploaded by persons on their websites which generally have biases.”

And … “Is not the internet eurocentric? It is doing a lot better than the’ colonial education’ at brainwashing.
    ” Let Google be your friend” is the often repeated mantra on BU. I always wondered who programmed Google, and Wikipedia….Reading does a lot more than is mooted here. It puts us in touch with some of the finest minds.”

The VERY same tropes were said about books..and you directly compared electronic media to physical books and said that reading [books I presume] does a lot more that his mooted !…that in my view does NOT make logical sense.

Soooo…. no I am not moving away from your thrust nor frankly the main moot.

Anyhow, your last post properly clarifies that why you dislike the screen …I get your preferences.

And let’s be clear its a veritable nonsense to debate a tautology such as “Reading is a human right”…when was that not absolutely true in our lifetime…how can knowledge be transferred without some form of reading and writing…there can be NO dispute that reading (whether physical or tablet/PC based) is mandatory!

I also contend that it’s bluntly obvious and has always been so that GIGO applies to all forms of data results whether book form or PC!

Anyhow, nice chat…I gone.

As the Blogmaster said there is nothing There is nothing preventing anyone that wants to research truth from subscribing to an electronic database of an African university as a simple example….the point being we always had biases and GIGO from historians and now we can research more broadly, and CROSS CHECK more nuggets of data and even do bits of original research much more extensively than ever due to the tool called the internet and things like AI etc…

9. Freedom Crier Avatar

Hal Austin
    April 6, 2019 12:07 PM
    @ Vincent,

“It is silly to expect someone who got his/her PhD in conventional political science to celebrate Black Nationalism or Marxism. Such people are rare.

A critical education means challenging ALL received wisdoms,…”

Interesting to Observe the Marxist Comradely on BU, so knowledgeable of a broad spectrum of learning and yet deficient in the Greatest Learning of all, the History Books of the Scriptures.

Those that are Deficient in the Word will believe Alternative Dogma… What a waste of Knowledge that when applied leads to Understanding that when applied leads to Wisdom for she is the Greatest and to be Desired Above All Else!!

https://www.azquotes.com/image-quotes/Quotation-Voltaire-It-is-difficult-to-free-fools-from-the-chains-they-30-37-30.jpg

10. @ Freedom Crier,

So there is no misunderstanding, I am not a Marxist. It was a hypothetical example I gave. I have pointed out before, Marx did not like black people. I am black.

11. William Skinner Avatar

It is well established that the only race that does not have phobia about others is the black race. The Black race is inclusive ; others tend to be exclusive.

12. Freedom Crier Avatar

Mr. Skinner many Bajan’s on BU reside outside mainly in the US and Britain… Please reread this thread and then analyze your Statement once again….“It is well established that the only race that does not have phobia about others is the black race. The Black race is inclusive ; others tend to be exclusive.”

To Thine Own Self Be True….

https://wist.info/wp/wp-content/uploads/2004/02/Shakespare-to-thine-own-self-be-true-wist_info-quote.jpg

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD at 2;26 PM

You still do not get it. Go long Boazie. Expressing your view may make a difference some day.

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Greene at 1:57 PM
    Thanks for your kind words and encouragement. Although not from the University of Waterford, my English master at another place encouraged his charges to read widely. I always take his advice. And it paid dividends in my adult life.

15. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

is it abound reading or reading widely? Often many of us that read tend to be encased in a mould. We read plenty about what we want; and often are very quick to dismiss any thing we read that does not line up will what we read before. If it does match a narrative when what is it; a truth; a fact or fiction?

Maybe the endless pursuit of relevant knowledge comes about by interacting with many sources of knowledge etc? Reading just happens to be one of the methods of interacting/interfacing. Often when u visit the Bible we see or encounter “counter rational” suggestions that we often dismiss because it does not line up with what we have read repeatedly before. Does this “counter-rational” mean that one book is right or wrong? that will be a decision for the person/reader, but imo the pursuit of truth and fact is way more advantageous that if one well read person think u are out of line or outta your mind.

16. I have to get back to you from the swimming pool. In absentia, so to speak.

We can confidently kick the article in the bin. The educational efforts in Barbados were in vain. Barbados produced academics who either emigrate because there are no adequate jobs on the island, become unemployed or ruin public finances in the civil service. The state of Barbados has spent billions of dollars on this: on hot air and for nothing.

