Readers will recall that a raging topic in the public domain before and during the campaign for the May 2018 general election was the legal entitlement of the then Honourable Leader of the Opposition, now the Honourable Prime Minister, Ms Mia Mottley, to practise law in Barbados, since she did not possess the Legal Education Certificate (sic) awarded by the regional Council of Legal Education. It took the explanatory intervention of her father, Mr Elliott D Mottley [as he then was] and, I suppose, the result of the election itself, to quell further discussion of this matter. I recall that I wrote then that the decision to admit Ms Mottley to the local Bar was a decision of the High Court of Barbados and could be overturned only if there were a timeous appeal of the matter on a point of law.

Indeed, a recent decision of the Judicial Committee of Her Majesty’s Privy Council [JCPC], on appeal from the Eastern Caribbean Court of Appeal[Grenada], confirms that admission to the Bar is not merely a ceremonial occasion but, rather, in substance a legal decision that may result in a decision that is adverse to the applicant. This decision is Layne v Attorney General of Grenada, delivered by the Board on March 18, 2019.

Despite serving a sentence of imprisonment for murder, Mr Joseph Ewart Layne dreamt of becoming a lawyer. His first step was to secure an LL.B, which he duly completed with honours by correspondence from London University, Clearly bitten by the studying bug, he next proceeded to read for his Master’s in Laws from the same university. At some time, he also secured a Bachelor of Science (Accounting) from Oxford Brookes University in the UK with First Class Honours. Having served 26 years of the 40-year term imposed on him, Mr Layne then enrolled at the Hugh Wooding Law School in Trinidad & Tobago to pursue his professional training, leading to the Legal Education Certificate, now a sine qua non of admission to most of the regional Bars. It is worthy of note that being an LL.B graduate of a university other than the University of the West Indies, Mr Layne would first have had to pass an entrance examination comprising a number of subjects in order to be admitted to Hugh Wooding. He was duly awarded the Certificate of Legal Education in September 2013.

Thereafter, Mr Layne applied to be admitted to the Grenada Bar. The central issue was whether Mr Layne possessed the good character required by section 17 (1) of the Legal Profession Act 2011 of Grenada. This provides, where relevant-

17(1) Subject to the provisions of this Act, a person who makes an application to the Supreme Court, and satisfies the Supreme Court that he-

(a) Is of good character; and either

(i) holds the qualifications prescribed by law;………………………………………………………………………shall be eligible to be admitted by the Court to practise as an attorney-at-law in Grenada.

So far as the judge before whom the application was made, Price Findlay J., was concerned, good character was “The aggregate of moral qualities which belong to and distinguish an individual person, the general result of one’s distinguishing attributes. That moral pre-disposition or habit, or aggregate of ethical qualities which is believed to attach to a person on the strength of common opinion and report concerning him.”

With regard to lawyers, the “guardians of our fundamental freedoms”, they had to command the personal confidence of not only lay and professional clients but [that of] other members of the Bar and of judges”; and while there was no rule automatically barring someone who had been convicted of an offence from practising the law,” an applicant with the background of the appellant had to make an extraordinary showing of rehabilitation…” In her view, the test was whether there was “a potential risk to the public, or, more importantly, whether there will be damage to the reputation of the profession” The court, she stated, was “concerned with the maintenance of public confidence in the members of the profession.”

After re-emphasizing that while rehabilitation was important, it may not be possible to make a “show of rehabilitation in the face of past serious misconduct”, the judge had regard to Mr Layne’s youth at the time of the murders (he was only 25 years of age) but held that his leadership responsibilities demonstrated his maturity at that age.

Ultimately, she concluded that although the applicant was a man who had accomplished much, nevertheless, having reviewed the evidence and taking into account all the relevant considerations, and the authorities in other jurisdictions, she was constrained to refuse this application for admission.”

Mr Layne’s appeal to the Eastern Caribbean Court of appeal was given short shrift, the judges there applying the principle that an appellate court should be reluctant to interfere with the judge’s exercise of discretion (sic), and therefore limiting its decision to the question whether the exercise by the judge of her discretion was susceptible to review in an appellate court. The Court of Appeal concluded that there was no basis on which it could properly set aside the judge’s exercise of discretion in this case, and dismissed the appeal.

On further appeal to the Judicial Committee, their Lordships dismissed the appeal by a four to one majority. For those interested in reading the details of the Board’s respective reasoning, the judgment may be found at http://www.bailii.org/uk/cases/UKPC/2019/11.html

For the younger readers, the murder to whose commission Mr Layne was found to be a party was no ordinary murder in the history of Grenada. It was the summary execution of the then leader of the country, Mr Maurice Bishop, and nine others in the aftermath of the schism in the New Jewel Movement that had seized power in Grenada in 1979. Indeed, if memory serves me correctly, Mr Layne, then deputy Minister of Defence was alleged to have played a significant role in the deaths.

