Prime Minister Theresa May suffered an embarrassing defeat to her BREXIT package in parliament yesterday and will likely face a no Confidence motion later today. If she survives the no confidence motion she will have 70 days before the default clause kicks in to boot the UK from the EU.

What are her options? There is the obvious which is to ask for a delay. Another referendum seems silly. What is ominous for the Tories is that the business sector has separated itself from government’s position.

Across the globe there is a common trend; chaos – the inability of the political class to form partnerships, build coalitions to practice conflict resolutions to arrive at compromise positions.

David, blogmaster

It would require a Water Diviner, a top Senegalese Marabout, an Obeah woman from Benin and a Bajan Bushman, acting in unison, for Theresa Mary May to avoid her fate after the Brexit Deal is voted-down, on Tuesday, in the House of ‘Commons’.

We witnessed firsthand, on June 23, 2016, the British peoples in their majority voting to leave the European Union (EU) – approximately 52% to 48%. The referendum, promised by David Cameron, was a response to the overarching and historic dictatorial tendencies emanating from Brussels but also represented a reassertion of Whiteness and innate neo-fascist tendencies. It has now set a series of processes in place the enormity of which are having the unforeseen consequences few could have imagined.

And, we must admit, that the politics are very difficult on all sides. The main actors are the European Union (EU), the Conservative Party and their coalition partner, (the DUP) and the main opposition Labour Party.

May is facing all manner of rebellion within her ranks. The Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) a far-right, terrorist fringe has called for her resignation. In addition, she faces nay-votes from up to 100 of her own conservative colleagues. These include a number of pretenders to the primeministership – Jacob Rees-Mogg, Boris Johnson, el al.

Not even the last-minute suggestion of a second referendum as part of her proposals to parliament is likely to be sufficient to galvanize enough support from a difficult coalition of conservatives, the DUP, the Blairist labour MPs, and others, to save May’s Brexit Deal. These suggest a most likely ‘Brexit without a deal’, given the calendar and assuming all other political forces ‘remain’ equal, no pun intended.

The man who could be British prime minister by Christmas, Jeremy Corbyn, also has long-running discord within the ranks of the Labour Party with Tony Blair loyalists and ‘EU remainers’ like Chuka Umunna continuing to provide Corbyn with all manner of contrived hurdles include the accusation that Corbyn was an anti-Semite. What a canard!

The EU for its part faces growing geopolitical and internal crises which together may suggest its beginning of the end. However, its outward determination presents a stalwartness aimed at keeping the troops (other EU countries) in line by shooting a general, the UK, in a public place. They, the EU, are unyielding. Suggesting that no other Brexit deal than that already negotiated with Theresa May will be possible after a no-vote in the ‘Commons’, as a further constraint to popular perceptions about sovereignty.

Of course, the sub-plots are the issues relating to Scotland, the re-unification of Ireland, the rekindling of relationships with former colonial possessions, international trading arrangements with major countries etc. All of these are casting uncertainty about the future for both ‘little’ and ‘big’ England. Even in May’s Brexit Deal issues pertaining to the Customs Union, borders, nationality and others ‘remain’ unclear.

We present three (3) possible scenarios that are likely to end this crisis in the short term, though politics pretends to be about making the impossible, possible, some say. These are all predicated on the assumption that Theresa May will be defeated in the House of ‘Commons’ tomorrow.

First, that a general election will be called and that Labour will win but that Corbyn would continue to find Brexiting a difficult proposition. This explains his well-known tactic of neither fully supporting nor fully opposing Brexit in principle.

Second, that the coalition led by May will force her resignation and that one of the pretenders mentioned earlier will assume its leadership. In these circumstances, we see no overt determination to leave the EU if staying remains slightest possibility. This will be a win for Brussels.

Third, and this is the most unlikely scenario, that a radical transplantation occurs in British politics. With this, we ‘may’ see Blairist forces within Labour join with EU ‘remainers’ in the Conservative Party and others to form a new ruling bloc.

As the political undertakers plane the wood for May’s coffin the leading pallbearers, on all sides, are marshalling their forces to be the first at body. Still, it remains uncertain who will get to control the carcass, and what it will mean to be British for the peoples of these islands in the North Atlantic.

508 responses to “The Rise And Fall of Brexit”

1. … and that’s what makes Trump so much fun, his ability and willingness to counterpunch and his unerring ability to tune in to what is on America’s mind!!!!

