Prime Minister Theresa May suffered an embarrassing defeat to her BREXIT package in parliament yesterday and will likely face a no Confidence motion later today. If she survives the no confidence motion she will have 70 days before the default clause kicks in to boot the UK from the EU.

What are her options? There is the obvious which is to ask for a delay. Another referendum seems silly. What is ominous for the Tories is that the business sector has separated itself from government’s position.

Across the globe there is a common trend; chaos – the inability of the political class to form partnerships, build coalitions to practice conflict resolutions to arrive at compromise positions.

David, blogmaster

It would require a Water Diviner, a top Senegalese Marabout, an Obeah woman from Benin and a Bajan Bushman, acting in unison, for Theresa Mary May to avoid her fate after the Brexit Deal is voted-down, on Tuesday, in the House of ‘Commons’.

We witnessed firsthand, on June 23, 2016, the British peoples in their majority voting to leave the European Union (EU) – approximately 52% to 48%. The referendum, promised by David Cameron, was a response to the overarching and historic dictatorial tendencies emanating from Brussels but also represented a reassertion of Whiteness and innate neo-fascist tendencies. It has now set a series of processes in place the enormity of which are having the unforeseen consequences few could have imagined.

And, we must admit, that the politics are very difficult on all sides. The main actors are the European Union (EU), the Conservative Party and their coalition partner, (the DUP) and the main opposition Labour Party.

May is facing all manner of rebellion within her ranks. The Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) a far-right, terrorist fringe has called for her resignation. In addition, she faces nay-votes from up to 100 of her own conservative colleagues. These include a number of pretenders to the primeministership – Jacob Rees-Mogg, Boris Johnson, el al.

Not even the last-minute suggestion of a second referendum as part of her proposals to parliament is likely to be sufficient to galvanize enough support from a difficult coalition of conservatives, the DUP, the Blairist labour MPs, and others, to save May’s Brexit Deal. These suggest a most likely ‘Brexit without a deal’, given the calendar and assuming all other political forces ‘remain’ equal, no pun intended.

The man who could be British prime minister by Christmas, Jeremy Corbyn, also has long-running discord within the ranks of the Labour Party with Tony Blair loyalists and ‘EU remainers’ like Chuka Umunna continuing to provide Corbyn with all manner of contrived hurdles include the accusation that Corbyn was an anti-Semite. What a canard!

The EU for its part faces growing geopolitical and internal crises which together may suggest its beginning of the end. However, its outward determination presents a stalwartness aimed at keeping the troops (other EU countries) in line by shooting a general, the UK, in a public place. They, the EU, are unyielding. Suggesting that no other Brexit deal than that already negotiated with Theresa May will be possible after a no-vote in the ‘Commons’, as a further constraint to popular perceptions about sovereignty.

Of course, the sub-plots are the issues relating to Scotland, the re-unification of Ireland, the rekindling of relationships with former colonial possessions, international trading arrangements with major countries etc. All of these are casting uncertainty about the future for both ‘little’ and ‘big’ England. Even in May’s Brexit Deal issues pertaining to the Customs Union, borders, nationality and others ‘remain’ unclear.

We present three (3) possible scenarios that are likely to end this crisis in the short term, though politics pretends to be about making the impossible, possible, some say. These are all predicated on the assumption that Theresa May will be defeated in the House of ‘Commons’ tomorrow.

First, that a general election will be called and that Labour will win but that Corbyn would continue to find Brexiting a difficult proposition. This explains his well-known tactic of neither fully supporting nor fully opposing Brexit in principle.

Second, that the coalition led by May will force her resignation and that one of the pretenders mentioned earlier will assume its leadership. In these circumstances, we see no overt determination to leave the EU if staying remains slightest possibility. This will be a win for Brussels.

Third, and this is the most unlikely scenario, that a radical transplantation occurs in British politics. With this, we ‘may’ see Blairist forces within Labour join with EU ‘remainers’ in the Conservative Party and others to form a new ruling bloc.

As the political undertakers plane the wood for May’s coffin the leading pallbearers, on all sides, are marshalling their forces to be the first at body. Still, it remains uncertain who will get to control the carcass, and what it will mean to be British for the peoples of these islands in the North Atlantic.

508 responses to “The Rise And Fall of Brexit”

1. There were some very good senior police officers, Kenneth Murphy, Bourne, Mervyn (forgot his last name) and then we were inflicted with a cretin like Dottin.

2. If you DON’T CARE STOP SHOUTING!!

3. 45gove

Listen! I sealed with the Holy Spirit until the Day of Redemption … so nothing else really matters at this point in my brother …

4. I doubt you are a candidate for redemption, but keep faith with your fairytale.

5. 45govt

I knew quite a few of them … but one of meanest Assistant Commissioner of Police I’ve met as child was a blue black man called Butter Soup … mean …mean …this is back in the 1970s …

6. I am talking 60s & 70s. Never heard if butter soup though. Mind you, I was grown up then and quite well connected within the Force when it was respected.