Just have a look at the posts in the forum: Old men brag about their school exams. I tell you: You can throw the literacy rate and school grades on the rubbish heap of history. Education alone does not bring foreign currency into the country.

Or have a look at Chris Sinckler: The Barbadian state with all free offers has created this financial monster. In every other country Chris Sinckler would have become a cook or gardener at most, but in Barbados he became finance minister thanks to the “super great” education system. He destroyed 40 years of development work in 10 years.

The same unrealistic attitude is evident in the welfare state: first the pensioners ruin Barbados by helping the DLP to victory in 2008 and 2013, and now they moan about cuts. All I can say is that these are financially illiterate people who would go bankrupt within four weeks of winning the lottery.

Wake up at last! Barbados is totally broke because the population is dependent on the welfare state like a drug addict on heroin. And now God has given us the honoured Prime Minister to put all welfare state junkies on withdrawal. If we are lucky and our Honourable Prime Minister remains in office long enough, the situation will stabilise at a low level in a few years’ time. For the time being, we are still sliding downwards. Nevertheless, we should pay tribute to the first successes: the debt cut, the repair of the sewage treatment plants and the repairs on the south coast, the election of a Barbadian to the highest court of the Caribbean, the first upgrade by the rating agencies and the stabilization of the dollar.

Instead of always criticizing the Prime Minister and sticking to conspiracy theories, you should ask yourself what you chose in 2008 and 2013. If you rub yourself with shit, you shouldn’t be surprised it stinks afterwards.

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Often when u visit the Bible we see or encounter “counter rational” suggestions that we often dismiss because it does not line up with what we have read repeatedly before. Does this “counter-rational” mean that one book is right or wrong? that will be a decision for the person/reader, but imo the pursuit of truth and fact is way more advantageous that if one well read person think u are out of line or outta your mind.

SIR FUZZY
    CAN YOU EXPLAIN WHAT YOU MEAN IN YOUR NOTES ABOVE?

18. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Georgie Porgie April 6, 2019 8:56 PM

IMO the pursuit of knowledge via reading should start first with seeking truth as your prime directive. Reading is one of many ways of gaining knowledge. Reading is a skill that not all acquire for many different reasons. But gaining truth and then knowledge thru whatever means u have at your disposal should be paramount.

The bible to me is one book that contains many truths. I think it should be on everyone’s reading/hearing list. Whether we read widely or stick to a particular area; In the Bible we may encounter “counter rational” suggestions. In other words the Bible may supply you with knowledge on how to gain favour and wealth and abundance etc..

Malachi 3:10
    “Try this test. Bring one-tenth of your things to me. Put them in the treasury. Bring food to my house. Test me! If you do these things, I will surely bless you. Good things will come to you like rain falling from the sky. You will have more than enough of everything”

Now in your wider or concentrated readings you may encounter many different authors telling you repeatedly some thing different but generally opposite to what is found in the Bible. etc. Who you choose to believe and follow is your(reader) decision. But that confrontation exists because of the clash. the clash of knowledge vs truth; truth vs ideas; truth vs tv church sermon, truth vs dogma, etc

You can read/interface widely or concentrate on a subject; but your prime directive should be the search and acquisition of truth; and that may be all wrapped up in the pursuit of knowledge.

Over time or by working in a profession we often learn to think in certain ways. So when often presented with Biblical truth or knowledge we often cannot process the “raison d’être” for why God wanted this nugget placed in his manuscript. For this reader it is “counter-rational” and they may or may not be able to think out side the box then or thereafter. Thus the truth may have escaped them; but they will have the knowledge of the existence of such.

19. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

First of all let me say this.

The same was we consider the novelty of book printing and printing presses this is how you perceive computer aided learning at 2019

This Google and siri and Alexa are but poor images of the yet to be explored augmented learning experiences that the nascent technology called the computer and the internet presents

Let me pause to contemplate the point oreented by Mr. VINCENT CODRINGTON when he mentioned writing in the margin of his physical book.

There is yet to come a version of this baby stage of technology that permits that type of simultaneous virtual note taking and immersion in and across the 7 dimensions.

We at today only know 4, x, y, x and time but what if I were to say that mind is a dimension and telepathy is a tool for that experience?