“WASHINGTON, D.C. — Americans’ trust and confidence in the mass media “to report the news fully, accurately and fairly” has dropped to its lowest level in Gallup polling history, with 32% saying they have a great deal or fair amount of trust in the media. This is down eight percentage points from last year.”

” However, the slide in media trust has been happening for the past decade. Before 2004, it was common for a majority of Americans to profess at least some trust in the mass media, but since then, less than half of Americans feel that way. Now, only about a third of the U.S. has any trust in the Fourth Estate, a stunning development for an institution designed to inform the public.”

Trump is merely expressing what most Americans believe … the press is untrustworthy!!

https://news.gallup.com/poll/195542/americans-trust-mass-media-sinks-new-low.aspx

2. … and idiots can’t understand why he won!!

3. @John

Can you explain why Cohen has to serve 3 years? What did he do?

4. listen to cortes and you know exactly why trump will win again, as shilling said nobody is stupider in congress, Cohen is going to jail because he really didnt have anything to give mueller. simple as that so he had to pay for the crimes over his taxi scam..Whats sad to see is that some people would rather their country fail than trump look like he is making america great.. Think about that for a second…..you would want your own country to fail……that is disturbing.

5. funniest thing this week was nadler asking google ceo pichai how much the russians spent interfering in the us election expecting some astronomical number , pichai says after a intensive search the total was 4700 bucks lol.. Now how much have the lawyers made investigating it double lol.

6. @lawson

This link will excite you.

Why Is Michael Cohen Going To Jail?

https://www.spartareport.com/2018/08/michael-cohen-jail/

7. David
    December 13, 2018 1:05 AM

Can you explain why Cohen has to serve 3 years? What did he do?

He was also fined as well as jailed!!!

Tax evasion, campaign finance violations and lying!!!

NB … if his payments to Stormy Daniels is campaign finance violations then there are at least 260 members of congress, past and present who are also guilty!!

Hilary was Bill’s fixer but she did not pay any money, she just destroyed the accusers … freedom of speech.

Cohen is now a self confessed liar.

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/cohen-slams-trumps-dirty-deeds-ahead-of-sentencing

Campaign finance violations in the past have attracted fines, the largest on record being the fine levied against Obama’s campaign in 2008.

https://www.snopes.com/news/2018/08/22/election-law-violations-compared-obama-2008-vs-trump-2016/

Which of the three charges attracted the prison term and which attracted the fine?

I’ll give you a clue.

Obama’s lot got a fine for campaign finance violations … Al Capone was jailed for tax evasion!!

8. Michael Cohen’s lawyer, Lanny Davis, has point blank said that his client has evidence of Trump’s collusion with Russia. Davis made the shocking statement on Wednesday’s episode of Morning Joe. If that’s true it would confirm every crazy conspiracy theory the Left has spawned over the last three years.

If that is true …….

9. @John

Anything preventing the Republican controlled Senate from opening an investigation into Hilary? Why did the they not do it before losing the House? What about the payment made by the Inquirer? How does it all add up?

10. David
    December 13, 2018 2:15 AM

Anything preventing the Republican controlled Senate from opening an investigation into Hilary? Why did the they not do it before losing the House? What about the payment made by the Inquirer? How does it all add up?

Was the Republican House really Republican?

Too many RINOs … and Never Trumpers!!

The Senate however is now apparently firmly Republican!!!

No more Flakes and Mc Cain has passed.

Trump has promised to use the Senate to launch investigations if the Democrat’s use the House like that .. tit for tat.

If you notice, Elijah Cummins of the Black Caucasians in the House who will be the chair of the investigations committee is not as sure as some of the more radical leftists in the Democrat Party that investigations are such a good thing.

I think Chuck and Nancy were sent a clear message at their meeting with POTUS!!!

Elijah seems to have twigged.

By now the Democrats will have realized that Trump don’t mek sport!!

Who knows!!

Maybe the two parties will actually work together for the good of their country!!

https://www.google.com/search?q=cartoon+politicians+knife&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=KVmQzea4m3zFUM%253A%252CB6PajYPqWkYFgM%252C_&usg=AI4_-kSz6e__26hLfuy4bALnEbYTokYOYg&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjX_ZvpmJzfAhXxxlkKHe24DG0Q9QEwAXoECAQQBg#imgrc=KVmQzea4m3zFUM:

11. The Democrats are deeply divided into two factions …. left and far far left!!

Nancy might not even be speaker but I am sure Trump will help her out if her position is threatened!!