The question begs asking, given that the events happened nearly forty years ago, that the killings were of a political nature under the belief that they were necessary for the preservation of the state, and Mr Layne’s subsequent impeccable behaviour and academic achievement, is this a man who is liable to be deservedly denied the respect of the populace, the judiciary, and his fellow members of the Bar? Or is the dismissal of his application merely a reflection of the horror still felt by Grenadians at the entire sorry episode so may years ago?

While I view the judgment of Price Findlay J to be unimpeachable, (she must have been well trained!), I incline more to the reasoning of Lord Kerr, the lone dissentient in the JCPC, who argued cogently that  “Reprehensible conduct in the past by a candidate for admission may provide an indicator as to her or his present character but it must not be allowed to operate as an automatic bar. In other words, simply because an individual has behaved badly in the past does not constitute an inevitable block on their admission to practice. Previous past conduct is material only to the extent that it bears on the evaluation of character made at the time of consideration of the application. And, however bad or shameful the past behaviour, the decision-maker must not approach his or her assessment on the basis that its effect can never be outweighed by the subsequent redemptive conduct of the applicant. Egregious behaviour in the past may present an applicant with a formidable hurdle; it should never be regarded as an automatically insuperable one”.

I am almost certain that some wag will contend that most lawyers are crooked or eventually become so anyway and, at least, Mr Layne’s misconduct is behind him.

169 responses to “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – An Ineradicable Blot”

1. None of them must have never heard of a man named Saul.
    There should have been a moral persuasion applied to this case
    He that is without sin cast the first stone
    Yes he did commit or participate in an horrendous act of evilness
    So did Saul a character in the bibke who was set aside by God as an example for others to follow
    Yes people change and Layne started a new life on a path of rehabilitation for better and thus he should have been rewarded justly and rightfully for doing so
    Afterall he had spent 26years of his life in prison pay his price back to society

2. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Am personally opposed to hanging, it should only be used in certain very special circumstances i believe…and the Coards, including Ewart Layne murderers of all the other Bishop/Creft/murdered victims…should have been special circumstances…none of them should be still walking the earth…let alone plaguing the islands with another useless ass lawyer..

3. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

GP…stay off the blog today, being privy to certain information…a cussing lawyers today, even wannabe lawyers…whom i know are useless and are not contributing to…but destroying the society instead..as most who have these weapons at their disposal and who lack even basic moral and ethical moorings…are wont to do particularly when they are morally and ethically bankrupt..

4. Whatever part Mr. Layne played in the execution of Bishop is not reflected in his recounting of the events in his memoir “We move Tonight” which chronicled events leading up to the overthrow of Gairy and its aftermath. He is notably silent about the coup against Bishop as well as the slaughter of Bishop and his associates including his paramour. If contrition for past misdeeds is one of the canons that form the basis for being allowed to practice law and other professions Mr. Layne has failed miserably due to his lack of candour, but since we prize rehabilitation then his subsequent actions can be taken into account; however, the judge exercised her discretion and one can argue pro and con about the merits of that ruling.

My Layne should take up politics as doors closed legally could be opened politically and he could refer to the experience of another Lawyer Mandela……

BTW why do we have a CCJ?

5. As I read this post, I was mentally composing a note that would be very critical of the decision and the judge.

Then I read that Maurice Bishop was one of his victims and I found myself without an opinion or even supporting the judge.

There should be a special place in hell for those who murder the Maurice Bishops and Walter Rodney’s of the Caribbean

Guess I have gone to full support of the decision

6. the decision to admit to the local Bar was a decision of the High Court.

Makes sense to me.Surely a person convicted of some criminal acts should never be permitted to practice law.

Serial killers and pedophiles even if they had the academic qualifications would not be permitted to practice law.

Mr. Layne participated in the mass murder of his political opponents. He should have studied coffin building.

7. Surely Mr. Layne has an idea where Maurice Bishop is buried?

Jeff there are too many unanswered questions for Mr. Layne to be given a free lunch.

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The judge exercised her discretion in the matter. And I concur.
    A lawyer should exercise judgement and moral fortitude. These are character traits that cannot be proven to have been acquired after a period in jail. I see no evidence of remorse in Mr.Layne’s two public opportunities to do so.

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

Maurice Bishop was Mr. Layne’s political colleague,not his political opponent? This was a case of naked power grabbing.

10. Would the previous contributors to this article be prepared to pardon Azziza Clarke for her ” alleged ” involvement in the demise of Damian Trotman – albeit she is charged , for amongst other things , seen & caught driving the alleged murderer in the ” get away ” car ?

11. Allow me to wander off on a tangent.

For some reason, I believe the Caribbean would be better off if the Walter Rodneys and Maurice Bishops were allowed to flourish. It as if others saw a new and different leadership about to take root and remove it from our garden.