For those of you who are open minded enough to first entertain my perspective on 4 dimensions and secondly, to try to integrate this into your current understanding of this computer/internet, you may start to understand (a) the chasm which beseiges so called learning in spite of this highly touted internet advantage (b) the distance we have have yet to go, (c) the fact that if conceptually we cant “see” the concept of what Mr Codrington ‘s “writing in the margin space” in his book and the inability of the computers to do it now (and please do not tell be about “notes”

And if you dont “get it” then we are really lost.

Finally who, other than a serious student of African studies and heritage will watch 2 hour and 36 minutes of dr. Theophile Obengi?

We like 15 second sound bytes.

You feeling me?

Do you comprehend the madness of my 5th dimension as it relates to the 2 hours and 36 minutes of Dr. Onengi ‘s video?

And having comprehended it what if de ole man was speaking of such “learning” competencies?

But then again a fellow heah pun BU say dat my head too big for my body heheheheh

Carry on smartly…

20. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Pachamama the sojourner and others

21. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Yep…knowledge is power, Ghandi the racist, pedophile was a fraud…stop following man..

https://www.facebook.com/113344868751574/posts/2139666112786096/

22. PIECE

Food for thought. Had to read you twice to ingest your deeper, more profound meanings.

Yuh sprained the brain of de ole man!

23. Google, Siri, Alexa augment the Internet medium as a means to access information on the Internet. The bigger point is that universities and outher gatekeepers of ‘authentic’ information store databases that can be accessed using the internet. Today’s tertiary level student has user/password access to several electronic databases to support research. Many more can be accessed based on scope of researcg and curiosity and inquiry.

Are we conflating many issues?

We agree reading is important as a means to pursue knowledge/higher learning.

We also agree the information accessed must be relevant i.e. not sanitized by the establishment.

We agree some people learn better by handling the ‘parchment’. Others, the younger ones have no problem accessing the info via electronic means.

etc etc etc

24. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Pachamama the Sojourner

Once again into the fray.

I consider this specific blog to be a culling hole for Mugabe Mottley as she looks for Diaspora Inspiring Concepts or DIC heheheheh

As are all these seemingly unrelated articles materials composed and submitted on behalf of the perpetually Lost Mugabe who, mindful that she has 29 jackasses around her, has come to this ELECTRONIC EQUIVALENT OF HER THINK TANK.

Here she gets the best of local minds in the rabble rousing that is the Rumshop to float ideas.

Without paying $21 million for a set of minds who act as her Human Resources Auditors and Quality Control

Granted that there are many sheeple in the mix, but there are people too, and of those some of the brightest minds in Barbados.

This site’s article is fodder for the refashioned Diaspora Mining concept that was provided by the ssh protocol by her internet thieves

The thing is that Kay McConney cant come out and say anything in the open since the author still lives and is free.

So dem got a problem.

ONE WHICH WILL NOT GO AWAY SOOOOOO…

But back to the main stage

The Diaspora corner on this site was supposed to harvest these ideas and this type of discourse.

But it has not soooooo… what better way to get us to talk about black issues than by presenting those issues using a white woman?

That is an adept move Pachamama.

Those of us who are Black Consciousness centric will come and provide various concepts and she calls them

Look how all the music festivals springing up all bout the place suddenly! Whu dat seem like de ole man persons of interest in the arts refashioned?

Looka de Empire recommissioned and all dese tings all like a Bridgetown by night.

And this Witches coven, Gathering 2020, like an Eyes on Investment.

Everything straight off of de ssh pulldown but the plan to get de chicken back in de coop failed.

Here is why de ole man going do though.

I am going to di a slow release of information which will follow EVERY SINGLE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS PROGRAMME as they launch a programme

Every single one they launch. I will give the originating materials for.

And let us see how her poochlickers who have been sent here to discredit fare with their jobs.

Mugabe Amin Mottley is a thief and what is more she is an incredibly incompetent despot who steals dreams BECAUSE THIS IS THE NATURE OF DESPOTS, when they are barren of thought, or vision, or direction, they must graft the vision of other men and women.

Here is what real vision is and who should drive articles like these.

https://youtu.be/aXMP1Az5HL8

The thing about this Pachamama is that the sheeple here dont have the staying power to listen to it.

And whereas you and a few others will “read” her video, many people here will stop 15 seconds into the video BECAUSE THEY ARE LOST.

WE ARE OUR OWN WORST ENEMY

25. Let the record show the Diaspora Corner was created coming out of exchanges with BU members living overseas.

26. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

An item of mine is in need of your assistance.

What you suggest is the bigger point IS NOT THE BIGGER POINT!