12. John

How dear you put up a vedio with Rush Limbaugh the noted talk show host
    rightwing bigot …?

And doesn’t the liberal media has it right when it makes mention of Trump years of tax evasion?
    And if Trump is supposely an honest man then why doesn’t he makes his taxes available for public scrutiny?
    Now Trump contends that the liberal media is fake as well as the entire appartus of the Intelligent Community in America … the two entities that is capable of exposing his dealings with Russian and his years of tax evasion … but he not very convincing
    because let us assume you were president … wouldn’t you attack these two entities to cast doubt in the collective – mind of the America people in an effort to cloak your years of wrongdoing? Listen John! Trump may me ignorant but he isn’t short on commonsense and the bullying tactics he continues to employ to cloak his wrondoing …

13. We will all soon see how smart Trump Is. I have no more time to argue . Mueller ‘s got this.

14. two years have gone by and the left has grasped at every straw, .this will take him down…ho… this one will for sure ..no..well I am sure the next one will and the liberals lap it up. ….. this is insane can you imagine how america would eclipse the other countrys economy’s if everyone was wanting america to succeed. Two more years of stalemate will be in the cards after jan but conservative judges are still being put in place which is one good thing. I guess but when things start going south who do you think will be blamed Trump or the idiots on the left that put themselves over country.

15. john when you put up a picture of limbaugh you must put up farakant with obama together

16. John

When you put a picture with Obama and Farrakhan … you must put up one with Trump with Putin…

17. David …Lanny Davis is a political hack havent seen him on any of the channels lately cooing over his client .. the go fund me is so he will get paid I bet.. Poor cohen his wife with a crutch his kids in tow and the judge still gave him 3 years lost his legal license and is heavily fined …Good job lanny….. I can see the slogan if lanny decides to run for something after the spin doctors get a hold of it ….Lanny Davis hard on white collar crime.

18. John

The same way Abraham Lincoln strapped General Lee of his citizenship for treason … Trump should be strapped of his citizenship and jail for treason … for befriending America’s worse enemy ….

19. For a lexicon your not too bright, any G8 meeting will have that picture.

20. How dear you put up a vedio with Rush Limbaugh the noted talk show host
    rightwing bigot …?

I am being a dear by putting up Rush Limbaugh because the more simple among the peoples here can get the benefit of the words of a man who is right 99.8% of the time.

21. The left is too impatient. They need to wait until Mueller is finished. One cannot and should not take down a president based on media reports.

Columbo was always a looooonnnnnng show. I always fell asleep before the end and awoke to find the perpetrator being arrested. Mueller is like Columbo.

‘Just one more thing…….”

Just watch!

22. Relax and enjoy the Mueller show! It is a silent movie. The Silent Assassin. I am enjoying it immensely just as I am enjoying my favourite American detective show in its entirety. If there is something to be found Mueller will find it. If there is nothing he will find that too. But I bet there is plenty.

23. Mueller is like Columbo.
    +++++++++++++++++++

Colombo operated on evidence!!

Big difference!!

24. I am totally in awe how everyone on the left dismisses the stuff that was going on in the fbi and doj you know it is possible to be outraged at a flawed secret system and hate trump

25. … but perhaps the biggest difference is Colombo started with a dead body … a crime!!!

Mueller has to make them up as he goes along!!

26. Oh there are plenty of bodies. We can smell them even though we cannot yet see them. One can always smell a dead body. That is evidence enough to make one look.

27. Smashing your phones bleach bitting everything shredding documents under sapeona how would Colombo analyz thar

28. Yesterday my son came home smelling of gasolene. He couldn’t smell it but I asked him where he had been that made him smell of gasolene. He took the shirt off and put it to his nose. Then he smelt it and remembered that the minibus he had travelled in had been to the gas station to refill.

I have always had a nose that nobody ever believed. I sit inside my house and can tell when somebody is passing or even has passed the road by the smell of their perfume. I have a reasonable sized front yard.. AND YET I SMELL THEM. I smell tiny dead lizards in my house and even insects and then I have to search for them.

Some of us have better noses than others.

29. “Follow the nose! It always knows!”

30. “Smashing your phones bleach bitting everything shredding documents under sapeona how would Colombo analyz thar”

Lawson, you really need to understand a few things about technology.