I’ve always believe in giving ‘second chances’, did his time’, ‘paid his/her debt to society’. ‘reformed’, etc … but I see now that there are some crimes that should not be forgiven and the only sentence should be “confined for the rest of his life’ .

Mr Layne should still be in jail

12. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Surely Mr. Layne has an idea where Maurice Bishop is buried?

Jeff there are too many unanswered questions for Mr. Layne to be given a free lunch”

And where were Jacqueline Creft and her unborn child thrown away like dead garbage by him and his scum ilk…some years ago Maurice’s mother was still alive, probably still is, and asking foir her son’s body….did the Wart tell her where to find any of his victims…. no he did not.

……none of the families of the murdered group had any closure…and this piece of shit believes he has some right to inviegle and ingratiate himself into the lives of vulnerable Caribbean people using the tools of a legal system…oh hell no…..especially when these vulnerable victims are already being preyed upon by unscrupulous lawyers who themselves should be in prison or hung by the neck from a mile high tree……..

13. What is this man doing out of jail in the first place? He nearly destroyed a whole country! He should be in jail giving prisoners free legal advice.

If he was truly penitent he would come clean. One must confess one’s sins if one wishes to be forgiven.

TheO I agree with you. Maurice Bishop was trying to save his people and they killed him.

He achieved a coup without a drop of blood being shed. A necessary coup since wicked Gairy had the election machinery locked down. His was carrying out the wishes of the people.

And they killed him.

Don’t even get me started on Walter Rodney.

Brilliant mind lost to us. He has never been replaced.

And here we are still not understanding. Here we are devolving!

I have heard men say that if Frank Worrell had not died young he would have been able to bring us together
    in the Caribbean and make us a force to be reckoned with. I have heard white men say that he had a magic that placed them under a spell. He commanded respect among Englishmen and Australians. They were mesmerized by him. He walked and talked and even sat like a king but a people’s king. They looked small beside him.

Some people are just irreplaceable!

14. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Those are the ones they kill…no one kills the poisonously corrupt, only intellectual giants lose their lives to the scum of the earth.

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Layne, just another male entitled wanna-be. He at 25 had a nice, nice pick at Deputy Defence Minister (defending grenadians from who again?) and he wanted more? And was willing to kill to get it? And now wants a big pick as a lawyer?

Grenada does NOT need another lawyer. But very likely needs another agricultural laborer. Let Layne do some useful truly hard labour for the first time in his life.

Let him grow food for poor Grenadians. Poor Grenadians need food much more that they need yet another entitled lawyer.

We wouldn’t let convicted child rapists practice law. Why should we let murderers?

16. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

No disrespect meant to you Professor Jeff.

17. Poor Jacquie, we were all in shock at her murder. Lots of us Caribbean girls who went to Carleton, hung out together and partied at the International House and Coral Reef Club. May she rest in peace.

18. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

No disrespect meant to you Professor Jeff.

@SSSP-f- L, And none taken. Wondering though whether much of this antagonism to Layne is not owed to the identity of his victim. Would the reaction have been the same if the victim were a nobody in socio-political terms? Was it not, in fine, a political matter?

19. It was multiple cold blooded murders. He has not come clean. For me it would be the same. It is not just because of the person, Maurice Bishop. The emotion is indeed more potent because of the impact his actions had on the “nobodies” who depended on Maurice Bishop. He halted a country on the move recovering from the trauma that was Eric Gairy’s atrocious power trip.

My main problem however, is that he has not come clean.

20. @Sir simple, Who the hell is Jeff Cumberbatch that you’d offer an apology, but WhiteHill and Piece of the rock can kiss your A@$? The problem with you nappy head little black women down here, you suck up too much to certain people; white men, cooly men and a few black men you perceived to be part of the so called elite. This man having served his time and now demonstrates by his own doing that he’s a fit candidate to be accepted into society once again, I see no reason why he shouldn’t be. The legal profession is no different from any other, Matter of fact, most of you here would rather trust a crack head. I’m looking at buying a piece of land, can anyone get me Michael Carrington’s #.

21. Wait bozie. I mentioned Roy Morris as an example of an indivifual given seconds chances now presently holding the title of Ptess Secretsry for the PM
    Guess what BU shelved the comment
    Only in bubbdus

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I AGREE WITH AC March 31, 2019 7:28 AM WHO WROTE

None of them must have never heard of a man named Saul.

LAYNE HAS NOT COMMITED ANY SIN LIKE SAUL OF TARSUS I.E THE APOSTLE PAUL DID- PERSECUTING THE CHURCH OF GOD.

