Is collusion a crime? Since the beginning of special counsel Robert Mueller’s investigation, allegations of “collusion” have dominated the debate. President Trump regularly claims there was “no collusion” with the Russians seeking to influence the 2016 presidential election. His attorneys and other supporters also have repeatedly argued that even if collusion took place, that would not be criminal. But last week, in a case brought by Mueller, a federal judge upheld the legal theory under which “collusion” may indeed be a crime.

I’m not sure how the term “collusion” became so central to discussions of the Mueller investigation. It really should be banned altogether. (I know, I know — this from the guy who just wrote a blog post with “collusion” in the title, right? But hey, I can’t unilaterally disarm.) All it does is breed confusion and lead to diversionary arguments about whether collusion is criminal.

It’s true there is no criminal statute titled “collusion.” But as I’ve noted in several places (here and here, for example) the relevant crime is conspiracy under 18 U.S.C. 371. Collusion refers to an agreement with others to achieve some improper end. In criminal law, we call that a conspiracy – a partnership in crime. And the breadth of the federal conspiracy statute makes it particularly well-suited for cases like Mueller’s probe of Russian interference with the election.

Read full textCOLLUSION / MUELLER INVESTIGATION

467 responses to “Collusion a Crime – Judge in Mueller Case Upholds Legal Theory”

1. GP
    Countries have hypersonic weapons which can circumnavigate the globe in about an hour and you still taking shiiiite about armies doing continental marches because a book of lies says so. All types of tech, ai, drones, robotic soldiers, etc
    All dem scholarships and no sense, courage to think for self.

2. I don’t like most of Michael Steele’s political views or tactics but I do like the truth. I can no more deny his success as RNC chairman than I can deny that Trump won the election.

Facts are facts. These are NUMBERS for Chrissake! They CANNOT BE REFUTED!

3. The 2010 midterm elections were successful BECAUSE OF THE ACTIVITY OF THE TEA PARTY- NOT STEELE.
    SO IF HE SO HOT WHERE IS HE NOW?
    WHAT IS HE NOW ?
    HOW SUCCESSFUL WAS HE IN THE 2012 ELECTIONS?

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Dean J, LOL 😂😂 re “John, Thanks for the reductio ad absurdum. Go to the head of the class. There may be another collusion here on BU, don;t you think?”.

You sir as an alumnus of that hallowed place and a very scholarly professional yourself can excoriate your school brother accordingly…we illiterates were told recently not to question our incumbent scholars…so I merely could look on in bafflement at what I thought was Latin gibberish…😂 but in plain English…glad you translated it back to the old language… I actually understood you better …oh lordie…LOLL!

@ Sargeant, he pretends not to understand the role of the IRS… I woukd be absolutely SHOCKED beyond comprehension if ANY Bajan scholar in the sciences and maths could be so absolutely inanely mentally lazy to really believe what he wrote…

…as was CLEARLY SHOWN BY THE NY Times expose of Fred Trump’s taxes you can create very legitimate looking tax records that WILL pass an IRS review or maybe even a more thorough audit examination but when other investigators are examining avenues and paths not considered by the IRS then serious criminality may yet be uncovered.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

THIS … from a piece from a Republican leaning lawyer

Does this mean Republicans should now feel free to engage in the same willful blindness and hypocrisy that the Democrats exhibited during the Clinton investigation? Of course not. If Trump lies under oath or suborns perjury by others, the president should be impeached, no question. There can be no exceptions for a nation committed to the rule of law, even if the most powerful politicians are exceptionally gifted at inventing them

In the essay the author lambasted the devious Clinton and brought attention to the fact that Clinton directed Lewinsky (based on a recent interview) to LIE to the then spec counsel…THAT IS A CRIME…and it goes back to the obstruction of justice matter Dr Lucas opined on above.

The kicker is that back then ALL the Dems who now want to ‘scalp this POTUS were ACTING EXACTLY as these current Repubs to DEFEND and SHIELD Clinton.

…But Clinton did the crime (he was not prosecuted for that specific Lewinsky crime of course) and he was impeached because the Spec Counsellor/Repubs proved that he was an untruthful fellow… do republicans actually believe they can WIN this one and protect THEIR untruthful fellow now…NOPE..I don’t think so.