31. Yes a hammer is really high tech. About your nose can you go find the sewage block so the island can have their travel warnings lifted

32. I probably could but being overly sensitive to smells it would make my stomach sick for days.

P.S. The technology of data retrieval despite the hammer and bleach.

33. One day we shall not only find the body but we will know its name.

34. One can always smell a dead body.BECAUSE IT EMITS A CHEMICAL CALLED CADAVERINE.
    THIS IS WHAT CADAVER DOGS ARE TRAINED TO PICK UP

35. How many Russians has big nose Mueller been able to sniff out and hail into court?

Surely for there to be collusion with Russians there have to be some Russians?

36. So Donna

Do you think Mueller has your specialized training or are you offering your services to him?

37. If a dog can be trained so too can a human!!

38. poor muller
    the wicked idiot never sat in the chemistry classes of F N A FIELDS or the moron would have heard this
    if it is there it WILL REACT ie will be found or detected
    if it AINT there it CANT REACT ie OR be found or detected

IT USED TO BE SAID THAT THE CREAM RISES TO THE TOP
    WE LIVE IN AN ERA WHERE THE SCUM AND SLIME AND SLITHERY IS SHOW CASED

39. Good morning GP

Did FNA Fields tell you in class that imitation is the most sincere form of flattery?

Bushie is humbled
    Thank you

40. re John December 13, 2018 8:01 AM
    your post of shitbamas consistent gaffes is a good example of how the shit rose to the top
    THANKS FOR THE COMEDY

41. If the Trump gaffes were put on display we wouldn’t have anything else to talk about for the next three years.

42. ANY ONE WITH COMMON SENSE WOULD TELL YOU THAT IS NOT FLATTERY………BUT MOCKERY
    THAT IS ITS INTENT CONTENT AND EXTENT
    WILL YOU NOW RETURN TO YOUR LAIR IN THE ABYSS?

AND TELL SATAN, YOUR DADDY THAT THE LORD JESUS WILL RETURN TO THE EARTH AGAIN SOON AND THAT HE WILL BE BOUND IN THE BOTTOM LESS PIT

43. RE If the Trump gaffes were put on display we wouldn’t have anything else to talk about for the next three years.

YOU MEAN THE GAFFES IN WHICH TRUMP
    1- IMPROVED THE ECONOMY
    2-CUT TAXES
    3-ROLLED BACK MANY REGULATION IMPOSED BY SHITBAMA AND CAUSED SOME PROSPERITY FOR THE POPULACE
    4 BROUGHT BACK THOUSANDS OF MANUFACTURING JOBS THAT THE SLIMY SCUM SHITBAMA SAID THAT COULD NOT EVER RETURN
    5 OVERSAW THE HIGHEST EMPLOYMENT RATE FOR MOST ETHIC GROUPS INCLUDING BLACKS
    6 REDUCED THE UNEMPLOYMENT RATE

AND DID ALL THESE THINGS DESPITE OPPOSITION FROM WITHOUT AND WITHIN

44. So according to the learned Dr GP, island scholar, ad medical power point specialist….
    Imitation is the most sincere form of mockery…?
    Ok
    Murduh…!!!

45. Somebody hangs out at Breitbart

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Lawson December 13, 2018 9:42 AM
    “Yes a hammer is really high tech. About your nose can you go find the sewage block so the island can have their travel warnings lifted.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We must admit you do you have a massively wicked but serious sense of ‘dry’ humour.

It is said that ‘Pigs’ too do have a rather heightened sense of smell.
    You ought to change your vocation from fighting imaginary fires to rearing the porcine equivalent to Donna to hire out to the BWA and take away the business from the overbilling Inotech.

Why not set up your sties in Worthing to make up for the fall off in the tourism business?

The only problem is that poor ‘colour-blind’ Donna would be unable to distinguish the difference between you, the dirty Harry Calihan, and your porcine stocks; not even with her oversensitive proboscis.

47. I would much rather be a cadaver dog than a human parasite like Trump and the Trumpettes. Dogs are my absolute favourite creatures.

Mueller has a nose of a different kind. He does not need me. You’ll see.

GP, You really need to check your sources.

But if your ignorance is bliss then enjoy!

Relax and enjoy the show! The grand finale is going to be spectacular!

48. Donna

Your sense of smell seems to us as a sign of the Goddess, to be so worshipped.