IN ONE OF THE EPISTLES TO TIMOTHY HE CALLS HIMSELF THE CHIEF OF SINNERS, BUT THE GOD OF HEAVEN, FORGAVE HIM AND ALLOWED HIM TO WRITE MOST OF THE BOOKS OF THE NT.
    BUT THE GRENADIAN COURTS AND THE BU MORONS, NEITHER OF WHOM ARE GOD, THINK THAT LAYNE SHOULD CONFESS TO WHO EXACTLY?

• TheOGazerts WROTE AT March 31, 2019 8:39 AM
    There should be a special place in hell for those who murder the Maurice Bishops and Walter Rodney’s of the Caribbean

WHY. WERE THESE FOLK MORE SPECIAL THAN OTHERS WHO WERE MURDERED? SURELY NOT IN GOD’S SIGHT.
    IS IT NOT MARVELOUS THAT BU BRIMBLERS BARKERS AND BRAYERS DON’T DECIDE WHO GO TO HELL?

• Hants
    March 31, 2019 9:15 AM
    the decision to admit to the local Bar was a decision of the High Court.
    Makes sense to me.Surely a person convicted of some criminal acts should never be permitted to practice law.

IS IT NOT TRUE THAT LAWYERS WHO COMMIT CRIMINAL ACTS PRACTICE LAW EVERYDAY?
    MUST LAWYERS BE CONVICTED OF CRIMINAL ACTS TO RESTRICT THEM FROM PRACTICING LAW? THINK ABOUT IT!

Serial killers and pedophiles even if they had the academic qualifications would not be permitted to practice law.

IS SERIAL KILLING AND PEDOPHILIA WORSE SINS THAN THOSE COMMITTED BY LAWYERS EVERYDAY IN BARBADOS AND ELSEWHERE IN THE WORLD? THINK ABOUT IT!

Mr. Layne participated in the mass murder of his political opponents. He should have studied coffin building.

WHAT SHOULD THE LAWYERS WHO DESTROYED BARBADOS IN THE LAST TEN YEARS STUDY? WHAT ABOUT THE LAWYERS NOW CURRENTLY DESTROYING BARBADOS? WHAT SHOULD THEY BE STUDYING? THINK ABOUT IT!

• whiteHill
    March 31, 2019 3:19 PM
    @Sir simple, Who the hell is Jeff Cumberbatch that you’d offer an apology, but WhiteHill and Piece of the rock can kiss your A@$?

WIST THOU NOT THAT ON BU THAT Jeff Cumberbatch IS A LUMEN-ARY TO WHOM FOLK MUST PROSTRATE THEMSELVES AND BOW DOWN?

The problem with you nappy head little black women down here, you suck up too much to certain people; white men, cooly men and a few black men you perceived to be part of the so called elite. YA EN LIE SIR.

This man having served his time and now demonstrates by his own doing that he’s a fit candidate to be accepted into society once again, I see no reason why he shouldn’t be. The legal profession is no different from any other, YA CAN SAY THAT AGAIN EXCEPT THAT HIS HAS THE HIGHEST NUMBER OF CROOKS IN IT

CAN YOU IMAGINE A SURGEON REFUSING TO OPERATE ON A MAN WHO HAD SINNED? THERE WOULD BE NO SURGERY? THINK ABOUT IT!

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

• Donna
    March 31, 2019 2:49 PM
    It was multiple cold blooded murders. He has not come clean. For me it would be the same. It is not just because of the person, Maurice Bishop. The emotion is indeed more potent because of the impact his actions had on the “nobodies” who depended on Maurice Bishop. He halted a country on the move recovering from the trauma that was Eric Gairy’s atrocious power trip.
    My main problem however, is that he has not come clean.

MY MAIN PROBLEM IS WHO IS IT THAT LAYNE MUST COME CLEAN TO.OR WITH?

SO LAYNE IS A SINNER.
    WHO CAN PARDON SIN? DONNA? THE GRENADIAN COURTS? THE BU BARKERS BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS? THINK ABOUT IT

WAS MOSES AND KING DAVID NOT MURDERERS ?

MY UNDERSTANDING IS THAT ONLY GOD CAN PARDON SIN OF ANY KIND FOR IT IS WRITTEN IN I JOHN 1:9
    If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

THINK ABOUT IT?
    TO WHOM SHOULD ONE CONFESS SINS?
    WHO DECIDES IF SOME ONE HAS BECOME CLEAN OR COME CLEAN?
    WHO IS FAITHFUL AND JUST TO FORGIVE OUR SINS AND CLEANSE US FROM UNRIGHTEOUSNESS?

HERE IS A LIKKLE SECRET NONE OF THE BU BRIMBLERS AND BRAYERS CAN FORGIVE OUR SINS AND CLEANSE US FROM UNRIGHTEOUSNESS

NO NOT ONE
    .UH LIE?

24. De ole man shall as usual give another perspective on this article which shall take some fire from Whitehill

@ the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch.