What goes around…comes around!

As the article shows the uncanny nexus of these two conniptions is pure political dynamite!

https://thehill.com/opinion/white-house/418237-lewinsky-interview-renews-questions-of-clinton-crimes?amp

6. GP
    You ent got no shame doh.You say you went to harsun and evabody that is somebody cutting ur azz everyday pun BU.Time dat you tek stock my man and recognize the truth.Oh u waiting fuh “de rapture” like Jim Jones and the 900 fools that tek de potion ent!

7. Pachamama
    November 26, 2018 8:27 PM

Countries have hypersonic weapons which can circumnavigate the globe in about an hour and you still taking shiiiite about armies doing continental marches because a book of lies says so. All types of tech, ai, drones, robotic soldiers, etc
    All dem scholarships and no sense, courage to think for self.

No point rendering your opponent’s lands a nuclear desert if you have the forces to march in and take over and you don’t care about the individual lives of your soldiers or those of your enemy’s.

The Russians did not care about their manpower losses in WWII so long as they killed Germans and the Germans just wanted to exterminate them.

Slaughter.

8. @Donna

Despite any success that Steele had as Republican Chair he was never really accepted into the fold, they elected him as a reaction to Obama’s success, it was their way of saying “look at us we have a black leader too”, and they jettisoned him at the first opportunity in favour of Reince Priebus.

This is what Mia Love (Black Republican who Trump famously said “No Love Bye Mia” in the aftermath of the election which she eventually lost)) said of her Party.

“This election experience and these comments shines a spotlight on the problems Washington politicians have with minorities and black Americans — it’s transactional, it’s not personal,” she said.
    She added, “You see, we feel like politicians claim they know what’s best for us from a safe distance, yet they’re never willing to take us home. Because Republicans never take minority communities into their home and citizens into their homes and into their hearts, they stay with Democrats and bureaucrats in Washington because they do take them home — or at least make them feel like they have a home.
    ++++++++
    It will be a long time before Black people find a home in this Republican Party, they will always be on the outside looking in.

9. It will be a long time before Black people find a home in this Republican Party, they will always be on the outside looking in.

The Republican Party was the party of the slaves/ex slaves …. from Lincoln to FDR.

They switched allegiance to the Democrats when the New Deal and FDR appeared.

No party provides a permanent home but given what we are seeing now, many African Americans are returning to the Republican fold.

10. GP
    You ent got no shame doh.
    WHAT SHAME WHT SHOULD I HAVE SHAME AMONGST SCUM LIKE YOU?

You say you went to harsun
    I ACTUALLY WENT FOR 8 YEARS
    and evabody that is somebody cutting ur azz everyday pun BU.
    WHO IS DE SOMEBODIES PUN BU THAT MATTER ON BU ? YOU ?

Time dat you tek stock my man and recognize the truth.WHAT TRUTH? THAT I CAN MOCK AND OFFEND YOU AND MANY HEY WID OUT RAISING A SWEAT?

Oh u waiting fuh “de rapture” like Jim Jones and the 900 fools that tek de potion ent!
    JIM JONES AND HIS CULT WERE NOY WAITING FOR THE RAPTURE

BUT I AM PATIENTLY WAITING AND I WILL MOCK THE BU SCUM UNTIL IT OCCURS AS LONG AS I CAN

YOU MOCK AT ME AND I WILL MOCK YOU
    I HAVE THE TIME

11. RE Despite any success that Steele had as Republican Chair he was never really accepted into the fold, they elected him as a reaction to Obama’s success, it was their way of saying “look at us we have a black leader too”, and they jettisoned him at the first opportunity in favour of Reince Priebus.

IS THAT WHY THE POOR LIKKLE BLACK BOY CUSSING THE PRESIDENT NOW BOUT CITCUIT BREAKERS BECAUSE THE REPUBLICANS BREAK HIS CIRCUIT AND DEMOTED HIS LIKKLE BLACK DONKEY? POOR FELLOW WHAT A TING NEH

DONALD DONT KNOW NUTTIN WUNNAH SAY BUT HE IS POTUS AND HE HAS SURPRISED WUNNAH DESPITE THE ODDS

THE BLACK BOY FROM KENYA DAT WUNNAH WORSHIP ACHIEVED NOTHING,,,AND EVEN DAT HAS BEEN ERASED JUST AS THE SUN MELTS ICE…AH LIE?

