The Right Excellent Robyn Rihanna Fenty

For some who are intrigued by the history from medieval times, revelry and merriment were not without their downsides; there were always social and political costs. When kingdoms drowned in gluttonous feasts (fetes), as we refer to them in modern day, indiscipline and mismanagement were the consequences.

The Second Estate of the Realm – today’s government – became blind to famines, attacks from others, and societal decay. Drunken nobles made poor decisions, distracted by poor advice. A feel good public intoxicated by the merriment was the ‘salve’ deployed to comfort the masses, while the outflow from the treasury (Consolidated Fund) flowed like the river Jordan. There was corruption (white collar especially) which fuelled decadence.

The 2026 Crop Over season was widely reported as a success – by all reports—not least our young de facto Minister of Culture Mr. Shane Archer -it was a success, a good time was had by all. Although there is room to improve. If success was measured by the number of fetes staged, record numbers attending events, yes. By the number of ‘dutty’ lyrics in songs being normalised by our young people, yes. By generating earned media with The Right Excellent Robyn Rihanna Fenty participating in the festival, yes.

A comprehensive review of Crop Over 2026 is to be undertaken in the coming weeks, the culture minister overseeing his first festival said on Tuesday, amid what has been hailed as one of the festival’s strongest editions in recent years. But he acknowledged there was still work to be done to increase participation and ensure the island’s premier cultural celebration continues to evolve – Source: BT

What should be obvious, Crop Over is not a vehicle to nurture and propagate Barbados traditional culture. We are prepared to become immersed in relativism. Even before the post mortem as the Minister has promised is completed, Rudy Maloney, president of the Entertainment Association of Barbados has lamented the lack of venues to facilitate a demand for staging more fetes. Notably, a couple of actors in the festival noted that in the festival that ‘burning Mr. Harding’ was included in activities to add colour and bring historical context to the offering.

Given where we are today, it does not require mental dexterity to imagine what will be the future state of things in Barbados. We have become a people where feting and merriment is a national imperative. For fodder, consider the calypsonian who won the flagship competition, he used a motif about a counterpart, now deceased, from another country. The majority of bands on Kadooment Day could have been mistaken for smaller versions of those parading in Brazil’s carnaval. Foreday Morning resembled Trinidad’s J’ouvert, and so on.

Barbadians so easily assimilate the norms and practices of others. A trip to New York, London and other cities, Jamaican, Haitian, and Trinidadian ‘hangouts’ can be found without effort, a little harder to locate Bajan ‘spots’. Let us exclude Chefette, which was transported to New York recently by the government to support a Bajan hype exercise.

If we accept that Crop Over is a vehicle to boost visitor arrivals and foreign exchange, we are doing good. If we want to expand the mandate by ring fencing our culture and Bajan identity, deepening a wider Barbadian participation- then we must wheel and come again.

14 responses to “Crop Over 2026: Success or Cultural Decline?”

1. Yes, the “festival” is representative of what the country has become.

But what else could have been expected. This was always unavoidable because all other facets of the wider “culture” are going in the same general direction.

Whether political, economic, social, technological, environmental or legal the country has long been in trouble.

Some at times seem to presume that a nation state as a divine right to exist. That has never been the case. However, bread and circuses have long held sway.

Certainly, these states of unwellness may soon be best described as existential. In the mean while more and more creative politicians will continue finding ways for publics to disbelieve our lying eyes.

2. We have a small group of people influencing the country we have become and its continuing trajectory. Politicians cannot and should not be the ones fueling our ‘culture’. A group whose body of work serves a narrow interest.

3. Boss
    The ultimate ‘influencers’ are even narrower than you have identified.

Have you not noted the COMMON thread of;
    – money hunger
    – exercising ‘pow-waa’
    – greed
    – unashamed immorality
    -lack of accountability
    – and ‘don’t-care-ish-ness’?

This is not a new phenomenon, it has been repeated throughout history – and ALWAYS precedes the end of an era for a society.
    What is most interesting is how brass bowls NEVER seem to learn from the past, and always assume that this time will be somehow different…

What a time…!

4. @Bush Tea

It is comfortable to operate with a comfortable mindset. Who likes disruption? Most people avoid‘effort’ in thought.

5. Tourism tourism tourism and nothing but……

https://nationnews.com/2026/08/07/media-blitz-to-raise-barbados-profile/

6. It is good to see a couple social media influencers using their platform to push back against the filth being perpetrated as culture. It seems we have a large segment that believe public morality should be ignored.

7. “Crop Over is a traditional harvest festival which began in Barbados, having had its early beginnings on the sugar cane plantations during slavery.”

There is an interesting Supernatural Sky TV series called ‘Possession’ about inheritance of a plantation estate, slavery, reparations, Obeah.
    It reminded me of all y’all.

8. We have to admire the persistence of these crop over actors, when you listen to them talking heads, we know it is official sentiment. Public opinions being shaped, while others fly a kites.

Talks on to extend Kadooment

DISCUSSIONS TO EXTEND Kadooment into a second day are continuing among stakeholders.

This was revealed by president of the Barbados Association of Masqueraders, Bryan Worrell who, along with president of the Barbados Entertainment Association (BEA) Rudy Maloney, were guests on Brass Tacks Sunday yesterday on the Voice of Barbados.

Worrell was responding to a query from moderator Jamal Slocombe, a Pic O De Crop finalist, on the plans and recommendations for Crop Over 2027.