I note with some mirth that you write these articles NOT TO ELLICIT commentaries only for what has happened, a thing which the sheeple get caught up in, but to solicit parallels of the current and future applications for examination by the people who think.

“…And, however bad or shameful the past behaviour, the decision-maker must not approach his or her assessment on the basis that its effect can never be outweighed by the subsequent redemptive conduct of the applicant.

Egregious behaviour in the past may present an applicant with a formidable hurdle; it should never be regarded as an automatically insuperable one”.

Let me for the sake of this moot present a hypothesis.

My hypothesis is based on a Purported Crime of Mutilation Female Genital Mutilation as a construct for your consideration or what some may call “quasi cannibalism”.

It is said that Idi Amin Dada ate some of his enemies.

My hypothetical presents a local character like Idi who has been similarly accused of cannibalism running for the position of Prime Minister.

I am wondering if, In the context of this “redemptive” element, if there is a case to be made for my hypothetical cannibal and if the opinion of the one dissenting justice might hold? and more specifically if you think that a “pass for redemption” should be offered to this erstwhile eater of flesh

Can any parallel can be drawn in this, my hypothetical matter, regarding the seeming Silence of the Lambs or in this case Sheeple?

In my hypothetical case, we have a “Hannibal Lectern” who, is purported to have bitten (and possibly eaten?) the particular part of a female, do you think that, after eating said part, IDI Amin or my hypothetical, similarly positioned character, were to run for, say, the head job of the Keeper of the Morgue, or Mortician,should they be given the job?

I am unsure of this but was it not part of Layne’s defence that it was hearsay that Maurice Bishop had indeed been killed since no bodies were found? So it might also be argued that “if no female parts were found, nor has the mutilated female come forward, there was no crime committed?

This is again a hypothetical construct and i will understand if you do not respond

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE We wouldn’t let convicted child rapists practice law. Why should we let murderers?

BUT WE LET LAWYERS PRACTICE LAW. AND LAWYERS ARE SINNERS IN GOD’S SIGHT

Let him grow food for poor Grenadians. Poor Grenadians need food much more that they need yet another entitled lawyer.

SHOULD BAJAN LAWYERS- ESPECIALLY THE ONES DESTROYING BARBADOS INTER ALIA NOT BE GROWING FOOD FOR POOR BAJANS TOO?. THINK ABOUT IT.

IT IS WRITTEN “ ALL HAVE SINNED AND COME SHORT OF THE GLORY OF GOD….WE HAVE ALL GONEOUT OF THE WAY.

HOW ARE BU BARKERS BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS GREATER THAN LAYNE IN GOD’S SIGHT IF THEY HAVE NOT CONFESSED THEIR SINS ——TO GOD. NOT “COME CLEAN TO MAN”

ARE THE BU BARKERS BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS NOT PART OF THE “ALL IN ROMANS 3?

ARE NOT ALL BU BARKERS BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS PART OF THE “ALL IN ROMANS 3?

WHERE DOES IT SAY THAT ANY BU BARKERS BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS CAN JUDGE THIS MAN’S SIN.

WHICH OF YOU ARE WITH OUT SIN

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE
    I’ve always believe in giving ‘second chances’, did his time’, ‘paid his/her debt to society’. ‘reformed’, etc … but I see now that there are some crimes that should not be forgiven and the only sentence should be “confined for the rest of his life’ . Mr Layne should still be in jail

REALLY?
    ANNANIAS AND SAPJIRRA WERE STRUCT DOWN DEAD FOR TELLING LIES
    UZZAH DIED FOR TOUCHING THE ARK
    MANY OF US WHO ARE STILL LIVING HAVE DONE LESS
    SO WHO IS THE JUDGE OF ALL MEN?
    THINK ABOUT IT?
    WHAT DOES HE THINK ABOUT OUR ADJUDICATIONS TODAY?
    DO THEY MATTER?
    MAYBE WE SHOULD LOOK TO HIM IN THIS MATTER INSTEAD OF JUDGING LAYNE

27. @ Theophillus Gazerts

I am compiling a list for ALL of Sea(l) Cow Team 1 called “Why all the reasons that these anti-mugabe dissenters should be banned!”

Imagine you put up this blog which says and i quote

“…For some reason, I believe the Caribbean would be better off if the Walter Rodneys and Maurice Bishops were allowed to flourish.

It as if others saw a new and different leadership about to take root and remove it from our garden…”

You do realise that you Gazerts and WARU, and Donna, and Whitehill, and Dr. GP, and The Wily Tron, and Northern Observer and Hants and nuff uh we are such roots WHICH, in the course of time, Mugabe WILL NOT CEASE TO REMOVE US FROM THIS GARDEN?

In some cases by use of the laws and regulations of the country of Barbados and its soon to be floated Sedition Laws which read, in part,

“…the perpetrators who form part of seditious efforts to destabilize Barbaados’ society and democratic institutions, MUST be prosecuted under Barbados’ anti-espionage legislation,”?