I GOING HEY AND TEK SOME STOCK BOSIE
    GOD SPARE LIFE I WILL MOCK AGAIN TOMORROW

12. The name this morning is Hyde-Smith!

13. And old racist hunchback with ugly dentures, not even worth looking at.

14. At the time of FDR African Americans switched allegiance from the Republican Party (which freed them) to the Democrat Party (which enslaved and lynched them) based simply on economic realities.

Why would they not be similarly inclined today with the Trump economy offering them real opportunities?

Look what happened in Florida and Georgia with African American support for the Republican Party!!

15. Everyone is laughing at president DUNCE this morning.

“Ford is having a bad year in 2018. Its stock is down 29%, and the tariffs imposed by President Trump have reportedly cost the company $1 billion, as the company is in the midst of a reorganization. Now, the company is announcing layoffs.

Jim Hackett, Ford’s CEO, is working to engineer a $25.5 billion restructuring of the automaker, hoping to cut costs and remain competitive, the Wall Street Journal reports. But auto sales are down, and one reason is the trade tariffs that Trump has imposed on metals and other goods. According to Bloomberg, Hackett has said they have already cost the company $1 billion in profit and could do “more damage” if the disputes aren’t resolved quickly.”

16. The Johnny, the unworthy

”””””””””The Russians did not care about their manpower losses in WWII so long as they killed Germans and the Germans just wanted to exterminate them.
    Slaughter.”””””””’

What stupidity! The USSR gave nearly 30 million, deploying conventional warfare, to defend their republics from a fascist regime paid for by your American oligarchs like Henry Ford, the precursor of your Donald Trump.

It was the USSR which made that monumental sacrifice alone, while the Americans gave Hitler free reign to bomb London to smithereens, invade everywhere else.

It was only in late 1942, early 1943, that your friends, the Americans, entered the war. Before that they pretended to be ‘neutral’ but was covertly supporting Hitler. You should learn the histories before talking shiiiiite.

All conventional war were fought that way. In any event a people have the duty to defend their lands by any means necessary. But you obviously know no such honour.

What we will face in WW3 is not a conventional war but unconventional warfare. We hope you understand the difference.

An unconventional that would include those forms we mentioned previously buy also cyber, nuclear, space, biological and information warfare.

17. RE What we will face in WW3 is not a conventional war but unconventional warfare.

YES INDEED IT WILL BE MOST UNCONVENTIONAL
    ONE MAN WILL SPEAK AND DESTROY THE ENEMY AND THEY WILL BE BURY THE DEAD FOR WEEKS
    THE BLOOD WILL BE UP TO THE HORSES BRIDDLES

18. The harsun nincompoop talking about horses in an age of guided missiles,pilotless aeroplanes and drones inter alia.

19. That is why it is so essential that CARIBBEAN PEOPLE…be on their guard 24/7/365 going forward, because many of their leaders are such useless shites who don’t know the true history and are too blinded by corruption to see anything presently coming at their people with full speed….which has the potential to upend their ives, reverse the little bit of human rights that most people never even knew they had and immerse them in a helpless cycle of poverty so they can be exploited.

“It was the USSR which made that monumental sacrifice alone, while the Americans gave Hitler free reign to bomb London to smithereens, invade everywhere else.

It was only in late 1942, early 1943, that your friends, the Americans, entered the war. Before that they pretended to be ‘neutral’ but was covertly supporting Hitler. You should learn the histories before talking shiiiiite.”

20. The harsun nincompoop talking about horses in an age of guided missiles,pilotless aeroplanes and drones inter alia.

GABRIEL AFTER SPENDING YOUR LIFE IN DE ANGLICAN CHURCH AT ST MARY’S OR WHEREVER YOU ARE STILL IGNORANT OR IGNORE THE TRUTH OF THE WORD IF YOU WERE EVEN EXPOSED TO ANYTHING MORE THAN HOMILIES ON THE WEEKLY COLLECT EPISTLE AND GOSPEL

ALL OF THE OLD AND NEW TESTAMENT PROPHECIES HAVE BEEN FULFILLED EXACTLY AS WRITTEN EXCEPT FOR
    1- THE TOTAL DESTRUCTION OF DAMASCUS
    2- THE PROPHESIES ABOUT THE SECOND PHASE OF THE SECOND COMING