“…The bigger point is that universities and outher gatekeepers of ‘authentic’ information store databases that can be accessed using the internet…”

Before you can even get to the internet the bigger point is “understanding the text”

“Understandeth thou what thou readest?…”

Let me give you a simple example

I will use a really left side item to TRY TO MAKE MY POINT.

Mjolnir , the hammer of Thor Odinsin in Norse mythology

Its description in the past was that of a sledge hammer which only Thor could wield and which transformed him to a human.

Fast forward to a reader of the internet, without that information, or a foreknowledge and, dependent on the articles that you click, finding that inconsequential information, is pretty much a hit or a miss, depending on the search engine optimization for the item.

Which kinda negates your submission and you point about “authentic” does it not? If none of these sources of information carry those details.

The point that I am making is that the internet, at today, is not an authority, and unless the “reader” has resident skills, what is collated from the internet, can and will be flawed, unintentionally or otherwise

27. Diabolical!

This is it in a nutshell. Everybody needs to hear this woman. That would obliterate all notions of inferiority.

I have read books about this but the average person would not read them. This women does it in twenty four minutes.

Why is this brilliance being hidden?????????

28. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Is any of this being taught in schools in Barbados and the Caribbean…Pacha….i can only ask..

“NEO COLONIALISM is the massive fog that has clouded our AFRIKAN BLOOD imaginations regarding who we could be, erase our memories of who we once were, and numbed our understanding of our current existence.

The entire european global West won the world not by the superiority of its ideas or values or religion , but rather by its superiority in applying organized ruthless violence.

Westerners often forget this fact; WE AFRIKAN BLOOD never do… forget nor forgive …

Here are some basics:

Humanity was born in Africa, not the whole world, not Asia, Europe or America.
    Africa is not named after a Roman general.
    There is only one race and that is the human race, and that race was birthed in Africa….

YET TO BE AFRIKAN BLOOD IS SUPREME! !!!!!!!

Pangaea, the super continent, has nothing to do with modern humanity.
    Science developed in Africa.
    Africa is not named after Leo Africanus.
    African people do not have a monolithic physical appearance. We do not all look alike.
    We are not the Native Americans.
    Our history did not start with enslavement or colonization.
    The world is not flat.
    Evolution does not mean that we descended from apes.
    Slaves did not come from Africa.
    Youtube and Wikipedia are not the final sources of knowledge about Africa and Africans. Books still exist.
    Science is not a “white thing.”
    Africa is not poor. Africa is exploited, raped, robbed, plundered and pillaged.

Seriously sisters and brothers, this is 2019 .

Runoko Rashidi

WE ARE NOT EUROCENCENTRIC , NOR DO WE ASPIRE TO BE .

WHITE EUROPEAN WAS FORCED UPON US .

AND WE UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE INTENT TO BECOME THE MERE VICTIMS OF WHITE LINGUISTIC TRICKOLOGY ….

Not all people who speak a language speak it the same way.

A language can be subdivided into any number of dialects which each vary in some way from the parent language.

The term, accent, is often incorrectly used in its place, but an accent refers only to the way words are pronounced, while a dialect has its own grammar, vocabulary, syntax, and common expressions as well as pronunciation rules that make it unique from other dialects of the same language.

Another term,idiolect, refers to the manner of speaking of an individual person.

No two people’s idiolects are exactly the same, but people who are part of the same group will have enough verbal elements in common to be said to be using the same dialect.

BE PROUD OF OUR BEAUTIFUL AFRIKAN BLOOD ACCENT !!!!!!!!

THERE IS REASON AND EXPLANATION TO EVERYTHING WE ARE AND DO ….

WE ARE WHO WE ARE OUT OF OUR DESTINY …FOLLOW THE PATH LESS TRAVELED. ….

NEGROPEAN MAKING FUN OF AFRIKAN ACCENT

Every language has a set of vowels and consonants and how they can be combined.

Take FRENCH for example.
    FRENCH only allow a word with one consecutive consonant.

That makes the capital of PARIS impossible to pronounce LIKE FRENCH DO .

Instead it is pronounced PERIE . For a FRENCH speaker it sounds like The small island of idiots. That is nothing much people in FRENCH SPEAKING need to take offense . People who speak FRENCH speak FRENCH . FRENCH rules for pronouncing are used.

I think it is logical to use the language you speak when pronouncing words even when the words are from another language.

To pronounce every word as in its original language is not possible.