“We are in the process now of doing our post-mortem internally in the association and then we will move on to having some post-mortem discussions with the NCF (National Cultural Foundation). And then by extension the ministry, to review the things that went well, what didn’t go well,” he said.

“One of the things that has already been on the calendar for us to discuss for a while is our second day, our second jump, to extend the calendar a bit. We have started some more serious conversations about that and we will be putting forward a recommendation this year for how we can execute it for next year. All the bands will then be able to participate from the onset of Crop Over launch to try to put in a second day because there are a number of revellers that still are asking for an extension.”

One of the indicators that a second day could be well received, Worrell said, was the number of patrons who attended the revamped Cohobblopot, held last Tuesday after Grand Kadooment, at the National Botanical Gardens.

“People still had the energy, people still wanted to be out. There were parties all the way down [last] week, all the way down to Friday, that were well patronised and people were still out in large numbers.

We are just looking at those things in terms of the masquerade.” A message from a listener asked when would the second day be to extend the festival and if it would be a public holiday. Worrell said the consideration would be for the Tuesday.

Large national events

“And, obviously, getting a second day with legislation that has to be passed to have a public holiday, you know, that’s a longer way to go about it, which may not happen within a year. We’re going to be looking at some way or form of us having the second day, the Tuesday, if possible; but, again, this is up for discussion.”

Maloney said the BEA was also conducting its Crop Over review, and he pointed to a few areas ripe for improvement.

“So there are outstanding things like we know we need more venues, service providers [and so on] . . . but we always say Crop Over is seasonal, so people have to look to see what they are investing in and how they are going to invest.”

He said any decisions on recommendations would be made after the review.

Meanwhile, Worrell, who is bandleader for Colorz Entertainment, said they were always looking at ways to improve the experience on the road. He commended the Barbados Police Service for the job they did at large national events like Foreday Mornin’ and Grand Kadooment in particular, and the Crop Over Festival on a whole. He was pleased to see new Commissioner of Police Sonia Boyce visible at events.

“The police were present in numbers, in positions that we would have discussed in our meetings, where we would have had some, not trouble spots per se, but areas of concern that we would have wanted to have a little bit more police presence, where overcrowding would happen, people coming into the road.

“I want to say that the job they did this year was excellent. Also on Grand Kadooment Day, once again they were out in numbers along with the Barbados Defence Force and they did a commendable job this year in assisting us in all the plans that we had done, leading into Crop Over 2026.”

The wide-ranging discussion looked back at all aspects of the festival, music – including Bashment Soca and its place in Crop Over – cultural preservation, and costumes and events. (SAT)

9. EDITORIAL

Show Crop Over receipts

CROP OVER HAS ENDED to widespread acclaim, but applause is not an audit. A festival receiving public support deserves more than favourable headlines; it deserves evidence that its investment delivered.

There is little dispute that many flagship events were delivered. Grand Kadooment unfolded peacefully, the return of Cohobblopot was welcomed, vendors reported brisk business and overseas guests loved the experience as they described Crop Over as unforgettable.

In a year marked by public concern over crime, the orderly conclusion was itself a significant achievement.

The National Cultural Foundation (NCF) also deserves recognition for investing in training event professionals and industry stakeholders. Developing a skilled workforce strengthens the festival’s sustainability and Barbados’ reputation as a premier cultural destination.

However, positive headlines and personal testimonials cannot be the only measures of success. Crop Over is a major publicly-supported cultural enterprise and tourism product. Its performance should therefore be assessed against clear, transparent and measurable indicators.

What was the overall budget for Crop Over 2026, and what return did Barbados receive on that investment?

How many NCF-produced events secured full sponsorship, reducing the burden on taxpayers? Pic O De Crop attracted a bumper crowd, but how many complimentary tickets were distributed and what impact did they have on gate receipts? Beyond the major music events, which exhibitions and heritage programmes attracted strong audiences and which struggled?

Those figures would help distinguish genuine public demand from attendance boosted by complimentary access, while showing where programming deserves greater investment.

The public should also know how many overseas journalists and social media influencers were invited, what that initiative cost, who financed it and what measurable media value or visitor interest it generated. What initiatives are ensuring Barbados develops the producers, stage managers, technicians, designers and other professionals needed to deliver a world-class festival? Equally important, what systems capture and analyse feedback from patrons, performers, sponsors, vendors and visitors so future festivals are guided by evidence rather than assumption?

These things matter because public confidence depends on knowing who benefits, which programmes succeed, where weaknesses occur and whether lessons are applied before next season.

The concerns surrounding Bridgetown Market also deserve attention. Once regarded as the festival’s heartbeat, it traditionally brought together families, artisans, community organisations and small entrepreneurs. Questions now persist about its organisation, commercial appeal and ability to generate widespread public enthusiasm. Addressing those concerns should be a priority if the festival is to retain its community character.

There is also the wider issue of participation across the island. Crop Over was never intended to revolve solely around major commercial events.

Its strength lay in parish activities, community celebrations, folk performances and grass roots involvement that gave Barbadians a genuine sense of ownership.

Revitalising that dimension would strengthen both the festival and its cultural legacy.

Crop Over remains one of Barbados’ greatest cultural and tourism assets. Its achievements in 2026 deserve recognition, but recognition should not end the conversation.

Success should be demonstrated, not merely declared. Barbados needs an annual Crop Over report card covering finance, sponsorship, attendance, tourism, media reach and community participation. Cultural preservation and patron satisfaction must also be measured.

Accountability should be the festival’s next big attraction.

Accountability should be the festival’s next big attraction

10. Leading.