ALL SERIOUS, SANE, SOLID STUDENTS OF THE SCRIPTURES REASONABLY EXPECT THAT THESE PROPHESIES WILL ALSO BE FULFILLED EXACTLY AS WRITTEN

ALL SERIOUS, SANE, SOLID STUDENTS OF THE SCRIPTURES KNOW………BECAUSE THEY BELIEVE! READ ABOUT THIS IN 1 JOHN 5

ALL SERIOUS, SANE, SOLID STUDENTS OF THE SCRIPTURES KNOW. THAT WHEREAS WE LIVE in an age of guided missiles,pilotless aeroplanes and drones inter alia THAT 2 PETER 3 TEACHES CLEARLY THAT ONE MAY HAVE THE POWER…BUT POWER WITHOUT PERMISSION IS WORTYLESS….IT IS OF NO AVAIL.

WHEN YOU DONT KNOW OR UNDERSTAND YOU STUDY OR ASK THOSE WHO HAVE STUDIED TO POINT YOU TO THE ANSWERS IN THE SCRIPTURES

YOU DONT LISTEN TO AGNOSTICS AND ATHEISTS

21. Today I laugh!

https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/trump-looks-like-elvis_us_5bfc8491e4b03b230fa60bc3

Oh no! Even I had to admit that a young Elvis was dishy.

This one is dedicated to the Donald and Co.

22. That is why it is so essential that CARIBBEAN PEOPLE…be on their guard 24/7/365 going forward,

What do we do in a leap year?

23. GP
    You should know by now that I don’t read your garbage.You are hopeless,a waste.

24. The USSR gave nearly 30 million, deploying conventional warfare, to defend their republics from a fascist regime paid for by your American oligarchs like Henry Ford, the precursor of your Donald Trump.

If you read your history you will find that America and Britain supported Stalin!!!!

Lend lease!!

Churchill said If Hitler invaded hell I would make at least a favourable reference to the devil in the House of Commons.

Read more at: https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/winston_churchill_111298

You even got the year America entered the war wrong!!

25. Gabriel November 27, 2018 11:14 AM

You should know by now that I don’t read your garbage.

POOR LIKKLE ANGEL GABRIEL THE DUMMY
    SOME DO READ WHAT I WRITE AND SOME LEARN WHEN THEY DO TOO

26. “What do we do in a leap year?”

You LEAP so you do not end up as INDENTURED SERVANTS…again..

Ah hope ya don’t have some fancy fantasy in ya head that you are somehow safe because you spew so much rubbish…no one is safe, no one.

27. And for those dudes who think women are weak, well, don’t try this at home….lol

https://www.facebook.com/stephen.twumasi.376/videos/2233294273662673/?t=0

28. WARU.

That one’s been playing in my head from this morning when David mentioned the Hyde Smith scum. You beat me to it.

29. lol….Hyde the Hunchback is going to be walloped on social media..

30. @ WARU
    And for those dudes who think women are weak, well, don’t try this at home
    Any ‘dude’ who thinks that women are weak is asleep…

Women have the uncanny ability to destroy ANY shiite
    … no matter how well it was put together.
    That requires a kind of strength that borders on the supernatural…

Unless kept focused by a SENSIBLE man (with an appropriately sized whacker),
    women naturally tend to do bare shiite….
    Nothing to do with ‘weakness’
    It is just a design feature.

In Barbados and other jurisdictions where men are mostly brass bowls,
    women have been having a BALL in recent years…
    mashing up every shiite…

Bushie just calls it as it is…
    Wunna go long….

31. Here is one woman who just destroyed her opponent

56 to 44

32. Understand African Americans make up 40% of the electorate.

Looks like a whole lot of Uncle Toms live in Mississipi

33. John celebrates as another racist wins in Mississippi, what’s new?

34. Racist..racist ..racist ya keep going to the well too often, like the boy who cried wolf you have beaten that word to death. It has become meaningless.
    on another note “behind every successful man is a woman telling him he is wrong”

35. @lawson and John

Do you deny that Mississippi has always been a racially polarized state,the most racially polarized in America located in deep South? It comes as no surprise that Espy will not ‘fit in’. Hyde-Smith will fit in however, even on the front row at a lynching.