You just do not know how to pronounce words in all the languages that have produced them.

PIX A. MC DONALD .”

29. That’s what I said – they won the world because they took Chinese gunpowder and made weapons of mass destruction. That’s all there is to their “superiority”. They are experts at violence and manipulation. Blood thirsty bloodsuckers.

Black people need to stop and think their way out of this mess. They need to be rewired because they are totally effed up.

30. @ Waru:

A question for you?

Since you are so woke and Africa-centric, why did you marry and have children with a European?

Could you not find a suitable man of African descent?

31. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Donna..it continues to happen because black leaders refuse to use their damn brains…they are too corrupt…always want, want, want material things for themselves…..and NEVER want to create the changes that would dismantle and defeat the 124 year old demonic Berlin conference…although we have the knowledge to do so…

As i was telling Vincent some months ago when he was prostrating himself before the pigs in the palace, prince tampon et al……..he does not know what they are planning for him…..they must be watched and observed…just like they have done to the black race…they should NEVER BE RESPECTED or TRUSTED …by black people…because you can guarantee what they have come up with in the last 40 years to destroy black lives…is no better than what their evil, murderous ancestors did before..

32. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Told yall France was still ripping off African Franco speaking countries…if ya look close enough ya will probably find UK still stealing too…knowing the evil of the french mind, i should not have been …but could not believe they were so brazen and black leaders so stupid to sign a continuing colonization pact…

gotta find out what pat the dummies in Barbados’ parliament signed with the thieves in the minority community, Cow, Bizzy, Maloney et al…that Mia is still allowing them to rip off the island.

Dullard…really…so now yall want to not only tell me who to love, but who to marry and have children with…me thinks that is taking things a bit too far and has no bearing whatever on what we are blogging about…cause at the end of the day…my husband never tief anybody in Barbados land or inheritance or estate and he certainly don’t run scams with any black ministers and lawyers against the people or pay bribes to any of the aforementioned to keep the majority black population, marginalized, disenfranchised,sidelined and living in perpetual poverty and have to run from Barbados to get opportunities …..and neither do I…it is black people with the help of white and indian, syrian people, wicked, bad, corrupt people do that….so ya barking up the wrong tree..

And…since i cuss black as well as white and inbetween …what would you have said were i married to a black or blue man…do you really think it would make some kinda difference…

..so sorry i did not meet ya high expectations…lol

33. There have been African leaders who tried and they were eliminated at the instigation of the former colonial powers and even the US of A and the greedy puppets were installed. This is what they have also done in South
    and Central America. I have read black journalists reports and books on these eliminations. They were also mentioned in the video from Piece.

They are very good at being bad. And at transferring that bad image to others. Most of the world has bought it. Most of the world does not have a clue.

34. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

That too Donna..but they should never stop trying….that is when the world forgets and these demons come back stronger…because they have decades to create their evil in the dark…the money, power and time in which to do it..our ancestors did not have the strength left to deal with them, but they are some of us who do…

Dullard…i did not want to say this, because it may be taken the wrong way, most people will see it for what it really is…maybe being married to a european…helped open my eyes to many things which would have remained hidden to me and my family…were i to marry a black or other man…

…..just bear in mind that i was not the one hid anything from black people..as a matter of fact, i get cussed daily on the blog for trying to expose things that could open the eyes of black people……and ya gotta admit that black people are not exactly pushing hard enuff… to extricate themselves from the demonic forces of UK, France..etc..wuh they are not even pushing hard enuff to extricate themselves from the low class…small time demons in parliament or in the minority community…all like now…many of those minorities should be in handcuffs somewhere for the crimes they committed…but ya will tell me about my white husband and pay no attention to the whites who steal everything in Barbados…lol..and yall love and respect them so much…and want to have their babies and their fair, bad skin and thin hair..

35. Dullard…i did not want to say this, because it may be taken the wrong way, most people will see it for what it really is…maybe being married to a european…helped open my eyes to many things which would have remained hidden to me and my family…were i to marry a black or other man

What did marrying a white man open your eyes to?

So why should any one take you seriously on matters African?

You don’t really care about black people do you? If you care so much about black people why did you not see it fitting to be laying down next to one every night? To share you life with someone that looks like you? (I assume u r blk)

So should we dismiss your blogging as having no substance behind it and is just hot air?

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE •
    • SIR FUZZY
    CAN YOU EXPLAIN WHAT YOU MEAN IN YOUR NOTES ABOVE?