So me of us will be blocked out by these laws while others of us, BY AS SUCH VIOLENT MEANS AS Maurice Bishop?

Why you thing certain keyboard warriors stop posting here?

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

A SURGEON CAN NOT DECIDE THAT A VILE SINNER AND MURDERER ON HIS OPERATING TABLE SHOULD DIE. HE MUST TRY TO SAVE HIS LIFE

BUT AN OLD WITHERED FROWSY WOMAN ON SOME HIGH COURT CAN DECIDE THAT A MAN CAN NOT PRACTICE THE LAW HE TRAINED TO BE ABLE TO DO DURING HIS REHABILITATION…………..BECAUSE WHAT SHE HAS NEVER SINNED AND DONT SIN EVERY DAY?

THAT IS WHAT IS WRONG IN OUR WORLD
    WHICH CLASS OF SO CALLED INTELLECTUALS ARE DESTROYING EVERY COUNTRY ON EARTH WITH THEIR BIASED STUPID BETZPAENIC DECISIONS? LAWYERS! THINK ABOUT IT

29. Your assistance please Honourable Blogmaster with another of my submissions which go contrary to the thoughts here expounded and it is my hope that you provide timeous retrieval of same

30. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@whiteHill March 31, 2019 3:19 PM “@Sir simple, Who the hell is Jeff Cumberbatch that you’d offer an apology, but WhiteHill and Piece of the rock can kiss your A@$?

Quiet, Shhh. Don’t tell anybody that i told you, but you know how Barbados is. At least one of my children went to school with one of Professor Jeff’s. I’ve met him plenty of times face to face and found him to be an honest man, a scholar and a gentleman.

And I have nothing against you, so take it easy.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

• Donna
    March 31, 2019 10:58 AM

What is this man doing out of jail in the first place? He nearly destroyed a whole country! He should be in jail giving prisoners free legal advice.

WHY IS FUMBLE AND OTHERS OF HIS ILK NOT IN JAIL giving prisoners free legal advice. THEY ACTUALLY destroyed a whole country!

WHY IS MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY THE PRIMEWICKER AND DICTATOR & HER CONSULTANTS & ADVISORS NOT IN JAIL giving prisoners free legal advice. THEY ARE ACTUALLY destroying a whole country!

If he was truly penitent he would come clean. One must confess one’s sins if one wishes to be forgiven.
    TO WHOM MUST ONE CONFESS THEIR SINS? AND WHO FORGIVES SINS? WUNNAH HEY PUN BU?

TheO I agree with you. Maurice Bishop was trying to save his people and they killed him.
    MAURICE BISHOP WAS NOT GOD OR MOSES . WHO SENT HIM TO SAVE HIS PEOPLE?

He achieved a coup without a drop of blood being shed. A necessary coup since wicked Gairy had the election machinery locked down. His was carrying out the wishes of the people. REALLY?

And they killed him. BUT THE PEOPLE WHOSE WISHES YOU SAY HE WAS CARRYING OUT COULDN’T DO A THING ABOUT IT

I have heard men say that if Frank Worrell had not died young he would have been able to bring us together in the Caribbean and make us a force to be reckoned with.

WAIT FRANKIE WORRELL WAS A GOD TOO?
    I have heard white men say that he had a magic that placed them under a spell. He commanded respect among Englishmen and Australians. They were mesmerized by him.
    REALLY ? SO BECAUSE WHITE MEN THINK WORRELL WAS A MAGICIAN AND BECAUSE Englishmen and Australians were mesmerized by him WUH HAPPEN?. HE DEAD AT 42 NO ONE MURDERED HIM

He walked and talked and even sat like a king but a people’s king.
    A DEAD KING HAS NO POWER UH LIE

They looked small beside him.
    THE PEOPLE IN BIM LOOK SMALL NEXT TO MIA TOO CAUSE SHE OBESE! AH LIE
    LOT OF EMOTIONAL CLAP TRAP

Some people are just irreplaceable!
    REALLY? THE VERY BEST ARE REPLACED EVERYDAY YOU BETTER BELIEVE UM LOL LOL

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@whiteHill March 31, 2019 3:19 PM “The problem with you nappy head little black women

Who you calling nappy headed?

Knee length locks here.

Lolll!!!

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DOES THE HEIGHT FROM WHENCE A PERSON IS HUNG MATTER IN A HANGING WARU?

34. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Georgie Porgie March 31, 2019 4:55 PM “BUT THE GRENADIAN COURTS AND THE BU MORONS, NEITHER OF WHOM ARE GOD, THINK THAT LAYNE SHOULD CONFESS TO WHO EXACTLY?”