36. David
    November 28, 2018 3:21 AM

@lawson and John
    Do you deny that Mississippi has always been a racially polarized state,the most racially polarized in America located in deep South? It comes as no surprise that Espy will not ‘fit in’. Hyde-Smith will fit in however, even on the front row at a lynching.

I agree the Democrats have historically done Dixie in Mississipi … and other states in America.

I agree Mississippi has not voted Democratic since 1976 when it supported Jimmy Carter.

I agree that “from the time Mississippi joined the Union in 1817 until the end of World War II, the Democrats won the state’s presidential electoral votes in every election except two. … This Democratic solidarity lasted almost three quarters of a century, from 1876 to 1944.”

I agree Mississipi is one of the poorest states in the US.

Now one question for you to answer!!

What percentage of African Americans in Mississipi supported Hyde-Smith?

My bet is the row over the comment Hyde-Smith made was probably created to disguise Mississippi’s dark Democrat past!!

… extreme sensitivity on the Democrat’s part!!

It seems to achieved it’s end with many of the weaker vessels …. as Fanny would have say!!

37. oops, said!!

38. Hyde the Hunchback with bad dentures will be a laughing stock on social media for years to come.

Uhhh…I love my Yoruba ancestry..

https://face2faceafrica.com/article/how-the-yoruba-people-celebrated-mothers-centuries-ago

39. “Unless kept focused by a SENSIBLE man (with an appropriately sized whacker),
    women naturally tend to do bare shiite….
    Nothing to do with ‘weakness’
    It is just a design feature.”

really Bushman???…don’t worry Simple and Donna will be by later..

40. @John

For the last time, you yo agree that Mississippi is one of the most politically and racially polarized state in the USA?

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John, when I first read ur BU historical posts I thought there was a clarity and depth of research…but since ur repeated dishonest and dissembling posts on US political history (like above) it has become clear that you are NOT the dispassionate, clear thinking sleuth you make yourself to appear!

1.what does the 40% of electorate and ‘uncle tom’ remark intend to suggest other than gross dissembling!

I have NOT checked the metrics but it’s inconceivable that your veiled suggestion that 4 of 10 Blacks voted for Hyde Smith is accurate. That can’t make sense because I recall another metric which gave Espy a 91% of the Black vote in the earlier vote ….. Why do u do this crappy twisty-news so relentlessly..to prove WHAT ! SMH…Why do you have to frame your opinions with distorted facts and sometimes complete absurdity!

Our esteemed Dean accused u of just that a few days ago, when he said: reductio ad absurdum.

2.it is ABSURD …utterly so…to demean the racist past of the Democratic party pre-post the US civil war all the way to the 1960s Civil Rights and related Act of Congress and to highlight the Republican party of Lincoln of the same period WITHOUT IN TURN NOT DEMEANING the Repubs of today on that SAME racist platform.

Are you HONEST enough to even UNDERSTAND that your trope BLUNTLY paints the current republicans EXACTLY as you demean the past democrats….dont you bloodly well get it that Blacks swelled the ranks of Lincoln’s party because they felt ‘safer’ from racists and that the EXACT OPPOSITE started to take place post the turbulent 1960s….now it’s the republicans who Blacks saw as racists badwords….SMH.

…and you call yourself a HISTORIAN and not a TWISTORIAN ..steeupse!

42. David
    November 28, 2018 6:34 AM

For the last time, you yo agree that Mississippi is one of the most politically and racially polarized state in the USA?

That was not the question you asked me!!

Espy will not fit in because Espy’s colour and not his ability is being used by the Democrat Party.

I would suggest Mississippi as a whole is not racist.

It does not vote on skin colour but merit.

Espy’s past must be known to the voters.

I admit I don’t know enough to say if the vote for Hyde-Smith was a vote against Espy or a vote for Republicans.

A 56/44 outcome would clearly suggest the state is Republican.

The state isn’t hanging on a knife edge politically so it can’t be politically polarized!!

It’s voting history over the past several decades is pretty predictable, not 50/50.

Clearly it once was Democrat and switched after the Civil Rights era.