RE @ Georgie Porgie April 6, 2019 8:56 PM
    IMO the pursuit of knowledge via reading should start first with seeking truth as your prime directive. Reading is one of many ways of gaining knowledge. Reading is a skill that not all acquire for many different reasons. But gaining truth and then knowledge thru whatever means u have at your disposal should be paramount. The bible to me is one book that contains many truths. I think it should be on everyone’s reading/hearing list. Whether we read widely or stick to a particular area

I AGREE WITH ALL THE ABOVE

RE Malachi 3:10
    “Try this test. Bring one-tenth of your things to me. Put them in the treasury. Bring food to my house. Test me! If you do these things, I will surely bless you. Good things will come to you like rain falling from the sky. You will have more than enough of everything”

WELL WOOLWORTH AND COLGATE ARE TWO EXAMPLES OF MEN WHO DID THIS AND THEY CERTAINLY BECAME VERY VERY RICH

37. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Who cares who takes me seriously on anything, i don’t, my husband don’t…if you want to take on that burden, that is all on you….trying to make it about me won’t change a goddamn thing…i live a fine ass life and can live it anywhere, even in Mama Africa…

Africa is calling yo…just listen…

38. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

“Know your Enemy”

The Art of War spends some time in discussing one’s enemy Donna.

I ask you this query, in cyberspace, how do you determine who is your enemy or who is your friend?

But more pertinent than that question, in this discussion, who is the “Enemy” we are engaged against?

Is it (1) The Enemy of the People or (2) the Enemy within the People or (3) the People?

And, depending on how they respond to your interventions on their behalf, after a while should you not think that they sre not the same?

There is a YouTube video that features some guerillas seated around a camp fire, o e of whom gives a monkey an AK47.

And shortly afterwards the monkey starts to shoot the weapon rather, it pulls the trigger.

And all the people around the fireplace scamper, it is hilarious to see so called sensible men give a loaded AK47 to a monkey.

But here are the “parallels”

My first remark “starts to shoot” suggests that the monkey knew what it was doing.

i sought to recalibrate that by my second statement which speaks of a simple action that held no volition for the monkey “pulling the trigger”

In this “war” that we are fighting Donna, as it relates remarks on things for and against the State, some of use realize that there are “active enemies in Barbados” who are proactively seeking to “discommode” our citizenry and secure all the country’s resources for themselves.

These are people e.g. the Stinkliars and Michael Carry Away a Ton of money and the Mugabees, who fall into the category of those proactively giving guns to monkeys and benefitting in the aftermath

Then you have “the people” who are being screwed., the ones sitting around the fireplace, many doing their own thing, getting on with their own lives, but having to scamper when the monkey pull the trigger. Like bajans scampering now, after Stinkliar messed up the economy.

or like how people continuing to scamper now while Mottley losing her Parliament with her peoples and thousand of civil servants scampering.

or when she discounting peoples bond investments

Then there are the actual monkeys, not the people I spoke about above but the sheeple who “just deah”, the monkeys who are given the guns, and to whom discharging de gun or the bullets ent mean one badword, or those around the campfire who are oblivious to the dangers of “bullets” euphemism, the warfare being raged against citizens as water increases, garbage collection fees , more taxes and the inability to afford the cost of living.

Enter me, a dissenter, one of many? one who is not afraid to speak out onto this social media stage.

just a normal person, one who having seen those people who purposely give monkeys guns, without a care about who gets shot, because after the killing, they stand to gain in the aftermath, I am one of the few shouting at all the people round the fire about the monkey with the gun.

In order to get the attention of the people around the fire, I am whistling, and, screaming “look at the gun”,

i am hollering “watch out” and, sometimes when I see the oblivious stares, as a final action I am cussing loud “de f**king monkey got a RH gun”

cause the polite talk is not able to get the people and sheeple to get moving out of the range of the AK47.

Mine is a hope that, in the final analysis, people start to wake up to “the war” that we are in, so while “the language” is not nice, Donna, IT IS GETTING THEIR ATTENTION & WUKKING.

I UNDERSTAND THAT, PERSONSLLY I WILL BE “A CASUALTY OF THE WAR” BUT, IF IT WAKES UP BAJANS, SO BE IT

39. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Bullets…bullets will be a blessing…what about the next wave of bondage..before they think on those things, they are all up in my bedroom…like if who i sleep with will change the chain of events….yall better get a life cause i got a wonderful one…

Always worrying about those who need no worrying about..lol

40. @ Waru

No burden at all.