Well he could start with the parents, spouses and children of the people he was CONVICTED of murdering, and then he could move out from there, until he has sought forgiveness from everybody whom he has hurt.

Repentance. Forgiveness. Reconciliation.

35. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Georgie Porgie March 31, 2019 5:05 PM “SO LAYNE IS A SINNER.”

Nobody is talking about Layne the sinner. If he has sinned that is between him and his god.

We are talking about Layne the criminal, and even while the state cannot forgive sin, it can certainly punish criminals, and it can certainly prevent a criminal from practicing law.

That cannot be refuted.

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Georgie Porgie March 31, 2019 5:15 PM “SHOULD BAJAN LAWYERS- ESPECIALLY THE ONES DESTROYING BARBADOS INTER ALIA NOT BE GROWING FOOD FOR POOR BAJANS TOO?.

Yup.

37. @Sir simple, maybe one day I’ll get the key to those locks…Po me.

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Perfectly well queried @ Dean Jeff…would the disgust towards the central query of this convict’s rehabilitation been as sharp if he had murdered Eric Gairy and a group of his henchmen mangeese, for example!

No one can dispute the valid heroic actions of Grenadian patriot Maurice Bishop but 25 years in jail for a political assassination however horrendous is yet a ‘lifetime’…one may not be rehabilitated but surely is no longer a threat to the Grenadian ociety.

Oh and yes Dean J, this wag was thinking exactly that…what a hoot that the legal profession cloaks itself with such ‘sanctimonius’ character testimony of past high moral standing to be accepted into their brotherhood and then so grossly pervert morals in their professional life!

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Georgie Porgie March 31, 2019 5:30 PM “BUT AN OLD WITHERED FROWSY WOMAN.”

How do you know that she is withered and frowsy? Did you have your head under her dress?

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BUT THE GRENADIAN COURTS AND THE BU MORONS, NEITHER OF WHOM ARE GOD, THINK THAT LAYNE SHOULD CONFESS TO WHO EXACTLY?”

Well he could start with the parents, spouses and children of the people he was CONVICTED of murdering, and then he could move out from there, until he has sought forgiveness from everybody whom he has hurt.

Repentance. Forgiveness. Reconciliation.

The parents, spouses and children of the people he was CONVICTED of murdering, CANNOT FORGIVE HIM OF HIS SIN OF MURDER.
    HE NEEDS TO BE RECONCILED TO GOD NOT TO MAN
    RECONCILIATION TO MAN MEANS NOTHING
    CONFESSION TO MAN MEANS NOTHING

THE WORD OF GOD IS VERY CLEAR ON THE DOCTRINE OF FORGIVENESS AND RECONCILIATION

I TRY TO GO BY THE WORD OF GOD NOT BY THE DELIBERATIONS OF MAN
    ONE MUST OBEY THE LAWS OF GOD AND OF MAN BUT CONFESSION AND RECONCILIATION ARE ACTS OF GOD

RE Nobody is talking about Layne the sinner. If he has sinned that is between him and his god.

We are talking about Layne the criminal, and even while the state cannot forgive sin, it can certainly punish criminals, and it can certainly prevent a criminal from practicing law.

That cannot be refuted.

LAST I CHECKED ALL CRIMES WERE SINS
    IF LAYNE COMMITTED CRIMES THEN HE SINNED

WHAT CANNOT BE REFUTED IS THAT THE STATE can certainly prevent SOME criminalS from practicing law. BUT THE STATE ALLOWS CERTAIN PREFERRED CRIMINALS TO PRACTICE LAW FOR SURE

PREVENTING LAYNE NOT TO PRACTICE LAW IS ONLY WINDOW DRESSING
    THE MAN SPENT 26 YEARS IN PRISON FOR HIS CRIME/SIN
    AND THE STATE THOUGHT THAT HE HAD SERVED HIS TIME ELSE HE WOULS STILL BE THERE

I PRAISE GOD TO DAY THAT WUNNAH BU SCUM WILL NOT BE MY JUDGE

41. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“DOES THE HEIGHT FROM WHENCE A PERSON IS HUNG MATTER IN A HANGING WARU?”

Want to be my guinea pig…see if we can try for a mile long neck stretch…

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ALL SINS ARE NOT CRIMES BUT ALL CRIMES ARE SINS

RE what a hoot that the legal profession cloaks itself with such ‘sanctimonius’ character testimony of past high moral standing to be accepted into their brotherhood and then so grossly pervert morals in their professional life!

ONE OF THE MOST SENSIBLE THINGS PUT ON BU ALLDAY EXCEPT I WOULD HAVE ADDED OTHER TO PROFESSIONAL LIFE………so grossly pervert morals in their professional AND OTHER ASPECTS OF THEIR life!