7. 545govt

Listen! Three years age God gave me glimpse of Heaven … He took me from my car one morning at work …. and took me into the heavens … up in the heaven I retained my awareness as I started to look down at the earth … but my sense of gravity was gone … and I felt at one with the universe …it was a feeling of complete tranquility… brother I know God is real …

8. 45govt

So you ought to know two haft white police men Gaye and Griffith from St.lucy? Griffith was in charged of the Mounted Branch back in the 1970s and early 80s …Gaye was the commandant at the training school back in the early 80s …

9. 45govt

Gaye run off with the training school money in the 80s … but was since allowed back in Barbados to live out the remainder of his time here on earth …

10. Sorry, after my time.

11. 45govt
    The former Director of Royal Barbados Police Band Prince Cave is bigot just like you …. though he is haft white … but he wanted a certain shad of people to join the band back in the day … light skinned …

12. 45govt

How you mean after your time… these men joined the force in the 1950s and 60s …what time you left Barbados …1940s

13. Still not addressing the vexing matter of the pale skin globetrotting vampires, I see. They have sucked the life out of everything and everyone and now they complain if forced to give back a smear of blood.

This is the world that the pale skins have made. They should rejoice and be glad in it.

By the way, you people did not just occupy seats in the legislature of African countries,. You invaded and occupied the whole continent. And you made Africans second class citizens ON THEIR OWN LANDS. Haven’t you ever heard of colonisation?

P.S. We black people have worked for you for hundreds of years without pay. Time for us to put our feet up and let you work for us if we can manage it.

Also, the Windrush generation who worked their black asses off when you needed them and paid into the coffers of the National Health Service and the treasury were recently rewarded by evictions, firings, refusal of health services to which they had contributed and DEPORTATION.

We can read. We are not Trumpian jackasses.

14. You said 70s and 80s. I was no longer there in the 80s, and what TF would I have an interest in the band for.?
    Bigot yourself you moron.

15. Donna, take your sorry black ass to bed. You are a bore, and an iggorant one.

16. @ Vincent

Once more you have made a bold claim and fail to follow u. What did Bustamante do in 1962, over and above the break-up of the Federation?

17. I am not at all sorry that my ass is black. It still looks good after more than half a century. And yours?????

Ha, ha, ha!!!!

18. @ Donna

Be careful, for you may overly excite

19. “Be careful, for you may overly excite”

Yeah, right!! ROTFLMAO.

20. The pale skins, correction the blotchy speckled skins, have always admired our smooth-skinned black asses, haven’t they? If not for that my ass would probably be even blacker!

Ha,ha, ha!!!

21. But enough of that. What about Brexit?

22. Brown sugar!

23. Oh,oh! Why does it do that?

24. and

25. A no confidence vote has been triggered against May.

26. We have had no confidence in the mendacious horror since she failed dismally as Home Sec. To think that Komrade Korbin is lining up Abacus Abbott for that role – you have to laugh.

27. THIS MAY AMUSE BU’S READERSHIP, IF THEY CAN GET PAST WHO POSTED IT – ON TOPIC TOO..

https://youtu.be/1qchHZd4SVk

B’stard caps lock.

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

So Mr Blogmaster is the “no confidence” motion the start of a sinking UK govt parliamentary ship!

The author above gave various options but at day’s end what do the Brits parliamentary leaders really foresee when May is decimated?

This entire Brexit issue is a great exercise in the utter inability to GOVERN practicality by mass appeal…the electorate vote to direct their leaders yes…but leadership is also about then transforming that direction into solid results…

But that’s perhaps to theoretical because …in another era it’s conceivable that this interminable fracas could have led to a civil war!

What a freaking conniption is this mess….the great UK of whose extended kingdom the boast was that “the sun never set” seems to be turning off that eternal sun.

29. Can one get past the scent of A ROTTING FISH???? A rotting fish stinks to show humans that it is not good for our consumption.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ 45govt December 12, 2018 7:12 AM

Glad to see the British wicked (but subtle) sense of humour, sexual innuendo and all, has rubbed off on you, 45govt.

Do you think poor Corbyn is nothing but a ‘black-cat’ eater or would he shag with his ‘loose lips’ any pussycat of any colour provided it is ‘pink’?

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler December 12, 2018 7:32 AM
    “What a freaking conniption is this mess….the great UK of whose extended kingdom the boast was that “the sun never set” seems to be turning off that eternal sun.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Sun set (sat) on the British Empire a long time ago.

(Great) Britain no longer has anything to offer the world other than well-maintained monuments to her past glory.

If Britain implements ‘Brexit’ without a ‘profitable’ trade deal what (otherwise) can she sell to her former colonies which made up the British Empire to make up for the fall off in business?

Goods made in China and imported from other South Eastern Asian countries but distributed under disappearing English brand names like Marks & Sparks, Debenhams and Primark?

(Great) Britain like many others before her –like Egypt, Babylon, Greece, Rome, Constantinople or even Timbuktu or Japan the Land of the rising Sun- has had her day in the Sun. So too has Little England called Barbodoes!