The Dullard just felt like pointing out your duplicity and hypocrisy, as some on this blog have done before.

*You don’t really care about black people do you? If you care so much about black people why did you not see it fitting to be laying down next to one every night? To share you life with someone that looks like you? *

Admit it, you are basically a fraud.

41. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Duplicity and hypocrisy in what…how dare you try to inveigle yaself into my private life…deal with the situation at hand…eg…the theft of billions of dollars from the treasury and pension fund…years of thefts against your own people …BY YOUR OWN BLACK GOVERNMENTS AND LAWYERS….that is the issue at hand, not whom am married to, that does not change the price of rice or give back all the people who lost their jobs their severance money or stop Mia from wasting millions of tax dollars in consultants or change the fact that DLP ministers in collusion with the Cows and Bizzys and Maloneys etc have stolen hundreds of millions of dollars and many, many estates from elderly black people…all with the help of black lawyers and black government ministers

So how come you are not interested in any of that but you are interested in my life.

..the fraud is you thinking ya can change the narrative…but ya ain’t got the back bone nor intelligence to pull it off..

ya stuck at whining and bitching….that is all yardfowls are good for…and am enjoying every moment of it..

42. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Tell ya tiefing black ministers and black lawyers stop joining with white people and others to rob their own black people…yall nasty crabs…

https://youtu.be/aFELNcfUo5I?t=97

43. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Bajans in the diaspora better don’t mind Mia…get more information on the diasporan bank or credit union, but do not listen to Mia…let her stay right where she is, it looks good on her.

44. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Piece…ah don’t know when the house negros are going to learn that the slick thing don’t work anymore….it is pure black geniuses they are getting in their backsides now, no more useless house negro dummies.

45. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ WARU

When an economy is stagnant and there is little economis activity on the horizon, it becomes extremely difficult for governments to hid laundered money.

Consequently it is in the interest of brigands to invite all sorts of external companies to one’s shores because remits to parent companies under the guise of authorized forex transactions are difficult to hide from governments watching Barbados.

Soooooo…even though the Government of Barbados has the WeMoney scam, they cant justify the volume of money that it needs to transfer.

So Mugabe got to bring in Sam poochy and de devil to pretend that the economic activity exists

Bajans in the diaspora are not stupid

http://imgur.com/dcwFqgW

46. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“When an economy is stagnant and there is little economis activity on the horizon, it becomes extremely difficult for governments to hid laundered money.”

Good..and we watching…and we will make absolutely sure Mia and her gang dont tief one dime of bajans in the diaspora money….i know what it is to wake up at 4 in the morning for multiple years to take a train, get ya kid to school take another train…get to work, through hail, snow….deadly humidity and heat…just to make a dollar in US…she will not be ripping off people in the diaspora…as she did black bajans in Barbados.

Piece…let her bring in all the offshore accounts and millions and lands that she and other lawyers/ministers and all the minorities…TIEF….

She wanted to be PM…she begged to be PM…she is being paid by taxpayers to be PM and so are all her million dollar consultants….let her pay the goddamn price.

We watching.

47. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And to make matters even worse…

She can chat, but what a nasty trick…Hunte-Cox…Barbados’ consul to NY was at that meeting with the African ambassador, instead of letting Caribbean and Bajan people know about this, she tried to use the knowledge to ripoff black bajans in the diaspora, . The bajan Canadians already told her that she cant get a dime from them….so let her slither around Canada popping shit….she will be back in Barbados before you know it with empty hands.

This is an awakening….THEIRS….all the thieves.

48. The Dullard just felt like pointing out your duplicity and hypocrisy, as some on this blog have done before.

You don’t really care about black people do you? If you care so much about black people why did you not see it fitting to be laying down next to one every night? To share you life with someone that looks like you?

Admit it, you are basically a fraud.

49. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ah see ya have nothing better to do this glorious morning, so i will give ya something to do…tell Mia…we are going to dismantle her…since she does not think it’s important to dismantle the slave society in Barbados…dismantle the criminal racist apartheid community that she and her ilk helps steal everything from the over 200,000 black majority in Barbados…..she don’t want to dismantle the criminality and free the people..

so we will systematically dismantle her backside…

go and basically tell her that….

50. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Watch Mia run from pillar to post…begging……run Mia run…