43. I was just thinking and that is dangerous for a man of my limited intellectual ability but doesn’t certain professional bodies have moral and ethical standards as to whom can be admitted to practice in said profession? If Mr. Layne had studied medicine after his release from jail would he be allowed to practice in that field? Would he even be accepted into medical school to study the subject? Could he argue that he had paid his debt to society and it had no right to refuse him? What about Engineering or Teaching? Why even the great State of Florida barred convicted felons from voting (lifetime ban) even after they had served their time (the people recently voted to remove that restriction) but the politicians in Florida (can anyone say Republicans) are trying to put the kibosh on that, so one can say the voice of the people is not necessarily the voice of God.

I know the attached may not be applicable in little England but the website is very illuminating…

http://www.ncsl.org/research/labor-and-employment/barriers-to-work-individuals-with-criminal-records.aspx

44. @Sargeant

Good insightful comment as usual. Alfred Sparman comes to mind in Barbados.

45. Why only Alfred Sparman, why not Mugabe as well?

whu after all Sparman may have concocted his qualifications and built a hospital but what about reputed mutilation yet all is forgiven and they are ascended to the highest seat in the cuntry!

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE
    ALL THAT SPARMAN DID WAS THAT HE WAS MEKING MORE MONEY THAN SOME OF THOSE WHO THOUGHT THEY WERE ENTITLED—ESPECIALLY THE RED SKIN ONE THAT USED TO TRY TO BE ACCEPTED WITH THE WHITES BY SITTING IN THE YACHT CLUB OR WALKING THROUGH THE HOSPITAL PARKING LOT WID A STETHESCOPE ROUND HIS NECK

47. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wuh Loss !!

It is not a matter of forgiveness.
    It is a matter of the confidence of the members of the profession, inner bar,outer bar,judges.
    The judge using her discretion acted out of an abundance of caution and came to the conclusion that the gravitas of the past act was an indication of unacceptable character. It was a judgement for which she had responsibility.
    Forgiveness is an irrelevant consideration. Forgiveness was recognized by his not serving the full 40 years of the sentence.

48. @ the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

I know that you are sleeping as most good men are at this hour of the night

But i have a query as relates to the “whether Mr Layne possessed the good character required by section 17 (1) of the Legal Profession Act 2011 of Grenada…”

Are there any similar provisions locally under which acceptance or disbarment (if that is word) obtains

I do hope that this might be a question you can answer devoid as it is of the last few incriminating rather specious hypotheticals

49. RE It is not a matter of forgiveness.
    It is a matter of the confidence of the members of the profession, inner bar,outer bar,judges.

REALLY?
    DO YOU HAVE confidence IN the members of the profession, inner bar,outer bar,judges IN BARBADOS?
    I DONT ,
    HOW MANY OF US DO. UH LIE?

TODAY IN THE USA AND MANY PARTS OF THE WORLD PEOPLE NO LONGER HAVE confidence IN the members of the profession, inner bar,outer bar,judges UH LIE?

RE The judge using her discretion acted out of an abundance of caution and came to the conclusion that the gravitas of the past act was an indication of unacceptable character. It was a judgement for which she had responsibility.

WAS THIS JUDGE THE JUDGE OF ALL THE EARTH? OR A JUDGE WITH FLAWS AND HUMAN BIAS LIKE ALL THE UNJUST JUDGES THAT HAVE JUDGED ON THIS EARTH FROM TIME IMMEMORIAL?

THIS JUDGE WAS JUST ANOTHER LAWYER. SOME ONE WHO THOUGHT SHE WAS MORE MORAL OR WORTHY THAN OTHERS, BUT SHE WAS NOT CHRIST. HE IS THE ONLY TRUE JUDGE

RE doesn’t certain professional bodies have moral and ethical standards as to whom can be admitted to practice in said profession?

OFF COURSE THEY DO
    MEN AND WOMEN WHO ARE THEMSELVES COVERTLY IMMORAL AND UNETHICAL SIT IN JUDGEMENT ON OTHERS THOUGHT TO BE OVERTLY IMMORAL AND UNETHICAL

HAVE WE NOT BEEN SEEING THIS PLAYED OUT HERE THERE AND EVERYWHERE?

50. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ my fellow myope Dr GP

“…OFF COURSE THEY DO
    MEN AND WOMEN WHO ARE THEMSELVES COVERTLY IMMORAL AND UNETHICAL SIT IN JUDGEMENT ON OTHERS THOUGHT TO BE OVERTLY IMMORAL AND UNETHICAL…”

Did you mean any of the former Chief Justices e.g. David Simmonds

Assuredly you do not mean Sir Marston Gibson?

Nor would you be casting aspersions against persons Like Randall Worrell?

Nor do you mean any of the lawyers like

Nor Ombudsmen, nor Commissioners of police

No sir you have to be talking about other people altogether…and de ole man would hope dat you dont use these blanket statements that have the effect of including the Crimd Wicker in that spread.

And we must prevent…!!!