“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the [SUN].”

32. The Miller

They are fixing to be the banker to China. China now needs trillions to construct the Belt and Road project covering all of Eurasian and more. For China, this is its coming party in its quest for global leadership.

The same role they played as baby sitter to America, they are now peddling to the Chinese. What a world!

The British are better at creating fiat money than anybody else. We think that is the grand design. Then they have their lodges and other dark arts to bring to book.

33. This is the hidden logic behind Brexit.

34. What we are saying is that the British spent most of the 20th century fighting a Great Game for control of Eurasia with their ‘special friends’ in America. And now that the Chinese have won or are winning that game the British are Brexiting to switch sides.

In international affairs there are no friends or ‘special relationships’ only interests.

35. Miller – Korbin is clearly the shag the crack of dawn kinda guy, three-baggers welcome.

36. “the British are Brexiting to switch sides.”

Drivel alert.

37. 45gov

You said that the dup was not a far right party, and had to be corrected

We’ll have to see, if our judgement is right, what a perennial cunt like you will then say.
    You see the problem with your ilk is that you have no ability to see the future unless yuh talking shiiiite bout a white man’s nonexistent heaven

38. @Pacha

A comment on the farce that unfolded in the Oval Office yesterday? Pence silent as a lamb through it all? There is always a place for bombast?

39. @Catchyamama – “You said that the dup was not a far right party, and had to be corrected” No it isn’t – it is just scum like you are far Left.

You, sir/madam, are a haemorrhoid, a thing of no use, unlike the epithet you used with me and insulting the bloghost to boot with your petulant and puerile language. You are a laughing stock.

40. David

Always found deputies to be a certain kind of creature.

The idiocy we saw is just another example of the further degeneration of empire and white rulership of the world.

The empire has fallen and like rats people are seeking to bail.

41. “Failure of white rulership” !!
    What a cretinous claim, never mind the pidgin English. No doubt all Catchyamama’s relatives in his ancestral homelands have something to teach us on that front. Some examples would be good. Put up or shut up el cretino.

42. David
    December 12, 2018 11:03 AM

@Pacha
    A comment on the farce that unfolded in the Oval Office yesterday? Pence silent as a lamb through it all? There is always a place for bombast?

By the time Chuck and Nancy figured out they had been setup it was too late!!

Here is a reading of the body language!!

These idiots do not understand how smart Trump is and can’t deal with him!!

The thing is Trump has done this to them already!!

43. John, if Pelousy had an extra brain she still couldn’t qualify as a halfwit.

44. The fixer get 3 years.

#birdsofafeather

45. David
    December 12, 2018 6:31 PM

The fixer get 3 years.
    #birdsofafeather

++++++++++++++++++

Do you realise that the United States Congress has a $17 million slush fund to pay off women (men too I guess) who bring accusations against members of that august house?

Did you know 260 odd members of congress have availed themselves of the slush fund to fix their various matters?

Trump used his own personal funds, the 260 odd members of congress used taxpayers’ funds!!

It is pure comedy to watch the convolutions these idiots will go through to nail Trump.

The problem is Trump is way above their intellect!!

https://edition.cnn.com/2017/11/16/politics/settlements-congress-sexual-harassment/index.html

46. Chuck and Nancy are a level below the President of the US.

The president can at any time summon them to the White House to meet and negotiate any matter related to the business of the country!!

They can’t refuse.

If Trump chooses to make everything transparent and have the press present that’s his prerogative, he is the boss.

The press would have to refuse to turn up to prevent Chuck and Nancy being embarrassed which is not going to happen!!

The problem these two clowns have is they are both dishonest and cannot operate in the open.

Trump has their number and he can dial it any time he wants!!

47. John

And Trump is trying to undermine the only job in America that is guaranteed by the Constitution … (the right of the PRESS) Congress shall make no law respecting an establishmentof religion … or prohibiting the free exercise thereof or abridging the freedom speech …. or of the PRESS …the only job in America that is guaranteed by the American Constitution …

48. John

The only real power Trump has is the veto and the influence of his office … either than that … his executive orders and proclamations must go through the Congress for approval…

49. ..Lexicon
    December 12, 2018 7:59 PM

John
    And Trump is trying to undermine the only job in America that is guaranteed by the Constitution … (the right of the PRESS) Congress shall make no law respecting an establishmentof religion … or prohibiting the free exercise thereof or abridging the freedom speech …. or of the PRESS …the only job in America that is guaranteed by the American Constitution …

Amendment I. Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.

Trump has freedom of speech too … guaranteed him by the same constitution …. just like the press … and Chuck and Nancy!!

That’s the problem Chuck and Nancy face, he will respond as he sees fit and they don’t know how to react to his responses!!

He or anyone else is at liberty to name any segment of the press fake once they have the evidence to back up the claim.

Many sections of the press get it wrong, as is their right.

Another name for “fake news” is “the drive by media”, coined by Rush Limbaugh, himself a member of the press!!

He is free to name any section of the press as he pleases!!