I don’t know why, perhaps African Americans in Mississippi figured out the Democrats were not their friends!!

You are being duped by the media and need to research this dispassionately and in an unbiassed manner!!

What would be interesting to see is the percentage of African Americans who have supported the Republican party over time.

Was there a change after the Civil Rights era … I don’t know.

Perhaps the Russians hacked this election too!!

43. I have NOT checked the metrics but it’s inconceivable that your veiled suggestion that 4 of 10 Blacks voted for Hyde Smith is accurate.

I did not say that nor imply that!!

Clearly it is possible to get 56% of the electorate that is not black if only 40% of the electorate is black.

What I find amazing is the post civil rights era switch.

If the Democrat Party was winning pre Civil Rights era and as is suggested blacks supported the Democrats, then it is entirely logical to assume that blacks became republican from the 70’s onwards.

Were the Russians hacking the elections back then?

I am sure there is a simple explanation!!

44. Blacks swelled the ranks of Lincoln’s party because they felt ‘safer’ from racists and that the EXACT OPPOSITE started to take place post the turbulent 1960s

+++++++++++++++++++

It seems the opposite happened in Mississipi!!

45. …and you call yourself a HISTORIAN and not a TWISTORIAN ..steeupse!

History is a hobby because I recognize Twistory also exists!!

46. http://www.mshistorynow.mdah.ms.gov/articles/245/mississippi-women-and-the-woman-suffrage-amendment

Interesting article on who was and was not allowed to vote in Mississipi over the years!!

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John, do you SERIOUSLY want anyone who has been reading you and others debating you BU for even just the last six months to believe the dishonest : “Clearly it once was Democrat and switched after the Civil Rights era…
    I don’t know why, perhaps African Americans in Mississippi figured out the Democrats were not their friends!!”

But frankly your follow on sentence said it all, in ‘true alternative fact, upending of reality style’ the man who dissembles with a level of bias that is so subtle yet so powerfully insidious offered with great humility: “You are being duped by the media and need to research this dispassionately and in an unbiassed manner!!”.

Classic PR. 👎

48. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voting_rights_in_the_United_States

The United States Constitution did not originally define who was eligible to vote, allowing each state to determine who was eligible. In the early history of the U.S., most states allowed only white male adult property owners to vote.[2][3][4] Freed slaves could vote in four states.[5] Women were largely prohibited from voting, as were men without property. Women could vote in New Jersey until 1807 (provided they could meet the property requirement) and in some local jurisdictions in other northern states. Non-white Americans could also vote in these jurisdictions, provided they could meet the property requirement. By 1856, white men were allowed to vote in all states regardless of property ownership, although requirements for paying tax remained in five states.[6][7] On the other hand, several states, including Pennsylvania and New Jersey stripped the free black males of the right to vote in the same period.
    Four of the fifteen post-Civil War constitutional amendments were ratified to extend voting rights to different groups of citizens. These extensions state that voting rights cannot be denied or abridged based on the following:
    “Race, color, or previous condition of servitude” (15th Amendment, 1870)
    “On account of sex” (19th Amendment, 1920)
    “By reason of failure to pay any poll tax or other tax” for federal elections (24th Amendment, 1964)[Note 1]
    “Who are eighteen years of age or older, to vote, shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of age” (26th Amendment, 1971)
    Following the Reconstruction Era until the culmination of the Civil Rights Movement, Jim Crow laws such as literacy tests, poll taxes, and religious tests were some of the state and local laws used in various parts of the United States to deny immigrants (including legal ones and newly naturalized citizens), non-white citizens, Native Americans, and any other locally “undesirable” groups from exercising voting rights granted under the constitution.[8] Because of such state and local discriminatory practices, over time, the federal role in elections has increased, through amendments to the Constitution and enacted legislation. These reforms in the 19th and 20th centuries extended the franchise to non-whites, those who do not own property, women, and those 18–21 years old.

49. de pedantic Dribbler
    November 28, 2018 7:24 AM

@John, do you SERIOUSLY want anyone who has been reading you and others debating you BU for even just the last six months to believe the dishonest : “Clearly it once was Democrat and switched after the Civil Rights era…

Go google Mississippi Democrat or Republican and see for yourself!!!

Mississippi switched to Republican after the Civil Rights era!!

This is a fact.